DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 14-22 are pending. Claims 5 and 13 are canceled. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, 12, 14-18, and 20 are amended. Claims 3, 11, and 19 are original. Claims 21-22 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments regarding the rejection of claims 8 and 16 under 35 USC 112(b), while a torque requirement implies a defined torque, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree of a “high torque”, and therefore the claims are still indefinite.
In response to arguments that the cited prior art does not disclose the amended recitations of independent claims 1, 9, and 17, it is submitted that the term “current fluctuation” is subjective and could potentially be rejected under 35 USC 112(b), as the level of current deviation which would define a “fluctuation” has not been disclosed in the instant specification. Primary reference SLEPCHENKOV discloses the nodes measure current of the smart battery cells, including determining when the current is higher or lower than other cells, and therefore discloses determining a “current fluctuation” within the broadest reasonable interpretation. Also, SLEPCHENKOV discloses the control of the system is distributed between the various local control devices 114, which are interpreted as reading on the claimed “secondary nodes”, said local control devices 114 each for controlling a respective phase/string as shown at least in the example of Figure 10C and the corresponding disclosure. One of ordinary skill would recognize the control of the three phase output of SLEPCHENKOV is based on pulse width modulation and feedback on the current of the cells, and the control will “initiate” and “coordinate” the pulse width modulation amongst the secondary nodes of the phases/strings based on the detected current. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would recognize how to control the pulse width modulation of SLEPCHENKOV based on a torque request as disclosed in secondary reference JAENSCH. Newly found reference SRINIVASAN is relied upon to teach the amended recitation “the duty cycle is selected to generate a defined balance between noise and efficiency”. It is submitted that the combination of SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH teaches the smart cell modulator of claim 1, the method of claim 9, and the computer program product of claim 17 as described in the rejection below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because many of the drawings are blurry and contain text that is difficult to read (see for example, Figures 5A, 5B, 9, 25, etc.). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high” in claim 8, line 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the “respective individual voltages” are rendered indefinite.
The term “high” in claim 16, line 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the “respective individual voltages” are rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SLEPCHENKOV (US PG Pub 2021/0316637; cited in previous office action) in view of SRINIVASAN (US PG Pub 2022/0234451) and JAENSCH (US PG Pub 2019/0288535; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, SLEPCHENKOV discloses a smart cell modulator (100, Fig. 1C; ¶ 0052: module-based energy system 100), comprising:
a set of smart battery cells (108, Figs. 2A and 10A; each module 108 includes an energy source 206 as shown in Figure 2A; ¶ 0075: Energy source 206 can be an electrochemical battery, such as a single battery cell or multiple battery cells connected together in a battery module or array; ¶ 0060: Control system 102 is configured to control one or more modules 108 based on status information; ¶ 0061: Status information of every module 108 in system 100 can be communicated to control system 102; ¶ 0081: Module 108 can also include monitor circuitry 208 configured to monitor (e.g., collect, sense, measure, and/or determine) one or more aspects of module 108 and/or the components thereof, such as voltage, current, temperature or other operating parameters that constitute status information (or can be used to determine status information by, e.g., LCD 114)…. In some embodiments, monitor circuitry 208 can be part of or shared with a Battery Management System (BMS) for a battery energy source 204; ¶ 0164: Electronics specific to the battery, e.g., such as a battery management system (BMS), can be located with the battery module; since each module includes a battery management system, provides status information, and receives control information, each module can be considered a “smart battery cell”), wherein the set of smart battery cells comprises a group of strings (¶ 0134: FIG. 10A is a block diagram depicting an example embodiment of a system 100 capable of producing Ω-phase power with Ω arrays 700-PA through 700-PΩ; ¶ 0144: subsystem 1000-1 is configured to supply three-phase power, PA, PB, and PC, to a first load (not shown) by way of system I/O ports SIO1, SIO2, and SIO3; in the examples of paragraphs 0134 and 0144, each string corresponds to a phase), wherein each string comprises a distinct subset of battery cells of the set (each string comprises a plurality of cells 108 as shown in Figs. 10A and 10C), wherein each string comprises at least one secondary node (114, Figs. 1C, 2A, and 10B) that respectively controls one or more battery cells of the subset (¶ 0126: FIG. 9A is a block diagram depicting an example embodiment of an array controller 900 of control system 102 for a single-phase AC or DC array... Array controller 900 can receive a reference voltage waveform (Vr) and status information about each of the N modules 108 in the array (e.g., state of charge (SOCi), temperature (Ti), capacity (Qi), and voltage (Vi)) as inputs, and generate a normalized reference voltage waveform (Vrn) and modulation indexes (Mi) as outputs. Peak detector 902 detects the peak (Vpk) of Vr, which can be specific to the phase that controller 900 is operating with and/or balancing. Divider 904 generates Vrn by dividing Vr by its detected Vpk. Intraphase balance controller 906 uses Vpk along with the status information (e.g., SOCi, Ti, Qi, Vi, etc.) to generate modulation indexes Mi for each module 108 within the array 700 being controlled; ¶ 0127: The modulation indexes and Vrn can be used to generate the switching signals for each converter 202…MCD 112 outputting Vrn and Mi to the appropriate LCDs 114 for modulation and switch signal generation; ¶ 0132: Controllers 900…can be implemented…distributed partially or fully among LCDs 114; ¶ 0138: LCD 114 can be configured to receive the normalized voltage reference signal (Vrn) (from MCD 112) for each of the one or more arrays 700 that module 108IC is coupled to, e.g., VrnPA through VrnPΩ. LCD 114 can also receive modulation indexes MiPA through MiPΩ for the switch units 604-PA through 604-PΩ for each array 700, respectively, from MCD 112. LCD 114 can modulate (e.g., multiply) each respective Vrn with the modulation index for the switch section coupled directly to that array (e.g., VrnA multiplied by MiA) and then utilize a carrier signal to generate the control signal(s) for each switch unit 604); and
a controller (102, Fig. 1A) that operates to selectively engage one or more secondary nodes (114, Figs. 1C, 2A, and 10B) of each string of the group of strings (¶ 0063: MCD 112 can then use the status information of modules 108 to make control determinations accordingly. The determinations may take the form of instructions, commands, or other information (such as a modulation index described herein) that can be utilized by LCDs 114 to either maintain or adjust the operation of each module 108; ¶ 0067: MCD 112 can communicate control information to LCD 114 for the purpose of controlling the modules 108 associated with the LCD 114; ¶ 0055: Each LCD 114 can be coupled with and control two or more modules 108; ¶ 0107: LCD 114 can receive control information (e.g., a modulation index, synchronization signal) from MCD 112 and use this control information to generate switch signals for converter 202 that manage the utilization of the source 206; ¶ 0113: Each array 700 is one-dimensional, formed by a series connection of N modules 108) to circulate a load (101, Fig. 1A; ¶ 0053: Load 101 can be any type of load such as a motor) across one or more smart battery cells of the set of smart battery cells (¶ 0060: Control system 102 is configured to control one or more modules 108 based on status information received from the same or different one or more of modules 108. Control can also be based on one or more other factors, such as requirements of load 101. Controllable aspects include, but are not limited to, one or more of voltage, current, phase, and/or output power of each module 108), wherein a secondary node of a string of the group of strings:
detects a current fluctuation from at least one smart battery cell of the string (¶ 0062: status information can be information about one or more aspects, characteristics, or parameters of each module 108. Types of status information include, but are not limited to…current of the one or more energy sources and/or other components of the module; ¶ 0064: MCD 112 may receive status information and assess that information to determine a difference between at least one module 108 (e.g., a component thereof) and at least one or more other modules 108 (e.g., comparable components thereof). For example, MCD 112 may determine that a particular module 108 is operating with one of the following conditions as compared to one or more other modules 108:…with a relatively lower or higher current; ¶ 0081: Module 108 can also include monitor circuitry 208 configured to monitor (e.g., collect, sense, measure, and/or determine) one or more aspects of module 108 and/or the components thereof, such as…current), and in response to detecting the current fluctuation:
initiates a smart battery cell of the string to run pulse width modulation to output a duty cycle (pulse width modulation (PWM) inherently implies a duty cycle, as the duty cycle is the primary parameter that defines a PWM signal) for the subset of smart battery cells of the strings to employ to generate a defined voltage for a distinct phase associated with the string, (¶ 0091: The control or switch signals for the embodiments of converter 202 described herein can be generated in different ways depending on the control technique utilized by system 100 to generate the output voltage of converter 202. In some embodiments, the control technique is a PWM technique such as space vector pulse-width modulation (SVPWM) or sinusoidal pulse-width modulation (SPWM), or variations thereof. FIG. 8A is a graph of voltage versus time depicting an example of an output voltage waveform 802 of converter 202. For ease of description, the embodiments herein will be described in the context of a PWM control technique; ¶ 0096: A coupling inductor LC is connected between port IO5 and a node1 present between switches S1 and S2 such that switch portion 602A is a bidirectional converter that can regulate (boost or buck) voltage (or inversely current). Switch portion 602A can generate two different voltages at node1, which are +V.sub.DCL2 and 0, referenced to port IO2, which can be at virtual zero potential. The current drawn from or input to energy source 202B can be controlled by regulating the voltage on coupling inductor LC, using, for example, a pulse-width modulation technique or a hysteresis control method for commutating switches S1 and S2; ¶ 0109: To control and protect converter 202, LCD 114 can receive the control information from MCD 112 (e.g., a modulated reference signal, or a reference signal and a modulation index), which can be used with a PWM technique in LCD 114 to generate the control signals for each switch (e.g., S1 through S6). LCD 114 can receive a current feedback signal from a current sensor of converter 202, which can be used for overcurrent protection together with one or more fault status signals from driver circuits (not shown) of the converter switches, which can carry information about fault statuses (e.g., short circuit or open circuit failure modes) of all switches of converter 202. Based on this data, LCD 114 can make a decision on which combination of switching signals to be applied to manage utilization of module 108, and potentially bypass or disconnect converter 202 (and the entire module 108) from system 100; ¶ 0119: control of system 100 can be performed according to various methodologies, such as hysteresis or PWM. Several examples of PWM include space vector modulation and sine pulse width modulation, where the switching signals for converter 202 are generated with a phase shifted carrier technique that continuously rotates utilization of each module 108 to equally distribute power among them; ¶ 0120: resulting two-level PWM waveforms are shown in FIG. 8E. These two-level waveforms may be used as the switching signals for semiconductor switches (e.g., S1 though S6) of converters 202. As an example with reference to FIG. 8E, for a one-dimensional array 700 including four modules 108 each with a converter 202, the 0° signal is for control of S3 and the 180° signal for S6 of the first module 108-1, the 45° signal is for S3 and the 225° signal for S6 of the second module 108-2, the 90 signal is for S3 and the 270 signal is for S6 of the third module 108-3, and the 135 signal is for S3 and the 315 signal is for S6 of the fourth module 108-4. The signal for S3 is complementary to S4 and the signal for S5 is complementary to S6 with sufficient dead-time to avoid shoot through of each half-bridge. FIG. 8F depicts an example single phase AC waveform produced by superposition (summation) of output voltages from the four modules 108), and
coordinates with a respective secondary node of each other string of the group of strings (¶ 0112: System 100 can provide multi-phase power (e.g., two-phase, three-phase, four-phase, five-phase, six-phase, etc.) to a load by use of multiple arrays 700, where each array can generate an AC output signal having a different phase angle; ¶ 0114: FIG. 7C is a block diagram depicting system 100 with three arrays 700-PA, 700-PB, and 700-PC coupled together. Each array 700 is one-dimensional, formed by a series connection of N modules 108. The three arrays 700-1 and 700-2 can each generate a single-phase AC signal, where the three AC signals have different phase angles PA, PB, PC (e.g., 120 degrees apart); the strings operating to output three-phase power implies the secondary nodes coordinate) to initiates a respective smart battery cell of the other string to run pulse width modulation to output a respective duty cycle for the subset of smart battery cells of the other strings to employ to generate a defined voltage for a respective distinct phase associated with the other strings (¶ 0091, 0096, 0109, 0119-0120: see above).
SLEPCHENKOV fails to disclose the duty cycle is selected to generate a defined balance between noise and efficiency; and the respective duty cycle is selected to generate the defined balance between noise and efficiency.
SRINIVASAN discloses the duty cycle is selected to generate a defined balance between noise and efficiency (abstract, ¶ 0001). It would be obvious to also select the respective duty cycle to generate a defined balance between noise and efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the duty cycle selected to generate a defined balance between noise and efficiency in order to maintain high levels of operating efficiency and economy (SRINIVASAM, ¶ 0006).
SLEPCHENKOV fails to disclose the circulating of the load across the one or more smart battery cells of the set of smart battery cells to increase torque of an electric motor based on a torque request.
JAENSCH discloses the circulating of the load (¶ 0033: three-phase electrical machine 208) across the one or more battery cells (¶ 0022: each energy module has at least one energy cell; ¶ 0032: a respective series or parallel interconnection of an energy module with at least one neighbor is changed in an intelligent battery pack 121, 122, 123 in such a way that the resulting terminal voltage of the intelligent battery pack results in a voltage level at the input of the inverter, which voltage level corresponds to the respective load demand on the electric motor. The schematic depictions of the intelligent battery pack 121, 122, 123 show that a number of parallel interconnections increases and, in the same way, a number of series interconnections decreases as the voltage level decreases) of the set of smart battery cells to provide a torque requirement of an electric motor based on a torque request (¶ 0033: the vehicle high-voltage control means 212 reports a torque requirement 224 to a motor controller 214. The motor controller 214 controls a torque of the three-phase electrical machine 208 by controlling 228 the output voltage of the inverter 216 based on the voltage value 226 which is provided by the intelligent battery pack. The three-phase inverter 216 shown here supplies a three-phase current to the three-phase electrical machine 208). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the disclosed torque requirements of JAENSCH may effectively increase the torque, and it would be obvious to modify the smart cell modulator of SLEPCHENKOV to include circulating the load based on torque requirements as disclosed in JAENSCH.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include increasing the torque in order to ensure desired and proper motor operation.
Regarding claim 4, SLEPCHENKOV discloses the group of strings comprises three strings, wherein the three strings generate a three-phase sine wave current that controls the electric motor (¶ 0068, 0114, 0181).
Regarding claim 9, SLEPCHENKOV discloses a computer-implemented method (¶ 0203: processing circuitry can be implemented, such as, but not limited to, personal computing architectures), comprising:
engaging, by a system (100, Fig. 1C; ¶ 0052: module-based energy system 100) operatively coupled to a processor (102, Fig. 1A), secondary nodes (114, Figs. 1C, 2A, and 10B) of a group of strings (¶ 0063: MCD 112 can then use the status information of modules 108 to make control determinations accordingly. The determinations may take the form of instructions, commands, or other information (such as a modulation index described herein) that can be utilized by LCDs 114 to either maintain or adjust the operation of each module 108; ¶ 0067: MCD 112 can communicate control information to LCD 114 for the purpose of controlling the modules 108 associated with the LCD 114; ¶ 0055: Each LCD 114 can be coupled with and control two or more modules 108; ¶ 0107: LCD 114 can receive control information (e.g., a modulation index, synchronization signal) from MCD 112 and use this control information to generate switch signals for converter 202 that manage the utilization of the source 206; ¶ 0113: Each array 700 is one-dimensional, formed by a series connection of N modules 108) to circulate a load (101, Fig. 1A; ¶ 0053: Load 101 can be any type of load such as a motor) across a set of smart battery cells (108, Figs. 2A and 10A; each module 108 includes an energy source 206 as shown in Figure 2A; ¶ 0075: Energy source 206 can be an electrochemical battery, such as a single battery cell or multiple battery cells connected together in a battery module or array; ¶ 0060: Control system 102 is configured to control one or more modules 108 based on status information; ¶ 0061: Status information of every module 108 in system 100 can be communicated to control system 102; ¶ 0081: Module 108 can also include monitor circuitry 208 configured to monitor (e.g., collect, sense, measure, and/or determine) one or more aspects of module 108 and/or the components thereof, such as voltage, current, temperature or other operating parameters that constitute status information (or can be used to determine status information by, e.g., LCD 114)…. In some embodiments, monitor circuitry 208 can be part of or shared with a Battery Management System (BMS) for a battery energy source 204; ¶ 0164: Electronics specific to the battery, e.g., such as a battery management system (BMS), can be located with the battery module; since each module includes a battery management system, provides status information, and receives control information, each module can be considered a “smart battery cell”; ¶ 0060: Control system 102 is configured to control one or more modules 108 based on status information received from the same or different one or more of modules 108. Control can also be based on one or more other factors, such as requirements of load 101. Controllable aspects include, but are not limited to, one or more of voltage, current, phase, and/or output power of each module 108), wherein the set of smart battery cells comprises the group of strings (¶ 0134: FIG. 10A is a block diagram depicting an example embodiment of a system 100 capable of producing Ω-phase power with Ω arrays 700-PA through 700-PΩ; ¶ 0144: subsystem 1000-1 is configured to supply three-phase power, PA, PB, and PC, to a first load (not shown) by way of system I/O ports SIO1, SIO2, and SIO3; in the examples of paragraphs 0134 and 0144, each string corresponds to a phase), wherein each string comprises a distinct subset of battery cells of the set (each string comprises a plurality of cells 108 as shown in Figs. 10A and 10C), wherein each string comprises at least one secondary node (114, Figs. 1C, 2A, and 10B) that respectively controls one or more battery cells of the subset (¶ 0126: FIG. 9A is a block diagram depicting an example embodiment of an array controller 900 of control system 102 for a single-phase AC or DC array... Array controller 900 can receive a reference voltage waveform (Vr) and status information about each of the N modules 108 in the array (e.g., state of charge (SOCi), temperature (Ti), capacity (Qi), and voltage (Vi)) as inputs, and generate a normalized reference voltage waveform (Vrn) and modulation indexes (Mi) as outputs. Peak detector 902 detects the peak (Vpk) of Vr, which can be specific to the phase that controller 900 is operating with and/or balancing. Divider 904 generates Vrn by dividing Vr by its detected Vpk. Intraphase balance controller 906 uses Vpk along with the status information (e.g., SOCi, Ti, Qi, Vi, etc.) to generate modulation indexes Mi for each module 108 within the array 700 being controlled; ¶ 0127: The modulation indexes and Vrn can be used to generate the switching signals for each converter 202…MCD 112 outputting Vrn and Mi to the appropriate LCDs 114 for modulation and switch signal generation; ¶ 0132: Controllers 900…can be implemented…distributed partially or fully among LCDs 114; ¶ 0138: LCD 114 can be configured to receive the normalized voltage reference signal (Vrn) (from MCD 112) for each of the one or more arrays 700 that module 108IC is coupled to, e.g., VrnPA through VrnPΩ. LCD 114 can also receive modulation indexes MiPA through MiPΩ for the switch units 604-PA through 604-PΩ for each array 700, respectively, from MCD 112. LCD 114 can modulate (e.g., multiply) each respective Vrn with the modulation index for the switch section coupled directly to that array (e.g., VrnA multiplied by MiA) and then utilize a carrier signal to generate the control signal(s) for each switch unit 604), wherein a secondary node of a string of the group of strings:
detects a current fluctuation from at least one smart battery cell of the string (¶ 0062: status information can be information about one or more aspects, characteristics, or parameters of each module 108. Types of status information include, but are not limited to…current of the one or more energy sources and/or other components of the module; ¶ 0064: MCD 112 may receive status information and assess that information to determine a difference between at least one module 108 (e.g., a component thereof) and at least one or more other modules 108 (e.g., comparable components thereof). For example, MCD 112 may determine that a particular module 108 is operating with one of the following conditions as compared to one or more other modules 108:…with a relatively lower or higher current; ¶ 0081: Module 108 can also include monitor circuitry 208 configured to monitor (e.g., collect, sense, measure, and/or determine) one or more aspects of module 108 and/or the components thereof, such as…current), and in response to detecting the current fluctuation:
initiates a smart battery cell of the string to run pulse width modulation to output a duty cycle (pulse width modulation (PWM) inherently implies a duty cycle, as the duty cycle is the primary parameter that defines a PWM signal) for the subset of smart battery cells of the strings to employ to generate a defined voltage for a distinct phase associated with the string, (¶ 0091: The control or switch signals for the embodiments of converter 202 described herein can be generated in different ways depending on the control technique utilized by system 100 to generate the output voltage of converter 202. In some embodiments, the control technique is a PWM technique such as space vector pulse-width modulation (SVPWM) or sinusoidal pulse-width modulation (SPWM), or variations thereof. FIG. 8A is a graph of voltage versus time depicting an example of an output voltage waveform 802 of converter 202. For ease of description, the embodiments herein will be described in the context of a PWM control technique; ¶ 0096: A coupling inductor LC is connected between port IO5 and a node1 present between switches S1 and S2 such that switch portion 602A is a bidirectional converter that can regulate (boost or buck) voltage (or inversely current). Switch portion 602A can generate two different voltages at node1, which are +V.sub.DCL2 and 0, referenced to port IO2, which can be at virtual zero potential. The current drawn from or input to energy source 202B can be controlled by regulating the voltage on coupling inductor LC, using, for example, a pulse-width modulation technique or a hysteresis control method for commutating switches S1 and S2; ¶ 0109: To control and protect converter 202, LCD 114 can receive the control information from MCD 112 (e.g., a modulated reference signal, or a reference signal and a modulation index), which can be used with a PWM technique in LCD 114 to generate the control signals for each switch (e.g., S1 through S6). LCD 114 can receive a current feedback signal from a current sensor of converter 202, which can be used for overcurrent protection together with one or more fault status signals from driver circuits (not shown) of the converter switches, which can carry information about fault statuses (e.g., short circuit or open circuit failure modes) of all switches of converter 202. Based on this data, LCD 114 can make a decision on which combination of switching signals to be applied to manage utilization of module 108, and potentially bypass or disconnect converter 202 (and the entire module 108) from system 100; ¶ 0119: control of system 100 can be performed according to various methodologies, such as hysteresis or PWM. Several examples of PWM include space vector modulation and sine pulse width modulation, where the switching signals for converter 202 are generated with a phase shifted carrier technique that continuously rotates utilization of each module 108 to equally distribute power among them; ¶ 0120: resulting two-level PWM waveforms are shown in FIG. 8E. These two-level waveforms may be used as the switching signals for semiconductor switches (e.g., S1 though S6) of converters 202. As an example with reference to FIG. 8E, for a one-dimensional array 700 including four modules 108 each with a converter 202, the 0° signal is for control of S3 and the 180° signal for S6 of the first module 108-1, the 45° signal is for S3 and the 225° signal for S6 of the second module 108-2, the 90 signal is for S3 and the 270 signal is for S6 of the third module 108-3, and the 135 signal is for S3 and the 315 signal is for S6 of the fourth module 108-4. The signal for S3 is complementary to S4 and the signal for S5 is complementary to S6 with sufficient dead-time to avoid shoot through of each half-bridge. FIG. 8F depicts an example single phase AC waveform produced by superposition (summation) of output voltages from the four modules 108), and
coordinates with a respective secondary node of each other string of the group of strings (¶ 0112: System 100 can provide multi-phase power (e.g., two-phase, three-phase, four-phase, five-phase, six-phase, etc.) to a load by use of multiple arrays 700, where each array can generate an AC output signal having a different phase angle; ¶ 0114: FIG. 7C is a block diagram depicting system 100 with three arrays 700-PA, 700-PB, and 700-PC coupled together. Each array 700 is one-dimensional, formed by a series connection of N modules 108. The three arrays 700-1 and 700-2 can each generate a single-phase AC signal, where the three AC signals have different phase angles PA, PB, PC (e.g., 120 degrees apart); the strings operating to output three-phase power implies the secondary nodes coordinate) to initiates a respective smart battery cell of the other string to run pulse width modulation to output a respective duty cycle for the subset of smart battery cells of the other strings to employ to generate a defined voltage for a respective distinct phase associated with the other strings (¶ 0091, 0096, 0109, 0119-0120: see above).
SLEPCHENKOV fails to disclose the duty cycle is selected to generate a defined balance between noise and efficiency; and the respective duty cycle is selected to generate the defined balance between noise and efficiency.
SRINIVASAN discloses the duty cycle is selected to generate a defined balance between noise and efficiency (abstract, ¶ 0001). It would be obvious to also select the respective duty cycle to generate a defined balance between noise and efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the duty cycle selected to generate a defined balance between noise and efficiency in order to maintain high levels of operating efficiency and economy (SRINIVASAM, ¶ 0006).
SLEPCHENKOV fails to disclose the circulating of the load across the one or more smart battery cells of the set of smart battery cells to increase torque of an electric motor based on a torque request.
JAENSCH discloses the circulating of the load (¶ 0033: three-phase electrical machine 208) across the one or more battery cells (¶ 0022: each energy module has at least one energy cell; ¶ 0032: a respective series or parallel interconnection of an energy module with at least one neighbor is changed in an intelligent battery pack 121, 122, 123 in such a way that the resulting terminal voltage of the intelligent battery pack results in a voltage level at the input of the inverter, which voltage level corresponds to the respective load demand on the electric motor. The schematic depictions of the intelligent battery pack 121, 122, 123 show that a number of parallel interconnections increases and, in the same way, a number of series interconnections decreases as the voltage level decreases) of the set of smart battery cells to provide a torque requirement of an electric motor based on a torque request (¶ 0033: the vehicle high-voltage control means 212 reports a torque requirement 224 to a motor controller 214. The motor controller 214 controls a torque of the three-phase electrical machine 208 by controlling 228 the output voltage of the inverter 216 based on the voltage value 226 which is provided by the intelligent battery pack. The three-phase inverter 216 shown here supplies a three-phase current to the three-phase electrical machine 208). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the disclosed torque requirements of JAENSCH may effectively increase the torque, and it would be obvious to modify the system of SLEPCHENKOV to include circulating the load based on torque requirements as disclosed in JAENSCH.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include increasing the torque in order to ensure desired and proper motor operation.
Regarding claim 12, SLEPCHENKOV discloses group of strings comprises three strings, wherein the three strings generate a three-phase sine wave current that controls the electric motor (¶ 0068, 0114, 0181).
Regarding claim 17, SLEPCHENKOV discloses a computer program product (¶ 0203: processing circuitry can be implemented, such as, but not limited to, personal computing architectures) comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium (¶ 0208: computer readable media can be shared by one or more of the various functional units present) having program instructions embodied therewith (¶ 0207: Computer program instructions for carrying out operations in accordance with the described subject matter), the program instructions executable by a processor (102, Fig. 1A) to cause the processor to:
engage, by the processor, secondary nodes (114, Figs. 1C, 2A, and 10B) of a group of strings (¶ 0063: MCD 112 can then use the status information of modules 108 to make control determinations accordingly. The determinations may take the form of instructions, commands, or other information (such as a modulation index described herein) that can be utilized by LCDs 114 to either maintain or adjust the operation of each module 108; ¶ 0067: MCD 112 can communicate control information to LCD 114 for the purpose of controlling the modules 108 associated with the LCD 114; ¶ 0055: Each LCD 114 can be coupled with and control two or more modules 108; ¶ 0107: LCD 114 can receive control information (e.g., a modulation index, synchronization signal) from MCD 112 and use this control information to generate switch signals for converter 202 that manage the utilization of the source 206; ¶ 0113: Each array 700 is one-dimensional, formed by a series connection of N modules 108) to circulate a load (101, Fig. 1A; ¶ 0053: Load 101 can be any type of load such as a motor) across a set of smart battery cells (108, Figs. 2A and 10A; each module 108 includes an energy source 206 as shown in Figure 2A; ¶ 0075: Energy source 206 can be an electrochemical battery, such as a single battery cell or multiple battery cells connected together in a battery module or array; ¶ 0060: Control system 102 is configured to control one or more modules 108 based on status information; ¶ 0061: Status information of every module 108 in system 100 can be communicated to control system 102; ¶ 0081: Module 108 can also include monitor circuitry 208 configured to monitor (e.g., collect, sense, measure, and/or determine) one or more aspects of module 108 and/or the components thereof, such as voltage, current, temperature or other operating parameters that constitute status information (or can be used to determine status information by, e.g., LCD 114)…. In some embodiments, monitor circuitry 208 can be part of or shared with a Battery Management System (BMS) for a battery energy source 204; ¶ 0164: Electronics specific to the battery, e.g., such as a battery management system (BMS), can be located with the battery module; since each module includes a battery management system, provides status information, and receives control information, each module can be considered a “smart battery cell”; ¶ 0060: Control system 102 is configured to control one or more modules 108 based on status information received from the same or different one or more of modules 108. Control can also be based on one or more other factors, such as requirements of load 101. Controllable aspects include, but are not limited to, one or more of voltage, current, phase, and/or output power of each module 108), wherein the set of smart battery cells comprises the group of strings (¶ 0134: FIG. 10A is a block diagram depicting an example embodiment of a system 100 capable of producing Ω-phase power with Ω arrays 700-PA through 700-PΩ; ¶ 0144: subsystem 1000-1 is configured to supply three-phase power, PA, PB, and PC, to a first load (not shown) by way of system I/O ports SIO1, SIO2, and SIO3; in the examples of paragraphs 0134 and 0144, each string corresponds to a phase), wherein each string comprises a distinct subset of battery cells of the set (each string comprises a plurality of cells 108 as shown in Figs. 10A and 10C), wherein each string comprises at least one secondary node (114, Figs. 1C, 2A, and 10B) that respectively controls one or more battery cells of the subset (¶ 0126: FIG. 9A is a block diagram depicting an example embodiment of an array controller 900 of control system 102 for a single-phase AC or DC array... Array controller 900 can receive a reference voltage waveform (Vr) and status information about each of the N modules 108 in the array (e.g., state of charge (SOCi), temperature (Ti), capacity (Qi), and voltage (Vi)) as inputs, and generate a normalized reference voltage waveform (Vrn) and modulation indexes (Mi) as outputs. Peak detector 902 detects the peak (Vpk) of Vr, which can be specific to the phase that controller 900 is operating with and/or balancing. Divider 904 generates Vrn by dividing Vr by its detected Vpk. Intraphase balance controller 906 uses Vpk along with the status information (e.g., SOCi, Ti, Qi, Vi, etc.) to generate modulation indexes Mi for each module 108 within the array 700 being controlled; ¶ 0127: The modulation indexes and Vrn can be used to generate the switching signals for each converter 202…MCD 112 outputting Vrn and Mi to the appropriate LCDs 114 for modulation and switch signal generation; ¶ 0132: Controllers 900…can be implemented…distributed partially or fully among LCDs 114; ¶ 0138: LCD 114 can be configured to receive the normalized voltage reference signal (Vrn) (from MCD 112) for each of the one or more arrays 700 that module 108IC is coupled to, e.g., VrnPA through VrnPΩ. LCD 114 can also receive modulation indexes MiPA through MiPΩ for the switch units 604-PA through 604-PΩ for each array 700, respectively, from MCD 112. LCD 114 can modulate (e.g., multiply) each respective Vrn with the modulation index for the switch section coupled directly to that array (e.g., VrnA multiplied by MiA) and then utilize a carrier signal to generate the control signal(s) for each switch unit 604), wherein a secondary node of a string of the group of strings:
detects a current fluctuation from at least one smart battery cell of the string (¶ 0062: status information can be information about one or more aspects, characteristics, or parameters of each module 108. Types of status information include, but are not limited to…current of the one or more energy sources and/or other components of the module; ¶ 0064: MCD 112 may receive status information and assess that information to determine a difference between at least one module 108 (e.g., a component thereof) and at least one or more other modules 108 (e.g., comparable components thereof). For example, MCD 112 may determine that a particular module 108 is operating with one of the following conditions as compared to one or more other modules 108:…with a relatively lower or higher current; ¶ 0081: Module 108 can also include monitor circuitry 208 configured to monitor (e.g., collect, sense, measure, and/or determine) one or more aspects of module 108 and/or the components thereof, such as…current), and in response to detecting the current fluctuation:
initiates a smart battery cell of the string to run pulse width modulation to output a duty cycle (pulse width modulation (PWM) inherently implies a duty cycle, as the duty cycle is the primary parameter that defines a PWM signal) for the subset of smart battery cells of the strings to employ to generate a defined voltage for a distinct phase associated with the string, (¶ 0091: The control or switch signals for the embodiments of converter 202 described herein can be generated in different ways depending on the control technique utilized by system 100 to generate the output voltage of converter 202. In some embodiments, the control technique is a PWM technique such as space vector pulse-width modulation (SVPWM) or sinusoidal pulse-width modulation (SPWM), or variations thereof. FIG. 8A is a graph of voltage versus time depicting an example of an output voltage waveform 802 of converter 202. For ease of description, the embodiments herein will be described in the context of a PWM control technique; ¶ 0096: A coupling inductor LC is connected between port IO5 and a node1 present between switches S1 and S2 such that switch portion 602A is a bidirectional converter that can regulate (boost or buck) voltage (or inversely current). Switch portion 602A can generate two different voltages at node1, which are +V.sub.DCL2 and 0, referenced to port IO2, which can be at virtual zero potential. The current drawn from or input to energy source 202B can be controlled by regulating the voltage on coupling inductor LC, using, for example, a pulse-width modulation technique or a hysteresis control method for commutating switches S1 and S2; ¶ 0109: To control and protect converter 202, LCD 114 can receive the control information from MCD 112 (e.g., a modulated reference signal, or a reference signal and a modulation index), which can be used with a PWM technique in LCD 114 to generate the control signals for each switch (e.g., S1 through S6). LCD 114 can receive a current feedback signal from a current sensor of converter 202, which can be used for overcurrent protection together with one or more fault status signals from driver circuits (not shown) of the converter switches, which can carry information about fault statuses (e.g., short circuit or open circuit failure modes) of all switches of converter 202. Based on this data, LCD 114 can make a decision on which combination of switching signals to be applied to manage utilization of module 108, and potentially bypass or disconnect converter 202 (and the entire module 108) from system 100; ¶ 0119: control of system 100 can be performed according to various methodologies, such as hysteresis or PWM. Several examples of PWM include space vector modulation and sine pulse width modulation, where the switching signals for converter 202 are generated with a phase shifted carrier technique that continuously rotates utilization of each module 108 to equally distribute power among them; ¶ 0120: resulting two-level PWM waveforms are shown in FIG. 8E. These two-level waveforms may be used as the switching signals for semiconductor switches (e.g., S1 though S6) of converters 202. As an example with reference to FIG. 8E, for a one-dimensional array 700 including four modules 108 each with a converter 202, the 0° signal is for control of S3 and the 180° signal for S6 of the first module 108-1, the 45° signal is for S3 and the 225° signal for S6 of the second module 108-2, the 90 signal is for S3 and the 270 signal is for S6 of the third module 108-3, and the 135 signal is for S3 and the 315 signal is for S6 of the fourth module 108-4. The signal for S3 is complementary to S4 and the signal for S5 is complementary to S6 with sufficient dead-time to avoid shoot through of each half-bridge. FIG. 8F depicts an example single phase AC waveform produced by superposition (summation) of output voltages from the four modules 108), and
coordinates with a respective secondary node of each other string of the group of strings (¶ 0112: System 100 can provide multi-phase power (e.g., two-phase, three-phase, four-phase, five-phase, six-phase, etc.) to a load by use of multiple arrays 700, where each array can generate an AC output signal having a different phase angle; ¶ 0114: FIG. 7C is a block diagram depicting system 100 with three arrays 700-PA, 700-PB, and 700-PC coupled together. Each array 700 is one-dimensional, formed by a series connection of N modules 108. The three arrays 700-1 and 700-2 can each generate a single-phase AC signal, where the three AC signals have different phase angles PA, PB, PC (e.g., 120 degrees apart); the strings operating to output three-phase power implies the secondary nodes coordinate) to initiates a respective smart battery cell of the other string to run pulse width modulation to output a respective duty cycle for the subset of smart battery cells of the other strings to employ to generate a defined voltage for a respective distinct phase associated with the other strings (¶ 0091, 0096, 0109, 0119-0120: see above).
SLEPCHENKOV fails to disclose the duty cycle is selected to generate a defined balance between noise and efficiency; and the respective duty cycle is selected to generate the defined balance between noise and efficiency.
SRINIVASAN discloses the duty cycle is selected to generate a defined balance between noise and efficiency (abstract, ¶ 0001). It would be obvious to also select the respective duty cycle to generate a defined balance between noise and efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the duty cycle selected to generate a defined balance between noise and efficiency in order to maintain high levels of operating efficiency and economy (SRINIVASAM, ¶ 0006).
SLEPCHENKOV fails to disclose the circulating of the load across the one or more smart battery cells of the set of smart battery cells to increase torque of an electric motor based on a torque request.
JAENSCH discloses the circulating of the load (¶ 0033: three-phase electrical machine 208) across the one or more battery cells (¶ 0022: each energy module has at least one energy cell; ¶ 0032: a respective series or parallel interconnection of an energy module with at least one neighbor is changed in an intelligent battery pack 121, 122, 123 in such a way that the resulting terminal voltage of the intelligent battery pack results in a voltage level at the input of the inverter, which voltage level corresponds to the respective load demand on the electric motor. The schematic depictions of the intelligent battery pack 121, 122, 123 show that a number of parallel interconnections increases and, in the same way, a number of series interconnections decreases as the voltage level decreases) of the set of smart battery cells to provide a torque requirement of an electric motor based on a torque request (¶ 0033: the vehicle high-voltage control means 212 reports a torque requirement 224 to a motor controller 214. The motor controller 214 controls a torque of the three-phase electrical machine 208 by controlling 228 the output voltage of the inverter 216 based on the voltage value 226 which is provided by the intelligent battery pack. The three-phase inverter 216 shown here supplies a three-phase current to the three-phase electrical machine 208). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the disclosed torque requirements of JAENSCH may effectively increase the torque, and it would be obvious to modify the system of SLEPCHENKOV to include circulating the load based on torque requirements as disclosed in JAENSCH.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include increasing the torque in order to ensure desired and proper motor operation.
Claim(s) 2-3, 10-11, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SLEPCHENKOV in view of SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH as applied to claims 1, 4, 9, 12, and 17 above, and further in view of STANLEY (WO9515612A1; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 2, SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH teaches the smart cell modulator as applied to claim 1, and SLEPCHENKOV further discloses a primary node wirelessly broadcasts information to the one or more secondary nodes (¶ 0055, 0059-0060).
SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH fails to disclose the information comprising at least the torque request and modulator voltage information.
JAENSCH further discloses the torque request (¶ 0033); and STANLEY discloses modulator voltage information (pg. 6, ll. 4-8). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the torque request and the modulator voltage information as part of the information broadcasted by the primary node as disclosed in SLEPCHENKOV.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the torque request and the modulator voltage information in order to ensure proper operation of the smart cell modulator at desired operation conditions.
Regarding claim 3, SLEPCHENKOV discloses the one or more secondary nodes intelligently control one or more smart battery cells, to selectively engage the one or more smart battery cells, based on the information, to generate a desired sine wave current (¶ 0091, 0110, 0120; see Figures 8B and 8F).
Regarding claim 10, SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH teaches the computer-implemented method as applied to claim 9, and SLEPCHENKOV further discloses broadcasting, by the system, information to the secondary nodes (¶ 0055, 0059-0060).
SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH fails to disclose the information comprising at least the torque request and modulator voltage information.
JAENSCH further discloses the torque request (¶ 0033); and STANLEY discloses modulator voltage information (pg. 6, ll. 4-8). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the torque request and the modulator voltage information as part of the information broadcasted by the primary node as disclosed in SLEPCHENKOV.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the torque request and the modulator voltage information in order to ensure proper operation of the smart cell modulator at desired operation conditions.
Regarding claim 11, SLEPCHENKOV discloses controlling, by the system, one or more smart battery cells, to selectively engage the one or more smart battery cells, based on the information, to generate a desired sine wave current (SLEPCHENKOV, ¶ 0091, 0110, 0120; see Figures 8B and 8F).
Regarding claim 18, SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH teaches the computer program product as applied to claim 17, and SLEPCHENKOV further discloses the program instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the processor to: broadcast, by the processor, information to the secondary nodes (¶ 0055, 0059-0060).
SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH fails to disclose the information comprising at least the torque request and modulator voltage information.
JAENSCH further discloses the torque request (¶ 0033); and STANLEY discloses modulator voltage information (pg. 6, ll. 4-8). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the torque request and the modulator voltage information as part of the information broadcasted by the primary node as disclosed in SLEPCHENKOV.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the torque request and the modulator voltage information in order to ensure proper operation of the smart cell modulator at desired operation conditions.
Regarding claim 19, SLEPCHENKOV discloses the program instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the processor to: control, by the processor, one or more smart battery cells, to selectively engage the one or more smart battery cells, based on the information, to generate a desired sine wave current (¶ 0091, 0110, 0120; see Figures 8B and 8F).
Regarding claim 20, SLEPCHENKOV discloses group of strings comprises three strings, wherein the three strings generate a three-phase sine wave current that controls the electric motor (¶ 0068, 0114, 0181).
Claim(s) 6-7, 14-15, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SLEPCHENKOV in view of SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH as applied to claims 1, 4, 9, 12, and 17 above, and further in view of HUSTEDT (US PG Pub 2022/0368259; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 6, SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH teaches the smart cell modulator as applied to claim 5 but fails to disclose the respective duty cycle for the string is determined based on a respective modulator angle for the string.
HUSTEDT discloses a duty cycle is determined based on a respective modulator angle (¶ 0006, 0011, 0024-0025, 0066, 0078). It would be obvious to apply the determination of the duty cycle based on modulator angle as disclosed in HUSTEDT to the strings of SLEPCHENKOV.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the duty cycle is determined based on a respective modulator angle in order to ensure proper operation of the smart cell modulator at desired operation conditions.
Regarding claim 7, SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN, JAENSCH, and HUSTEDT teaches the modulator angle is defined as an angular position of a virtual voltage generated by one or more smart battery cells from the subset of smart battery cells of the string (HUSTEDT, ¶ 0006, 0011, 0024-0025, 0066, 0078).
Regarding claim 14, SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH teaches the computer-implemented method as applied to claim 13 but fails to disclose determining, by the system, the respective duty cycle for the string based on a respective modulator angle for the string.
HUSTEDT discloses determining, by the system, the respective duty cycle based on a respective modulator angle (¶ 0006, 0011, 0024-0025, 0066, 0078). It would be obvious to apply the determination of the duty cycle based on modulator angle as disclosed in HUSTEDT to the strings of SLEPCHENKOV.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the duty cycle is determined based on a respective modulator angle in order to ensure proper operation of the smart cell modulator at desired operation conditions.
Regarding claim 15, SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN, JAENSCH, and HUSTEDT teaches the modulator angle is defined as an angular position of a virtual voltage generated by one or more smart battery cells from the subset of smart battery cells of the string (HUSTEDT, ¶ 0006, 0011, 0024-0025, 0066, 0078).
Regarding claim 21, SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH teaches the computer program product as applied to claim 17, but fails to disclose the program instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the processor to: determine, by the processor, the respective duty cycle for the string is based on a respective modulator angle for the string.
HUSTEDT discloses determining, by the processor, the respective duty cycle based on a respective modulator angle (¶ 0006, 0011, 0024-0025, 0066, 0078). It would be obvious to apply the determination of the duty cycle based on modulator angle as disclosed in HUSTEDT to the strings of SLEPCHENKOV.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the duty cycle is determined based on a respective modulator angle in order to ensure proper operation of the smart cell modulator at desired operation conditions.
Regarding claim 22, SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN, JAENSCH, and HUSTEDT teaches the modulator angle is defined as an angular position of a virtual voltage generated by one or more smart battery cells from the subset of smart battery cells of the string (HUSTEDT, ¶ 0006, 0011, 0024-0025, 0066, 0078).
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SLEPCHENKOV in view of SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH as applied to claims 1, 4, 9, 12, and 17 above, and further in view of KUSAKA (US Patent 5,569,995; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 8, SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH teaches the smart cell modulator as applied to claim 4, and SLEPCHENKOV further discloses individual strings of the three strings of smart battery cells can output respective individual voltages (¶ 0111, 0120) that correspond to a mechanical position of the electric motor (¶ 0068, 0181).
SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH fails to disclose at a stand-still position of the electric motor, the individual strings of the three strings of smart battery cells can output respective individual voltages to generate a defined high torque.
KUSAKA discloses at a stand-still position of the electric motor, outputting respective individual voltages to generate a defined high torque (col 1, ll. 32-36; col 6, ll. 41-45; col 21, ll. 53-55). It would be obvious to apply the output voltage to generate high torque as disclosed in KUSAKA for each the individual strings of the three strings of smart battery cells to output respective individual voltages as disclosed in SLEPCHENKOV.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include generating high torque at a stand-still position in order to secure a preferable drive feeling (KUSAKA, col 21, ll. 56-58).
Regarding claim 16, SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH teaches the computer-implemented method as applied to claim 12, and SLEPCHENKOV further discloses individual strings of the three strings of smart battery cells can output respective individual voltages (¶ 0111, 0120) that correspond to a mechanical position of the electric motor (¶ 0068, 0181).
SLEPCHENKOV as modified by SRINIVASAN and JAENSCH fails to disclose at a stand-still position of the electric motor, individual strings of the three strings of smart battery cells can output respective individual voltages to generate a defined high torque.
KUSAKA discloses at a stand-still position of the electric motor, outputting respective individual voltages to generate a defined high torque (col 1, ll. 32-36; col 6, ll. 41-45; col 21, ll. 53-55). It would be obvious to apply the output voltage to generate high torque as disclosed in KUSAKA for each the individual strings of the three strings of smart battery cells to output respective individual voltages as disclosed in SLEPCHENKOV.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include generating high torque at a stand-still position in order to secure a preferable drive feeling (KUSAKA, col 21, ll. 56-58).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 12/11/2025
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859