DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/15/2023, 8/08/2024 and 12/18/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5-20 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot reference back to another multiple dependent claim. Claims 5 and 6 refers back to claim 1-4, wherein claim 4 is a multiple dependent claim. Claims 7 and 8 (and dependent claims thereof) refers back to claims 1-6, which comprises multiple dependent claims 5 and 6. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims 5-20 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)(a2) as being anticipated by Lederman (US2021/0260182, IDS).
Lederman teaches a composition that comprises a synthetic DNA fragment comprising MVA, and one or more DNA encoding S protein and N protein of a coronavirus (paragraph [0077], 4th line from bottom, and [0093]). Lederman teaches said recombinant virus is useful toward the method of inducing an immune response against a SARS-CoV-2 virus and a poxvirus comprising administering an immunological effective amount of pharmaceutical composition comprising said virus (paragraph [0116]). Therefore, the teaching from Lederman anticipates the claimed invention of claim 1 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lederman, in view of Wussow (WO 2019/014569).
The teaching from Lederman has been discussed above. However, Lederman does not teach one or more DNA encoding S and N protein are inserted into Del2/Del3 sites.
Wussow teaches construction of MVA expressing P2A-cleavable HCMV PC subunits into commonly used MVA insertion site including Del2, Del3 (paragraph [0076], and Figure 1C).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art the that Del2 and Del3 are commonly used insertion site in MVA vector for inserting heterologous subunit antigen based on the teaching from Wussow. The ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to insert DNA encoding S and N protein into these sites because they are commonly used sites for expressing antigen. . Combining prior art known elements to achieve their intended purpose would have been within the capability of an ordinary artisan. Therefore, the claimed invention of claim 3 would have been prima facie obvious at the time the application was filed.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lederman, in view of Feinberg (US 2007/0275010, IDS).
The teaching from Lederman has been discussed above. However, Lederman does not teach the DNA encoding N and S protein are under the control of a mH5 promoter.
Feinberg teaches MVA vaccines that comprises a MVA vector and heterologous antigen (abstract). Feinberg teaches strong promoter mH5 has been recombined into MVA sites II and III for direct expression of the antigen (paragraph [0138]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that mH5 promoter directs strong gene expression in MVA viral vector based on the teaching from Feinberg. The ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to use mH5 promoter to direct expression of S and N protein of coronavirus in the MVA vector taught by Lederman to achieve strong immunogenic response. Combining prior art known elements to achieve a predictable result would have been within the capability of an ordinary artisan. Therefore, the claimed invention of claim 3 would have been prima facie obvious at the time the application was filed.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-2 and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 42, 47, 48 and 53 of copending Application No. 17/999,170 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the vaccine composition claimed in claim 42 of ‘170 application anticipates the vaccine composition claimed in claim 1 of present application.
Regarding claim 2, claims 47 and 48 of ‘170 application recites same limitation that S and N protein is inserted at Del2 or Del3.
Regarding claim 4, claim 53 of ’70 application recites same limitation of the composition further comprises pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 42 of copending Application No. 17/999,170 in view of Feinberg.
Claim 42 of ’170 application recites a vaccine composition that comprises sMVA encoding S and N protein of coronavirus. However, claim 42 does not teach the DNA encoding N and S protein are under the control of a mH5 promoter.
Feinberg teaches MVA vaccines that comprises a MVA vector and heterologous antigen (abstract). Feinberg teaches strong promoter mH5 has been recombined into MVA sites II and III for direct expression of the antigen (paragraph [0138]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that mH5 promoter directs strong gene expression in MVA viral vector based on the teaching from Feinberg. The ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to use mH5 promoter to direct expression of S and N protein of coronavirus in the MVA vector claimed in claim 42 of ‘170 application to achieve strong immunogenic response. Therefore, the claimed invention of claim 3 of present application would have been obvious in view of claim 42 of ‘170 application and teaching from Feinberg.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 2, 3, 10 of copending Application No. 18/711,073(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the vaccine composition claimed in claim 1 of ‘073 anticipates the vaccine composition claimed in claim 1 of present application.
Regarding claims 2-4, claims 2, 3 and 10 of ‘073 application recites the same limitation of inserting into Del2/Del3, having mH5 promoter and comprising pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/711,088 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the composition used in the method of protecting a subject from coronavirus claimed in claim 1 of the ‘088 application anticipates the vaccine composition of claim 1 of present application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/711,338 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the composition used in the method of protecting a subject from coronavirus claimed in claim 1 of the ‘338 application anticipates the vaccine composition of claim 1 of present application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of copending Application No. 18/997,465 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the composition used in the method of stimulating an immune response against a coronavirus and an orthopoxvirus in a subject claimed in claim 18 of the ‘465 application anticipates the vaccine composition of claim 1 of present application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1, 2 and 4 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 4, 5, 6, 7 of copending Application No. 19/076,904 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘904 claims a vaccine composition that anticipates the vaccine composition of claim 1 of present application.
Regarding claim 2, claims 4-7 of ‘904 recites the insertion site being Del2 or Del3.
Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that vaccine composition comprises pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/076,904 in view of Feinberg.
Claim 1 of ’904 application recites a vaccine composition that comprises sMVA encoding S and N protein of coronavirus. However, claim 1 does not teach the DNA encoding N and S protein are under the control of a mH5 promoter.
Feinberg teaches MVA vaccines that comprises a MVA vector and heterologous antigen (abstract). Feinberg teaches strong promoter mH5 has been recombined into MVA sites II and III for direct expression of the antigen (paragraph [0138]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that mH5 promoter directs strong gene expression in MVA viral vector based on the teaching from Feinberg. The ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to use mH5 promoter to direct expression of S and N protein of coronavirus in the MVA vector claimed in claim 1 of ‘904 application to achieve strong immunogenic response. Therefore, the claimed invention of claim 3 of present application would have been obvious in view of claim 1 of ‘904 application and teaching from Feinberg.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1, 2 and 4 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 4, 5, 6, 7 of copending Application No. 19/183,257 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘257 claims a vaccine composition that anticipates the vaccine composition of claim 1 of present application.
Regarding claim 2, claims 4-7 of ‘257 recites the insertion site being Del2 or Del3.
Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that vaccine composition comprises pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/183,257 in view of Feinberg.
Claim 1 of ’257 application recites a vaccine composition that comprises sMVA encoding S and N protein of coronavirus. However, claim 1 does not teach the DNA encoding N and S protein are under the control of a mH5 promoter.
Feinberg teaches MVA vaccines that comprises a MVA vector and heterologous antigen (abstract). Feinberg teaches strong promoter mH5 has been recombined into MVA sites II and III for direct expression of the antigen (paragraph [0138]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that mH5 promoter directs strong gene expression in MVA viral vector based on the teaching from Feinberg. The ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to use mH5 promoter to direct expression of S and N protein of coronavirus in the MVA vector claimed in claim 1 of ‘257 application to achieve strong immunogenic response. Therefore, the claimed invention of claim 3 of present application would have been obvious in view of claim 1 of ‘257 application and teaching from Feinberg.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
/CELINE X QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637