DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 11-13, and 15-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,478,174. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are largely broader recitations of the above claims.
Claims 6, 9-10, 14, and 17-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,478,174 and Brister (US 2007/0027385).
As to claims 6 and 14, the ‘174 patent does not recite a polymer layer over the support sheet. Brister teaches an electrode configuration in which the electrodes have an enzyme layer applied to the electroactive surfaces ([0345]), said enzyme layer comprising polymers ([0297]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify the above patent with Brister to allow for an enzyme polymer applied to the electrode to target specific analytes.
As to claims 9-10 and 17-18, the specific percentage and range of percentages recited for the surface area and the cross-section area are not recited by the ’174 patent. However, Brister (US 2007/0027385) teaches an electrode structure in which various electrodes are shaped in such a way relative to a wire electrode that the split wires can have the percentages recited (Fig. 7M). It would be a mere matter of routine optimization to derive at the specific numbers being recited, as there is no disclosed criticality to the recited numbers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brister et al. (US 2007/0027385) in view of Knopefmacher et al. (US 2017/0342459).
As to claim 1, Brister teaches a wire-based ([0269]) three-pole electrochemical sensor ([0272]) for subcutaneous insertion ([0392]) comprising: a working electrode comprising a first split wire (Fig. 7M – E1) having a first flat surface along a length of the first split wire (Fig. 7M), the first flat surface created from a first full wire having a circular cross-section with a portion removed ([0345]); a reference electrode comprising a second split wire having a second flat surface along a length of the second split wire (Fig. 7M – R1), the second flat surface created from a full wire defined by a chord across a circular cross-section of the split wire (Fig. 7M), and a counter electrode ([0345] – at least one of the working electrodes is a counter electrode, E2) comprising a third split wire having a third flat surface along a length of the third split wire, the third flat surface created from a wire defined by a third chord across a circular cross-section of the split wire (Fig. 7M); wherein the second and third flat surface face toward one another (Fig. 7M – right side of R1 and left side of E2); wherein a cross-sectional diameter of the first split wire, the second split wire, and the third split wire coupled together is less than an inner diameter of an insertion needle ([0310] – inherent as the needle is able to insert the sensor and subsequently slide back over the sensor and release the sensor from the needle, something that can only be achieved if the electrodes, coupled together, is smaller than the diameter of the insertion needle).
Brister does not necessarily teach that the three electrodes are all created from their own “full wires” or a support sheet on the first flat surface. However, it would have been obvious, if not necessarily inherent, to create individual electrodes from their own wire for various reasons including ease of manufacture. Knopfmacher teaches an electrode in which a conductor layer is laid on the substrate, said conductor layer comprising combinations of carbon nanotude, graphene, and polyaniline ([0068]). As such, it would have been obvious to modify Brister further with Knopfmacher to utilize materials that is known to serve well as materials for an electrochemical sensor.
As to claims 2, 3, and 12, Knopfmacher teaches the support sheet comprises carbon, graphene, or polyaniline ([0068]).
As to claims 4 and 13, Knopfmacher teaches the support sheet is electrically conductive (210) and coupled to a flat surface of a substrate (Fig. 2B – 212), which in combination with Brister, would result in being electrically coupled to the first surface of the first split wire.
As to claims 5 and 11, Brister teaches a sensing chemistry deposited on the electrode (electrode domain 24) on the electroactive surface, which in combination with Knopfmacher would result in its deposition on the support sheet ([0278]).
As to claims 6 and 14, Brister teaches a polymer layer over the support sheet (Fig. 2A – any of 24, 26, 28, and 30) which in combination with Knopfmacher would result in its deposition on the support sheet ([0278-0310]).
As to claims 7-8 and 15-16, Brister does not explicitly teach the specific cross-section shapes recited for the various electrodes in the above embodiment. However, Brister teaches numerous configurations of electrodes, including those that have a semicircular cross-section (Fig. 7F) as well as those with a rectangular cross-section (Fig. 7G). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to mix and match the various shapes as they are all taught and such a modification would be obvious to try.
As to claims 9-10 and 17-18, Brister does not explicitly teach the specific percentage and range of percentages recited for the surface area and the cross-section area. However, Brister teaches an electrode structure in which various electrodes are shaped in such a way relative to a wire electrode that the split wires can have the percentages recited (Fig. 7M). It would be a mere matter of routine optimization to derive at the specific numbers being recited, as there is no disclosed criticality to the recited numbers.
CHRISTIAN JANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/CHRISTIAN JANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791 3/28/25