Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 13, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant contends that the claims range of oxygen content is critical (pp. 12-14). However, the examples in the instant specification demonstrate only that increasing oxygen decreases conductivity, which is entirely consistent with the teachings of the prior art.
The rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano et al. (“Solid Halide Electrolytes with High Lithium-Ion Conductivity for Application in 4 V Class Bulk-Type All-Solid-State Batteries”, Advanced Materials 20(44), 1803075, September 2018) in view of Wang et al. (“Lithium Chlorides and Bromides as Promising Solid-State Chemistries for Fast Ion Conductors with Good Electrochemical Stability”, Angewandte Chemie International Edition 58(24), pp. 8039-8043, June 2019), Schlaikjer et al. (“Ionic Conduction in Calcium Doped Polycrystalline Lithium Iodide”, Journal of the Electrochemical Society 118(9), pp. 1447-1450, September 1971), and Tomita et al. (“Substitution Effect on the Structure and the Lithium Ion Conductivity of Lithium Indium Bromide”, Solid State Ionics: The Science and Technology of Ions in Motion, pp. 985-990, ISBN: 978-981-4482-21-9, May 2004).
Regarding claim 1, Asano teaches a solid electrolyte material comprising Li, Y, and X (Cl or Br) (Asano, Abstract).
Asano does not teach that the material comprises O or H. Asano teaches that the material is hygroscopic (Asano, Experimental Section: Material Synthesis). The material will therefore necessarily adsorb any water in its environment and will comprise O and H.
Asano does not teach that the material comprises Ca. Schlaikjer teaches that adding calcium to a lithium halide introduces structural defects that improve ionic conductivity (Schlaikjer, Discussion, first paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add Ca to the material of Asano in order to improve ionic conductivity.
Asano does not teach that the material comprises Gd. Wang teaches that Y and Gd are both suitable cations in an Li3MX6 structure (Wang, p. 8041, first incomplete paragraph). Y and Gd are therefore art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose, and combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06 I).
Modified Asano does not teach that the material comprises both Cl and Br. Tomita teaches that a combination of Cl and Br in a Li3MX6 electrolyte can improve ionic conductivity at lower temperatures (Tomita, Fig. 6), with the lowest temperature transition to high conductivity at 2.5 Br and 3.5 Cl, each of which falls within the ranges of the instant claim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use both Cl and Br in an appropriate ratio to improve ionic conductivity.
Modified Asano teaches a Li:Y+Gd of approximately 3 (Asano, Abstract), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Modified Asano does not teach the claimed Ca:Y+Gd ratio. Modified Asano teaches that conductivity is a function of calcium concentration (Schlaikjer, Fig. 1), with values on the order of 0-3 mol% Ca vs. Li (i.e,, approximately a 0-0.09 Ca:Y+Gd ratio). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Modified Asano does not teach any particular proportion of oxygen in the material. Asano teaches that the material is hygroscopic and must be protected from water (Asano, Experimental Section: Material Synthesis). It will therefore have a non-zero oxygen content, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to keep that oxygen content as low as possible, including values within the range of the instant claim.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to incorporate any amount of water into the electrolyte, since the omission of an element or limitation (protecting the material from water) with a corresponding loss of function (preventing the incorporation of water and corresponding decreased performance) has been held to be an obvious variation. See In re Kuhle, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975); Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ 2031 (BPAI 1989); MPEP 2144.04 II. A.
Regarding claim 4, modified Asano does not teach that the material comprises O binding to H on its surface. Modified Asano teaches that the material is hygroscopic (Asano, Experimental Section: Material Synthesis). The material will therefore necessarily adsorb any water in its environment and will comprise O bound to H on its surface.
Regarding claim 5, modified Asano does not teach the claimed XRD peaks. However, applicant has indicated that producing the electrolyte material with the claimed composition in the same manner used by modified Asano (dry milling and annealing at an elevated temperature) (Asano, Experimental Section: Material Synthesis) will result in the claimed spectrum (Examples and Table 2 of the instant specification). The material of modified Asano is therefore assumed to have the same spectrum.
Regarding claim 8, modified Asano teaches a battery comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte layer between them, with the positive electrode and electrolyte layer comprising the electrolyte material (Asano, Experimental Section: ASSB Cell Fabrication and Battery Performance Measurement).
Regarding claim 9, Asano teaches a solid electrolyte material comprising Li, Y, and X (Cl or Br) (Asano, Abstract).
Asano does not teach that the material comprises O or H. Asano teaches that the material is hygroscopic (Asano, Experimental Section: Material Synthesis). The material will therefore necessarily adsorb any water in its environment and will comprise O and H.
Asano does not teach that the material comprises Ca. Schlaikjer teaches that adding calcium to a lithium halide introduces structural defects that improve ionic conductivity (Schlaikjer, Discussion, first paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add Ca to the material of Asano in order to improve ionic conductivity.
Asano does not teach that the material comprises Gd. Wang teaches that Y and Gd are both suitable cations in an Li3MX6 structure (Wang, p. 8041, first incomplete paragraph). Y and Gd are therefore art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose, and combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06 I).
Asano does not teach any particular proportion of oxygen in the material. Asano teaches that the material is hygroscopic and must be protected from water (Asano, Experimental Section: Material Synthesis). It will therefore have a non-zero oxygen content, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to keep that oxygen content as low as possible, including values within the range of the instant claim.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to incorporate any amount of water into the electrolyte, since the omission of an element or limitation (protecting the material from water) with a corresponding loss of function (preventing the incorporation of water and corresponding decreased performance) has been held to be an obvious variation. See In re Kuhle, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975); Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ 2031 (BPAI 1989); MPEP 2144.04 II. A.
Asano does not teach that the material comprises both Cl and Br. Tomita teaches that a combination of Cl and Br in a Li3MX6 electrolyte can improve ionic conductivity (Tomita, Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use both Cl and Br in an appropriate ratio to improve ionic conductivity.
Asano does not teach the claimed ion conductivity. Asano teaches ion conductivities of 5x10-4 to 1.7x10-3 S/cm (Asano Fig. 1d), which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, modified Asano does not teach any particular proportion of oxygen in the material. Asano teaches that the material is hygroscopic and must be protected from water (Asano, Experimental Section: Material Synthesis). It will therefore have a non-zero oxygen content, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to keep that oxygen content as low as possible, including values within the range of the instant claim.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to incorporate any amount of water into the electrolyte, since the omission of an element or limitation (protecting the material from water) with a corresponding loss of function (preventing the incorporation of water and corresponding decreased performance) has been held to be an obvious variation. See In re Kuhle, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975); Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ 2031 (BPAI 1989); MPEP 2144.04 II. A.
Modified Asano does not teach the claimed XRD peaks. However, applicant has indicated that producing the electrolyte material with the claimed composition in the same manner used by modified Asano (dry milling and annealing at an elevated temperature) (Asano, Experimental Section: Material Synthesis) will result in the claimed spectrum (Examples and Table 2 of the instant specification). The material of modified Asano is therefore assumed to have the same spectrum.
Regarding claim 12, modified Asano does not teach any particular proportion of oxygen in the material. Asano teaches that the material is hygroscopic and must be protected from water (Asano, Experimental Section: Material Synthesis). It will therefore have a non-zero oxygen content, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to keep that oxygen content as low as possible, including values within the range of the instant claim.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to incorporate any amount of water into the electrolyte, since the omission of an element or limitation (protecting the material from water) with a corresponding loss of function (preventing the incorporation of water and corresponding decreased performance) has been held to be an obvious variation. See In re Kuhle, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975); Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ 2031 (BPAI 1989); MPEP 2144.04 II. A.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano in view of Wang, Schlaikjer, and Tomita as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (“High-Voltage Superionic Halide Solid Electrolytes for All-Solid-State Li-Ion Batteries”, ACS Energy Letters 2020 (5), pp. 533-539, January 2020).
Regarding claim 3, modified Asano does not teach that the material includes an additional element. Park teaches that adding Zr to a Li3MX6 electrolyte improves ionic conduction (Park, Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add Zr to the electrolyte of modified Asano in order to improve ionic conduction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722