DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10, 13, 14, 16-18, and 20 are amended.
Claims 19 is canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112 applicant’s arguments, see page 8 paragraph 3, filed October 30, 2025, with respect to claims 1-18 and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 112 rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 8 paragraph 4 – page 10 paragraph 1, filed October 30, 2025, with respect to claims 1, 10 and 18 have been fully considered and but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant first argued that, see page 9 – page 10 paragraphs 1, “ … The cited portion of Azizi discloses "[b]y establishing a D2D link between the two
terminal devices, each of the terminal devices is able to share the radio channel information from their respective network access node with the other, and the terminal devices may use this information to mitigate or cancel the interference from the other network access node." Azizi, paragraph 1534. The radio channel information includes "inter-network access node interferences, neighboring network access node database information, and other parameters used in channel estimation methods, for example." Id. at paragraph 1813. That is, at best, Azizi discloses sharing radio channel information over a D2D link. However, Azizi does not disclose "transmitting, via a transmitter of the first user equipment and using the first frequency, a request to the second user equipment for an indication of whether communication with a network via a second frequency is occurring," as recited by independent claim 1, and as generally recited by independent claims 10 and 18. (Emphasis added.) Applicant further notes that Jung is also silent as to these features and Jung was not cited for such a purpose. For at least the foregoing reasons, the proposed combination of references fails to teach or suggest all of the features of amended claims 1, 10, and 18.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Regarding amended claim 1, Azizi clearly teaches establishing, via processing circuitry of a first user equipment, communication with a second user equipment on a first frequency (see para. 1377, Direct communication links such as device to device (D2D) and vehicle to vehicle (V2V) may enable exchange of important information between terminal devices"; paragraph [1521], "a D2D cooperative communication scenario", "As shown in FIG. 206, co-located (e.g., within range of a direct D2D channel) terminal devices 20730-20732 are grouped together and can use D2D link 20650 to directly exchange information"; and para.1608, "The sidelink channel communication may be carried over licensed or unlicensed frequencies. These frequencies for sidelink channel communication are not limited in wavelength and may be transmitted on any wavelength suitable for the relevant installation"; para. 1623, "vehicular terminal devices 22008-22010 may perform 22402 by performing D2D discovery, such as by monitoring sidelink channels (which is assigned to specific frequencies / a first frequency) for D2D discovery signals, also para.1616,1868, "terminal devices 25202a-25202c may utilize a different radio access technology (such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi, which are on a different frequency / a first frequency) for sidelink communication between each other than the radio access technology used on channel 25206 for uplink and/or downlink communications"; transmitting, via a transmitter of the first user equipment and using the first frequency, a request to the second user equipment for an indication of whether communication with a network a second frequency is occurring (see para.1521, as cited; para.1534, as cited above and "terminal device 20730 and terminal device 20732, which are in close proximity (e.g., close enough to exchange information on a D2D channel, which may be, for example, in the range of 500 meters) performing downlink reception from different network access nodes in the same frequency carrier, e.g., at a cell edge between the two network access nodes/a network; and
establishing, via the transmitter of the first user equipment and using the second frequency, a connection with the network based on the indication that communication with the network via the second equipment on the second frequency is not occurring (see para.1530,1534; 1583; "In order to mitigate the interference, terminal devices 20730-20732 may exchange radio channel information for their respective serving network access nodes. Each of terminal devices 20730-20732 may then utilize the shared radio channel information to estimate and cancel the interference from the other network access node, thus mitigating the interference and improving downlink reception performance"; the Examiner further states that Jung teaches establishing, via processing circuitry (see Fig.1-Fig. 3, processor 120) of a first user equipment (see Fig.1-Fig. 3, an electronic device 101), communication with a second user equipment (see Fig.1-Fig. 3, an external electronic device 102/External Device 210) on a first frequency (see Fig.2A-2B, para. 0081-0095, upon determining that the first frequency band is usable for the direct communication with the external device 210, the processor 300 control the first communication circuit 310 to perform the direct communication with the external device 210 through a first channel of the first frequency band) and establishing, via the transmitter and using a second frequency, a connection with a network (see Fig.1-3, AP1 200), the second frequency being different from the first frequency (para. 0075-0085, the electronic device 101 provide the WLAN communication with the external device 210 through a second channel of a second frequency band, as clearly stated in paragraph 0081, the external device 210 does not support the first frequency band, the electronic device 101 establish, as a frequency band for the WLAN communication with the external device 210, a second frequency band (e.g., about 5 GHz band) different from the first frequency band based on the capability of the external device 210, Fig.2A-2B).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the combination of the systema as disclosed by Azizi and Jung, reads upon “establishing, via processing circuitry of a first user equipment, communication with a second user equipment on a first frequency; transmitting, via a transmitter of the first user equipment and using the first frequency, a request to the second user equipment for an indication of whether communication with a network via a second frequency is occurring, the second frequency being different from the first frequency; and establishing, via the transmitter of the first user equipment and using the second frequency, a connection with the network based on the indication indicating that communication with the network via the second user equipment on the second frequency is not occurring” as recites in the claim.
The applicant argued that for the reasons set forth in the arguments, see page 10 paragraph 1, with respect to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-13, 15, 18 and 20-21, are allowable. Examiner respectfully disagree, per the above cited reasons, these claims are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 14 relates to "determining a higher battery life or a better performing signal characteristic" and thus uses the relative terms "higher" and "better", but does not clarify in which sense and in comparison to what (for example, with respect to which other entity) the battery life is "higher" and the signal characteristic is "stronger".
It is recommend to change claim 3 to, “a greater battery life than a battery life of second user equipment”.
It is recommended to change claim 14 to, “determining a greater battery life than a battery life of second user equipmenta stronger signal characteristic in comparison to the signal characteristic of the second user equipment
For purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the limitation as best understood.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-13, 15, 18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azizi (WO2018/125686A2, further published as US Pub. No.:2020/0205062), and further in view of Jung et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0189104).
As per claim 1, Azizi disclose A method, comprising:
establishing, via processing circuitry of a first user equipment, communication with a second user equipment on a first frequency (see para. 1377, Direct communication links such as device to device (D2D) and vehicle to vehicle (V2V) may enable exchange of important information between terminal devices"; paragraph [1521], "a D2D cooperative communication scenario", "As shown in FIG. 206, co-located (e.g., within range of a direct D2D channel) terminal devices 20730-20732 are grouped together and can use D2D link 20650 to directly exchange information"; para. 1531, "Identifying cooperative device candidates and establishing a D2D sharing link. This is initialized by the network access node based on terminal device location information, or by either of the terminal devices based on spontaneous neighbor device discovery based on D2D signal detection"; para. 1534, "By establishing a D2D link between the two terminal devices, each of the terminal devices is able to share the radio channel information from their respective network access node with the other, and the terminal devices may use this information to mitigate or cancel the interference from the other network access node, e.g., terminal device 20730 may make use of the radio channel information from network access node 20712 shared from terminal device 20732 to mitigate the inference from network access node 20712, and vice versa"; para.1608, "The sidelink channel communication may be carried over licensed or unlicensed frequencies. These frequencies for sidelink channel communication are not limited in wavelength and may be transmitted on any wavelength suitable for the relevant installation"; para. 1623, "vehicular terminal devices 22008-22010 may perform 22402 by performing D2D discovery, such as by monitoring sidelink channels (which is assigned to specific frequencies / a first frequency) for D2D discovery signals. Vehicular terminal devices 22008-22010 may then identify any detectable D2D discovery signals and subsequently identify neighboring devices with available sidelink channels. For example, in an exemplary scenario, vehicular terminal devices 22008-22010 may be proximate to one another (e.g., in range of D2D discovery) and may detect one another in 22402"; para.1616,1868, "terminal devices 25202a-25202c may utilize a different radio access technology (such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi, which are on a different frequency / a first frequency) for sidelink communication between each other than the radio access technology used on channel 25206 for uplink and/or downlink communications"; para. 1583, "application processor", "processors/microprocessors"; figures 206, 217, 224);
transmitting, via a transmitter of the first user equipment and using the first frequency, a request to the second user equipment for an indication of whether communication with a network a second frequency is occurring (see para.1521, as cited; para.1534, as cited above and "terminal device 20730 and terminal device 20732, which are in close proximity (e.g., close enough to exchange information on a D2D channel, which may be, for example, in the range of 500 meters) performing downlink reception from different network access nodes in the same frequency carrier, e.g., at a cell edge between the two network access nodes/a network. In this case, the downlink radio channel information is shared between the two terminal devices through the established D2D link for the enhancement of interference estimation. Terminal device 20730 is receiving downlink signals from network access node 20710 and terminal device 20732 is receiving downlink signals from network access node 20712 in the same intra- frequency. The network access node 20710 downlink signal is an interference source to terminal device 20732 reception and network access node 20712 downlink signal is an interference source to terminal device 20730 reception", wherein the sharing implies a request, also see para.1575, " identifying a proximate terminal device as part of a device-to-device (D2D) discovery procedure", "deciding whether to request communication information from the proximate terminal device based on the device knowledge history class"; para. 1583, "radio frequency (RF) transceiver"; para. 1529, "The radio channel information can include neighboring network access node database and downlink channel state information (CSI) such as power level, frequency offset, delay spread, channel response (e.g., channel estimate), or another measure of radio channel information"; paragraphs [1525], [1526],[1531], [1608], [1616], [1868]; figures 206,217, 224); and
establishing, via the transmitter of the first user equipment and using the second frequency, a connection with the network based on the indication that communication with the network via the second equipment on the second frequency is not occurring (see para.1530,1534; 1583; "In order to mitigate the interference, terminal devices 20730-20732 may exchange radio channel information for their respective serving network access nodes. Each of terminal devices 20730-20732 may then utilize the shared radio channel information to estimate and cancel the interference from the other network access node, thus mitigating the interference and improving downlink reception performance"; para. [1535] - [1543]; paragraph [1858], "sharing an uplink channel with the plurality of terminal devices. The leader terminal device may be the final decision maker on device coordination with regard to communicating with a network access node as a single identity"; [1865], "Terminal devices 25202b and 25202c may refrain from transmitting during the time slot to enable terminal device 25202a to transmit an uplink transmission on uplink channel 25206b without collision" / communication with the network via the second equipment on the second frequency is not occurring, hence using the second frequency; figures 206,217, 224).
Although Azizi disclose transmitting, via a transmitter of the first user equipment and using the first frequency, a request to the second user equipment for an indication of whether communication on a second frequency is occurring,
Azizi however does not explicitly disclose the second frequency being different from the first frequency;
Jung however disclose establishing, via processing circuitry (see Fig.1-Fig. 3, processor 120) of a first user equipment (see Fig.1-Fig. 3, an electronic device 101), communication with a second user equipment (see Fig.1-Fig. 3, an external electronic device 102/External Device 210) on a first frequency (see Fig.2A-2B, para. 0081-0095, upon determining that the first frequency band is usable for the direct communication with the external device 210, the processor 300 control the first communication circuit 310 to perform the direct communication with the external device 210 through a first channel of the first frequency band) and establishing, via the transmitter and using a second frequency, a connection with a network (see Fig.1-3, AP1 200), the second frequency being different from the first frequency (para. 0075-0085, the electronic device 101 provide the WLAN communication with the external device 210 through a second channel of a second frequency band, as clearly stated in paragraph 0081, the external device 210 does not support the first frequency band, the electronic device 101 establish, as a frequency band for the WLAN communication with the external device 210, a second frequency band (e.g., about 5 GHz band) different from the first frequency band based on the capability of the external device 210, Fig.2A-2B);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of establishing, via processing circuitry of a first user equipment, communication with a second user equipment on a first frequency and establishing, via the transmitter and using a second frequency, a connection with a network, the second frequency being different from the first frequency, as taught by Jung, in the system of Azizi, so as to enable an electronic device to transmit and/or receive data with an access point (AP) using one frequency
while performing the direct communication (e.g., Wi-Fi Direct) with the external device, based on the WLAN using another frequency, see Jung, paragraphs 7-12.
As per claim 2, the combination of Azizi and Jung disclose the method of claim 1.
Azizi further disclose determining, via the transmitter of the first equipment and using the first frequency, a network connector, the network connector comprising the first user equipment; receiving, via a receiver of the first user equipment and using the first frequency, a signal from the second user equipment; and transmitting, via the transmitter of the first user equipment and using the second frequency, the signal to the network to establish communication of the second user equipment with the network via the network connector (see para. 1609-1613, 1654, 1601, 1531,1534); and
Jung further disclose determining, via the transmitter of the first equipment and using the first frequency, a network connector, the network connector comprising the first user equipment; receiving, via a receiver of the first user equipment and using the first frequency, a signal from the second user equipment; and transmitting, via the transmitter of the first user equipment and using the second frequency, the signal to the network to establish communication of the second user equipment with the network via the network connector (see Fig.2B, para. 0078-0081, transmitting, via the transmitter of the first user equipment and using the second frequency, the signal to the network to establish communication of the second user equipment with the network via the network connector / AP1 200).
As per claim 4, the combination of Azizi and Jung disclose the method of claim 2.
Azizi further disclose wherein the determining, via the transmitter and using the first frequency, the network connector comprises displaying, via a display of the first user equipment, a pop-up requesting to be the network connector, and receiving, via the processing circuitry, an input indicative of being the network connector (see para. 1609-1613, 1654, 1601, 1531,1534).
As per claim 5, the combination of Azizi and Jung disclose the method of claim 5.
Azizi further disclose receiving, via the receiver and using the second frequency, a second signal from the network; and transmitting, via the transmitter and using the first frequency, the second signal to the second user equipment (see para. 1609-1613, 1654, 1601, 1531,1534).
As per claim 7, the combination of Azizi and Jung disclose the method of claim 1.
Azizi further disclose receiving, via a first receiver of the second user equipment and using the second frequency, one or more signals from the network to establish a location of the first user equipment and the second user equipment; receiving, via a second receiver of the second user equipment and using the first frequency, the request from the first user equipment for a second indication as to whether communication on the second frequency is occurring; and deactivating the first receiver of the second equipment based on the second indication indicating that communication on the second frequency is occurring (see para. 1471, 1808, 1520, 1525, 1526, 1530, 1531,1534).
As per claim 8, the combination of Azizi and Jung disclose the method of claim 7.
Azizi further disclose wherein the second indication indicates that communication on the second frequency is not occurring, the method comprising continuing to operate the first receiver based on the second indication (see para. 1471, 1808, 1520, 1525, 1526, 1530, 1531,1534).
As per claim 9, the combination of Azizi and Jung disclose the method of claim 7.
Azizi further disclose wherein the first frequency is between two gigahertz (GHz) and six GHz, and the second frequency is between 1100 megahertz (MHz) and 1700 MHz (see para. 0012, 1208, 1238, 1378, 1471, 1915).
As per claim 10, claim 10 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Azizi also disclose A tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising computer-readable (see para. 1508, 1512, Figure 204).
As per claim 11, the combination of Azizi and Jung disclose the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10.
Azizi further disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, are configured to cause the processing circuitry to receive, via a receiver of the first user equipment and using the first frequency, a second request from the second user equipment for the indication of whether communication on the second frequency is occurring, and terminate the connection with the network based on the second request (see para. 1520, 1525, 1526, 1530, 1531, 1534-1543, 1858,1865).
As per claim 12, the combination of Azizi and Jung disclose the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10.
Azizi further disclose wherein the indication indicates that communication on the second frequency is occurring, and the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, are configured to cause the processing circuitry to wait for a period of time based on the indication, after the period of time, transmit, via the transmitter and using the first frequency, the first request to the second user equipment for a second indication of whether communication on the second frequency is occurring, establish, via the transmitter using the second frequency, the connection with the network based on the second indication (see para. 1520, 1525, 1526, 1530, 1531, 1534-1543, 1858,1865).
As per claim 13, the combination of Azizi and Jung disclose the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10.
Azizi further disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, are configured to cause the processing circuitry to: determine, via the transmitter and using the first frequency, a network connector to establish the connection with the network, the network connector comprising the first user equipment or the second user equipment; transmit, via the transmitter using the first frequency, a first signal to the second user equipment based on not being the network connector; and receive, via the receiver and using the first frequency, a second signal from the network through the second user equipment (see para. 1609-1613, 1654, 1601, 1531, 1534).
As per claim 15, the combination of Azizi and Jung disclose the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13.
Azizi further disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, are configured to cause the processing circuitry to display, via a display of the first user equipment, a notification requesting to be the network connector (see para. 1609-1613, 1654, 1601, 1531,1534).
As per claim 18, claim 8 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Azizi also disclose . A user equipment, comprising: one or more antennas; a first receiver and a second receiver coupled to the one or more antennas; a transmitter coupled to one or more antennas; and processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the transmitter and the receiver (see para. 0395-0397, 583-1586 Fig.35, Fig.217) and configured to transmit a first request having a first frequency to establish communication with a first user equipment using the transmitter (see para. 1531, 1534).
As per claim 20, the combination of Azizi and Jung disclose the user equipment of claim 18.
Azizi further disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the first receiver to receive a signal having the first frequency from the first user equipment based on being designated as a network connector, and cause the transmitter to transmit the signal having the second frequency to the first communication node (see para. 1609-1613, 1654, 1601, 1531, 1534).
As per claim 21, the combination of Azizi and Jung disclose the user equipment of claim 18.
Azizi further disclose wherein the first communication node comprises a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) satellite (see para. 0994, 1218, 2099, Sensors 9218 and 9220 may be any of a location sensor (e.g., a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) such as a Global Positioning System (GPS)), a time sensor (e.g., a clock), an acceleration sensor/gyroscope, a radar sensor, a light sensor, an image sensor (e.g., a camera), a sonar sensor, etc. Although shown as connected with application processor 9212 in FIG. 92, in some aspects sensors 9218 and 9220 can interface with baseband modem 9206 (e.g., via a hardware interface). Baseband modem 9206 may then route sensor data to application processor 9212); and
Jung further disclose wherein the first communication node comprises a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) satellite (see para. 0055, the communication module 190 may support establishing a direct (e.g., wired) communication channel or a wireless communication channel between the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device (e.g., the external electronic device 102, the external electronic device 104, or the server 108) and performing communication via the established communication channel. The communication module 190 may include one or more communication processors that are operable independently from the processor 120 (e.g., the application processor (AP)) and supports a direct (e.g., wired) communication or a wireless communication. According to an embodiment, the communication module 190 may include a wireless communication module 192 (e.g., a cellular communication module, a short-range wireless communication module, or a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) communication module)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 14 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Loviekar (US Pub. No.: 2020/0260463) – see para. 0137-0140, “As shown, the SOC 300 may be coupled to various other circuits of the UE 106. For example, the UE 106 may include various types of memory (e.g., including NAND flash 310), a connector interface 320 (e.g., for coupling to the computer system), the display 360, and wireless communication circuitry (e.g., for LTE, LTE-A, NR, CDMA2000, BLUETOOTH™, Wi-Fi, GPS, etc.). The UE device 106 may include at least one antenna (e.g. 335a), and possibly multiple antennas (e.g. illustrated by antennas 335a and 335b), for performing wireless communication with base stations and/or other devices. Antennas 335a and 335b are shown by way of example, and UE device 106 may include fewer or more antennas. Overall, the one or more antennas are collectively referred to as antenna(s) 335. For example, the UE device 106 may use antenna(s) 335 to perform the wireless communication with the aid of radio circuitry 330”.
Monolakis (US Pub. No.:2019/0223241) – see para. 0112-0116, “As shown at 104, the network infrastructure apparatus 202A receives from the UE 204A (the first UE) a request to establish the sidelink with one or more of the other UEs (the second UE(s)) 204B1, 204B2, 204B3 and/or 204B4. The UE 204A issued the request after discovering one or more of the UEs 204B1, 204B2, 204B3 and/or 204B4, i.e. receiving synchronization signals from the UEs 204B1, 204B2, 204B3 and/or 204B4. Initiating the setup of the sidelink may originate from the UE 204A and/or from any of the UEs 204B1, 204B2, 204B3 and/or 204B4”.
Park (US Pub. No.:2023/0269705) – see para. 0106, “In the following, a new NR sidelink resource allocation operation method that considers requirements for various services using a device-to-device (D2D) sidelink, such as a V2X service, a public safety, a wearable, and an augmented reality/virtual reality (AR/VR) service is described. The NR sidelink may be applied for the aforementioned additional various service cases as well as the service based on Table 5. An NR sidelink frequency for NR sidelink operation may be present within FR1 (410 MHz˜7.125 GHz) and FR2 (24.25 GHz˜52.6 GHz). Also, the NR sidelink frequency for NR sidelink operation may be present within frequency unlicensed ITS bands and licensed bands ITS. Therefore, the NR sidelink may be configured in consideration of applicability in various frequency bands. Also, the NR sidelink may operate using an Uu link that is a wireless access interface between a base station and a UE. In particular, when the UE is connected within base station coverage, configuration related to sidelink data transmission and reception and sidelink physical resource allocation may be configured by the base station through the Uu link. Therefore, an NR V2X sidelink transmission and reception procedure needs to be configured in consideration of Uu link of LTE (ng-eNB)/NR (gNB) that is 3GPP NG-RAN. Although the term “base station” is used in the following for clarity of description, the base station may be ng-eNB or gNB in the NG-RAN”.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469