DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-30, the applicant argued, “…the cited portions of Malladi do not teach or suggest ‘wherein entering…semi-active state,’…the cited portions of Malladi do not teach or suggest ‘receiving a downlink…in an active state’…” on pages 9-11.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. WO 2022/073209 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Zhang”) in view of Malladi et al. EP 2,880,894 B1 (hereinafter referred to as “Malladi”). NOTE: Zhang was cited by the applicant in the IDS received 9 February 2024.
As to claim 1, Zhang teaches a method for wireless communication by a cell, comprising:
configuring a downlink signal to assist at least one user equipment (UE) to detect a synchronization signal transmitted from at least one cell in an active state (¶¶50-52: configure RRC parameter to provide UE with neighbor-cell SSB location for active neighbor cell SSBs); and
transmitting the downlink signal (¶¶50-52: provide/transmit the active neighbor-cell SSB assistance information).
Although Zhang teaches “A method for wireless communication by a cell, comprising: configuring a…transmitting the downlink signal,” Zhang does not explicitly disclose “entering a semi-active…the semi-active state” and “during the semi-active state”.
However, Malladi teaches entering a semi-active state corresponding to an energy-saving mode of operation of the cell, wherein entering the semi-active state is based at least in part on the cell receiving, from a network entity, a trigger signal that triggers the cell to switch into the semi-active state (¶¶71 and 95-96; figures 8A and 11-12: cell enters enhanced new carrier type dormant state based on receiving a trigger from another eNodeB);
configuring a downlink signal to assist at least one user equipment (UE) to detect a synchronization signal; and
transmitting the downlink signal during the semi-active state (¶¶71-73: configure and transmit downlink signals at a low duty cycle to save energy, the downlink signals including synchronization signals to help UEs to detect ideal synchronization signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhang by including “entering a semi-active…the semi-active state” and “during the semi-active state” as taught by Malladi because it provides Zhang’s method with the enhanced capability of reducing energy usage of the cell while still providing synchronization support to UEs (Malladi, ¶¶71-73 and 95-96; figures 8A and 11-12).
As to claim 2, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein:
the downlink signal is configured to indicate implicitly at least one frequency channel corresponding to the at least one cell in the active state (¶¶52-59).
As to claim 3, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 2. Zhang further teaches wherein:
the downlink signal is configured to indicate implicitly that the at least one frequency channel is within a pre-configured range on a frequency raster (¶¶52-59).
As to claim 4, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 2. Zhang further teaches wherein:
the downlink signal is configured to indicate implicitly that the at least one frequency channel is not within a pre-configured range on a frequency raster (¶¶52-59).
As to claim 5, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein:
the downlink signal is configured to indicate explicitly at least one frequency channel corresponding to the at least one cell in the active state (¶¶52-59).
As to claim 6, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 5. Zhang further teaches wherein:
the downlink signal is configured to indicate explicitly that the at least one frequency channel is within a specified range on a frequency raster (¶¶52-59).
As to claim 7, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 5. Zhang further teaches wherein:
the downlink signal is configured to indicate explicitly that the at least one frequency channel is not within an specified range on a frequency raster (¶¶52-59).
As to claim 8, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 7. Zhang further teaches further comprising:
receiving an uplink request for additional assistance information from the at least one UE;
configuring an additional downlink signal to provide the additional assistance information based at least in part on the uplink request; and
transmitting the additional downlink signal to the at least one UE (¶¶52-59).
As to claim 9, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein configuring the downlink signal comprises:
configuring the downlink signal according to a default configuration (¶¶51-52).
As to claim 10, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein configuring the downlink signal comprises:
receiving a request to configure the downlink signal; and
configuring the downlink signal based at least in part on the request (¶¶50-59).
As to claim 11, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein transmitting the downlink signal comprises:
transmitting the downlink signal on a synchronization raster (¶¶50-59).
As to claim 12, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 11. Zhang further teaches wherein:
the synchronization raster is a legacy synchronization raster (¶¶50-59).
As to claim 13, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 11. Zhang further teaches wherein:
the synchronization raster is different from a legacy synchronization raster (¶¶50-59).
As to claim 14, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 11. Zhang further teaches wherein:
the synchronization raster is selected from a plurality of synchronization rasters based at least in part of a configuration of the downlink signal (¶¶50-59).
As to claim 15, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 11. Zhang further teaches wherein configuring the downlink signal comprises:
configuring the downlink signal to indicate at least one other synchronization raster, wherein the at least one other synchronization raster is adapted to carry at least one other downlink signal configured to assist the at least one UE to detect the synchronization signal transmitted from the at least one cell in the active state (¶¶50-59).
As to claim 16, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein transmitting the downlink signal comprises:
transmitting the downlink signal with a default periodicity (¶¶50-52).
As to claim 17, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein transmitting the downlink signal comprises:
transmitting the downlink signal with a pre-configured periodicity, wherein the pre-configured periodicity is different from a default periodicity (¶¶50-52).
As to claim 18, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein transmitting the downlink signal comprises:
transmitting the downlink signal with a configurable periodicity (¶¶50-52).
As to claim 19, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein transmitting the downlink signal comprises:
transmitting the downlink signal in a beam-sweeping manner (¶¶49-52).
As to claim 20, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein (i) the downlink signal comprises at most two symbols, (ii) the downlink signal is configured to indicate that at least one frequency channel is within a pre-configured range on a frequency raster or to indicate that the at least one frequency channel is not within a pre-configured range on the frequency raster and the pre-configured range exceeds a threshold, or a combination of (i) and (ii) (¶¶50-59).
As to claim 21, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the downlink signal comprises:
a reference signal in a preamble; and
additional assistance information (¶¶50-52).
As to claim 22, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 21. Zhang further teaches wherein:
the additional assistance information comprises one or more of:
periodicity information, cell identification information, synchronization raster offset information (¶¶50-52).
As to claim 23, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches further comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, information for configuring the downlink signal (¶¶50-52).
As to claim 24, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches further comprising:
determining that the at least one UE has established a connection with the at least one cell in the active state; and
transmitting additional assistance information to the at least one UE based at least in part on the determining,
wherein the additional assistance information is configured to assist the at least one UE with one or more of: a subsequent access procedure, a cell re-selection procedure, and a radio resource management (RRM) measurements procedure (¶¶50-59 and 74).
As to claim 25, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches further comprising:
receiving a notification that the at least one UE has received the downlink signal (¶¶50-59 and 74).
As to claim 26, Zhang in view of Malladi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein configuring the downlink signal comprises
configuring the downlink signal to assist the at least one UE to detect the synchronization signal transmitted from the at least one cell in the active state on a synchronization raster; and wherein transmitting the downlink signal comprises
transmitting the downlink signal during the semi-active state on a frequency raster which is different from said synchronization raster (¶¶50-59).
As to claim 27, claim 27 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As to claim 28, claim 28 is rejected the same way as claim 8.
As to claim 29, claim 29 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As to claim 30, Zhang teaches a method for wireless communication by at least one first cell and at least one second cell, comprising:
configuring, at the at least one first cell at least one first downlink signal, and at the at least one second cell at least one second downlink signal, to assist at least one user equipment (UE) to detect on at least one frequency channel a synchronization signal transmitted from at least one cell in an active state (¶¶50-52: configure RRC parameter to provide UE with neighbor-cell SSB location for active neighbor cell SSBs);
wherein the at least one first downlink signal is configured to indicate that the at least one frequency channel is within a pre-configured range on a frequency raster, and wherein the at least one second downlink signal is configured to indicate that the at least one frequency channel is not within a pre-configured range on a frequency raster (¶¶52-59: indicate resource blocks where neighbor SSBs are and resource blocks where neighbor SSBs are not); and
transmitting the at least one first downlink signal from the at least one first cell, and the at least one second downlink signal from the at least one second cell (¶¶50-52: provide/transmit the active neighbor-cell SSB assistance information).
Although Zhang teaches “A method for wireless communication by at least one first cell and at least one second cell, comprising: configuring, at…from the at least one second cell,” Zhang does not explicitly disclose “entering, at…the semi-active state” and “during the semi-active…one second cell”.
However, Malladi teaches entering, at the at least one first cell and at the at least one second cell, a semi-active state corresponding to an energy-saving mode of operation of the at least one first cell and the at least one second cell, wherein entering the semi-active state by the at least one first cell is based at least in part on the at least one first cell receiving, from a network entity, a trigger signal that triggers the at least one first cell to switch into the semi-active state, and wherein entering the semi-active state by the at least one second cell is based at least in part on the at least one second cell receiving, from the network entity, a trigger signal that triggers the at least one second cell to switch into the semi-active state (¶¶71 and 95-96; figures 8A and 11-12: cells enter enhanced new carrier type dormant state based on receiving a trigger from another eNodeB);
configuring, at the at least one first cell at least one first downlink signal, and at the at least one second cell at least one second downlink signal, to assist at least one user equipment (UE) to detect on at least one frequency channel a synchronization signal; and
transmitting the at least one first downlink signal from the at least one first cell, and the at least one second downlink signal from the at least one second cell, during the semi-active state corresponding to an energy-saving mode of operation of the at least one first cell and the at least one second cell (¶¶71-73: configure and transmit downlink signals at a low duty cycle to save energy, the downlink signals including synchronization signals to help UEs to detect ideal synchronization signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Zhang by including “entering a semi-active…the semi-active state” and “during the semi-active state” as taught by Malladi because it provides Zhang’s method with the enhanced capability of reducing energy usage of the cell while still providing synchronization support to UEs (Malladi, ¶¶71-73 and 95-96; figures 8A and 11-12).
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN T VAN ROIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469