DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The examiner has taken notice that claim 1 have been amended. Claims 1-35 are now pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hahn fails to teach the amended limitations “receive, from a second device, one or more sidelink communication parameters associated with the second device” because Hahn discloses only a top-down base station to terminal architecture.
The examiner respectfully disagrees because Hahn is not limited to the single base station/first terminal/second terminal embodiment cited by applicant. Hahn discloses a relay architecture in which a network node performs bidirectional communication functions consistent with claimed “second device”
Paragraph [0056] discloses a node (the relay 220, referred to as a UE-type device) that receives signals/parameters from the base station and transmits resulting signals onward to other UEs and also relays signals from UE back to the base station. This is bidirectional information flow through a single node, satisfying the structural relationship required by the amended claim, a device that supplies relays parameters and is also the destination of the resulting configuration output.
Applicant’s amendment doesn’t require the base station be excluded as a candidate second device. Applicant argues that Hahn’s base station can’t be the second device because it only transmits parameters and never receives the resulting blind retransmission configuration message. Examiner respectfully disagrees because Claim 1 doesn’t require the message to be sent back to the identical originating source it requires only that a message comprising the blind retransmission configuration be output to the second device. Paragraph [0090] describes terminals receive the SCI containing this configuration; nothing in the claim prevent a terminal that also received the initiating parameters from being read as the claimed “second device,” since the second terminal itself independently receives sidelink communication parameters from the base station (Paragraph [0085] the terminals e.g. the first terminal and the second terminal may be configured to receive the higher layer message from the base station).
For the foregoing reasons, Hahn, particularly in view of the relay disclosure at paragraphs [0056]; [0058] and the terminal parameter receipt disclosure at paragraph [0085] continues to render obvious or anticipate the amended claim language.
Applicant is invited to further distinguish the claimed “second device” from Hahn’s disclosed UEs/relay by amendment specifying a structural or functional feature.
Claim 35 Seo paragraph [0163] discloses the apparatus (third device) transmitting initial sidelink parameters to the second apparatus via PSCCH/PSSCH. Seo paragraph [0167] discloses the reverse flow “the first apparatus may receive information on distance estimate between the first apparatus and the second apparatus from the second apparatus.” Paragraph [0168] describes this received information determines the blind retransmission count.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12, 16, 24-25, 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US 2023/0099975; hereinafter Han).
Regarding claim 1, Hahn teaches a first device configured for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors configured to cause the first device to: (Paragraph [0008] describes “a first terminal in a communication system“ that performs sidelink communication. The first terminal is a device, and it is configured for wireless communication. Paragraph [0039] describes both a memory and processor as components within the same hardware device):
receive, from a second device, one or more sidelink communication parameters associated with the second device (Paragraphs [0012]; [0085] describes how the first terminal obtains parameters. The base station transmits a higher layer message and the terminals may be configured to receive the higher layer message from the base station. The higher layer message contains “a plurality of information elements” which are sidelink communication parameters (time resources, frequency resources for sidelink communication, periodicity of physical resources, number of physical resources and modulation and coding scheme (MCS)). Table 3 provides a list of sidelink communication parameters);
and output, to the second device, a message comprising a sidelink blind retransmission configuration based at least in part on the one or more sidelink communication parameters (Paragraphs [0012]; [0013]; [0084]; [0090]; [0093]; [0105]-[0107] describes SCI (containing retransmission configuration) is configured based on received Parameters from DCI (including resource reservation, periodicity, MCS), and transmit blind retransmission to the second terminal (Fig. 7, S706). Table 4 shows blind retransmission configurations composed of multiple parameters).
Regarding claim 2, Hahn teaches wherein the sidelink blind retransmission configuration comprises at least one of: enablement of sidelink blind retransmission, or establishment of a number of sidelink blind retransmissions (Table 4; [0083]; [0116]-[0117] describes both enablement and establishment of a number ).
Claims 11, 16, 24, 32 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 respectively.
Claims 12, 25, and 33 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2 respectively.
The independent claim and its dependent claims are substantially identical to the limitation set previously analyzed in claims. The claims have been slightly reworded and rearranged. However, these changes do not add any new technical details. The core meaning of the claims remains the same. Because of this, these claims can be rejected for the same reasons as the earlier claims.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo et al. US 2022/0376827).
Regarding claim 35, Seo teaches a third device configured for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory (Paragraphs [0181] describes the apparatus comprising a memory and one or more processors to connect the at least one memory),
the one or more processors configured to cause the third device to: output, to a second device, at least one sidelink communication parameter (Paragraphs [0146]; [0163] describes the third device transmits (outputs) PSCCH/PSSCH physical sidelink channels carrying sidelink control/data parameters to the second apparatus . transmission of PSCCH content is transmission of a sidelink communication parameter (e.g. resource allocation, MCS, or scheduling information carried in the SCI transmitted on PSCCH). The transmitter UE (third device) output K2 (a sidelink communication parameter the retransmission count) to the second device based on distance/RSRP values);
and receive a sidelink communication from the second device, the sidelink communication comprising control information that indicates sidelink blind retransmission information corresponding to the sidelink communication (Paragraphs [0141]-[0146]; [0167]-[0168]; [0172]-[0173] describes the information received from the second apparatus and retransmission are performed without receiving HARQ feedback),
wherein the sidelink blind retransmission information is based at least in part on the at least one sidelink communication parameter (Paragraph [0148] describes the parameter obtained from the second device (distance/RSRP)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 13-15 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn in view of Seo.
Regarding claim 3, Han doesn’t teach further comprising a transceiver coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first device to: receive, via the transceiver, the one or more sidelink communication parameters from the second device via at least one of: a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message, a UE assistance information message, or a UE capability information message, wherein the one or more sidelink communication parameters comprises one or more of: a quality of service (QoS) profile, a set of one or more QoS parameters, or a cast type.
However, in analogous art Seo teaches further comprising a transceiver coupled to the processor one or more processors (Paragraph [0222] describe one or more transceivers that can both transmit and receive signals),
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first device to: receive, via the transceiver, the one or more sidelink communication parameters from the second device via at least one of (Paragraph [0197] Describes the first apparatus receiving sidelink communication parameters from the second device):
a sidelink user equipment (UE) information message (Paragraphs [0119]; [0125]-[0126] describes various types of messages and configurations used in sidelink communication, and mentions “QoS parameter” communication between UEs, and describes various types of signaling and configuration messages. Describes the functional equivalent of UE information exchange, assistance information for communication optimization, and capability-related information exchange in the context of sidelink operations),
a UE assistance information message, or a UE capability information message, wherein the one or more sidelink communication parameters comprises one or more of:
a quality of service (QoS) profile (Paragraphs [0126] describes QoS parameter 1, QoS parameter 2 and particular QoS parameter),
a set of one or more QoS parameters, or a cast type (Paragraph [0121] Describes different cast types).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Han by incorporating Seo’s method of increasing blind retransmissions to enhance the reliability of transmissions (Seo, Paragraph [0158]).
Regarding claim 4, Han in view of Seo, Seo teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first device to: receive the one or more sidelink communication parameters from the second device via at least one of: a channel state information (CSI) report comprising CSI (Paragraphs [0148]; [0197] describes receiving “channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) and channel state information (CSI) from the second apparatus); a channel busy ratio (CBR) report comprising a CBR; or a sidelink buffer status report (BSR) comprising one or more of: a logical channel or logical channel group (LCG) and a destination identifier, or a sidelink buffer status.
Regarding claim 5, Han in view of Seo, Seo teaches wherein the one or more processors, being configured to output, to the second device, the message comprising the sidelink blind retransmission configuration, are further configured to cause the first device to output a downlink control information (DCI) (Paragraphs [0069]; [0107] describes the output of downlink control information and downlink transmission of “control messages”. Paragraph [0112] describes resource allocation and scheduling procedures that involve DCI output for coordinating sidelink transmissions),
and wherein the sidelink blind retransmission configuration corresponds to a set of one or more sidelink transmissions scheduled in association with the DCI (Paragraphs [0164] describes the relationship between blind retransmission configuration and scheduled sidelink transmissions. Paragraph [0146] describes “ configurable K.sub.2 blind retransmissions” showing that the configuration corresponds to a specific set of retransmissions. Paragraph [0112] describes how sidelink transmissions are scheduled using BS/network resources and paragraph [0161] describes the initial sidelink transmission that starts the retransmission sequence).
Claims 13, 27 and 29 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3 respectively.
Claims 14, 28 and 30 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4 respectively.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5 respectively.
The dependent claims are substantially identical to the limitation set previously analyzed in claims. The claims have been slightly reworded and rearranged. However, these changes do not add any new technical details. The core meaning of the claims remains the same. Because of this, these claims can be rejected for the same reasons as the earlier claims.
Claim(s) 6-10, 17-23, 31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Seo in further view of Yi et al. (US 2021/0212099; hereinafter Yi).
Regarding claim 6, Han and Seo doesn’t teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first device to: output a first downlink control information (DCI) comprising a first sidelink grant for an initial sidelink transmission and a first one or more sidelink retransmissions of a packet; and output a second DCI comprising a second sidelink grant for a second one or more sidelink retransmissions of the packet, the output of the second DCI during a monitoring time, the monitoring time based on a discontinuous reception (DRX) timer for sidelink grant.
However, in analogues art Yi teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first device to: output a first downlink control information (DCI) comprising a first sidelink grant for an initial sidelink transmission and a first one or more sidelink retransmissions of a packet (Paragraph [0277] describes the SL DCI “comprising a first set of resources” discloses the first DCI with a first sidelink grant. The “first set of resources” would encompass both the initial transmission and first retransmission and first retransmissions of a packet);
and output a second DCI comprising a second sidelink grant for a second one or more sidelink retransmissions of the packet (Paragraph [0278] describes “second SL DCIs” and monitoring for “retransmission”),
the output of the second DCI during a monitoring time, the monitoring time based on a discontinuous reception (DRX) timer for sidelink grant (Paragraph [0277] describes a scenario where a wireless device receives a second DCI containing a sidelink grant for one or more sidelink retransmissions of a packet. The output of this second DCI is observed during a monitoring time, which is based on a DRX timer specifically for the sidelink grant).
Seo and Yi are both considered analogous to the claimed invention as they operate within the same field of wireless communications, specifically addressing challenges related to optimizing sidelink transmissions between UEs (User Equipment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Seo’s method of early termination of sidelink retransmissions based on HARQ feedback with Yi’s method of handling sidelink downlink control information (DCI) for managing resource allocation and bandwidth part switching (Yi, Paragraph [0293]).
Regarding claim 7, Han in view of Seo and Yi, Yi teaches wherein the DRX timer for sidelink grant is configured to start after the output of the first DCI (Paragraph [0277] disclose that the DRX timer for the sidelink grant is configured to start or restart after the output of the first SL DCI at the specified timing point).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Seo into the combination of Yi for the same reason as claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 8, Han in view of Seo and Yi, Yi teaches wherein the DRX timer for sidelink grant is configured to start after a last sidelink retransmission of the first one or more sidelink retransmissions of the packet (Paragraph [0275]-[0276] disclose that the DRX timer for the sidelink grant is configured to start after the last sidelink retransmission of the first one or more sidelink retransmissions of the packet, as it begins in the first symbol after the PUCCH or PUSCH transmission that includes the feedback for the sidelink HARQ process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Seo into the combination of Yi for the same reason as claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 9, Han in view of Seo and Yi, Yi teaches wherein the DRX timer for sidelink grant is configured to start after a sidelink DRX hybrid automatic repeat request-round trip time (HARQ RTT) timer is started (Paragraph [0276] disclose that, following the start of the sidelink DRX HARQ-RTT Timer, the DRX timer for sidelink grant is configured to start. This sequence suggests that the DRX timer for sidelink grant is activated after the necessary processing and timing related to packet transmission and potential retransmissions have occurred),
and wherein the sidelink DRX HARQ RTT timer is configured to start after transmission of one of the initial sidelink transmission or one of the first one or more sidelink retransmissions of the packet (Paragraph [0277] disclose that the sidelink DRX HARQ-RTT Timer is configured to start after the transmission of one of the initial sidelink transmissions or one of the first one or more sidelink retransmissions of the packet. This timer likely measures the time taken for the round-trip communication process associated with the packet transmission).
Regarding claim 10, Han in view of Seo and Yi, Yi teaches wherein the monitoring time comprises an active time duration that is extended by the DRX timer for sidelink grant (Paragraph [0274] disclose that the monitoring time, particularly the Active Time determination, can be extended by the DRX-SL (Discontinuous Reception in Sidelink) timer for sidelink grant in the context of wireless communication systems).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Seo into the combination of Yi for the same reason as claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 21, Han in view of Seo and Yi, Yi teaches wherein the first one or more sidelink retransmissions comprises a plurality of sidelink retransmissions of the packet (Paragraph [0245] explains a first set of resources for two repetitions of a transport block (TB) transmission and shows that the first set includes multiple retransmissions (two repetitions) of the same packet),
and wherein the second DCI is received between two sidelink retransmissions of the plurality of sidelink retransmissions of the packet (Paragraph [0264] describes a first SL DCI provides resources for multiple retransmissions (up to an indicated number of retransmissions/repetitions). Shows that the “another SL DCI” (second DCI) is received during the process of the first set of retransmissions, allocating the second set of resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Seo into the combination of Yi for the same reason as claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 23, Han in view of Seo and Yi, Yi teaches wherein the DRX timer for sidelink grant has a duration based on the sidelink blind retransmission configuration (Paragraph [0285]; [0277] the DRX timer for a sidelink grant could indeed have a duration influenced by the sidelink blind retransmission configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Seo into the combination of Yi for the same reason as claim 6 above.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 respectively.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7 respectively.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8 respectively.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9 respectively.
Claim 22 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10 respectively.
Claim 31 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 respectively.
Claim 34 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 respectively.
The dependent claims are substantially identical to the limitation set previously analyzed. The claims have been slightly reworded and rearranged. However, these changes do not add any new technical details. The core meaning of the claims remains the same. Because of this, these claims can be rejected for the same reasons as the earlier claims.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han view of Ryu et al. (US 2022/0345277; hereinafter Ryu).
Regarding claim 26, Han doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to cause the transceiver to transmit the sidelink blind retransmission configuration via a sidelink buffer status report (SL BSR).
However, in analogous art, Ryu disclose wherein the processor is further configured to cause the transceiver to transmit the sidelink blind retransmission configuration via a sidelink buffer status report (SL BSR) (Paragraph [0122];[0112] disclose that the sidelink blind retransmission configuration could potentially involve utilizing a sidelink buffer status report (SL BSR), though the explicit mention of SL BSR in the context of blind retransmissions is not provided. FIG. 6 shows BSR transmission (S603)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Han by incorporating Ryu’s method of generating and processing Sidelink Feedback Control Information (SFCI) for efficient feedback transmission and resource mapping (Ryu, Paragraph [0011]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Chandrahas B Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464