DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
No claims are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/18/25.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 8/18/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With regard to claim 1: Line 3 of the claim, it appears “wall section” should be --wall sections--.
With regard to claim 3: Line 3 of the claim, it appears “wall section” should be --wall sections--.
With regard to claim 11: Line 6 of the claim, it appears “members” should be --member--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiao et al. (CN 113374122 A).
With regard to claim 11: Xiao et al. discloses a dividing wall section (figs. 1 and 4-5) capable of use for a building structure including a floor and a ceiling.
The dividing wall section of Xiao et al. defining a rectangular wall frame structure enclosing a plurality of perforated vertical bracket mounting members (interior vertical keels, 1) (figs. 2A-2D, 3, 5 and 6A); the dividing wall section including at least one mounting member (203) securable to at least one of the floor and the ceiling of the building structure at a predetermined location and at least one interior wall panel (4), the at least one interior wall panel (4) being securable to the at least one mounting member (203) to position the at least one interior wall panel (4) to the predetermined location (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unger (CA 2 878 720) in view of Rose et al. (US 4,790,505).
With regard to claim 1: Unger discloses a building structure (14) (figs. 2A-2D, 3, 5 and 6A) comprising:
a hollow shell (14) defining an interior enclosure sized and shaped to house at least one individual (figs. 2A-2D); and
a plurality of dividing wall sections (interior wall sections formed by structural frames 40) secured to the hollow shell (14) inside the interior enclosure (figs. 2A-2D, 3, 5 and 6A).
Unger discloses that each of the dividing wall sections (interior wall sections formed by structural frames 40) defining a rectangular wall frame structure (figs. 2A-2D, 3, 5 and 6A).
Unger does not disclose that the frame structure enclosing a plurality of perforated vertical bracket mounting members.
However, Rose et al. discloses a wall section defining a frame structure enclosing perforated vertical bracket mounting members (10) (figs. 1-4; col. 1, lines 5-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the building structure of Unger to have the frame structure enclose vertical bracket mounting members such as taught by Rose et al. in order to provide a means of locating and mounting electrical boxes. No new or unpredictable results would obtained from modifying the frame structure of Unger to include vertical bracket mounting members such as taught by Rose et al. for locating and mounting electrical boxes.
With regard to claim 2: Unger does not disclose a plurality of mounting members secured to one of a floor and a ceiling of the interior enclosure at a predetermined location, each dividing wall section being secured to the at least one of the plurality of mounting members to position at least one interior wall panel to the predetermined location.
However, Rose et al. discloses a plurality of mounting members (nails, screws, rivets) secured to a floor, each wall section being secured to at least one of the plurality of mounting members (col. 1, lines 21-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the building structure of Unger previously modified by Rose et al. to further include a plurality of mounting members secured to a floor such as taught by Rose et al. in order to provide a means of securing the respective dividing wall sections for creating enclosed areas in the building structure. As modified, each dividing wall section is secured to the at least one of the plurality of mounting members to position at least one interior wall panel to the predetermined location.
With regard to claim 3: Unger discloses that the plurality of dividing wall section (interior wall sections of structural frame 40) includes a wall frame and a plurality of interior wall panels enclosing the wall frame (pg. 4, lines 9-11).
With regard to claim 4: Unger discloses that the hollow shell includes at least one construction module (figs. 2A-2D, 3, 5 and 6A; pg. 2, lines 3-8).
With regard to claim 5: Unger discloses that the hollow shell includes at least one shipping container (figs. 2A-2D, 3, 5 and 6A; pg. 2, lines 3-8).
With regard to claim 6: Unger disclose a kit for a building structure (14) (figs. 2A-2D, 3, 5 and 6A) comprising:
a hollow shell (14) defining an interior enclosure sized and shaped to house at least one individual (figs. 2A-2D); and
a plurality of dividing wall sections (interior wall sections formed by structural frames 40) adapted to be secured to the hollow shell (14) inside the interior enclosure (figs. 2A-2D, 3, 5 and 6A).
Unger discloses that each of the dividing wall sections (interior wall sections formed by structural frames 40) defining a rectangular wall frame structure (figs. 2A-2D, 3, 5 and 6A).
Unger does not disclose that the frame structure enclosing a plurality of perforated vertical bracket mounting members.
However, Rose et al. discloses a wall section defining a frame structure enclosing perforated vertical bracket mounting members (10) (figs. 1-4; col. 1, lines 5-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the building structure of Unger to have the frame structure enclose vertical bracket mounting members such as taught by Rose et al. in order to provide a means of locating and mounting electrical boxes. No new or unpredictable results would obtained from modifying the frame of Unger to include vertical bracket mounting members such as taught by Rose et al. for locating and mounting electrical boxes.
With regard to claim 7: Unger does not disclose a plurality of mounting members adapted to be secured to one of a floor and a ceiling of the interior enclosure at a predetermined location, each dividing wall section being secured to the at least one of the plurality of mounting members to position at least one interior wall panel to the predetermined location.
However, Rose et al. discloses a plurality of mounting members (nails, screws, rivets) secured to a floor, each wall section being secured to at least one of the plurality of mounting members (col. 1, lines 21-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the building structure of Unger previously modified by Rose et al. to further include a plurality of mounting members secured to a floor such as taught by Rose et al. in order to provide a means of securing the respective dividing wall sections for creating enclosed areas in the building structure. As modified, each dividing wall section is secured to the at least one of the plurality of mounting members to position at least one interior wall panel to the predetermined location.
With regard to claim 8: Unger discloses that the plurality of dividing wall section (interior wall sections of structural frame 40) includes a wall frame and a plurality of interior wall panels enclosing the wall frame (pg. 4, lines 9-11).
With regard to claim 9: Unger discloses that the hollow shell includes at least one construction module (figs. 2A-2D, 3, 5 and 6A; pg. 2, lines 3-8).
With regard to claim 10: Unger discloses that the hollow shell includes at least one shipping container (figs. 2A-2D, 3, 5 and 6A; pg. 2, lines 3-8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited are directed to building structures and/or wall sections.
/JESSIE T FONSECA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633