DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 01/27/2026. Claims 1-30 are pending for evaluation.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 01/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 15, 17, 28, 29, and 30 have been amended. Claims 1-30 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pg. 11 of Applicant Remarks that, in substance, Chen fails to teach or suggest at least “obtain and store a set of samples associated with a paging occasion (PO)” and “obtain at least one reference signal indicating time and frequency information, wherein the at least one reference signal is after the PO,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As amended, Claim 1 continues to be met by Chen. Specifically, Chen discloses that during a paging reception procedure the UE obtains and stores samples associated with a paging occasion (PO), for example by buffering samples corresponding to the PO while preparing for or performing synchronization operations (Chen Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0121]).
Chen further teaches obtaining at least one reference signal indicating time and frequency information in that the UE performs timing/frequency tracking based on a tracking reference signal (TRS). In particular, Chen Fig. 23, Para. [0135-0139] describes selecting a TRS pattern from multiple options, where the TRS comprises at least two or three OFDM symbols depending on mobility conditions. Because OFDM symbols define signal structure in both the time and frequency domains, the disclosed TRS provides the claimed time and frequency information.
Moreover, Chen Fig. 18 and Para. [0121] explains a TRS occurring after the PO is used for synchronization, thereby teaching obtaining the reference signal subsequent to the paging occasion.
Further, the secondary reference of Bhattacharjee continues to teach the amended limitation of “process the at least one reference signal indicating the time and frequency information in an offline mode where a reception function and a transmission function at the wireless device are turned off.” Bhattacharjee Fig. 6 and Para. [0070 and 0093] disclose that the UE performs “RSRP filtering of the serving and neighbor cell measurements” and “reselection ranking of serving and measured neighbor cells if serving cell RSRP measurement meets certain predetermined thresholds” while the RF transceiver is turned off, thereby teaching processing the at least one reference signal where a reception function and a transmission function at the wireless device are turned off.
In conclusion, Chen teaches “obtain and store a set of samples associated with a paging occasion (PO)” and “obtain at least one reference signal indicating time and frequency information, wherein the at least one reference signal is after the PO.” Further, Bhattacharjee teaches “process the at least one reference signal indicating the time and frequency information in an offline mode where a reception function and a transmission function at the wireless device are turned off.” Accordingly, the system of Chen/Bhattacharjee teaches the claimed subject matter, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 is upheld.
Applicant’s arguments presented with respect to independent Claim(s) 17, 29, and 30 and the dependent claims are substantively the same as those set forth for Claim 1. Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for Claims 1 are equally applicable to independent Claim(s) 17, 29, and 30 and the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-12, 14-21, and 23-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Wu (US 2021/0153162, previously presented), Chen hereinafter, in view of Bhattacharjee et al. (US 2010/0331019, previously presented), Bhattacharjee hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Chen teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising (Fig. 27):
a memory (Fig. 27, element 2720; Paras. [0155, 0157]); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to (Fig. 27, element 2710; Paras. [0155, 0157]):
obtain and store a set of samples associated with a paging occasion (PO) (Fig. 18, Element 1831, Para. [0119-0121] - [0120] During a paging reception process, the UE 110 may wake up at a time t0 to monitor paging transmission. The UE 110 may first select the TRS 1810 from the respective SS block burst set based on a quality measurement (e.g., RSRP), and use the TRS 1810 to perform a timing/frequency tracking. The UE 110 may then proceed to perform paging detection at the PO 1831 that is QCLed with the TRS 1810. Thereafter, the UE 110 goes to sleep at a time t1. [0121] In alternative examples, the TRS 1820 following the PO 1831 is used for timing/frequency tracking. Under such configuration, the UE 110 buffers samples of the PO 1831 until timing/frequency synchronization is performed based on the TRS 1820. In some examples, the UE 110 goes to a light sleep during the gap 1860 to save power, and goes to a deep sleep after paging detection; Fig. 26, S2610; Para. [0146-0154] - [0149] At S2612, timing/frequency tracking reference signals and POs are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110; See also Para. [0094, 0101]),
obtain at least one reference signal indicating time and frequency information (Fig. 26, S2612; Para. [0146-0154] - [0149] At S2612, timing/frequency tracking reference signals and POs are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110; Fig. 23, Para. [0135-0139] - [0135] FIG. 23 shows an example process for determining a TRS pattern according to an embodiment of the disclosure. As shown, one TRS pattern is to be selected from two TRS pattern options 2320 and 2330: Option 1 is a low-mobility pattern (e.g., a TRS including at least two OFDM symbols) and is applicable to a low-mobility scenario, while option 2 is a high-mobility pattern (e.g., a TRS including at least three OFDM symbols) and is applicable to a high-mobility scenario. The UE 110 can determine the TRS pattern according to an explicit or an implicit configuration; See also Para. [0080], Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0123]; Fig. 21, Para. [0126-0130]; Fig. 22, Para. [0131-0134]),
The Examiner interprets “OFDM symbols” as time and frequency information.
wherein the at least one reference signal is after the PO (Fig. 18, element 1820, Para. [0119-0121] - [0121] In alternative examples, the TRS 1820 following the PO 1831 is used for timing/frequency tracking. Under such configuration, the UE 110 buffers samples of the PO 1831 until timing/frequency synchronization is performed based on the TRS 1820. In some examples, the UE 110 goes to a light sleep during the gap 1860 to save power, and goes to a deep sleep after paging detection; See also Fig. 12, Para. [0095-0096]; Fig. 13, Para. [0097]; Fig. 14, Para. [0098]; Fig. 16, Para. [0107-0113]);
and adjust, based on processing the set of samples associated with the PO, a current mode of operation in a set of modes of operation for the wireless device (Para. [0154] - In response to the paging message, the UE 110 may take actions accordingly, such as establishing an RRC connection to the BS 120 and turning into RRC connected mode. Alternatively, no paging DCI is found in the PO, and the UE 110 may turn into RRC idle or inactive mode again. The process 2600 may terminate after S2620).
Yet, Chen does not expressly teach process at least one reference signal indicating time and frequency information in an offline mode where a reception function and a transmission function at the wireless device are turned off and process the set of samples associated with the PO based on the time and frequency information in the offline mode.
However, Bhattacharjee
process the at least one reference signal indicating the time and frequency information in an offline mode where a reception function and a transmission function at the wireless device are turned off (Fig. 6, steps, 610 and 624; Para. [0070] - In block 610, the DRX processor 210 turns off the RF transceiver 208 so as to not have it consume any additional current, and the process proceeds to blocks 612 and 624; Para. [0093] - In block 626, the process conducts cell evaluation of the serving cells and the neighbor cells to determine the signal strength of the serving cell compared to the neighbor cells and whether the mobile device 202 should prepare for handover from the serving cell to one of the neighbor cells. This evaluation process may include RSRP filtering of the serving and neighbor cell measurements; performance of a serving cell suitability check; reselection ranking of serving and measured neighbor cells if serving cell RSRP measurement meets certain predetermined thresholds; and evaluating the need for transition to online mode in the current DRX cycle or the next DRX cycle. Evaluating the need for transition to online mode in the current DRX cycle may include comparing the serving cell RSRP threshold and deciding whether panic mode cell detection may need to be triggered, as well as evaluating the need of neighbor cell PBCH based on certain relative and absolute RSRP thresholds. Evaluating the need to transition to online mode in the next DRX cycle may include updating periodic timers for cell detection, Inter-Frequency (Inter-F), and/or Inter-Radio Access Technologies (Inter-RAT) measurements and comparing them with the time thresholds. If the thresholds are reached, the mobile device 202 is triggered to wake up in online mode during the next DRX cycle. The process then proceeds to block 628; See also Fig. 6 steps 612-620, 624; Figs. 7-14, 16; Para. [0072-0079, 0083-0092, 0099-0103, 0106-0108, 0119-0120]);
The examiner interprets RF OFF in Fig. 6, step 610 to be an offline mode.
The examiner interprets RSRP as a reference signal.
process the set of samples associated with the PO based on the time and frequency information in the offline mode (Fig. 6, steps 610 and 614; Para. [0070]; Para. [0080] - In block 614 the PDCCH paging signal of the serving sample is demodulated and the process proceeds to block 616. In block 616, a determination is made as to whether the paging signal is intended for the mobile device 202. If the PDCCH paging signal is intended for the mobile device 202, then the process proceeds to block 618. Otherwise, the process proceeds to block 628; See also Fig. 6 step 618; Figs. 7-14, 16; Para. [0072-0079, 0081, 0083-0092, 0099-0103, 0106-0108, 0119-0120]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of “timing and frequency tracking for paging reception in a wireless communication system” (Chen Para. [0002]) with Bhattacharjee’s invention of “offline discontinuous reception (DRX) processing in a cellular system” (Bhattacharjee Para. [0004]) because Bhattacharjee’s invention provides “a system configuration that allows the mobile device to capture time domain (TD) samples (e.g., paging subframe) and shut off the transceiver as quickly as possible while performing the necessary DRX processing in idle mode” which in turn allows for “lower current consumption during DRX processing, resulting in significant idle mode current savings” (Bhattacharjee Para. [0012]).
Regarding Claim 17, Chen teaches a method of wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising: (Fig. 26; Paras. [0146-0154]):
obtaining and storing a set of samples associated with a paging occasion (PO) (Fig. 18, Element 1831, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 26, S2610; Para. [0146-0154]; See also Para. [0094, 0101]);
obtaining at least one reference signal indicating time and frequency information after the PO (Fig. 26, S2612; Para. [0146-0154]; Fig. 23, Para. [0135-0139]; See also Para. [0080], Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0123]; Fig. 21, Para. [0126-0130]; Fig. 22, Para. [0131-0134]),
wherein the at least one reference signal is after the PO (Fig. 18, element 1820, Para. [0119-0121]; See also Fig. 12, Para. [0095-0096]; Fig. 13, Para. [0097]; Fig. 14, Para. [0098]; Fig. 16, Para. [0107-0113]);
and adjusting, based on processing the set of samples associated with the PO, a current mode of operation in a set of modes of operation for the wireless device (Para. [0154]).
Yet, Chen does not expressly teach processing at least one reference signal indicating time and frequency information in an offline mode where a reception function and a transmission function at the wireless device are turned off and processing the set of samples associated with the PO based on the time and frequency information in the offline mode.
However, Bhattacharjee
processing the at least one reference signal indicating the time and frequency information in an offline mode where a reception function and a transmission function at the wireless device are turned off (Fig. 6, steps, 610 and 624; Para. [0070]; Para. [0093]; See also Fig. 6 steps 612-620, 624; Figs. 7-14, 16; Para. [0072-0079, 0083-0092, 0099-0103, 0106-0108, 0119-0120]);
processing the set of samples associated with the PO based on the time and frequency information in the offline mode (Fig. 6, steps 610 and 614; Para. [0070]; Para. [0080]; See also Fig. 6 step 618; Figs. 7-14, 16; Para. [0072-0079, 0081, 0083-0092, 0099-0103, 0106-0108, 0119-0120]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of “timing and frequency tracking for paging reception in a wireless communication system” (Chen Para. [0002]) with Bhattacharjee’s invention of “offline discontinuous reception (DRX) processing in a cellular system” (Bhattacharjee Para. [0004]) because Bhattacharjee’s invention provides “a system configuration that allows the mobile device to capture time domain (TD) samples (e.g., paging subframe) and shut off the transceiver as quickly as possible while performing the necessary DRX processing in idle mode” which in turn allows for “lower current consumption during DRX processing, resulting in significant idle mode current savings” (Bhattacharjee Para. [0012]).
Regarding Claim 29, Chen teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising (Fig. 27):
means for obtaining and storing a set of samples associated with a paging occasion (PO) (Fig. 18, Element 1831, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 26, S2610; Para. [0146-0154]; See also Para. [0094, 0101]);
means for obtaining at least one reference signal indicating time and frequency information after the PO (Fig. 26, S2612; Para. [0146-0154]; Fig. 23, Para. [0135-0139]; See also Para. [0080], Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0123]; Fig. 21, Para. [0126-0130]; Fig. 22, Para. [0131-0134]),
wherein the at least one reference signal is after the PO (Fig. 18, element 1820, Para. [0119-0121]; See also Fig. 12, Para. [0095-0096]; Fig. 13, Para. [0097]; Fig. 14, Para. [0098]; Fig. 16, Para. [0107-0113]);
and means for adjusting, based on processing the set of samples associated with the PO, a current mode of operation in a set of modes of operation for the wireless device (Para. [0154]).
Yet, Chen does not expressly teach means for processing at least one reference signal indicating time and frequency information in an offline mode where a reception function and a transmission function at the wireless device are turned off and means for processing the set of samples associated with the PO based on the time and frequency information in the offline mode.
However, Bhattacharjee
means for processing the at least one reference signal indicating the time and frequency information in an offline mode where a reception function and a transmission function at the wireless device are turned off (Fig. 6, steps, 610 and 624; Para. [0070]; Para. [0093]; See also Fig. 6 steps 612-620, 624; Figs. 7-14, 16; Para. [0072-0079, 0083-0092, 0099-0103, 0106-0108, 0119-0120]);
means for processing the set of samples associated with the PO based on the time and frequency information in the offline mode (Fig. 6, steps 610 and 614; Para. [0070]; Para. [0080]; See also Fig. 6 step 618; Figs. 7-14, 16; Para. [0072-0079, 0081, 0083-0092, 0099-0103, 0106-0108, 0119-0120]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of “timing and frequency tracking for paging reception in a wireless communication system” (Chen Para. [0002]) with Bhattacharjee’s invention of “offline discontinuous reception (DRX) processing in a cellular system” (Bhattacharjee Para. [0004]) because Bhattacharjee’s invention provides “a system configuration that allows the mobile device to capture time domain (TD) samples (e.g., paging subframe) and shut off the transceiver as quickly as possible while performing the necessary DRX processing in idle mode” which in turn allows for “lower current consumption during DRX processing, resulting in significant idle mode current savings” (Bhattacharjee Para. [0012]).
Regarding Claim 30, Chen teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer executable code at a wireless device, the computer executable code when executed by a processor causes the processor to (Paras. [0160-0161]):
obtain and store a set of samples associated with a paging occasion (PO) (Fig. 18, Element 1831, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 26, S2610; Para. [0146-0154]; See also Para. [0094, 0101]);
obtain at least one reference signal indicating time and frequency information (Fig. 26, S2612; Para. [0146-0154]; Fig. 23, Para. [0135-0139]; See also Para. [0080], Fig. 19, Para. [0122-0123]; Fig. 21, Para. [0126-0130]; Fig. 22, Para. [0131-0134]),
wherein the at least one reference signal is after the PO (Fig. 18, element 1820, Para. [0119-0121]; See also Fig. 12, Para. [0095-0096]; Fig. 13, Para. [0097]; Fig. 14, Para. [0098]; Fig. 16, Para. [0107-0113]);
and adjust, based on processing the set of samples associated with the PO, a current mode of operation in a set of modes of operation for the wireless device (Para. [0154]).
Yet, Chen does not expressly teach process at least one reference signal indicating time and frequency information in an offline mode where a reception function and a transmission function at the wireless device are turned off and process the set of samples associated with the PO based on the time and frequency information in the offline mode.
However, Bhattacharjee
process the at least one reference signal indicating the time and frequency information in an offline mode where a reception function and a transmission function at the wireless device are turned off (Fig. 6, steps, 610 and 624; Para. [0070]; Para. [0093]; See also Fig. 6 steps 612-620, 624; Figs. 7-14, 16; Para. [0072-0079, 0083-0092, 0099-0103, 0106-0108, 0119-0120]);
process the set of samples associated with the PO based on the time and frequency information in the offline mode (Fig. 6, steps 610 and 614; Para. [0070]; Para. [0080]; See also Fig. 6 step 618; Figs. 7-14, 16; Para. [0072-0079, 0081, 0083-0092, 0099-0103, 0106-0108, 0119-0120]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of “timing and frequency tracking for paging reception in a wireless communication system” (Chen Para. [0002]) with Bhattacharjee’s invention of “offline discontinuous reception (DRX) processing in a cellular system” (Bhattacharjee Para. [0004]) because Bhattacharjee’s invention provides “a system configuration that allows the mobile device to capture time domain (TD) samples (e.g., paging subframe) and shut off the transceiver as quickly as possible while performing the necessary DRX processing in idle mode” which in turn allows for “lower current consumption during DRX processing, resulting in significant idle mode current savings” (Bhattacharjee Para. [0012]).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 1.
Chen also teaches
operate in a first mode of operation of the set of modes of operation in which a majority of modem functions of the wireless device are inactive (Fig. 9, element 952; Para. [0064] - During an example timing/frequency tracking and paging detection process, based on the above described paging configuration 900, the UE 110 first performs timing/frequency tracking. For example, a DRX cycle 950 is configured by the network side of the system 100. The DRX cycle 950 has duration of 2560 ms, and includes a DRX ON time 951 and a DRX OFF time 952. The UE 110 in RRC idle or RRC inactive mode sleeps during the DRX OFF time 952 and wake up to monitor paging during the DRX ON time 951; See also Para. [0148]);
activate, before the PO, a minimal set of modem functions associated with a second mode of operation of the set of modes of operation for obtaining and storing the set of samples associated with the PO (Fig. 9, element 951; Para. [0064]); and
store the set of samples associated with the PO, (Para. [0148] - The paging related configurations may be included in an MIB or an SIB, and broadcasted in the cell 128, or signaled to the UE 110 using dedicated RRC signaling.)
wherein obtaining and storing the set of samples is associated with the second mode of operation (Para. [0148] - The UE 110 may receive the paging related configurations when in RRC connected mode, or in RRC inactive or idle mode; See also Para. [0151])
Regarding Claim 18, Chen teaches Claim 17.
Chen also teaches
operating in a first mode of operation of the set of modes of operation in which a majority of modem functions of the wireless device are inactive (Fig. 9, element 952; Paras. [0064, 0148]);
activating, before the PO, a minimal set of modem functions associated with a second mode of operation of the set of modes of operation for obtaining and storing the set of samples associated with the PO (Fig. 9, element 951; Para. [0064]); and
storing the set of samples associated with the PO, (Para. [0148])
wherein obtaining and storing the set of samples is associated with the second mode of operation (Para. [0148, 0151])
Regarding Claim 3, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 2.
Chen also teaches
activate an expanded set of modem functions associated with a third mode of operation of the set of modes of operation for receiving and processing the at least one reference signal, wherein the wireless device operates in the second mode of operation until activating the expanded set of modem functions (Fig. 9, elements 950-951; Para. [0064] - The UE 110 in RRC idle or RRC inactive mode sleeps during the DRX OFF time 952 and wake up to monitor paging during the DRX ON time 951.); and
receive the at least one reference signal prior to processing the at least one reference signal, wherein receiving and processing the at least one reference signal is associated with the third mode of operation (Para. [0148] - The UE 110 may receive the paging related configurations when in RRC connected mode, or in RRC inactive or idle mode).
Regarding Claim 19, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 18.
Chen also teaches
activating an expanded set of modem functions associated with a third mode of operation of the set of modes of operation for receiving and processing the at least one reference signal, wherein the wireless device operates in the second mode of operation until activating the expanded set of modem functions (Fig. 9, elements 950-951; Para. [0064]); and
receiving the at least one reference signal prior to processing the at least one reference signal, wherein receiving and processing the at least one reference signal is associated with the third mode of operation (Para. [0148]).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 3.
Chen also teaches
wherein to receive the at least one reference signal, the at least one processor is configured to receive the at least one reference signal after the PO (Fig. 11, elements 1120; Para. [0094] - In alternative examples, the SS block 1120 following the PO 1131 is used for timing/frequency tracking. Under such configuration, the UE 110 buffers samples of the PO 1131 until a timing/frequency synchronization is performed based on the SS block 1120.).
Regarding Claim 20, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 19.
Chen also teaches
wherein the at least one reference signal is received after the PO (Fig. 11, elements 1120; Para. [0094] - In alternative examples, the SS block 1120 following the PO 1131 is used for timing/frequency tracking. Under such configuration, the UE 110 buffers samples of the PO 1131 until a timing/frequency synchronization is performed based on the SS block 1120.).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 4.
Chen also teaches
wherein the set of samples associated with the PO indicates for the wireless device to operate in the first mode of operation, and wherein to adjust the current mode of operation, the at least one processor is configured to deactivate the expanded set of modem functions and the minimal set of modem functions to operate in the first mode of operation until a time before a next PO (Para. [0154] - At S2620, the UE 110 performs a paging detection based on a PO associated with the selected timing/frequency tracking RS. For example, the PO may include a paging DCI intended for the UE 110. The UE 110 may decode a respective PDCCH to obtain the paging DCI, and subsequently obtain a respective paging message. In response to the paging message, the UE 110 may take actions accordingly, such as establishing an RRC connection to the BS 120 and turning into RRC connected mode. Alternatively, no paging DCI is found in the PO, and the UE 110 may turn into RRC idle or inactive mode again. The process 2600 may terminate after S2620).
Regarding Claim 21, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 20.
Chen also teaches
wherein the set of samples associated with the PO indicates for the wireless device to operate in the first mode of operation, and adjusting the current mode of operation comprises deactivating the expanded set of modem functions and the minimal set of modem functions to operate in the first mode of operation until a time before a next PO (Para. [0154] - At S2620, the UE 110 performs a paging detection based on a PO associated with the selected timing/frequency tracking RS. For example, the PO may include a paging DCI intended for the UE 110. The UE 110 may decode a respective PDCCH to obtain the paging DCI, and subsequently obtain a respective paging message. In response to the paging message, the UE 110 may take actions accordingly, such as establishing an RRC connection to the BS 120 and turning into RRC connected mode. Alternatively, no paging DCI is found in the PO, and the UE 110 may turn into RRC idle or inactive mode again. The process 2600 may terminate after S2620).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 1.
Chen also teaches
wherein the time and frequency information includes a synchronization time and a synchronization frequency with a network entity associated with the at least one reference signal (Paras. [0047-0048] - [0047] In some examples, before the PDCCH decoding, the UE 110 may first perform a timing and frequency synchronization with the BS 120 based on SSs of an SS block burst set. For example, in a DRX configuration, a DRX cycle can be an interval corresponding to 32, 64, 128, or 256 frames. Accordingly, the RRX cycle can be 320 ms, 640 ms, 1280 ms, 2560 ms, and the like. When the UE 110 wakes up to monitor paging in each DRX cycle, timing and frequency synchronization between the UE 110 and the BS 120 may be lost. For example, due to frequency drift of a crystal oscillator at the UE within a DRX cycle, especially in case of a large DRX cycle (e.g., 2560 ms), carrier frequency offset (CFO) and sample clock frequency offset (SCO) between a receiver of the UE 110 and a transmitter of the BS 120 may arise. As a result, orthogonal property of OFDM symbols may be lost. [0048] In order to obtain reliable paging detection, the UE 110 performs timing/frequency tracking to regain timing/frequency synchronization. For example, based on some reference signals (e.g., SS blocks, tracking reference signals (TRS)) known to the UE 110 and received from the BS 120, the UE 110 may estimate a timing/frequency mismatch (e.g., CFO, SCO), and accordingly adjust related circuits to compensate the estimated timing/frequency mismatch. After the timing/frequency tracking is completed, the UE 110 proceeds to perform the paging detection; See also Paras. [0078, 0094, 0102, 0121, 0153]).
Regarding Claim 9, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 1.
Chen also teaches
operate in a first mode of operation of the set of modes of operation in which a majority of modem functions of the wireless device are inactive (Figs. 11-13; Para. [0093] - During a paging reception process, the UE 110 may wake up at a time t0 to monitor paging transmission.); and
activate a minimal set of modem functions for obtaining and storing the set of samples associated with the PO and a set of reference signal samples associated with the at least one reference signal, wherein the minimal set of modem functions is activated to initiate a second mode of operation of the set of modes of operation (Fig. 11, element 1160; Para. [0093] - The UE 110 may first select the SS block 1110 from the respective SS block burst set based on a quality measurement (e.g., RSRP), and use the SS block 1110 to perform a timing/frequency tracking. The UE 110 may then proceed to perform paging detection at the PO 1131 that is QCLed with the SS block 1110; Para. [0094] - In some examples, the UE 110 goes to a light sleep during the gap 1160 to save power, and goes to a deep sleep after paging detection (after t1)).
Regarding Claim 23, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 17.
Chen also teaches
operating in a first mode of operation of the set of modes of operation in which a majority of modem functions of the wireless device are inactive (Figs. 11-13; Para. [0093]); and
activating a minimal set of modem functions for obtaining and storing the set of samples associated with the PO and a set of reference signal samples associated with the at least one reference signal, wherein the minimal set of modem functions is activated to initiate a second mode of operation of the set of modes of operation (Fig. 11, element 1160; Para. [0093]).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 9.
Chen also teaches
initiate the second mode of operation after activating the minimal set of modem functions (Para. [0148] - The paging related configurations may be included in an MIB or an SIB, and broadcasted in the cell 128, or signaled to the UE 110 using dedicated RRC signaling. The UE 110 may receive the paging related configurations when in RRC connected mode, or in RRC inactive or idle mode.);
obtain and storing the set of reference signal samples (Fig. 26, S2612; Para. [0149]; Para. [0082] - In some embodiments, the UE 110 determines an RS source for timing/frequency tracking and paging reception according to an explicit configuration. The RS source may be SS blocks and/or TRSs. In one example, the explicit configuration is cell specific and broadcasted in SIB, e.g., included in a PCCH related configuration; See also Paras. [0080, 0117, 0139]);
store the set of samples associated with the PO (Para. [0148]); and
activate an expanded set of modem functions for processing the stored set of reference signal samples and the stored set of samples associated with the PO, wherein the expanded set of modem functions is activated to initiate a third mode of operation of the set of modes of operation (Para. [0151] - At S2616, the UE 110 select a timing/frequency tracking RS from a burst set of timing/frequency tracking RSs transmitted on beams during a beam sweeping. For example, the UE 110 may operate in RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode, and wake up to monitor paging transmissions according to the DRX configurations; Para. [0154] - At S2620, the UE 110 performs a paging detection based on a PO associated with the selected timing/frequency tracking RS. For example, the PO may include a paging DCI intended for the UE 110. The UE 110 may decode a respective PDCCH to obtain the paging DCI, and subsequently obtain a respective paging message. In response to the paging message, the UE 110 may take actions accordingly, such as establishing an RRC connection to the BS 120 and turning into RRC connected mode. Alternatively, no paging DCI is found in the PO, and the UE 110 may turn into RRC idle or inactive mode again. The process 2600 may terminate after S2620).
Regarding Claim 24, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 23.
Chen also teaches
initiating the second mode of operation after activating the minimal set of modem functions (Para. [0148]);
obtaining and storing the set of reference signal samples (Fig. 26, S2612; Paras. [0149, [0082, 0080, 0117, 0139]);
storing the set of samples associated with the PO (Para. [0148]); and
activating an expanded set of modem functions for processing the stored set of reference signal samples and the stored set of samples associated with the PO, wherein the expanded set of modem functions is activated to initiate a third mode of operation of the set of modes of operation (Fig. 11; Para. [0151 and 0154]; Paras. [0093-0094]).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 10.
Chen also teaches
initiate the third mode of operation after activating the expanded set of modem functions, wherein the wireless device operates in the third mode of operation while processing the at least one reference signal and the set of samples associated with the PO (Fig. 11; Paras. [0151 and 0154]; Paras. [0093-0094] - [0093] During a paging reception process, the UE 110 may wake up at a time t0 to monitor paging transmission. The UE 110 may first select the SS block 1110 from the respective SS block burst set based on a quality measurement (e.g., RSRP), and use the SS block 1110 to perform a timing/frequency tracking. The UE 110 may then proceed to perform paging detection at the PO 1131 that is QCLed with the SS block 1110. Thereafter, the UE 110 goes to sleep at a time t1. [0094] In alternative examples, the SS block 1120 following the PO 1131 is used for timing/frequency tracking. Under such configuration, the UE 110 buffers samples of the PO 1131 until a timing/frequency synchronization is performed based on the SS block 1120. In some examples, the UE 110 goes to a light sleep during the gap 1160 to save power, and goes to a deep sleep after paging detection (after t1)).
Regarding Claim 25, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 24.
Chen also teaches
initiating the third mode of operation after activating the expanded set of modem functions, wherein the wireless device operates in the third mode of operation while processing the at least one reference signal and the set of samples associated with the PO (Fig. 11; Paras. [0151 and 0154]; Paras. [0093-0094]).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 10.
Chen also teaches
wherein the set of samples associated with the PO indicates for the wireless device to operate in the first mode of operation, and wherein to adjust the current mode of operation, the at least one processor is configured to deactivate the expanded set of modem functions and the minimal set of modem functions to operate in the first mode of operation until a time before a next PO (Para. [0154] - At S2620, the UE 110 performs a paging detection based on a PO associated with the selected timing/frequency tracking RS. For example, the PO may include a paging DCI intended for the UE 110. The UE 110 may decode a respective PDCCH to obtain the paging DCI, and subsequently obtain a respective paging message. In response to the paging message, the UE 110 may take actions accordingly, such as establishing an RRC connection to the BS 120 and turning into RRC connected mode. Alternatively, no paging DCI is found in the PO, and the UE 110 may turn into RRC idle or inactive mode again. The process 2600 may terminate after S2620).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 1.
Chen also teaches
receive the set of samples associated with the PO (Fig. 26, S2610; Paras. [0147-0148] - [0147] At S2610, paging related configurations are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110. For example, timing/frequency tracking RSs related configurations can be transmitted. For example, the timing/frequency tracking RSs can be SS blocks, TRSs, or a combination thereof. Accordingly, parameters of SS block burst set, TRS burst set, or both, may be transmitted to the UE 110. In addition, PO window related configurations may be transmitted, such as DRX configurations for determining timings of PO windows. Further, QCLed relationship between the timing/frequency tracking RSs and respective POs may be signaled in the paging related configurations. Moreover, explicit or implicit configurations indicating what timing/frequency tracking RS source is to be used may be transmitted. [0148] The paging related configurations may be included in an MIB or an SIB, and broadcasted in the cell 128, or signaled to the UE 110 using dedicated RRC signaling.); and
store the set of samples associated with the PO (Para. [0148] - The paging related configurations may be included in an MIB or an SIB, and broadcasted in the cell 128, or signaled to the UE 110 using dedicated RRC signaling.).
SIBs (system information blocks) and MIBs (master information blocks) are interpreted to be “stored” by the examiner because the UE stores the information contained within an SIB or MIB to configure themselves for the network.
Regarding Claim 26, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 24.
Chen also teaches
wherein the set of samples associated with the PO indicates for the wireless device to operate in the first mode of operation, and wherein to adjust the current mode of operation, the at least one processor is configured to deactivate the expanded set of modem functions and the minimal set of modem functions to operate in the first mode of operation until a time before a next PO (Para. [0154] - At S2620, the UE 110 performs a paging detection based on a PO associated with the selected timing/frequency tracking RS. For example, the PO may include a paging DCI intended for the UE 110. The UE 110 may decode a respective PDCCH to obtain the paging DCI, and subsequently obtain a respective paging message. In response to the paging message, the UE 110 may take actions accordingly, such as establishing an RRC connection to the BS 120 and turning into RRC connected mode. Alternatively, no paging DCI is found in the PO, and the UE 110 may turn into RRC idle or inactive mode again. The process 2600 may terminate after S2620).
Examiner interprets only one claimed feature to be mapped because of the presence of “or.”
Regarding Claim 27, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 17.
Chen also teaches
receiving the set of samples associated with the PO (Fig. 26, S2610; Paras. [0147-0148]); and
storing the set of samples associated with the PO (Para. [0148).
SIBs (system information blocks) and MIBs (master information blocks) are interpreted to be “stored” by the examiner because the UE stores the information contained within an SIB or MIB to configure themselves for the network.
Regarding Claim 15, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 1.
Chen also teaches
wherein the set of samples is processed during a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (Fig. 9, elements 950 – 952; Paras. [0041, 0046, 0047, 0064, 0068, 0078, 0095, 0147, 0151]),
and wherein the set of samples includes at least one of one or more page samples, or one or more tracking reference signal (TRS) (Fig. 12, element 1231; Fig. 13, elements 1331, 1332; Fig. 15, element 1520; Paras. [0095, 0147]).
Regarding Claim 16, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 1.
Chen also teaches
a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to obtain the set of samples associated with to PO via the transceiver or the antenna (Fig. 27, elements 2710, 2730, and 2740; Para. [0158]),
wherein the wireless device is a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 26; Paras. [0146-0154, 0155]),
and wherein the set of modes of operation for the wireless device include an idle mode and an inactive mode (Para. [0148]).
Regarding Claim 28, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 17.
Chen also teaches
wherein the set of samples is processed during a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (Fig. 9, elements 950 – 952; Paras. [0041, 0046, 0047, 0064, 0068, 0078, 0095, 0147, 0151]),
wherein the set of samples includes at least one of one or more page samples (Fig. 12, element 1231; Fig. 13, elements 1331, 1332; Fig. 15, element 1520; Paras. [0095, 0147]).
wherein the wireless device is a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 26; Paras. [0146-0154, 0155]),
and wherein the set of modes of operation for the wireless device include an idle mode and an inactive mode (Para. [0148]).
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Bhattacharjee as applied to Claims 4 and 10 above, and further in view of Murray et al. (US 2020/0404617, previously presented), Murray hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 6, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 4.
Yet, Chen nor Bhattacharjee expressly teaches wherein the set of samples associated with the PO indicates for the wireless device to begin a random-access channel (RACH) process, and wherein to adjust the current mode of operation, the at least one processor is configured to activate a set of modem functions associated with the RACH process, wherein the set of modem functions associated with the RACH process is activated to initiate a fourth mode of operation of the set of modes of operation.
However, Murray teaches
wherein the set of samples associated with the PO indicates for the wireless device to begin a random access channel (RACH) process, and wherein to adjust the current mode of operation, the at least one processor is configured to activate a set of modem functions associated with the RACH process, wherein the set of modem functions associated with the RACH process is activated to initiate a fourth mode of operation of the set of modes of operation (Fig. 59, step 2; Figs. 60A-60E; Fig. 62, step 2; Fig. 63, step 2; 64A-B; Paras. [0412-0414] - [0412] The paging indication may trigger a preamble transmission on PRACH in a RACH opportunity (RO). [0413] The paging indication may signal the resources for the RACH transmission. The RACH transmission may occur in at least two ways. First, for example, the RACH transmission may occur over dedicated PRACH time and frequency resources for the paging procedure. These PRACH resources may be dynamically configured by the paging indication. Second the RACH transmission may occur over PRACH resources configured through system information. These PRACH resources may be dedicated for UE-assisted paging or shared with other functionalities such as initial access, beam recovery, etc. In the latter case the total pool of available preambles may be partitioned between paging, initial access, etc. [0414] The paging indication may indicate the pool of available RACH sequences for PRACH transmission; See also Paras. [0407-0408]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the set of samples associated with the PO indicates for the wireless device to begin a random-access channel (RACH) process, and wherein to adjust the current mode of operation, the at least one processor is configured to activate a set of modem functions associated with the RACH process, wherein the set of modem functions associated with the RACH process is activated to initiate a fourth mode of operation of the set of modes of operation as taught by Murray, in the combined system of Chen/Bhattacharjee, so that it would provide a means to achieve paging coverage comparable to LTE in 5G systems (Murray Para. [0123]) and a means for paging for an inactive UE by both RANs and core networks (Murray Para. [0124]).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 10.
Yet, Chen nor Bhattacharjee expressly teaches wherein the set of samples associated with the PO indicates for the wireless device to begin a random-access channel (RACH) process, and wherein to adjust the current mode of operation, the at least one processor is configured to activate a set of modem functions associated with the RACH process, wherein the set of modem functions associated with the RACH process is activated to initiate a fourth mode of operation of the set of modes of operation.
However, Murray teaches
wherein the set of samples associated with the PO indicates for the wireless device to begin a random access channel (RACH) process, and wherein to adjust the current mode of operation, the at least one processor is configured to activate a set of modem functions associated with the RACH process, wherein the set of modem functions associated with the RACH process is activated to initiate a fourth mode of operation of the set of modes of operation(Fig. 59, step 2; Figs. 60A-60E; Fig. 62, step 2; Fig. 63, step 2; 64A-B; Paras. [ 0407-0408, 0412-0414]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the set of samples associated with the PO indicates for the wireless device to begin a random access channel (RACH) process, and wherein to adjust the current mode of operation, the at least one processor is configured to activate a set of modem functions associated with the RACH process, wherein the set of modem functions associated with the RACH process is activated to initiate a fourth mode of operation of the set of modes of operation as taught by Murray, in the combined system of Chen/Bhattacharjee, so that it would provide a means to achieve paging coverage comparable to LTE in 5G systems (Murray Para. [0123]) and a means for paging for an inactive UE by both RANs and core networks (Murray Para. [0124]).
Claim(s) 8 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Bhattacharjee as applied to Claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0019909, previously presented), Zhang hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 8, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Chen nor Bhattacharjee expressly teaches wherein the at least one reference signal is a nearest reference signal to the PO.
However, Zhang teaches
wherein the at least one reference signal is a nearest reference signal to the PO (Para. [0171] - In addition, further, because the terminal device has learned of the availability of the at least one second reference signal in the beam/beam direction corresponding to the at least one SSB, and the terminal device may further learn of each paging occasion PO of the terminal device, the terminal device may receive, from the network device and on a reference signal resource corresponding to the reference signal configured for the terminal device, a reference signal that is available in the at least one second reference signal in the beam/beam direction corresponding to the at least one SSB and that is closest to the monitored paging message, to perform AGC tuning, time/frequency tracking, RRM measurement, beam management, or the like based on the reference signal that is available. This helps the terminal device properly select a reference signal, to avoid receiving a reference signal that is unavailable in the beam/beam direction corresponding to the at least one SSB, and enables the terminal device to receive the reference signal closest to the monitored paging message, to avoid unnecessary power consumption of the terminal device and improve a processing capability of the terminal device; See also Paras. [0172, 0175, 0176, 0178, 0181]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the at least one reference signal is a nearest reference signal to the PO as taught by Zhang, in the combined system of Chen/ Bhattacharjee, so that it would provide a means to resolve high power consumption when a terminal device performs paging message monitoring and RRM measurements (Zhang Para. [0005]).
Regarding Claim 22, Chen in view of Bhattacharjee teaches Claim 17.
Chen also teaches
wherein the time and frequency information includes a synchronization time and a synchronization frequency with a network entity associated with the at least one reference signal (Paras. [0047-0048, 0078, 0094, 0102, 0121, 0153]).
Yet, Chen nor Bhattacharjee expressly teaches wherein the at least one reference signal is a nearest reference signal to the PO.
However, Zhang teaches
wherein the at least one reference signal is a nearest reference signal to the PO (Paras. [0171, 0172, 0175, 0176, 0178, 0181]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the at least one reference signal is a nearest reference signal to the PO as taught by Zhang, in the combined system of Chen/ Bhattacharjee, so that it would provide a means to resolve high power consumption when a terminal device performs paging message monitoring and RRM measurements (Zhang Para. [0005]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468