DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Action is in response to Applicant’s remarks and amended claims filed on November 19, 2025. Claims 1-2 and 4-21 are now pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendment
2. The outstanding rejections of Claims 1-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claims 1 and 17-18 filed on November 19, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement submitted on August 13, 2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
4. The amendments to the specification regarding the title received on November 19, 2025. These amendments to the title are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernsen (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0171097 A1) in view of Komoriya (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0252986 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bernsen teaches a communication apparatus configured to communicate with an information processing apparatus (Fig.1 @ 4 and 4b @ 1100), the communication apparatus (Fig.1 @ 4 and 4b @ 1100) comprising:
at least one memory (Fig.4b @ 1122) storing a program (read as computer program instruction(s) (Paragraph(s) [0136]-[0137])); and
at least one processor (Fig.4b @ 1122) that, upon execution of the stored program (read as computer program instruction(s) (Paragraph(s) [0136]-[0137])), is configured to operate as:
a first control unit configured to, based on receiving, from the information processing apparatus via communication with the information processing apparatus using a first protocol (read as “Processor 1120, memory 1122, dedicated IC 1124 and communication element 1126 may be connected to each other via an interconnect 1130, say a bus.”(Fig.4b @ 1130; Paragraph [0134]) For example, “the Enrollee may simply listen for the DPP Authentication Request message from the Configurator without transmitting DPP Presence announcement messages.”(Paragraph [0101]) Also, “the Enrollee has a display, or uses peer-to-peer NFC or BLE for (DPP) bootstrapping, it can generate the new Enrollee bootstrapping key and corresponding (DPP) bootstrapping URI at this point and display this or send it over NFC or BLE to the Configurator.”(Paragraph [0102])),
a start request for a first state in which communication with the information processing apparatus using a second protocol different from the first protocol is executable (read as DPP Reconfiguration Authentication Request message (Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph(s) [0094]-[0095] and [0101])),
perform first control to start the first state (read as “the Enrollee being (or setting itself) in a state where it is able to be configured.”(Paragraph [0085]));
a first transmission unit configured to transmit communication information to be used for the communication between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus using the second protocol via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol (read as Enrollee device operating under BLE (Fig(s).1, 3, and 4b @ 1126; Paragraph [0091] and [0102]));
a communication unit configured to perform the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol based on communication information transmitted using the first protocol (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 3, and 4b @ 1100; Paragraph [0102]));
a second control unit configured to, in a case where connection information to be used for the communication apparatus (Fig.1 @ 4-5) to connect to an access point (Fig.1 @ 2) has been acquired from the information processing apparatus via the second communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol based on the communication information transmitted using the first protocol (read as “the Enrollee has a display, or uses peer-to-peer NFC or BLE for (DPP) bootstrapping, it can generate the new Enrollee bootstrapping key and corresponding (DPP) bootstrapping URI at this point and display this or send it over NFC or BLE to the Configurator.”(Fig.4b @ 1126; Paragraph [0102]) Also, “In the case of bootstrapping via Near-Field Communications (NFC), the device 4, 5 turns on its NFC radio.”(Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph [0090]) Also, “In the case of bootstrapping via Bluetooth™ (BT), for example BT low energy or BLE, the device 4, 5 starts to send out BT (or BLE) Advertisements.” (Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph [0091])),
perform second control to establish a connection between the communication apparatus and the access point using the connection information (Fig.3 @ RS8);
a second transmission unit configured to transmit, to the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol, predetermined information indicating whether or not the communication apparatus has succeeded in establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point by the second control performed using the connection information having been acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol (read as Enrollee device operating under NFC (Fig(s).1, 3, and 4b @ 1126; Paragraph [0090] and [0102]));
an acquisition unit configured to acquire, from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol, the connection information in a case of transmitting, as the predetermined information, to the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol, information indicating that the communication apparatus has not succeeded in establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point by the second control performed using the connection information having been acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol (Fig.4b @ 1124); and
However, Bernsen fails to explicitly teach a third control unit configured to, in a case where the connection information has been acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol,
perform third control to establish a connection between the communication apparatus and the access point using the connection information.
Komoriya teaches a third control unit configured to, in a case where the connection information has been acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol (read as switch (Fig.3 @ 317)),
perform third control to establish a connection between the communication apparatus and the access point using the connection information. (read as “the switch 327 connects the BLE transceiver circuit 325 and the antenna 328 when transmitting/receiving a BLE high-frequency signal, and connects the WLAN transceiver circuit 326 and the antenna 328 when transmitting/receiving a WLAN high-frequency signal.”(Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph [0039]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the switch function for switching between distinct Wi-Fi radios as taught by Komoriya with the devices as taught by Bernsen for the purpose of improving bootstrapping switching by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 17, Bernsen teach a control method for a communication apparatus configured to communicate with an information processing apparatus, the control method comprising:
based on receiving, from the information processing apparatus via first communication with the information processing apparatus using a first protocol (read as “Processor 1120, memory 1122, dedicated IC 1124 and communication element 1126 may be connected to each other via an interconnect 1130, say a bus.”(Fig.4b @ 1130; Paragraph [0134]) For example, “the Enrollee may simply listen for the DPP Authentication Request message from the Configurator without transmitting DPP Presence announcement messages.”(Paragraph [0101]) Also, “the Enrollee has a display, or uses peer-to-peer NFC or BLE for (DPP) bootstrapping, it can generate the new Enrollee bootstrapping key and corresponding (DPP) bootstrapping URI at this point and display this or send it over NFC or BLE to the Configurator.”(Paragraph [0102]),
a start request for a first state in which communication with the information processing apparatus using a second protocol different from the first protocol is executable (read as DPP Reconfiguration Authentication Request message (Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph(s) [0094]-[0095] and [0101])),
performing first control to start the first state capable (read as “the Enrollee being (or setting itself) in a state where it is able to be configured.”(Paragraph [0085]));
transmitting communication information to be used for the communication with between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus using the second protocol via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol (read as Enrollee device operating under BLE (Fig(s).1, 3, and 4b @ 1126; Paragraph [0091] and [0102]));
performing the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol based on the communication information transmitted using the first protocol (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 3, and 4b @ 1100; Paragraph [0102]));
in a case where connection information to be used for the communication apparatus to connect to an access point has been acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol based on the communication information transmitted using the first protocol (read as “the Enrollee has a display, or uses peer-to-peer NFC or BLE for (DPP) bootstrapping, it can generate the new Enrollee bootstrapping key and corresponding (DPP) bootstrapping URI at this point and display this or send it over NFC or BLE to the Configurator.”(Fig.4b @ 1126; Paragraph [0102]) Also, “In the case of bootstrapping via Near-Field Communications (NFC), the device 4, 5 turns on its NFC radio.”(Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph [0090]) Also, “In the case of bootstrapping via Bluetooth™ (BT), for example BT low energy or BLE, the device 4, 5 starts to send out BT (or BLE) Advertisements.” (Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph [0091])),
performing second control to establish a connection between the communication apparatus and the access point using the connection information (Fig.3 @ RS8);
transmitting, to the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol, predetermined information indicating whether or not the communication apparatus has succeeded in establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point (Fig.1 @ 2) by the second control performed using the connection information having been acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol (read as Enrollee device operating under NFC (Fig(s).1, 3, and 4b @ 1126; Paragraph [0090] and [0102]));
acquiring, from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol, the connection information in a case of transmitting, as the predetermined information, to the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol, information indicating that the communication apparatus has not succeeded in establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point (Fig.1 @ 2) by the second control performed using the connection information having been acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol (Fig.4b @ 1124); and
However, Bernsen fails to explicitly teach in a case where the connection information has been acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol,
performing third control to establish a connection between the communication apparatus and the access point using the connection information.
Komoriya teaches a method in a case where the connection information has been acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol (read as switch (Fig.3 @ 317)),
performing third control to establish a connection between the communication apparatus and the access point using the connection information. (read as “the switch 327 connects the BLE transceiver circuit 325 and the antenna 328 when transmitting/receiving a BLE high-frequency signal, and connects the WLAN transceiver circuit 326 and the antenna 328 when transmitting/receiving a WLAN high-frequency signal.”(Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph [0039]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the switch function for switching between distinct Wi-Fi radios as taught by Komoriya with the devices as taught by Bernsen for the purpose of improving bootstrapping switching by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 18, Bernsen teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig.4b @ 1122) storing computer-executable instructions (read as computer program instruction(s) (Paragraph(s) [0136]-[0137])) that, when executed by a computer (Fig.4b @ 1100) of a communication apparatus (Fig.1 @ 4, 5) configured to communicate with an information processing apparatus (Fig.4b @ 1120), cause the computer (Fig.4b @ 1100) to perform a method comprising:
based on receiving, from the information processing apparatus via first communication with the information processing apparatus using a first protocol (read as “Processor 1120, memory 1122, dedicated IC 1124 and communication element 1126 may be connected to each other via an interconnect 1130, say a bus.”(Fig.4b @ 1130; Paragraph [0134]) For example, “the Enrollee may simply listen for the DPP Authentication Request message from the Configurator without transmitting DPP Presence announcement messages.”(Paragraph [0101]) Also, “the Enrollee has a display, or uses peer-to-peer NFC or BLE for (DPP) bootstrapping, it can generate the new Enrollee bootstrapping key and corresponding (DPP) bootstrapping URI at this point and display this or send it over NFC or BLE to the Configurator.”(Paragraph [0102]),
a start request for a first state in which communication with the information processing apparatus using a second protocol different from the first protocol is executable (read as DPP Reconfiguration Authentication Request message (Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph(s) [0094]-[0095] and [0101])),
performing first control to start the first state (read as “the Enrollee being (or setting itself) in a state where it is able to be configured.”(Paragraph [0085]));
transmitting communication information to be used for the communication between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus using the second protocol via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol (read as Enrollee device operating under BLE (Fig(s).1, 3, and 4b @ 1126; Paragraph [0091] and [0102]));
performing the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol based on the communication information transmitted using the first protocol (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 3, and 4b @ 1100; Paragraph [0102])); and
in a case where connection information to be used for the communication apparatus to connect to an access point (Fig.1 @ 2) has been acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol based on the communication information transmitted using the first protocol (read as “the Enrollee has a display, or uses peer-to-peer NFC or BLE for (DPP) bootstrapping, it can generate the new Enrollee bootstrapping key and corresponding (DPP) bootstrapping URI at this point and display this or send it over NFC or BLE to the Configurator.”(Fig.4b @ 1126; Paragraph [0102]) Also, “In the case of bootstrapping via Near-Field Communications (NFC), the device 4, 5 turns on its NFC radio.”(Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph [0090]) Also, “In the case of bootstrapping via Bluetooth™ (BT), for example BT low energy or BLE, the device 4, 5 starts to send out BT (or BLE) Advertisements.” (Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph [0091])),
performing second control to establish a connection between the communication apparatus and the access point using the connection information (Fig.3 @ RS8);
transmitting, to the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol, predetermined information indicating whether or not the communication apparatus has succeeded in establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point by the second control performed using the connection information having been acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol (read as Enrollee device operating under NFC (Fig(s).1, 3, and 4b @ 1126; Paragraph [0090] and [0102]));
acquiring, from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol, the connection information in a case of transmitting, as the predetermined information, to the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol, information indicating that the communication apparatus has not succeeded in establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point by the second control performed using the connection information having been acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol (Fig.4b @ 1124); and
However, Bernsen fails to explicitly teach in a case where the connection information has been acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol,
performing third control to establish a connection between the communication apparatus and the access point using the connection information.
Komoriya teaches a method in a case where the connection information has been acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol (read as switch (Fig.3 @ 317)),
performing third control to establish a connection between the communication apparatus and the access point using the connection information. (read as “the switch 327 connects the BLE transceiver circuit 325 and the antenna 328 when transmitting/receiving a BLE high-frequency signal, and connects the WLAN transceiver circuit 326 and the antenna 328 when transmitting/receiving a WLAN high-frequency signal.”(Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph [0039]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the switch function for switching between distinct Wi-Fi radios as taught by Komoriya with the devices as taught by Bernsen for the purpose of improving bootstrapping switching by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen, as modified by Komoriya, teaches a communication apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 5) wherein the first transmission unit is configured to transmit response information indicating whether the communication apparatus has started the first state to the information processing apparatus.(Fig(s).1, 2, 3, and 4b @ 1126)
Regarding claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen, as modified by Komoriya, teaches a communication apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 5) wherein the connection information is information including at least one of
a service set identifier (SSID) (read as SSID (Paragraph [0065])),
an encryption method, and
a password or public key information of the access point. (read as a type of public key (Abstract))
Regarding claim 5, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen, as modified by Komoriya, teaches a communication apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 5) further comprising a generation unit configured to generate the communication information. (Fig.4b @ 1124)
Regarding claim 6, and as applied to claim 5 above, Bernsen, as modified by Komoriya, teaches a communication apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 5) wherein the communication information includes at least one of
identification information about the communication apparatus,
public key information (read as type of public key (Abstract)), and
information indicating a channel which is used in the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol.
Regarding claim 7, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen, as modified by Komoriya, teaches a communication apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 5) further comprising a third transmission unit configured to transmit the communication information to the information processing apparatus. (Fig.4b @ 1130)
Regarding claim 9, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen, as modified by Komoriya, teaches a communication apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 5) wherein the second protocol is Device Provisioning Protocol. (read as Device Provisioning Protocol (DPP) (Paragraph [0056]))
Regarding claim 10, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen, as modified by Komoriya, teaches a communication apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 5) wherein the second protocol is Hypertext Transfer Protocol. (read as HTTP (Paragraph [0137]))
Regarding claim 12, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen, as modified by Komoriya, teaches a communication apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 5) wherein each of the first communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol and the second communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol is a communication that is based on IEEE 802.11.(read as IEEE 802.11 (Paragraph [0056]))
Regarding claim 14, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen, as modified by Komoriya, teaches a communication apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 5) wherein the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol is a communication that is based on Bluetooth®. (read as Bluetooth (Paragraph [0091]))
Regarding claim 15, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen, as modified by Komoriya, teaches a communication apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 5) wherein the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol is a communication that is based on Bluetooth® Low Energy. (read as BLE (Paragraph [0091]))
Regarding claim 19, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen, as modified by Komoriya, teaches a communication apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 5) further comprising:
a fourth transmission unit configured to transmit, to the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol, a list of access points having been found through a search having been executed by the communication apparatus (Fig.4b @ 1126),
in a case where the information indicating that the communication apparatus has not succeeded in establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point by the second control is transmitted to the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol (Fig.4b @ 1130),
wherein the connection information acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol is connection information to be used for connection to either an access point to which the information processing apparatus is connected or an access point to which the information processing apparatus has experience of being connected (Fig.4b @ 1124), and
the connection information acquired via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol in the case where the information indicating that the communication apparatus has not succeeded in establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point by the second control is transmitted to the information processing apparatus is connection information to be used for connection to an access point included in the list transmitted to the information processing apparatus.(read as DPP Reconfiguration Announcement message(s) (Paragraph [0071]))
Regarding claim 20, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen, as modified by Komoriya, teaches a communication apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 5) wherein the information processing apparatus includes a predetermined application program, transmission of the start request to the communication apparatus, and transmission of the connection information to the communication apparatus in the case where the information indicating that the communication apparatus has not succeeded in establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point by the second control is transmitted to the information processing apparatus, are executed by the predetermined application program (Fig.4b @ 1100),
the connection information acquired via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the first protocol in the case where the information indicating that the communication apparatus has not succeeded in establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point by the second control is transmitted to the information processing apparatus includes a password inputted by a user on a screen displayed by the predetermined application program (read as DPP Reconfiguration Announcement message(s) (Paragraph [0071])), and
the connection information acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol does not include a password held by the predetermined application program. (read as DPP Reconfiguration Announcement message(s) (Paragraph [0071]))
Regarding claim 21, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen, as modified by Komoriya, teaches a communication apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 4, 5) wherein the connection information acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol is connection information to be used for connection to either an access point to which the information processing apparatus is connected or an access point to which the information processing apparatus has experience of being connected (Fig.4b @ 1100), and
the connection information acquired from the information processing apparatus via the communication with the information processing apparatus using the second protocol includes a password inputted by a user on a screen displayed by an application program supported by an operating system (OS) of the information processing apparatus when the connection is established between the information processing apparatus and the access point. (read as DPP Reconfiguration Announcement message(s) (Paragraph [0071]))
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernsen (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0171097 A1) in view of Komoriya (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0252986 A1), and Shibata (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0377024 A1).
Regarding claim 8, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen teaches “a method of re-configuring an Enrollee device for communications in a wireless network comprising performing a configuration protocol.”(Fig(s).1, 2, 3, and 4b; Paragraph [0015])
Komoriya teaches “the switch 327 connects the BLE transceiver circuit 325 and the antenna 328 when transmitting/receiving a BLE high-frequency signal, and connects the WLAN transceiver circuit 326 and the antenna 328 when transmitting/receiving a WLAN high-frequency signal.”(Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph [0039])
However, Bernsen and Komoriya fail to explicitly teach a printing unit configured to cause the communication apparatus to perform printing via the access point to which the communication apparatus has connected.
Shibata teaches a printing unit configured to cause the communication apparatus to perform printing via the access point to which the communication apparatus has connected. (read as printer application (Paragraph [0028]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the printer application as taught by Shibata and the switch function for switching between distinct Wi-Fi radios as taught by Komoriya with the devices as taught by Bernsen for the purpose of improving bootstrapping switching by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 11, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen teaches “a method of re-configuring an Enrollee device for communications in a wireless network comprising performing a configuration protocol.”(Fig(s).1, 2, 3, and 4b; Paragraph [0015])
Komoriya teaches “the switch 327 connects the BLE transceiver circuit 325 and the antenna 328 when transmitting/receiving a BLE high-frequency signal, and connects the WLAN transceiver circuit 326 and the antenna 328 when transmitting/receiving a WLAN high-frequency signal.”(Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph [0039])
However, Bernsen and Komoriya fail to explicitly teach wherein the first protocol is Simple Network Management Protocol.
Shibata teaches a method wherein the first protocol is Simple Network Management Protocol. (read as Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP) (Fig.1; Paragraph [0063]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for using a SNMP to request sending of information that supports DPP as taught by Shibata and the switch function for switching between distinct Wi-Fi radios as taught by Komoriya with the devices as taught by Bernsen for the purpose of improving bootstrapping switching by devices in a communication network.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernsen (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0171097 A1) in view of Komoriya (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0252986 A1), and Agerstam et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0109743 A1).
Regarding claim 13, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen teaches “a method of re-configuring an Enrollee device for communications in a wireless network comprising performing a configuration protocol.”(Fig(s).1, 2, 3, and 4b; Paragraph [0015])
Komoriya teaches “the switch 327 connects the BLE transceiver circuit 325 and the antenna 328 when transmitting/receiving a BLE high-frequency signal, and connects the WLAN transceiver circuit 326 and the antenna 328 when transmitting/receiving a WLAN high-frequency signal.”(Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph [0039])
However, Bernsen and Komoriya fail to explicitly teach wherein the first protocol is Generic Attribute Profile.
Agerstam et al. teach a method wherein the first protocol is Generic Attribute Profile.(read as General Attribute Profile (GATT)(Fig.1; Paragraph [0020]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the General Attribute Profile (GATT) communication function as taught by Agerstam et al. and the switch function for switching between distinct Wi-Fi radios as taught by Komoriya with the devices as taught by Bernsen for the purpose of improving bootstrapping switching by devices in a communication network.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernsen (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0171097 A1) in view of Komoriya (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0252986 A1), and Yokomitsu (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0385719 A1).
Regarding claim 16, and as applied to claim 1 above, Bernsen teaches “a method of re-configuring an Enrollee device for communications in a wireless network comprising performing a configuration protocol.”(Fig(s).1, 2, 3, and 4b; Paragraph [0015])
Komoriya teaches “the switch 327 connects the BLE transceiver circuit 325 and the antenna 328 when transmitting/receiving a BLE high-frequency signal, and connects the WLAN transceiver circuit 326 and the antenna 328 when transmitting/receiving a WLAN high-frequency signal.”(Fig(s).1 and 3; Paragraph [0039])
However, Bernsen and Komoriya fail to explicitly teach wherein the communication apparatus ends the first state based on a predetermined time to end the first state having elapsed.
Yokomitsu teaches a communication apparatus wherein the communication apparatus ends the first state based on a predetermined time to end the first state having elapsed.(read as setting value information has expired (Paragraph [0052]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for determining setting value information has expired as taught by Yokomitsu and the switch function for switching between distinct Wi-Fi radios as taught by Komoriya with the devices as taught by Bernsen for the purpose of improving bootstrapping switching by devices in a communication network.
Response to Arguments
6 Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 4-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Escott et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0093720 A1) teach “systems and methods for synchronous content presentation, a user equipment (UE) may generate a freshness parameter, generate a unique session key based on a first session key and the freshness parameter, and send the freshness parameter to a Network Application Function (NAF) of a network device in a configuration that will enable the NAF to generate the unique session key. The network device may receive the freshness parameter, receive from a Key Server Function (KSF) the first session key, and generate based on the freshness parameter and the first session key the unique session key.”(Abstract)
Tsao et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0034475 A1) teach “endpoint device 402-1 initiates contact with endpoint device 402-2 using one or more communication protocols by implementing, for example, example bootstrapping operation 300 discussed above with reference to FIG. 3.”(Fig.3; Paragraph [0043])
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
February 27, 2026