DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 11/08/2023 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the reference listed on the IDS, “20202729111” doesn’t exist. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al., “Framework for manufacturing-tasks semantic modelling and manufacturing-resource recommendation for digital twin shop floor” (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Li teaches a method for ontology adaptation, a computer system comprising one or mor processors, memories, and storage medium having in instructions to perform the method (pgs. 289-290, “All the algorithms were coded in Python 2.7, on a Windows 10 computer with 16GB of RAM and a 2.2-GHz CPU”), the method comprising:
constructing a process ontology for an industrial floor (pg. 285, fig. 4, object-process ontology);
generating a digital twin of the industrial floor (pg. 287, “Digital twin shop-floor”);
performing a simulation of the digital twin using the process ontology (pg. 286, “Step 1: An improved glow-worm swarm optimisation (IGSO) algorithm-based twin data feature analysis and simulation approach is proposed here to address the results of semantic retrieval to generate a deep learning training set, Set-1. First, based on the MT semantic model, the recommendation index is defined to adjust the recommendation range to achieve the preference feature of MTs. Subsequently, the multiobjective of MTs is simulated repeatedly to obtain the annotation of the optimisation results by determining by preference feature.”);
generating one or more new process ontologies based on inefficiencies identified during the simulation (pg. 286, “Step 2: A deep neural network is applied to analyse and retrain Set-1 to generate candidate personalised MR twin-data recommendation, Set2. First, the characterisation pre-processing and embedding layers are designed to reduce the computational complexity of the training process. Second, a double-hidden-layer structure of the backpropagation layer is designed to more accurately learn the mapping relation between the composite MR and its weight to obtain the relationship twin data.”); and
providing one or more recommendations to a user (pg. 286, figure 5, Data Recommendation Set Set-3; pg. 286, step 3, “it improves the optimization results to provide more accurate and effective guidance for production management and control”).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Li teaches the method of claim 1, system of claim 8, and computer program product of claim 15, wherein the simulation of the digital twin using the process ontology is simulated for a workflow identified by the user (pg. 288, fig. 7, sub-mt scheduling of ontology; pg. 286, “The twin data contain MT and MR data as well as the mapping-relationship data between them. The former can be directly obtained by the semantic modelling described from Sections 3.1 to 3.3, but the latter cannot be directly captured; therefore, we applied the deep neural network (DNN)-based approach proposed in Reference [28] to analyse the real-time simulation, real-time production, and historical production data to construct the mapping-relationship data… Step 1: An improved glow-worm swarm optimisation (IGSO) algorithm-based twin data feature analysis and simulation approach is proposed here to address the results of semantic retrieval to generate a deep learning training set, Set-1.”).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Li teaches the method of claim 1, system of claim 8, and computer program product of claim 15, wherein the simulation of the digital twin is performed utilizing one or more machine learning models pg. 286, “Step 2: A deep neural network is applied”).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Li teaches the method of claim 1, system of claim 8, and computer program product of claim 15, wherein the process ontology for the industrial floor is constructed utilizing one or more linguistic analysis techniques based on data received for the industrial floor (pg. 286, Fig. 5, Semantic ontology; pg. pg. 287, “For the construction process of CKO in DTS, the GRAONTO-based approach is sufficient for concept definition and relationship extraction of domain ontology.” CKO being the MTs-knowledge- ontology which includes the MTs-object ontology and MTs-manufacturing-process ontology, see fig. 4).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, Li teaches the method of claim 1, system of claim 8, and computer program product of claim 15, wherein identifying the inefficiencies during the simulation further comprises: comparing the process ontology with the performance in the simulation of the digital twin and measuring one or more performance metrics (pg. 286, “Second, a double-hidden-layer structure of the backpropagation layer is designed to more accurately learn the mapping relation between the composite MR and its weight to obtain the relationship twin data.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, 12, 14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Guo et al., “A digital twin-based layout optimization method for discrete manufacturing workshop” (hereinafter Guo).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Li teaches the method of claim 1, system of claim 8, and computer program product of claim 15. Li does not explicitly teach one or more recommendations are provided to the user on an end user device using an intelligent real estate and facilities management solution. However, Guo teaches one or more recommendations are provided to the user on an end user device using an intelligent real estate and facilities management solution (pg. 1314, “the final results will be transmitted back to the physical layer to rearrange the entities in physical workshop, as shown in Fig. 5.” Fig. 5 showing the optimized manufacturing workshop layout.). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to modify Li in the manner taught Guo so that staff at the workshop could see the optimized layouts and rearrange the factory floors, thereby realizing time reductions and cost savings (Guo, pg. 1316, optimization effects and cost savings in table 2).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Li teaches the method of claim 1, and system of claim 8. Li does not explicitly teach the one or more recommendations provided to the user includes implementation details of the one or more new process ontologies. However Guo teaches the one or more recommendations provided to the user includes implementation details of the one or more new process ontologies (pg. 1314, fig. 5, optimized manufacturing floorplan layout; pg. 1316, fig. 8(b), process layout plan of door line station after optimization.). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to modify Li in the manner taught Guo so that staff at the workshop could implement the optimized layouts and rearrange the factory floors, thereby realizing time reductions and cost savings (Guo, pg. 1316, optimization effects and cost savings in table 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fan et al., “A digital-twin visualized architecture for Flexible Manufacturing System” teaches a general architecture of digital-twin visualization for flexible manufacturing systems.
Thomsen et al. (US 2022/0277212) teaches AI extensions and intelligent validation for an industrial digital twin.
Stump et al. (US 2022/0334562) teaches a virtual design environment.
Johnson et al. (US 2021/0350294) teaches an operations optimization assignment control system with coupled subsystem models and digital twins.
Quiros Araya et al. (US 2020/0272911) teaches a cognitive automation engineering system.
Girardeau (US 2015/0169190) teaches multi-dimensional modeling of an industrial facility.
BRIAN W. WATHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2151
/BRIAN W WATHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151