Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities: Minor grammar mistake in “selecting a target RTT of the TCP flow to reduce the TCP RTT increase TCP data throughput in the link in accordance with the channel conditions of the wireless channel” that should have the “and” such as in “selecting a target RTT of the TCP flow to reduce the TCP RTT and increase TCP data throughput in the link in accordance with the channel conditions of the wireless channel” in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhanabalan et al. US 20170070444 A1 (Domestic Priority September 4, 2015) in view of Das et al. US 20120265897 A1 (Domestic Priority April 15, 2011).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Dhanabalan discloses a wireless communication device for wireless communication (see, appliance is a device that optimizes wide area network (WAN) traffic such as a quality of service (“QoS”) engine for local area network (LAN) traffic, metropolitan area network (MAN) traffic, or wireless network traffic, section 0018; noted, network interface can be wireless, section 0029), comprising: one or more interfaces (see, Appliance can include one or more network interfaces, section 0030) capable of: obtaining an indication of channel conditions of a wireless channel (see, one or more TCP controllers can be configured to send and receive flow information from TCP module, and/or QoS engine, section 0036; noted, TCP characteristics includes information of packets such as packet round trop times and packet loss rate for a data flow, section 0034; noted, TCP characteristic can include a plurality of information such as, for example, flow priorities for one or more TCP flows, packet round trip times and/or the packet loss rate for a particular data flow, an average queuing delay and/or bandwidth delay product for the packets sent and received across a particular link, receive window drop information, and/or other receive window information such as receive window size, a queue threshold, and buffer memory size, section 0049) supporting a link between the wireless communication device and a second wireless communication device (see, first appliance works in conjunction with or cooperation with a second appliance to optimize network traffic, section 0018), wherein the link conveys a transfer control protocol (TCP) flow comprising a TCP round trip time (RTT) (see, TCP characteristic, includes a plurality of information such as packet round trip times and/or the packet loss rate for a particular data flow, section 0034) to the second wireless communication device (see, first appliance works in conjunction with or cooperation with a second appliance to optimize network traffic, section 0018); and a processing system capable of: selecting a target RTT of the TCP flow to reduce the TCP RTT and increase TCP data throughput in the link in accordance with the channel conditions of the wireless channel, wherein the channel conditions comprise a channel usage below a channel usage threshold for increasing the TCP data throughput in the link; modifying, associated with the target RTT, one or more transmit parameters of the wireless communication device (see, TCP module can determine one or more TCP characteristics of the flow based on the stored data, section 0034; noted, TCP characteristic, includes a plurality of information such as packet round trip times and/or the packet loss rate for a particular data flow, section 0034; noted, TCP characteristics can be derived from a sampled list of previously seen long-lived TCP links by recording the congestion related parameters for each sampled flow, section 0044) to increase the TCP data throughput in the link; and outputting TCP data of the TCP flow according to the one or more modified transmit parameters (see, flow is active when packets are being sent and received across a TCP link where the TCP is modified by TCP characteristics, section 0042).
Dhanabalan discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: selecting a target RTT of the TCP flow to reduce the TCP RTT and increase TCP data throughput in the link in accordance with the channel conditions of the wireless channel, wherein the channel conditions comprise a channel usage below a channel usage threshold for increasing the TCP data throughput in the link; modifying, associated with the target RTT, one or more transmit parameters of the wireless communication device (see, TCP module can determine one or more TCP characteristics of the flow based on the stored data, section 0034; noted, TCP characteristic, includes a plurality of information such as packet round trip times and/or the packet loss rate for a particular data flow, section 0034; noted, TCP characteristics can be derived from a sampled list of previously seen long-lived TCP links by recording the congestion related parameters for each sampled flow, section 0044) to increase the TCP data throughput in the link; and outputting TCP data of the TCP flow according to the one or more modified transmit parameters (see, flow is active when packets are being sent and received across a TCP link where the TCP is modified by TCP characteristics, section 0042).
However, Das from a similar field of endeavor discloses: selecting a target RTT of the TCP flow (see, target RTT for priority flows through formulations, sections 0035-0038 Das) to reduce the TCP RTT (see, flow modification module may be in communication with level of interest module and may use the current state of the applications and any input information from level of interest module to manipulate the TCP flows per application and can increase the throughput of more TCP flows deemed more important and reduce TCP flows for applications which were deemed to have less important TCP flows, section 0029 Das) and increase TCP data throughput in the link in accordance with the channel conditions of the wireless channel (see, round trip delay or RTT is directly proportional to the throughput of any given TCP flow, increasing the overall RTT by delaying acknowledgement packets may effectively reduce the TCP throughput of an application relative to the other TCP flows on the link thus it can be assumed that the opposite of decreasing the overall RTT by delaying acknowledgement packets may effectively increase the TCP throughput, section 0041 Das; noted, values applied to the RTT based on equations, sections 0035-0038 Das), wherein the channel conditions comprise a channel usage below a channel usage threshold (see, ME may modify one or more aspects of flows associated with the one or more applications, section 0035 Das; noted, process may be not invoked if the one or more applications running on the ME use less than a threshold value of available bandwidth from a network, section 0034 Das; noted, ME may modify the TCP flows by prioritizing processing of the TCP flow associated with an active application where any TCP flows not associated with the active application may be delayed where the delay may be achieved by applying a value to the round trip time (RTT) for outbound acknowledgements for TCP flows not associated with the active application, section 0035 Das) for increasing the TCP data throughput in the link (see, round trip delay or RTT is directly proportional to the throughput of any given TCP flow, increasing the overall RTT by delaying acknowledgement packets may effectively reduce the TCP throughput of an application relative to the other TCP flows on the link thus it can be assumed that the opposite of decreasing the overall RTT by delaying acknowledgement packets may effectively increase the TCP throughput, section 0041 Das; noted, values applied to the RTT based on equations, sections 0035-0038 Das); modifying, associated with the target RTT, one or more transmit parameters of the wireless communication device to increase the TCP data throughput in the link (see, round trip delay or RTT is directly proportional to the throughput of any given TCP flow, increasing the overall RTT by delaying acknowledgement packets may effectively reduce the TCP throughput of an application relative to the other TCP flows on the link thus it can be assumed that the opposite of decreasing the overall RTT by delaying acknowledgement packets may effectively increase the TCP throughput, section 0041 Das; noted, values applied to the RTT based on equations, sections 0035-0038 Das); and outputting TCP data of the TCP flow according to the one or more modified transmit parameters.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the wireless communication of Dhanabalan with the TCP flow as taught by Das. The motivation would have been to modify transport flow associated with at least one of the one or more applications.
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), Dhanabalan discloses a method for wireless communication by a wireless communication device (see, appliance is a device that optimizes wide area network (WAN) traffic such as a quality of service (“QoS”) engine for local area network (LAN) traffic, metropolitan area network (MAN) traffic, or wireless network traffic, section 0018; noted, network interface can be wireless, section 0029), comprising: obtaining an indication of channel conditions of a wireless channel (see, one or more TCP controllers can be configured to send and receive flow information from TCP module, and/or QoS engine, section 0036; noted, TCP characteristics includes information of packets such as packet round trop times and packet loss rate for a data flow, section 0034; noted, TCP characteristic can include a plurality of information such as, for example, flow priorities for one or more TCP flows, packet round trip times and/or the packet loss rate for a particular data flow, an average queuing delay and/or bandwidth delay product for the packets sent and received across a particular link, receive window drop information, and/or other receive window information such as receive window size, a queue threshold, and buffer memory size, section 0049) supporting a link between the wireless communication device and a second wireless communication device (see, first appliance works in conjunction with or cooperation with a second appliance to optimize network traffic, section 0018), wherein the link conveys a transfer control protocol (TCP) flow comprising a TCP round trip time (RTT) (see, TCP characteristic, includes a plurality of information such as packet round trip times and/or the packet loss rate for a particular data flow, section 0034) to the second wireless communication device (see, first appliance works in conjunction with or cooperation with a second appliance to optimize network traffic, section 0018); selecting a target RTT of the TCP flow to reduce the TCP RTT increase TCP data throughput in the link in accordance with the channel conditions of the wireless channel (see, QoS engine can select a TCP flavor suitable for avoiding TCP traffic congestion on the one or more flow, section 0031), wherein the channel conditions comprise a channel usage below a channel usage threshold (see, TCP controller monitoring the TCP packet queue for early detection of a resource crunch (e.g., an over-use of system resources including memory, CPU usage, etc.) which is avoided by a flow priority of TCP connections and TCP characteristics by slowing the least priority TCP traffic below the usage limit, section 0046) for increasing the TCP data throughput in the link; modifying, associated with the target RTT, one or more transmit parameters of the wireless communication device (see, TCP module can determine one or more TCP characteristics of the flow based on the stored data, section 0034; noted, TCP characteristic, includes a plurality of information such as packet round trip times and/or the packet loss rate for a particular data flow, section 0034; noted, TCP characteristics can be derived from a sampled list of previously seen long-lived TCP links by recording the congestion related parameters for each sampled flow, section 0044) to increase the TCP data throughput in the link; and transmitting TCP data of the TCP flow over the wireless channel to the second wireless communication device according to the one or more modified transmit parameters (see, flow is active when packets are being sent and received across a TCP link where the TCP is modified by TCP characteristics, section 0042; noted, first appliance works in conjunction with or cooperation with a second appliance to optimize network traffic, section 0018).
Dhanabalan discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: selecting a target RTT of the TCP flow to reduce the TCP RTT increase TCP data throughput in the link in accordance with the channel conditions of the wireless channel (see, QoS engine can select a TCP flavor suitable for avoiding TCP traffic congestion on the one or more flow, section 0031), wherein the channel conditions comprise a channel usage below a channel usage threshold (see, TCP controller monitoring the TCP packet queue for early detection of a resource crunch (e.g., an over-use of system resources including memory, CPU usage, etc.) which is avoided by a flow priority of TCP connections and TCP characteristics by slowing the least priority TCP traffic below the usage limit, section 0046) for increasing the TCP data throughput in the link; modifying, associated with the target RTT, one or more transmit parameters of the wireless communication device (see, TCP module can determine one or more TCP characteristics of the flow based on the stored data, section 0034; noted, TCP characteristic, includes a plurality of information such as packet round trip times and/or the packet loss rate for a particular data flow, section 0034; noted, TCP characteristics can be derived from a sampled list of previously seen long-lived TCP links by recording the congestion related parameters for each sampled flow, section 0044) to increase the TCP data throughput in the link; and transmitting TCP data of the TCP flow over the wireless channel to the second wireless communication device according to the one or more modified transmit parameters (see, flow is active when packets are being sent and received across a TCP link where the TCP is modified by TCP characteristics, section 0042; noted, first appliance works in conjunction with or cooperation with a second appliance to optimize network traffic, section 0018).
However, Das from a similar field of endeavor discloses: selecting a target RTT of the TCP flow (see, target RTT for priority flows through formulations, sections 0035-0038 Das) to reduce the TCP RTT (see, flow modification module may be in communication with level of interest module and may use the current state of the applications and any input information from level of interest module to manipulate the TCP flows per application and can increase the throughput of more TCP flows deemed more important and reduce TCP flows for applications which were deemed to have less important TCP flows, section 0029 Das) increase TCP data throughput in the link in accordance with the channel conditions of the wireless channel (see, round trip delay or RTT is directly proportional to the throughput of any given TCP flow, increasing the overall RTT by delaying acknowledgement packets may effectively reduce the TCP throughput of an application relative to the other TCP flows on the link thus it can be assumed that the opposite of decreasing the overall RTT by delaying acknowledgement packets may effectively increase the TCP throughput, section 0041 Das; noted, values applied to the RTT based on equations, sections 0035-0038 Das), wherein the channel conditions comprise a channel usage below a channel usage threshold (see, ME may modify one or more aspects of flows associated with the one or more applications, section 0035 Das; noted, process may be not invoked if the one or more applications running on the ME use less than a threshold value of available bandwidth from a network, section 0034 Das; noted, ME may modify the TCP flows by prioritizing processing of the TCP flow associated with an active application where any TCP flows not associated with the active application may be delayed where the delay may be achieved by applying a value to the round trip time (RTT) for outbound acknowledgements for TCP flows not associated with the active application, section 0035 Das) for increasing the TCP data throughput in the link (see, round trip delay or RTT is directly proportional to the throughput of any given TCP flow, increasing the overall RTT by delaying acknowledgement packets may effectively reduce the TCP throughput of an application relative to the other TCP flows on the link thus it can be assumed that the opposite of decreasing the overall RTT by delaying acknowledgement packets may effectively increase the TCP throughput, section 0041 Das; noted, values applied to the RTT based on equations, sections 0035-0038 Das); modifying, associated with the target RTT, one or more transmit parameters of the wireless communication device to increase the TCP data throughput in the link (see, round trip delay or RTT is directly proportional to the throughput of any given TCP flow, increasing the overall RTT by delaying acknowledgement packets may effectively reduce the TCP throughput of an application relative to the other TCP flows on the link thus it can be assumed that the opposite of decreasing the overall RTT by delaying acknowledgement packets may effectively increase the TCP throughput, section 0041 Das; noted, values applied to the RTT based on equations, sections 0035-0038 Das); and transmitting TCP data of the TCP flow over the wireless channel to the second wireless communication device according to the one or more modified transmit parameters.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the wireless communication of Dhanabalan with the TCP flow as taught by Das. The motivation would have been to modify transport flow associated with at least one of the one or more applications.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhanabalan et al. US 20170070444 A1 (Domestic Priority September 4, 2015) in view of Das et al. US 20120265897 A1 (Domestic Priority April 15, 2011), and in further view of Merlin et al. US 20160198500 A1 (Domestic Priority January 7, 2015).
The combination of Dhanabalan and Das discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 2 (Original), the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the modifying the one or more transmit parameters includes reducing a transmission opportunity (TXOP) duration of the wireless communication device.
However, Merlin from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the modifying the one or more transmit parameters includes reducing a transmission opportunity (TXOP) duration of the wireless communication device (see, the EDCA parameters to be used by the STA for contention may be a function of the frequency and duration of the granted UL MU TXOP where the first set of EDCA parameters may have a shorter TXOP limit than the second set of EDCA parameters or a larger minimum or maximum contention window than the second set of EDCA parameters and the STA may choose to expedite the contention by resetting the contention window size, decreasing the contention window size, or maintaining the current contention window size, sections 0102-0109 Merlin).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan and Das with the parameters of Merlin. The motivation would have been to address the issue of increasing bandwidth requirements that are demanded for wireless communications systems.
Claim(s) 3, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhanabalan et al. US 20170070444 A1 (Domestic Priority September 4, 2015) in view of Das et al. US 20120265897 A1 (Domestic Priority April 15, 2011), and in further view of Sivaraj et al. US 20200195539 A1 (Domestic Priority December 14, 2018).
The combination of Dhanabalan and Das discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 3 (Original), the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the modifying the one or more transmit parameters includes reducing a transmission (TX) aggregation delay of the wireless communication device.
However, Sivaraj from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the modifying the one or more transmit parameters includes reducing a transmission (TX) aggregation delay of the wireless communication device (see, reduction of higher TCP latency results from TCP round trip time (RTT) by modifying channel conditions to prevent TCP response time-outs, sections 0043-0044 Sivaraj).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan and Das with the reduction of higher TCP latency results of Sivaraj. The motivation would have been to predict and reduce latency experienced in wireless communication systems.
The combination of Dhanabalan and Das discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 10 (Original), the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is capable of, associated with the target RTT, selecting a transmission opportunity (TXOP) duration for the wireless communication device.
However, Sivaraj from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is capable of, associated with the target RTT (fig. 12, the MAC layer allocates PRBs to the UE across certain TTIs and sends a “Transmission (Tx) opportunity” to the RLC layer with the recommended Transport Block Size (TBS), section 0069 Sivaraj, 0078-lower RTT values), selecting a transmission opportunity (TXOP) duration for the wireless communication device (fig. 12, the MAC layer allocates PRBs to the UE across certain TTIs and sends a “Transmission (Tx) opportunity” to the RLC layer with the recommended Transport Block Size (TBS), sections 0069-0072 Sivaraj).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan and Das with the reduction of higher TCP latency results of Sivaraj. The motivation would have been to predict and reduce latency experienced in wireless communication systems.
The combination of Dhanabalan and Das discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 11 (Original), the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is capable of, subsequent to transmitting the TCP data of the TCP flow over the wireless link to the second wireless communication device according to the one or more modified transmit parameters, associated with an increase in a utilization level of the wireless channel, reverting at least one of the one or more modified transmit parameters to a previous value.
However, Sivaraj from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is capable of, subsequent to transmitting the TCP data of the TCP flow over the wireless link (see, outputting the latency guidance data to facilitate the reduction in the communication latency experienced by the user equipment in the wireless network, section 0091; noted, TCP RTT correlate with RAN latencies, section 0055 Sivaraj) to the second wireless communication device (see, TCP server transmits a TCP packet to the client UE in the downlink where the UE can be seen as the second device, section 0044 Sivaraj) according to the one or more modified transmit parameters (see, latency guidance data adjusting a content output variable applicable to content being transmitted to the user equipment where the latency guidance data to the user equipment can be used in modifying requests for content, section 0082-0083, 0086-0087 Sivaraj), associated with an increase in a utilization level of the wireless channel (see, varying payload size and inter-packet gap changes traffic rates, section 0048 Sivaraj), reverting at least one of the one or more modified transmit parameters (see, latency guidance data adjusting a content output variable applicable to content being transmitted to the user equipment where the latency guidance data to the user equipment can be used in modifying requests for content, section 0082-0083, 0086-0087 Sivaraj) to a previous value (see, the TCP congestion window may repeatedly enters a slow start phase if higher TCP latency results from TCP round trip time (RTT) are detected per RTT, but ends repeating phase where TCP congestion window consistently grows, section 0044 Sivaraj).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan and Das with the reduction of higher TCP latency results of Sivaraj. The motivation would have been to predict and reduce latency experienced in wireless communication systems.
The combination of Dhanabalan and Das discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 12 (Original), The wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication device is an access point (AP) of a wireless local area network (WLAN), and the second wireless communication device is a station (STA) of the WLAN.
However, Sivaraj from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication device is an access point (AP) of a wireless local area network (WLAN) (fig. 21, the software trigger component 2138 can be provided that facilitates triggering of the hysteresis component 2136 when the Wi-Fi transceiver 2113 detects the beacon of the access point., sections 0047,0106 Sivaraj), and the second wireless communication device is a station (STA) of the WLAN (see, devices are connected to a UE on a WLAN, sections 0047,0106 Sivaraj).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan and Das with the reduction of higher TCP latency results of Sivaraj. The motivation would have been to predict and reduce latency experienced in wireless communication systems.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhanabalan et al. US 20170070444 A1 (Domestic Priority September 4, 2015) in view of Das et al. US 20120265897 A1 (Domestic Priority April 15, 2011), and in further view of Dai et al. US 20140079016 A1 (Domestic Priority November 12, 2010).
The combination of Dhanabalan and Das discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 4 (Original), the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the modifying the one or more transmit parameters includes modifying one or more enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters of the wireless communication device.
However, Dai from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the modifying the one or more transmit parameters includes modifying one or more enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters of the wireless communication device (see, enhanced distributed channel access functions may modify parameters to change priority, sections 0201 Dai).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan and Das with the enhanced distributed channel access functions of Dai. The motivation would have been to improve bandwidth-demanding wireless applications.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhanabalan et al. US 20170070444 A1 (Domestic Priority September 4, 2015) in view of Das et al. US 20120265897 A1 (Domestic Priority April 15, 2011), and in further view of Dai et al. US 20140079016 A1 (Domestic Priority November 12, 2010) of claim 4, and in further view of Merlin et al. US 20160198500 A1 (Domestic Priority January 7, 2015).
The combination of Dhanabalan, Das, and Dai disclose all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 5 (Original), the wireless communication device of claim 4, wherein the modifying one or more EDCA parameters of the wireless communication device includes increasing a minimum contention window size.
However, Merlin from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless communication device of claim 4, wherein the modifying one or more EDCA parameters of the wireless communication device (see, the access point may generate one or more frames to indicate a set of EDCA parameters, sections 0097-0102, 0109 Merlin) includes increasing a minimum contention window size (see, the access point may generate one or more frames to indicate a first and second set of EDCA parameters such that the first set of EDCA parameters have a larger minimum or maximum contention window than the second set of EDCA parameters, sections 0097-0102, 0109 Merlin).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan, Das, and Dai with the parameters of Merlin. The motivation would have been to address the issue of increasing bandwidth requirements that are demanded for wireless communications systems.
The combination of Dhanabalan, Das, and Dai disclose all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 6 (Original), the wireless communication device of claim 4, wherein the modifying one or more EDCA parameters of the wireless communication device includes increasing a maximum contention window size.
However, Merlin from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless communication device of claim 4, wherein the modifying one or more EDCA parameters of the wireless communication device (see, providers have parameters such as contention window sizes, backoff window sizes, and other thresholds where providers use EDCA access rules, sections 0064 Merlin; noted, the adjusting of a set of EDCA parameters in response to detecting one or more conditions, section 0087 Merlin) includes increasing a maximum contention window size (see, the selection of different window sizes that are randomly generated to fit the need of the provider, sections 0078-0087 Merlin).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan, Das, and Dai with the parameters of Merlin. The motivation would have been to address the issue of increasing bandwidth requirements that are demanded for wireless communications systems.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhanabalan et al. US 20170070444 A1 (Domestic Priority September 4, 2015) in view of Das et al. US 20120265897 A1 (Domestic Priority April 15, 2011), and in further view of Yang et al. US 20180176136 A1 (Domestic Priority December 19, 2016).
The combination of Dhanabalan and Das discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 7 (Original), the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is capable of selecting the target RTT according to a bytes-in-flight of the TCP flow.
However, Yang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is capable of selecting the target RTT according to a bytes-in-flight of the TCP flow (see, the comparison of bandwidth-delay product (BDP) and congestion windows size (CWND) which is the optimal value of BDP when data bytes are in flight between TCP server and TCP client and the formula of BDP=BW * RTT where RTT is the TCP round trip time, sections 0020-0021 Yang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan and Das with the use of bytes-in-flight of Yang. The motivation would have been to improve and enhance TCP bufferbloat resolution.
The combination of Dhanabalan and Das discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 8 (Original), the wireless communication device of claim 7, wherein the processing system is capable of selecting the target RTT according to the bytes-in-flight of the TCP flow and a physical layer communication rate of the second wireless communication device.
However, Yang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless communication device of claim 7, wherein the processing system is capable of selecting the target RTT according to the bytes-in-flight of the TCP flow (see, the comparison of bandwidth-delay product (BDP) and congestion windows size (CWND) which is the optimal value of BDP when data bytes are in flight between TCP server and TCP client and the formula of BDP=BW * RTT where RTT is the TCP round trip time, sections 0020-0021 Yang) and a physical layer communication rate of the second wireless communication device (see, TCP sender detects congestion signal such as excessive TCP round trip time (RTT), the sender will decrease CWND size and thus reduce the sending rate of TCP segments, sections 0020-0021 Yang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan and Das with the use of bytes-in-flight of Yang. The motivation would have been to improve and enhance TCP bufferbloat resolution.
The combination of Dhanabalan and Das discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 9 (Original), the wireless communication device of claim 7, wherein the processing system is capable of obtaining an indication of the bytes-in-flight of the TCP flow from a device driver.
However, Yang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless communication device of claim 7, wherein the processing system is capable of obtaining an indication of the bytes-in-flight of the TCP flow (see, TCP sender sends only a few segments to the network to probe the bandwidth of the congestion windows size (CWND) and if successful, receives a TCP ACK in response, also CWND is the maximum number of bytes that can be transmitted to the network, sections 0020-0021 Yang) from a device driver (see, TCP server receiving feedback information from TCP client, section 0028 Yang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan and Das with the use of bytes-in-flight of Yang. The motivation would have been to improve and enhance TCP bufferbloat resolution.
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhanabalan et al. US 20170070444 A1 (Domestic Priority September 4, 2015) in view of Das et al. US 20120265897 A1 (Domestic Priority April 15, 2011), and in further view of Shihada et al. US 20140140209 A1 (Domestic Priority March 20, 2011).
The combination of Dhanabalan and Das discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 14 (Original), the method of claim 13, further comprising, associated with a utilization level of the wireless channel, checking a medium access control service data unit (MSDU) queue for a presence of MSDUs associated with TCP flows.
However, Shihada from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 13, further comprising, associated with a utilization level of the wireless channel, checking a medium access control service data unit (MSDU) queue for a presence of MSDUs associated with TCP flows (fig. 8, 9, a single A-MPDU can contain K TCP segments where A-MPDU can aggregate several A-MSDUs where aggregates may be as big as 1 MB which makes small buffers infeasible and require varying queue size, sections 0051-0052, 0093 Shihada).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan and Das with the MSDU queue of MSDUs of Shihada. The motivation would have been to improve the buffering of data when routing data in networks.
The combination of Dhanabalan and Das discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 15 (Original), the method of claim 14, further comprising, associated with a presence in the MSDU queue of MSDUs associated with the TCP flow.
However, Shihada from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claim 15, the method of claim 14, further comprising, associated with a presence in the MSDU queue of MSDUs associated with the TCP flow (fig. 8, 9, a single A-MPDU can contain K TCP segments where A-MPDU can aggregate several A-MSDUs, sections 0051-0052, 0093 Shihada), selecting the target RTT (fig. 7, large buffers can affect the queuing and therefore RTT values that are available to use, sections 0050, 0055-0057 Shihada).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan and Das with the MSDU queue of MSDUs of Shihada. The motivation would have been to improve the buffering of data when routing data in networks.
The combination of Dhanabalan and Das discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 16 (Original), the method of claim 14, further comprising, associated with a number of times per second that the MSDU queue becomes empty, checking the MSDU queue for bursty traffic.
However, Shihada from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 14, further comprising, associated with a number of times per second that the MSDU queue becomes empty (see, in 802.11n standard frame aggregation for queue draining time, the rates can be as 600 Mb/s until the buffer is emptied where frame aggregation includes A-MSDUs, sections 0051 Shihada), checking the MSDU queue for bursty traffic (see, bursty traffic can be seen with as a loss of packets while waits for a time interval during a congestion avoidance phase, section 0079 Shihada).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan and Das with the MSDU queue of MSDUs of Shihada. The motivation would have been to improve the buffering of data when routing data in networks.
The combination of Dhanabalan and Das discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 17 (Original), the method of claim 16, further comprising, associated with finding bursty traffic associated with a non-TCP flow in the MSDU queue, increasing an aggregation delay for MSDUs comprising data of the non-TCP flow.
However, Shihada from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 16, further comprising, associated with finding bursty traffic associated with a non-TCP flow in the MSDU queue (see, bursty traffic can be seen with as a loss of packets while waits for a time interval during a congestion avoidance phase, section 0079 Shihada), increasing an aggregation delay for MSDUs comprising data of the non-TCP flow (see, frame aggregation in the 802.11n standard can include long queuing delays where frame aggregation includes A-MSDUs, sections 0049-0053 Shihada).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan and Das with the MSDU queue of MSDUs of Shihada. The motivation would have been to improve the buffering of data when routing data in networks.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhanabalan et al. US 20170070444 A1 (Domestic Priority September 4, 2015) in view of Das et al. US 20120265897 A1 (Domestic Priority April 15, 2011), and in further view of Shihada et al. US 20140140209 A1 (Domestic Priority March 20, 2011) of claim 17, and in further view of Sivaraj et al. US 20200195539 A1 (Domestic Priority December 14, 2018).
The combination of Dhanabalan, Das, and Shihada discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 18 (Original), the method of claim 17, wherein the non-TCP flow comprises a user datagram protocol (UDP) flow.
However, Sivaraj from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 17, wherein the non-TCP flow comprises a user datagram protocol (UDP) flow (see, finite-buffer UDP data stream for each load UE, section 0048 Sivaraj).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan, Das, and Shihada with the reduction of higher TCP latency results of Sivaraj. The motivation would have been to predict and reduce latency experienced in wireless communication systems.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhanabalan et al. US 20170070444 A1 (Domestic Priority September 4, 2015) in view of Das et al. US 20120265897 A1 (Domestic Priority April 15, 2011), and in further view of Shihada et al. US 20140140209 A1 (Domestic Priority March 20, 2011) of claim 17, and in further view of Dai et al. US 20140079016 A1 (Domestic Priority November 12, 2010).
The combination of Dhanabalan, Das, and Shihada disclose all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 19 (Original), the method of claim 17, wherein the non-TCP flow comprises traffic associated with an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) voice (VO) access category (AC).
However, Dai from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 17, wherein the non-TCP flow (figs. 37A, 37B, MAC layer architecture 3700 may distribute frames over a plurality of parallel PHY channels, sections 0197-0200 Dai) comprises traffic (see, once a MAC service data unit (MSDU) frame from the upper layer is received, the MAC layer may examine the user priority of the frame which may be mapped to access category values, section 0200 Dai) associated with an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) voice (VO) access category (AC) (see, the four AC types, listed with priorities from high to low, may include: AC_VO (voice), AC_VI (video), AC_BE (best effort) and AC_BK (background), sections 0200, 0301 Dai).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan, Das, and Shihada with the enhanced distributed channel access functions of Dai. The motivation would have been to improve bandwidth-demanding wireless applications.
The combination of Dhanabalan, Das, and Shihada disclose all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 20 (Original), the method of claim 17, wherein the non-TCP flow comprises traffic associated with an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) video (VI) access category (AC).
However, Dai from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 17, wherein the non-TCP flow (figs. 37A, 37B, MAC layer architecture 3700 may distribute frames over a plurality of parallel PHY channels, sections 0197-0200 Dai) comprises traffic (see, once a MAC service data unit (MSDU) frame from the upper layer is received, the MAC layer may examine the user priority of the frame which may be mapped to access category values, section 0200 Dai) associated with an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) video (VI) access category (AC) (see, the four AC types, listed with priorities from high to low, may include: AC_VO (voice), AC_VI (video), AC_BE (best effort) and AC_BK (background), sections 0200, 0301 Dai).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Dhanabalan, Das, and Shihada with the enhanced distributed channel access functions of Dai. The motivation would have been to improve bandwidth-demanding wireless applications.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473