DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites that the support sheet comprises carbon. However, claim 1, which claim 2 is dependent upon, already recites that the support sheet comprises graphene, pyrrole, or polyaniline. It is thus unclear whether claim 2 is reciting that the support sheet further comprises carbon or is reciting a distinct characteristic apart from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it will be understood as “further comprising carbon”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfe (US 2011/0230735) in view of Brister et al. (US 2007/0027385).
As to claim 1, Wolfe teaches a wire-based three-pole electrochemical sensor for subcutaneous insertion ([0055], [0071]), comprising: a working electrode comprising a first wire ([0072]; Fig. 2B), an electrochemical element on the surface ([0064]), a support sheet between the electrochemical element and the surface, the support sheet comprising graphene, pyrrole or polyaniline ([0012], [0013]), the support sheet being electrically conductive and electrically coupled to the surface of the wire ([0012], [0078]), a reference electrode comprising a second wire (301), a counter electrode comprising a third wire (302), and wherein a cross-sectional diameter of the first wire, the second wire, and the third wire coupled together is less than an inner diameter of an insertion needle ([0082]).
In addition, Wolfe teaches that the wires “may be square or flat wire, which can make it easier to deposit material on locations on the wires” and that wires of different cross-sections may be combined in one sensor ([0081]), and that the working electrode area may lie on the side of the wires opposite the counter and reference electrode areas ([0085]). However, Wolfe fails to expressly teach that the working electrode comprises a first split wire having a first flat surface along a length of the first split wire with the electrochemical element and support sheet on the first flat surface and the first flat surface created from a first full wire having a circular cross-section with a portion removed, a second split wire having a second flat surface along a length of the second split wire, the second flat surface created from a second full wire defined by a second chord across a circular cross-section of the second split wire, a third split wire having a third flat surface along a length of the third split wire, the third flat surface created from a third full wire defined by a third chord across a circular cross-section of the third split wire, and wherein the second flat surface and the third flat surface face toward each other.
Brister teaches a wire-based continuous analyte sensor ([0269]) in which the electrodes are split wires, each having a flat surface along its length that is created form a circular cross-section with a portion removed and is defined by a chord across that cross-section (Fig. 7M; [0345]), and notes that the electrodes can take on nay geometry known in the art ([0338]). It would have been obvious to modify Wolfe with Brister to allow even more efficient packaging of the wires inside a round insertion needle.
As to claim 5, Wolfe teaches a sensing chemistry deposited on the support sheet ([0064-65] - sensing layer 1110 contains glucose oxidase and is [0013] – “added over” the electrode areas; [0078] – also teaches polypyrrole coatings are good candidates for enzyme immobilization).
As to claim 6, Wolfe teaches a polymer layer over the support sheet ([0067] – analyte modulating layer 1112 disposed over the analyte sensing layer; [0013] – analyte modulating layer comprising PDMS).
As to claim 7, Brister teaches split-wire electrodes whose circular cross-section with a portion removed forms semi-circles whose flat surfaces face one another ([0338]; Fig. 7F). It would have been obvious, in forming Wolfe’s working, reference, and counter electrode wires as split wires per Brister, to make each semicircular, such that the circular cross-section with the portion removed of the first split wire of the working electrode forms a semicircular cross-section; the second chord across the circular cross-section of the second split wire of the reference electrode forms a semicircular cross-section; and the third chord across the circular cross-section of the third split wire of the counter electrode forms a semicircular cross-section. Brister presents the semicircle as the shape by which two facing electrodes fill one round cross-section (Fig. 7F). Selecting among the shapes that Brister identifies ([0038] – semicircles and rectangles) is a matter of design choice that is expected to provide similar and thus predictable results. It is noted that applicant’s own disclosure presents semicircular and rectangular working electrodes as alternatives and that “either of which may be used” ([0058] of the printed publication).
As to claim 8, Wolfe teaches wires that “may be square or flat wire” ([0081]) and Brister teaches electrodes that may be “rectangles” ([0338]). Together, these teach that the circular cross section with the portion removed of the first split wire of the working electrode forms a rectangular cross-section. In addition, Brister teaches that the second and third wires each “forms a semicircular cross-section” (Fig. 7F; [0338]). It would have been obvious to use a rectangular working electrode with semicircular reference and counter electrodes as Wolfe teaches that flat or square wire eases deposition of the materials on the wire, and that various wire shapes can be combined within one sensor ([0081]). Rectangular and semi-circular cross-sections are known alternatives, as taught by Brister ([0338]).
As to claim 9, the above combination teaches semicircular split wires. Semicircular wires necessarily have a surface area of 82% of the respective second full wire or the third wire having the same diameter. In particular, the outer surface of a semicircular wire of diameter D is (π*D/2 + D) per unit length while the outer surface of a full circular wire of the same diameter is π*D. The ratio between the two is thus ~81.8% or 82%, the same number that is being recited.
As to claim 10, the above combination teaches the semicircular reference and counter split wires. A semicircular wire’s cross sectional area is 50% of the full wire’s cross-section, which resides within the claimed range of 30-70% for both.
Claim(s) 2, 11-12, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfe (US 2011/0230735) in view of Brister et al. (US 2007/0027385), and further in view of Papadimitrakopoulos et al. (US 2009/0101498).
As to claims 2 and 11, the above combination fails to expressly teach that the support sheet comprises carbon. Papadimitrakopoulos teaches an implantable glucose sensor ([0039]) in which the electrically conducting membrane (106) is disposed upon and in intimate contact with the working electrode (102) ([0045]). The membrane comprises intrinsically conducting polymers including polypyrrole and polyaniline ([0048]) and can be filled with electrically conducting filler such as carbon nanotubes, carbon black, and carbon nanoparticles ([0050]). It would have been obvious to modify the above combination with Papadimitrakopoulos to improve the sensing function of the electrode by enhancing the conductivity of the support sheet. It is noted that the electrochemical element taught by Wolfe is a sensing chemistry.
As to claim 12, Wolfe teaches the support sheet further comprising graphene, pyrrole or polyaniline ([0012], [0013]),
As to claim 14, Wolfe teaches a polymer layer over the support sheet ([0067] – analyte modulating layer 1112 disposed over the analyte sensing layer; [0013] – analyte modulating layer comprising PDMS).
As to claim 15, Brister teaches split-wire electrodes whose circular cross-section with a portion removed forms semi-circles whose flat surfaces face one another ([0338]; Fig. 7F). It would have been obvious, in forming Wolfe’s working, reference, and counter electrode wires as split wires per Brister, to make each semicircular, such that the circular cross-section with the portion removed of the first split wire of the working electrode forms a semicircular cross-section; the second chord across the circular cross-section of the second split wire of the reference electrode forms a semicircular cross-section; and the third chord across the circular cross-section of the third split wire of the counter electrode forms a semicircular cross-section. Brister presents the semicircle as the shape by which two facing electrodes fill one round cross-section (Fig. 7F). Selecting among the shapes that Brister identifies ([0038] – semicircles and rectangles) is a matter of design choice that is expected to provide similar and thus predictable results. It is noted that applicant’s own disclosure presents semicircular and rectangular working electrodes as alternatives and that “either of which may be used” ([0058] of the printed publication).
As to claim 16, Wolfe teaches wires that “may be square or flat wire” ([0081]) and Brister teaches electrodes that may be “rectangles” ([0338]). Together, these teach that the circular cross section with the portion removed of the first split wire of the working electrode forms a rectangular cross-section. In addition, Brister teaches that the second and third wires each “forms a semicircular cross-section” (Fig. 7F; [0338]). It would have been obvious to use a rectangular working electrode with semicircular reference and counter electrodes as Wolfe teaches that flat or square wire eases deposition of the materials on the wire, and that various wire shapes can be combined within one sensor ([0081]). Rectangular and semi-circular cross-sections are known alternatives, as taught by Brister ([0338]).
As to claim 17, the above combination teaches semicircular split wires. Semicircular wires necessarily have a surface area of 82% of the respective second full wire or the third wire having the same diameter. In particular, the outer surface of a semicircular wire of diameter D is (π*D/2 + D) per unit length while the outer surface of a full circular wire of the same diameter is π*D. The ratio between the two is thus ~81.8% or 82%, the same number that is being recited.
As to claim 18, the above combination teaches the semicircular reference and counter split wires. A semicircular wire’s cross sectional area is 50% of the full wire’s cross-section, which resides within the claimed range of 30-70% for both.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
CHRISTIAN JANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/CHRISTIAN JANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791 10/4/26