DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed 12/10/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 1, 10 and 17 are amended. This action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims amended 12/10/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sridharan et al. (“Sridharan”, US 2021/0200713) in view of Floren et al. (“Floren”, US 2022/0075515) in view of Shah et al. (“Shah”, US 2017/0212668) in view of Tankersley et al. (“Tankersley”, US 2018/0024901) in view of Arora et al. (“Arora”, US 2017/0228110) and further in view of Trinon et al. (“Trinon” US 2006/0136459).
As per claim 1, Sridharan teaches a method, comprising:
retrieving, by a system comprising at least one processor (Sridharan, para.102, 150, 156, Fig.5, processor 512), an object model (Sridharan, para.102, 159, 180, 206, BIM) including (1) telemetry data associated with a plurality of mapped assets (Sridharan, para.166, 169, 204, 226, BAS points associated with sensor data for assets) and (2) a first set of contextual data associated with the plurality of mapped assets (Sridharan, para.168, 191, 194, 201, 205, 209, 211, 225, hierarchy of assets and their relationships; physical assets related to building space; multiple BIMs representing a subset of a building and assets);
receiving, by the system from a user device (Sridharan, para.171-173, Fig.5, UI generator receives inputs from user device 546), a visualization request (Sridharan, para.171, 180, 206, 217, uploading BIMs);
causing, by the system in response to the visualization request, a visual representation of the object model to be displayed via the user device (Sridharan, para.171, 180, 206, 217, 247, 3D model generated from multiple BIMs), the visual representation including (1) a plurality of asset icons, wherein each of the plurality of asset icons is associated with at least one of the plurality of mapped assets (Sridharan, Fig.1, para.107-110, 217, 3D graphical representations of assets such as subsystems/equipment like AHU106/VAV units 116), and (2) a first set of contextual identifiers indicative of the first set of contextual data (Sridharan, para.112, 225, 253-258, 260, assets associated with individual floors/zones);
detecting, by the system, an unmapped asset (Sridharan, para.228, 243, new asset detected) based on a first set of unmapped telemetry data (Sridharan, para.166, 169, 204, 226, BAS points), wherein the first set of unmapped telemetry data comprises of a plurality of assets that are not integrated into the object model (Sridharan, para.230, 234, 243, new assets not included in original BIM);
causing, by the system, automatic display of an unmapped asset icon (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.212, 223, 228-232, 283, context menu 1402 displays unmapped file menu 1404; context menu 1510/1520 displays unmapped menu 1540/1542 and unmapped menu 1610/1620);
receiving, by the system from the user device, an icon selection indicative of the unmapped asset icon (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, user selects unmapped assets for mapping);
causing, display of a context generation menu (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, user selects a set from hierarchy such as building/floors/space; Fig.16, para.232, unmapped menu 1610/1620 displays assets);
receiving, by the system from the user device via the context generation menu, a second set of contextual data (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.214, 228-232, user selects a set from hierarchy of unmapped BAS points associated with objects), wherein the second set of contextual data correspond to metadata that is associated with the first set of unmapped telemetry data (Sridharan, para.229-230, unmapped BAS points i.e. metadata), wherein the metadata comprises at least data received from plurality of assets in the facility (Sridharan, para.200-201, 204, 226, relationships identified from metadata); and
associating, by the system in response to receiving the second set of contextual data, the second set of contextual data with the unmapped asset (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, user selects a set from hierarchy such as building/floors/space to display associated unmapped assets for mapping), and wherein the association of second set of contextual data with the unmapped asset is updated (Sridharan, para.233-234, 239, updated BIM).
However, Sridharan does not teach causing, by the system, display of an unmapped asset icon associated with the unmapped asset in the visual representation; receiving, by the system from the user device, an icon selection indicative of the unmapped asset icon and causing, by the system in response to the icon selection, display of a context generation menu; and wherein the association of second set of contextual data with the unmapped asset is updated by displaying lines connecting the unmapped asset icon to a mapped asset icon associated with the at least one plurality of mapped assets in the visual representation. Floren teaches a method of causing display of an unmapped asset icon associated with the unmapped asset in the visual representation (Floren, Fig.8J, unmapped asset “North Hospital”; para.183) and receiving, by the system from the user device, an icon selection indicative of the unmapped asset icon (Floren, Fig.8J, link subgraph to parent graph by clicking; para.183) and causing, by the system in response to the icon selection, display of a context generation menu (Floren, Fig.8J, UI 862 displayed to link; para.183); and wherein the association of a set of contextual data with the unmapped asset is updated by displaying lines connecting the unmapped asset icon to a mapped asset icon associated with the at least one plurality of mapped assets in the visual representation (Floren, para.183, Fig.8J, unmapped asset “North Hospital” linked to parent graph with displayed link line). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Floren’s teaching with Sridharan’s method to interact visually and assign new objects seamlessly.
Furthermore, while the method of Sridharan and Floren teaches modification of mapped data (Sridharan, para.229, configuration of BIM allows user to modify mapped spaces) the method of Sridharan and Floren does not teach wherein the context generation menu allows a user to at least one of add or modify the metadata associated with the first set of unmapped telemetry data. Shah teaches a method of displaying unmapped points wherein a context generation menu allows a user to at least one of add or modify the metadata associated with a set of unmapped telemetry data (Shah, Fig.41-44, unmapped points 4114, menu 4400; para.75, 128, 276-277, configuration menu 4400). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Shah’s teaching with the method of Sridharan and Floren to modify individual data points.
Although, the method of Sridharan, Floren and Shah teaches filtering and bulk editing (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, 253, 258; Floren, para.176, 180-181, 188), the method does not teach enabling a filter field on the visual representation, wherein the filter field allows a user to perform a bulk editing of one or more properties of the plurality of mapped assets to selectively display the plurality of asset icons on the visual representation. Tankersley teaches a method enabling a filter field on the visual representation via the user device, wherein the filter field allows a user to perform a bulk editing of one or more properties of the plurality of mapped assets to selectively display the plurality of asset icons on the visual representation (Tankersley, Fig.17N-17O; para.374-375, 381, 751, 756-758, bulk action 17654; filter 17656). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Tankersley’s teaching with the method of Sridharan, Floren and Shah to modify properties quickly.
Furthermore, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah and Tankersley does not explicitly teach wherein the object model comprises a knowledge graph with a semantic object model that defines a schema of permissible associations among at least facilities, locations, assets, attributes, and telemetry data; and validating, by the system, the second set of contextual data against the schema defined by the knowledge graph to ensure that the association between the unmapped asset and the second set of contextual data is permitted by the schema. Arora teaches a method of associating devices wherein an object model comprises a knowledge graph with a semantic object model that defines a schema of permissible associations among at least facilities, locations, assets, attributes, and telemetry data (Arora, Fig.4, 16; para.4, 9, 29-31, 44, association table defines compatible device associations); and validating the second set of contextual data against the schema defined by the knowledge graph to ensure that the association between the unmapped asset and the second set of contextual data is permitted by the schema (Arora, Fig.4, 16; para.4, 9, 29-31, 44, incompatible devices display warning). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Arora’s teaching with the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah and Tankersley to inform the user of incompatible devices.
Additionally, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley and Arora does not explicitly teach wherein enabling the filter field includes exposing filter tags assigned by the object model and filtering based on the filter tags. Trinon teaches a method of creating a service model which exposes filter tags assigned by the object model and filtering based on the filter tags (Trinon, para.61-62, pre-populated drop-downs determined). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Trinon’s teaching with the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley and Arora in order to filter based on relevant data.
As per claim 2, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: causing, by the system in response to associating the second set of contextual data with the unmapped asset, a second set of contextual identifiers indicative of the second set of contextual data to be displayed in the visual representation (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228, 231-232, selection of map button associates data with asset to be displayed in 3D model).
As per claim 3, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the second set of contextual data is indicative of a facility in which the unmapped asset is located (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, user selects a set from hierarchy such as building/floors/space).
As per claim 4, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the second set of contextual data is indicative of an area of the facility in which the unmapped asset is located (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, user selects a set from hierarchy such as building/floors/space).
As per claim 5, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the visual representation further includes a plurality of telemetry icons, wherein each of the plurality of telemetry icons is associated with telemetry data for at least one of the plurality of mapped assets (Sridharan, para.169, 252, 261, 270-271, analytics icon 1944 for viewing live data of assets; identifying feature changes based on telemetry data).
As per claim 6, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the system from the user device, a bulk icon selection indicative of a first subset of the plurality of asset icons (Sridharan, Fig.14, para.227-228, multiple files may be selected; Floren, para.172, multiple nodes selectable for editing); receiving, by the system from the user device, a third set of contextual data (Sridharan, Fig.14, para.227-228, multiple files may be mapped to another contextual set like organization/site/building); and associating, by the system in response to receiving the third set of contextual data, the third set of contextual data with each of the first subset of the plurality of asset icons (Sridharan, Fig.14, para.227-228, multiple files may be mapped to a set like organization/site/building).
As per claim 7, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first set of contextual identifiers includes a plurality of location icons, wherein each of the plurality of asset icons is associated with at least one of the plurality of location icons (Sridharan, Fig.1, para.107-110, 217, 3D graphical representations of assets such as subsystems/equipment like AHU106/VAV units 116; para.112, 225, 253-258, 260, assets associated with individual floors/zones; Floren, Fig.8A, location icon 804, asset icon 806; para.167).
As per claim 8, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the method of claim 7, wherein each of the plurality of location icons is configured to be togglable such that associated asset icons may be selectively hidden (Sridharan, Fig.20, select assets to show thru menu 2016; para.253; Floren, para.182, button 857 to hide assets).
As per claim 9, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving, by the system from the user device, a location icon selection indicative of one of the plurality of location icons (Sridharan, Fig.20, select assets to show thru menu 2016, para.258, filter displayed locations); and removing, by the system in response to receiving the location icon selection, location icons not indicated by the location icon selection from the visual representation (Sridharan, Fig.20, select assets to show thru menu 2016, para.258, filter displayed locations).
As per claim 10, Sridharan teaches a method, comprising:
retrieving, by a system comprising at least one processor (Sridharan, para.102, 150, 156, Fig.5, processor 512), an object model (Sridharan, para.102, 159, 180, 206, BIM) including (1) telemetry data associated with a plurality of mapped assets (Sridharan, para.166, 169, 204, 226, BAS points associated with sensor data for assets) and (2) a first set of contextual data associated with the plurality of mapped assets (Sridharan, para.168, 191, 194, 201, 205, 209, 211, 225, hierarchy of assets and their relationships; physical assets related to building space; multiple BIMs representing a subset of a building and assets);
receiving, by the system from a user device (Sridharan, para.171-173, Fig.5, UI generator receives inputs from user device 546), a visualization request (Sridharan, para.171, 180, 206, 217, uploading BIMs);
causing, by the system in response to the visualization request, a visual representation of the object model to be displayed via the user device (Sridharan, para.171, 180, 206, 217, 247, 3D model generated from multiple BIMs), the visual representation including (1) a plurality of telemetry icons, wherein each of the plurality of telemetry icons is associated with telemetry data for at least one of the plurality of mapped assets (Sridharan, para.169, 252, 261, 270-271, analytics icon 1944 for viewing live data of assets; identifying feature changes based on telemetry data), (2) a plurality of asset icons associated with at least one of the plurality of mapped assets (Sridharan, Fig.1, para.107-110, 217, 3D graphical representations of assets such as subsystems/equipment like AHU106/VAV units 116), and (3) a first set of contextual identifiers indicative of the first set of contextual data (Sridharan, para.112, 225, 253-258, 260, assets associated with individual floors/zones) and linking each of the plurality of telemetry icons to at least one of the plurality of asset icons (Sridharan, para.169, 252, 261, 270-271, analytics icon 1944 for viewing live data of assets; identifying feature changes based on telemetry data);
detecting, by the system, a first set of unmapped telemetry data (Sridharan, para. 166, 169, 204, 226, 228, 243, new asset detected with BAS point data), wherein the first set of unmapped telemetry data comprises of a plurality of assets that are not integrated into the object model (Sridharan, para.230, 234, 243, new assets not included in original BIM);
causing, by the system, automatic display of an unmapped telemetry icon (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.212, 223, 228-232, context menu 1402 displays unmapped file menu 1404; context menu 1510/1520 displays unmapped menu 1540/1542 and unmapped menu 1610/1620);
receiving, by the system from the user device, an icon selection indicative of the unmapped telemetry icon (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, user selects unmapped assets for mapping);
causing, display of a context generation menu (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, user selects a set from hierarchy such as building/floors/space; Fig.16, para.232, unmapped menu 1610/1620 displays assets);
receiving, by the system from the user device via the context generation menu, a second set of contextual data (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, user selects a set from hierarchy such as building/floors/space); and
associating, by the system in response to receiving the second set of contextual data, the unmapped telemetry data with at least one of the plurality of mapped assets based on the second set of contextual data (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, user selects a set from hierarchy such as building/floors/space to display associated unmapped assets for mapping), and wherein the association of second set of contextual data with the unmapped asset is updated (Sridharan, para.233-234, 239, updated BIM).
However, Sridharan does not teach causing, by the system, display of an unmapped telemetry icon associated with the first set of unmapped telemetry data in the visual representation; receiving, by the system from the user device, an icon selection indicative of the unmapped telemetry icon and causing, by the system in response to the icon selection, display of a context generation menu; and wherein the association of second set of contextual data with the unmapped asset is updated by displaying lines connecting the unmapped asset icon to a mapped asset icon associated with the at least one plurality of mapped assets in the visual representation. Floren teaches a method of causing display of an unmapped icon associated with unmapped data in the visual representation (Floren, Fig.8J, unmapped asset “North Hospital”; para.183) and receiving, by the system from the user device, an icon selection indicative of the unmapped icon (Floren, Fig.8J, link subgraph to parent graph by clicking; para.183) and causing, by the system in response to the icon selection, display of a context generation menu (Floren, Fig.8J, UI 862 displayed to link; para.183); and wherein the association of a set of contextual data with the unmapped asset is updated by displaying lines connecting the unmapped asset icon to a mapped asset icon associated with the at least one plurality of mapped assets in the visual representation (Floren, para.183, Fig.8J, unmapped asset “North Hospital” linked to parent graph with displayed link line). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Floren’s teaching with Sridharan’s method to interact visually and assign new objects seamlessly.
Furthermore, while the method of Sridharan and Floren teaches modification of mapped data (Sridharan, para.229, configuration of BIM allows user to modify mapped spaces) the method of Sridharan and Floren does not teach wherein the context generation menu allows a user to at least one of add or modify the metadata associated with the first set of unmapped telemetry data. Shah teaches a method of displaying unmapped points wherein a context generation menu allows a user to at least one of add or modify the metadata associated with a set of unmapped telemetry data (Shah, Fig.41-44, unmapped points 4114, menu 4400; para.75, 128, 276-277, configuration menu 4400). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Shah’s teaching with the method of Sridharan and Floren to modify individual data points.
Although, the method of Sridharan, Floren and Shah teaches filtering and bulk editing (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, 253, 258; Floren, para.176, 180-181, 188), the method does not teach enabling a filter field on the visual representation, wherein the filter field allows a user to perform a bulk editing of one or more properties of the plurality of mapped assets to selectively display the plurality of asset icons on the visual representation. Tankersley teaches a method a filter field on the visual representation via the user device, wherein the filter field allows a user to perform a bulk editing of one or more properties of the plurality of mapped assets to selectively display the plurality of asset icons on the visual representation (Tankersley, Fig.17N-17O; para.756-758, bulk action 17654; filter 17656). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Tankersley’s teaching with the method of Sridharan, Floren and Shah to modify properties quickly.
Furthermore, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah and Tankersley does not explicitly teach wherein the object model comprises a knowledge graph with a semantic object model that defines a schema of permissible associations among at least facilities, locations, assets, attributes, and telemetry data; and validating, by the system, the second set of contextual data against the schema defined by the knowledge graph to ensure that the association between the unmapped asset and the second set of contextual data is permitted by the schema. Arora teaches a method of associating devices wherein an object model comprises a knowledge graph with a semantic object model that defines a schema of permissible associations among at least facilities, locations, assets, attributes, and telemetry data (Arora, Fig.4, 16; para.4, 9, 29-31, 44, association table defines compatible device associations); and validating the second set of contextual data against the schema defined by the knowledge graph to ensure that the association between the unmapped asset and the second set of contextual data is permitted by the schema (Arora, Fig.4, 16; para.4, 9, 29-31, 44, incompatible devices display warning). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Arora’s teaching with the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah and Tankersley to inform the user of incompatible devices.
Additionally, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley and Arora does not explicitly teach wherein enabling the filter field includes exposing filter tags assigned by the object model and filtering based on the filter tags. Trinon teaches a method of creating a service model which exposes filter tags assigned by the object model and filtering based on the filter tags (Trinon, para.61-62, pre-populated drop-downs determined). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Trinon’s teaching with the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley and Arora in order to filter based on relevant data.
As per claim 11, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: causing, by the system in response to associating the second set of contextual data with the unmapped telemetry data, to be displayed in the visual representation a second set of contextual identifiers indicative of associations between the unmapped telemetry data and the at least one of the plurality of mapped assets (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228, 231-232, selection of map button associates data with asset to be displayed in 3D model).
As per claim 12, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: detecting, by the system, a plurality of sets of unmapped telemetry data (Sridharan, para.228, 243, new asset detected with BAS point data; Fig.14-16, para.228-232, context menu 1402 displays unmapped file menu 1404; context menu 1510/1520 displays unmapped menu 1540/1542 and unmapped menu 1610/1620); causing, by the system, display of a plurality of unmapped telemetry icons, wherein each of the plurality of unmapped telemetry icons is associated with at least one of the plurality of sets of unmapped telemetry data in the visual representation (Floren, Fig.8J, unmapped asset “North Hospital”; para.183), wherein the icon selection is indicative of the plurality of unmapped telemetry icons (Floren, Fig.8J, link subgraph to parent graph by clicking; para.183; Floren, para.172, multiple nodes selectable for editing; Sridharan, Fig.14, para.227-228, multiple files may be selected); and associating, by the system in response to receiving the second set of contextual data, each of the plurality of sets of unmapped telemetry data with at least one of the plurality of mapped assets based on the second set of contextual data (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, user selects a set from hierarchy such as building/floors/space to display associated unmapped assets for mapping).
As per claim 13, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the first set of contextual data is indicative of a facility in which at least one of the plurality of mapped assets is located (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, user selects a set from hierarchy such as building/floors/space).
As per claim 14, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the first set of contextual identifiers includes a plurality of location icons, wherein each of the plurality of asset icons is associated with at least one of the plurality of location icons (Sridharan, Fig.1, para.107-110, 217, 3D graphical representations of assets such as subsystems/equipment like AHU106/VAV units 116; para.112, 225, 253-258, 260, assets associated with individual floors/zones; Floren, Fig.8A, location icon 804, asset icon 806; para.167).
As per claim 15, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the method of claim 14, wherein each of the plurality of location icons is configured to be togglable such that associated asset icons and telemetry icons may be selectively hidden (Sridharan, Fig.20, select assets to show thru menu 2016; para.253; Floren, para.182, button 857 to hide assets).
As per claim 16, the method of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: receiving, by the system from the user device, an asset icon selection indicative of one of the plurality of asset icons (Sridharan, Fig.20, select assets to show thru menu 2016, para.258, filter displayed locations); and removing, by the system in response to receiving the asset icon selection, asset icons not indicated by the asset icon selection from the visual representation (Sridharan, Fig.20, select assets to show thru menu 2016, para.258, filter displayed locations).
As per claim 17, Sridharan teaches a system, comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions (Sridharan, para.155-158; Fig.5, memory 520); and
one or more processors operatively connected to the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to (Sridharan, para.102, 150, 156, Fig.5, processor 512):
retrieve an object model (Sridharan, para.102, 159, 180, 206, BIM) including (1) telemetry data associated with a plurality of mapped assets (Sridharan, para.166, 169, 204, 226, BAS points associated with sensor data for assets) and (2) a first set of contextual data associated with the plurality of mapped assets (Sridharan, para.168, 191, 194, 201, 205, 209, 211, 225, hierarchy of assets and their relationships; physical assets related to building space; multiple BIMs representing a subset of a building and assets);
receive, from a user device (Sridharan, para.171-173, Fig.5, UI generator receives inputs from user device 546), a visualization request (Sridharan, para.171, 180, 206, 217, uploading BIMs);
cause, in response to the visualization request, a visual representation of the object model to be displayed via the user device (Sridharan, para.171, 180, 206, 217, 247, 3D model generated from multiple BIMs), the visual representation including (1) a plurality of telemetry icons, wherein each of the plurality of telemetry icons is associated with telemetry data for at least one of the plurality of mapped assets (Sridharan, para.169, 252, 261, 270-271, analytics icon 1944 for viewing live data of assets; identifying feature changes based on telemetry data), (2) a plurality of asset icons associated with at least one of the plurality of mapped assets (Sridharan, Fig.1, para.107-110, 217, 3D graphical representations of assets such as subsystems/equipment like AHU106/VAV units 116), and (3) a first set of contextual identifiers indicative of the first set of contextual data (Sridharan, para.112, 225, 253-258, 260, assets associated with individual floors/zones) and linking each of the plurality of telemetry icons to at least one of the plurality of asset icons (Sridharan, para.169, 252, 261, 270-271, analytics icon 1944 for viewing live data of assets; identifying feature changes based on telemetry data);
detect a plurality of sets of unmapped telemetry data (Sridharan, para. 166, 169, 204, 226, 228, 243, new asset detected with BAS point data; Fig.14-16, para.228-232, context menu 1402 displays unmapped file menu 1404; context menu 1510/1520 displays unmapped menu 1540/1542 and unmapped menu 1610/1620), wherein the plurality of sets of unmapped telemetry data comprises of a plurality of assets that are not integrated into the object model (Sridharan, para.230, 234, 243, new assets not included in original BIM);
cause automatic display of a plurality of unmapped telemetry icons (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.212, 223, 228-232, context menu 1402 displays unmapped file menu 1404; context menu 1510/1520 displays unmapped menu 1540/1542 and unmapped menu 1610/1620);
receive, from the user device, a bulk icon selection indicative of the plurality of unmapped telemetry icons (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, user selects unmapped assets for mapping; Fig.14, para.227-228, multiple files may be selected);
cause, display of a context generation menu (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, user selects a set from hierarchy such as building/floors/space; Fig.16, para.232, unmapped menu 1610/1620 displays assets);
receive, from the user device via the context generation menu, a second set of contextual data (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, user selects a set from hierarchy such as building/floors/space); and
associate, in response to the receiving the second set of contextual data, each of the plurality of sets of unmapped telemetry data with at least one of the plurality of mapped assets based on the second set of contextual data (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, user selects a set from hierarchy such as building/floors/space to display associated unmapped assets for mapping), and wherein the association of second set of contextual data with the unmapped asset is updated (Sridharan, para.233-234, 239, updated BIM).
However, Sridharan does not teach causing display of a plurality of unmapped telemetry icon associated with one of the plurality of sets of unmapped telemetry data in the visual representation; receiving, from the user device, an icon selection indicative of the plurality of unmapped telemetry icons and causing, in response to the icon selection, display of a context generation menu; and wherein the association of second set of contextual data with the unmapped asset is updated by displaying lines connecting the unmapped asset icon to a mapped asset icon associated with the at least one plurality of mapped assets in the visual representation. Floren teaches a system of causing display of an unmapped icon associated with unmapped data in the visual representation (Floren, Fig.8J, unmapped asset “North Hospital”; para.183) and receiving, from the user device, an icon selection indicative of the unmapped icon (Floren, Fig.8J, link subgraph to parent graph by clicking; para.183; Floren, para.172, multiple nodes selectable for editing) and causing, in response to the icon selection, display of a context generation menu (Floren, Fig.8J, UI 862 displayed to link; para.183); and wherein the association of a set of contextual data with the unmapped asset is updated by displaying lines connecting the unmapped asset icon to a mapped asset icon associated with the at least one plurality of mapped assets in the visual representation (Floren, para.183, Fig.8J, unmapped asset “North Hospital” linked to parent graph with displayed link line). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Floren’s teaching with Sridharan’s system to interact visually and assign new objects seamlessly.
Furthermore, while the system of Sridharan and Floren teaches modification of mapped data (Sridharan, para.229, configuration of BIM allows user to modify mapped spaces) the system of Sridharan and Floren does not teach wherein the context generation menu allows a user to at least one of add or modify the metadata associated with the first set of unmapped telemetry data. Shah teaches a system of displaying unmapped points wherein a context generation menu allows a user to at least one of add or modify the metadata associated with a set of unmapped telemetry data (Shah, Fig.41-44, unmapped points 4114, menu 4400; para.75, 128, 276-277, configuration menu 4400). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Shah’s teaching with the system of Sridharan and Floren to modify individual data points.
Although, the system of Sridharan, Floren and Shah teaches filtering and bulk editing (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228-232, 253, 258; Floren, para.176, 180-181, 188), the system does not teach enabling a filter field on the visual representation, wherein the filter field allows a user to perform a bulk editing of one or more properties of the plurality of mapped assets to selectively display the plurality of asset icons on the visual representation. Tankersley teaches a system a filter field on the visual representation via the user device, wherein the filter field allows a user to perform a bulk editing of one or more properties of the plurality of mapped assets to selectively display the plurality of asset icons on the visual representation (Tankersley, Fig.17N-17O; para.756-758, bulk action 17654; filter 17656). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Tankersley’s teaching with the system of Sridharan, Floren and Shah to modify properties quickly.
Furthermore, the system of Sridharan, Floren, Shah and Tankersley does not explicitly teach wherein the object model comprises a knowledge graph with a semantic object model that defines a schema of permissible associations among at least facilities, locations, assets, attributes, and telemetry data; and validating, by the system, the second set of contextual data against the schema defined by the knowledge graph to ensure that the association between the unmapped asset and the second set of contextual data is permitted by the schema. Arora teaches a system of associating devices wherein an object model comprises a knowledge graph with a semantic object model that defines a schema of permissible associations among at least facilities, locations, assets, attributes, and telemetry data (Arora, Fig.4, 16; para.4, 9, 29-31, 44, association table defines compatible device associations); and validating the second set of contextual data against the schema defined by the knowledge graph to ensure that the association between the unmapped asset and the second set of contextual data is permitted by the schema (Arora, Fig.4, 16; para.4, 9, 29-31, 44, incompatible devices display warning). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Arora’s teaching with the system of Sridharan, Floren, Shah and Tankersley to inform the user of incompatible devices.
Additionally, the system of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley and Arora does not explicitly teach wherein enabling the filter field includes exposing filter tags assigned by the object model and filtering based on the filter tags. Trinon teaches a system of creating a service model which exposes filter tags assigned by the object model and filtering based on the filter tags (Trinon, para.61-62, pre-populated drop-downs determined). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Trinon’s teaching with the system of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley and Arora in order to filter based on relevant data.
As per claim 18, the system of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause, in response to associating each of the plurality of sets of unmapped telemetry data with at least one of the plurality of mapped assets, to be displayed in the visual representation a second set of contextual identifiers indicative of associations between each of the plurality of sets of unmapped telemetry data with at least one of the plurality of mapped assets (Sridharan, Fig.14-16, para.228, 231-232, selection of map button associates data with asset to be displayed in 3D model).
As per claim 19, the system of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the user device, an asset icon selection indicative of one of the plurality of asset icons (Sridharan, Fig.20, select assets to show thru menu 2016, para.258, filter displayed locations); and remove, in response to receiving the asset icon selection, asset icons not indicated by the asset icon selection from the visual representation (Sridharan, Fig.20, select assets to show thru menu 2016, para.258, filter displayed locations).
As per claim 20, the system of Sridharan, Floren, Shah, Tankersley, Arora and Trinon teaches the system of claim 19, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: remove, in response to receiving the asset icon selection, unmapped telemetry icons not associated with the asset icon indicated by the asset icon selection from the visual representation (Sridharan, Fig.20, select icons to show thru menu 2016, para.258, filter displayed locations; Floren, para.182, button 857 to hide assets).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rieke (US 2016/0072831) teaches a method of analyzing network connections displaying allowed connections.
Gere et al. (US 2011/0238691) teaches a method of adding nodes to a graph and selecting from allowed relationship and classes.
Garr et al. (US 2014/0078151) teaches a method of using context sensitive filters.
Inquiries
/S.M./
Sajeda MuhebbullahExaminer, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174