DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 7 July 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of patent No. 12,661,631 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stover (US 3,351,690).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Stover discloses a thermal process system (10), comprising:
a retort assembly (17) comprising a retort chamber (18) and configured to substantially contain one or more gases in the retort chamber during a thermal process (see col. 2, lines 12-25; Fig. 1);
a heating assembly (31) comprising one or more heating elements (31) and configured to heat the retort chamber (18), wherein the one or more heating elements are positioned around the retort chamber (see col. 2, lines 38-40; Fig. 1); and
a vessel housing (11) positioned around the retort chamber (17) and the one or more heating elements (31) and configured to maintain a pressure within the retort chamber (see col. 2, lines 12-18; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Stover discloses the thermal process system, wherein the retort assembly is configured to form a concentration or partial pressure boundary for the one or more gases in the retort chamber, and wherein the vessel housing is configured to form a pressure boundary between an interior volume of the vessel housing and an external environment (see col. 2, lines 44-65; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, the reference Stover discloses the thermal process system, wherein the retort assembly further comprises a removable retort lid (23) configured to contact a wall of the retort chamber (18) at a sealing interface, and wherein the sealing interface between the retort lid (23) and the retort chamber (18) is configured to form a contact seal (see col. 2, lines 25-27; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, the reference Stover discloses the thermal process system, wherein the contact seal is non-hermetic and does not include a gasket (see col. 2, lines 25-27; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, the reference Stover discloses the thermal process system, wherein each of the retort lid and the retort chamber comprises graphite (see col. 2, lines 18-21; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, the reference Stover discloses that the thermal process system further comprises insulation material (29) defining an inner insulated region, wherein the contact seal is enclosed within the inner insulated region (see col. 2, lines 35-37; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, the reference Stover discloses the thermal process system, wherein the retort assembly further comprises: an inlet (21) configured to discharge an inlet gas mixture into the retort chamber (see col. 2,lines 21-25; Fig. 1); and an outlet (33) configured to receive an outlet gas mixture from the retort chamber, wherein the inlet and the outlet are configured to define flow through the retort chamber from the inlet to the outlet (see col. 2, lines 40-43; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, the reference Stover discloses the thermal process system, wherein the retort assembly (17) is configured to house one or more substrates (25) within the retort chamber (18) in a spatial arrangement defining channels (28) between and around the one or more substrates (25), and wherein the inlet and the outlet are configured to define flow of the gas mixtures through the channels (see col. 2, lines 44-65; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, the reference Stover discloses that the thermal process system further comprises insulation material surrounding the retort chamber (see col. 2, lines 35-37; Fig. 1).
Claims 1-5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dravnieks et al. (US 3,056,664).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Dravnieks et al. discloses a thermal process system (see col. 1, lines 11-17), comprising:
a retort assembly (16) comprising a retort chamber and configured to substantially contain one or more gases in the retort chamber during a thermal process (see col. 2, lines 40-46; Fig. 1);
a heating assembly comprising one or more heating elements (14) and configured to heat the retort chamber, wherein the one or more heating elements are positioned around the retort chamber (see col. 1, lines 68-70; col. 3, lines 35-43; Fig. 1); and
a vessel housing (2) positioned around the retort chamber and the one or more heating elements (14) and configured to maintain a pressure within the retort chamber (see col. 2, lines 20-27; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Dravnieks et al. discloses the thermal process system, wherein the retort assembly (16) is configured to form a concentration or partial pressure boundary for the one or more gases in the retort chamber, and wherein the vessel housing is configured to form a pressure boundary between an interior volume of the vessel housing and an external environment (see col. 1, lines 56-63; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, the reference Dravnieks et al. discloses the thermal process system, wherein the retort assembly (16) further comprises a removable retort lid (17) configured to contact a wall of the retort chamber at a sealing interface, and wherein the sealing interface between the retort lid (17) and the retort chamber is configured to form a contact seal (see col. 2, lines 48-51; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, the reference Dravnieks et al. discloses the thermal process system, wherein the contact seal is non-hermetic and does not include a gasket (see col. 2, lines 48-51; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, the reference Dravnieks et al. discloses the thermal process system, wherein each of the retort lid and the retort chamber comprises a ceramic (see col. 2, lines 40-48; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, the reference Dravnieks et al. discloses the thermal process system, wherein the vessel housing further comprises a preload assembly (18) configured to directly exert force on the retort lid (17) (see col. 2, lines 48-51; Fig. 1).
Claims 1, 2, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Diefendorf (US 3,138,434).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Diefendorf discloses a thermal process system (10), comprising:
a retort assembly (27) comprising a retort chamber and configured to substantially contain one or more gases in the retort chamber during a thermal process (see col. 2, lines 47-52; Fig. 1);
a heating assembly comprising one or more heating elements (42) and configured to heat the retort chamber, wherein the one or more heating elements (42) are positioned around the retort chamber (see col. 3, lines 5-7; Fig. 1); and
a vessel housing (11) positioned around the retort chamber and the one or more heating elements and configured to maintain a pressure within the retort chamber (see col. 2, lines 18-22; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Diefendorf discloses, the thermal process system, wherein the retort assembly is configured to form a concentration or partial pressure boundary for the one or more gases in the retort chamber, and wherein the vessel housing is configured to form a pressure boundary between an interior volume of the vessel housing and an external environment (see col. 4, lines 48-66; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, the reference Diefendorf discloses the thermal process system, wherein the retort assembly (27) further comprises: an inlet (28) configured to discharge an inlet gas mixture into the retort chamber; and an outlet (29) configured to receive an outlet gas mixture from the retort chamber, wherein the inlet and the outlet are configured to define flow through the retort chamber from the inlet to the outlet (see col. 2, lines 47-52; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, the reference Diefendorf discloses the thermal process system, wherein the retort assembly (27) is configured to house one or more substrates (32) within the retort chamber in a spatial arrangement defining channels between and around the one or more substrates, and wherein the inlet and the outlet are configured to define flow of the gas mixtures through the channels (see col. 2, lines 47-59; col. 5, lines 54-61; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, the reference Diefendorf discloses the thermal process system, wherein the one or more heating elements comprise at least one of: electrical contacts configured to deliver a current to the retort chamber to generate resistive heat in the retort chamber (see col. 4, lines 16-19 and 71-73; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, the reference Diefendorf discloses that the thermal process system further comprises insulation material (40) surrounding the retort chamber (see col. 3, lines 2-5; Fig. 1).
Claims 1-3, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reisman et al. (US 4,351,805).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Reisman et al. discloses a thermal process system (see col. 2, lines 19-37; Fig. 1), comprising:
a retort assembly (12) comprising a retort chamber and configured to substantially contain one or more gases in the retort chamber during a thermal process (see col. 2, lines 19-37; Fig. 1);
a heating assembly (18, 20) comprising one or more heating elements and configured to heat the retort chamber, wherein the one or more heating elements are positioned around the retort chamber (see col. 2, lines 27-31; Fig. 1); and
a vessel housing (10) positioned around the retort chamber and the one or more heating elements and configured to maintain a pressure within the retort chamber (see col. 2, lines 19-37; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Reisman et al. discloses the thermal process system, wherein the retort assembly (12) is configured to form a concentration or partial pressure boundary for the one or more gases in the retort chamber, and wherein the vessel housing is configured to form a pressure boundary between an interior volume of the vessel housing and an external environment (see col. 2, lines 33-37).
Regarding claim 15, the reference Reisman et al. discloses that the thermal process system further comprises a cooling duct positioned around at least a portion of the vessel housing (10) and configured to flow cooling air across an outer surface of the vessel housing (see col. 3, lines 11-14; Fig. 1).
Claims 1, 2, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Swift et al. (US 4,670,404).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Swift et al. discloses a thermal process system (10) (see col. 5, lines 1-7; Figs. 1, 9), comprising:
a retort assembly (310, 410) comprising a retort chamber and configured to substantially contain one or more gases in the retort chamber during a thermal process (see col. 10, lines 25-52; col. 12, lines 31-39; Figs. 1, 9);
a heating assembly (118, 122) comprising one or more heating elements and configured to heat the retort chamber, wherein the one or more heating elements are positioned around the retort chamber (see col. 5, lines 29-48; Figs. 1, 9); and
a vessel housing (12) positioned around the retort chamber and the one or more heating elements and configured to maintain a pressure within the retort chamber (see col. 5, lines 13-20; Figs. 1, 9).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Swift et al. discloses the thermal process system, wherein the retort assembly (310, 410) is configured to form a concentration or partial pressure boundary for the one or more gases in the retort chamber, and wherein the vessel housing is configured to form a pressure boundary between an interior volume of the vessel housing and an external environment (see col. 10, lines 25-52; col. 12, lines 31-39; Figs. 1, 9).
Regarding claim 12, the reference Swift et al. discloses the thermal process system that the thermal process system further comprises insulation material (112, 114, 116) surrounding the retort chamber (see col. 5, lines 21-29; Figs. 1, 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stover (US 3,351,690) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Methling (US 2016/0040074).
Regarding claim 6, the reference Stover is silent with respect to each of the retort lid and the retort chamber comprising a ceramic coating. However, as evidenced by the reference Methling (see para. [0101]), it is known in the art to provide a ceramic coating on interior walls and internals of a reaction vessel to avoid coke formation on interior surfaces of the reaction vessel. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ceramic coating as suggested by Methling, and claimed by applicant, on the interior surface of the retort lid and the retort chamber of Stover, since the reference Methling teaches that such a modification advantageously reduces coking on interior surfaces of the retort chamber (see para. [0101]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reisman et al. (US 4,351,805).as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McIntyre (US 2018/0163996).
Regarding claim 14, the reference Reisman et al. is silent with respect to a radiative foil at least partially surrounding the retort chamber. However, as evidenced by the reference McIntyre (see paras. [0004]; [0007]-[0009]; [0032]; Fig. 3), it is typical in the art to provide a radiative foil against a wall of a reaction vessel so as to limit radiative and conductive heat transfer through the wall of the reaction vessel.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal process system of Reisman et al. to include a radiative foil at least partially surrounding the retort chamber, as claimed by applicant, because, as evidenced by the reference McIntyre (see paras. [0004]; [0007]-[0009]; [0032]; Fig. 3), it is conventional in the art to provide a radiative foil against a wall of a reaction vessel so as to limit radiative and conductive heat transfer through the wall of the reaction vessel.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swift et al. (US 4,670,404) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Dravnieks et al. (US 3,056,664).
Regarding claim 21, the reference Swift et al. discloses that the retort assembly (310, 410) further comprises a retort lid (326, 426) (see col. 10, lines 25-29; col. 12, lines 33-36; Figs. 4-5). The reference Swift et al. further teaches that the insulation material comprises a top portion (116) configured to be removed from the vessel housing to provide access to the retort assembly (310, 410) (see col. 5, lines 21-29; Figs. 1, 9)). The reference Sift et al., however, does not specifically disclose wherein the retort assembly (310, 410) comprises a removable retort lid. However, it would have been obvious to have having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in application were it is desired to provide access io the interior of the retort assembly (310, 410), to modify the retort assembly (310, 410) of Swift et al. to include a removable retort lid, since it has been held that making parts separable where it is desirable to do so is generally recognizes as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Further, as evidenced by the reference Dravnieks et al. (see col. 2, lines 40-51; Fig. 1), it is conventional in the art to provide a retort assembly employed for chemical process applications with a removable retort lid for the purpose of providing access into the interior of the retort assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The claim would be allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose or fairy suggest the feature: wherein the vessel housing comprises: a top end cap configured to be detached from a remainder of the vessel housing; and a bottom end cap configured to be detached from a remainder of the vessel housing, and wherein the insulation material further comprises a bottom portion configured to be removed from the vessel housing to access the one or more heating elements without accessing the retort lid, as recited in claim 13.
Claims 16-18 are allowed.
Regarding claims 16-18, the claims are allowed because the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest the instantly claimed system of generating hydrogen gas as set forth in claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, page 9, filed on 7 July 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made with respect to claim 1 in view of the references Stover, Dravnieks et al., Diefendorf , Reisman et al., and Swift et al..
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774