DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges receipt of amendment to application 17/932,352 filed on February 17, 2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are still pending, with claims 1, 3-4, 8-10, 12-13, 15-16 and 18-20 being currently amended, and claim 21 being newly added. Claim 11 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 and 12-21 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-14, 16 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata JP 2011-160615A in view of Go JP 2010-246311. (It is noted that the Shibata and Go citations are taken from the machine translation, until a translation is obtained.)
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 20, Shibata discloses a system, comprising:
a sensor to detect a characteristic of a vehicle [par. 33, 45 & 87; IC tag reader 34 detects an IC tag on the vehicle to determine the connection position of the plug 24 to the vehicle connection portion 14, based on a photograph, stored position of the connection portion 14 according to information coordinated with the particular IC tag 46 or the intensity of a signal from the IC tag; thus the sensor is the IC tag reader, a processor which reads the stored position or a camera 52];
a data processing system to determine, based at least in part on the characteristic, a position of a charge port of the vehicle [par. 33, 45 & 87; IC tag reader 34 detects an IC tag on the vehicle to determine the connection position of the plug 24 to the vehicle connection portion 14, based on a photograph, stored position of the connection portion 14 according to information coordinated with the particular IC tag 46 or the intensity of a signal from the IC tag];
the data processing system to determine, based at least in part on the position of the charge port of the vehicle, a distance between a charging apparatus and the charge port of the vehicle [pars. 46 & 87-88; based on the position of the vehicle port a particular length of cord is unwound “to the height of the connection position of the automobile 14”]; and
the charging apparatus comprising a cable dispenser, the cable dispenser to provide a length of a cable based on the distance between the charging apparatus and the charge port [pars. 46 & 87-88; cord reel and cord reel moving motor],
wherein an amount of the cable that is dispensed is based on a number of rotations by the cable dispenser [pars. 46 & 87-88; the cable is dispensed via reel, thus the amount of cable dispensed is inherently based on the number of rotations].
Regarding claim 15, the method steps would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill based on the teachings of the Shibata reference, above, as pertains to rejection of the apparatus of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the method steps would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill based on the teachings of the Shibata reference, above, as pertains to rejection of the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Shibata teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions thereon, such that when executed, causes at a processor to perform the claimed method steps [pars. 32-37 & 41-51; the control device].
Shibita does not explicitly disclose the data processing system to prevent, responsive to the number of rotations, subsequent rotations of the cable dispenser such that the length of the cable is dispensed by the cable dispenser.
However, Go discloses a cable dispensing system which includes a data processing system to prevent, responsive to the number of rotations, subsequent rotations of the cable dispenser such that the length of the cable is dispensed by the cable dispenser [par. 46; a control panel uses a counter to count the rotations of the cable drum, and based on that to determine when the sending limit length has been reached and to stop dispensing].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibita to further include the data processing system to prevent, responsive to the number of rotations, subsequent rotations of the cable dispenser such that the length of the cable is dispensed by the cable dispenser for the purpose of controlling the amount of cable that is dispensed, as taught by Go (par. 42), and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to be aware that known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Shibata discloses wherein the characteristic indicates spatial information of the vehicle, comprising:
the data processing system to determine the spatial information of the vehicle based at least in part of the characteristic; and the data processing system to determine the length of the cable based at least in part on the spatial information of the vehicle [par. 33, 45 & 87; IC tag reader 34 detects an IC tag on the vehicle to determine the connection position of the plug 24 to the vehicle connection portion 14, based on a photograph, stored position of the connection portion 14 according to information coordinated with the particular IC tag 46 or the intensity of a signal from the IC tag; any of these three are spatial information of the vehicle].
Regarding claim 5, Shibata discloses the characteristic including at least one of an image, video, Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) data, and spatial data [pars. 33, 45 & 87; image]; and
the sensor including at least one of a camera, an infrared sensor, a Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) system, and a spatial data sensor [pars. 33, 45 & 87; camera].
Regarding claim 8, Shibata discloses the cable dispenser configured to dispense the length of the cable from the charging apparatus [pars. 46 & 87-88; cord reel and cord reel moving motor dispense the determined height of cable].
Regarding claim 9, Shibata discloses the charging apparatus including an actuation mechanism to release the length of the cable [pars. 46 & 87-88; cord reel and cord reel moving motor dispense the determined height of cable].
Regarding claim 10, Shibata discloses at least one of:
the charging apparatus including an actuation mechanism to release the length of the cable using motor assistance [pars. 46 & 87-88; cord reel and cord reel moving motor dispense the determined height of cable] or the charging apparatus including the actuation mechanism to withdraw the determined length of the segment of the cable using the motor assistance.
Regarding claim 12, Shibata discloses comprising:
the sensor to detect second characteristic of second vehicle; the data processing system: to determine based at least in part of the second characteristic of the second vehicle a second position of a second charge port of the second vehicle; to determine, based at least in part on the second position of the second charge port of the second vehicle, a second distance between the charging apparatus and the second charge port of the second vehicle; and the cable dispenser to provide a second length of the cable based on the distance between the charging apparatus and the second charge port [see rejection of claim 1, fig. 10 and par. 104; pars. 33-34, 46-47 & 87-88; the method/system applies to multiple vehicles each of which have an IC tag 46].
Regarding claim 13, Shibata discloses the cable dispenser including an actuation mechanism having at least one of a release mechanism, clamp, and lock to control dispensing of the cable with the length [release mechanism (motor/pulley); pars. 33-34, 46-47 & 87-88; fig. 9].
Regarding claim 14, Shibata discloses the vehicle including a battery and the charge port connected to the battery to supply power to the battery, wherein the charging apparatus to charge the battery via the cable and the charge port [pars. 14-18].
Regarding claim 16, Shibata discloses determining, by the data processing system, a second distance between an initial position of the cable and the position of the charge port of the vehicle [pars. 46 & 87-88; based on the position of the vehicle port a particular length of cord is unwound “to the height of the connection position of the automobile 14”].
Regarding claim 21, Shibata discloses wherein detection of the characteristic includes the sensor to: determine one or more three dimensional coordinates of the charge port relative to the cable dispenser [fig. 1-2; par. 38-40 & 45; coordinates of the connection portion 14 are determined for the control of the connection; based on the illustration of figs. 1-2 and pars. 38-40, the movement is controlled in three dimensions and thus the “position” is a three dimensional position].
Claims 2-3, 6-7 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata JP 2011-160615A in view of Go JP 2010-246311 and further in view of Choi KR 102069541 B1. (It is noted that the Choi citations are taken from the machine translation, until a translation is obtained.)
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Shibata does not explicitly disclose wherein the characteristic indicates a vehicle model, comprising: the data processing system to determine the vehicle model of the vehicle based on the characteristic; and the data processing system to determine the distance between the charging apparatus and the charge port of the vehicle based at least in part on the vehicle model of the vehicle.
However, Choi discloses an electric vehicle charging system wherein the characteristic indicates a vehicle model, comprising: the data processing system to determine the vehicle model of the vehicle based on the characteristic; and the data processing system to determine the distance between the charging apparatus and the charge port of the vehicle based at least in part on the vehicle model of the vehicle [pars 79-81, 101-102, 116-117 & 126-128 ; a charging reservation (charging request) indicates a vehicle model which is used to location the position of the vehicle charging port, and determine the distance between the charging device and the vehicle charging port].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibata to further include wherein the characteristic indicates a vehicle model, comprising: the data processing system to determine the vehicle model of the vehicle based on the characteristic; and the data processing system to determine the distance between the charging apparatus and the charge port of the vehicle based at least in part on the vehicle model of the vehicle for the purpose of using vehicle model information to facilitate moving the plug to the port of the vehicle, as taught by Choi (pars. 79-81, 101-102, 116-117 & 126-128).
Regarding claim 3, Shibata does not explicitly disclose wherein the characteristic indicates a vehicle model, comprising: the data processing system to correlate the vehicle with the vehicle model based at least in part on the characteristic of the vehicle and data obtained from a database; and the data processing system to determine the distance between the charging apparatus and the charge port of the vehicle based at least in part on the vehicle model of the vehicle.
However, Choi discloses an electric vehicle charging system wherein the characteristic indicates a vehicle model, comprising: the data processing system to correlate the vehicle with a vehicle model based at least in part on the characteristic of the vehicle and vehicle model data obtained from a database; and the data processing system to determine the distance between the charging apparatus and the charge port of the vehicle based at least in part on the vehicle model of the vehicle [pars 79-81, 101-102, 116-117 & 126-128 ; a charging reservation (charging request) indicates a vehicle model (the characteristic) which is used to location the position of the vehicle charging port via data correlation, and determine the distance between the charging device and the vehicle charging port].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibata to further include wherein the characteristic indicates a vehicle model, comprising: the data processing system to correlate the vehicle with a vehicle model based at least in part on the characteristic of the vehicle and vehicle model data obtained from a database; and the data processing system to determine the distance between the charging apparatus and the charge port of the vehicle based at least in part on the vehicle model of the vehicle for the purpose of using vehicle model information to facilitate moving the plug to the port of the vehicle, as taught by Choi (pars. 79-81, 101-102, 116-117 & 126-128).
Regarding claim 6, Shibata does not explicitly disclose the charging apparatus establishing a communication session with the data processing system via a network, the data processing system including at least one processor and memory to determine the position of the charge port of the vehicle based at least in part of the characteristic.
However, Choi discloses an electric vehicle charging system wherein the charging apparatus establishing a communication session with the data processing system via a network, the data processing system including at least one processor and memory to determine the position of the charge port of the vehicle based at least in part of the characteristic [pars 79-81, 101-102, 116-117 & 126-128 ; a charging reservation (charging request) indicates a vehicle model which is used to location the position of the vehicle charging port via data correlation, and determine the distance between the charging device and the vehicle charging port; par. 76, 86, 93-94 & 106; the vehicle model and charge port location information is stored in a database unit at the management service 3, and is received by the charging facility 9 over a network 10].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibata to further include the charging apparatus establishing a communication session with the data processing system via a network, the data processing system including at least one processor and memory to determine the position of the charge port of the vehicle based at least in part of the characteristic for the purpose of using vehicle model information to facilitate moving the plug to the port of the vehicle, as taught by Choi (pars. 79-81, 101-102, 116-117 & 126-128).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Shibata does not explicitly disclose a network device configured to receive from the vehicle a charging request, the charging request comprising an indication of a vehicle model of the vehicle, wherein the data processing system to determine the distance between the charging apparatus and the charge port based at least in part on the vehicle model of the vehicle.
However, Choi discloses an electric vehicle charging system wherein a network device configured to receive from the vehicle a charging request, the charging request comprising an indication of a vehicle model of the vehicle, wherein the data processing system to determine the distance between the charging apparatus and the charge port based at least in part on the vehicle model of the vehicle [pars 79-81, 101-102, 116-117 & 126-128 ; a charging reservation (charging request) indicates a vehicle model which is used to location the position of the vehicle charging port via data correlation, and determine the distance between the charging device and the vehicle charging port; par. 76, 86, 93-94 & 106; the vehicle model and charge port location information is stored in a database unit at the management service 3, and is received by the charging facility 9 over a network 10].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibata to further include a network device configured to receive from the vehicle a charging request, the charging request comprising an indication of a vehicle model of the vehicle, wherein the data processing system to determine the distance between the charging apparatus and the charge port based at least in part on the vehicle model of the vehicle for the purpose of using vehicle model information to facilitate moving the plug to the port of the vehicle, as taught by Choi (pars. 79-81, 101-102, 116-117 & 126-128).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID V HENZE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859