DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Reply filed on February 9, 2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the Reply, with respect to the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 12-13 of the Reply, the Applicant argues that the prior art reference, U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0171657 (Lee et al.), does not disclose or suggest “receive at least one first synchronization signal within a first set of synchronization signals, of a set of bursts of sets of synchronization signals associated with a first network node, wherein each burst, of the set of bursts of sets of synchronization signal associated with the first network node is repeated in time; and receive at least one second synchronization signal within a second set of synchronization signals, of a set of bursts of sets of synchronization signals associated with a second network node, wherein each burst, of the set of bursts of sets of synchronization signal associated with the second network node is repeated in time,” as recited in amended claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses, with respect to Fig. 4 and Fig. 5, that SSB signals are transmitted periodically and SSB sets are periodically transmitted, where one or more SSBs are included in the form of a burst within a window having a length of 5 milliseconds, and a burst set of these SSBs are transmitted periodically (i.e., repeated in time) (see at least paragraphs 71-74 and illustrated in Fig. 4 and Fig. 5), where a set of SSBs may be transmitted at a predetermined interval and the terminal may receive SSBs transmitted through various beams while one SSB set is transmitted (see at least paragraph 77). Furthermore, with respect to the description of Fig. 14 associated with the SSB relay process in Fig. 9, Lee discloses that the smart repeater transmits SSB1 to SSB5 to the terminal through a first beam and SSB6 to SSB8 sequentially to the terminal through three beams in different directions (see at least paragraph 102). Accordingly, Lee discloses, teaches, or suggests that the terminal receives SSB1 to SSB8, where a burst set of these SSBs (i.e., SSB1 to SSB8) are transmitted periodically (i.e., repeated in time).
As such, Lee discloses, teaches, or suggests “receive at least one first synchronization signal within a first set of synchronization signals, of a set of bursts of sets of synchronization signals associated with a first network node, wherein each burst, of the set of bursts of sets of synchronization signal associated with the first network node is repeated in time; and receive at least one second synchronization signal within a second set of synchronization signals, of a set of bursts of sets of synchronization signals associated with a second network node, wherein each burst, of the set of bursts of sets of synchronization signal associated with the second network node is repeated in time,” as recited in amended claim 1 and similarly recited in amended claim 15 and amended claim 30.
Additionally, on page 13 of the Reply, the Applicant submits that claim 28, as amended, recite similar features of claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 28 does not recite similar features of claim 1.
In view of the reasons above, the Examiner respectfully submits that the rejections of claims 1-30 under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 should be maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11, 12, 14-20, 25, 26, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (USPGP 2023/0171675, hereinafter “Lee”).
Lee discloses or suggests:
regarding claims 1 and 28, an apparatus and a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (see at least Fig. 14, terminal 1430), comprising:
a processor (see at least paragraphs 175-178, microprocessor);
memory coupled with the processor (see at least paragraphs 175-177, ROM, RAM, or flash memory); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (see at least paragraphs 175-177, program command):
receive at least one first synchronization signal within a first set of synchronization signals, of a set of bursts of sets of synchronization signals, associated with a first network node, wherein each burst, of the set of bursts of sets of synchronization signal associated with the first network node, is repeated in time (see at least Fig. 6, Fig. 14, Fig. 16, and paragraphs 72-77, and 102-104, the terminal receives SSBs transmitted through various beams while one SSB set is transmitted, where a base station transmits the first 5 SSBs (i.e., SSB1-SSB5) through beams in different directions and, therefore, SSB1-SSB5 are associated with the base station, where SSB1-SSB5 belong to a set of bursts of sets of SSBs that are transmitted periodically as shown and described in relation to Fig. 4 and Fig. 5); and
receive at least one second synchronization signal within at least one second set of synchronization signals, of a set of bursts of sets of synchronization signals, associated with at least one second network node, wherein each burst, of the set of bursts of sets of synchronization signal associated with the second network node, is repeated in time (see at least Fig. 6, Fig. 14, Fig. 16, and paragraphs 72-77, and 102-104, the terminal receives SSBs transmitted through various beams while one SSB set is transmitted, where a smart repeater transmits 3 SSBs (i.e., SSB6-SSB8) sequentially to the terminal through three beams in different directions and, therefore, SSB6-SSB8 are associated with the smart repeater, where SSB6-SSB8 belong to a set of bursts of sets of SSBs that are transmitted periodically as shown and described in relation to Fig. 4 and Fig. 5),
wherein the at least one second set of synchronization signals is multiplexed with the first set of synchronization signals (see at least Figs. 4, 5, 14 and 16, and paragraphs 72, 102, 120-122 and 147, the smart repeater transmits SSB1 to SSB5 to the terminal through the first beam and SSB6 to SSB8 sequentially to the terminal through three beams in different directions, where the SSBs 1-8 may be multiplexed as described in relation to Figs. 3, 4, and/or 16, where the SSBs in the burst set have unique indices so as not to overlap each other in the time domain and may be sequentially transmitted);
regarding claim 2, the at least one first synchronization signal is included in a first synchronization signal block (SSB), and the at least one second synchronization signal is included in a second SSB (see at least Figs. 3 and 14 and paragraphs 102-104, at least one first synchronization signal is included in SSB1 to SSB5 and at least one second synchronization signal is included in SSB6 to SSB8);
regarding claim 3, the instructions, to cause the apparatus to receive the at least one first synchronization signal, comprise instructions to cause the apparatus to measure the at least one first synchronization signal, and the instructions, to cause the apparatus to receive the at least one second synchronization signal, comprise instructions to cause the apparatus to measure the at least one second synchronization signal (see at least paragraphs 104-108, having received SSB1 to SSB8, the terminal determines the SSB received with the highest received signal strength);
regarding claim 4, the at least one second set of synchronization signals is multiplexed in time with the first set of synchronization signals (see at least Figs. 4, 5, 14 and 16, and paragraphs 102, 120-122 and 147, the smart repeater transmits SSB1 to SSB5 to the terminal through the first beam and SSB6 to SSB8 sequentially to the terminal through three beams in different directions, where the SSBs 1-8 may be multiplexed as described in Figs. 3, 4, and/or 16);
regarding claim 5, the first set of synchronization signals is associated with a period that is longer than a duration associated with the at least one second set of synchronization signals (see at least Figs. 3 and 14 and paragraphs 102-104, the duration of the at least one first synchronization signal included in SSB1 to SSB5 is longer than the duration of the at least one second synchronization signal included in SSB6 to SSB8, where each SSB is shown in Fig. 3 and, therefore, SSB1-SSB5 is associated with a longer period than a duration associated with SSB6-SSB8);
regarding claim 6, the at least one second set of synchronization signals is offset in time from the first set of synchronization signals (see at least Figs. 4, 5, 14 and 16, and paragraphs 102, 120-122 and 147, the smart repeater transmits SSB1 to SSB5 to the terminal through the first beam and SSB6 to SSB8 sequentially to the terminal through three beams in different directions, where the SSBs 1-8 may be multiplexed as described in Figs. 3, 4, and/or 16, where SSB6 to SSB8 are offset in time from SSB1 to SSB5);
regarding claim 11, the instructions stored in the memory are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive an indication of the at least one first synchronization signal and the at least one second synchronization signal (see at least Fig. 14 and paragraphs 72 and 102-104, receiving SSB1 to SSB8, where each SSB has a unique index);
regarding claim 12, the instructions stored in the memory are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive an indication of a repetition associated with the first set of synchronization signals, an indication of one or more repetitions associated with the at least one second set of synchronization signals, or a combination thereof (see at least paragraphs 72-74, one or more SSBs are included in the form of a burst within a window having a length of 5 milliseconds, where the SSB set transmission interval may be set to one of 5 ms, 10 ms, 20 ms, 40 ms, 80 ms, or 160 ms and, therefore, the terminal must receive an indication of the SSB set transmission interval in order to properly receive the one or more SSBs in the SSB set); and
regarding claim 14, the instructions stored in the memory are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to determine, based at least in part on the at least one first synchronization signal and the at least one second synchronization signal, whether the UE is associated with a channel associated with the first network node or with a channel associated with the at least one second network node (see at least paragraphs 104-107, the terminal obtains index 8 of the SSB received with the highest received signal strength and, thus, the terminal determines its association with a channel associated with the SSB8).
Lee discloses or suggests:
regarding claims 15 and 30, an apparatus and a method for wireless communications at a network entity (see at least Fig. 14, smart repeater 1420), comprising:
a processor (see at least paragraphs 175-178, microprocessor);
memory coupled with the processor (see at least paragraphs 175-177, ROM, RAM, or flash memory); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (see at least paragraphs 175-177, program command):
transmit at least one first synchronization signal within a first set of synchronization signals, of a set of bursts of sets of synchronization signals, associated with a first network node, wherein each burst, of the set of bursts of sets of synchronization signal associated with the first network node, is repeated in time (see at least Fig. 6, Fig. 14, Fig. 16, and paragraphs 72-77, and 102-104, a smart repeater transmits SSB1 to SSB5 to the terminal through the first beam, where a base station transmits the first 5 SSBs (i.e., SSB1-SSB5) through beams in different directions and, therefore, SSB1-SSB5 are associated with the base station, where SSB1-SSB5 belong to a set of bursts of sets of SSBs that are transmitted periodically as shown and described in relation to Fig. 4 and Fig. 5); and
transmit at least one second synchronization signal within at least one second set of synchronization signals, of a set of bursts of sets of synchronization signals, associated with at least one second network node, wherein each burst, of the set of bursts of sets of synchronization signal associated with the second network node, is repeated in time (see at least Fig. 6, Fig. 14, Fig. 16, and paragraphs 72-77, and 102-104, the smart repeater transmits the remaining 3 SSBs (i.e., SSB6-SSB8) sequentially to the terminal through three beams in different directions and, therefore, SSB6-SSB8 are associated with the smart repeater, where SSB6-SSB8 belong to a set of bursts of sets of SSBs that are transmitted periodically as shown and described in relation to Fig. 4 and Fig. 5),
wherein the at least one second set of synchronization signals is multiplexed with the first set of synchronization signals (see at least Figs. 4, 5, 14 and 16, and paragraphs 72, 102, 120-122 and 147, the smart repeater transmits SSB1 to SSB5 to the terminal through the first beam and SSB6 to SSB8 sequentially to the terminal through three beams in different directions, where the SSBs 1-8 may be multiplexed as described in relation to Figs. 3, 4, and/or 16, where the SSBs in the burst set have unique indices so as not to overlap each other in the time domain and may be sequentially transmitted);
regarding claim 16, the at least one first synchronization signal is included in a first synchronization signal block (SSB), and the at least one second synchronization signal is included in a second SSB (see at least Figs. 3 and 14 and paragraphs 102-104, at least one first synchronization signal is included in SSB1 to SSB5 and at least one second synchronization signal is included in SSB6 to SSB8);
regarding claim 17, the instructions stored in the memory are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a report associated with the at least one first synchronization signal; and receive a report associated with the at least one second synchronization signal (see at least paragraphs 104-108, receiving feedback with the index of the SSB received with the highest received signal strength from a smart repeater and a terminal);
regarding claim 18, the at least one second set of synchronization signals is multiplexed in time with the first set of synchronization signals (see at least Figs. 4, 5, 14 and 16, and paragraphs 102, 120-122 and 147, the smart repeater transmits SSB1 to SSB5 to the terminal through the first beam and SSB6 to SSB8 sequentially to the terminal through three beams in different directions, where the SSBs 1-8 may be multiplexed as described in Figs. 3, 4, and/or 16);
regarding claim 19, the first set of synchronization signals is associated with a period that is longer than a duration associated with the at least one second set of synchronization signals (see at least Figs. 3 and 14 and paragraphs 102-104, the duration of the at least one first synchronization signal included in SSB1 to SSB5 is longer than the duration of the at least one second synchronization signal included in SSB6 to SSB8, where each SSB is shown in Fig. 3 and, therefore, SSB1-SSB5 is associated with a longer period than a duration associated with SSB6-SSB8);
regarding claim 20, the at least one second set of synchronization signals is offset in time from the first set of synchronization signals (see at least Figs. 4, 5, 14 and 16, and paragraphs 102, 120-122 and 147, the smart repeater transmits SSB1 to SSB5 to the terminal through the first beam and SSB6 to SSB8 sequentially to the terminal through three beams in different directions, where the SSBs 1-8 may be multiplexed as described in Figs. 3, 4, and/or 16, where SSB6 to SSB8 are offset in time from SSB1 to SSB5);
regarding claim 25, the instructions stored in the memory are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to transmit an indication of the at least one first synchronization signal and the at least one second synchronization signal (see at least Fig. 14 and paragraphs 72 and 102-104, receiving SSB1 to SSB8, where each SSB has a unique index); and
regarding claim 26, the instructions stored in the memory are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to transmit an indication of a repetition associated with the first set of synchronization signals, an indication of one or more repetitions associated with the at least one second set of synchronization signals, or a combination thereof (see at least paragraphs 72-74, one or more SSBs are included in the form of a burst within a window having a length of 5 milliseconds, where the SSB set transmission interval may be set to one of 5 ms, 10 ms, 20 ms, 40 ms, 80 ms, or 160 ms and, therefore, the terminal must receive an indication of the SSB set transmission interval in order to properly receive the one or more SSBs in the SSB set).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 21, 22, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (USPGP 2023/0171675) in view of Desai et al. (USPGP 2025/0016661, hereinafter “Desai”).
Regarding claims 7, 21, and 29, Lee discloses all of the subject matter of the claimed invention except the at least one second set of synchronization signals being associated with a different synchronization raster than the first set of synchronization signals.
However, Desai, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses or suggests the at least one second set of synchronization signals being associated with a different synchronization raster than the first set of synchronization signals (see at least Fig. 6, different raster for SSBs, where paragraph 74 discloses that a set of frequency locations is called a synchronization raster).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Desai above in to the invention of Lee in order to allow the terminal to correctly detect the SSBs.
Regarding claims 8 and 22, Lee discloses or suggests that the at least one second set of synchronization signals is offset in time from the first set of synchronization signals (see at least Fig. 14, SSB6 to SSB8 are offset in time from SSB1 to SSB5).
Claims 9, 10, 13, 23, 24, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (USPGP 2023/0171675) in view of Maki et al. (USPGP 2023/0276347, hereinafter “Maki”).
Regarding claims 9 and 23, Lee discloses all of the subject matter of the claimed invention except receiving an indication of one or more time offsets associated with the at least one second set of synchronization signals relative to the first set of synchronization signals.
However, Maki, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses or suggests receiving an indication of one or more time offsets associated with the at least one second set of synchronization signals relative to the first set of synchronization signals (see at least paragraphs 103, 116, and 242, terminal determines a sequence and a resource (e.g., a time resource and a frequency resource) for legacy SSB and additional SSB based on pre-defined or pre-configured information; therefore, the terminal receives an indication of the time resource and an offset associated with additional SSB relative to legacy SSB).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Maki in to the invention of Lee in order to allow the terminal to correctly detect the SSBs.
Regarding claims 10 and 24, Lee discloses all of the subject matter of the claimed invention except receiving an indication of one or more frequency offsets associated with the at least one second set of synchronization signals relative to the first set of synchronization signals.
However, Maki, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses or suggests receiving an indication of one or more frequency offsets associated with the at least one second set of synchronization signals relative to the first set of synchronization signals (see at least paragraphs 103, 116, and 242, terminal determines a sequence and a resource (e.g., a time resource and a frequency resource) for legacy SSB and additional SSB based on pre-defined or pre-configured information; therefore, the terminal receives an indication of the time resource and an offset associated with additional SSB relative to legacy SSB).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Maki in to the invention of Lee in order to allow the terminal to correctly detect the SSBs.
Regarding claims 13 and 27, Lee discloses all of the subject matter of the claimed invention except rate-matching a downlink channel around the at least one second set of synchronization signals.
However, Maki, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses or suggests rate-matching a downlink channel around the at least one second set of synchronization signals (see at least Fig. 18 and paragraphs 271-278, multiplexing additional SSB and PDCCH, which corresponds to rate-matching a PDCCH around the additional SSB).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Maki in to the invention of Lee in order to improve the efficiency of the time and frequency resource usage.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409 05/11/2026