DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-18 and 21-22 are pending.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required.
Claim 21: the term “fillet” does not appear in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3 and 7: “(a/the) vaporization surface” should be “the heating surface” to clearly point to the same term recited in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 113100485 A with reference made to machine translation).
Chen fig. 3 is labeled with three instances of #234 which are hereinafter cited as top #234, middle #234, and bottom #234.
Claim 1: Chen teaches a vaporizer (fig. 1 and [39], #100), comprising:
a heating top cover (fig. 3-4 and [44], #21 and #23 are part of #20; [39], #20 covers a heating element #40), an outer surface of the heating top cover (21 and 23) providing an airway corner ([47-48], middle #234 and bottom #234);
a heating body (fig. 1 and [39], #40 which abuts the inside of #21) having a heating surface;
and a liquid return groove (fig. 3-4 and [53], walls of #216 and #218) provided on a side wall of the heating top cover (21 and 23) facing (#216 and #218 guide liquid toward and connect to #40) the heating body (40), the liquid return groove (walls of 216 and 218) extending from the heating top cover (21 and 23) to the heating body (40), the liquid return groove (walls of 216 and 218) being arranged at the airway corner (middle 234 and bottom 234),
wherein a space (fig. 1, atomization volume of #40) defined at least in part by the heating surface is in communication with the airway corner (fig. 3-4, middle #234 and bottom #234) via the liquid return groove (walls of 216 and 218).
“Corner” is interpreted to include the meaning of “region where lines intersect”, consistent with instant fig. 4, #220 showing a continuous, curved region where lines intersect and consistent with instant claim 8 reciting multiple liquid return grooves at the airway corner.
Claim 2: Chen teaches the vaporizer according to claim 1, wherein the vaporizer (fig. 1 and [39], #100) comprises a main body (10) and the main body (10) comprises a main airway (12), wherein the heating top cover (20) is arranged in the main body (10), wherein a top cover airway (fig. 3-4, volume abutting #216 and #218 and extending through top #234) is formed between the heating top cover (21 and 23) and the main body (10 above 20), and wherein the top cover airway (volume abutting 216 and 218 and extending through top 234) is in communication with the main airway (12 above 234) through the airway corner (middle 234 and bottom 234).
Claim 3: Chen teaches the vaporizer according to claim 1, wherein a groove side wall of the liquid return groove (fig. 3-4, walls of #216 and #218) close to the heating surface of the heating body (40) comprises a side wall opening (annotated fig. 3; [50-51], #2121), and wherein the side wall opening (annotated fig. 3) is configured for liquid to pass through [50-51].
While Chen fig. 3 does not label #2121, Chen discloses that each drainage hole #2121 is positioned in each drainage groove #212 [51], and that each drainage groove #212 is formed by flow-guiding surfaces #216 and #218 [53], so Chen’s draining holes #2121 are surrounded by #216 and #218.
Claim 4: Chen teaches the vaporizer according to claim 1, wherein at least one groove side wall of the liquid return groove (fig. 3-4, walls of #216 and #218) is provided with an inclined surface (inclined surface of 216), and wherein the inclined surface (inclined surface of 216) is configured to guide liquid to flow to the heating body [50-51].
Claim 6: Chen teaches the vaporizer according to claim 1, wherein the heating top cover (fig. 3-4, #21 and #23) is provided with a liquid guide groove (groove through which horizontal arrows flow) in communication with the liquid return groove (walls of 216 and 218), and wherein the liquid guide groove (groove through which horizontal arrows flow) is configured to guide liquid to flow to the liquid return groove (walls of 216 and 218).
Claim 7: Chen teaches the vaporizer according to claim 6, wherein one end of the liquid guide groove (fig. 3-4, groove through which horizontal arrows flow) is located at the airway corner (middle 234 and bottom 234), and an other end is located on a side of the heating top cover (21 and 23) close to the heating surface (heating surface of 40).
Claim 8: Chen teaches the vaporizer according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of liquid return grooves (fig. 3, walls of #216 and #218) are spaced apart at the airway corner (middle 234 and bottom 234).
Claim 9: Chen teaches the vaporizer according to claim 1, wherein a quantity of liquid return grooves (fig. 3, walls of #216 and #218) located in a middle portion (middle portion of 23 along left-right axis of fig. 3) of the heating top cover (23) is M (three), wherein a quantity of liquid return grooves (216 and 218) located at an edge (bottommost edge of 23) of the heating top cover (23) is N (three), and wherein M is equal to N.
Claim 10: Chen teaches an electronic vaporization device ([38], atomization device), comprising: a power supply assembly (power supply component); and the vaporizer (100) of claim 1, wherein the power supply assembly is electrically connected to the heating body of the vaporizer [38].
Claim 11: Chen teaches the vaporizer according to claim 2, wherein the airway corner (fig. 3-4, middle #234 and bottom #234) is formed between the outer surface of the heating top cover (23) and the main body (fig. 1, #10).
Chen fig. 3 is labeled with three instances of #234 which are hereinafter cited as top #234, middle #234, and bottom #234.
Claim 12: Chen teaches a vaporizer (fig. 1 and [39], #100), comprising:
a main body (10);
a heating body (40) having a heating surface;
and a heating top cover (fig. 3-4 and [44], #21 and #23 are part of #20; [39], #20 covers a heating element #40) providing an airway corner ([47-48], middle #234 and bottom #234),
wherein a gap ([44], a gap is formed between #10 and #23) is formed between an outer surface of the heating top cover (21 and 23) and the main body (10), wherein a top cover airway (volume abutting 216 and 218 and extending through top 234) is formed between the heating top cover (21 and 23) and the main body (10), wherein at least one liquid return groove (walls of 218) is provided on a side wall of the heating top cover (21 and 23), the at least one liquid return groove (walls of 218) being located in the top cover airway (volume abutting 216 and 218 and extending through top 234), and wherein a space (fig. 1, atomization volume of #40) defined at least in part by the heating surface is in communication with the airway corner ([47-48], middle #234 and bottom #234) via the at least one liquid return groove (walls of 218).
“Corner” is interpreted to include the meaning of “region where lines intersect”, consistent with instant fig. 4, #220 showing a continuous, curved region where lines intersect and consistent with instant claim 8 reciting multiple liquid return grooves at the airway corner.
Claim 13: Chen teaches the vaporizer of claim 12, wherein the heating top cover (fig. 3-4, #23) comprises at least one convex bar (bar which separates instances of 218) arranged on the side wall of the heating top cover (21 and 23).
Claim 14: Chen teaches the vaporizer of claim 13, wherein the at least one convex bar (fig. 3-4, bars which separate instances of #218) arranged on the side wall of the heating top cover (21 and 23) comprises a plurality of convex bars (bars which separate instances of 218) spaced apart from one another, and wherein a liquid guide groove (216) is formed between two adjacent convex bars (bars which separate instances of 218) of the plurality of convex bars (bars which separate instances of 218).
Claim 15: Chen teaches the vaporizer of claim 14, wherein an end of the liquid guide groove (fig. 3-4, #216) is in communication with a liquid return groove of the at least one liquid return groove (walls of 218).
Claim 16: Chen teaches the vaporizer of claim 13, wherein a protruding portion (fig. 3-4, wall of #236 which protrudes radially outwards at topmost end of 23) is arranged on a recess (236) of the heating top cover (21 and 23), and wherein a flange (inclined wall of 236) is disposed at a joint between the protruding portion (side wall of 236) and the recess (236), the flange (inclined wall of 236) having an inclined surface.
“Flange” is interpreted to include the meaning of “edge” or “rim”, consistent with instant fig. 2-4, #271 showing an edge of two joined structures.
Claim 18: Chen teaches the vaporizer of claim 12, wherein each liquid return groove (fig. 3-4, walls of #218) of the at least one liquid return groove (walls of 218) comprises a side wall opening (opening of 218) for a liquid to flow to [53] a surface of the heating body (40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 113100485 A with reference made to machine translation) as applied to claim 4 in view of Hwang (KR 20130092252 A with reference made to machine translation).
Claim 5: Chen teaches the vaporizer according to claim 4, wherein the inclined surface (fig. 3-4, inclined surface of #216) gradually approaches the heating body (40) in a direction away from a bottom wall (annotated fig. 4) of the liquid return groove (walls of 216 and 218).
Chen does not explicitly teach that at least a part of a structure of the heating body is accommodated in the liquid return groove.
Hwang teaches a vaporizer (title) comprising a wick (fig. 7 and [44], #148) of a heating body (130) that is accommodated in a liquid guide groove ([46], liquid enters #130 through #144), such that a tightness of pressing fit around the wick adjusts an amount of liquid conveyed through the wick [57].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add Hwang’s wick to Chen’s liquid return groove, because doing so would enable a tightness of pressing fit around the wick to adjust an amount of liquid conveyed through the wick to Chen’s heating surface.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 113100485 A with reference made to machine translation) as applied to claim 16 in view of Lei (CN 110613172 A with reference made to machine translation).
Claim 17: Chen teaches the vaporizer of claim 16, wherein the at least one convex bar (fig. 3-4, bars which separate instances of #218) comprises a convex bar (bar which separates instances of 218) having an end extending to cover a portion of the side wall of the heating top cover (23).
Chen does not explicitly teach that the convex bar extends to cover a portion of the protruding portion.
Lei teaches a vaporizer (fig. 6-7 and [67]) comprising convex bars between which liquid return grooves (122) are formed, wherein the convex bars extend along a longitudinal direction to guide liquid towards a heating body (30), such that vaporization of liquid is made more efficient [67] and such that a user is prevented from inhaling liquid [67].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to extend Chen’s convex bar along a longitudinal direction as taught by Lei, which in Chen would extend the convex bar to cover a portion of the protruding portion to guide liquid flowing along the arrows of Chen fig. 4, because doing so would make vaporization of liquid more efficient and would prevent a user from inhaling liquid.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 113100485 A with reference made to machine translation) in view of Illidge (WO 2021053220 A1).
Chen fig. 3 is labeled with three instances of #234 which are hereinafter cited as top #234, middle #234, and bottom #234.
Claim 21: Chen teaches a vaporizer (fig. 1 and [39], #100), comprising:
a heating top cover (fig. 3-4 and [44], #21 and #23 are part of #20; [39], #20 covers a heating element #40);
and a heating body (40),
wherein the heating top cover comprises an airway convex element ([47-48], middle #234 and bottom #234),
and wherein a liquid return groove (2121) extending from the heating top cover (21 and 23) to the heating body (40) is provided at the airway convex element (middle 234 and bottom 234).
While Chen fig. 3 does not label #2121, Chen discloses that each drainage hole #2121 is positioned in each drainage groove #212 [51], and that each drainage groove #212 is formed by flow-guiding surfaces #216 and #218 [53], so Chen’s draining holes #2121 are surrounded by #216 and #218.
Chen does not explicitly teach that the airway convex element is filleted.
Illidge teaches a vaporizer (title) comprising an airway convex element (fig. 23 and p. 20, lines 26-31, #602) that is filleted, such that the filleted element reduces jetting of airflow and increases evenness of airflow distribution (lines 26-31).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to fillet Chen’s airway convex element, because doing so would reduce jetting of air flow and increase evenness of airflow distribution.
Claim 22: modified Chen teaches the vaporizer of claim 21, wherein the heating body (fig. 1, #40) comprises a heating surface;
and wherein a space (atomization volume of 40) defined at least in part by the heating surface is in communication with the airway convex fillet (middle 234 and bottom 234) via the liquid return groove (2121).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments of 2025 November 11 have been carefully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (p. 9, [1]) that Chen does not teach that a space defined at least in part by a heating surface is in communication with an airway corner via a liquid return groove. However, Chen does disclose that a space (fig. 1, atomization volume of #40) defined at least in part by a heating surface (atomizing surface of 40) is in communication with an airway corner (fig. 3-4, middle #234 and bottom #234) via a liquid return groove (walls of 216 and 218).
Applicant argues (p. 9, [2]) that Chen fig. 4’s horizontal arrows represent only air flow, while Chen fig. 4’s vertical arrows represent only liquid flow, such that Chen’s air does not flow across a liquid return groove (walls of 216 and 218). However, as in the above analysis on the amended claims, Chen discloses that a space (fig. 1, atomization volume of #40) defined at least in part by a heating surface (atomizing surface of 40) is in communication with an airway corner (fig. 3-4, middle #234 and bottom #234) via a liquid return groove (walls of 216 and 218), and arguments against Chen’s horizontal arrows do not break the anticipating disclosure.
Conclusion
/TOBEY C LE/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747