DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the new claims in the reply filed on 3/31/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the sequences are related. This is not found persuasive because each sequence requires a different search. However, because the claims were limited to one sequence and included a second related sequence in the dependent claim, the new set will be examined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The claims exclude the SH gene. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 20-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The V/P lacks a reference sequence to determine the positions of the 157 and 308 mutations and thus the metes and bounds of the position of the mutants cannot be determined.
Claims 22, 24, and those that depend on them are unclear as to the coding sequence. The viral genome is made of several individual coding segments (encoding the different proteins) in the length of the genome that includes non-coding regions (5’, 3’, and intergenic sequences. The coding regions can have multiple or alternative start codons as well as in the V/P with pseudotemplated insertion of two G residues at a specific site during transcription. Thus, the specific amount of coding sequence that can be changed and still be at least 98% is not clear.
Claims 20-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for inducing an immune response to a heterologous vaccine antigen in a susceptible host, does not reasonably provide enablement for the vector being highly immunogenic in all hosts. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The specification does not teach how to make the vector itself highly immunogenic but teaches that expressed heterologous vaccine antigens can induce an immune response (See experiments and Figures 2-4 for immune response against SARS CoV-2).
Wang, Ting et al., (Journal of Medical Virology Vol 95, No 3, doi.org/10.1002/jmv.28622, 2023) teach that PIV5 is known used as a vaccine vector and infection in these reservoir hosts (humans and some animals) is generally asymptomatic and has few safety concerns (abstract).
Chen et al. (Rev Med Virol. 2018; 28:e1965) teach that “Interestingly, prior exposure of PIV5 does not prevent a PIV5-vectored vaccine from generating robust immunity, indicating that the vector can be used more than once.” (abstract).
Thus, the art teaches that PIV5 vectors are not themselves are not highly immunogenic.
Thus, it would take undue experimentation to make and use the invention as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Timani et al. (JOURNAL OF VIROLOGY, Sept. 2008, p Vol. 82, No. 18, 9123–9133).
Timani et al. teach a viral vector and viral particle of a PIV5 with a mutation of A, D, and F at position 157 that increase protein production (Table 1 and first paragraph of Materials and Methods).
Thus, Timani et al. anticipate the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by He (US10329585).
He teaches PIV5 vectors that contain the positions 157 or 308 of the V/P mutated to A (alanine) (column 31 line 20).
Thus, He anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US10329585).
He teaches PIV5 vectors that contain the positions 157 or 308 of the V/P mutated to A (alanine) (column 31 line 20) and these lead to cell death.
It would have been obvious to combine mutations that have the same function and have the expectation of success knowing that they both have the same function.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective time of filing to combine the two mutants of He in one PIV5 vector.
Double Patenting
Claims 20 and 27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of copending Application No. 18501667 in view of Timani et al. (JOURNAL OF VIROLOGY, Sept. 2008, p Vol. 82, No. 18, 9123–9133).
The reference application teaches a PIV5 vector with SEQ ID# 1 that expresses a heterologous sequence. Said SEQ ID# 1 is the same as application SEQ ID# 61.
The reference does not teach mutation of V/P 157.
Timani et al. teach a viral vector and viral particle of a PIV5 with a mutation of A, D, and F at position 157 that increase protein production (Table 1 and first paragraph of Materials and Methods).
It would have been prima facie obvious to modify the vector to express more and obvious to make viral particles from the viral vector.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
US-19-125-921 is undergoing pre-exam and not yet assigned a filing date and thus cannot be considered a completed application. It appears that at least claim 1 and shares a sequence identical to SEQ ID# 61 would be rejected for NSDP (OTDP) it shares the same vector sequence and expresses a heterologous antigen.
MYRON G. HILL
Examiner
Art Unit 1671
/M.G.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1671
/Shanon A. Foley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671