DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub. 2012/0060626).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses (Figs. 1-4) a method of detecting a change in a lumen (i.e. tube A: see pars. [0052] and [0059]) property of a lumen device (i.e. plugged/blocked: see pars. [0056] and [0059]), the method comprising:
a. obtaining or having obtained a flow measurement for the device to be inspected (i.e. a reference flow value, below which the tube is determined to be plugged: [0059]); and
b. comparing the flow measurement in the device (i.e. the mass flow through tube A: [0059]) to an acceptance range of flow (i.e. the flow is below the reference value: [0059]) obtained for a occluded representative device with a defined level of occlusion (i.e. plugged/blocked flow: [0056]/[0059]);
wherein the lumen property of the device to be inspected (either of tubes A or B) is determined to be changed (i.e. unblocked [0056]/[0059]; see Figs. 3a/b and [0062]) if the flow measurement for the device to be inspected is outside of the acceptance range (i.e. back to full flow after the blockage passes through: see Figs. 3a/b and [0062]; the flow would be above the reference value of a plugged tube: [0059]),
and the lumen property of the device to be inspected is determined to be unchanged (plugged: [0056]) if the flow measurement for the device to be inspected is within the acceptance range (i.e. plugged/obstructed if the flow is below the reference value: [0059]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu discloses (Figs. 1-4) determining the acceptance range of the occluded representative device (i.e. plugged/obstructed = when the flow is less than a 1:1 ratio, i.e. reduced: [0056]/[0059]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu discloses (Figs. 1-4) the occluded representative device is an unused originally manufactured device (OM) – (i.e. in an experimental setup before use: [0062]) or a used OM device (i.e. during use of the device: [0059]/[0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu discloses (Figs. 1-4) the change in the lumen property comprises a change in device-specific parts attached along the lumen (i.e. plugged with a rubber plug during an experimental setup: [0062]; implicit that if/when the plug is removed then the flow returns to normal).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu discloses (Figs. 1-4) the change in material of the lumen comprises a change in material caused by intended alteration of the device (i.e. plugged with a rubber plug during an experimental setup: [0062]; implicit that if/when the plug is removed then the flow returns to normal), a defect caused during use of the device (i.e. occlusion/plugging: [0056]/[0059]/[0062]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu discloses (Figs. 1-4) the change in the dimensions of the lumen comprises an occlusion in the lumen (see pars. [0056]/[0059]/[0062]), or a damaged lumen (i.e. occlusion/plugging: [0056]/[0059]/[0062], which could be considered damage).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu discloses (Figs. 1-4) the change in a property of the device occurred during manufacture (i.e. plugged with a rubber plug during an experimental setup: [0062]) or during use (see pars. [0059]/[0062]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,830,682 and claim 13 of U.S. Patent 12,025,483. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application are anticipated by the claims of U.S. Patents ‘682 and ‘483.
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patents ‘682 and ‘483 claim (see claim 13 of each patent):
A method of detecting a change in a lumen property of a lumen device, the method comprising: (see claim 13 of each patent)
a. obtaining or having obtained a flow measurement for the device to be inspected; and (see claim 13 of each patent)
b. comparing the flow measurement in the device to acceptance range of flow obtained for an occluded representative device with a defined level of occlusion; (see claim 13 of each patent; upper test limit in ‘483)
wherein the lumen property of the device to be inspected is determined to be changed (occluded: see claim 13 of each patent) if the flow measurement for the device to be inspected is outside of the acceptance range (lower than: see claim 13 of each patent),
and the lumen property of the device to be inspected is determined to be unchanged (unoccluded: see claim 13 of each patent) if the flow measurement for the device to be inspected is within the acceptance range (higher than = equal to the criteria: see claim 13 of each patent).
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patents ‘682 and ‘483 claim (see claim 13 of each patent):
determining the acceptance criteria of the representative device. (see claim 13 of each patent: upper test limit is the acceptance criteria)
Regarding claim 3, U.S. Patents ‘682 and ‘483 claim (see claim 13 of U.S. Patent ‘682 and claim 15 of U.S. Patent ‘483):
the acceptance criteria is determined using a method comprising: (see claim 13 of U.S. Patent ‘682 and claim 15 of U.S. Patent ‘483)
a. obtaining or having obtained a flow measurement for a representative device, wherein the defined level of occlusion includes a defined number of one or more occluding particles; and (see claim 13 of U.S. Patent ‘682 and claim 15 of U.S. Patent ‘483)
b. calculating an upper test limit flow rate for the occluded representative device; (see claim 13 of U.S. Patent ‘682 and claim 15 of U.S. Patent ‘483)
wherein the upper test limit flow rate is the acceptance criteria, and wherein the device to be inspected is determined to be occluded if a flow measurement for the inspected device is equal to or lower than the acceptance criteria, and the inspected device is determined to be unoccluded if the flow measurement in the device to be inspected is higher than the acceptance criteria. (see claim 13 of U.S. Patent ‘682 and claim 15 of U.S. Patent ‘483)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09-19-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Zhu does not disclose “comparing a flow measurement in the device to be inspected to an acceptance range obtained for an occluded representative device with a defined level of occlusion to determine whether the lumen of the device to be inspected has changed” (Remarks, p. 6) and that “it is clear that Zhu uses a comparison of a clear (e.g., unoccluded) tube (measuring tube A) - before any plugging has occurred - to determine if either of measuring tube A or B are plugged.”
However, the examiner disagrees. Zhu does disclose: comparing a flow measurement [0059] in the device to be inspected (either of tubes A or B) to an acceptance range (is the flow below a reference value of flow: [0059]) obtained for an occluded representative device (i.e. the limit value is predetermined, meaning that a flow value of aplugged tube is known/has been determined) with a defined level of occlusion (plugged: [0059]) to determine whether the lumen of the device to be inspected has changed (see Zhu at par. [0059] “If the subset flow value deviates significantly from the reference value to be expected, especially by more than a predetermined limit value, a plugging of a measuring tube is then detected. Based on the direction of the deviation of the subset flow value from the reference value to be expected, it is additionally determined via electronics 18 which of the measuring tubes A, B is plugged.”) It is also clear from this quote from par. [0059] of Zhu that does use a comparison to a plugged tube to determine if either of measuring tube A or B are plugged.
Therefore, for at least the reasons above, the previous grounds of rejection are maintained.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852