DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after December 9, 2016, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claims 1-20 were amended in the Amendment filed on November 25, 2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and under examination, of which claims 1, 13, and 20 are independent claims.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The objections to the claims are now withdrawn in light of the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
On page 9 of the Amendment, to distinguish the amended limitation reciting “wherein the control circuitry is centralized such that the processing is non-distributed”, the following is argued:
Kane describes a system fundamentally based on a distributed architecture, where a main unit (“host”) communicates with multiple remote sensor modules or “sender units” (“clients”), each of which may have their own processing circuitry. See Kane, [0032]-[0033], Figs. 2, 7, 8, 9. The sender units act as clients in a host/client distributed control system, and Kane explicitly supports multiple configurations, including “host/client” and “host/host” arrangements, with data being transmitted between distributed devices. While Kane describes a “handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument” ([0023]), the main unit is specifically designed to receive data from distributed sender units that may themselves include processing circuitry ([0033], [0038]). The main unit in Kane is not responsible for all processing; rather, it aggregates data from distributed sources, and the sender units may perform their own signal conditioning, processing, or communication tasks before transmitting data to the main unit.
In contrast, the present application is directed to a self-contained measurement system in which all control, processing, and data handling is performed by centralized control circuitry housed within the main unit. The sensors are electrically connected to this main unit, and all user interaction, data selection, logging, and transmission are managed by the centralized control circuitry within the device housing. There are no distributed processing elements or reliance on external sender/client units for processing or control. The claims of the present application require that the control circuitry is centralized such that the processing is non-distributed, the control circuitry.
The Office Action asserts that Kane's main unit includes “control circuitry disposed within the housing” ([0054]), but this is not sufficient to meet the amended claims. In Kane, the control circuitry in the main unit is only one part of a distributed system, and much of the signal processing, data acquisition, and communication may occur in the remote sender units ([0033], [0038], [0041]). The main unit in Kane is not responsible for all processing, nor is the system self-contained. It would not have been obvious to reconfigure Kane as a centralized non- distributed system because Kane repeatedly emphasizes the flexibility of its distributed architecture, allowing for various combinations of sender units, wireless and wired communication, and modular expansion ([0032], [0038], [0041], [0057]-[0063]). Kane is specifically and intentionally design as a modular, distributed system with multiple sender units and a main unit that aggregates data from distributed sources. The architecture, operation, and intended use of Kane's system are fundamentally different from the self-contained, centralized system now claimed.
However, the Office respectfully disagrees. Kane describes in paragraph [0038] that “Preferably, each of the sender units 204 include circuitry adapted to permit wireless transmission of sensor information characterizing sensor inputs 202 for wireless reception by circuitry incorporated in the main unit 120 for wirelessly receiving the sensor information from the sender units 204.” (emphasis added) Also, paragraph [0040] of Kane explains that “Each kit preferably includes the appropriate probes, sensor attachments, wiring leads, cabling, sensor signal senders/transmitters, transceivers/receivers (if needed) for attachment to the main unit 120, and other equipment and circuitry for physically taking the desired system measurement (i.e. suction line pressure) and providing sensed measurement signal information (referred to as sensor inputs) receivable by the main unit 120 sensor inputs 122.” (emphasis added) Paragraph [0046] provides that “The E-kit 412 may substantially comprise the functionality and features of a digital multi-meter combined with circuitry adapted to provide test and measurement information to the main unit 120 via sensor inputs 122.” (emphasis added)
Contrary to the arguments presented in the Amendment, there is no distributed processing being performed in Kane. Clearly, the sensor information is not processed at the sender units or any of the sensor kits. The sensor data or sensor signals are received and processed at the main unit; thus, functioning as a “centralized…non-distributed” processing circuitry. In addition to the portions of Kane referred to in the Final Office Action dated August 27, 2025, Kane also describes in paragraph [0048] describes that “The main unit 120 preferably automatically monitors (step 510) the sensor inputs 122 for settled/steady state sensor measurement information and alerts the technician (visually, audibly, and/or tactilely) of the status of the connected sensors, status of the system 100 (for example, the settling of subcool or superheat measurements following a change in refrigerant charge, the presence of hazardous gas concentrations near the furnace warranting improved ventilation, whether the sensed measurement information is within typical/expected operating ranges), and the status of analysis or tests in-process or to be performed (for example, the status of data-logging).” (emphasis added) In addition, paragraph [0056] of Kane provides that “Microprocessor 620 and supporting circuitry preferably provides the main unit 120 with processing means for executing stored programming instructions, access to on-board and accessible databases and memory, calculations, execution of algorithms, and other computing needs. Additional processing capacity 640 is preferably included for real-time monitoring and display of input data, preferably real-time monitoring of all inputs simultaneously or substantially simultaneously.” (emphasis added)
The main unit is described as a microprocessor that receives sensor inputs and monitors such inputs to then alert a technician of the status of the sensor and the system, and the status of analysis or tests in-process or to be performed. The main unit functions as a centralized microprocessor. Kane does not describe that the sensor unit are processing the information and that the main unit is simply displaying information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the description of Kane provides a centralized processing main unit.
In addition, in another embodiment, paragraph [0058] of Kane provides that a sensor interface may be included to receive the sensor signals and transmitted to “a user interface 708 such as a field portable tablet computing device, netbook, or smartphone device which can receive the transmitted sensor information and perform the data processing and user interface and feedback capabilities described herein provided by the main unit 120”, which further clarifies that the processing is performed at a user interface provided by the main unit; thus, teaching that the main unit is “centralized”.
Therefore, in light of the various descriptive portions of the cited reference, Kane teaches a main unit that includes a control circuitry that is “centralized such that the processing is non-distributed” and the arguments provided in the Amendment are not deemed persuasive. The prior art rejection of independent claims 1, 13, and 20 and related dependent claims are maintained.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to for lack of antecedent support or for redundancies. The Examiner recommends the following changes:
Claim 1, line 9, replace “the processing” with “a processing”.
Claim 1, line 6, insert “a” before “control circuitry”.
Claim 13, line 1, insert “a” before “self-contained”.
Claim 13, line 2, replace “the HVAC” with “an HVAC”.
Claim 13, line 4, insert “self-contained” before the second instance of “control circuitry”.
Claim 13, line 5, replace “the processing” with “a processing”.
Claim 20, line 10, insert “a” before “control circuitry”.
Claim 20, line 11, replace “the processing” with “a processing”.
Appropriate correction is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10, 12, 13, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kane et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2013/0245965 A1) (“Kane”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kane teaches:
A self-contained heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) air measurement device, comprising: Kane: Paragraph [0023] (“Rather than use several different test and measurement instruments when servicing a system such as that shown in FIG. 1, the present inventors invented a handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument that is capable of receiving inputs from sensors or sensor modules to perform typical tests and measurements associated with installation and maintenance of HVAC/R systems.”)
a housing; Kane: Paragraph [0023] (“FIG. 1 shows an example air conditioning and refrigeration system 100 with a handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument (hereinafter, “main unit”) 120, according to one embodiment. The main unit 120 comprises: a handheld-sized instrument with means for receiving a plurality of (ex. 1 through n) inputs 122 via physically wired connections to sensors or sensor modules, via wireless communications with sensor or sender units or sensor modules, or via a combination of the two; means for sending/transmitting a plurality of (ex. 1 through m) outputs 124 via wireless and/or wired connections with various external output devices; a display 126; and control buttons 128 and/or up, down, right, left, scroll, and select navigation controls 130.”) [The housing of the handheld-sized instrument reads on “a housing”.]
a display disposed on an outer surface of the housing; Kane: Paragraph [0023] [As described above.]
one or more inputs disposed on the outer surface of the housing; and Kane: Paragraph [0023] [As described above.]
[The control buttons read on “one or more inputs”.]
control circuitry disposed within the housing and configured to be electrically connected to one or more sensors disposed within an air flow path of an HVAC system, wherein the one or more sensors are configured to detect one or more parameters of air flow through the air flow path, Kane: Paragraph [0033] (“The sender units 212, 214, 216, 218 may, for example, comprise sender units with circuitry adapted for particular types or groupings of sensor inputs 202.”) Kane: Paragraph [0038] (“In other embodiments, the sender units 204 may include sender units with … sender units requiring physically wired communication with the main unit 120.”) Kane: Paragraph [0041] (“As shown in FIG. 4, the handheld HVAC/R test and measurement instrument 120 may be combined with a range of optional sensor/ … kits 402, 404, 406, 408, 412, 414 as a complete HVAC/R test and measurement system 400, according to various embodiments.”) Kane: Paragraph [0045] (“The Air Flow kit 408 includes the sensors… needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring air flow velocity, air temperature, relative humidity, wet bulb temperature (calculated), dew point (calculated), change in dew point, and pressure differential.”) Kane: Paragraph [0054] (“The main unit 120 preferably includes drivers and circuitry 602 for the display 126 and drivers and circuitry 612 for the key pad 130 and function/selection buttons 128. Drivers and circuitry 604 and 608 are provided for the physical inputs 122 and physical outputs 124, respectively. Physical inputs 122 may be any of a wide variety of configurations—USB, mini-USB, DIN, or other wired signal transmitting/receiving means. The main unit 120 is preferably equipped with drivers and circuitry 606 and 610 for wirelessly transmitting/receiving, respectively, sensor inputs 122 and main unit outputs 124. The main unit 120 also includes an internal power supply 636 and audio drivers and circuitry 642.”) [The circuitry incorporated in the main unit (i.e., the HVAC/R test and measurement instrument) reads on “control circuitry disposed within the housing”. The physically wired connections from the instrument to the sensors read on “electrically connected to one or more sensors disposed within an air flow path of an HVAC system”.] wherein the control circuitry is centralized such that the processing is non-distributed, the control circuitry is configured to: Kane: Paragraph [0048] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically monitors (step 510) the sensor inputs 122 for settled/steady state sensor measurement information and alerts the technician (visually, audibly, and/or tactilely) of the status of the connected sensors, status of the system 100 (for example, the settling of subcool or superheat measurements following a change in refrigerant charge, the presence of hazardous gas concentrations near the furnace warranting improved ventilation, whether the sensed measurement information is within typical/expected operating ranges), and the status of analysis or tests in-process or to be performed (for example, the status of data-logging).”) Kane: Paragraph [0056] (“Microprocessor 620 and supporting circuitry preferably provides the main unit 120 with processing means for executing stored programming instructions, access to on-board and accessible databases and memory, calculations, execution of algorithms, and other computing needs. Additional processing capacity 640 is preferably included for real-time monitoring and display of input data, preferably real-time monitoring of all inputs simultaneously or substantially simultaneously.”)
display a parameter selection menu via the display, wherein the parameter selection menu presents the one or more parameters as one or more selectable parameter options; Kane: Paragraph [0051] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically prompts the technician/user for user-input selections 514 such as refrigerant type, fuel type, parameters to view/display, or modes of operation of the main unit 120 depending upon the automatically detected sensor inputs 122 and automatically determined available measurements and analysis available to the user. The main unit 120 preferably (step 516) includes sufficient programming instructions to provide recommendations, suggestions for system performance improvement, troubleshooting guidance, and so forth, based upon the real-time monitoring of the sensor inputs 122. Preferably, the user is able to scroll 518 through such automatically provided troubleshooting and analysis guidance information to select and drill down through menu information to access additional information and suggestions and to perform the desired system analysis.”) Kane: Paragraph [0049] (“The main unit 120 preferably provides the user/technician with real-time display of the sensor inputs 122 so the technician can watch the measurements/sensor inputs change in real-time. In preferred embodiments, the main unit 120 also provides the user/technician with real-time display of the (computed/calculated/estimated) output values (such as, for example, superheat, subcool, combustion efficiency, etc.) as those output values change in response to dynamically changing sensor input values.”) [The selection through the menu information reads on “the parameter selection menu presents the one or more parameters as one or more selectable parameter options”.]
receive one or more parameter selection commands from the one or more inputs, wherein the one or more parameter selection commands relate to one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters; Kane: Paragraphs [0023], [0041], [0045], [0051] and [0054] [As described above.] [The user input selection using the control buttons reads on “receive one or more parameter selection command from the one or more inputs”. The selected sensor information including the air flow sensed information reads on “the one or more parameter selection commands relate to one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters”.]
receive data relating to the one or more parameters from the one or more sensors; and Kane: Paragraphs [0041], [0045], [0051] and [0054] [As described above.][The air flow measurements received at the main unit read on “receive data”.]
transmit data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device based at least in part on the one or more parameter selection commands. Kane: Paragraphs [0041] and [0054] [As described above.] Kane: Paragraph [0032] (“In various embodiments, the main unit 120 may be connected, as shown in FIG. 2, as a system 200 with its 1 through n inputs 122 comprising wired or wireless communication between sensor sender units (or sender modules) 204 and the main unit 120, and with its 1 through m outputs 124 comprising wired or wireless communication between the main unit 120 and various external output and peripheral devices 206, 208, 210.”) Kane: Paragraph [0053] (“The sensor input 122 information (i.e. sensor connections, sensor functioning status, sensor information being transmitted/received in real-time) is then provided to the main unit 120 for display to the technician/user. The main unit 120 preferably automatically monitors (step 510) the sensor inputs 122 for settled/steady state sensor measurement information and alerts the technician (visually, audibly, and/or tactilely) of the status of the connected sensors, status of the system 100 (for example, the settling of subcool or superheat measurements following a change in refrigerant charge, the presence of hazardous gas concentrations near the furnace warranting improved ventilation, whether the sensed measurement information is within typical/expected operating ranges), and the status of analysis or tests in-process or to be performed (for example, the status of data-logging). In one embodiment, the main unit 120 automatically monitors sensor inputs 122 and provides the technician with alerts and indications regarding safety conditions of workspaces, for example, alerting the technician if refrigerant is detected or if oxygen levels are becoming too low (or trending downward) so as to present workspace safety concerns.”)
Regarding claim 4, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 4 depends. Kane further teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1, comprising a memory card port configured to receive a memory card, wherein transmitting the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device comprises storing the data on the memory card. Kane: Paragraph [0055] (“Databases 614, 616, 618 are preferably included in main unit 120 .... Memory 622, 624, 626, 628 is preferably included for look-up tables (LUTs) and calculation algorithms needed to support the sensor kits 400. On-board memory 630, 632, 634 that is … via SD card, flash drive devices, etc. may be included in main unit 120 for loading additional or updated LUTs, software, customer ID information, and other data.”)
Regarding claim 6, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 6 depends. Kane further teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1,
wherein the parameter selection menu presents the one or more sensors as one or more selectable sensor options, and wherein the control circuitry is configured to: receive one or more sensor selection commands from the one or more inputs, wherein the one or more sensor selection commands relate to one or more selected sensors of the one or more sensors; and transmit the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device based at least in part on the one or more sensor selection commands. Kane: Paragraphs [0041] and [0053]-[0054] [As described in claim 1.] Kane: Paragraph [0032] (“In various embodiments, the main unit 120 may be connected, as shown in FIG. 2, as a system 200 with its 1 through n inputs 122 comprising wired or wireless communication between sensor sender units (or sender modules) 204 and the main unit 120, ... Each of the sender units 204, as shown, receive sensor inputs 202 from sensors suitably applied to a system under test such as the system 100 in FIG. 1, and communicate, preferably in real-time, the sensor input information to the main unit 120, which in turn preferably monitors in real-time and receives the transmitted sensor input information.”) Kane: Paragraph [0041] (“As shown in FIG. 4, the handheld HVAC/R test and measurement instrument 120 may be combined with a range of optional sensor/ module kits 402, 404, 406, 408, 412, 414 as a complete HVAC/R test and measurement system 400, according to various embodiments. In one embodiment, a technician may use the central, main unit 120 with one or more of the optional sensor kits depending upon the application.”) Kane: Paragraph [0048] (“Generally, sensor inputs 122 from a chosen kit of sensors (from a range of optional kits 400) are connected (step 502) with the main unit 120, and the sensors (probes, sender units, etc.) associated with the chosen kit are connected to the system under test (step 504). Upon power up of the main unit 120 and any components of the chosen kit requiring power, and once the sensors are connected to the system under test and sensor inputs 122 connected with the main unit 120, the main unit 120 automatically detects and verifies what is connected to it and (step 508) the tests, measurements, and analysis functions that may be performed using the sensor information available.”) Kane: Paragraph [0051] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically prompts the technician/user for user-input selections 514 such as refrigerant type, fuel type, parameters to view/display, or modes of operation of the main unit 120 ... Preferably, the user is able to scroll 518 through such automatically provided troubleshooting and analysis guidance information to select and drill down through menu information to access additional information and suggestions and to perform the desired system analysis.”) [The user input selection from the menu information of sensor data reads on “receive one or more sensor selection commands from the one or more inputs”. The information received such as the parameters to view from the wired sensors read on “the one or more sensor selection commands relate to one or more selected sensors of the one or more sensors”. The chosen sensors read on “one or more selected sensors of the one or more sensors”.]
Regarding claim 7, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 7 depends. Kane further teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to receive a subset of the data relating to the one or more parameters from one or more other HVAC air measurement devices. Kane: Paragraph [0024] (“The system 100 shown in FIG. 1 is presented as a typical HVAC/R system under test, having a compressor 102, a condenser 106, a metering device 112, and an evaporator 114.”) Kane: Paragraph [0041] (“As shown in FIG. 4, the handheld HVAC/R test and measurement instrument 120 may be combined with a range of optional sensor/ module kits 402, 404, 406, 408, 412, 414 as a complete HVAC/R test and measurement system 400, according to various embodiments. In one embodiment, a technician may use the central, main unit 120 with one or more of the optional sensor kits depending upon the application.”) Kane: Paragraph [0042] (“The AC kit 402 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring outdoor ambient temperature, indoor return air temperature, indoor relative humidity, and either the low side (suction line) temperature and pressure needed for measuring superheat or the high side (discharge/condensate/liquid line) temperature and pressure needed for measuring subcool.”) Kane: Paragraph [0044] (“The Combustion kit 406 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring CO2 percentage, carbon monoxide (CO) percentage, CO ppm, inlet or ambient temperature, flue temperature, draft pressure, and gas pressure.”) Kane: Paragraph [0045] (“The Air Flow kit 408 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring air flow velocity, air temperature, relative humidity, wet bulb temperature (calculated), dew point (calculated), change in dew point, and pressure differential.”) [The data received at the main unit 120 associated with one or more of the selectable kits sensing different devices of the HVAC including indoor return air, flue temperature, suction line, compressor, condenser, evaporator, etc. reads on “receive a subset of the data relating to the one or more parameters from one or more other HVAC air measurement devices”.]
Regarding claim 8, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 8 depends. Kane further teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a temperature of the air flow through the air flow path. Kane: Paragraph [0045] (“The Air Flow kit 408 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring air flow velocity, air temperature, ... The Air Flow kit 408 may include an additional temperature probe 449 for measuring the temperature rise through the furnace and using the temperature difference to estimate air flow (CFM). Temperature probe 448 may be used to measure return air temperature, temperature probe 449 may be used to measure supply air temperature, and the difference between the two is the temperature rise/difference (TD). The air flow (CFM) may then be approximated as (the furnace output in Btu/hour) divided by (TD times 1.08).”)
Regarding claim 10, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 10 depends. Kane further teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a relative humidity of the air flow through the air flow path. Kane: Paragraph [0045] (“The Air Flow kit 408 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring air flow velocity, air temperature, relative humidity, wet bulb temperature (calculated), dew point (calculated), change in dew point, and pressure differential. The Air Flow kit 408 preferably includes an air vane 442 for sensing air flow velocity, a low pressure probe 444 adapted to sense return air static pressure, another low pressure probe 446 to sense supply air static pressure (for differential pressure measurements across the blower), and indoor temperature and humidity probes 448, 450 as described for indoor temperature probe 228 and humidity sensor 230, respectively, described and shown in FIG. 2.”)
Regarding claim 12, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 12 depends. Kane teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a refrigerant detection of refrigerant within the air flow through the air flow path. Kane: Paragraph [0048] (“In one embodiment, the main unit 120 automatically monitors sensor inputs 122 and provides the technician with alerts and indications regarding safety conditions of workspaces, for example, alerting the technician if refrigerant is detected or if oxygen levels are becoming too low (or trending downward) so as to present workspace safety concerns.”) Kane: Paragraph [0051] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically prompts the technician/user for user-input selections 514 such as refrigerant type, fuel type, parameters to view/display, or modes of operation of the main unit 120 depending upon the automatically detected sensor inputs 122 and automatically determined available measurements and analysis available to the user.”)
Regarding independent claim 13, Kane teaches:
A method of operating self-contained control circuitry of a heating, ventilation of the HVAC air measurement device, the method comprising: Kane: Abstract (“A method of HVAC/R test and measurement using a plurality of test and measurement sensor heads…”) Kane: Paragraph [0023] (“Rather than use several different test and measurement instruments when servicing a system such as that shown in FIG. 1, the present inventors invented a handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument that is capable of receiving inputs from sensors or sensor modules to perform typical tests and measurements associated with installation and maintenance of HVAC/R systems.”) Kane: Paragraph [0054] (“The main unit 120 preferably includes drivers and circuitry 602 for the display 126 and drivers and circuitry 612 for the key pad 130 and function/selection buttons 128. Drivers and circuitry 604 and 608 are provided for the physical inputs 122 and physical outputs 124, respectively. Physical inputs 122 may be any of a wide variety of configurations—USB, mini-USB, DIN, or other wired signal transmitting/receiving means. The main unit 120 is preferably equipped with drivers and circuitry 606 and 610 for wirelessly transmitting/receiving, respectively, sensor inputs 122 and main unit outputs 124. The main unit 120 also includes an internal power supply 636 and audio drivers and circuitry 642.”) [The circuitry incorporated in the main unit (i.e., the HVAC/R test and measurement instrument) reads on “self-contained control circuitry”.]
providing the self-contained control circuitry in a housing, Kane: Paragraph [0023] (“FIG. 1 shows an example air conditioning and refrigeration system 100 with a handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument (hereinafter, “main unit”) 120, according to one embodiment. The main unit 120 comprises: a handheld-sized instrument with means for receiving a plurality of (ex. 1 through n) inputs 122 via physically wired connections to sensors or sensor modules, via wireless communications with sensor or sender units or sensor modules, or via a combination of the two; means for sending/transmitting a plurality of (ex. 1 through m) outputs 124 via wireless and/or wired connections with various external output devices; a display 126; and control buttons 128 and/or up, down, right, left, scroll, and select navigation controls 130.”) [The housing of the handheld-sized instrument reads on “a housing”.]
wherein the control circuitry is centralized such that the processing is non-distributed; Kane: Paragraph [0048] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically monitors (step 510) the sensor inputs 122 for settled/steady state sensor measurement information and alerts the technician (visually, audibly, and/or tactilely) of the status of the connected sensors, status of the system 100 (for example, the settling of subcool or superheat measurements following a change in refrigerant charge, the presence of hazardous gas concentrations near the furnace warranting improved ventilation, whether the sensed measurement information is within typical/expected operating ranges), and the status of analysis or tests in-process or to be performed (for example, the status of data-logging).”) Kane: Paragraph [0056] (“Microprocessor 620 and supporting circuitry preferably provides the main unit 120 with processing means for executing stored programming instructions, access to on-board and accessible databases and memory, calculations, execution of algorithms, and other computing needs. Additional processing capacity 640 is preferably included for real-time monitoring and display of input data, preferably real-time monitoring of all inputs simultaneously or substantially simultaneously.”)
displaying, via the self-contained control circuitry, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) air measurement device, a parameter selection menu via a display of the HVAC air measurement device, wherein the parameter selection menu presents one or more parameters of air flow through an air flow path of an HVAC system as one or more selectable parameter options, wherein the one or more parameters are detected by one or more sensors disposed within the air flow path of the HVAC system; Kane: Paragraphs [0023] and [0054] [As described above.] Kane: Paragraph [0033] (“The sender units 212, 214, 216, 218 may, for example, comprise sender units with circuitry adapted for particular types or groupings of sensor inputs 202.”) Kane: Paragraph [0038] (“Preferably, each of the sender units 204 include circuitry adapted to permit wireless transmission of sensor information characterizing sensor inputs 202 for wireless reception by circuitry incorporated in the main unit 120 for wirelessly receiving the sensor information from the sender units 204. In other embodiments, the sender units 204 may include sender units with such wireless transmitting means and/or sender units requiring physically wired communication with the main unit 120.”) Kane: Paragraph [0041] (“As shown in FIG. 4, the handheld HVAC/R test and measurement instrument 120 may be combined with a range of optional sensor/ module kits 402, 404, 406, 408, 412, 414 as a complete HVAC/R test and measurement system 400, according to various embodiments.”) Kane: Paragraph [0045] (“The Air Flow kit 408 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring air flow velocity, air temperature, relative humidity, wet bulb temperature (calculated), dew point (calculated), change in dew point, and pressure differential.”) Kane: Paragraph [0051] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically prompts the technician/user for user-input selections 514 such as refrigerant type, fuel type, parameters to view/display, or modes of operation of the main unit 120 depending upon the automatically detected sensor inputs 122 and automatically determined available measurements and analysis available to the user. The main unit 120 preferably (step 516) includes sufficient programming instructions to provide recommendations, suggestions for system performance improvement, troubleshooting guidance, and so forth, based upon the real-time monitoring of the sensor inputs 122. Preferably, the user is able to scroll 518 through such automatically provided troubleshooting and analysis guidance information to select and drill down through menu information to access additional information and suggestions and to perform the desired system analysis.”) Kane: Paragraph [0049] (“The main unit 120 preferably provides the user/technician with real-time display of the sensor inputs 122 so the technician can watch the measurements/sensor inputs change in real-time. In preferred embodiments, the main unit 120 also provides the user/technician with real-time display of the (computed/calculated/estimated) output values (such as, for example, superheat, subcool, combustion efficiency, etc.) as those output values change in response to dynamically changing sensor input values.”) [The sensor units read on “one or more sensors”. The selection through the menu information reads on “the parameter selection menu presents the one or more parameters as one or more selectable parameter options”.]
receiving, via the self-contained control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, one or more parameter selection commands from one or more inputs of the HVAC air measurement device, wherein the one or more parameter selection commands relate to one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters; Kane: Paragraphs [0023], [0041], [0045], [0051] and [0054] [As described above.] [The user input selection using the control buttons reads on “receiving, via the control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, one or more parameter selection commands from the one or more inputs”. The selected sensor information including the air flow sensed information reads on “the one or more parameter selection commands relate to one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters”.]
receiving, via the self-contained control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, data relating to the one or more parameters from the one or more sensors; and Kane: Paragraphs [0041], [0045], [0051] and [0054] [As described above.][The air flow measurements received at the main unit read on “receiving, via the control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, data”.]
transmitting, via the self-contained control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device based at least in part on the one or more parameter selection commands. Kane: Paragraphs [0041] and [0054] [As described above.] Kane: Paragraph [0032] (“In various embodiments, the main unit 120 may be connected, as shown in FIG. 2, as a system 200 with its 1 through n inputs 122 comprising wired or wireless communication between sensor sender units (or sender modules) 204 and the main unit 120, and with its 1 through m outputs 124 comprising wired or wireless communication between the main unit 120 and various external output and peripheral devices 206, 208, 210.”) Kane: Paragraph [0053] (“The sensor input 122 information (i.e. sensor connections, sensor functioning status, sensor information being transmitted/received in real-time) is then provided to the main unit 120 for display to the technician/user. The main unit 120 preferably automatically monitors (step 510) the sensor inputs 122 for settled/steady state sensor measurement information and alerts the technician (visually, audibly, and/or tactilely) of the status of the connected sensors, status of the system 100 (for example, the settling of subcool or superheat measurements following a change in refrigerant charge, the presence of hazardous gas concentrations near the furnace warranting improved ventilation, whether the sensed measurement information is within typical/expected operating ranges), and the status of analysis or tests in-process or to be performed (for example, the status of data-logging). In one embodiment, the main unit 120 automatically monitors sensor inputs 122 and provides the technician with alerts and indications regarding safety conditions of workspaces, for example, alerting the technician if refrigerant is detected or if oxygen levels are becoming too low (or trending downward) so as to present workspace safety concerns.”)
Regarding claim 16, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 13, from which claim 16 depends. Kane further teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein transmitting, via the self-contained control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device comprises storing the data on a memory card received by a memory card port of the HVAC air measurement device. Kane: Paragraph [0055] (“Databases 614, 616, 618 are preferably included in main unit 120 .... Memory 622, 624, 626, 628 is preferably included for look-up tables (LUTs) and calculation algorithms needed to support the sensor kits 400. On-board memory 630, 632, 634 that is … via SD card, flash drive devices, etc. may be included in main unit 120 for loading additional or updated LUTs, software, customer ID information, and other data.”)
Regarding claim 18, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 13, from which claim 18 depends. Kane further teaches:
The method of claim 13,
wherein the parameter selection menu presents the one or more sensors as one or more selectable sensor options, and wherein the method comprises: receiving, via self-contained the control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, one or more sensor selection commands from the one or more inputs, wherein the one or more sensor selection commands relate to one or more selected sensors of the one or more sensors; and transmitting, via the self-contained control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device based at least in part on the one or more sensor selection commands. Kane: Paragraphs [0041] and [0053]-[0054] [As described in claim 1.] Kane: Paragraph [0032] (“In various embodiments, the main unit 120 may be connected, as shown in FIG. 2, as a system 200 with its 1 through n inputs 122 comprising wired or wireless communication between sensor sender units (or sender modules) 204 and the main unit 120, ... Each of the sender units 204, as shown, receive sensor inputs 202 from sensors suitably applied to a system under test such as the system 100 in FIG. 1, and communicate, preferably in real-time, the sensor input information to the main unit 120, which in turn preferably monitors in real-time and receives the transmitted sensor input information.”) Kane: Paragraph [0041] (“As shown in FIG. 4, the handheld HVAC/R test and measurement instrument 120 may be combined with a range of optional sensor/ module kits 402, 404, 406, 408, 412, 414 as a complete HVAC/R test and measurement system 400, according to various embodiments. In one embodiment, a technician may use the central, main unit 120 with one or more of the optional sensor kits depending upon the application.”) Kane: Paragraph [0048] (“Generally, sensor inputs 122 from a chosen kit of sensors (from a range of optional kits 400) are connected (step 502) with the main unit 120, and the sensors (probes, sender units, etc.) associated with the chosen kit are connected to the system under test (step 504). Upon power up of the main unit 120 and any components of the chosen kit requiring power, and once the sensors are connected to the system under test and sensor inputs 122 connected with the main unit 120, the main unit 120 automatically detects and verifies what is connected to it and (step 508) the tests, measurements, and analysis functions that may be performed using the sensor information available.”) Kane: Paragraph [0051] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically prompts the technician/user for user-input selections 514 such as refrigerant type, fuel type, parameters to view/display, or modes of operation of the main unit 120 ... Preferably, the user is able to scroll 518 through such automatically provided troubleshooting and analysis guidance information to select and drill down through menu information to access additional information and suggestions and to perform the desired system analysis.”) [The user input selection from the menu information of sensor data reads on “receive one or more sensor selection commands from the one or more inputs”. The information received such as the parameters to view from the wired sensors read on “the one or more sensor selection commands relate to one or more selected sensors of the one or more sensors”. The chosen sensors read on “one or more selected sensors of the one or more sensors”.]
Regarding claim 19, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 13, from which claim 19 depends. Kane further teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein the method comprises receiving, via the self-contained control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, a subset of the data relating to the one or more parameters from one or more other HVAC air measurement devices. Kane: Paragraph [0024] (“The system 100 shown in FIG. 1 is presented as a typical HVAC/R system under test, having a compressor 102, a condenser 106, a metering device 112, and an evaporator 114.”) Kane: Paragraph [0041] (“As shown in FIG. 4, the handheld HVAC/R test and measurement instrument 120 may be combined with a range of optional sensor/ module kits 402, 404, 406, 408, 412, 414 as a complete HVAC/R test and measurement system 400, according to various embodiments. In one embodiment, a technician may use the central, main unit 120 with one or more of the optional sensor kits depending upon the application.”) Kane: Paragraph [0042] (“The AC kit 402 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring outdoor ambient temperature, indoor return air temperature, indoor relative humidity, and either the low side (suction line) temperature and pressure needed for measuring superheat or the high side (discharge/condensate/liquid line) temperature and pressure needed for measuring subcool.”) Kane: Paragraph [0044] (“The Combustion kit 406 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring CO2 percentage, carbon monoxide (CO) percentage, CO ppm, inlet or ambient temperature, flue temperature, draft pressure, and gas pressure.”) Kane: Paragraph [0045] (“The Air Flow kit 408 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring air flow velocity, air temperature, relative humidity, wet bulb temperature (calculated), dew point (calculated), change in dew point, and pressure differential.”) [The data received at the main unit 120 associated with one or more of the selectable kits sensing different devices of the HVAC including indoor return air, flue temperature, suction line, compressor, condenser, evaporator, etc. reads on “comprises receiving, via the control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, a subset of the data relating to the one or more parameters from one or more other HVAC air measurement devices”.]
Regarding independent claim 20, Kane teaches:
A self-contained heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) air measurement system, comprising: Kane: Paragraph [0023] (“Rather than use several different test and measurement instruments when servicing a system such as that shown in FIG. 1, the present inventors invented a handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument that is capable of receiving inputs from sensors or sensor modules to perform typical tests and measurements associated with installation and maintenance of HVAC/R systems.”)
one or more sensors configured to be disposed within an air flow path of an HVAC system, wherein the one or more sensors are configured to detect one or more parameters of air flow through the air flow path; and Kane: Paragraph [0033] (“The sender units 212, 214, 216, 218 may, for example, comprise sender units with circuitry adapted for particular types or groupings of sensor inputs 202.”) Kane: Paragraph [0038] (“In other embodiments, the sender units 204 may include sender units with … sender units requiring physically wired communication with the main unit 120.”) Kane: Paragraph [0041] (“As shown in FIG. 4, the handheld HVAC/R test and measurement instrument 120 may be combined with a range of optional sensor/ … kits 402, 404, 406, 408, 412, 414 as a complete HVAC/R test and measurement system 400, according to various embodiments.”) Kane: Paragraph [0045] (“The Air Flow kit 408 includes the sensors… needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring air flow velocity, air temperature, relative humidity, wet bulb temperature (calculated), dew point (calculated), change in dew point, and pressure differential.”) Kane: Paragraph [0054] (“The main unit 120 preferably includes drivers and circuitry 602 for the display 126 and drivers and circuitry 612 for the key pad 130 and function/selection buttons 128. Drivers and circuitry 604 and 608 are provided for the physical inputs 122 and physical outputs 124, respectively. Physical inputs 122 may be any of a wide variety of configurations—USB, mini-USB, DIN, or other wired signal transmitting/receiving means. The main unit 120 is preferably equipped with drivers and circuitry 606 and 610 for wirelessly transmitting/receiving, respectively, sensor inputs 122 and main unit outputs 124. The main unit 120 also includes an internal power supply 636 and audio drivers and circui