DETAILED ACTION
The application being examined, 17/933,109, is a CON of 15/481,981 of date 4/07/2017 which claims a provisional date of 4/09/2016. Since 17/933,109 differs substantially from 15/481,981, Applicant cannot claim the previous dates as time of filing. Examiner will use the filing date, 9/18/2022 as the “date to beat” in his search for prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear to Examiner if all the first choices of “head phantom, an abdominal phantom, a prostate phantom, a pancreatic phantom” are “ors”—so that
the art need to find only one of them, or if they are “ands”—so that the Examiner must find all of them.
For purposes of examination Examiner will assume “broadest possible interpretation” i.e., that they are “ors” and Examiner need only find one of the phantom examples.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are drawn pure mathematical manipulation.
Regarding claim 1
There is little to no support for the mathematical manipulation.
What is the performing the activities of “comparing & adjusting”—a technician, a device peripheral to the MRI machine or the machine itself?
Further: there is no utility to an end user. How is calibrated machine performing a useful purpose—is it acquiring MRI data. How are these data presented to the user—stored in a database, presented on a GUI or computer screen?
Regarding claims 2 - 11
The same rejections apply as though to dependent claim above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1—11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mirowski et al. (US-20170293011-A1).
Regarding claim 1
Mirowski discloses
A method of calibrating an MRI system, comprising the steps of by the system, measuring the value of a selected MRI property of an adipose mimic composition ([0006]);
wherein the adipose mimic composition ([0009]) comprises a mixture of:
linoleic acid of at least 90% purity and oleic acid of at least 90% purity ([0038);
wherein the mixture comprises between 5% and 20% linoleic acid ([0032]);
comparing the acquired value of the selected MRI property of the mimic composition against the expected, known value of such MRI property to determine
the degree of variance, if any, between the measured and expected value ([0084]); and
adjusting the MRI system or scan parameters thereof to correct for any observed divergence between the measured value and the expected value of the selected MRI property ([0091]).
Regarding claim 2
Mirowski teaches the method of Claim 1.
Mirowski, applied to claim 2, further teaches
wherein adipose mimic composition comprises 9-10% linoleic acid ([0053]).
Regarding claim 3
Mirowski teaches the method of Claim 1.
Mirowski, applied to claim 3, further teaches
wherein the selected MRI property is a T1 relaxation value (Abstract).
Regarding claim 4
Mirowski teaches the method of Claim 1.
Mirowski, applied to claim 4, further teaches
wherein the selected MRI property is a T2 relaxation value (Abstract).
Regarding claim 5
Mirowski teaches the method of Claim 1.
Mirowski, applied to claim 5, further teaches
wherein the measurement includes a measurement of the selected MRI property of the adipose mimic composition and a measurement of the selected MRI property of the adipose mimic composition ([0088])
wherein an interface exists between water and the adipose mimic composition ([0088]).
Regarding claim 6
Mirowski teaches the method of Claim 1.
Mirowski, applied to claim 6, further teaches
wherein the selected MRI property of the adipose mimic composition is magnetic susceptibility ([0068]—[0071]).
Regarding claim 7
Mirowski teaches the method of Claim 1.
Mirowski, applied to claim 7, further teaches
wherein, a temperature dependence of magnetic susceptibility of the adipose mimic composition is measured ([0072]).
Regarding claim 8
Mirowski teaches the method of Claim 1.
Mirowski, applied to claim 8, further teaches
wherein the measurement is obtained with the adipose mimic composition in proximity to or admixed with fibroglandular mimicking material ([0082]).
Regarding claim 9
Mirowski teaches the method of Claim 1.
Mirowski, applied to claim 9, further teaches
wherein the adipose mimic composition is contained in a container, wherein the container is placed within a phantom ([0008].
Regarding claim 10
Mirowski teaches the method of Claim 9.
Mirowski, applied to claim 9, further teaches
wherein the phantom is a breast phantom ([0082]).
Regarding claim 11
Mirowski teaches the method of Claim 9.
Mirowski, applied to claim 10, further teaches
wherein the phantom is selected from the group consisting of:
a head phantom, an abdominal phantom, a prostate phantom ([0008] & [0082]), a pancreatic phantom, or a liver phantom ([0082]).
Conclusion
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852 /Frederick Wenderoth/
Examiner, Art Unit 2852