DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment filed 9/19/2025:
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are pending in the current application. Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are amended, Claim 3 is canceled, and Claim 6 is newly added.
The cores of the previous prior art rejections have been overcome in light of the amendment. All changes made to the rejection were necessitated by the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/19/2025 have been fully considered. Newly added claim limitations for Claim 1 and newly added Claim 6 have been addressed in the new rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. JP-2017183240-A (hereinafter referred to as Hamada) in view of Kobayashi et al. US-6433509-B1 (hereinafter referred to as Kobayashi) and Kimura US-20100055553-A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kimura).
Regarding Claim 1, Hamada discloses a battery cooling structure (see paragraph [0001]) comprising:
a plurality of cell stacked bodies (assembled battery) 11 that each include a plurality of battery cells (modules) 20 stacked on each other and an inter-cell flow path (ventilation passages) 21 between the battery cells that are adjacent in a stacking direction of the plurality of battery cells 20 in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraphs [0021]-[0023]).
a base plate (intake chamber) 14 on which the plurality of cell stacked bodies 11 are arranged side by side in a width on the base plate in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraphs [0021]-[0026]) (a skilled artisan is capable of designating groups of cell stacked bodies within the entire cell stacked body),
an inflow-side flow path (path formed in space between cell stacked body 11 and the base plate 14) (see annotated Fig. 1 below) that is disposed between the plurality of cell stacked bodies 11 and the base plate 14 and communicates with the inter-cell flow path 21 in Fig. 1 (see paragraphs [0021]-[0026]),
an air supply port (supply passage) 13 that is disposed in one end portion of the inflow-side flow path in the stacking direction and supplies air to the inflow-side flow path (see paragraph [0026]).
Hamada further discloses the inflow-side flow path is common to the plurality of cell stacked bodies (the inflow-side flow path is formed in along the length of the space between the cell stacked body 11 and the base plate 14) and one endmost battery cell 20 being adjacent to the air supply port 13 in Figs. 1-2 (the battery cells extend along the length of the cell stacked body, and the air supply port is located at one end, so there would be an endmost battery adjacent to the air supply port) (see annotated Fig. 1 below) (see paragraphs [0021]-[0026]).
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 1 of Hamada
Hamada is silent on the base plate having a branching portion that branches the air in the inflow-side flow path flowing along the stacking direction from the air supply port, into a plurality of flows arranged in the width direction of the base plate, the branching portion being disposed at a position corresponding to a space between the plurality of cell stacked bodies arranged side by side on the base plate, and protruding towards the space between the plurality of cell stacked bodies, the branching portion having a most upstream end portion located at a position that is further from the air supply port than one endmost battery cell among the battery cells of the cell stacked body, the one endmost battery cell being adjacent to the air supply port, and the branching portion having a most downstream end portion extending to a downstream end portion of the base plate.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery cooling (see abstract), Kobayashi discloses a branching portion (rectifying fin) 18 placed at the downstream portion of the air flow passage/downstream of the air supply port (air inlet port) 13 in Fig. 2 (see paragraph [0008] under Description). Kobayashi also discloses a plurality cell stacked bodies that are arranged in multiple rows with the branching portion 18 in between cell stacked bodies that are adjacent to each other in Fig. 2 (see paragraphs [0008] and [0016]-[0017] under Description). A skilled artisan would be capable of arranging the plurality of cell stacked bodies disclosed by Hamada in this manner, depending on dimensions necessary for the battery they are constructing, and then including the branching portion of Kobayashi in between cell stacked bodies that are adjacent to each other. The rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design choice. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Kobayashi additionally discloses the branching portion increases the flow rate of the air, thereby improving cooling efficiency and reducing the temperature difference between the cells (see paragraphs [0008] and [0016]-[0017] under Description). A skilled artisan would then be motivated to include a branching portion on the base plate of Hamada wherein the branching portion is disposed at a position that is further from the air supply port than the one endmost battery cell adjacent to the air supply port (i.e. downstream as taught by Kobayashi).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cooling structure disclosed by Hamada wherein the base plate has a branching portion that branches the air in the inflow-side flow path flowing along the stacking direction from the air supply port, into a plurality of flows, and the branching portion is disposed at a position that is further from the air supply port than one endmost battery cell among the battery cells of the cell stacked body, the one endmost battery cell being adjacent to the air supply port, as disclosed by Kobayashi, in order to obtain the appropriate arrangement and dimensions for the battery they are constructing and increase the flow rate of the air, improve cooling efficiency and reduce the temperature difference between the cells.
Hamada further discloses the battery pack may be mounted on an electric or hybrid vehicle (see paragraph [0062]), which a skilled artisan would expect to have an engine exhaust pipe. Hamada additionally discloses the air flow path enters through the air supply port 13, flows through the inter-cell flow paths 21, and is exhausted through the exhaust chamber 15, which is located opposite the air supply port (and as such is intersecting the stacking direction) in Fig. 1 (see paragraph [0021]).
Kobayashi also discloses the power supply unit comprising the battery cooling structure may be used in an electric vehicle (see paragraph [0003] in Background/Summary), which a skilled artisan would expect to have an engine exhaust pipe.
Hamada and Kobayasi are silent on wherein the battery cooling structure is installed such that the plurality of cell stacked bodies are positioned opposite to an engine exhaust pipe with respect to the base plate while having the stacking direction intersecting the engine exhaust pipe.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery cooling (see abstract), Kimura discloses a battery cooling device 200 in a vehicle 21 positioned opposite to an engine exhaust pipe 31B with respect to the base plate while having the stacking direction intersecting the engine exhaust pipe 31B in Figs. 6-7 (see comparisons of Kimura and Instant Application below) (see paragraphs [0112]-[0115] and [0122]-[0123]). Kimura further discloses the arrangement helps ensure that, in the case of battery explosion, broken pieces will not reach the exhaust device 32 and engine 10. As such, a skilled artisan would be motivated to achieve the appropriate arrangement of the components within the vehicle comprising the battery cooling structure of Hamada and Kobayashi. The rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The skilled artisan is capable of arranging the components of the battery cooling device in an appropriate manner such that the components fit and function properly within the vehicle.
Figure 2. Kimura US-20100055553-A1
Figure 3. Instant Application
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cooling structure disclosed by Hamada and Kobayashi wherein the battery cooling structure is adapted to be installed such that the cell stacked body is positioned opposite to an engine exhaust pipe with respect to the base plate while having the stacking direction intersecting the engine exhaust pipe, and the exhaust pipe is disposed at a position that is closer to the air supply port than the branching portion of the base plate, as disclosed by Kimura, in order to achieve an appropriate arrangement of the components such that they fit and function properly within the vehicle.
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada in view of Kobayashi and Kimura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hiranishi et al. US-20140212721-A1 (hereinafter referred to as Hiranishi).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Hamada discloses the battery cooling structure according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Hamada, Kobayashi, and Kimura are silent on the base plate having a step portion that protrudes into the inflow-side flow path toward the plurality of cell stacked bodies, and the step portion being disposed at a position that is further from the air supply port than the branching portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery cooling (see abstract), Hiranishi discloses inter-cell flow paths (cooling passages) 26 branching from an inflow-side flow path (side passage) 29 formed between the cell stacked body (storage cell case) 12 and base plate (bottom wall) 28, with the base plate 28 increasing in a stepwise manner from upstream (near the air supply port (intake duct) 13) to downstream (far from the air supply port 13) in Fig. 3 (see paragraphs [0019]-[0020]). Hiranishi discloses this stepwise portion increases the entire way to the end of the downstream portion of the inflow-side flow path 29 (center), so a skilled artisan would expect the final step to occur after the branching portion in modified Hamada.
Hiranishi additionally discloses the steps create a progressively smaller cross-sectional area, resulting in the cooling air uniformly branching from the entire upstream-side passage 29 to the cooling passages 26 and uniformly coming into contact with all of the battery (storage) cells 18 (see paragraphs [0020], [0023], and [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cooling structure disclosed by Hamada and Kobayashi wherein the base plate has a step portion that protrudes into the inflow-side flow path toward the plurality of cell stacked bodies, and the step portion is disposed at a position that is further from the air supply port than the branching portion, as disclosed by Hiranishi, in order to achieve the cooling air uniformly branching from the entire upstream-side passage to the cooling passages and uniformly coming into contact with all of the storage cells.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Hamada discloses the battery cooling structure according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Hamada further discloses the battery pack may be mounted on an electric or hybrid vehicle (see paragraph [0062]), which a skilled artisan would expect to have an engine exhaust pipe. Hamada additionally discloses the air flow path enters through the air supply port 13, flows through the inter-cell flow paths 21, and is exhausted through the exhaust chamber 15, which is located opposite the air supply port (and as such is intersecting the stacking direction) in Fig. 1 (see paragraph [0021]). As such, in the combined structure of Hamada and Kobayashi, since the branching portion is located downstream the inflow-side flow path and the exhaust port is located just opposite the air supply port, the exhaust port would be disposed at a position that is closer to the air supply port than the branching portion of the base plate.
Kobayashi also discloses the power supply unit comprising the battery cooling structure may be used in an electric vehicle (see paragraph [0003] in Background/Summary), which a skilled artisan would expect to have an engine exhaust pipe.
Alternatively, if Hamada and Kobayashi are found to not be sufficiently specific, Hiranishi discloses the electric storage device comprising the battery cooling structure is mounted on a vehicle body with an exhaust duct 15 with an exhaust port 16a (functioning as an engine exhaust pipe) Figs. 2-3 (see paragraph [0016]). Hiranishi further discloses the exhaust pipe is on the opposite side of the cell stacked body 12 with respect to the base plate 29, allowing for proper flow path to perform heat exchange and cool the battery cells 18 in Figs. 2-3 (see paragraphs [0016] and [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cooling structure disclosed by Hamada and Kobayashi wherein the battery cooling structure is adapted to be installed such that the cell stacked body is positioned opposite to an engine exhaust pipe with respect to the base plate while having the stacking direction intersecting the engine exhaust pipe, and the exhaust pipe is disposed at a position that is closer to the air supply port than the branching portion of the base plate, as disclosed by Hiranishi, in order to achieve a proper flow path to perform heat exchange and cool the battery cells.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada in view of Kobayashi and Kimura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nishimoto et al. JP-2010015788-A (hereinafter referred to as Nishimoto).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Hamada discloses the battery cooling structure according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Hamada is silent on the battery cooling structure further comprising electrical equipment that controls an input and an output of the plurality of cell stacked bodies and is disposed opposite to the base plate with respect to the plurality of cell stacked bodies, wherein the electrical equipment is disposed at a position that is closer to the air supply port than the branching portion of the base plate.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery cooling (see paragraph [0004]), Nishimoto discloses a battery pack with a cooling mechanism comprising electrical equipment (electronic component case) 5/35 that contains a heating element/heat dissipation element as well as being connected to a busbar that controls and discharges the batteries in Figs. 4 and 7-8 (see paragraphs [0005], [0021]-[0024], and [0035]-[0036]). Nishimoto additionally discloses the batteries near the air supply port (inlet) are supercooled, and so to achieve a uniform temperature among all the batteries, the electrical equipment 5/35 is placed at the batteries near the air supply port to heat and insulate them.
As such, a skilled artisan would be motivated to place the electrical equipment taught by Nishimoto near the batteries close the air supply port of modified Hamada, thereby disposing the electrical equipment at a position that is closer to the air supply port than the branching portion of the base plate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cooling structure disclosed by Hamada and Kobayashi wherein the battery cooling structure further comprises electrical equipment that controls an input and an output of the plurality of cell stacked bodies and is disposed opposite to the base plate with respect to the plurality of cell stacked bodies, wherein the electrical equipment is disposed at a position that is closer to the air supply port than the branching portion of the base plate, as disclosed by Nishimoto, in order to achieve a uniform temperature among all the batteries.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada in view of Kobayashi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kobayashi et al. US-20190237825-A1 (hereinafter Kobayashi ‘825).
Regarding Claim 6, Hamada discloses a battery cooling structure (see paragraph [0001]) comprising:
a plurality of cell stacked bodies (assembled battery) 11 that each include a plurality of battery cells (modules) 20 stacked on each other and an inter-cell flow path (ventilation passages) 21 between the battery cells that are adjacent in a stacking direction of the plurality of battery cells 20 in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraphs [0021]-[0023]).
a base plate (intake chamber) 14 on which the plurality of cell stacked bodies 11 are arranged side by side in a width on the base plate in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraphs [0021]-[0026]) (a skilled artisan is capable of designating groups of cell stacked bodies within the entire cell stacked body),
an inflow-side flow path (path formed in space between cell stacked body 11 and the base plate 14) (see annotated Fig. 1 below) that is disposed between the plurality of cell stacked bodies 11 and the base plate 14 and communicates with the inter-cell flow path 21 in Fig. 1 (see paragraphs [0021]-[0026]); and
an air supply port (supply passage) 13 that is disposed in one end portion of the inflow-side flow path in the stacking direction and supplies air to the inflow-side flow path (see paragraph [0026]).
Hamada is silent on a sealing material that establishes sealing between the base plate and the plurality of stacked cell bodies to prevent or reduce an out flow of air from the inflow-side flow path, wherein the sealing material includes an inter-cell-stacked-body sealing portion and an outer peripheral sealing portion, the inter-cell-stacked-body sealing portion establishing sealing between the plurality of stacked cell bodies, the outer peripheral sealing portion establishing sealing between the base plate and an outer periphery of the plurality of the cell stacked bodies.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery cooling (see abstract), Kobayashi ‘825 discloses attaching sealing material 253 between batteries 16/17 and ducts 22/23 to ensure hermeticity in Fig. 5 (see paragraphs [0058], [0062], [0064], and [0075]). A skilled artisan is capable of putting the sealing material where it is needed to establish appropriate hermeticity and ensure proper air flow. The rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cooling structure disclosed by Hamada and Kobayashi wherein, as disclosed by Kobayashi ‘825, in order to establish appropriate hermeticity and ensure proper air flow.
Hamada and Kobayashi ‘825 are silent on the base plate having a branching portion that branches the air in the inflow-side flow path flowing along the stacking direction from the air supply port, into a plurality of flows arranged in the width direction of the base plate, the branching portion being disposed at a position corresponding to a space between the plurality of cell stacked bodies arranged side by side on the base plate, and protruding towards the space between the plurality of cell stacked bodies, and is located further from the air supply port than one endmost battery cell among the battery cells of the plurality of cell stacked bodies and an upper surface of the branching portion being in contact with the inter-cell-stacked-body sealing portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery cooling (see abstract), Kobayashi discloses a branching portion (rectifying fin) 18 placed at the downstream portion of the air flow passage/downstream of the air supply port (air inlet port) 13 in Fig. 2 (see paragraph [0008] under Description). Kobayashi also discloses a plurality cell stacked bodies that are arranged in multiple rows with the branching portion 18 in between cell stacked bodies that are adjacent to each other in Fig. 2 (see paragraphs [0008] and [0016]-[0017] under Description). A skilled artisan would be capable of arranging the plurality of cell stacked bodies disclosed by Hamada in this manner, depending on dimensions necessary for the battery they are constructing, and then including the branching portion of Kobayashi in between cell stacked bodies that are adjacent to each other. The rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design choice. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Kobayashi additionally discloses the branching portion increases the flow rate of the air, thereby improving cooling efficiency and reducing the temperature difference between the cells (see paragraphs [0008] and [0016]-[0017] under Description). A skilled artisan would then be motivated to include a branching portion on the base plate of Hamada wherein the branching portion is disposed at a position that is further from the air supply port than the one endmost battery cell adjacent to the air supply port (i.e. downstream as taught by Kobayashi). Further, in the combination of Hamada, Kobayashi, and Kobayashi ‘825, a skilled artisan is further capable of putting the sealing material where it is needed to establish appropriate hermeticity and ensure proper air flow, such that an upper surface of the branching portion is in contact with the inter-cell-stacked-body sealing portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cooling structure disclosed by Hamada and Kobayashi ‘825 with the base plate having a branching portion that branches the air in the inflow-side flow path flowing along the stacking direction from the air supply port, into a plurality of flows arranged in the width direction of the base plate, the branching portion being disposed at a position corresponding to a space between the plurality of cell stacked bodies arranged side by side on the base plate, and protruding towards the space between the plurality of cell stacked bodies, and is located further from the air supply port than one endmost battery cell among the battery cells of the plurality of cell stacked bodies and an upper surface of the branching portion being in contact with the inter-cell-stacked-body sealing portion., as disclosed by Kobayashi, in order to obtain the appropriate arrangement and dimensions for the battery they are constructing and increase the flow rate of the air, improve cooling efficiency and reduce the temperature difference between the cells.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729