Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Yoshizawa (US 2021/0096288) in view of Hellring (US 2012/0308724), further in view of Conley (CA 2982663), as evidenced by Dow web article (Dow) and as evidenced by BASF web article (BASF).
Re claims 1-16 and 20, Yoshizawa discloses an infrared transmissive product comprising a body that has a base material made of transparent plastic having infrared (IR) transmissivity and a black layer having a thickness of 5 to 50 microns (0.2-2 mils) formed on the rear surface (Abstract). The black layer comprises a transparent plastic and at least two types of pigments/dyes [11]. The transparent plastic includes acrylic resin [33]. Given that the base is a transparent plastic having infrared (IR) transmissivity it would necessarily inherently have transmittivity that spans NIR and SWIR bands.
There is no disclosure of coating as presently claimed.
Hellring discloses coating composition that transmits IR radiation (0001). The aqueous composition comprises acrylic film-forming binder and infrared transparent pigments [6, 17, 28] as well as dispersing agent [32]. The pigment includes that known under the tradename L0086 [23] which is identical to that used in the present invention and therefore would necessarily inherently have the same diameter as claimed. Given that there is a dispersing agent present, the pigment would necessarily be de-aggregated. The pigment is present in an amount of 0.1-50 wt.% [69]. The ratio of pigment to dispersant is 0.1:1 to 100:1 [58]. The coating composition exhibits color stability [0001].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the coating composition of Hellring in the black layer in Yoshizawa in order to produce a black layer with good color stability.
There is no disclosure in Yoshizawa in view of Hellring of the rheology modifier or properties as claimed.
Conley discloses paint comprising acrylic polymer, colorant, and an associative thickener, i.e. rheology modifier (page 1, lines 17-22). The associative thickener includes Acrysol DR-110 which is identical to the rheology modifier used in the present invention. The associative thickener decreases the viscosity sensitivity (Abstract, page 7, lines 13-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the rheology modifier of Conley in Yoshizawa in view of Hellring in order to produce a coating composition with decreased viscosity sensitivity.
Dow discloses acrylic resin known under the tradename Rhoplex AC-261F which is identical to that used in the present invention and that is suitable for paints providing good adhesion and abrasion resistance. Given that the dispersant is identical to that used in the present invention it would necessarily inherently have cut-off wavelength as claimed.
BASF discloses dispersant known under the tradename EFKA PX4310 which is identical to that used in the present invention and that provides improved color strength, optimum pigment dispersion, and strong viscosity reduction. Given that the dispersant is identically to that used in the present invention, it would necessarily inherently be a hydrophobically modified alkali-soluble rheology modifier that is an acrylate-based block copolymer with molecular weight of more than 2000 as presently claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Rhoplex AC-261F of Dow as the acrylic resin and EFKA PX4310 of BASF as the dispersing agent in Yoshizawa in view of Hellring in order to produce a coating composition with good adhesion and abrasion resistance, proved color strength, optimum pigment dispersion, and strong viscosity reduction.
Given that Yoshizawa in view of Hellring, Conley, Dow, and BASF disclose coating including acrylic latex, dispersing agent, pigment, and rheology modifier identical to that presently claimed, it is clear that the coating and its components would necessarily inherently have the same transmissivity in visible, NIR, and SWIR bands as presently claimed, the coating would necessarily inherently cure at ambient temperature and pressure as presently claimed, the pigment would necessarily inherently be highly dispersed though out the coating to absorb in the visible band and have same cut-off as presently claimed, and the acrylic resin and dispersing agent would necessarily inherently have average transmittance as presently claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the references to what is taught; however, alleges that the oil soluble teaching of Yoshizamwa teaches away from a water solvent. However, this why the supplemental reference, Hellring, was used to disclose an aqueous composition comprising similar ingredients, namely an acrylic film-forming binder and infrared transparent pigments [6, 17, 28] as well as dispersing agent [32]. The pigment includes that known under the tradename L0086 [23] which is identical to that used in the present invention and therefore would necessarily inherently have the same diameter as claimed. Given that there is a dispersing agent present, the pigment would necessarily be de-aggregated. The pigment is present in an amount of 0.1-50 wt.% [69]. The ratio of pigment to dispersant is 0.1:1 to 100:1 [58]. The coating composition exhibits color stability [0001]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the rheology modifier of Conley in Yoshizawa in view of Hellring in order to produce a coating composition with decreased viscosity sensitivity. See again the combination as set forth prior.
Further applicant doesn’t preclude oil in the open comprising claims.
Applicant argues Conley’s use of a thickeners and a non-ionic thickener contrasts with an anionic thickener. However, Conley was used to teach the exact rheology modifier. The compositional raw materials combine to teach applicant’s claimed composition for a prima facie case of obviousness.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TAMRA L. DICUS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1787
/TAMRA L. DICUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787