DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the claims
The arguments received on March, 13 2025 have been acknowledged and entered. Claims 1, 8, and 10 are amended. Claims 13-20 are allowed. Thus, claims 1-12 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed March, 13 2025 with respect to claims 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heyward et al. (US 5,654,988, hereinafter referred to as “Heyward”) in view of Noha et al. (US 2005/0086406 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Noha”).
Regarding claim 1, Heyward teaches a method comprising:
determining whether a real-time interrupt (RTI) pulse is undetected or detected during a monitor window associated (Fig. 6, interrupt acceptance units 614) with a first clock domain (col. 9, lines 6-11: this acceptance of skew variance provided by the synchronization pulse ensures that signals from the interrupt controller clock domain are seen on a particular clock edge when synchronized to the bus clock domain, even if the interrupt controller clock and the bus clock are out of phase internally, note that “the interrupt controller clock domain” reads on “a first clock domain”);
if the RTI pulse is undetected (col. 9, lines 6-11: out of phase internally), generating an interrupt request (IRQ) pulse (col. 8, lines 36-37: the IRQ message contains all necessary information for identifying the IRQ source and its priority) at a time that is determined in the first clock domain (col. 9, lines 6-11: this acceptance of skew variance provided by the synchronization pulse ensures that signals from the interrupt controller clock domain are seen on a particular clock edge when synchronized to the bus clock domain, even if the interrupt controller clock and the bus clock are out of phase internally, note that the above feature of “interrupt controller clock domain are seen a particular clock edge” reads on “at a time is determined in the first clock domain).
Further, Heyward teaches if the RTI pulse is detected, i) generating an IRQ pulse at a first time-offset from the detected RTI pulse, wherein the RTI pulse is based on a second clock domain, ii) determining a predicted next RTI time based on the measured time difference between the detected RTI pulse and the prior RTI pulse, iii) establishing, at a second time-offset from the IRQ pulse, a stop-monitor window during which RTI and sensor data are not accepted and, upon expiration of the stop-monitor window, establishing an RTI monitor window centered about the predicted next RTI time and iv) checking for the subsequent RTI pulse or the concomitant sensor data within the RTI monitor window, wherein the RTI monitor window terminates early upon detection of valid concomitant sensor data, and wherein, if the subsequent RTI pulse is not detected, a periodic IRQ generated at a fixed frequency of the first clock domain is used for a subsequent cycle. See MPEP 2111.04 states that “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B.”
Heyward does not specifically teach dynamically adaptive window associated with a first clock domain, wherein a temporal position of the dynamically adaptive monitor window is updated based on a measured time difference between a detected pulse and a prior pulse.
However, Noha teaches dynamically adaptive window associated with a first clock domain, wherein a temporal position of the dynamically adaptive monitor window is updated based on a measured time difference between a detected pulse and a prior pulse (para. [0006]: dynamically adjust the temporal offset; para. [0023]: The clock-retardation unit is configured to dynamically cause the second clock-signal to have a target time-domain offset relative to the first clock-signal; para. [0026]: these selected amounts are each less than a difference between the target time-domain offset between the first and second clock signals; para. [0040]: a target time-domain offset between the first and second clock-signals by changing a delay-line setting of the second delay-line upon detection of a window of opportunity during which the second clock-signal is in a stable state, note that the above feature of “dynamically adjust the temporal offset” in para. [0006], “difference between the target time-domain offset between the first and second clock signals” in para. [0026], and “offset between the first and second clock-signals by changing a delay-line setting of the second delay-line upon detection of a window of opportunity” in para. [0040] reads on “dynamically adaptive window associated with a first clock domain, wherein a temporal position of the dynamically adaptive monitor window is updated based on a measured time difference between a detected pulse and a prior pulse”).
Heyward and Noha are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of system using timing window. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the dynamically adaptive window such as is described in Noha into Heyward, in order to allow a timer module to be provided for generating interrupts to a system including a microcontroller that provides a real-time interrupt using a dedicated real-time interrupt clock signal (Noha, para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 8, Heyward in view of Noha teaches all the limitation of claim 1. Heyward does not specifically teach that the periodic interrupt request pulse is generated by a free-running timer in the first clock domain independent of detection of real-time interrupt pulses.
However, Noha teaches that the periodic interrupt request pulse is generated by a free-running timer in the first clock domain independent of detection of real-time interrupt pulses (para. [0006]: a timer module is provided for generating interrupts to a system including a microcontroller that provides a real-time interrupt using a dedicated real-time interrupt clock signal… A plurality of interrupt generation units each have an input receiving the current count of the free running counter; para. [0009]: For operating systems that require periodic time intervals; para. [0019]: three interrupt generation units IGU0, IGU1 and IGU2, each of which has an input connected to the output of the free running counter FRC, note that the above feature of “the periodic interrupt request pulse is generated by a free-running…an input receiving the current count of the free running counter” in para. [0006], “periodic time intervals” in para. [0009], and “an input connected to the output of the free running counter FRC” in para. [0019] reads on “the periodic interrupt request pulse is generated by a free-running timer in the first clock domain independent of detection of real-time interrupt pulses”).
Heyward and Noha are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of system using timing window. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the periodic interrupt request pulse such as is described in Noha into Heyward, in order to allow a timer module to be provided for generating interrupts to a system including a microcontroller that provides a real-time interrupt using a dedicated real-time interrupt clock signal (Noha, para. [0006]).
Claims 2-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heyward in view of Noha further in view of Chelmins et al. (US 9,423,426 B1, hereinafter referred to as “Chelmins”).
Regarding claim 2, Heyward in view of Noha teaches all the limitation of claim 1. Heyward and Noha do not specifically teach that the method is performed by an input/output (I/O) interface.
However, Chelmins teaches that the method is performed by an input/output (I/O) interface (col. 2, lines 37-39: The system also includes a circuit board configured to interface with the inertial measurement unit, the oscillator, an external trigger pulse, and the main processor ).
Heyward and Chelmins are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of circuit using clock. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the an input/output (I/O) interface such as is described in Chelmins into Heyward, in order to facilitate more effective time synchronization of an device with other devices (Chelmins, Col. 3, lines 36-38).
Regarding claim 3, Heyward in view of Noha teaches all the limitation of claim 2. Heyward and Noha do not specifically teach that the I/O interface is an inertial measurement unit interface.
However, Chelmins teaches that the I/O interface is an inertial measurement unit interface (col. 2, lines 37-39: The system also includes a circuit board configured to interface with the inertial measurement unit, the oscillator, an external trigger pulse, and the main processor).
Heyward and Chelmins are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of circuit using clock. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the inertial measurement unit interface such as is described in Chelmins into Heyward, in order to facilitate more effective time synchronization of an device with other devices (Chelmins, Col. 3, lines 36-38).
Regarding claim 4, Heyward in view of Noha teaches all the limitation of claim 1. Heyward and Noha do not specifically teach that the second clock domain is in a sensor device.
However, Chelmins teaches that the second clock domain is in a sensor device (col. 2, lines 3-7: The circuit board may provide sampling and communication abilities that allow the IMU to be sampled at precise time intervals based on an external trigger pulse, which enables various navigation sensors to be synchronized closely in time; col. 3, lines 51-54: In between receiving these time stamps, and when such a time stamp is unavailable, clock drift may occur between the inertial device and other devices in the navigation system). The above feature of “various navigation sensors “ in col. 2, lines 3-7 and “clock drift may occur between the inertial device and other devices in the navigation system” in col. 3, lines 51-54 reads on “the second clock domain is in a sensor device.”
Heyward and Chelmins are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of circuit using clock. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the second clock domain such as is described in Chelmins into Heyward, in order to facilitate more effective time synchronization of an device with other devices (Chelmins, Col. 3, lines 36-38).
Regarding claim 5, Heyward in view of Noha and Chelmins teaches all the limitation of claim 4. Heyward and Noha do not specifically teach that the first clock domain is in a processor system configured to receive the IRQ pulse.
However, Chelmins teaches that the IRQ pulse (col. 2, lines 3-7: The circuit board may provide sampling and communication abilities that allow the IMU to be sampled at precise time intervals based on an external trigger pulse, which enables various navigation sensors to be synchronized closely in time; col. 7, lines 9-12: The microcontroller RESET line also serves as an external interrupt request (IRQ) input). The above feature of “an external trigger pulse” in col. 2, lines 3-7 and “serves as an external interrupt request (IRQ) input” in col. 7, lines 9-12 reads on “the IRQ pulse.”
Heyward and Chelmins are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of circuit using clock. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the IRQ pulse such as is described in Chelmins into Heyward, in order to facilitate more effective time synchronization of an device with other devices (Chelmins, Col. 3, lines 36-38).
Regarding claim 6, Heyward in view of Noha and Chelmins teaches all the limitation of claim 5. Heyward and Noha do not specifically teach that the processor system is a field programmable gate array (FPGA).
However, Chelmins teaches that the processor system is a field programmable gate array (FPGA) (col.12, lines 10-13: a module may also be implemented in programmable hardware devices such as field programmable gate arrays, programmable array logic, programmable logic devices, graphics processing units, or the like).
Heyward and Chelmins are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of circuit using clock. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the field programmable gate array (FPGA) such as is described in Chelmins into Heyward, in order to facilitate more effective time synchronization of an device with other devices (Chelmins, Col. 3, lines 36-38).
Regarding claim 7, Heyward in view of Noha teaches all the limitation of claim 1. Heyward and Noha do not specifically teach that the time determined in the first clock domain is based on a system clock having a fixed frequency.
However, Chelmins teaches that the time determined in the first clock domain is based on a system clock having a fixed frequency (col. 6, lines 27-31: A CB3-3I-18M4320™ oscillator 250 operates at 18.432 MHz and provides 50 parts-per-million (ppm) stability to the clock of microcontroller 260. This particular frequency was chosen in this embodiment since the frequency is less than the maximum bus frequency (20 MHz) of microcontroller 260).
Heyward and Chelmins are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of circuit using clock. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the time determined in the first clock domain such as is described in Chelmins into Heyward, in order to facilitate more effective time synchronization of an device with other devices (Chelmins, Col. 3, lines 36-38).
Regarding claim 9, Heyward in view of Noha teaches all the limitation of claim 1. Heyward and Noha do not specifically teach further comprising providing the IRQ pulse to a processor system and providing the sensor data to the processor system substantially when the processor system receives the IRQ pulse.
However, Chelmins teaches further comprising providing the IRQ pulse to a processor system (col. 2, lines 3-7: the circuit board may provide sampling and communication abilities that allow the IMU to be sampled at precise time intervals based on an external trigger pulse, which enables various navigation sensors to be synchronized closely in time; col. 3, lines 41-47: when synchronizing with a radiometric system, a time stamp is periodically received. The radiometric system can often provide a synchronization pulse or time stamp that represents a given instant in time when the radiometric navigation information was transmitted or processed by the system or local radiometric receiver. For instance, for GPS, the time stamp may be received at a rate of 1 pulse per second (“PPS”); col. 7, lines 9-12: the microcontroller RESET line also serves as an external interrupt request (IRQ) input); the above feature of “an external trigger pulse (i.e., IRQ pulse)” in col. 2, lines 3-7, “provide a synchronization pulse or time stamp (i.e., IRQ pulse) that represents a given instant in time” in col. 3, lines 41-47, and “interrupt request (IRQ) input” in col. 7, lines 9-12 reads on “providing the sensor data to the processor system substantially when the processor system receives the IRQ pulse;” and
providing the sensor data to the processor system when the processor system receives the IRQ pulse (col. 2, lines 3-7: The circuit board may provide sampling and communication abilities that allow the IMU to be sampled at precise time intervals based on an external trigger pulse, which enables various navigation sensors to be synchronized closely in time; col. 3, lines 41-47: when synchronizing with a radiometric system, a time stamp is periodically received. The radiometric system can often provide a synchronization pulse or time stamp that represents a given instant in time when the radiometric navigation information was transmitted or processed by the system or local radiometric receiver. For instance, for GPS, the time stamp may be received at a rate of 1 pulse per second (“PPS”); col. 7, lines 9-12: The microcontroller RESET line also serves as an external interrupt request (IRQ) input). The above feature of “an external trigger pulse (i.e., IRQ pulse)” in col. 2, lines 3-7, “the radiometric navigation information (e.g. sensor data) was transmitted or processed by the system (e.g. processor system)” in col. 3, lines 41-47, and “interrupt request (IRQ) input” in col. 7, lines 9-12 reads on “providing the sensor data to the processor system substantially when the processor system receives the IRQ pulse.”
Heyward and Chelmins are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of circuit using clock. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the providing the IRQ pulse to a processor system and providing the sensor data to the processor system such as are described in Chelmins into Heyward, in order to facilitate more effective time synchronization of an device with other devices (Chelmins, Col. 3, lines 36-38).
Regarding claim 10, Heyward in view of Noha teaches all the limitation of claim 1. Heyward and Noha do not specifically teach further comprising: responsive to detecting the subsequent RTI pulse or the concomitant sensor data outside the RTI monitor window, discarding at least one of the following: (i) the subsequent RTI pulse, and (ii) the concomitant sensor data.
However, Chelmins teaches further comprising: responsive to detecting the subsequent RTI pulse or the concomitant sensor data outside the RTI monitor window, discarding at least one of the following: the subsequent RTI pulse, and the concomitant sensor data (col. 2, lines 3-7: The circuit board may provide sampling and communication abilities that allow the IMU to be sampled at precise time intervals based on an external trigger pulse, which enables various navigation sensors to be synchronized closely in time; col. 3, lines 51-54: In between receiving these time stamps, and when such a time stamp is unavailable, clock drift may occur between the inertial device and other devices in the navigation system; col. 9, lines 23-31: SCI_ISR: The SCI_ISR routine receives command bytes from the navigation processor. These command bytes are used by the IRQ_ISR subroutine to decide how to collect data. When ‘g’ is received (“go”), data is collected and transmitted continuously at 500 Hz. When ‘d’ is received (“data”), data is collected and transmitted over the next 1 second only. When ‘o’ is received (“one”), only a single block of data is collected and transmitted. Any other character will disable data collection and transmission as soon as possible ). The above feature of “an external trigger pulse” in col. 2, lines 3-7, “data is collected and transmitted over the next 1 second only,” “only a single block of data is collected and transmitted,” and “any other character will disable data collection” in col. 9, lines 23-31 reads on “RTI monitor window for when the subsequent RTI pulse and the concomitant sensor data are prevented from being monitored or provided to a processor system.”
Heyward and Chelmins are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of circuit using clock. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the (i) the subsequent RTI pulse, and (ii) the concomitant sensor data such as are described in Chelmins into Heyward, in order to facilitate more effective time synchronization of an device with other devices (Chelmins, Col. 3, lines 36-38).
Regarding claim 11, Heyward in view of Noha teaches all the limitation of claim 1. Heyward and Noha do not specifically teach further comprising transferring the concomitant sensor data into a buffer within the first time-offset.
However, Chelmins teaches further comprising transferring the concomitant sensor data into a buffer (col. 7, lines 9-12: see claim 1 above; col. 11, lines 30-31: see above col. 11, lines 37-40: The microcontroller provides buffering and parallel operation for the USB transmission, which eliminates the time cost of SPI reads. This saves 40 μsec per each of 8 reads, or about 320 μse) within the first time-offset (col. 3, lines 51-54: see claim 1 above; col 4, lines 16-23: see claim 1 above).
Heyward and Chelmins are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of circuit using clock. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the transferring the concomitant sensor data into a buffer such as is described in Chelmins into Heyward, in order to facilitate more effective time synchronization of an device with other devices (Chelmins, Col. 3, lines 36-38).
Regarding claim 12, Heyward in view of Noha teaches all the limitation of claim 1. Heyward and Noha do not specifically teach the first time-offset, the second time-offset, and the time span for monitoring the subsequent RTI pulse and the concomitant sensor data occur sequentially occur between consecutive IRQ pulses.
However, Chelmins teaches the first time-offset (col. 2, lines 3-7; col. 3, lines 41-46), the second time-offset (col. 3, lines 51-54; col 4, lines 16-23; col. 7, lines 9-12; col. 11, lines 30-31), and the time span for monitoring the subsequent RTI pulse and the concomitant sensor data occur sequentially occur between consecutive IRQ pulses (col. 2, lines 3-7: The circuit board may provide sampling and communication abilities that allow the IMU to be sampled at precise time intervals based on an external trigger pulse, which enables various navigation sensors to be synchronized closely in time; col. 3, lines 41-47: when synchronizing with a radiometric system, a time stamp is periodically received. The radiometric system can often provide a synchronization pulse or time stamp that represents a given instant in time when the radiometric navigation information was transmitted or processed by the system or local radiometric receiver. For instance, for GPS, the time stamp may be received at a rate of 1 pulse per second (“PPS”); col. 9, lines 24-28:These command bytes are used by the IRQ_ISR subroutine to decide how to collect data. When ‘g’ is received (“go”), data is collected and transmitted continuously at 500 Hz. When ‘d’ is received (“data”), data is collected and transmitted over the next 1 second only. When ‘o’ is received (“one”), only a single block of data is collected and transmitted). The above feature of “allow the IMU to be sampled at precise time intervals based on an external trigger pulse, which enables various navigation sensors” in col. 2, lines 3-7, “a time stamp is periodically received” in col. 3, lines 41-47, and “data is collected and transmitted over the next 1 second only. When ‘o’ is received (“one”), only a single block of data is collected and transmitted” in col. 9, lines 24-28 reads on “the time span for monitoring the subsequent RTI pulse and the concomitant sensor data occur sequentially occur between consecutive IRQ pulses.”
Heyward and Chelmins are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of circuit using clock. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first time-offset and the time span for monitoring the subsequent RTI pulse and the concomitant sensor data occur sequentially occur between consecutive IRQ pulses such as are described in Chelmins into Heyward, in order to facilitate more effective time synchronization of an device with other devices (Chelmins, col. 3, lines 36-38).
Conclusion
/SANGKYUNG LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858