DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Arguments filed 11/21/2025
Applicant’s Arguments are considered but are not seen to sufficiently overcome prior Vulkan et al (US 20180370351) as applied in the previous Office Action.
While Vulkan does not directly articulate the claimed functional language in its text or the exact scenarios of OVR and OPR, the structure of Vulkan is seen to be perform the claimed function during operation, and these OPR (positive pressure differential to the left of p2) and OVR (negative pressure differential to the left of p1) scenarios are seen to occur during routine use. Vulkan (FIGs 1a-3b,6a, and annotated 6x below) discloses the claimed structures of the OVR spring p1, OPR spring p2, and core spring (surrounding 48) of which are oriented in the same manner as the corresponding springs as the applicant’s FIG, such that a certain idle pressure condition would result in all the valves being closed (including OPR and OVR valves being closed and abutting each other). This is seen to be a routine operation of check valves in the art (and in this case Vulkan) as otherwise the system would always be open. Furthermore, FIG 6x shows all of the valves closed. This intrinsic setting of Vulkans structure is seen to read on the claim.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., extra components in Vulkan that are not needed in the applicant’s invention, or are mutually exclusive/detrimental therewith, as argued on page 5) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In light of the above, the Applicant’s Arguments are not persuasive. As the claims are the same as previously presented, the previous prior art rejections over Vulkan are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vulkan et al (US 20180370351).
Regarding claim 1, Vulkan (FIGs 1a-3b, 6a, including annotated 6x above) discloses “An improved fuel tank isolation valve (100) with separate springs and path of over relief functions comprising of:
a seal sub assembly (sub);
a sealing (sealing);
a chamber (c1);
a tank port (44);
a canister port (46);
a solenoid (FIG 2c, assembly within 42 that surrounds 48);
a moving core (48); and
a separate chamber (c2);
wherein:
said over relief functions are over vacuum relief (OVR) (negative pressure differential in chamber) and over pressure relief (OPR) (positive pressure differential in chamber) (functions performed via two-way valve assembly in FIG 6A, schematically shown as 31’ in FIG 1B);
said separate chamber (c2) includes an OVR spring (p1) for an over vacuum relief function (oriented in same manner as applicant, such that a certain magnitude of negative chamber pressure differential would open V1), an OPR spring (p2) for an over pressure relief function (oriented in same manner as applicant, such that a certain magnitude of positive inlet pressure differential would open V2), an OVR seal (v1) for said over vacuum relief function, an OPR seal (v2) for said over pressure relief function to reduce magnetic force generated from said solenoid (this is understood to occur in a similar manner as the applicant, as v2 would relieve inlet overpressure, resulting in less resistance for the movement of sub, subsequently reducing “magnetic force generated from the solenoid” as less force is required to open sub);
said chamber holds a pressure that is built inside, said OPR spring (p2, would occur in same manner as applicant, where c1 pressure would bear on p2) keeps said OVR seal in contact with surface of said OPR seal (understood that v1 and v2 contact each other in this condition) to keep the improved fuel tank isolation valve closed (as shown in FIG 6a), wherein upon an increase in pressure beyond a protection point limit (condition required to move v2), said OPR spring (p2) compresses and lifts said OVR seal (v2) from a first position to a second position (to the right), permitting the flow of vapour from said tank port (44) to said canister port (46) while said improved fuel tank isolation valve is working in said over pressure relief function (v2 opening would open a bypass between 44 and 46 when sufficient positive pressure opens v2, in a similar manner as the applicant); and
said chamber holds vacuum that is built inside and said OVR spring (p1) keep said OVR seal (v1) in contact with surface of said OPR seal (understood that v1 and v2 contact each other in this condition) for keeping the improved fuel tank isolation valve closed, when an increase in vacuum is beyond said protection point limit (condition required to move v1), said OVR spring (p1) compresses and said OPR seal (v1) move to the first position from the second position (opposite direction as v2) permitting flow from said tank port (44) to said canister port (46) while said improved fuel tank isolation valve is working in said over vacuum relief function (v1 opening would open a bypass between 44 and 46 when sufficient negative pressure opens v1, in a similar manner as the applicant); and
a moving core spring (spring surrounding 48) keeps the seal sub assembly attached with the surface of the sealing (closed position of sub, as shown in FIG 6x) while the improved fuel tank isolation valve is in idle condition (paragraph 48; normally closed seen to read on being closed “in idle condition”, of which is accomplished via bias of spring);
wherein said spring (p1) keeps said seal (v1) in first position (towards v2) and attached with the surface of said seal (v2) (seen to be in abutment in FIG 6x), said spring (p2) keeps said seal (v2) in first position in contact with surface of said seal (understood that p1/p2 push v1/v2 against each other) and the moving core spring (spring in FIG 2C/D) keeps said seal sub assembly (sub) upwards (closed position read on “upwards”) and attached with the surface of the sealing (sealing) which keep said tank port (44) and said canister port (46) close till pressure inside reaches a predetermined value (understood that absent a certain predetermined pressure, all valves will be closed such that 44 is cut off from 46).”
Regarding claim 2, Vulkan (FIGs 1a-3b, 6a, including annotated 6x above) discloses “wherein said improved fuel tank isolation valve includes at least one electrical connector (56, paragraph 97) and at least two mounting supports (not shown but understood that 43 in use necessarily accommodates/includes two supports, as evidenced by the two openings in 43 that two supports would fit into).”
Regarding claim 3, Vulkan (FIGs 1a-3b, 6a, including annotated 6x above) discloses “wherein said solenoid exerts less magnetic force to pull said seal sub assembly because of OVR spring, OPR spring, and moving core spring for seal sub assembly movement (this is understood to occur in Vulkan in a similar manner as the applicant as p1/p2, v1/v2, and the main core spring are designed to operate in the same manner as the applicants seals/springs, resulting in a more balanced operation [by relieving over/under pressure and therefore less burden on the magnetic force] of the sub).”
Regarding claim 5, Vulkan (FIGs 1a-3b, 6a, including annotated 6x above) discloses “wherein said solenoid (FIG 2c, assembly within 42 that surrounds 48) is turned ON during refueling and said moving core (48) is shifted downwards (opening direction) causing said seal sub assembly (sub) to open and said seal (v2) to remain close because of separate path (understood that sub opening would open the main path, alleviating any pressure conditions in c2 closing v2), said moving core (48) force is greater than said spring force (force of spring that surrounds 48) due to magnetic field thereby moving said moving core (48) downwards (opening direction), said seal sub assembly (sub) gets detached from surface of said seal (sealing) (understood that to open sub, the solenoid force would evidently overcome the solenoid spring in FIG 2c), which opens and connect the tank port (44) to canister port (46) at the time of actuation during refueling when working in ON condition (44/46 communicate when sub is open).”
Conclusion
/PATRICK C WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753