Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/15/22 was filed and the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10-14, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Albin et al. (8,414,043).
RE claims 1, 17, and 20, Albin et al. (8,414,043) discloses an apparatus (10) (see Figs. 1-9) comprising: a first gripping component (62) (see Figs. 1, 2, and 9) comprising a first proximal region and a first distal region, wherein the first proximal region comprises a first rigid geometry (see Exhibit A) being capable of receiving a handle of a tool, and wherein the first distal region comprises a first shape-adaptive finger (66); and a second gripping component (64) comprising a second proximal region and a second distal region, wherein the second proximal region comprises a second rigid geometry (see Exhibit A) being capable of receiving a handle of a tool, and wherein the second distal region comprises a second shape adaptive finger (68), wherein the first distal region of the first gripping component is separated by a clearance (see Exhibit A) from the second distal region of the second gripping component when the first rigid geometry and the second rigid geometry are grasping the handle of the tool, and wherein, in an absence of the handle of the tool, the first proximal region of the first gripping component and the second proximal region of the second gripping component enable a pinch grip (see Exhibit A) between the first shape-adaptive finger of the first gripping component and the second shape-adaptive finger of the second gripping component.
Exhibit A
[AltContent: textbox (A pinch grip)][AltContent: textbox (Clearance)][AltContent: textbox (Clearance )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
RE claim 17, Albin et al. Gripper (8,414,043), as presented above, discloses actuating the first and second gripping component (see Col. 3, lines 37-47; and Col. 4, lines 14-31) and having in an absence of the handle of the tool, the first proximal region of the first gripping component and the second proximal region of the second gripping component enable a pinch grip (see Exhibit A) between the first shape-adaptive finger of the first gripping component and the second shape-adaptive finger of the second gripping component.
RE claims 10 and 11, Albin et al. Gripper (8,414,04310) shows the first shape-adaptive finger is a first underactuated finger and wherein the second shape-adaptive finger is a second underactuated finger wherein the first underactuated finger comprises a first deformable gripping surface or pad (62, 68) (see Col. 3, lines 37-47) and wherein the second underactuated finger comprises a second deformable gripping surface or pad (62, 68) (see Col. 3, lines 37-47).
RE claim 12, Fig. 2 of Albin et al. Gripper (8,414,043) shows the first deformable gripping surface and the second deformable gripping surface each comprises a respective plurality of members coupled together end-to-end to create a respective elongated gripping surface.
RE claim 13, Figs. 2 and 3 of Albin et al. Gripper (8,414,043) discloses the first shape-adaptive finger is capable of being to be interchanged with a first interchangeable shape-adaptive finger and the second shape-adaptive finger is capable of being to be interchanged with a second interchangeable shape-adaptive finger since the fingers are provided and attached to by fasteners.
RE claim 14, Figs. 2 and 3 of Albin et al. Gripper (8,414,043) also shows that the first rigid geometry of the first gripping component and the second rigid geometry of the second gripping component are configured to be spaced apart when grasping the handle of the tool.
RE claim 16, Figs. 2 and 3 of Albin et al. Gripper (8,414,043) also provide the handle of the tool has a non-circular cross section, and wherein the first rigid geometry and the second rigid geometry are configured to receive the non-circular cross sectional shape of the handle of the tool such that the handle of the tool is prevented from rotating in a yaw direction.
Claims 1, 9, 10, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brucher (4,810,019).
RE claims 1, 17, and 20, Brucher (4,810,019) discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 1) comprising: a first gripping component (9, 4, 11) comprising a first proximal region and a first distal region, wherein the first proximal region comprises a first rigid geometry (see Fig. 1) being capable of receiving a handle of a tool, and wherein the first distal region comprises a first shape-adaptive finger (66); and a second gripping component (9, 4, 11) comprising a second proximal region and a second distal region, wherein the second proximal region comprises a second rigid geometry (see Fig. 1) being capable of receiving a handle of a tool, and wherein the second distal region comprises a second shape adaptive finger, wherein the first distal region of the first gripping component is separated by a clearance (see Fig.) from the second distal region of the second gripping component when the first rigid geometry and the second rigid geometry are grasping the handle of the tool, and wherein, in an absence of the handle of the tool, the first proximal region of the first gripping component and the second proximal region of the second gripping component enable a pinch grip (13, 13) (see Fig.) between the first shape-adaptive finger of the first gripping component and the second shape-adaptive finger of the second gripping component.
RE claim 9, Fig. 1 of Brucher’s gripper (4,810,019) shows the first rigid geometry of the first proximal region of the first gripping component comprises a semi-cylinder, and wherein the second rigid geometry of the second proximal region of the second gripping component comprises a semi- cylinder.
RE claim 17, Fig. 1 of Brucher’s gripper (4,810,019), as presented above, discloses actuating the first and second gripping component (see Col. 1, lines 56-68) and having in an absence of the handle of the tool, the first proximal region of the first gripping component and the second proximal region of the second gripping component enable a pinch grip between the first shape-adaptive finger of the first gripping component and the second shape-adaptive finger of the second gripping component.
RE claim 10, Fig. 1 of Brucher’s gripper (4,810,019) shows the first shape-adaptive finger is a first underactuated finger and wherein the second shape-adaptive finger is a second underactuated finger.
RE claim 13, Fig. 1 of Brucher’s gripper (4,810,019) discloses the first shape-adaptive finger is capable of being to be interchanged with a first interchangeable shape-adaptive finger and the second shape-adaptive finger is capable of being to be interchanged with a second interchangeable shape-adaptive finger since the fingers are provided and attached to by fasteners.
RE claim 14, Fig. 1 of Brucher’s gripper (4,810,019) also shows that the first rigid geometry of the first gripping component and the second rigid geometry of the second gripping component are configured to be spaced apart when grasping the handle of the tool.
RE claim 16, Fig. 1 of Brucher’s gripper (4,810,019) also provide the handle of the tool has a non-circular cross section, and wherein the first rigid geometry and the second rigid geometry are capable of receiving the non-circular cross sectional shape of the handle of the tool such that the handle of the tool is prevented from rotating in a yaw direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 15, 16, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PAUL T CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651
Specification
The title of the invention (“Articulated Clutch”) is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
There is no antecedent basis for “the second gripping portion” as recited in claims 12, 13, and 14. Note that the claims 12 and 13 depend on claim 10, but claim 10 recites only “a first ripping portion.”
Claims 2-10 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MacKay Sim (8,172,289) (See IDS).
MacKay Sim (8,172,289) discloses a lifting clutch device for lifting a concrete component, the clutch (see Exhibit A) comprising: a toroidal connector (115) (see Fig. 4A); a latch (115) movable relative to the toroidal connector from a disengaged condition to an engaged condition (See Figs. 4A-4C); and a coupler (101) configured to couple the toroidal connector to a lifting apparatus, wherein the coupler is articulated.
RE claim 7, Fig, 4B of MacKay Sim (8,172,289) teaches the latch (115) is a circular latch (117) passing through an inner circular passage (see Fig. 4C) of the toroidal connector.
Exhibit A
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacKay Sim (8,172,289) (see IDS) in view of Manney et al. (3,373,560).
MacKay Sim (8,172,289), as presented above, shows a lifting clutch device for lifting a concrete component, the clutch (see Exhibit A) comprising: a toroidal connector (115) (see Fig. 4A); a latch (115) movable relative to the toroidal connector from a disengaged condition to an engaged condition (See Figs. 4A-4C); and a coupler (101) configured to couple the toroidal connector to a lifting apparatus, wherein the coupler is articulated,
but does not specifically teach the coupler includes a first part and a second part pivotal relative to the first part about a pin, the first part including a first circular arc and the second part including a second circular arc, and wherein the pin is located such that a longitudinal axis of the pin is perpendicular to a line connecting a center of the first arc to a center of the second arc.
However, Figs. 1-8 of Manney et al. (3,373,560) teaches the coupler configured to couple the toroidal connector (141) to a lifting apparatus, wherein the coupler includes a first part (10) and a second part (12) pivotal relative to the first part about a pin (26), the first part including a first circular arc and the second part (see Exhibit B) including a second circular arc, and wherein the pin is located such that a longitudinal axis of the pin is perpendicular to a line connecting a center of the first arc to a center of the second arc.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide
or replace the single lifting shackle (102) of MacKay Sim (8,172,289) with the pivotal coupler (10 and 12) of Manney et al. (3,373,560) to provide flexibility and pivotal movement to a user.
Exhibit B
RE claims 5 and 6, MacKay Sim (8,172,289) shows that the second loop (10) is capable of directing fitment of a lifting chain while also enabling direct fitment of a lifting hook and the coupler includes an elongated pin (26) (see Figs, 1 and 2) extending about a longitudinal axis of which the second part is pivotal relative to the first part.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacKay Sim (8,172,289) (see IDS) and Manney et al. (3,373,560) and further in view of Lawley (7,562,919).
The modified MacKay Sim (8,172,289), as presented above, shows that the first loop and the second loop appears to be the same size,
but does not specifically show that
the first loop is a different size to the second loop or the first loop is smaller than the second loop.
However, Fig. 2 of Lawley (7,562,919) teaches a plurality of loops (30) having different sizes for lifting.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide
different size on the first and second loop on the MacKay Sim (8,172,289) as taught by
Lawley (7,562,919) to provide flexibility and more room to fit the application to a user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PAUL T CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651