DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9, 11-15 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-6, 12-13 are withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Office Action mailed on 11/17/2025.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 7- in the reply filed on 02/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the method and apparatus share substantially identical structural limitations. This is not found persuasive because the inventions are restricted due to the fact that the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus comprising mechanical switches and multimeters as described on page 3 of the office action mailed on 11/17/2025 (MPEP § 806.05(e)). The applicant did not present any argument against this.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-6, 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-9, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Lamesch et al., US 9656575(hereafter Lamesch).
Regarding claim 7,
A method for carrying out an alternating heating and capacitive measuring mode by a common heating wire, comprising : (Fig. 2)
Fig. 2 in Lamesch
carrying out a heating mode, during which, due to a switching by a control circuit, a pair of first switching elements and a pair of second switching elements are in a conducting state, (Column 5, lines 22-26 teaches “In heating mode, the heating control unit 2 actuates the switches 3, 4, 5, 6 periodically, normally with a low frequency (e.g. 20 Hz).”)
the first switching elements, the second switching elements, and the heating wire are connected in series, (Annotated Fig. 2)
Fig. 2 in Lamesch teaches heating mode
and the heating wire is conductively connected, in each case via a first switching element and a second switching element connected via conductor portions to the first switching element, (Annotated Fig. 2)
to one of two different heating potentials, so that the heating wire is supplied with a heating current; (Annotated Fig. 2)
triggering a change into a detecting mode by the control circuit, so that the first switching elements and the second switching elements switch from the heating mode into a measuring mode, during which the first switching elements and the second switching elements are in a blocking state, (Column 5, lines 30-35 teaches “In capacitive sensing mode, the switches 3, 4, 5, 6 are opened, so that the heating element does not heat.”)
so that the two connections of the heating wire with the two different heating potentials, which are electrically conducting in the heating mode, are each interrupted several times in the measuring mode; (Column 5, lines 40-46 teaches “The switches 3 and 4 are mandatory to have no short circuit of the AC voltage source 8 to ground. Then the same electrical potential is on node 20 and 21 and on the seat heater. In other words, the heating element 11 is guarded against the rest of the circuit.”)
carrying out the measuring mode, in which a capacitance of the heating wire relative to a reference potential is determined by a detecting circuit (Column 5, lines 47-56 teaches “The alternative current flowing into the heating element via current measurement unit 9 depends on the capacitance between the heating element 11 and ground. That capacitance, in turn, depends on the occupancy state. Current measurement unit 9 measures the current that flows to ground via the heating element 11. Due to the guard function, no (or at most an insignificant) AC current flows from the heating element 11 to ground across the parasitic capacitances of the switches 3, 4, 5, 6, which would otherwise distort the measurement.”)
by applying to the heating wire an alternating voltage from an AC voltage source; (Column 4, lines 60-64 teaches “The capacitive sensing circuit 104 generates an AC voltage and the current flowing into the heating element in response to the applied AC voltage is measured.”
Column 5, lines 45-50 teaches “The alternative current flowing into the heating element via current measurement unit 9 depends on the capacitance between the heating element 11 and ground.”)
wherein, in the measuring mode, a current curve between the heating wire and the AC voltage source is measured by the detecting circuit, (Current measurement unit 9 in Fig. 2. Column 4, lines 60-64 teaches “The capacitive sensing circuit 104 generates an AC voltage and the current flowing into the heating element in response to the applied AC voltage is measured.”)
in order to determine the capacitance based on a phase shift between the alternating voltage and the current curve,( Column 4, lines 60-64 teaches “The capacitive sensing circuit 104 generates an AC voltage and the current flowing into the heating element in response to the applied AC voltage is measured.”
Column 6, lines 50-60 teaches “ current measuring means AC-coupled between said oscillator and said heating element configured to keep the AC-potential of said heating element equal, or at least substantially equal, in amplitude and phase, to said oscillating voltage and to derive said capacitive load from a current flowing into said heating element”. It is inherent that current flowing through RC circuit has a phase shift with applied alternating voltage. It is implied that capacitive load is measured from this inherent phase shift.)
wherein the current curve results from the applied alternating voltage. (Annotated Fig. 2. Column 4, lines 60-64 teaches “The capacitive sensing circuit 104 generates an AC voltage and the current flowing into the heating element in response to the applied AC voltage is measured.”)
Regarding claim 8, Column 8, lines 38-46 teaches “The parts 10, 15, 16 as capacitors have a low impedance at the signal frequency and as switches are they are closed in capacitive sensing mode. So the same AC voltage is on the input and output side of the switches 5 and 6. The switches 3 and 4 are mandatory to have no short circuit of the AC voltage source 8 to ground. Then the same electrical potential is on node 20 and 21 and on the seat heater. In other words, the heating element 11 is guarded against the rest of the circuit.”
Regarding claim 9,
The method according to claim 7, wherein the first switching elements are transistors, (Column 3, lines 43-45 teaches “The first, second, third and fourth switches are preferably field-effect transistors (e.g. MOSFETS).”)
and in the measuring mode, the alternating voltage is applied in each case to a control terminal of the transistors. (Fig. 4)
Fig. 4 in Lamesch
Regarding claim 14, Column 3, lines 43-45 teaches “The first, second, third and fourth switches are preferably field-effect transistors (e.g. MOSFETS).”
Regarding claim 15, Column 3, lines 43-45 teaches “The first, second, third and fourth switches are preferably field-effect transistors (e.g. MOSFETS).” It is inherent that control terminal of a MOSFET is the gate terminal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamesch as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Koch et al., US 7521940 (hereafter Koch).
The method according to claim 7, wherein a temperature-dependent blocking behavior of the first switching elements is compensated in the measuring mode. (Column 1, lines 47-53 in Koch teaches “the sensor includes a reference circuit for measuring the effects of temperature on the sensing signal and outputting a reference sensing measurement that can be used to adjust the sensing signal.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the reference circuit as taught in Koch to the method in Lamesch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “There will be some drift of the capacitive sensing system 1 due to temperature effects on the diode reverse leakage currents” as taught in column 2, lines 60-65 in Koch.
Double Patenting
Claims 7-11, 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 10-13, 16-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12384441 (hereafter ‘441). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as discussed in Table 1.
Table 1
Instant claim 7 (09/20/2022)
Reference claim 12 (‘441)
A method for carrying out an alternating heating and capacitive measuring mode by means of a common heating wire, comprising the following steps:
A method for carrying out an alternating heating and capacitive measuring mode by means of a common heating wire, comprising the following steps:
carrying out a heating mode, during which, due to a switching by a control circuit, a pair of first switching elements and a pair of second switching elements are in a conducting state,
carrying out a heating mode, during which, due to a switching by a control circuit, a pair of first switching elements and a pair of second switching elements are in a conducting state,
the first switching elements, the second switching elements, and the heating wire are connected in series, and the heating wire is conductively connected,
the first switching elements and the second switching elements and the heating wire are connected in series, and the heating wire is conductively connected,
in each case via a first switching element and a second switching element connected via conductor portions to the first switching element, to one of two different heating potentials, so that the heating wire is supplied with a heating current;
in each case via a one of the first switching elements and a one of the second switching elements which are connected via a conductor portion to the first switching element, to one of two different heating potentials, so that the heating wire is supplied with a heating current;
triggering a change into a detecting mode by the control circuit, so that the first switching elements and the second switching elements switch from the heating mode into a measuring mode,
triggering a switchover from the heating mode into a measuring mode of the first switching elements and the second switching elements by the control circuit,
during which the first switching elements and the second switching elements are in a blocking state, so that the two connections of the heating wire with the two different heating potentials, which are electrically conducting in the heating mode, are each interrupted several times in the measuring mode;
wherein the first switching elements and the second switching elements are in a blocking state during the measuring mode, so that two connections of the heating wire with the two different heating potentials, which are electrically conducting in the heating mode, are each interrupted several times in the measuring mode;
carrying out the measuring mode, in which a capacitance of the heating wire relative to a reference potential is determined by a detecting circuit by applying to the heating wire an alternating voltage from an AC voltage source;
carrying out the measuring mode, in which the measuring capacitance of the heating wire relative to a reference potential is determined by a detecting circuit by applying to the heating wire an alternating voltage from an AC voltage source;
wherein, in the measuring mode, a current curve between the heating wire and the AC voltage source is measured by the detecting circuit, in order to determine the capacitance based on a phase shift between the alternating voltage and the current curve, wherein the current curve results from the applied alternating voltage.
in the measuring mode, a current curve between the heating wire and the AC voltage source resulting from the application of the alternating voltage is measured by the detecting circuit, in order to detect, based on a phase shift between the alternating voltage and the current curve, the measuring capacitance and, in the testing phase, the change in measuring capacitance and/or to determine the total impedance.
Instant claim 8 is met by claim 10 of ‘441.
Instant claim 9 is met by claim 11 of ‘441.
Instant claim 11 is met by claim 13 of ‘441.
Instant claim 14 is met by claim 16 of ‘441.
Instant claim 15 is met by claim 17 of ‘441.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/17/2026 with respect to claim(s) 7-9, 11, 14-15 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant stated on page 1 of the remarks that
However, the Examiner did not find any terminal disclaimer paper work. The double patenting rejection is maintained.
The applicant argued on pages 4-5 that Lamesch does not teach determining capacitance based on phase shift between applied alternating voltage and measured current. It seems that the applicant’s interpretation of Lamesch is that Lamesch does not explicitly cite “phase shift”, so Lamesch does not teach measuring capacitance from phase shift. However, column 1, lines 25-32 in Lamesch teaches “the measurement circuit determines the current flowing into the one or more antenna electrodes in response to an oscillating voltage being applied to them. The relationship of voltage to current yields the complex impedance of the one or more antenna electrodes.” Here relationship of voltage to current comprises phase shift between voltage and current, and complex impedance corresponds to capacitance. It is inherent that the current flowing through a capacitive circuit depends on the phase difference between voltage and current wherein capacitance is calculated from voltage and current. Thus, Lamesch teaches calculating capacitance based on phase shift between applied voltage and measured current.
Applicant's arguments on page 5 fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAHMIDA FERDOUSI/
Examiner, Art Unit 3761