DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 09/09/2025.
Claims 1, 10, 19, and 23 have been amended.
Claims 2, 3, and 5 were previously canceled
Rejection to claim 23 under 35 USC § 112 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 19 filed on 09/09/2025 have been considered but are moot because the arguments were drawn to alternative limitations that have not been examined in the previous Office Action, which have been addressed in the instant office action with newly identified prior art, Moon et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180049227, hereinafter “Moon”), thus rendering Applicant’s arguments moot. The arguments assert that, in page 7 of the arguments, “Claim 1 now recites, in part, ‘wherein each SR configuration is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow.’ The Applicant respectfully submits that Kim does not identically disclose at least this recitation of claim 1.”
Moon, in analogous art, teaches the "wherein each SR configuration is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow."
Moon is directed to a method and apparatus for scheduling uplink data in mobile communication system. In Moon, Moon discloses:
-para [0274] of Moon: the UE may transmit UE capability information including information on services used (or to be used) to the NB.
-para [275] of Moon: After identifying the services used by the UE, at step S3100, the NB may transmit common SR configuration or service-specific SR configuration information to the UE.
-para [0276] of Moon: If the UE uses N different services, the NB may allocate one service-specific SR resource or more or less than one service-specific SR resource for each service (Interpreted as “each SR configuration is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow”). The NB may also allocate zero or one or more common SR resources.
-para [0277] of Moon: When UL traffic associated with a specific service is generated after reception of the SR configuration information, at step S3200, the UE may select one of the allocated SR resources and transmit an SR to the NB using the selected SR resource.)
-para [0287] of Moon: Upon reception of an SR from the UE, at step S3300, the NB may allocate an uplink grant to the UE.
-para [0209] of Moon: The combination of multiple bits constituting a scheduling request signal may correspond to a combination of the above factors (i.e., buffer status, uplink traffic type, service or application type, logical channel, logical channel group, network slice, numerology, TTI length, latency requirement, QoS class identifier) (Interpreted as “each SR configuration is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow”).
As shown in FIG. 31 and discussed in paragraphs [0209, 0275-0288] of Moon, Moon discloses the claimed feature “wherein each SR configuration is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow” as recited in amended claim 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kim's method by using the features of Moon in order to have more effective method such that each SR configuration of multiple SR configuration information from an eNB is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow. The rationale for doing so would have been to allow UE to rapidly send UL data through a specific SR type if the UL data to be transmitted by the UE is generated from an application sensitive to delay or if the UE intermittently sends small data (see para [0006] of Kim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 6-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0202009, hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Moon et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0049227, hereinafter “Moon”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Kim unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims 1, 10, and 19:
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches A processor of a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 26, UE 2620) configured to perform operations comprising:
receiving multiple scheduling request (SR) configurations (Fig. 25 and para [0394]; UE receives multiple SR configuration information from an eNB at step 2501.), (The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Moon as follows.);
transmitting a first type of SR (para [0402]; The UE sends the selected SR type to the eNB in order to be assigned a PUSCH resource for sending the UL data at step 2505), wherein a plurality of different types of SRs comprising at least the first type of SR and a second type of SR each correspond to a different one of the multiple SR configurations (para [0396]; Furthermore, the multiple SR configuration information may include information about the size of UL data corresponds to each SR type (e.g., a maximum supportable size of data) or a maximum number of times that an SR is transmitted.)(para [0399]; The UE selects an SR type that belongs to multiple SR types and that corresponds to the size of UL data to be transmitted to the eNB at step 2503); and
receiving an initial uplink grant for a data transmission in response to the first type of SR, wherein the initial uplink grant indicates one or more uplink resources assigned to the UE by a network based on an application, service, quality of service (QoS) flow or set of traffic characteristics specific to the first type of SR (para [0405]; If the SR type transmitted by the UE indicates a procedure for assigning uplink resources through the transmission of an existing BSR of 6 bits at step 2405 (i.e., if the SR corresponds to an SR type for sending a BSR), the UE receives an UL grant for sending a BSR (interpreted as “an initial uplink grant for a data transmission in response to the first type of SR”) from the eNB at step 2507) (para [0406]; The UE that has received the UL grant for the BSR from the eNB sends a triggered BSR to the eNB through a PUSCH resource assigned by the received UL grant (interpreted as “the initial uplink grant indicates one or more uplink resources assigned to the UE by a network”) at step 2509). Fig.25 of Kim is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 25 of Kim)
As noted above, Kim does not specifically teach about the “each SR configuration is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow”. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Moon as follows;
“wherein each SR configuration is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow” (para [275] of Moon: After identifying the services used by the UE, at step S3100, the NB may transmit common SR configuration or service-specific SR configuration information (Interpreted as “multiple scheduling request (SR) configurations”) to the UE.)(para [0276] of Moon: If the UE uses N different services, the NB may allocate one service-specific SR resource or more or less than one service-specific SR resource for each service (Interpreted as “each SR configuration is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow”). The NB may also allocate zero or one or more common SR resources.)(para [0277] of Moon: When UL traffic associated with a specific service is generated after reception of the SR configuration information, at step S3200, the UE may select one of the allocated SR resources and transmit an SR to the NB using the selected SR resource.)(para [0209] of Moon: The combination of multiple bits constituting a scheduling request signal may correspond to a combination of the above factors (i.e., buffer status, uplink traffic type, service or application type, logical channel, logical channel group, network slice, numerology, TTI length, latency requirement, QoS class identifier) (Interpreted as “each SR configuration is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kim's method by using the features of Moon in order to have more effective method such that each SR configuration of multiple SR configuration information from an eNB is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow. The rationale for doing so would have been to allow UE to rapidly send UL data through a specific SR type if the UL data to be transmitted by the UE is generated from an application sensitive to delay or if the UE intermittently sends small data (see para [0006] of Kim).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches A processor of a base station (Fig. 26, eNB 2610) configured to perform operations comprising:
receiving a first type of scheduling request (SR) from a user equipment (UE) (para [0402]; The UE sends the selected SR type to the eNB), wherein a plurality of different types of SRs comprising at least the first type of SR and a second type of SR each correspond to a different one of multiple SR configurations (para [0396]; Furthermore, the multiple SR configuration information may include information about the size of UL data corresponds to each SR type (e.g., a maximum supportable size of data) or a maximum number of times that an SR is transmitted.)(para [0399]; The UE selects an SR type that belongs to multiple SR types and that corresponds to the size of UL data to be transmitted to the eNB at step 2503) (paragraphs [0401]; Furthermore, the size of UL data is determined for each SR type. For example, a maximum supportable size of data may be differently determined for each SR type. The UE checks the size of the UL data to be transmitted to the eNB and selects an SR type according to the range of the checked size of data.) and each of the SR configurations is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow (The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Moon as follows.); and
transmitting an initial uplink grant for a data transmission in response to the first type of SR, wherein the initial uplink grant indicates uplink resources assigned to the UE based on an application, service, quality of service (QoS) flow or set of traffic characteristics specific to the first type of SR (para [0405]; If the SR type transmitted by the UE indicates a procedure for assigning uplink resources through the transmission of an existing BSR of 6 bits at step 2405 (i.e., if the SR corresponds to an SR type for sending a BSR), the UE receives an UL grant for sending a BSR (interpreted as “an initial uplink grant for a data transmission in response to the first type of SR”) from the eNB at step 2507) (para [0406]; The UE that has received the UL grant for the BSR from the eNB sends a triggered BSR to the eNB through a PUSCH resource assigned by the received UL grant (interpreted as “the initial uplink grant indicates uplink resources assigned to the UE …”) at step 2509).
As noted above, Kim does not specifically teach about the “each of the SR configurations is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow”. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Moon as follows;
“each of the SR configurations is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow” (para [275] of Moon: After identifying the services used by the UE, at step S3100, the NB may transmit common SR configuration or service-specific SR configuration information (Interpreted as “multiple scheduling request (SR) configurations”) to the UE.)(para [0276] of Moon: If the UE uses N different services, the NB may allocate one service-specific SR resource or more or less than one service-specific SR resource for each service (Interpreted as “each of the SR configurations is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow”). The NB may also allocate zero or one or more common SR resources.)(para [0277] of Moon: When UL traffic associated with a specific service is generated after reception of the SR configuration information, at step S3200, the UE may select one of the allocated SR resources and transmit an SR to the NB using the selected SR resource.) (para [0209] of Moon: The combination of multiple bits constituting a scheduling request signal may correspond to a combination of the above factors (i.e., buffer status, uplink traffic type, service or application type, logical channel, logical channel group, network slice, numerology, TTI length, latency requirement, QoS class identifier) (Interpreted as “each SR configuration is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow”)..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kim's method by using the features of Moon in order to have more effective method such that each SR configuration of multiple SR configuration information from an eNB is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow. The rationale for doing so would have been to allow UE to rapidly send UL data through a specific SR type if the UL data to be transmitted by the UE is generated from an application sensitive to delay or if the UE intermittently sends small data (see para [0006] of Kim).
Regarding claim 19, it is a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 26, UE 2620) claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitations “a transceiver” (Fig. 26, a radio frequency (RF) unit 2613) and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 4, Kim and Moon teach The processor of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the multiple SR configurations comprise a first SR configuration and a second SR configuration that are mapped to at least a different cyclic shift of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) sequence (para [0395]; The multiple SR configuration information includes information about a PUCCH resource index (i.e., an SR resource) corresponding to each SR type (interpreted as “the multiple SR configurations comprise a first SR configuration and a second SR configuration”). The SR resource configured for each SR type is determined by a combination of a PRB in which an SR is transmitted, a CS (“Cyclic Shift”) applied to a base sequence (e.g., a ZC sequence) for spreading the SR in a frequency domain, and OC for spreading the SR in a time domain) (para [0161]; As the frequency domain spread code, the CAZAC sequence of length 12 (e.g., ZC sequence) may be used. Each control channel may be distinguished by applying the CAZAC sequence that has different cyclic shift values.).
Regarding claim 6, Kim and Moon teach The processor of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein a buffer status report (BSR) is not transmitted to the network in a duration between transmitting the first type of SR and receiving the initial uplink grant (Fig. 25 and para [0406]; The UE that has received the UL grant for the BSR from the eNB sends a triggered BSR to the eNB through a PUSCH resource assigned by the received UL grant at step 2509). In Fig. 25 of Kim, BSR of Kim is not transmitted to the eNB in the duration between the SR transmission step (2505) and the UL grant reception step (2507), see Fig. 25). Fig.25 is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 25 of Kim)
Regarding claim 7, Kim and Moon teach The processor of claim 1, the operations further comprising: Kim further teaches
transmitting, after receiving the initial uplink grant, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating that one or more UE buffers for uplink data are empty. (Fig. 25 and para [0406]; The UE that has received the UL grant for the BSR from the eNB sends a triggered BSR to the eNB through a PUSCH resource assigned by the received UL grant at step 2509)(para [0217]; In LTE/LTE-A system, the UE may report the buffer state of its own to the network by configuring one of the index value among truncated BSR, short BSR, and long BSR in the LCID field.)(para [0222]; In case of the truncated BSR and short BSR being defined in the LCID field of sub-header, the MAC control element corresponding to the sub-header, as shown in FIG. 16(a), may be configured to include one logical channel group identification (LCG ID) field and one buffer size field indicating the buffer state of the LCG. .. The buffer size field is used for identifying the total amount of available data (interpreted as “a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating that one or more UE buffers for uplink data are empty”) from the all logical channels that are included in the LCG.). As noted above, Kim discloses that BSR (in step 2509 of Fig. 25) is transmitted using the LCID field defined in MAC CE in the BSR transmission step 2509 after UL grant for BSR is received. See paragraphs [0204-0222, 0406].
Regarding claim 8, Kim and Moon teach The processor of claim 1, the operations further comprising: Kim further teaches
transmitting, after receiving the initial uplink grant (para [0247]; When a UE receives the UL grant for the PUSCH resources for BSR transmission (interpreted as “after receiving the initial uplink grant”) from an eNB (step, S1803)), a second type of SR to the network (para [0250]; Referring to FIG. 18(b), the case that the PUSCH resources for BRS transmission are already allocated to a UE is illustrated. In the case, the UE transmits the BSR through the allocated PUSCH resources, and transmits a scheduling request (interpreted as “a second type of SR”) to an eNB (step, S1811))(See Fig. 18 (a)(b)); and
receiving a subsequent uplink grant for a second data transmission in response to the second type of SR, the subsequent uplink grant indicating uplink resources assigned to the UE by the network based on an application, service, quality of service (QoS) flow or set of traffic characteristics specific to the second type of SR (para [0250]; Subsequently, the eNB verifies the quality of data to be transmitted to the UL by the UE through the BSR, and transmits the UL grant for the PUSCH resources for actual data transmission to the UE (step, S1813).). Fig. 18 of Kim is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 18 of Kim)
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Moon teach The processor of claim 1, the operations further comprising: Kim further teaches
transmitting, after receiving the initial uplink grant, a buffer status report (BSR) to the network (Fig. 25 and para [0406]; The UE that has received the UL grant for the BSR from the eNB sends a triggered BSR to the eNB through a PUSCH resource assigned by the received UL grant at step 2509); and
receiving a subsequent uplink grant for a second data transmission in response to the BSR, the subsequent uplink grant indicating uplink resources assigned to the UE by the network based on the BSR (Fig. 25 and para [0411]; The UE receives an UL grant for the PUSCH resource for sending the UL data from the eNB at step 2513.).
Regarding claim 11, Kim and Moon teach The processor of claim 10, Kim further teaches wherein the multiple SR configurations comprise a first SR configuration and a second SR configuration that have at least a different time domain configuration (para [0395]; The multiple SR configuration information includes information about a PUCCH resource index (i.e., an SR resource) corresponding to each SR type (interpreted as “the multiple SR configurations comprise a first SR configuration and a second SR configuration”). The SR resource configured for each SR type is determined by a combination of a PRB in which an SR is transmitted, a CS applied to a base sequence (e.g., a ZC sequence) for spreading the SR in a frequency domain, and OC (orthogonal code) for spreading the SR in a time domain (“the spreading the SR in a time domain” is interpreted as “SR configuration that have at least a different time domain configuration”)).
Regarding claim 12, Kim and Moon teach The processor of claim 10, Kim further teaches wherein the multiple SR configurations comprise a first SR configuration and a second SR configuration that have at least a different frequency domain configuration (para [0395]; The multiple SR configuration information includes information about a PUCCH resource index (i.e., an SR resource) corresponding to each SR type (interpreted as “the multiple SR configurations comprise a first SR configuration and a second SR configuration”). The SR resource configured for each SR type is determined by a combination of a PRB in which an SR is transmitted, a CS applied to a base sequence (e.g., a ZC sequence) for spreading the SR in a frequency domain (“the spreading in a frequency domain” is interpreted as “a different frequency domain configuration”), and OC for spreading the SR in a time domain).
Regarding claim 13, Claim 13, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 4, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 4.
Regarding claim 14, Kim and Moon teach The processor of claim 10, Kim further teaches wherein each SR configuration of the multiple SR configurations is mapped to a different scheduling request ID (Table 18 and para [0314]; “sr-ConfigIndex” field).
Regarding claim 15, Claim 15, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 6, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 6.
Regarding claim 16, Claim 16, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 7, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 7.
Regarding claim 17, Claim 17, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 8, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 8.
Regarding claim 18, Claim 18, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 9, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 9.
Regarding claim 20, Claim 20, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 8, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 8.
Regarding claim 21, Kim and Moon teach The processor of claim 1, further comprising: Kim further teaches
receiving a scheduling request resource configuration information element (IE) (para [0319]; UE may receive information elements for configuring multiple SR types (interpreted as “a scheduling request resource configuration information element (IE)”) from an eNB through an RRC message. For example, UE may receive the information elements from an eNB through an RRC connection reconfiguration message or an RRC connection setup message.)(Table 18 and paragraphs [0313-0314]: Table 18 illustrates information elements for configuring the multiple SR types.) comprising multiple scheduling resource IDs, each scheduling request ID corresponding to different physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (Table 18 and para [0314]: ar0-PUCCH-ResourceIndex)(para [0317]: The “sr-PUCCH-ResourceIndex” and the “sr-PUCCH-ResourceIndexP1” field indicate the respective PUCCH resource indices nPUCCH,SRI (1,p) of antenna ports P0 and P1.), wherein a first application is mapped to a first scheduling request ID and a second application is mapped to a second scheduling request ID (para [0019]: UL data generated from an application sensitive to delay or intermittent UL data of a small size can be rapidly transmitted by newly defining a scheduling request signal.)(paragraphs [0365-0368]: In FIG. 24, it is assumed that major applications that generate UL data include three cases as follows. [0366] Case 1—data of a specific criterion or less size that is intermittently/aperiodically generated (e.g., health care and traffic safety information) (interpreted as “a first application”) [0367] Case 2—data of various sizes that is generated intermittently/aperiodically (interpreted as “a second application”) [0368] Case 3—data other than Case 1 and Case 2.)(para [0370]: Processing in UE and the eNB in “Case 1” and “Case 2” is described below.)(para [0376-0377]: Referring to FIG. 24(a), UE determines whether the size of data transmitted in uplink is a specific length L1 or less (or less than the specific length L1) supported in a multiple SR configuration at step 2401. [0377] The UE selects an SR type “j” according to the size of the data at step 2403. That is, if the size of the data is L1 or less (or less than), the UE selects the SR type 1. If not, the UE selects the SR type 0. The opposite is also possible.)(Examiner’s Note: As disclosed in paragraph [0365-0377], Kim assumed the size of UL data generated by the applications (e.g., a health care, a traffic safety, etc. see para [0264]), and discloses three SR types (Type “j”, Type “1”, Type “0”, see para [0376-0377] based on the size of UL data (L1). The SR Type IDs are supported in a multiple SR configuration (see paragraphs [0364-0376]). Therefore, as disclosed in paragraphs 0365-0377], Kim discloses the claimed feature “wherein a first application is mapped to a first scheduling request ID and a second application is mapped to a second scheduling request ID” of claim 21.
Claim 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Moon, and further in view of Shahidi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0295262, hereinafter “Shahidi”).
Regarding claim 22, Kim and Moon teach The processor of claim 21, a combination of Kim and Moon fails to disclose or teaches: wherein a mapping between the first application and the first scheduling request ID is derived from a subscriber identity module (SIM) card.
In analogous art, Shahidi discloses the claimed feature “wherein a mapping between the first application and the first scheduling request ID is derived from a subscriber identity module (SIM) card.” (para [0093] of Shahidi: a UE 120 may be a multi-SIM UE that includes multiple SIMs (two or more SIMs), shown as a first SIM 305 a and a second SIM 305 b. The first SIM 305 a may be associated with a first subscription (shown as SUB 1), and the second SIM 305 b may be associated with a second subscription (shown as SUB 2).)(para [0147]: In this way, techniques described herein provide determination of a length of a time window for a priority configuration based at least in part on SR configurations for two SIMs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Kim and Moon by using the features of Shahidi in order to derive a mapping between the first application and the first scheduling request ID from a subscriber identity module (SIM) card.
Tentative Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 appears to contain allowable subject matters underlined below pending on satisfactory of overcoming above 112 rejection and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the respective base claims and any intervening claims.
“receiving a scheduling request resource configuration information element (IE) comprising multiple scheduling resource IDs, each scheduling request ID corresponding to different physical uplink control channel (PUC CH) resources, wherein a first type of voice over IP (VoIP) traffic is mapped to a first scheduling request ID and a second type of VoIP traffic is mapped to a second scheduling request ID.”
Conclusion
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411