DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 14th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 8, & 20 are amended. Claims 9-13, & 15-19 are canceled. Claims 21-29 are new. Claims 1-8, 14, & 20-29 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8, 14, & 20-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument; as necessitate by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-26 & 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schaer (US 20040082859 A1), hereinafter “Schaer”.
Regarding claim 21, Schaer discloses a pulmonary treatment system, comprising: an elongate body ([0112]; Figure 3—element 36) including a fluid supply lumen ([0112] & [0160]; Figures 2 & 23—element 53) extending beyond a fluid return lumen to form a fluid supply tip ([0112] & [0160]; Figures 2 & 23—element 51; the fluid supply tip being the portion of the elongate body 36 extending distally of the fluid return lumen 51), the fluid supply tip defining a fluid inlet port ([0160]; Figure 23—element 224), and the fluid return lumen defining a fluid outlet port ([0160]; Figure 23—element 51; the fluid outlet port being the distal tip outlet of the fluid return lumen 51); and an array of ultrasound energy emitters arranged cylindrically about the fluid supply tip between and in fluid communication with the fluid inlet port and the fluid outlet port and configured to deliver ablative ultrasound energy to nerve tissue ([0112], [0136], [0151], & [0160]; Figures 3, 17, & 23—element 34).
Regarding claim 22, Schaer discloses all of the limitations of claim 21, as described above.
Schaer further discloses wherein the array of ultrasound energy emitters is configured to generate focused ultrasound energy ([0133], [0148], & [0151]).
Regarding claim 23, Schaer discloses all of the limitations of claim 22, as described above.
Schaer further discloses wherein a focal length of the array of ultrasound energy emitters is selected to target nerve tissue spaced radially outward from surface tissue of an airway wall ([0021], [0133], [0147], [0148], & [0151]; the transducer designs relate to configurations that focus the energy at some depth; the acoustic energy may be produced under conditions with interrupt nerve pathways in tissue).
Regarding claim 24, Schaer discloses all of the limitations of claim 22, as described above.
Schaer further discloses wherein the each of the array of ultrasound energy emitters includes an acoustic lens or a transducer with a curvilinear surface profile to focus the ultrasound energy ([0133], [0148], & [0151]).
Regarding claim 25, Schaer discloses all of the limitations of claim 21, as described above.
Schaer further discloses wherein the array of ultrasound energy emitters is rotatable about a longitudinal axis ([0027] & [0034]; the transducers may be manipulated in a variety of ways including deflecting, rotating, everting, and the like, in order to direct the vibrational energy precisely where desired).
Regarding claim 26, Schaer discloses all of the limitations of claim 21, as described above.
Schaer further discloses wherein the array of ultrasound energy emitters includes a plurality of ultrasound transducers circumferentially spaced about a longitudinal axis to generate a plurality of respective beams of ultrasound energy ([0132] & [0151]; Figures 10 & 17—element 34).
Regarding claim 28, Schaer discloses all of the limitations of claim 21, as described above.
Schaer further discloses an expandable member surrounding the array of ultrasound energy emitters ([0112]; Figures 3 & 23—element 46).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acker et al. (previously presented-US 6669655 B1), hereinafter “Acker”, in view of Schaer.
Regarding claim 1, Acker discloses a pulmonary treatment system ([Col. 4, lines 25-27]), comprising: an elongate body including a fluid supply lumen ([Col. 6, lines 29-40]; Figure 5—element 344; with said elongated body being the elongated catheter body defining passages 344 & 346; and the fluid supply lumen being passage 346); and an ultrasound energy delivery assembly coupled to a distal end of the elongate body and being positionable into an airway of a patient ([Col. 6, line 29 – Col. 7, line 14]; Figure 5—elements 302, 304, 336, & 340; with said ultrasound delivery assembly being defined by balloons 336 & 340 and sonic elements 302 & 304), the ultrasound energy delivery assembly including a deployable member movable from a delivery configuration into a deployed configuration in which the deployable member contacts an airway wall ([Col. 6, lines 29-50]; Figure 5—element 340), and an array of ultrasound energy emitters configured to deliver ablative ultrasound energy to nerve tissue spaced radially outward from surface tissue of the airway wall ([Col. 5, lines 30-67] & [Col. 6, line 65 – Col. 7, line 19]; Figures 4 & 5—elements 302 & 304; the ultrasound energy emitters 302 & 304 are configured to ablate tissue in a ring-like zone 350), wherein the array of ultrasound energy emitters are spaced relative to each other, mounted to a substrate configured to bend the array to facilitate delivery of the system ([Col. 6, lines 29-65]; Figure 5—element 336), and arranged cylindrically about the tip ([Col. 5, line 30 – Col. 6, line 40; Figure 5—elements 302 & 304 the ultrasound energy emitters 302 & 304 are shown as being arranged cylindrically/circumferentially surrounding the tip of the elongate body).
Acker does not disclose the elongate body including the fluid supply lumen extending beyond a fluid return lumen to form a fluid supply tip, the fluid supply tip defining a fluid inlet port, and the fluid return lumen defining a fluid outlet port; the array of ultrasound energy emitters arranged about the fluid supply tip between and in fluid communication with the fluid inlet port and the fluid outlet port.
Schaer discloses a treatment system comprising an elongate body ([0112]; Figure 3—element 36) comprising a fluid supply lumen ([0160]; Figure 23—element 53), an ultrasound energy delivery assembly coupled to the distal end of the elongate body and including a deployable member ([0112]; Figures 3 & 23—element 46) and an array of ultrasound energy emitters arranged circumferentially about the elongate body ([0112] & [0151]; Figures 3, 17, & 23—element 34); the elongate body including the fluid supply lumen ([0160]; Figure 23—element 53; “Conceivably, the central lumen 53 could be the balloon inflation lumen, with the flow reversed with respect to that shown in FIG. 23”) extending beyond a fluid return lumen to form a fluid supply tip ([0160]; Figure 23—element 51; the fluid supply tip being the region of the elongate body that is distal to the fluid return lumen 51), the fluid supply tip defining a fluid inlet port ([0160]; Figure 23—element 224), and the fluid return lumen defining a fluid outlet port ([0160]; Figure 23—element 51; the fluid outlet port being the distal end of fluid return lumen 51); the array of ultrasound energy emitters arranged about the fluid supply tip between and in fluid communication with the fluid inlet port and the fluid outlet port ([0112] & [0160]; Figure 24—element 34; the ultrasound energy emitters 34 are shown to be arranged between the fluid inlet port and fluid outlet port 224 & 51).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the elongate body and the fluid flow path of the deployable member, as disclosed by Acker, to include the elongate body including the fluid supply lumen extending beyond a fluid return lumen to form a fluid supply tip, the fluid supply tip defining a fluid inlet port, the fluid return lumen defining a fluid outlet port, the array of ultrasound energy emitters arranged about the fluid supply tip between and in fluid communication with the fluid inlet port and the fluid outlet port, as taught by Schaer, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward ablation catheters comprising deployable members and ultrasound energy emitters for ablating tissue. As disclosed by Acker, the balloon may be inflated via a passage ([Col. 6, lines 29-65]). As disclosed by Schaer, the balloon may be inflated and cooling fluid may be circulated within the balloon in order to minimize the heat buildup in the ultrasound energy emitters, the fluid may enter the balloon through a first lumen and port and may pass proximally and exit through a second port and lumen ([0112] & [0160]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the elongate body and the fluid flow path of the deployable member, as disclosed by Acker, to include the elongate body including the fluid supply lumen extending beyond a fluid return lumen to form a fluid supply tip, the fluid supply tip defining a fluid inlet port, the fluid return lumen defining a fluid outlet port, the array of ultrasound energy emitters arranged about the fluid supply tip between and in fluid communication with the fluid inlet port and the fluid outlet port, as taught by Schaer, as such a modification would provide for a suitable and known configuration for producing the predictable result of inflating a balloon surrounding ultrasound energy emitters and also provide for a cooling flow path that allows cooling fluid to be circulated within the balloon in order to minimize the heat buildup in the ultrasound energy emitters.
Regarding claim 2, Acker in view of Schaer disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Acker further discloses wherein the array of ultrasound energy emitters is configured to generate focused ultrasound energy ([Col. 2, lines 27-32] & [Col. 6, line 65 – Col. 7, line 14]; Figure 5—element 350).
Regarding claim 3, Acker in view of Schaer disclose all of the limitations of claim 2, as described above.
Acker further discloses wherein a focal length of the array of ultrasound energy emitters is selected to target nerve tissue spaced radially outward from surface tissue of the airway wall ([Col. 2, lines 27-32] & [Col. 6, line 65 – Col. 7, line 14]; Figure 1; Figure 5—element 350; the ultrasound energy emitters 302 & 304 are configured to ablate tissue in a ring like zone 350 that is shown as being space radially outward from surface tissue of the vessel wall; it is the examiner position that the ultrasound energy emitters would be capable of targeting/ablating nerve tissue spaced radially outward from surface tissue of the airway wall when ablating tissue in the zone 350).
Regarding claim 4, Acker in view of Schaer disclose all of the limitations of claim 2, as described above.
Acker further discloses wherein the each of the array of ultrasound energy emitters includes an acoustic lens or a transducer with a curvilinear surface profile to focus the ultrasound energy ([Col. 2, lines 27-32], [Col. 2, lines 56-63], [Col. 6, lines 1-29], & [Col. 6, line 65 – Col. 7, line 14]; Figures 4 & 5—element 302, 304, 350; each of the ultrasound energy emitters/transducers include a curvilinear/spiral-shaped surface profile).
Regarding claim 5, Acker in view of Schaer disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Acker further discloses wherein the array of ultrasound energy emitters is rotatable about a longitudinal axis ([Col. 6, lines 1-29] & [Col. 6, lines 41-65]; Figure 4—elements 302 & 304; the ultrasound energy emitters 302 & 304 are wound into a spiral configuration about a common axis and are configured to unwind as the ultrasound energy delivery assembly is expanded; the examiner is considering the array of ultrasound energy emitters to be rotatable about the longitudinal axis when they wind and unwind).
Regarding claim 6, Acker in view of Schaer disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Acker further discloses wherein the array of ultrasound energy emitters includes a plurality of ultrasound transducers circumferentially spaced about a longitudinal axis to generate a plurality of respective beams of ultrasound energy ([Col. 6, lines 1-29] & [Col. 6, line 65 – Col. 7, line 14]; Figures 4 & 5—elements 302 & 304).
Regarding claim 7, Acker in view of Schaer disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Acker further discloses wherein the deployable member comprises an expandable member to move the ultrasound energy delivery assembly from the delivery configuration to the deployed configuration ([Col. 6, lines 29-50]; Figure 5—element 340).
Regarding claim 8, Acker in view of Schaer disclose all of the limitations of claim 7, as described above.
Acker further discloses a coupling fluid source in fluid communication with the expandable member to deliver a coupling fluid into the expandable member so as to provide acoustic coupling between the array of ultrasound energy emitters and the expandable member ([Col. 4, lines 22-24] & [Col. 6, lines 40-50]; Figure 5—element 340; the balloon may be filled with saline, water, or other ultrasonic transmitting medium so as to couple the sonic emissions from the transducer into the surrounding tissue).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acker in view of Schaer and Maguire et al. (previously presented-US 20020087156 A1), hereinafter “Maguire”.
Regarding claim 14, Acker in view of Schaer discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Acker does not disclose wherein the ultrasound energy delivery assembly further includes an acoustic barrier coupled to the deployable member to reduce or eliminate the transmission of ultrasound energy through surface tissue of the airway wall adjacent the acoustic barrier.
Maguire teaches an ultrasound energy delivery assembly for ablating tissue ([0312]; Figure 17B—element 1750’), the ultrasound energy delivery assembly comprising a deployable member ([0312]; Figure 17B—element 1751’) and a ultrasound delivery element ([0312]; Figure 17B—element 1705), wherein the ultrasound energy delivery assembly further includes an acoustic barrier coupled to the deployable member to reduce or eliminate the transmission of ultrasound energy through surface tissue of the airway wall adjacent the acoustic barrier ([0312]; Figure 17b—element 1752’).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the deployable member, as disclosed by Acker, to include an acoustic barrier coupled to the deployable member, as taught by Maguire, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward electrosurgical devices comprising expandable assemblies for delivering ultrasonic energy to ablate tissue. As disclosed by Maguire, the deployable member can include ultrasonic shields/insulators which are adapted to shield tissue from the ultrasound signal and isolate the ultrasonic coupling from the ultrasound ablation member within the balloon to a certain area of the balloon that is uninsulated ([0263] & [0312]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the deployable member, as disclosed by Acker, to include an acoustic barrier coupled to the deployable member, as taught by Maguire, as such a modification would isolate the ultrasonic energy to a desired area of the deployable member and insulate non-target tissue from the ultrasound signals.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acker, in light of Podany (previously presented-US 20040267132 A1), hereinafter “Podany”, and further in view of Schaer.
Regarding claim 20, Acker discloses a pulmonary treatment system ([Col. 4, lines 25-27]), comprising: an elongate body including a fluid supply lumen ([Col. 6, lines 29-40]; Figure 5—element 344; with said elongated body being the elongated catheter body defining passage 344); and an ultrasound energy delivery assembly coupled to a distal end of the elongate body and being positionable into an airway of a patient ([Col. 6, line 29 – Col. 7, line 14]; Figure 5—elements 302, 304, 336, & 340; with said ultrasound delivery assembly being defined by balloons 336 & 340 and sonic elements 302 & 304), the ultrasound energy delivery assembly including an expandable cooling member configured for circulating coolant therein to provide cooling of surface tissue in contact with the cooling member ([Col. 4, lines 22-24] & [Col. 6, lines 29-50]; Figure 5—element 340; the balloon may be filled with saline, water, or other ultrasonic transmitting medium; Although Acker is silent to the balloon configured to provide cooling of surface tissue, Podany teaches an ultrasound energy delivering assembly including an expandable cooling member that may be filled with saline, water, or other ultrasonic transmitting medium wherein the water or saline provides cooling to the tissue and transducers ([0028] & [0032]); therefore, in light of the teachings of Podany, it is the examiners position that the balloon comprising saline or water, as disclosed by Acker, would also be capable of providing cooling of surface tissue, as it is known in the art that water or saline functions to cools tissue), the expandable cooling member including a seating portion configured to seat between adjacent cartilage rings in the airway ([Col. 6, lines 29-50]; Figure 5—element 340; the examiner is considering the “seating portion” to be the middle section of the balloon 340 that comprises an concave shape, as shown in Figure 5; the balloon 340 is configured to be inflated to expand into engagement with the interior wall of a circulatory vessel; it is the examiners position that the seating portion would be capable of seating between adjacent cartilage rings in the airway if so positioned), and an array of ultrasound delivery elements positioned within the expandable cooling member and being configured to deliver ablative ultrasound energy to tissue spaced radially outward from the surface tissue, the array of ultrasound delivery elements being arranged cylindrically about the tip ([Col. 5, lines 30-67] & [Col. 6, line 65 – Col. 7, line 19]; Figures 4 & 5—elements 302 & 304; the ultrasound energy emitters 302 & 304 are configured to ablate tissue in a ring-like zone 350).
Acker does not disclose the elongate body including the fluid supply lumen extending beyond a fluid return lumen to form a fluid supply tip, the fluid supply tip defining a fluid inlet port, and the fluid return lumen defining a fluid outlet port; the array of ultrasound delivery elements being arranged cylindrically about the fluid supply tip between and in fluid communication with the fluid inlet port and the fluid outlet port.
Schaer discloses a treatment system comprising an elongate body ([0112]; Figure 3—element 36) comprising a fluid supply lumen ([0160]; Figure 23—element 53), an ultrasound energy delivery assembly coupled to the distal end of the elongate body and including a deployable member ([0112]; Figures 3 & 23—element 46) and an array of ultrasound energy emitters arranged circumferentially about the elongate body ([0112] & [0151]; Figures 3, 17, & 23—element 34); the elongate body including the fluid supply lumen ([0160]; Figure 23—element 53; “Conceivably, the central lumen 53 could be the balloon inflation lumen, with the flow reversed with respect to that shown in FIG. 23”) extending beyond a fluid return lumen to form a fluid supply tip ([0160]; Figure 23—element 51; the fluid supply tip being the region of the elongate body that is distal to the fluid return lumen 51), the fluid supply tip defining a fluid inlet port ([0160]; Figure 23—element 224), and the fluid return lumen defining a fluid outlet port ([0160]; Figure 23—element 51; the fluid outlet port being the distal end of fluid return lumen 51); the array of ultrasound delivery elements being arranged cylindrically about the fluid supply tip between and in fluid communication with the fluid inlet port and the fluid outlet port ([0112] & [0160]; Figure 24—element 34; the ultrasound energy emitters 34 are shown to be arranged between the fluid inlet port and fluid outlet port 224 & 51).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the elongate body and the fluid flow path of the expandable member, as disclosed by Acker, to include the elongate body including the fluid supply lumen extending beyond a fluid return lumen to form a fluid supply tip, the fluid supply tip defining a fluid inlet port, the fluid return lumen defining a fluid outlet port, the array of ultrasound energy emitters arranged about the fluid supply tip between and in fluid communication with the fluid inlet port and the fluid outlet port, as taught by Schaer, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward ablation catheters comprising expandable members and ultrasound energy emitters for ablating tissue. As disclosed by Acker, the balloon may be inflated via a passage ([Col. 6, lines 29-65]). As disclosed by Schaer, the balloon may be inflated and cooling fluid may be circulated within the balloon in order to minimize the heat buildup in the ultrasound energy emitters, the fluid may enter the balloon through a first lumen and port and may pass proximally and exit through a second port and lumen ([0112] & [0160]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the elongate body and the fluid flow path of the expandable member, as disclosed by Acker, to include the elongate body including the fluid supply lumen extending beyond a fluid return lumen to form a fluid supply tip, the fluid supply tip defining a fluid inlet port, the fluid return lumen defining a fluid outlet port, the array of ultrasound energy emitters arranged about the fluid supply tip between and in fluid communication with the fluid inlet port and the fluid outlet port, as taught by Schaer, as such a modification would provide for a suitable and known configuration for producing the predictable result of inflating a balloon surrounding ultrasound energy emitters and also provide for a cooling flow path that allows cooling fluid to be circulated within the balloon in order to minimize the heat buildup in the ultrasound energy emitters.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaer in view of Acker.
Regarding claim 27, Schaer discloses all of the limitations of claim 21, as described above.
Schaer further discloses wherein the array of ultrasound energy emitters are mounted to the fluid supply tip.
Schaer does not disclose wherein the array of ultrasound energy emitters are mounted via a flexible substrate.
Acker teaches an array of ultrasound energy emitters mounted to a fluid supply tip ([Col. 7, lines 31-63]; Figures 7-10—element 702); wherein the array of ultrasound energy emitters are mounted via a flexible substrate ([Col. 7, lines 31-63]; Figures 7-10—element 736).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the mounting of the array of ultrasound energy emitters to the fluid supply tip, as disclosed by Schaer, to include wherein the array of ultrasound energy emitters are mounted via a flexible substrate, as taught by Acker, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward ultrasound ablation devices. As disclosed by Schaer, the ultrasound energy emitters may be manipulated in a variety of ways including deflecting, rotating, everting, and the like, in order to direct the vibrational energy precisely where desired ([0027]). As disclosed by Acker, the ultrasound energy emitters may be mounted to an inner balloon so as to expand the transducer, this provides for a low impedance sonic path between the ultrasound energy emitters and tissue ([Col. 7, lines 31-63]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mounting of the array of ultrasound energy emitters to the fluid supply tip, as disclosed by Schaer, to include wherein the array of ultrasound energy emitters are mounted via a flexible substrate, as taught by Acker, as such a modification would provide for a known and suitable manipulation of the ultrasound energy emitters and also allow for the array of ultrasound energy emitters to expand in order to provide for a low impedance sonic path between the ultrasound energy emitters and tissue.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaer in view of Maguire.
Regarding claim 29, Schaer discloses all of the limitations of claim 21, as described above.
Schaer does not disclose an acoustic barrier coupled to the elongate body.
Maguire teaches an ultrasound energy delivery assembly for ablating tissue comprising an elongate body, an ultrasound delivery element ([0220]; Figure 10L—element 1030), and an acoustic barrier coupled to the elongate body ([0263]; Figure 10L—element 1060).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the elongate body, as disclosed by Schaer, to include an acoustic barrier coupled to the elongate body, as taught by Maguire, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward electrosurgical devices comprising expandable assemblies for delivering ultrasonic energy to ablate tissue. As disclosed by Maguire, the device can include ultrasonic shields/insulators which are adapted to shield tissue from the ultrasound signal and isolate the ultrasonic coupling from the ultrasound ablation member within the balloon to a certain area of the balloon that is uninsulated ([0263] & [0312]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elongate body, as disclosed by Schaer, to include an acoustic barrier coupled to the elongate body, as taught by Maguire, as such a modification would isolate the ultrasonic energy to a desired area of the deployable member and insulate non-target tissue from the ultrasound signals.
Conclusion
/M.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794