DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 17-24 of U.S. Patent No. 10,964,007.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 and 20-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11,449,978.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonewitz et al (US 5917602) in view of Nordbryhn (US 5898169).
As to claim 1, Bonewitz discloses an induction station of case goods in a logistic facility, the induction station comprising:
at least one conveyor for advancing a case of goods into the facility (FIG. 1, conveyor 120);
a case inspection apparatus disposed for inspection of the cased goods advanced past the case inspection apparatus by the at least one conveyor (FIG. 1, inspection station 126);
at least one electromagnetic (EM) source configured to transmit an illumination (FIG. 2, lighting assembly 160, camera box 172);
the vision system with at least one camera (FIG. 2, camera 158) wherein:
the at least one camera is configured so as to capture an image formed by diffused (col. 5, lines 29-55), and
the image captured by the at least one camera embodies a case of goods image that is generated by the case of goods advanced by the at least one conveyor through the illumination (FIG. 2 and col. 5, lines 59-67); and
the image generated spans (FIG. 2 and col. 8, lines 34-37).
Bonewitz fails to explicitly disclose that the illumination is an illumination sheet, of parallel illumination rays, having a predetermined width.
However, Nordbryhn teaches an illumination sheet, of parallel illumination rays, having a predetermined width (FIG. 1; see Abstract; col. 6, line 9).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Bonewitz using Nordbryhn’s teachings to transmit an illumination sheet, of parallel illumination rays, having a predetermined width in order to generate an image free of perspective distortions (Nordbryhn; col. 6, lines 7-9).
As to claim 3, the combination of Bonewitz and Nordbryhn further discloses wherein the gray scale image is of part of the illumination sheet blocked by and transmitted through the at least a portion of the case of goods (Bonewitz; FIG. 2 and col. 8, lines 34-37).
As to claim 8, the combination of Bonewitz and Nordbryhn further discloses wherein the at least one EM source comprises:
a substantially point source lamp having an output light beam (Nordbryhn; FIG. 1, light source 1; see col. 5, lines 25-29);
an output beam shaper configured to redirect the output light beam into the sheet of collimated illumination having parallel light rays of the output light beam (Nordbryhn; FIG. 1 and col. 5, lines 25-29; col. 6, line 9); and
a mirror to reduce a foot print of the apparatus (Nordbryhn; col. 3, lines 58-59).
As to claim 10, the combination of Bonewitz and Nordbryhn further discloses wherein the vision system is configured to determine an ambient light intensity from a sample buffer of cached images (Bonewitz; see col. 7, lines 34-48; col. 8, lines 34-50; see also col. 2, lines 7-20; col. 5, line 56 to col. 6, line 6; col. 7, line 57 to col 8, line 15; col. 8, lines 34-38; see FIG. 5).
As to claim 11, the combination of Bonewitz and Nordbryhn further discloses wherein the vision system is configured to identify presence of debris on an input window of the vision system based on common pixels of same intensity across a number of digitized images (Bonewitz; col. 5, lines 8-13, 46-67; col. 7, lines 34-47).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-7, 9 and 12-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, at pages 2-3, that “What is disclosed in Bonewitz is that the camera 158 is a high-resolution line scan camera … one skilled in the art would simply not replace the line scan camera 158 of Bonewitz with the camera 4 of Nordbryhn as this would clearly change the manner/principle in which Bonewitz operates … As such, the teachings of the Nordbryhn and Bonewitz are so disparate one skilled in the art would not combine the two references as suggested in the office action for this additional reason.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the office action does not suggest “replace the line scan camera 158 of Bonewitz with the camera 4 of Nordbryhn.” Second, Nordbryhn was used to teach “an illumination sheet, of parallel illumination rays, having a predetermined width”. Applicant failed to address and completely ignored these teachings in their response.
Furthermore, these arguments are unpersuasive because “[t]he test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.” In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (CCPA 1981). Applicant’s arguments about the specific manner in which the references are combined are unpersuasive because “[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007). An ordinarily skilled artisan would have been capable of using the illumination taught in Nordbryhn to Bonewitz’s system, and the Examiner’s proposed combination relies on combining these teachings, not the specific structures of each reference.
These arguments are therefore moot.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BOUBACAR ABDOU TCHOUSSOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482