DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Kurihara is not an anticipatory reference (see Remarks filed 8/15/2025).
While Kurihara does not expressly disclose performing plasma treatment on the granulated material, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reverse the steps, since it has been held that changes in sequence is prima facie obvious in the absence of any new or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)). Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In reBurhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In reGibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.). Further, with respect to claim 1 reciting “the first roll and the second roll are arranged such that a gap between the first roll and the second roll is between 50 µm to 10 mm”, Kurihara discloses a hot roll press, and that an electrode active material layer having a thickness of 70 µm is produced ([0300]) such that the gap between the pair of rolls is within the claimed range. Accordingly, claim 1 is not obvious over Kurihara.
Further regarding applicant’s arguments that Miura does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Kurihara (see Remarks filed 8/15/2025), Miura is not relied upon to teach the alleged deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara et al. (US 2005/0064096A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kurihara discloses a method of manufacturing an electrode (Title, Abstract), comprising:
obtaining a granulated material by mixing an electrode active material, a binder, and a solvent (see Title, Abstract; granulating step to make a composite particle containing electrode active material, binder [0025], solvent [0058]),
performing plasma treatment on the granulated material (plasma processing step [0056]),
preparing the electrode active material such that at least one type of functional group selected from hydroxy group, carbonyl group, and carboxyl group is included on a surface of the electrode active material by the plasma treatment on the granulated material (minute amounts of oxygen and hydrogen react with the surface of the carbon material, whereby new functional groups are introduced [0056], i.e., hydroxy groups);
performing compression molding on the granulated material with a first roll and second roll that is positioned parallel to the first roll to form an electrode composite layer (sheet forming step by heating and pressing, such as a hot roll press by a pair of hot rolls [0096], [0098]); and placing the electrode composite layer on an electrode current collector (active material containing layer arranged step of arranging the sheet as the active material containing layer on the collector [0096]), wherein the first roll and the second roll are arranged such that a gap between the first roll and the second roll is between 50 µm to 10 mm (hot roll press, electrode active material layer having a thickness of 70 µm is produced [0300] such that the gap between the pair of rolls is within the claimed range).
Further regarding claim 1, while Kurihara does not expressly disclose performing plasma treatment on the granulated material, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reverse the steps, since it has been held that changes in sequence is prima facie obvious in the absence of any new or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)). Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In reBurhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In reGibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.).
Regarding claim 5, Kurihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kurihara further discloses the electrode active material comprises a positive-electrode active material, the positive-electrode active material comprising at least one of lithium-containing metal oxides and lithium-containing phosphates ([0189]), and the average particle diameter of the positive-electrode active material is 1 to 25 µm (5 to 20 µm [0192]).
Regarding claim 6, Kurihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kurihara further discloses the electrode active material comprises a negative-electrode active material, the negative-electrode active material comprising at least one of graphite, easily graphitizable carbon, and hardly graphitizable carbon ([0180]), and the average particle diameter of the negative-electrode active material is 1 to 25 µm (1 to 30 µm [0192]; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.).
Regarding claim 7, Kurihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kurihara further discloses the further comprises a conductive material, and the conductive material includes at least one of acetylene black (AB), thermal black, and furnace black ([0181], acetylene black [0296]-[0297]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara et al. (US 2005/0064096A1), as applied to claims 1, 5-7 above, in view of Miura (US 2018/0287138A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kurihara discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Kurihara does not further disclose the granulated material has a solid content percentage that is equal to or greater than 75 mass % and is equal to or less than 90 mass %.
Miura discloses a method of producing an electrode including preparing wet granules by mixing polymer, solvent and active material particles (see Title, Abstract). Because Miura teaches a solid content proportion in the range of 80 mass % or greater and less than 100 mass % forms wet granules, wherein wet granules are formed within the above range and a higher density of the active material film is obtained leading to higher battery capacity ([0004], [0040]-[0042]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the solid content in the granulated material in order to arrive at desired electrode density and battery capacity (see MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 11/29/2025