DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after December 9, 2016, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claims 1-20 were amended in the Amendment filed on November 25, 2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and under examination, of which claims 1, 13, and 20 are independent claims.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The objections to the claims are now withdrawn in light of the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
On page 9 of the Amendment, to distinguish the amended limitation reciting “wherein the control circuitry is centralized such that the processing is non-distributed”, the following is argued:
Kane describes a system fundamentally based on a distributed architecture, where a main unit (“host”) communicates with multiple remote sensor modules or “sender units” (“clients”), each of which may have their own processing circuitry. See Kane, [0032]-[0033], Figs. 2, 7, 8, 9. The sender units act as clients in a host/client distributed control system, and Kane explicitly supports multiple configurations, including “host/client” and “host/host” arrangements, with data being transmitted between distributed devices. While Kane describes a “handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument” ([0023]), the main unit is specifically designed to receive data from distributed sender units that may themselves include processing circuitry ([0033], [0038]). The main unit in Kane is not responsible for all processing; rather, it aggregates data from distributed sources, and the sender units may perform their own signal conditioning, processing, or communication tasks before transmitting data to the main unit.
In contrast, the present application is directed to a self-contained measurement system in which all control, processing, and data handling is performed by centralized control circuitry housed within the main unit. The sensors are electrically connected to this main unit, and all user interaction, data selection, logging, and transmission are managed by the centralized control circuitry within the device housing. There are no distributed processing elements or reliance on external sender/client units for processing or control. The claims of the present application require that the control circuitry is centralized such that the processing is non-distributed, the control circuitry.
The Office Action asserts that Kane's main unit includes “control circuitry disposed within the housing” ([0054]), but this is not sufficient to meet the amended claims. In Kane, the control circuitry in the main unit is only one part of a distributed system, and much of the signal processing, data acquisition, and communication may occur in the remote sender units ([0033], [0038], [0041]). The main unit in Kane is not responsible for all processing, nor is the system self-contained. It would not have been obvious to reconfigure Kane as a centralized non- distributed system because Kane repeatedly emphasizes the flexibility of its distributed architecture, allowing for various combinations of sender units, wireless and wired communication, and modular expansion ([0032], [0038], [0041], [0057]-[0063]). Kane is specifically and intentionally design as a modular, distributed system with multiple sender units and a main unit that aggregates data from distributed sources. The architecture, operation, and intended use of Kane's system are fundamentally different from the self-contained, centralized system now claimed.
However, the Office respectfully disagrees. Kane describes in paragraph [0038] that “Preferably, each of the sender units 204 include circuitry adapted to permit wireless transmission of sensor information characterizing sensor inputs 202 for wireless reception by circuitry incorporated in the main unit 120 for wirelessly receiving the sensor information from the sender units 204.” (emphasis added) Also, paragraph [0040] of Kane explains that “Each kit preferably includes the appropriate probes, sensor attachments, wiring leads, cabling, sensor signal senders/transmitters, transceivers/receivers (if needed) for attachment to the main unit 120, and other equipment and circuitry for physically taking the desired system measurement (i.e. suction line pressure) and providing sensed measurement signal information (referred to as sensor inputs) receivable by the main unit 120 sensor inputs 122.” (emphasis added) Paragraph [0046] provides that “The E-kit 412 may substantially comprise the functionality and features of a digital multi-meter combined with circuitry adapted to provide test and measurement information to the main unit 120 via sensor inputs 122.” (emphasis added)
Contrary to the arguments presented in the Amendment, there is no distributed processing being performed in Kane. Clearly, the sensor information is not processed at the sender units or any of the sensor kits. The sensor data or sensor signals are received and processed at the main unit; thus, functioning as a “centralized…non-distributed” processing circuitry. In addition to the portions of Kane referred to in the Final Office Action dated August 27, 2025, Kane also describes in paragraph [0048] describes that “The main unit 120 preferably automatically monitors (step 510) the sensor inputs 122 for settled/steady state sensor measurement information and alerts the technician (visually, audibly, and/or tactilely) of the status of the connected sensors, status of the system 100 (for example, the settling of subcool or superheat measurements following a change in refrigerant charge, the presence of hazardous gas concentrations near the furnace warranting improved ventilation, whether the sensed measurement information is within typical/expected operating ranges), and the status of analysis or tests in-process or to be performed (for example, the status of data-logging).” (emphasis added) In addition, paragraph [0056] of Kane provides that “Microprocessor 620 and supporting circuitry preferably provides the main unit 120 with processing means for executing stored programming instructions, access to on-board and accessible databases and memory, calculations, execution of algorithms, and other computing needs. Additional processing capacity 640 is preferably included for real-time monitoring and display of input data, preferably real-time monitoring of all inputs simultaneously or substantially simultaneously.” (emphasis added)
The main unit is described as a microprocessor that receives sensor inputs and monitors such inputs to then alert a technician of the status of the sensor and the system, and the status of analysis or tests in-process or to be performed. The main unit functions as a centralized microprocessor. Kane does not describe that the sensor unit are processing the information and that the main unit is simply displaying information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the description of Kane provides a centralized processing main unit.
In addition, in another embodiment, paragraph [0058] of Kane provides that a sensor interface may be included to receive the sensor signals and transmitted to “a user interface 708 such as a field portable tablet computing device, netbook, or smartphone device which can receive the transmitted sensor information and perform the data processing and user interface and feedback capabilities described herein provided by the main unit 120”, which further clarifies that the processing is performed at a user interface provided by the main unit; thus, teaching that the main unit is “centralized”.
Therefore, in light of the various descriptive portions of the cited reference, Kane teaches a main unit that includes a control circuitry that is “centralized such that the processing is non-distributed” and the arguments provided in the Amendment are not deemed persuasive. The prior art rejection of independent claims 1, 13, and 20 and related dependent claims are maintained.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to for lack of antecedent support or for redundancies. The Examiner recommends the following changes:
Claim 1, line 9, replace “the processing” with “a processing”.
Claim 1, line 6, insert “a” before “control circuitry”.
Claim 13, line 1, insert “a” before “self-contained”.
Claim 13, line 2, replace “the HVAC” with “an HVAC”.
Claim 13, line 4, insert “self-contained” before the second instance of “control circuitry”.
Claim 13, line 5, replace “the processing” with “a processing”.
Claim 20, line 10, insert “a” before “control circuitry”.
Claim 20, line 11, replace “the processing” with “a processing”.
Appropriate correction is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10, 12, 13, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kane et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2013/0245965 A1) (“Kane”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kane teaches:
A self-contained heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) air measurement device, comprising: Kane: Paragraph [0023] (“Rather than use several different test and measurement instruments when servicing a system such as that shown in FIG. 1, the present inventors invented a handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument that is capable of receiving inputs from sensors or sensor modules to perform typical tests and measurements associated with installation and maintenance of HVAC/R systems.”)
a housing; Kane: Paragraph [0023] (“FIG. 1 shows an example air conditioning and refrigeration system 100 with a handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument (hereinafter, “main unit”) 120, according to one embodiment. The main unit 120 comprises: a handheld-sized instrument with means for receiving a plurality of (ex. 1 through n) inputs 122 via physically wired connections to sensors or sensor modules, via wireless communications with sensor or sender units or sensor modules, or via a combination of the two; means for sending/transmitting a plurality of (ex. 1 through m) outputs 124 via wireless and/or wired connections with various external output devices; a display 126; and control buttons 128 and/or up, down, right, left, scroll, and select navigation controls 130.”) [The housing of the handheld-sized instrument reads on “a housing”.]
a display disposed on an outer surface of the housing; Kane: Paragraph [0023] [As described above.]
one or more inputs disposed on the outer surface of the housing; and Kane: Paragraph [0023] [As described above.]
[The control buttons read on “one or more inputs”.]
control circuitry disposed within the housing and configured to be electrically connected to one or more sensors disposed within an air flow path of an HVAC system, wherein the one or more sensors are configured to detect one or more parameters of air flow through the air flow path, Kane: Paragraph [0033] (“The sender units 212, 214, 216, 218 may, for example, comprise sender units with circuitry adapted for particular types or groupings of sensor inputs 202.”) Kane: Paragraph [0038] (“In other embodiments, the sender units 204 may include sender units with … sender units requiring physically wired communication with the main unit 120.”) Kane: Paragraph [0041] (“As shown in FIG. 4, the handheld HVAC/R test and measurement instrument 120 may be combined with a range of optional sensor/ … kits 402, 404, 406, 408, 412, 414 as a complete HVAC/R test and measurement system 400, according to various embodiments.”) Kane: Paragraph [0045] (“The Air Flow kit 408 includes the sensors… needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring air flow velocity, air temperature, relative humidity, wet bulb temperature (calculated), dew point (calculated), change in dew point, and pressure differential.”) Kane: Paragraph [0054] (“The main unit 120 preferably includes drivers and circuitry 602 for the display 126 and drivers and circuitry 612 for the key pad 130 and function/selection buttons 128. Drivers and circuitry 604 and 608 are provided for the physical inputs 122 and physical outputs 124, respectively. Physical inputs 122 may be any of a wide variety of configurations—USB, mini-USB, DIN, or other wired signal transmitting/receiving means. The main unit 120 is preferably equipped with drivers and circuitry 606 and 610 for wirelessly transmitting/receiving, respectively, sensor inputs 122 and main unit outputs 124. The main unit 120 also includes an internal power supply 636 and audio drivers and circuitry 642.”) [The circuitry incorporated in the main unit (i.e., the HVAC/R test and measurement instrument) reads on “control circuitry disposed within the housing”. The physically wired connections from the instrument to the sensors read on “electrically connected to one or more sensors disposed within an air flow path of an HVAC system”.] wherein the control circuitry is centralized such that the processing is non-distributed, the control circuitry is configured to: Kane: Paragraph [0048] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically monitors (step 510) the sensor inputs 122 for settled/steady state sensor measurement information and alerts the technician (visually, audibly, and/or tactilely) of the status of the connected sensors, status of the system 100 (for example, the settling of subcool or superheat measurements following a change in refrigerant charge, the presence of hazardous gas concentrations near the furnace warranting improved ventilation, whether the sensed measurement information is within typical/expected operating ranges), and the status of analysis or tests in-process or to be performed (for example, the status of data-logging).”) Kane: Paragraph [0056] (“Microprocessor 620 and supporting circuitry preferably provides the main unit 120 with processing means for executing stored programming instructions, access to on-board and accessible databases and memory, calculations, execution of algorithms, and other computing needs. Additional processing capacity 640 is preferably included for real-time monitoring and display of input data, preferably real-time monitoring of all inputs simultaneously or substantially simultaneously.”)
display a parameter selection menu via the display, wherein the parameter selection menu presents the one or more parameters as one or more selectable parameter options; Kane: Paragraph [0051] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically prompts the technician/user for user-input selections 514 such as refrigerant type, fuel type, parameters to view/display, or modes of operation of the main unit 120 depending upon the automatically detected sensor inputs 122 and automatically determined available measurements and analysis available to the user. The main unit 120 preferably (step 516) includes sufficient programming instructions to provide recommendations, suggestions for system performance improvement, troubleshooting guidance, and so forth, based upon the real-time monitoring of the sensor inputs 122. Preferably, the user is able to scroll 518 through such automatically provided troubleshooting and analysis guidance information to select and drill down through menu information to access additional information and suggestions and to perform the desired system analysis.”) Kane: Paragraph [0049] (“The main unit 120 preferably provides the user/technician with real-time display of the sensor inputs 122 so the technician can watch the measurements/sensor inputs change in real-time. In preferred embodiments, the main unit 120 also provides the user/technician with real-time display of the (computed/calculated/estimated) output values (such as, for example, superheat, subcool, combustion efficiency, etc.) as those output values change in response to dynamically changing sensor input values.”) [The selection through the menu information reads on “the parameter selection menu presents the one or more parameters as one or more selectable parameter options”.]
receive one or more parameter selection commands from the one or more inputs, wherein the one or more parameter selection commands relate to one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters; Kane: Paragraphs [0023], [0041], [0045], [0051] and [0054] [As described above.] [The user input selection using the control buttons reads on “receive one or more parameter selection command from the one or more inputs”. The selected sensor information including the air flow sensed information reads on “the one or more parameter selection commands relate to one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters”.]
receive data relating to the one or more parameters from the one or more sensors; and Kane: Paragraphs [0041], [0045], [0051] and [0054] [As described above.][The air flow measurements received at the main unit read on “receive data”.]
transmit data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device based at least in part on the one or more parameter selection commands. Kane: Paragraphs [0041] and [0054] [As described above.] Kane: Paragraph [0032] (“In various embodiments, the main unit 120 may be connected, as shown in FIG. 2, as a system 200 with its 1 through n inputs 122 comprising wired or wireless communication between sensor sender units (or sender modules) 204 and the main unit 120, and with its 1 through m outputs 124 comprising wired or wireless communication between the main unit 120 and various external output and peripheral devices 206, 208, 210.”) Kane: Paragraph [0053] (“The sensor input 122 information (i.e. sensor connections, sensor functioning status, sensor information being transmitted/received in real-time) is then provided to the main unit 120 for display to the technician/user. The main unit 120 preferably automatically monitors (step 510) the sensor inputs 122 for settled/steady state sensor measurement information and alerts the technician (visually, audibly, and/or tactilely) of the status of the connected sensors, status of the system 100 (for example, the settling of subcool or superheat measurements following a change in refrigerant charge, the presence of hazardous gas concentrations near the furnace warranting improved ventilation, whether the sensed measurement information is within typical/expected operating ranges), and the status of analysis or tests in-process or to be performed (for example, the status of data-logging). In one embodiment, the main unit 120 automatically monitors sensor inputs 122 and provides the technician with alerts and indications regarding safety conditions of workspaces, for example, alerting the technician if refrigerant is detected or if oxygen levels are becoming too low (or trending downward) so as to present workspace safety concerns.”)
Regarding claim 4, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 4 depends. Kane further teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1, comprising a memory card port configured to receive a memory card, wherein transmitting the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device comprises storing the data on the memory card. Kane: Paragraph [0055] (“Databases 614, 616, 618 are preferably included in main unit 120 .... Memory 622, 624, 626, 628 is preferably included for look-up tables (LUTs) and calculation algorithms needed to support the sensor kits 400. On-board memory 630, 632, 634 that is … via SD card, flash drive devices, etc. may be included in main unit 120 for loading additional or updated LUTs, software, customer ID information, and other data.”)
Regarding claim 6, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 6 depends. Kane further teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1,
wherein the parameter selection menu presents the one or more sensors as one or more selectable sensor options, and wherein the control circuitry is configured to: receive one or more sensor selection commands from the one or more inputs, wherein the one or more sensor selection commands relate to one or more selected sensors of the one or more sensors; and transmit the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device based at least in part on the one or more sensor selection commands. Kane: Paragraphs [0041] and [0053]-[0054] [As described in claim 1.] Kane: Paragraph [0032] (“In various embodiments, the main unit 120 may be connected, as shown in FIG. 2, as a system 200 with its 1 through n inputs 122 comprising wired or wireless communication between sensor sender units (or sender modules) 204 and the main unit 120, ... Each of the sender units 204, as shown, receive sensor inputs 202 from sensors suitably applied to a system under test such as the system 100 in FIG. 1, and communicate, preferably in real-time, the sensor input information to the main unit 120, which in turn preferably monitors in real-time and receives the transmitted sensor input information.”) Kane: Paragraph [0041] (“As shown in FIG. 4, the handheld HVAC/R test and measurement instrument 120 may be combined with a range of optional sensor/ module kits 402, 404, 406, 408, 412, 414 as a complete HVAC/R test and measurement system 400, according to various embodiments. In one embodiment, a technician may use the central, main unit 120 with one or more of the optional sensor kits depending upon the application.”) Kane: Paragraph [0048] (“Generally, sensor inputs 122 from a chosen kit of sensors (from a range of optional kits 400) are connected (step 502) with the main unit 120, and the sensors (probes, sender units, etc.) associated with the chosen kit are connected to the system under test (step 504). Upon power up of the main unit 120 and any components of the chosen kit requiring power, and once the sensors are connected to the system under test and sensor inputs 122 connected with the main unit 120, the main unit 120 automatically detects and verifies what is connected to it and (step 508) the tests, measurements, and analysis functions that may be performed using the sensor information available.”) Kane: Paragraph [0051] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically prompts the technician/user for user-input selections 514 such as refrigerant type, fuel type, parameters to view/display, or modes of operation of the main unit 120 ... Preferably, the user is able to scroll 518 through such automatically provided troubleshooting and analysis guidance information to select and drill down through menu information to access additional information and suggestions and to perform the desired system analysis.”) [The user input selection from the menu information of sensor data reads on “receive one or more sensor selection commands from the one or more inputs”. The information received such as the parameters to view from the wired sensors read on “the one or more sensor selection commands relate to one or more selected sensors of the one or more sensors”. The chosen sensors read on “one or more selected sensors of the one or more sensors”.]
Regarding claim 7, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 7 depends. Kane further teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to receive a subset of the data relating to the one or more parameters from one or more other HVAC air measurement devices. Kane: Paragraph [0024] (“The system 100 shown in FIG. 1 is presented as a typical HVAC/R system under test, having a compressor 102, a condenser 106, a metering device 112, and an evaporator 114.”) Kane: Paragraph [0041] (“As shown in FIG. 4, the handheld HVAC/R test and measurement instrument 120 may be combined with a range of optional sensor/ module kits 402, 404, 406, 408, 412, 414 as a complete HVAC/R test and measurement system 400, according to various embodiments. In one embodiment, a technician may use the central, main unit 120 with one or more of the optional sensor kits depending upon the application.”) Kane: Paragraph [0042] (“The AC kit 402 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring outdoor ambient temperature, indoor return air temperature, indoor relative humidity, and either the low side (suction line) temperature and pressure needed for measuring superheat or the high side (discharge/condensate/liquid line) temperature and pressure needed for measuring subcool.”) Kane: Paragraph [0044] (“The Combustion kit 406 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring CO2 percentage, carbon monoxide (CO) percentage, CO ppm, inlet or ambient temperature, flue temperature, draft pressure, and gas pressure.”) Kane: Paragraph [0045] (“The Air Flow kit 408 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring air flow velocity, air temperature, relative humidity, wet bulb temperature (calculated), dew point (calculated), change in dew point, and pressure differential.”) [The data received at the main unit 120 associated with one or more of the selectable kits sensing different devices of the HVAC including indoor return air, flue temperature, suction line, compressor, condenser, evaporator, etc. reads on “receive a subset of the data relating to the one or more parameters from one or more other HVAC air measurement devices”.]
Regarding claim 8, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 8 depends. Kane further teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a temperature of the air flow through the air flow path. Kane: Paragraph [0045] (“The Air Flow kit 408 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring air flow velocity, air temperature, ... The Air Flow kit 408 may include an additional temperature probe 449 for measuring the temperature rise through the furnace and using the temperature difference to estimate air flow (CFM). Temperature probe 448 may be used to measure return air temperature, temperature probe 449 may be used to measure supply air temperature, and the difference between the two is the temperature rise/difference (TD). The air flow (CFM) may then be approximated as (the furnace output in Btu/hour) divided by (TD times 1.08).”)
Regarding claim 10, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 10 depends. Kane further teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a relative humidity of the air flow through the air flow path. Kane: Paragraph [0045] (“The Air Flow kit 408 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring air flow velocity, air temperature, relative humidity, wet bulb temperature (calculated), dew point (calculated), change in dew point, and pressure differential. The Air Flow kit 408 preferably includes an air vane 442 for sensing air flow velocity, a low pressure probe 444 adapted to sense return air static pressure, another low pressure probe 446 to sense supply air static pressure (for differential pressure measurements across the blower), and indoor temperature and humidity probes 448, 450 as described for indoor temperature probe 228 and humidity sensor 230, respectively, described and shown in FIG. 2.”)
Regarding claim 12, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 12 depends. Kane teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a refrigerant detection of refrigerant within the air flow through the air flow path. Kane: Paragraph [0048] (“In one embodiment, the main unit 120 automatically monitors sensor inputs 122 and provides the technician with alerts and indications regarding safety conditions of workspaces, for example, alerting the technician if refrigerant is detected or if oxygen levels are becoming too low (or trending downward) so as to present workspace safety concerns.”) Kane: Paragraph [0051] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically prompts the technician/user for user-input selections 514 such as refrigerant type, fuel type, parameters to view/display, or modes of operation of the main unit 120 depending upon the automatically detected sensor inputs 122 and automatically determined available measurements and analysis available to the user.”)
Regarding independent claim 13, Kane teaches:
A method of operating self-contained control circuitry of a heating, ventilation of the HVAC air measurement device, the method comprising: Kane: Abstract (“A method of HVAC/R test and measurement using a plurality of test and measurement sensor heads…”) Kane: Paragraph [0023] (“Rather than use several different test and measurement instruments when servicing a system such as that shown in FIG. 1, the present inventors invented a handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument that is capable of receiving inputs from sensors or sensor modules to perform typical tests and measurements associated with installation and maintenance of HVAC/R systems.”) Kane: Paragraph [0054] (“The main unit 120 preferably includes drivers and circuitry 602 for the display 126 and drivers and circuitry 612 for the key pad 130 and function/selection buttons 128. Drivers and circuitry 604 and 608 are provided for the physical inputs 122 and physical outputs 124, respectively. Physical inputs 122 may be any of a wide variety of configurations—USB, mini-USB, DIN, or other wired signal transmitting/receiving means. The main unit 120 is preferably equipped with drivers and circuitry 606 and 610 for wirelessly transmitting/receiving, respectively, sensor inputs 122 and main unit outputs 124. The main unit 120 also includes an internal power supply 636 and audio drivers and circuitry 642.”) [The circuitry incorporated in the main unit (i.e., the HVAC/R test and measurement instrument) reads on “self-contained control circuitry”.]
providing the self-contained control circuitry in a housing, Kane: Paragraph [0023] (“FIG. 1 shows an example air conditioning and refrigeration system 100 with a handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument (hereinafter, “main unit”) 120, according to one embodiment. The main unit 120 comprises: a handheld-sized instrument with means for receiving a plurality of (ex. 1 through n) inputs 122 via physically wired connections to sensors or sensor modules, via wireless communications with sensor or sender units or sensor modules, or via a combination of the two; means for sending/transmitting a plurality of (ex. 1 through m) outputs 124 via wireless and/or wired connections with various external output devices; a display 126; and control buttons 128 and/or up, down, right, left, scroll, and select navigation controls 130.”) [The housing of the handheld-sized instrument reads on “a housing”.]
wherein the control circuitry is centralized such that the processing is non-distributed; Kane: Paragraph [0048] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically monitors (step 510) the sensor inputs 122 for settled/steady state sensor measurement information and alerts the technician (visually, audibly, and/or tactilely) of the status of the connected sensors, status of the system 100 (for example, the settling of subcool or superheat measurements following a change in refrigerant charge, the presence of hazardous gas concentrations near the furnace warranting improved ventilation, whether the sensed measurement information is within typical/expected operating ranges), and the status of analysis or tests in-process or to be performed (for example, the status of data-logging).”) Kane: Paragraph [0056] (“Microprocessor 620 and supporting circuitry preferably provides the main unit 120 with processing means for executing stored programming instructions, access to on-board and accessible databases and memory, calculations, execution of algorithms, and other computing needs. Additional processing capacity 640 is preferably included for real-time monitoring and display of input data, preferably real-time monitoring of all inputs simultaneously or substantially simultaneously.”)
displaying, via the self-contained control circuitry, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) air measurement device, a parameter selection menu via a display of the HVAC air measurement device, wherein the parameter selection menu presents one or more parameters of air flow through an air flow path of an HVAC system as one or more selectable parameter options, wherein the one or more parameters are detected by one or more sensors disposed within the air flow path of the HVAC system; Kane: Paragraphs [0023] and [0054] [As described above.] Kane: Paragraph [0033] (“The sender units 212, 214, 216, 218 may, for example, comprise sender units with circuitry adapted for particular types or groupings of sensor inputs 202.”) Kane: Paragraph [0038] (“Preferably, each of the sender units 204 include circuitry adapted to permit wireless transmission of sensor information characterizing sensor inputs 202 for wireless reception by circuitry incorporated in the main unit 120 for wirelessly receiving the sensor information from the sender units 204. In other embodiments, the sender units 204 may include sender units with such wireless transmitting means and/or sender units requiring physically wired communication with the main unit 120.”) Kane: Paragraph [0041] (“As shown in FIG. 4, the handheld HVAC/R test and measurement instrument 120 may be combined with a range of optional sensor/ module kits 402, 404, 406, 408, 412, 414 as a complete HVAC/R test and measurement system 400, according to various embodiments.”) Kane: Paragraph [0045] (“The Air Flow kit 408 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring air flow velocity, air temperature, relative humidity, wet bulb temperature (calculated), dew point (calculated), change in dew point, and pressure differential.”) Kane: Paragraph [0051] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically prompts the technician/user for user-input selections 514 such as refrigerant type, fuel type, parameters to view/display, or modes of operation of the main unit 120 depending upon the automatically detected sensor inputs 122 and automatically determined available measurements and analysis available to the user. The main unit 120 preferably (step 516) includes sufficient programming instructions to provide recommendations, suggestions for system performance improvement, troubleshooting guidance, and so forth, based upon the real-time monitoring of the sensor inputs 122. Preferably, the user is able to scroll 518 through such automatically provided troubleshooting and analysis guidance information to select and drill down through menu information to access additional information and suggestions and to perform the desired system analysis.”) Kane: Paragraph [0049] (“The main unit 120 preferably provides the user/technician with real-time display of the sensor inputs 122 so the technician can watch the measurements/sensor inputs change in real-time. In preferred embodiments, the main unit 120 also provides the user/technician with real-time display of the (computed/calculated/estimated) output values (such as, for example, superheat, subcool, combustion efficiency, etc.) as those output values change in response to dynamically changing sensor input values.”) [The sensor units read on “one or more sensors”. The selection through the menu information reads on “the parameter selection menu presents the one or more parameters as one or more selectable parameter options”.]
receiving, via the self-contained control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, one or more parameter selection commands from one or more inputs of the HVAC air measurement device, wherein the one or more parameter selection commands relate to one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters; Kane: Paragraphs [0023], [0041], [0045], [0051] and [0054] [As described above.] [The user input selection using the control buttons reads on “receiving, via the control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, one or more parameter selection commands from the one or more inputs”. The selected sensor information including the air flow sensed information reads on “the one or more parameter selection commands relate to one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters”.]
receiving, via the self-contained control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, data relating to the one or more parameters from the one or more sensors; and Kane: Paragraphs [0041], [0045], [0051] and [0054] [As described above.][The air flow measurements received at the main unit read on “receiving, via the control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, data”.]
transmitting, via the self-contained control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device based at least in part on the one or more parameter selection commands. Kane: Paragraphs [0041] and [0054] [As described above.] Kane: Paragraph [0032] (“In various embodiments, the main unit 120 may be connected, as shown in FIG. 2, as a system 200 with its 1 through n inputs 122 comprising wired or wireless communication between sensor sender units (or sender modules) 204 and the main unit 120, and with its 1 through m outputs 124 comprising wired or wireless communication between the main unit 120 and various external output and peripheral devices 206, 208, 210.”) Kane: Paragraph [0053] (“The sensor input 122 information (i.e. sensor connections, sensor functioning status, sensor information being transmitted/received in real-time) is then provided to the main unit 120 for display to the technician/user. The main unit 120 preferably automatically monitors (step 510) the sensor inputs 122 for settled/steady state sensor measurement information and alerts the technician (visually, audibly, and/or tactilely) of the status of the connected sensors, status of the system 100 (for example, the settling of subcool or superheat measurements following a change in refrigerant charge, the presence of hazardous gas concentrations near the furnace warranting improved ventilation, whether the sensed measurement information is within typical/expected operating ranges), and the status of analysis or tests in-process or to be performed (for example, the status of data-logging). In one embodiment, the main unit 120 automatically monitors sensor inputs 122 and provides the technician with alerts and indications regarding safety conditions of workspaces, for example, alerting the technician if refrigerant is detected or if oxygen levels are becoming too low (or trending downward) so as to present workspace safety concerns.”)
Regarding claim 16, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 13, from which claim 16 depends. Kane further teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein transmitting, via the self-contained control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device comprises storing the data on a memory card received by a memory card port of the HVAC air measurement device. Kane: Paragraph [0055] (“Databases 614, 616, 618 are preferably included in main unit 120 .... Memory 622, 624, 626, 628 is preferably included for look-up tables (LUTs) and calculation algorithms needed to support the sensor kits 400. On-board memory 630, 632, 634 that is … via SD card, flash drive devices, etc. may be included in main unit 120 for loading additional or updated LUTs, software, customer ID information, and other data.”)
Regarding claim 18, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 13, from which claim 18 depends. Kane further teaches:
The method of claim 13,
wherein the parameter selection menu presents the one or more sensors as one or more selectable sensor options, and wherein the method comprises: receiving, via self-contained the control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, one or more sensor selection commands from the one or more inputs, wherein the one or more sensor selection commands relate to one or more selected sensors of the one or more sensors; and transmitting, via the self-contained control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device based at least in part on the one or more sensor selection commands. Kane: Paragraphs [0041] and [0053]-[0054] [As described in claim 1.] Kane: Paragraph [0032] (“In various embodiments, the main unit 120 may be connected, as shown in FIG. 2, as a system 200 with its 1 through n inputs 122 comprising wired or wireless communication between sensor sender units (or sender modules) 204 and the main unit 120, ... Each of the sender units 204, as shown, receive sensor inputs 202 from sensors suitably applied to a system under test such as the system 100 in FIG. 1, and communicate, preferably in real-time, the sensor input information to the main unit 120, which in turn preferably monitors in real-time and receives the transmitted sensor input information.”) Kane: Paragraph [0041] (“As shown in FIG. 4, the handheld HVAC/R test and measurement instrument 120 may be combined with a range of optional sensor/ module kits 402, 404, 406, 408, 412, 414 as a complete HVAC/R test and measurement system 400, according to various embodiments. In one embodiment, a technician may use the central, main unit 120 with one or more of the optional sensor kits depending upon the application.”) Kane: Paragraph [0048] (“Generally, sensor inputs 122 from a chosen kit of sensors (from a range of optional kits 400) are connected (step 502) with the main unit 120, and the sensors (probes, sender units, etc.) associated with the chosen kit are connected to the system under test (step 504). Upon power up of the main unit 120 and any components of the chosen kit requiring power, and once the sensors are connected to the system under test and sensor inputs 122 connected with the main unit 120, the main unit 120 automatically detects and verifies what is connected to it and (step 508) the tests, measurements, and analysis functions that may be performed using the sensor information available.”) Kane: Paragraph [0051] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically prompts the technician/user for user-input selections 514 such as refrigerant type, fuel type, parameters to view/display, or modes of operation of the main unit 120 ... Preferably, the user is able to scroll 518 through such automatically provided troubleshooting and analysis guidance information to select and drill down through menu information to access additional information and suggestions and to perform the desired system analysis.”) [The user input selection from the menu information of sensor data reads on “receive one or more sensor selection commands from the one or more inputs”. The information received such as the parameters to view from the wired sensors read on “the one or more sensor selection commands relate to one or more selected sensors of the one or more sensors”. The chosen sensors read on “one or more selected sensors of the one or more sensors”.]
Regarding claim 19, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 13, from which claim 19 depends. Kane further teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein the method comprises receiving, via the self-contained control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, a subset of the data relating to the one or more parameters from one or more other HVAC air measurement devices. Kane: Paragraph [0024] (“The system 100 shown in FIG. 1 is presented as a typical HVAC/R system under test, having a compressor 102, a condenser 106, a metering device 112, and an evaporator 114.”) Kane: Paragraph [0041] (“As shown in FIG. 4, the handheld HVAC/R test and measurement instrument 120 may be combined with a range of optional sensor/ module kits 402, 404, 406, 408, 412, 414 as a complete HVAC/R test and measurement system 400, according to various embodiments. In one embodiment, a technician may use the central, main unit 120 with one or more of the optional sensor kits depending upon the application.”) Kane: Paragraph [0042] (“The AC kit 402 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring outdoor ambient temperature, indoor return air temperature, indoor relative humidity, and either the low side (suction line) temperature and pressure needed for measuring superheat or the high side (discharge/condensate/liquid line) temperature and pressure needed for measuring subcool.”) Kane: Paragraph [0044] (“The Combustion kit 406 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring CO2 percentage, carbon monoxide (CO) percentage, CO ppm, inlet or ambient temperature, flue temperature, draft pressure, and gas pressure.”) Kane: Paragraph [0045] (“The Air Flow kit 408 includes the sensors, sender units, probes, or modules needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring air flow velocity, air temperature, relative humidity, wet bulb temperature (calculated), dew point (calculated), change in dew point, and pressure differential.”) [The data received at the main unit 120 associated with one or more of the selectable kits sensing different devices of the HVAC including indoor return air, flue temperature, suction line, compressor, condenser, evaporator, etc. reads on “comprises receiving, via the control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, a subset of the data relating to the one or more parameters from one or more other HVAC air measurement devices”.]
Regarding independent claim 20, Kane teaches:
A self-contained heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) air measurement system, comprising: Kane: Paragraph [0023] (“Rather than use several different test and measurement instruments when servicing a system such as that shown in FIG. 1, the present inventors invented a handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument that is capable of receiving inputs from sensors or sensor modules to perform typical tests and measurements associated with installation and maintenance of HVAC/R systems.”)
one or more sensors configured to be disposed within an air flow path of an HVAC system, wherein the one or more sensors are configured to detect one or more parameters of air flow through the air flow path; and Kane: Paragraph [0033] (“The sender units 212, 214, 216, 218 may, for example, comprise sender units with circuitry adapted for particular types or groupings of sensor inputs 202.”) Kane: Paragraph [0038] (“In other embodiments, the sender units 204 may include sender units with … sender units requiring physically wired communication with the main unit 120.”) Kane: Paragraph [0041] (“As shown in FIG. 4, the handheld HVAC/R test and measurement instrument 120 may be combined with a range of optional sensor/ … kits 402, 404, 406, 408, 412, 414 as a complete HVAC/R test and measurement system 400, according to various embodiments.”) Kane: Paragraph [0045] (“The Air Flow kit 408 includes the sensors… needed to provide the main unit 120 with sensor input information for measuring air flow velocity, air temperature, relative humidity, wet bulb temperature (calculated), dew point (calculated), change in dew point, and pressure differential.”) Kane: Paragraph [0054] (“The main unit 120 preferably includes drivers and circuitry 602 for the display 126 and drivers and circuitry 612 for the key pad 130 and function/selection buttons 128. Drivers and circuitry 604 and 608 are provided for the physical inputs 122 and physical outputs 124, respectively. Physical inputs 122 may be any of a wide variety of configurations—USB, mini-USB, DIN, or other wired signal transmitting/receiving means. The main unit 120 is preferably equipped with drivers and circuitry 606 and 610 for wirelessly transmitting/receiving, respectively, sensor inputs 122 and main unit outputs 124. The main unit 120 also includes an internal power supply 636 and audio drivers and circuitry 642.”) [The sensor units read on “one or more sensors”.]
an HVAC air measurement device, comprising: a housing; Kane: Paragraph [0023] (“FIG. 1 shows an example air conditioning and refrigeration system 100 with a handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument (hereinafter, “main unit”) 120, according to one embodiment. The main unit 120 comprises: a handheld-sized instrument with means for receiving a plurality of (ex. 1 through n) inputs 122 via physically wired connections to sensors or sensor modules, via wireless communications with sensor or sender units or sensor modules, or via a combination of the two; means for sending/transmitting a plurality of (ex. 1 through m) outputs 124 via wireless and/or wired connections with various external output devices; a display 126; and control buttons 128 and/or up, down, right, left, scroll, and select navigation controls 130.”) [The housing of the handheld-sized instrument reads on “a housing”.]
a display disposed on an outer surface of the housing; Kane: Paragraph [0023] [As described above.]
one or more inputs disposed on the outer surface of the housing; and Kane: Paragraph [0023] [As described above.]
[The control buttons read on “one or more inputs”.]
control circuitry disposed within the housing and configured to be electrically connected to the one or more sensors, Kane: Paragraphs [0038], [0045], and [0054] and FIGS. 4 and 6 [As described above.] [The circuitry incorporated in the main unit (i.e., the HVAC/R test and measurement instrument) reads on “control circuitry disposed within the housing”.]
wherein the control circuitry is centralized such that the processing is non-distributed, the control circuitry is configured to: Kane: Paragraph [0048] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically monitors (step 510) the sensor inputs 122 for settled/steady state sensor measurement information and alerts the technician (visually, audibly, and/or tactilely) of the status of the connected sensors, status of the system 100 (for example, the settling of subcool or superheat measurements following a change in refrigerant charge, the presence of hazardous gas concentrations near the furnace warranting improved ventilation, whether the sensed measurement information is within typical/expected operating ranges), and the status of analysis or tests in-process or to be performed (for example, the status of data-logging).”) Kane: Paragraph [0056] (“Microprocessor 620 and supporting circuitry preferably provides the main unit 120 with processing means for executing stored programming instructions, access to on-board and accessible databases and memory, calculations, execution of algorithms, and other computing needs. Additional processing capacity 640 is preferably included for real-time monitoring and display of input data, preferably real-time monitoring of all inputs simultaneously or substantially simultaneously.”)
display a parameter selection menu via the display, wherein the parameter selection menu presents the one or more parameters as one or more selectable parameter options; Kane: Paragraph [0051] (“The main unit 120 preferably automatically prompts the technician/user for user-input selections 514 such as refrigerant type, fuel type, parameters to view/display, or modes of operation of the main unit 120 depending upon the automatically detected sensor inputs 122 and automatically determined available measurements and analysis available to the user. The main unit 120 preferably (step 516) includes sufficient programming instructions to provide recommendations, suggestions for system performance improvement, troubleshooting guidance, and so forth, based upon the real-time monitoring of the sensor inputs 122. Preferably, the user is able to scroll 518 through such automatically provided troubleshooting and analysis guidance information to select and drill down through menu information to access additional information and suggestions and to perform the desired system analysis.”) Kane: Paragraph [0049] (“The main unit 120 preferably provides the user/technician with real-time display of the sensor inputs 122 so the technician can watch the measurements/sensor inputs change in real-time. In preferred embodiments, the main unit 120 also provides the user/technician with real-time display of the (computed/calculated/estimated) output values (such as, for example, superheat, subcool, combustion efficiency, etc.) as those output values change in response to dynamically changing sensor input values.”) [The selection through the menu information reads on “the parameter selection menu presents the one or more parameters as one or more selectable parameter options”.]
receive one or more parameter selection commands from the one or more inputs, wherein the one or more parameter selection commands relate to one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters; Kane: Paragraphs [0023], [0041], [0045], [0051] and [0054] [As described above.] [The user input selection using the control buttons reads on “receive one or more parameter selection command from the one or more inputs”. The selected sensor information including the air flow sensed information reads on “the one or more parameter selection commands relate to one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters”.]
receive data relating to the one or more parameters from the one or more sensors; and Kane: Paragraphs [0041], [0045], [0051] and [0054] [As described above.][The air flow measurements received at the main unit read on “receive data”.]
transmit data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device based at least in part on the one or more parameter selection commands. Kane: Paragraphs [0041] and [0054] [As described above.] Kane: Paragraph [0032] (“In various embodiments, the main unit 120 may be connected, as shown in FIG. 2, as a system 200 with its 1 through n inputs 122 comprising wired or wireless communication between sensor sender units (or sender modules) 204 and the main unit 120, and with its 1 through m outputs 124 comprising wired or wireless communication between the main unit 120 and various external output and peripheral devices 206, 208, 210.”) Kane: Paragraph [0053] (“The sensor input 122 information (i.e. sensor connections, sensor functioning status, sensor information being transmitted/received in real-time) is then provided to the main unit 120 for display to the technician/user. The main unit 120 preferably automatically monitors (step 510) the sensor inputs 122 for settled/steady state sensor measurement information and alerts the technician (visually, audibly, and/or tactilely) of the status of the connected sensors, status of the system 100 (for example, the settling of subcool or superheat measurements following a change in refrigerant charge, the presence of hazardous gas concentrations near the furnace warranting improved ventilation, whether the sensed measurement information is within typical/expected operating ranges), and the status of analysis or tests in-process or to be performed (for example, the status of data-logging). In one embodiment, the main unit 120 automatically monitors sensor inputs 122 and provides the technician with alerts and indications regarding safety conditions of workspaces, for example, alerting the technician if refrigerant is detected or if oxygen levels are becoming too low (or trending downward) so as to present workspace safety concerns.”)
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane, in view of Arensmeier et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0239345 A1) (“Arensmeier”).
Regarding claim 2, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 2 depends. Although Kane describes that the handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument transmits data to external peripheral devices, Kane does not expressly teach that the data is transmitted to a building management system. However, Arensmeier describes a remote monitoring system. Arensmeier teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1, wherein transmitting the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device comprises transmitting the data to a building management system. Arensmeier: Paragraph [0085] (“The monitoring system can be used by the contractor during and after installation and during and after repair (i) to verify operation of the air handler monitor and condensing monitor modules and (ii) to verify correct installation of the components of the HVAC system. In addition, the customer may review this data in the monitoring system for assurance that the contractor correctly installed and configured the HVAC system. In addition to being uploaded to the remote monitoring service (also referred to as the cloud), monitored data may be transmitted to a local device in the building. For example, a smartphone, laptop, proprietary portable device, or building management system may receive monitoring information to diagnose problems and receive real-time performance data. Alternatively, data may be uploaded to the cloud and then downloaded onto a local computing device, such as via the Internet from an interactive web site.”) [The monitoring system reads on “the HVAC air measurement device”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kane and Arensmeier before them, to transmit the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device comprises transmitting the data to a building management system because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing sensor parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would enable a building management system to receive and diagnose monitoring information and determine problems and receive real-time performance data. See Arensmeier Paragraph [0085]
Regarding claim 3, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 3, from which claim 3 depends. Although Kane describes that the handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument transmits data to storage or memory accessible to the main unit, Kane does not expressly teach that the data is transmitted to a cloud storage device. However, Arensmeier describes a remote monitoring system. Arensmeier teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1, wherein transmitting the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device comprises transmitting the data to a cloud storage service. Arensmeier: Paragraph [0066] (“A server of the monitoring system includes a processor and memory. The memory stores application code that processes data received from the monitor modules and determines existing and/or impending failures, as described in more detail below. The processor executes this application code and stores received data either in the memory or in other forms of storage, including magnetic storage, optical storage, flash memory storage, etc. While the term server is used in this application, the application is not limited to a single server.”) Arensmeier: Paragraph [0085] (“The monitoring system can be used by the contractor during and after installation and during and after repair (i) to verify operation of the air handler monitor and condensing monitor modules and (ii) to verify correct installation of the components of the HVAC system. In addition, the customer may review this data in the monitoring system for assurance that the contractor correctly installed and configured the HVAC system. In addition to being uploaded to the remote monitoring service (also referred to as the cloud), monitored data may be transmitted to a local device in the building. For example, a smartphone, laptop, proprietary portable device, or building management system may receive monitoring information to diagnose problems and receive real-time performance data. Alternatively, data may be uploaded to the cloud and then downloaded onto a local computing device, such as via the Internet from an interactive web site.”) Arensmeier: Paragraph [0252] (“In a further example, the functionality of the module may be split between a server (also known as remote, or cloud) module and a client (or, user) module.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kane and Arensmeier before them, to transmit the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device comprises transmitting the data to a building management system because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing sensor parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would enable a cloud server to receive and store monitoring information and receive real-time performance data. See Arensmeier Paragraph [0085]
Regarding claim 14, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 13, from which claim 14 depends. Although Kane describes that the handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument transmits data to external peripheral devices, Kane does not expressly teach that the data is transmitted to a building management system. However, Arensmeier describes a remote monitoring system. Arensmeier teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein transmitting, via the self-contained control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device comprises transmitting the data to a building management system. Arensmeier: Paragraph [0085] (“The monitoring system can be used by the contractor during and after installation and during and after repair (i) to verify operation of the air handler monitor and condensing monitor modules and (ii) to verify correct installation of the components of the HVAC system. In addition, the customer may review this data in the monitoring system for assurance that the contractor correctly installed and configured the HVAC system. In addition to being uploaded to the remote monitoring service (also referred to as the cloud), monitored data may be transmitted to a local device in the building. For example, a smartphone, laptop, proprietary portable device, or building management system may receive monitoring information to diagnose problems and receive real-time performance data. Alternatively, data may be uploaded to the cloud and then downloaded onto a local computing device, such as via the Internet from an interactive web site.”) [The monitoring system reads on “the HVAC air measurement device”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kane and Arensmeier before them, to transmit, via the control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device comprises transmitting the data to a building management system because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing sensor parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would enable a building management system to receive and diagnose monitoring information and determine problems and receive real-time performance data. See Arensmeier Paragraph [0085]
Regarding claim 15, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 13, from which claim 15 depends. Although Kane describes that the handheld central or main field test and measurement instrument transmits data to storage or memory accessible to the main unit, Kane does not expressly teach that the data is transmitted to a cloud storage device. However, Arensmeier describes a remote monitoring system. Arensmeier teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein transmitting, via the self-contained control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device comprises transmitting the data to a cloud storage service. Arensmeier: Paragraph [0066] (“A server of the monitoring system includes a processor and memory. The memory stores application code that processes data received from the monitor modules and determines existing and/or impending failures, as described in more detail below. The processor executes this application code and stores received data either in the memory or in other forms of storage, including magnetic storage, optical storage, flash memory storage, etc. While the term server is used in this application, the application is not limited to a single server.”) Arensmeier: Paragraph [0085] (“The monitoring system can be used by the contractor during and after installation and during and after repair (i) to verify operation of the air handler monitor and condensing monitor modules and (ii) to verify correct installation of the components of the HVAC system. In addition, the customer may review this data in the monitoring system for assurance that the contractor correctly installed and configured the HVAC system. In addition to being uploaded to the remote monitoring service (also referred to as the cloud), monitored data may be transmitted to a local device in the building. For example, a smartphone, laptop, proprietary portable device, or building management system may receive monitoring information to diagnose problems and receive real-time performance data. Alternatively, data may be uploaded to the cloud and then downloaded onto a local computing device, such as via the Internet from an interactive web site.”) Arensmeier: Paragraph [0252] (“In a further example, the functionality of the module may be split between a server (also known as remote, or cloud) module and a client (or, user) module.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kane and Arensmeier before them, to transmit, via the control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, the data relating to the one or more selected parameters of the one or more parameters directly from the HVAC air measurement device comprises transmitting the data to a cloud storage service because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing sensor parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would enable a cloud server to receive and store monitoring information and receive real-time performance data. See Arensmeier Paragraph [0085]
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane, in view of Notaro et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0123622 A1) (“Notaro”).
Regarding claim 5, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 5 depends. However, Kane does not expressly teach the recitations of claim 5. Notaro describes a system including one or more equipment of a heating ventilation and air-conditioning (HVAC) system, at least one of one or more thermostats or one or more temperature sensors, and a controller. Notaro teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1,
wherein the parameter selection menu presents one or more data logging frequencies as one or more selectable data logging frequency options, and Notaro: Paragraph [0089] (“Once the operation of the HVAC equipment is initiated, the controller 300 periodically samples the ambient air temperature in the building. For example, the controller samples the ambient air temperature in the building every 3 minutes. In an aspect, to sample the air temperature in the building the controller may poll a thermostat (e.g., thermostat 108) or a temperature sensor (e.g., temperature sensor 210) installed in the building and in response receive a temperature measurement from the respective thermostat or temperature sensor. In an alternative aspect, the ambient air temperature may be recorded at regular intervals by a thermostat or temperature sensor in the building and the controller 300 may periodically sample the latest temperature measurement recorded by the thermostat or temperature sensor. It may be noted that the controller 300 is not limited to sampling the ambient air temperature in the building at fixed intervals and may sample the air temperature according to any predetermined schedule or randomly. In an aspect, after initiating operation of the HVAC equipment in response to the cooling or heating call, the controller 300 may optionally wait for a predetermined stabilization period before initiating sampling of the ambient air temperature in the building. The stabilization period allows sufficient time for the HVAC equipment to attain stabilized operation at the initial capacity setting. For example, assuming that the controller initiates operation of the HVAC equipment at t=0, the stabilization period is set to 10 minutes and the sampling period is set to 3 minutes, the controller samples the air temperature at t=10 min, t=13 min and so on.”) Notaro: Paragraph [0121] (“In one or more aspects, the controller 300 may be configured to select or alter the sampling period (t.sub.ROC) based on one or more factors.”)
wherein the control circuitry is configured to: receive a data logging frequency selection command from the one or more inputs, wherein the data logging frequency selection command relates to a selected data logging frequency; Notaro: Paragraph [0089] [As described above.] Notaro: Paragraph [0044] (“For example, in certain embodiments, device data may be input using a panel or terminal specifically designed for the HVAC system. In other embodiments, a user may use a computing device having a program or application installed that allows the user to input or modify device data. Such general computing devices may include, but are not limited to, laptops, notebook computers, tablets, smartphones, netbooks, and desktop computers. Inputting of device data may be done by directly connecting the computing device to the HVAC system using any suitable interface or by remotely providing the device data, including by providing data over a wired or wireless connection. For example, in certain embodiments, a user may input device data by directly connecting a computing device to a piece of equipment in the HVAC system using a wired connection which may include, but is not limited to, one or more of a universal serial bus, Ethernet, FireWire, Thunderbolt, RS-232, or similar interface.”)
log the data relating to the one or more parameters in a log file at the selected data logging frequency; and Notaro: Paragraphs [0089] and [0044] [As described above.] Notaro: Paragraph [0045] (“In certain embodiments, device data may be stored and retrieved from a database. The database may be stored locally in memory connected to the HVAC system or may be remotely accessible from a server or other remote data source. In certain embodiments, device data corresponding to a given piece of HVAC system may be retrieved from the database based on information provided by a user or by components of the HVAC system.”)
transmit the log file directly from the HVAC air measurement device. Notaro: Paragraph [0030] (“Controller 202 may monitor the temperature readings provided by sensor 210 to determine if the temperature in building 201 exceeds or falls below a temperature set point, thereby causing the controller 202 to generate a heating/cooling call. In response to the heating/cooling call, controller 202 may issue appropriate control signals to at least one of the indoor unit 204 and the outdoor unit 206. In other embodiments, sensor 210 may transmit a signal that the building 201 air temperature is above or below a temperature set point. Controller 202 may then generate a heating/cooling call and issue control signals to control HVAC equipment such as indoor unit 204 and outdoor unit 206 in response to this signal. In certain embodiments, temperature readings from temperature sensor 210 may also be stored in a memory module of the controller 202. Stored temperature readings may be used by the controller 202 to determine temperature trends, response times to control signals, and other metrics to be used in refining a control plan implemented by the controller 202.”) Notaro: Paragraph [0073] (“Furthermore, the information from any of these receivers may be sent to a computing device, as discussed above, for direct monitoring by a user or other system.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kane and Notaro before them, for the parameter selection menu to present one or more data logging frequencies as one or more selectable data logging frequency options, and wherein the control circuitry is configured to: receive a data logging frequency selection command from the one or more inputs, wherein the data logging frequency selection command relates to a selected data logging frequency; log the data relating to the one or more parameters in a log file at the selected data logging frequency; and transmit the log file directly from the HVAC air measurement device because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing sensor parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would provide an improved degree of control afforded by a communicating system while allowing a broad range of thermostats and other HVAC equipment to be used within the system. Preferably, the system would allow for both communicating and non-communicating legacy equipment and the device discovery and configuration processes would occur using several methods alone or in combination and may include reading or retrieving information provided by an installer, customer, or other user; reading or retrieving information available in a remote database; reading or retrieving information directly from the HVAC equipment; or learning the properties of the HVAC equipment using a trial and error approach. See Notaro Paragraph [0005]
Regarding claim 17, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 13, from which claim 17 depends. However, Kane does not expressly teach the recitations of claim 17. Notaro describes a system including one or more equipment of a heating ventilation and air-conditioning (HVAC) system, at least one of one or more thermostats or one or more temperature sensors, and a controller. Notaro teaches:
The method of claim 13,
wherein the parameter selection menu presents one or more data logging frequencies as one or more selectable data logging frequency options, and Notaro: Paragraph [0089] (“Once the operation of the HVAC equipment is initiated, the controller 300 periodically samples the ambient air temperature in the building. For example, the controller samples the ambient air temperature in the building every 3 minutes. In an aspect, to sample the air temperature in the building the controller may poll a thermostat (e.g., thermostat 108) or a temperature sensor (e.g., temperature sensor 210) installed in the building and in response receive a temperature measurement from the respective thermostat or temperature sensor. In an alternative aspect, the ambient air temperature may be recorded at regular intervals by a thermostat or temperature sensor in the building and the controller 300 may periodically sample the latest temperature measurement recorded by the thermostat or temperature sensor. It may be noted that the controller 300 is not limited to sampling the ambient air temperature in the building at fixed intervals and may sample the air temperature according to any predetermined schedule or randomly. In an aspect, after initiating operation of the HVAC equipment in response to the cooling or heating call, the controller 300 may optionally wait for a predetermined stabilization period before initiating sampling of the ambient air temperature in the building. The stabilization period allows sufficient time for the HVAC equipment to attain stabilized operation at the initial capacity setting. For example, assuming that the controller initiates operation of the HVAC equipment at t=0, the stabilization period is set to 10 minutes and the sampling period is set to 3 minutes, the controller samples the air temperature at t=10 min, t=13 min and so on.”) Notaro: Paragraph [0121] (“In one or more aspects, the controller 300 may be configured to select or alter the sampling period (t.sub.ROC) based on one or more factors.”)
wherein the method comprises: receiving, via the self-contained control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, a data logging frequency selection command from the one or more inputs, wherein the data logging frequency selection command relates to a selected data logging frequency; Notaro: Paragraph [0089] [As described above.] Notaro: Paragraph [0044] (“For example, in certain embodiments, device data may be input using a panel or terminal specifically designed for the HVAC system. In other embodiments, a user may use a computing device having a program or application installed that allows the user to input or modify device data. Such general computing devices may include, but are not limited to, laptops, notebook computers, tablets, smartphones, netbooks, and desktop computers. Inputting of device data may be done by directly connecting the computing device to the HVAC system using any suitable interface or by remotely providing the device data, including by providing data over a wired or wireless connection. For example, in certain embodiments, a user may input device data by directly connecting a computing device to a piece of equipment in the HVAC system using a wired connection which may include, but is not limited to, one or more of a universal serial bus, Ethernet, FireWire, Thunderbolt, RS-232, or similar interface.”)
logging, via the control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, the data relating to the one or more parameters in a log file at the selected data logging frequency; and Notaro: Paragraphs [0089] and [0044] [As described above.] Notaro: Paragraph [0045] (“In certain embodiments, device data may be stored and retrieved from a database. The database may be stored locally in memory connected to the HVAC system or may be remotely accessible from a server or other remote data source. In certain embodiments, device data corresponding to a given piece of HVAC system may be retrieved from the database based on information provided by a user or by components of the HVAC system.”)
transmitting, via the control circuitry of the HVAC air measurement device, the log file directly from the HVAC air measurement device. Notaro: Paragraph [0030] (“Controller 202 may monitor the temperature readings provided by sensor 210 to determine if the temperature in building 201 exceeds or falls below a temperature set point, thereby causing the controller 202 to generate a heating/cooling call. In response to the heating/cooling call, controller 202 may issue appropriate control signals to at least one of the indoor unit 204 and the outdoor unit 206. In other embodiments, sensor 210 may transmit a signal that the building 201 air temperature is above or below a temperature set point. Controller 202 may then generate a heating/cooling call and issue control signals to control HVAC equipment such as indoor unit 204 and outdoor unit 206 in response to this signal. In certain embodiments, temperature readings from temperature sensor 210 may also be stored in a memory module of the controller 202. Stored temperature readings may be used by the controller 202 to determine temperature trends, response times to control signals, and other metrics to be used in refining a control plan implemented by the controller 202.”) Notaro: Paragraph [0073] (“Furthermore, the information from any of these receivers may be sent to a computing device, as discussed above, for direct monitoring by a user or other system.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kane and Notaro before them, for the parameter selection menu to present one or more data logging frequencies as one or more selectable data logging frequency options, and wherein the control circuitry is configured to: receive a data logging frequency selection command from the one or more inputs, wherein the data logging frequency selection command relates to a selected data logging frequency; log the data relating to the one or more parameters in a log file at the selected data logging frequency; and transmit the log file directly from the HVAC air measurement device because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing sensor parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would provide an improved degree of control afforded by a communicating system while allowing a broad range of thermostats and other HVAC equipment to be used within the system. Preferably, the system would allow for both communicating and non-communicating legacy equipment and the device discovery and configuration processes would occur using several methods alone or in combination and may include reading or retrieving information provided by an installer, customer, or other user; reading or retrieving information available in a remote database; reading or retrieving information directly from the HVAC equipment; or learning the properties of the HVAC equipment using a trial and error approach. See Notaro Paragraph [0005]
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane, in view of Urbaniak et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0247091 A1) (“Urbaniak”).
Regarding claim 9, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 9 depends. However, Kane does not expressly teach the recitations of claim 9. Urbaniak describes a local acquiring source (e.g., handheld reading device), which may be an HVAC control or management entity. Urbaniak teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a flow rate of the air flow through the air flow path. Urbaniak: Paragraph [0081] (“In some cases, the AFT sensors 22 include at least one pair of thermistors, in which one thermistor of the pair is a temperature sensing thermistor being heated to the temperature of the airstream and the other thermistor of the pair is a self-heated thermistor used to measure the airflow (i.e., the velocity or flow rate of the airstream) via thermal dispersion.”) Urbaniak: Paragraph [0108] (“As the airstream velocity or flow rate increases, the temperature difference between the AFT sensors 16 decreases. The temperature difference is reflected as a difference and/or change in resistance values across the pair of AFT sensors 16. The AFT sensors 16, via a resistance-sensing circuit, will detect the changes in resistance and communicate the changes as output resistance sensor signals carried by electrically conductive circuit elements 18 and an output cable 19. The output resistance sensor signals are sent to and received by a transmitter (i.e., 30, FIG. 1).”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kane and Urbaniak before them, for the one or more parameters to comprise a flow rate of the air flow through the air flow path because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing sensor parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would provide improved airstream sensor devices, systems, and methods having a single point of control and employing multiple, different types of sensors for collecting multiple data points at various locations in an airstream. Such devices, systems, and methods can employ a combination of one or more temperature sensors, humidity sensors, and/or thermal dispersion airflow sensors for assuring that minimum ventilation requirements are met. The combination of the cited references would also provide improved airstream devices that incorporate correction factors on a real time basis using barometric pressure, airflow, temperature to make automatic calculations without the need for correction factors, eliminating potential errors, and potentially enhancing performance and/or efficiencies. See Urbaniak Paragraph [0044]
Regarding claim 11, Kane teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 11 depends. However, Kane does not expressly teach the recitations of claim 11. Urbaniak describes a local acquiring source (e.g., handheld reading device), which may be an HVAC control or management entity. Urbaniak teaches:
The self-contained HVAC air measurement device of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a barometric pressure of the air flow through the air flow path. Urbaniak: Paragraph [0122] (“FIG. 6 is a block diagram of an exemplary method, generally designated 70, for measuring, collecting, or detecting airstream parameters of an airstream disposed in the path of an airstream sensor device and barometric pressure according to embodiments of the presently disclosed subject matter.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kane and Urbaniak before them, for the one or more parameters to comprise a barometric pressure of the air flow through the air flow path because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing sensor parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would provide improved airstream sensor devices, systems, and methods having a single point of control and employing multiple, different types of sensors for collecting multiple data points at various locations in an airstream. Such devices, systems, and methods can employ a combination of one or more temperature sensors, humidity sensors, and/or thermal dispersion airflow sensors for assuring that minimum ventilation requirements are met. The combination of the cited references would also provide improved airstream devices that incorporate correction factors on a real time basis using barometric pressure, airflow, temperature to make automatic calculations without the need for correction factors, eliminating potential errors, and potentially enhancing performance and/or efficiencies. See Urbaniak Paragraph [0044]
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Publication No. 2021/0165926 A1 to Flaherty et al. describes in paragraph [0041] “Control of the register vents 26 may be centralized at the building automation controller 18, at any other controller in the building 2 (e.g., including, but not limited to, one of the local controllers 32), and/or at the remote system 36. When register vents 26 are centrally controlled, the building automation controller 18, other controller, and/or the remote system 36 may be able to control comfort level conditioning in a calculated manner (e.g., keep at least 10%-70%, 20%-60%, 30%-50%, or other range of vent dampers 30 in an open position) due to the knowledge of how much fluid is passing to one or more locations and at what time that fluid is reaching one or more locations within a comfort level controlled space. Illustratively, a building automation controller 18 or other controller that centrally controls the register vents 26 may take into consideration vent damper 30 position settings of manually controlled register vents 26, along with position settings of electronically controlled register vents 26. Understanding the positioning of all of the vent dampers 30, if any, associated with vents 28 in a comfort level conditioned space allows the building automation controller 18 or other central controller to apply comfort level conditioning settings for the building automation system 4 in view of an amount of fluid calculated to be reaching one or more locations of a space or zone. Keeping some minimum percentage of the vent dampers open may also help prevent excessive load on the fan 21 of the HVAC system servicing the building.”
US Patent Publication No. 2016/0191159 A1 to Aoyama et al. describes in paragraph [0704] “The system includes a centralized control unit 8118, a transmitter 8117, and a transmitter 8120. The centralized control unit 8118 controls signal transmission by a change in luminance of each of the transmitters 8117 and 8120. For example, the centralized control unit 8118 causes the transmitters 8117 and 8120 to transmit the same signal at the same time, or causes one of the transmitters to transmit a signal unique to the transmitter.” Paragraph [0708] describes “The synchronous signal input unit 8125 obtains a synchronous signal according to control by the centralized control unit 8118. The synchronous control unit 8126 synchronizes the luminance changes of the transmission units 8121 and 8122, when the synchronous signal is obtained. That is, the synchronous control unit 8126 controls the signal control units 8121b and 8122b, to synchronize the luminance changes of the transmission units 8121 and 8122.”
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117