DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the applicant arguments that D1 does not teach the limitation:
wherein the first pupil replicator is arranged such that light output by the first pupil replicator is parallel to one of the first and second directions of the footprint.
The examiner respectfully Disagrees:
in at least [0015] the prior art teaches that all the rays originating from the same plane wave will have the same output direction, not only should all the reflecting surfaces 22 be parallel to each other, but surface 16 should be parallel to surfaces 22 as well. This is however taught in a paragraph referring to figures 4A-4C, however [0019] and [0020] teach the structure of figures 4A-4C in a duplicate stacked form and as such would work much the same way with multiple rays, which is why the examiner believes the rejection to be proper.
As such the rejection has been repeated below to include any and all amended limitations in order to promote compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danziger (US 20180292592) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a light engine, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); comprising: a first layer (20a) comprising a first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) arranged to receive a diffracted light field (90) from a diffractive structure defining a pupil, wherein the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) is substantially elongated; a second layer (20b) comprising a second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b), wherein the second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b) is substantially planar and comprises a first major surface (front side in Fig. 5A) arranged to form an input and a second major surface (rear side in Fig. 5A) arranged to form an output of the light engine; wherein the first layer (20a) and second layer (20b) are substantially parallel and adjacent to one another (fig. 5A); wherein the second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b) defines a footprint (The partially reflecting surfaces 22a couple the light out of first LOE 20a and then the light is coupled into the second asymmetrical LOE 20b by the reflecting surface 16b) on the first layer (20a) extending in a first direction and a second direction; and wherein the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) is arranged such that light output by the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) is parallel to one of the first and second directions of the footprint (The partially reflecting surfaces 22a couple the light out of first LOE 20a and then the light is coupled into the second asymmetrical LOE 20b by the reflecting surface 16b).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) is arranged within the footprint (The partially reflecting surfaces 22a couple the light out of first LOE 20a and then the light is coupled into the second asymmetrical LOE 20b by the reflecting surface 16b) of the second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the first layer (20a) further comprises a waveguide coupler (portion of the layer 20a where the light coupled out by the partially reflective surface 22a passes through) arranged to couple an output of the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) to the input of the second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the waveguide coupler (portion of the layer 20a where the light coupled out by the partially reflective surface 22a passes through) comprises a primary pair of opposing surfaces comprising an input surface (Fig. 5B front surface) and an output surface (fig. 5B rear surface), respectively, wherein the input surface and the output surface are at an angle (Fig. 5B) to each other.
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) and waveguide coupler (portion of the layer 20a where the light coupled out by the partially reflective surface 22a passes through) are substantially coplanar (fig. 5A-B).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) and waveguide coupler (portion of the layer 20a where the light coupled out by the partially reflective surface 22a passes through) of the first layer (20a) are arranged to waveguide the diffracted light field (90) in a plane substantially parallel to the second layer (20b).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b) of the second layer (20b) is arranged to waveguide the diffracted light field (90) in a plane substantially parallel to the first layer (20a).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) and the waveguide coupler (portion of the layer 20a where the light coupled out by the partially reflective surface 22a passes through) are fixed to the first major surface (front side in Fig. 5A) of the second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) and the waveguide coupler (portion of the layer 20a where the light coupled out by the partially reflective surface 22a passes through) each comprise a respective secondary pair of opposing surfaces arranged to trap the diffracted light field (90) within the plane thereof.
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein at least one surface of each secondary pair of opposing surfaces comprises a reflective component (16b; and [0024]) and the at least one surface of each secondary pair of opposing surfaces is fixed to a common substrate (20b) via the reflective component (16B).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the common substrate (20b) is the second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b) or a component of a vehicle housing the light engine.
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) and the waveguide coupler (portion of the layer 20a where the light coupled out by the partially reflective surface 22a passes through) are bonded together.
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the light engine further comprises a control device, wherein the control device comprises a plurality of independently controlled apertures arranged to determine which pupil replicas are relayed from the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) to the second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b), optionally, wherein the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a), the waveguide coupler (portion of the layer 20a where the light coupled out by the partially reflective surface 22a passes through) and the control device (Fig. 6) are bonded together.
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the second layer (20b) is defined by first and second axes ([0039 and 0040]), wherein an elongate dimension of the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) is angled with respect to at least one of the first and second axes of the second layer (20b).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the elongate dimension of the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) is arranged to be tilted with respect to the respective other of said first and second directions of the footprint (The partially reflecting surfaces 22a couple the light out of first LOE 20a and then the light is coupled into the second asymmetrical LOE 20b by the reflecting surface 16b).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the angle of the elongate dimension of the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) with respect to the first axis or second axis of the second layer (20b) is substantially equal to the angle of incidence of the diffracted light received by the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b) has a substantially quadrilateral cross-sectional shape.
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the input of the second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b) is elongated and corresponds to the first axis of the second layer (20b).
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the first and second major surface (rear side in Fig. 5A)s of the second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b) form a primary pair of opposing surfaces arranged to provide light guiding there between and pupil replication.
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) comprises a primary pair of opposing surfaces arranged to provide light guiding ([0105]) therebetween and pupil replication.
With regard to claim 21, D1 teaches a head-up display ([0022]) for a vehicle, wherein the head-up display ([0022]) comprises: a first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) extending in a first direction and arranged to receive a holographic light field ([0081]) from a spatial light modulator ([0071]) having a pixel array defining a limiting aperture of the head-up display ([0022]), wherein a holographic light field ([0081]) is a complex light field spatially modulated in accordance with a hologram ([0081]) displayed on the spatial light modulator ([0071]); a second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b) extending in the first direction and in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, wherein the second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b) comprises a first major surface (front side in Fig. 5A) forming an output and a second major surface (rear side in Fig. 5A) parallel to the first major surface (front side in Fig. 5A); wherein the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) is arranged within a planar layer substantially parallel and adjacent to the second major surface (rear side in Fig. 5A) of the second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b); and wherein the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) is arranged such that light output by the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) is parallel to one of the first and second directions.
With regard to claim 22, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 21, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) is attached to the second major surface (rear side in Fig. 5A) of the second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b) or to a structural framework of the vehicle housing the head-up display ([0022]); and optionally wherein the head-up display ([0022]) further comprises a waveguide coupler (portion of the layer 20a where the light coupled out by the partially reflective surface 22a passes through) arranged to optically couple the output of the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) to an input of the second pupil replicator (the multiple 22b), the waveguide coupler (portion of the layer 20a where the light coupled out by the partially reflective surface 22a passes through) being arranged within the planar layer of the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a).
with regard to claim 23, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 21, wherein D1 further teaches a light guide optical assembly, in at least (fig. 5A-B; and [0019]-[0021]); wherein the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) is arranged such light output by the first pupil replicator (the multiple 22a) is parallel to one of the first and second directions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872