DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 09/09/2025.
Claims 1, 10, and 19 have been amended.
Claims 2, 3, and 5 were previously canceled
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 19 filed on 04/14/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments were drawn to alternative limitations that have not been examined in the previous Office Action, which have been addressed in the instant office action with newly identified prior art, Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180317123, hereinafter “Chen”), thus rendering Applicant’s arguments moot. The arguments assert that, in page 7 of the arguments, “In the interest of furthering prosecution, claim 1 has been amended to remove the "or" construction from this feature and now recites, "wherein each SR configuration is specific to a quality of service (QoS) flow."
Chen, in analogous art, explicitly discloses the "wherein each SR configuration is specific to an application, service, or quality of service (QoS) flow." (paragraphs [235-0242] of Chen: Based on the latest agreement, a SR will need to reflect TTI and/or numerology information of the uplink logical channel which triggers the SR. The main purpose of such agreement is to accelerate uplink resource request and to avoid resource waste caused by TTI/numerology configuration of logical channels. How to reflect TTI and/or numerology information will need further study. Potential methods are discussed below. Method 1-Network provides multiple SR configurations to UE. Different SR configurations may contain different radio resources in frequency domain, time domain, and/or code domain and each SR configuration is linked to TTI/numerology information. The linking could be established based on implicit association (e.g., a numerology used for SR transmission according to a SR configuration is linked to requesting the resource on the numerology) and/or explicit association (e.g., TTI/numerology information is included in each SR configuration). The TTI/numerology information could be one or multiple following candidates: … 6. QoS flow ID) (paragraphs [253-0259] of Chen: Method 3—This method is a hybrid of the previous two methods. Multiple SR configurations could be configured to a UE, and at least one of those SR configurations supports multiple bits SR. The multiple SR configurations and multiple bits SR independently represent one or multiple following information: … 6. QoS flow ID).
Kim establishes a solid multi-SR resource framework where different “SR types” are transmitted over distinct physical channels. Chen explicitly provides the necessary optimization for the 5G NR era by teaching that each of the multiple SR configuration provided by Method 1 or Method 3 can be explicitly “linked to a QoS flow ID.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to motivate and modify the multi-SR framework of Kim by adopting the QoS flow-linked SR configuration explicitly taught by Chen to accelerate uplink resource requests for specific 5G QoS flow. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “based on an application, service, quality of service (QoS) flow or set of traffic characteristics specific to the second type of SR.” Amended independent claim 1 strictly limits the configuration by reciting that “each SR configuration is specific to a quality of service (QoS) flow.” In contrast, claims 8 and 9 improperly expand the scope of the second type of SR (which corresponds to one of the multiple SR configurations defined in claim 1) to be specific to an “application,” “service,” or “set of traffic characteristics.” A dependent claim cannot broaden or contradict the restrictive definition established in its independent claim.
Claims 17 and 20, have similar limitation as of Claim(s) 8, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 6-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170202009, hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180317123, hereinafter “Chen”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Kim unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims 1, 10, and 19:
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches A processor of a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 26, UE 2620) configured to perform operations comprising:
receiving multiple scheduling request (SR) configurations (Fig. 25 and para [0394]; UE receives multiple SR configuration information from an eNB at step 2501.), (The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Chen as follows.);
transmitting a first type of SR (para [0402]; The UE sends the selected SR type (interpreted as “a first type of SR”) to the eNB in order to be assigned a PUSCH resource for sending the UL data at step 2505), wherein a plurality of different types of SRs comprising at least the first type of SR and a second type of SR each correspond to a different one of the multiple SR configurations (para [0396]; Furthermore, the multiple SR configuration information may include information about the size of UL data corresponds to each SR type (e.g., a maximum supportable size of data) or a maximum number of times that an SR is transmitted.)(para [0399]; The UE selects an SR type that belongs to multiple SR types and that corresponds to the size of UL data to be transmitted to the eNB at step 2503); and
receiving an initial uplink grant for a data transmission in response to the first type of SR, wherein the initial uplink grant indicates one or more uplink resources assigned to the UE by a network based on the first type of SR (para [0405]; If the SR type transmitted by the UE indicates a procedure for assigning uplink resources through the transmission of an existing BSR of 6 bits at step 2405 (i.e., if the SR corresponds to an SR type for sending a BSR), the UE receives an UL grant for sending a BSR (interpreted as “an initial uplink grant for a data transmission in response to the first type of SR”) from the eNB at step 2507) (para [0406]; The UE that has received the UL grant for the BSR from the eNB sends a triggered BSR to the eNB through a PUSCH resource assigned by the received UL grant (interpreted as “the initial uplink grant indicates one or more uplink resources assigned to the UE by a network based on the first type of SR”) at step 2509). Fig.25 of Kim is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 25 of Kim)
As noted above, Kim does not specifically teach about the “wherein each SR configuration is specific to a quality of service (QoS) flow”. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Chen as follows;
“wherein each SR configuration is specific to a quality of service (QoS) flow” (paragraphs [235-0242] of Chen: Based on the latest agreement, a SR will need to reflect TTI and/or numerology information of the uplink logical channel which triggers the SR. The main purpose of such agreement is to accelerate uplink resource request and to avoid resource waste caused by TTI/numerology configuration of logical channels. How to reflect TTI and/or numerology information will need further study. Potential methods are discussed below. Method 1-Network provides multiple SR configurations to UE. Different SR configurations may contain different radio resources in frequency domain, time domain, and/or code domain and each SR configuration is linked to TTI/numerology information. The linking could be established based on implicit association (e.g., a numerology used for SR transmission according to a SR configuration is linked to requesting the resource on the numerology) and/or explicit association (e.g., TTI/numerology information is included in each SR configuration). The TTI/numerology information could be one or multiple following candidates: … 6. QoS flow ID) (paragraphs [253-0259] of Chen: Method 3—This method is a hybrid of the previous two methods. Multiple SR configurations could be configured to a UE, and at least one of those SR configurations supports multiple bits SR. The multiple SR configurations and multiple bits SR independently represent one or multiple following information: … 6. QoS flow ID)
Both Kim and Chen belong to the identical technical field of wireless communications (specifically, 5G NR and advanced LTE-A systems). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to combine the teachings of Kim and Chen. Specifically, Kim establishes a solid multi-SR resource framework where different “SR types” are transmitted over distinct physical channels. Chen explicitly provides the necessary optimization for the 5G NR era by teaching that each of the multiple SR configuration provided by Method 1 or Method 3 can be explicitly “linked to a QoS flow ID.” To achieve the latency-reduction goals proposed in Kim within a 5G NR architecture, a PHOSITA would find it a matter of routine design choice and technical inevitability to substitute or supplement the “data size” criteria of Kim with the “QoS flow ID” linkage explicitly enumerated in paragraphs [0236-0242] of Chen. The combination requires no unexpected experimentation, as both references utilize standard RRC signaling to configure the UE.
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches A processor of a base station (Fig. 26, eNB 2610) configured to perform operations comprising:
receiving a first type of scheduling request (SR) from a user equipment (UE) (para [0402]; The UE sends the selected SR type to the eNB), wherein a plurality of different types of SRs comprising at least the first type of SR and a second type of SR each correspond to a different one of multiple SR configurations (para [0396]; Furthermore, the multiple SR configuration information may include information about the size of UL data corresponds to each SR type (e.g., a maximum supportable size of data) or a maximum number of times that an SR is transmitted.)(para [0399]; The UE selects an SR type that belongs to multiple SR types and that corresponds to the size of UL data to be transmitted to the eNB at step 2503) (paragraphs [0401]; Furthermore, the size of UL data is determined for each SR type. For example, a maximum supportable size of data may be differently determined for each SR type. The UE checks the size of the UL data to be transmitted to the eNB and selects an SR type according to the range of the checked size of data.) and (The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Chen as follows.); and
transmitting an initial uplink grant for a data transmission in response to the first type of SR, wherein the initial uplink grant indicates uplink resources assigned to the UE based on the first type of SR (para [0405]; If the SR type transmitted by the UE indicates a procedure for assigning uplink resources through the transmission of an existing BSR of 6 bits at step 2405 (i.e., if the SR corresponds to an SR type for sending a BSR), the UE receives an UL grant for sending a BSR (interpreted as “an initial uplink grant for a data transmission in response to the first type of SR”) from the eNB at step 2507) (para [0406]; The UE that has received the UL grant for the BSR from the eNB sends a triggered BSR to the eNB through a PUSCH resource assigned by the received UL grant (interpreted as “the initial uplink grant indicates uplink resources assigned to the UE based on the first type of SR”) at step 2509).
As noted above, Kim does not specifically teach about the “wherein each SR configuration is specific to a quality of service (QoS) flow”. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Chen as follows;
“wherein each SR configuration is specific to a quality of service (QoS) flow” (paragraphs [235-0242] of Chen: Based on the latest agreement, a SR will need to reflect TTI and/or numerology information of the uplink logical channel which triggers the SR. The main purpose of such agreement is to accelerate uplink resource request and to avoid resource waste caused by TTI/numerology configuration of logical channels. How to reflect TTI and/or numerology information will need further study. Potential methods are discussed below. Method 1-Network provides multiple SR configurations to UE. Different SR configurations may contain different radio resources in frequency domain, time domain, and/or code domain and each SR configuration is linked to TTI/numerology information. The linking could be established based on implicit association (e.g., a numerology used for SR transmission according to a SR configuration is linked to requesting the resource on the numerology) and/or explicit association (e.g., TTI/numerology information is included in each SR configuration). The TTI/numerology information could be one or multiple following candidates: … 6. QoS flow ID) (paragraphs [253-0259] of Chen: Method 3—This method is a hybrid of the previous two methods. Multiple SR configurations could be configured to a UE, and at least one of those SR configurations supports multiple bits SR. The multiple SR configurations and multiple bits SR independently represent one or multiple following information: … 6. QoS flow ID)
Both Kim and Chen belong to the identical technical field of wireless communications (specifically, 5G NR and advanced LTE-A systems). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to combine the teachings of Kim and Chen. Specifically, Kim establishes a solid multi-SR resource framework where different “SR types” are transmitted over distinct physical channels. Chen explicitly provides the necessary optimization for the 5G NR era by teaching that each of the multiple SR configuration provided by Method 1 or Method 3 can be explicitly “linked to a QoS flow ID.” To achieve the latency-reduction goals proposed in Kim within a 5G NR architecture, a PHOSITA would find it a matter of routine design choice and technical inevitability to substitute or supplement the “data size” criteria of Kim with the “QoS flow ID” linkage explicitly enumerated in paragraphs [0236-0242] of Chen. The combination requires no unexpected experimentation, as both references utilize standard RRC signaling to configure the UE.
Regarding claim 19, it is a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 26, UE 2620) claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitations “a transceiver” (Fig. 26, a radio frequency (RF) unit 2613) and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 4, Kim and Chen teach The processor of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the multiple SR configurations comprise a first SR configuration and a second SR configuration that are mapped to at least a different cyclic shift of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) sequence (para [0395]; The multiple SR configuration information includes information about a PUCCH resource index (i.e., an SR resource) corresponding to each SR type (interpreted as “the multiple SR configurations comprise a first SR configuration and a second SR configuration”). The SR resource configured for each SR type is determined by a combination of a PRB in which an SR is transmitted, a CS (“Cyclic Shift”) applied to a base sequence (e.g., a ZC sequence) for spreading the SR in a frequency domain, and OC for spreading the SR in a time domain) (para [0161]; As the frequency domain spread code, the CAZAC sequence of length 12 (e.g., ZC sequence) may be used. Each control channel may be distinguished by applying the CAZAC sequence that has different cyclic shift values.).
Regarding claim 6, Kim and Chen teach The processor of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein a buffer status report (BSR) is not transmitted to the network in a duration between transmitting the first type of SR and receiving the initial uplink grant (Fig. 25 and para [0406]; The UE that has received the UL grant for the BSR from the eNB sends a triggered BSR to the eNB through a PUSCH resource assigned by the received UL grant at step 2509). In Fig. 25 of Kim, BSR of Kim is not transmitted to the eNB in the duration between the SR transmission step (2505) and the UL grant reception step (2507), see Fig. 25). Fig.25 is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 25 of Kim)
Regarding claim 7, Kim and Chen teach The processor of claim 1, the operations further comprising: Kim further teaches
transmitting, after receiving the initial uplink grant, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating that one or more UE buffers for uplink data are empty. (Fig. 25 and para [0406]; The UE that has received the UL grant for the BSR from the eNB sends a triggered BSR to the eNB through a PUSCH resource assigned by the received UL grant at step 2509)(para [0217]; In LTE/LTE-A system, the UE may report the buffer state of its own to the network by configuring one of the index value among truncated BSR, short BSR, and long BSR in the LCID field.)(para [0222]; In case of the truncated BSR and short BSR being defined in the LCID field of sub-header, the MAC control element corresponding to the sub-header, as shown in FIG. 16(a), may be configured to include one logical channel group identification (LCG ID) field and one buffer size field indicating the buffer state of the LCG. .. The buffer size field is used for identifying the total amount of available data (interpreted as “a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating that one or more UE buffers for uplink data are empty”) from the all logical channels that are included in the LCG.). As noted above, Kim discloses that BSR (in step 2509 of Fig. 25) is transmitted using the LCID field defined in MAC CE in the BSR transmission step 2509 after UL grant for BSR is received. See paragraphs [0204-0222, 0406].
Regarding claim 8, Kim and Chen teach The processor of claim 1, the operations further comprising: Kim further teaches
transmitting, after receiving the initial uplink grant (para [0247]; When a UE receives the UL grant for the PUSCH resources for BSR transmission (interpreted as “after receiving the initial uplink grant”) from an eNB (step, S1803)), a second type of SR to the network (para [0250]; Referring to FIG. 18(b), the case that the PUSCH resources for BRS transmission are already allocated to a UE is illustrated. In the case, the UE transmits the BSR through the allocated PUSCH resources, and transmits a scheduling request (interpreted as “a second type of SR”) to an eNB (step, S1811))(See Fig. 18 (a)(b)); and
receiving a subsequent uplink grant for a second data transmission in response to the second type of SR, the subsequent uplink grant indicating uplink resources assigned to the UE by the network based on an application, service, quality of service (QoS) flow or set of traffic characteristics specific to the second type of SR (para [0250]; Subsequently, the eNB verifies the quality of data to be transmitted to the UL by the UE through the BSR, and transmits the UL grant for the PUSCH resources for actual data transmission to the UE (step, S1813).). Fig. 18 of Kim is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 18 of Kim)
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Chen teach The processor of claim 1, the operations further comprising: Kim further teaches
transmitting, after receiving the initial uplink grant, a buffer status report (BSR) to the network (Fig. 25 and para [0406]; The UE that has received the UL grant for the BSR from the eNB sends a triggered BSR to the eNB through a PUSCH resource assigned by the received UL grant at step 2509); and
receiving a subsequent uplink grant for a second data transmission in response to the BSR, the subsequent uplink grant indicating uplink resources assigned to the UE by the network based on the BSR (Fig. 25 and para [0411]; The UE receives an UL grant for the PUSCH resource for sending the UL data from the eNB at step 2513.).
Regarding claim 11, Kim and Chen teach The processor of claim 10, Kim further teaches wherein the multiple SR configurations comprise a first SR configuration and a second SR configuration that have at least a different time domain configuration (para [0395]; The multiple SR configuration information includes information about a PUCCH resource index (i.e., an SR resource) corresponding to each SR type (interpreted as “the multiple SR configurations comprise a first SR configuration and a second SR configuration”). The SR resource configured for each SR type is determined by a combination of a PRB in which an SR is transmitted, a CS applied to a base sequence (e.g., a ZC sequence) for spreading the SR in a frequency domain, and OC (orthogonal code) for spreading the SR in a time domain (“the spreading the SR in a time domain” is interpreted as “SR configuration that have at least a different time domain configuration”)).
Regarding claim 12, Kim and Chen teach The processor of claim 10, Kim further teaches wherein the multiple SR configurations comprise a first SR configuration and a second SR configuration that have at least a different frequency domain configuration (para [0395]; The multiple SR configuration information includes information about a PUCCH resource index (i.e., an SR resource) corresponding to each SR type (interpreted as “the multiple SR configurations comprise a first SR configuration and a second SR configuration”). The SR resource configured for each SR type is determined by a combination of a PRB in which an SR is transmitted, a CS applied to a base sequence (e.g., a ZC sequence) for spreading the SR in a frequency domain (“the spreading in a frequency domain” is interpreted as “a different frequency domain configuration”), and OC for spreading the SR in a time domain).
Regarding claim 13, Claim 13, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 4, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 4.
Regarding claim 14, Kim and Chen teach The processor of claim 10, Kim further teaches wherein each SR configuration of the multiple SR configurations is mapped to a different scheduling request ID (Table 18 and para [0314]; “sr-ConfigIndex” field).
Regarding claim 15, Claim 15, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 6, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 6.
Regarding claim 16, Claim 16, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 7, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 7.
Regarding claim 17, Claim 17, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 8, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 8.
Regarding claim 18, Claim 18, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 9, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 9.
Regarding claim 20, Claim 20, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 8, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 8.
Regarding claim 21, Kim and Chen teach The processor of claim 1, further comprising: Kim further teaches
receiving a scheduling request resource configuration information element (IE) (para [0319]; UE may receive information elements for configuring multiple SR types (interpreted as “a scheduling request resource configuration information element (IE)”) from an eNB through an RRC message. For example, UE may receive the information elements from an eNB through an RRC connection reconfiguration message or an RRC connection setup message.)(Table 18 and paragraphs [0313-0314]: Table 18 illustrates information elements for configuring the multiple SR types.) comprising multiple scheduling resource IDs, each scheduling request ID corresponding to different physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (Table 18 and para [0314]: ar0-PUCCH-ResourceIndex) (para [0317]: The “sr-PUCCH-ResourceIndex” and the “sr-PUCCH-ResourceIndexP1” field indicate the respective PUCCH resource indices nPUCCH,SRI (1,p) of antenna ports P0 and P1.), wherein a first application is mapped to a first scheduling request ID and a second application is mapped to a second scheduling request ID (para [0019]: UL data generated from an application sensitive to delay or intermittent UL data of a small size can be rapidly transmitted by newly defining a scheduling request signal.)(paragraphs [0365-0368]: In FIG. 24, it is assumed that major applications that generate UL data include three cases as follows. [0366] Case 1—data of a specific criterion or less size that is intermittently/aperiodically generated (e.g., health care and traffic safety information) (interpreted as “a first application”) [0367] Case 2—data of various sizes that is generated intermittently/aperiodically (interpreted as “a second application”) [0368] Case 3—data other than Case 1 and Case 2.)(para [0370]: Processing in UE and the eNB in “Case 1” and “Case 2” is described below.)(para [0376-0377]: Referring to FIG. 24(a), UE determines whether the size of data transmitted in uplink is a specific length L1 or less (or less than the specific length L1) supported in a multiple SR configuration at step 2401. [0377] The UE selects an SR type “j” according to the size of the data at step 2403. That is, if the size of the data is L1 or less (or less than), the UE selects the SR type 1. If not, the UE selects the SR type 0. The opposite is also possible.)(Examiner’s Note: As disclosed in paragraph [0365-0377], Kim assumed the size of UL data generated by the applications (e.g., a health care, a traffic safety, etc. see para [0264]), and discloses three SR types (Type “j”, Type “1”, Type “0”, see para [0376-0377] based on the size of UL data (L1). The SR Type IDs are supported in a multiple SR configuration (see paragraphs [0364-0376]). Therefore, as disclosed in paragraphs 0365-0377], Kim discloses the claimed feature “wherein a first application is mapped to a first scheduling request ID and a second application is mapped to a second scheduling request ID” of claim 21.
Regarding claim 23, Kim and Chen teach The processor of claim 1, further comprising: Chen further teaches receiving a scheduling request resource configuration information element (IE) (para [0319]; UE may receive information elements for configuring multiple SR types (interpreted as “a scheduling request resource configuration information element (IE)”) from an eNB through an RRC message. For example, UE may receive the information elements from an eNB through an RRC connection reconfiguration message or an RRC connection setup message.)(Table 18 and paragraphs [0313-0314]: Table 18 illustrates information elements for configuring the multiple SR types.) comprising multiple scheduling resource IDs, each scheduling request ID corresponding to different physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (Table 18 and para [0314]: SchedulingRequestConfig ::= CHOICE { …}, sr0-PUCCH-ResourceIndex) (para [0317]: The “sr-PUCCH-ResourceIndex” and the “sr-PUCCH-ResourceIndexP1” field indicate the respective PUCCH resource indices nPUCCH,SRI (1,p) of antenna ports P0 and P1.) (para [0322]: Accordingly, a method of requesting scheduling in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention means that a plurality of SR resources is assigned to UE for each SR type and the UE sends an SR through a plurality of PUCCH resources.),
Chen further teaches wherein a first type of voice over IP (VoIP) traffic is mapped to a first scheduling request ID and a second type of VoIP traffic is mapped to a second scheduling request ID (paragraphs [0003-0004] of Chen: With the rapid rise in demand for communication of large amounts of data to and from mobile communication devices, traditional mobile voice communication networks are evolving into networks that communicate with Internet Protocol (IP) data packets. Such IP data packet communication can provide users of mobile communication devices with voice over IP, multimedia, multicast and on-demand communication services. An exemplary network structure is an Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network (E-UTRAN). The E-UTRAN system can provide high data throughput in order to realize the above-noted voice over IP and multimedia services. A new radio technology for the next generation (e.g., 5G) is currently being discussed by the 3GPP standards organization. Accordingly, changes to the current body of 3GPP standard are currently being submitted and considered to evolve and finalize the 3GPP standard.) (paragraphs [0236-0242]: … Different SR configurations may contain different radio resources in frequency domain, time domain, and/or code domain and each SR configuration is linked to TTI/numerology information. … The TTI/numerology information could be one or multiple following candidates: … 6. QoS flow ID ).
It is well recognized by a PHOSITA that Voice over IP (VoIP) communication services inherently utilize multiple distinct traffic categories with different QoS requirements-specifically, user-plane conversational voice packet flows versus control-plane signaling flow-to ensure appropriate Quality of Service handling. Indeed, Kim explicitly discloses this protocol architecture in paragraphs [0062-0063], stating that “the control plane is a passage through which control messages… are transmitted” whereas “The user plane is a passage through which data (e.g., voice data or Internet packet data) … is transmitted.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Chen. Specifically, one would be highly motivated to utilize the multi-SR RRC IE structure (SchedulingRequestConfig containing sr0 and sr1 mapped to distinct PUCCH resources) explicitly disclosed in Table 18 of Kim, and allocate a “first type of VoIP traffic” (i.e., user-plane voice media flows) to a first SR ID and a “second type of VoIP traffic” (i.e., control-plane signaling flows) to a second SR ID as suggested by Chen’s QoS flow/Logical Channel-linked configurations (paragraphs [0236-0242] of Chen). The resulting structure is a predictable combination of known techniques yielding no unexpected results.
Claim 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Chen, and further in view of Shahidi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220295262, hereinafter “Shahidi”).
Regarding claim 22, Kim and Chen teach The processor of claim 21, a combination of Kim and Chen fails to disclose or teaches: wherein a mapping between the first application and the first scheduling request ID is derived from a subscriber identity module (SIM) card.
In analogous art, Shahidi discloses the claimed feature “wherein a mapping between the first application and the first scheduling request ID is derived from a subscriber identity module (SIM) card.” (para [0093] of Shahidi: a UE 120 may be a multi-SIM UE that includes multiple SIMs (two or more SIMs), shown as a first SIM 305 a and a second SIM 305 b. The first SIM 305 a may be associated with a first subscription (shown as SUB 1), and the second SIM 305 b may be associated with a second subscription (shown as SUB 2).)(para [0147]: In this way, techniques described herein provide determination of a length of a time window for a priority configuration based at least in part on SR configurations for two SIMs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Kim and Chen by using the features of Shahidi in order to derive a mapping between the first application and the first scheduling request ID from a subscriber identity module (SIM) card.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411