DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 10, 16, 25, 30, 36-37, 85-89, 91 & 93-94 are under examination on the merits.
Claim 73 is withdrawn.
The objections to claims 16, 25 & 30 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claim 36 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 1, 3, 10, 16, 30, 36-37, 83-89 & 91-94 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for New Matter is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 1, 10, 16, 84, 86-87, 91, 93-95 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, (Written Description, part B mailed 3/19/2026) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejections of claims 1, 10, 16, 30, 36-37, 83-89, 91, & 93-95 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for scope of enablement (parts A, C, and D of rejection mailed 3/19/2026) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
The provisional rejection of claim 37 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 36 of copending Application No. 18/853,521 (reference application) in view of Xia et al (2021) Food Control. 123 107859 (available 12/31/2020, hereafter Xia) is withdrawn in lighto f abandonment of the copending application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Indefiniteness
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Due to Applicant' s amendment of the claims, the rejection is modified from the rejection as set forth in the Office action mailed 3/19/2026, as applied to claims 16, 84, 86, 91 & 95. Applicant' s arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the FAD3 gene comprising the nucleic acid sequence having at least 95% sequence identity to the nucleic acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 46" in lines 8-10 and “the FAD3 gene comprising the nucleic acid sequence having at least 95% sequence identity to the nucleic acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 56” in lines 10-12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because claim 16 depends on claim 94 which does not require a FAD3 gene with any specific nucleic acid sequence.
Applicant urges that amended claim 16 resolves the issue of indefiniteness (Remarks, page 10, paragraph 2- page 11, paragraph 6).
This argument is unpersuasive, because amendments to claim 16 raise an additional issue with antecedent basis.
Written Description
A. Claims 1, 10, 16, 86-87, 91 & 93-94 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Due to Applicant' s amendment of the claims, the rejection is modified from the rejection as set forth in the Office action mailed 3/19/2026, as applied to claims 1, 10, 16, 84, 86-87, 91, 93-95 (part A). Applicant' s arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The claims require a plant or plant part comprising decreased fatty acid desaturase activity and a mutated FAD3 gene comprising one or more insertions, substitutions or deletions. Claim 16 further recites one or more insertions, substitutions, or deletions in one or more genes selected from FAD3 located at least partially in the nucleotide region corresponding to exon 2 of a FAD3 gene having at least 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 46. Claim 94 further requires a gene encoding for a protein comprising SEQ ID NO: 43 or a sequence having 50% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43 and retaining FAD3 activity. Claim 91 further requires a protein encoded by SEQ ID NO: 46 or a functional FAD3 protein with at least 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 46.
Proteins comprising a sequence having 50% identity to the 388 amino-acid long SEQ ID NO: 43 encompass sequences that comprise 194 substitutions relative to SEQ ID NO: 43. Nucleic acids with 95% sequence identity to the 2904 nucleotide long SEQ ID NO: 46 would have 145 substitutions relative to SEQ ID NO: 46. These nucleic acids encompass those in which every substitution is in a different codon and in which every substitution results in codon that encodes a different amino acid. Thus, nucleic acids with 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 46 encompass nucleic acids encoding FAD3 proteins with 145 amino acid substitutions relative to SEQ ID NO: 43. These proteins would have 62.6% identity to SEQ ID NO: 43.
The specification teaches two examples of FAD3 genes, FAD3C (SEQ ID NO: 46, encoding SEQ ID NO: 43) and FAD3D (SEQ ID NO: 56, encoding SEQ ID NO: 53). The specification describes that FAD3 catalyzes the insertion of a double bond into linoleic acid to form linolenic acid (page 2, lines 2-4). The specification describes that FAD3 activity may refer to the ability of FAD3 to introduce a third double bond into linoleic acid (18:2) to form linolenic acid (18:3) (page 18, lines 20-22). Thus, the claims broadly require a gene from the genus of plant genes named FAD3 with at least 50% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43 and retaining FAD3 activity.
FAD3 genes are known in the art. A sequence of a predicted FAD in pea Lathyrus oleraceus (NCBI Reference Sequence XM_051025045.1, available 8/25/2025 after the filing of the instant invention) that has 100% identity to just 41% of the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 46. See piecewise alignments below.
Range 1: 116 to 435
Alignment statistics for match #1
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
592 bits(320)
2e-172
320/320(100%)
0/320(0%)
Plus/Plus
Query 1 ATGGTTGTTCAAGAACCTCAAAATCTGCTACATGTTGGTAATGGTGATGTTCTTGTTGAT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 116 ATGGTTGTTCAAGAACCTCAAAATCTGCTACATGTTGGTAATGGTGATGTTCTTGTTGAT 175
Query 61 GATGaaaaaaaaCACCACCATACAAGTTTTGATCCAAGTGCTCCTCCACCATTTAAGATT 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 176 GATGAAAAAAAACACCACCATACAAGTTTTGATCCAAGTGCTCCTCCACCATTTAAGATT 235
Query 121 GCAGAGGTTCGTGCCGCGATTCCGAAACACTGTTGGGTTAAGAATCCATGGATTTCTCTT 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 236 GCAGAGGTTCGTGCCGCGATTCCGAAACACTGTTGGGTTAAGAATCCATGGATTTCTCTT 295
Query 181 AGTTATCTTCTTAGAGACATTTTCATTGTCACTGCATTGGTAGCTGCTGCAATTCATTTC 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 296 AGTTATCTTCTTAGAGACATTTTCATTGTCACTGCATTGGTAGCTGCTGCAATTCATTTC 355
Query 241 AATAATTGGATCTTTTGGCCAATTTATTGGATTTCTCAAGGAACTATGTTTTGGGCTCTT 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 356 AATAATTGGATCTTTTGGCCAATTTATTGGATTTCTCAAGGAACTATGTTTTGGGCTCTT 415
Query 301 TTTGTTCTTGGACATGATTG 320
||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 416 TTTGTTCTTGGACATGATTG 435
Range 2: 1090 to 1282
Alignment statistics for match #2
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
357 bits(193)
1e-101
193/193(100%)
0/193(0%)
Plus/Plus
Query 2712 GACAGAAGCAGCAAAGCCAGTGCTAGGAAAATATTATCGTGAGCCAGAGAAATCTGGGGC 2771
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1090 GACAGAAGCAGCAAAGCCAGTGCTAGGAAAATATTATCGTGAGCCAGAGAAATCTGGGGC 1149
Query 2772 AGTCCCATTCCATCTCTTTAAGTACTTTCTACACAGCATGAATCAGGACCACTTCGTCAG 2831
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1150 AGTCCCATTCCATCTCTTTAAGTACTTTCTACACAGCATGAATCAGGACCACTTCGTCAG 1209
Query 2832 TGATTCTGGAGACATTGTTTTCTACCAAACAGACCCTAAGCTCCATAATAATTCTTGGAC 2891
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1210 TGATTCTGGAGACATTGTTTTCTACCAAACAGACCCTAAGCTCCATAATAATTCTTGGAC 1269
Query 2892 CAAGTCTGAGTAA 2904
|||||||||||||
Sbjct 1270 CAAGTCTGAGTAA 1282
Range 3: 685 to 871
Alignment statistics for match #3
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
346 bits(187)
2e-98
187/187(100%)
0/187(0%)
Plus/Plus
Query 1059 GTGGAACAGAAGTCCTGGTAAAGAAGGTTCACATTTCAATCCATATAGCAAATTGTTCAC 1118
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 685 GTGGAACAGAAGTCCTGGTAAAGAAGGTTCACATTTCAATCCATATAGCAAATTGTTCAC 744
Query 1119 ACCAAGTGAGAGAAAAGATGTGTTAACTTCAACATTTTGTTGGGGTATCATGTTTTGTGG 1178
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 745 ACCAAGTGAGAGAAAAGATGTGTTAACTTCAACATTTTGTTGGGGTATCATGTTTTGTGG 804
Query 1179 GCTTGTTTATTTATCCTTAATAAAGGGTCCtttttttATGCTCAAAATCTATGGAGTTCC 1238
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 805 GCTTGTTTATTTATCCTTAATAAAGGGTCCTTTTTTTATGCTCAAAATCTATGGAGTTCC 864
Query 1239 ttattgg 1245
|||||||
Sbjct 865 TTATTGG 871
Range 4: 951 to 1090
Alignment statistics for match #4
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
259 bits(140)
3e-72
140/140(100%)
0/140(0%)
Plus/Plus
Query 1824 AGGAATGGGACTATCTAAGAGGTGGTTTAACGACCGTGGATCGTGACTATGGTTGGGTTA 1883
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 951 AGGAATGGGACTATCTAAGAGGTGGTTTAACGACCGTGGATCGTGACTATGGTTGGGTTA 1010
Query 1884 ACAACATTCACCATGACATTGGCACACATGTTATTCATCATCTTTTTCCTCAAATTCCAC 1943
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1011 ACAACATTCACCATGACATTGGCACACATGTTATTCATCATCTTTTTCCTCAAATTCCAC 1070
Query 1944 ATTATCATTTGATTGAAGCG 1963
||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1071 ATTATCATTTGATTGAAGCG 1090
Range 5: 593 to 685
Alignment statistics for match #5
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
172 bits(93)
4e-46
93/93(100%)
0/93(0%)
Plus/Plus
Query 860 TTGACAGAGAAGATGTACAAGAGTTTAGACAACATGACAAAAACAATGAGATTTACTTTT 919
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 593 TTGACAGAGAAGATGTACAAGAGTTTAGACAACATGACAAAAACAATGAGATTTACTTTT 652
Query 920 CCTTTTCCAATCTTTGCATACCCTTTTTATTTG 952
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 653 CCTTTTCCAATCTTTGCATACCCTTTTTATTTG 685
Range 6: 435 to 526
Alignment statistics for match #6
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
171 bits(92)
1e-45
92/92(100%)
0/92(0%)
Plus/Plus
Query 424 GTGGCCATGGAAGCTTTTCAAATAGTGTTAAGCTGAATAGTTTTGTGGGCCATATCTTGC 483
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 435 GTGGCCATGGAAGCTTTTCAAATAGTGTTAAGCTGAATAGTTTTGTGGGCCATATCTTGC 494
Query 484 ATTCTTCGATTCTTGTTCCATATCATGGATGG 515
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 495 ATTCTTCGATTCTTGTTCCATATCATGGATGG 526
Range 7: 871 to 956
Alignment statistics for match #7
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
154 bits(83)
1e-40
86/87(99%)
1/87(1%)
Plus/Plus
Query 1341 GATCTTTATCATGTGGTTGGACTTTGTCACATATATGCATCACCATGGTTACTCTCAGAA 1400
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 871 GATCTTTATCATGTGGTTGGACTTTGTCACATATATGCATCACCATGGTTACTCTCAGAA 930
Query 1401 ACTACCTTGGTATCGTGGCAAGGTAAT 1427
||||||||||||||||||||||| |||
Sbjct 931 ACTACCTTGGTATCGTGGCAAGG-AAT 956
Range 8: 525 to 592
Alignment statistics for match #8
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
126 bits(68)
3e-32
68/68(100%)
0/68(0%)
Plus/Plus
Query 619 GGAGAATCAGCCATAGAACTCATCATCAAAATCATGGTCATGTTGAGAAAGATGAATCCT 678
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 525 GGAGAATCAGCCATAGAACTCATCATCAAAATCATGGTCATGTTGAGAAAGATGAATCCT 584
Query 679 GGGTTCCT 686
||||||||
Sbjct 585 GGGTTCCT 592
In other species, sequences with at least 95% identity to the full sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 46 are not known. The nearest sequence known in another species, Lathyrus linifolius, has only 82% similarity and 63.7% match (GenBank OZ206517.1 from nucleotide 286,759,569 to 286,762,568, available 12/1/2024, after the filing of the instant application). See alignment below.
OZ206517s24
LOCUS OZ206517s24 12010020 bp DNA linear PLN 01-DEC-2024
COMMENT segment of length 12010020: from 276000001 to 288010020
DEFINITION Lathyrus linifolius genome assembly, chromosome: 3.
ACCESSION OZ206517
VERSION OZ206517.1
DBLINK BioProject: PRJEB82905
BioSample: SAMEA7522408
Sequence Read Archive: ERR13245272, ERR13245273, ERR13245274,
ERR13245275, ERR13245276, ERR13245277, ERR13245278, ERR13245279,
ERR13245280, ERR13248951
KEYWORDS .
SOURCE Lathyrus linifolius
ORGANISM Lathyrus linifolius
Eukaryota; Viridiplantae; Streptophyta; Embryophyta; Tracheophyta;
Spermatophyta; Magnoliopsida; eudicotyledons; Gunneridae;
Pentapetalae; rosids; fabids; Fabales; Fabaceae; Papilionoideae; 50
kb inversion clade; NPAAA clade; Hologalegina; IRL clade; Fabeae;
Lathyrus.
REFERENCE 1
CONSRTM Wellcome Sanger Tree of Life Programme
TITLE Direct Submission
JOURNAL Submitted (27-NOV-2024) WELLCOME SANGER INSTITUTE, Tree of Life,
Wellcome Genome Campus, Hinxton CB10 1SA, United Kingdom
COMMENT The assembly drLatLini1.hap1.1 is based on 25x PacBio data and
Arima2 Hi-C data generated by the Darwin Tree of Life Project
(https://www.darwintreeoflife.org/). The assembly process included
the following sequence of steps: initial PacBio assembly generation
with Hifiasm in Hi-C integrated assembly mode, and Hi-C based
scaffolding with YaHS. The mitochondrial and chloroplast genomes
were assembled using OATK. Finally, each haplotype assembly was
analysed and manually improved using TreeVal. Chromosome-scale
scaffolds confirmed by the Hi-C data have been named in order of
size.
FEATURES Location/Qualifiers
source 1..726504577
/organism="Lathyrus linifolius"
/mol_type="genomic DNA"
/db_xref="taxon:313096"
/chromosome="3"
/geo_loc_name="United Kingdom:Surrey | RBG Kew | rock
garden. Origin, UNITED KINGDOM | within Mardale Mountain
Meadow sheep exclosure below Harter Fell | S of RSPB
Haweswater | 400 m"
/collection_date="2020-09-03"
assembly_gap 4899641..4899840
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 13200474..13200673
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 16034903..16035102
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 16127804..16128003
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 18225795..18225994
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 20991322..20991521
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 26508108..26508307
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 33684510..33684709
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 42345744..42345943
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 48981864..48982063
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 49984996..49985195
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 59018196..59018395
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 60013396..60013595
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 76052968..76053167
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 77189646..77189845
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 79061760..79061959
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 79551874..79552073
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 100007658..100007857
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 106238138..106238337
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 109362786..109362985
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 121290969..121291168
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 133410198..133410397
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 133498885..133499084
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 133598721..133598920
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 134037302..134037501
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 137543036..137543235
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 149980816..149981015
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 150238329..150238528
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 156821393..156821592
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 157335877..157336076
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 157778049..157778248
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 157988222..157988421
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 160183422..160183621
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 167870413..167870612
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 170536028..170536227
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 171439416..171439615
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 174432278..174432477
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 175238734..175238933
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 176160329..176160528
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
Query Match 63.7%; Score 1849.4; Length 12010020;
Best Local Similarity 82.0%;
Matches 2524; Conservative 0; Mismatches 301; Indels 254; Gaps 24;
Qy 1 ATGGTTGTTCAAGAACCTCAAAATCTGCTACATGTTGGTAATGGTGATGTTCTTGTTGAT 60
|||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10762567 ATGGTTGTTCAAGAACCTCAAACTCTGCTACATGTTGGTAATGGTGATGTTCTTGTTGAT 10762508
Qy 61 GATGAAAAAAAACACCACC---ATACAAGTTTTGATCCAAGTGCTCCTCCACCATTTAAG 117
|||||||||||||| |||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10762507 GATGAAAAAAAACAACACCATGATACAAGTTTTGATCCAAGTGCTCCTCCACCATTTAAG 10762448
Qy 118 ATTGCAGAGGTTCGTGCCGCGATTCCGAAACACTGTTGGGTTAAGAATCCATGGATTTCT 177
|||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10762447 ATTGCAGAGGTTCGCGCCGCGATTCCGAAACATTGTTGGGTTAAGAATCCATGGATTTCT 10762388
Qy 178 CTTAGTTATCTTCTTAGAGACATTTTCATTGTCACTGCATTGGTAGCTGCTGCAATTCAT 237
|||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||| |||||| |||||||||||||||||
Db 10762387 CTTAGTTATCTTCTTAGAGATGTTTTCATTGTCACCGCATTGATAGCTGCTGCAATTCAT 10762328
Qy 238 TTCAATAATTGGATCTTTTGGCCAATTTATTGGATTTCTCAAGGAACTATGTTTTGGGCT 297
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 10762327 TTCAATAATTGGATCTTTTGGCCAATTTATTGGATTTCTCAAGGGACTATGTTTTGGGCT 10762268
Qy 298 CTTTTTGTTCTTGGACATGATTGGTATTCTTTTTT--TTCATTCATTTTTTAATTTCAAT 355
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| |||||| |||||| | || |
Db 10762267 CTTTTTGTTCTTGGACATGATTGGTATTAATTTTTAATTCATTTTTTTTTTTAATTTCAA 10762208
Qy 356 AATTTTTTTATGTTAATTTAACTCATAGATTTGTTTTTTTTTTGGTATCTGTGTGTTTGA 415
| |||||||||||||||||||||| || |||||||||| |||||||||||
Db 10762207 TAATTTTTTATGTTAATTTAACTCACGAGATTTGTTTTTTTTTG-----TGTGTGTTTGA 10762153
Qy 416 TTTGAACAGTGGCCATGGAAGCTTTTCAAATAGTGTTAAGCTGAATAGTTTTGTGGGCCA 475
||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10762152 TTTGAGCAGTGGCCATGGAAGCTTTTCAAATAGTGTTAAGCTGAATAGTTTTGTGGGCCA 10762093
Qy 476 TATCTTGCATTCTTCGATTCTTGTTCCATATCATGGATGGTTTGTTCTTTTTTTTAATAT 535
||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10762092 TATCTTGCATTCTTCAATTCTTGTTCCATATCATGGATGGTTTGTTCTTTTTTTTATATG 10762033
Qy 536 GATTCTTTTTAAGATGCTTTTCTGTTCATTTTATTCTGTTTAAGATTCTTTTTTCTTTT- 594
| |||| | |||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||| | ||||
Db 10762032 ATTCTTTTTAAGATGTTTTTTCTGTTCATTTTATTCTCTTTAAGATTCTTTTATATTTTT 10761973
Qy 595 ----------------TTTTGAATCTGATTTATTTTTGCAGGAGAATCAGCCATAGAACT 638
|||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||
Db 10761972 TTATTATCAATTTTTATTTTAAATCTGATTTATTTTTGCAGGAGAATCAGTCATAGAACT 10761913
Qy 639 CATCATCAAAATCATGGTCATGTTGAGAAAGATGAATCCTGGGTTCCTGTATATAACTTT 698
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||| || |||
Db 10761912 CATCATCAAAATCATGGTCATGTTGAGAAAGATGAATCATGGGTTCCTGTATGTATTTTT 10761853
Qy 699 TTCTTTCTTTTC---------ATTTACCATGAAATTTACACAATTACCGTAACAAAATTA 749
||| |||||||| ||||||| ||| ||||||| ||| ||||||| |||||||
Db 10761852 TTCCTTCTTTTCACATTCAAGATTTACCGTGAGATTTACATAATCACCGTAATAAAATTA 10761793
Qy 750 CGATGATTGTGTCTATTTCACGGTATAATCTTAATTTGTCTAAAATGGTGAAAATCTTTG 809
|||||||| |||| |||||| | |||| ||||||||| || || | | | | |
Db 10761792 CGATGATTCTGTCAATTTCATGATATAGTCTTAATTTATCCAATAATTTCTCATTAT--- 10761736
Qy 810 TTAATTGTTTATGATATCATGTTTTTGTGTTTGTATGTTGAATGTCTCAGTTGACAGAGA 869
||| ||| ||| | |||||| |||||||||||| |||||||
Db 10761735 -------------------TGTGTTTATGTATTTATGTTTAATGTCTCAGTTAACAGAGA 10761695
Qy 870 AGATGTACAAGAGTTTAGACAACATGACAAAAACAATGAGATTTACTTTTCCTTTTCCAA 929
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10761694 AGATGTACAAGAGTTTAGACAACATGACAAAAACAATGAGATTTACTTTTCCTTTTCCAA 10761635
Qy 930 TCTTTGCATACCCTTTTTATTTGGTGAGTGATTCCCTTACAACATTGTTTGTTTTGTTTT 989
||||||||||||| |||||||||||||| ||||| ||||||||| || |||||||||
Db 10761634 TCTTTGCATACCCATTTTATTTGGTGAGAGATTCTCTTACAACA----TTTTTTTGTTTT 10761579
Qy 990 GTTTTGTTACATTATAATTATAAATAATAATTTCTAACAATTTTTTTTATTTATGTAAAC 1049
||||||| ||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||
Db 10761578 ATTTTGTTCCATTATAATTAAAAATAATAATTTCTAACAATTTT-----TTTATGTAAAC 10761524
Qy 1050 CACA-TTTCAGTGGAACAGAAGTCCTGGTAAAGAAGGTTCACATTTCAATCCATATAGCA 1108
|||| ||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10761523 CACATTTTCAGTGGAACAGAAGTCCTGGAAAAGAAGGTTCACATTTCAATCCATATAGCA 10761464
Qy 1109 AATTGTTCACACCAAGTGAGAGAAAAGATGTGTTAACTTCAACATTTTGTTGGGGTATCA 1168
||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 10761463 AATTGTTCACACCAAATGAGAGAAAAGATGTGTTAACTTCATCATTTTGTTGGGGTATCA 10761404
Qy 1169 TGTTTTGTGGGCTTGTTTATTTATCCTTAATAAAGGGTCCTTTTTTTATGCTCAAAATCT 1228
||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||
Db 10761403 TGTTTTGTGTGCTTGTTTATTTATCCTTAATAAAGGGTCCTTTCTTTATGCTCAAAATCT 10761344
Qy 1229 ATGGAGTTCCTTATTGGGTAA-TATTATTATTATTATTTAATATTTATTTCACATTTTCT 1287
||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||| |||||||||||||| ||| | |||||||
Db 10761343 ATGGAGTTCCTTATTGGGTAATTATTATTACTATTATTTAATATTAGTTTGAAATTTTCT 10761284
Qy 1288 TTTATGTTTAAAATTAGTGTAAAAGATTTACTTTTTTTTTCTTCTGATATGTAGATCTTT 1347
|||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||| ||| |||||| ||||||||||||
Db 10761283 TTTATGTTTAAAATTAGTGTAACAGATTTACTTATTT----TTCTGAAATGTAGATCTTT 10761228
Qy 1348 ATCATGTGGTTGGACTTTGTCACATATATGCATCACCATGGTTACTCTCAGAAACTACCT 1407
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||| |||||||||
Db 10761227 ATCATGTGGTTGGACTTTGTCACATATATGCATCACCATGGTTATGCTCAAAAACTACCT 10761168
Qy 1408 TGGTATCGTGGCAAGGTAATATAAAAATA-------------TTATTATTCAAAAAAATT 1454
||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||| || |||||||| ||
Db 10761167 TGGTATCGTGGAAAGGTAATATAAAAATATTTTTATTTTTATTTTTTATTCAATTTTTTT 10761108
Qy 1455 TGTCTCTGTTTTCTTGGCTGTTATTCGGTGAAAGAGAATCTCTAAAAGCTAAGGAATTGG 1514
|||| ||||||||||||||||||| |||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||| ||
Db 10761107 TGTCACTGTTTTCTTGGCTGTTATGCGGTGAAATAGAATCTCTAAAAGCTAAGGAATAGG 10761048
Qy 1515 ACTTTAGTTTCAGATTTCTTTTTCTTTTTAAATTCCTTTATTAAATATATATTTATATTA 1574
||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||
Db 10761047 ACTTTAGTTACAGATTTCTTTTTCTTTTTTAATTCCTTTATTAAATTTATATTTATATTA 10760988
Qy 1575 TTAACCAAGATATTTTGAAGGTGAAATAATATAATTATAAGCAATTCTGT-GTACATGAA 1633
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||| |||||||||
Db 10760987 TTAACCAAGATATTTTGAAGGTGAAATAATATAATTATAAGCAATTTTGTCGTACATGAA 10760928
Qy 1634 AAGTATTTAGGAATTTGTTCTAAGAAAACATGTTGGATGTAAGTTTTTAAATAAGGGTCG 1693
||||||||||||| ||||||| |||||||| | | || | | | ||
Db 10760927 AAGTATTTAGGAACTTGTTCTGAGAAAACACGCATAAAAACTTTTATGATTTCGATTTC- 10760869
Qy 1694 CACATTGATATAAATAGTATAGATATTATGATGCTGATTATGGTAATGTGAAATAAATAA 1753
|| || ||||||||||| ||| || | || | ||
Db 10760868 -----------AATTAATATAGATATTACGATATTGGT--------------ATCAGTAT 10760834
Qy 1754 TAATTTGTTCTTTTATATAAAAACGGTGAATAATGATATCAGTGTCGTAATAATATTTTG 1813
| || ||| ||| | || | | ||||| || ||||||||||
Db 10760833 CTGCATTTTTTTTGATACCGTATCGATTATTAATGGGAT----------GTAATATTTTG 10760784
Qy 1814 ATAATTGGACAGGAATGGGACTATCTAAGAGGTGGTTTAACGACCGTGGATCGTGACTAT 1873
||| | |||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 10760783 GTAAATTGACAGGAATGGGACTATCTAAGGGGTGGTTTAACGACAGTGGATCGTGACTAT 10760724
Qy 1874 GGTTGGGTTAACAACATTCACCATGACATTGGCACACATGTTATTCATCATCTTTTTCCT 1933
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10760723 GGTTGGGTTAACAACATTCACCATGACATTGGCACACATGTTATTCATCATCTTTTTCCT 10760664
Qy 1934 CAAATTCCACATTATCATTTGATTGAAGCGGTACATTCTCTTTCTTTCACTCTTTTTGTT 1993
||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| ||| ||
Db 10760663 CAAATTCCACATTATCATTTGGTTGAAGCGGTACATTCTCTTTCTTTAACTCTCTTT-TT 10760605
Qy 1994 TTTTTACTTTCTCAATAACAAAGGAATAAAGGCCCCAAACAATAAAGAAAAAGGCCCACA 2053
|||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10760604 TTTTTACTTTCTCAATAACAAAAGAATAAAGGCCCCAAACAATAAAGAAAAAGGCCCACA 10760545
Qy 2054 ATTCAACTTGCATAGTTACCTTTGAAGTGGAGTGTGACAACACAAGGACTTTGTCTTTAA 2113
||||||||||||||||| |||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10760544 ATTCAACTTGCATAGTTGCCTTAGAAGTGGAGTGTGACAACACAAGGACTTTGTCTTTAA 10760485
Qy 2114 TGTTAGGGTTCATACACTAGACTTAACTCCACTTGCATGTTTGTTTAATTTCCATTGAAA 2173
||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10760484 TGTTAGGGTTCATACACTAGAGTTAACTCCACTTGTATGTTTGTTTAATTTCCATTGAAA 10760425
Qy 2174 GCAAACAAAAAAACCCTCAAAATTTGTCATTGTTGCATTTTTACCAGATTTTACAATATA 2233
|| || |||||||| ||||||||| |||||||||||||| ||||||| | ||||
Db 10760424 GCCAAAAAAAAAACATAAAAAATTTGTTGATGTTGCATTTTTACGTGATTTTAGAGTATA 10760365
Qy 2234 GCCAATCTCAACCATTTATTTTATATCTAACTATTCAG-AATTAAATTCACTCTCAT--- 2289
| ||||||||||||||||||| | ||| ||| || | | || |||||||||||||
Db 10760364 GTCAATCTCAACCATTTATTTAAAATCGAACGGTTATGTATTTTAATTCACTCTCATGCG 10760305
Qy 2290 -----------CATGGTAAAATGAATCCGACCCATTATACATATATATTTTGTCTGTATT 2338
|||||||| || |||| || | ||| || | ||||||||| |||
Db 10760304 ATAAAATTAAAGGTGGTAAAACAAACTCGACTCACAAAACAAATCTGTTTTGTCTGCATT 10760245
Qy 2339 CTTTACGGGATAAATTAAAGTTTAAGAGCTGTATCCTCTCTATATCATTCTCGCAACGT- 2397
|||| |||||| ||||| |||||||| || || | |||||| |||||||| |
Db 10760244 TTTTATGGGATAGATTAAGATTTAAGAGTTGCATTC-CTCTATGTCATTCTCATTTTTTT 10760186
Qy 2398 ------------------------------------------------------------ 2397
Db 10760185 TCAGATAATTTCTGCGAACGTTTTCATTAATATAAATTTTTACAACTTTTAAGTTTTAGA 10760126
Qy 2398 --------------------------------------TTTTTCTAAAGACAGATTGATA 2419
||||| |||||||| | |||
Db 10760125 AGTTAAGGGTCTGTTAGACCTACCCCAATCCATTCTACTTTTTTGAAAGACAGTCTAATA 10760066
Qy 2420 TTTTAGACTCACATTCTCTAATATGATAATTTTATTCCACCCCCATTATTTTTAGAAACT 2479
||||| |||| ||| || ||||| ||| || | ||||| |||||||||||||||||| |
Db 10760065 TTTTAAACTCGCATCCTATAATACGATCGTTCTTTTCCA-CCCCATTATTTTTAGAAATT 10760007
Qy 2480 TTGCA-------------CGGGTTTGGCACAATGTTAGTTGCATGTTTGAAAGAAATAAT 2526
|| || | | || |||||||| ||||||||||||| |
Db 10760006 TTACAAGACGAACATGATCATTTGCCATTGTATCTTAGTTGCTGGTTTGAAAGAAATGAC 10759947
Qy 2527 GATAAAATATAAGATGCATTACCATATTACTTTTATTAAGG-GAAGAAAAAATGAATGAG 2585
|||||||||| | || ||| ||||||| ||||||||| ||||| ||||||||||||
Db 10759946 GATAAAATATTGGTTGTATTTTCATATTAGTTTTATTAAATAGAAGAGAAAATGAATGAG 10759887
Qy 2586 AAAGTGTGGGGTGTATTACCAAAAGAGGAGGTGTGAATAGTTACCGAATATAGAATCAGA 2645
||| |||||||||||| |||||| |||||||||||||||||||| | |||||||
Db 10759886 AAAACGTGGGGTGTATTGCCAAAACAGGAGGTGTGAATAGTTACCAATTATAGAAATCAG 10759827
Qy 2646 AACAAACAGTGTCATTGAATCGTACAATAAAACATGTTTGTGTTTGTTTTTTCCTGTGTG 2705
|| || | ||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||
Db 10759826 AAAGAAACATTGTCATGAATTGTACAATAAAACATGTTTGTGTTTGTTTTTTCCTCTGTG 10759767
Qy 2706 ATTTCAGACAGAAGCAGCAAAGCCAGTGCTAGGAAAATATTATCGTGAGCCAGAGAAATC 2765
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10759766 ATTTCAGACAGAAGCAGCAAAGCCAGTGCTAGGAAAATATTATCGTGAGCCAGAGAAATC 10759707
Qy 2766 TGGGGCAGTCCCATTCCATCTCTTTAAGTACTTTCTACACAGCATGAATCAGGACCACTT 2825
||||||||||||||| ||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10759706 TGGGGCAGTCCCATTTCATCTGTTTAAGTACTTTCTACACAGCATGAATCAGGACCACTT 10759647
Qy 2826 CGTCAGTGATTCTGGAGACATTGTTTTCTACCAAACAGACCCTAAGCTCCATAATAATTC 2885
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10759646 CGTCAGTGATTCTGGAGACATTGTTTTCTACCAAACAGACCCTAAGCTCCATAATAATTC 10759587
Qy 2886 TTGGACCAAGTCTGAGTAA 2904
|||||||||||||||||||
Db 10759586 TTGGACCAAGTCTGAGTAA 10759568
Instant SEQ ID NO: 53, which is described in the specification as a FAD3D gene rather than a FAD3C gene like SEQ ID NO: 43 (table 10), has over 72% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43. See first alignment below. In additional, proteins with 50% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43 which are putative FAD proteins in other species are described in the art. For example, UniProt record A0A072UYW9_MEDTR (first available 10/1/2014) teaches a Medicago truncatula FAD sequence with 89.9% sequence similarity to instant SEQ ID NO: 43. See second alignment below.
Score
Expect
Method
Identities
Positives
Gaps
592 bits(1525)
0.0
Compositional matrix adjust.
274/376(73%)
317/376(84%)
4/376(1%)
Query 7 QNLLHVGNGDVLVDDEKKHHHTSFDPSAPPPFKIAEVRAAIPKHCWVKNPWISLSYLLRD 66
QN +G + V + FDPSAPPPFKIA++RAAIPKHCWVK+ W SLSY++RD
Sbjct 13 QNQQTLGQETMAVSNGG----ADFDPSAPPPFKIADIRAAIPKHCWVKSTWRSLSYVVRD 68
Query 67 IFIVTALVAAAIHFNNWIFWPIYWISQGTMFWALFVLGHDCGHGSFSNSVKLNSFVGHIL 126
+ +V AL+ AAI F++W FWPIYW QGTMFWA+FVLGHDCGHGSFS+S +NS VGH+L
Sbjct 69 VLVVAALIVAAIRFDSWFFWPIYWPLQGTMFWAIFVLGHDCGHGSFSDSYFVNSLVGHVL 128
Query 127 HSSILVPYHGWRISHRTHHQNHGHVEKDESWVPLTEKMYKSLDNMTKTMRFTFPFPIFAY 186
HSSILVPYHGWRISHRTHHQNHG+VEKDESWVPLTEK+YKSLD+MTK +RFT P P+FAY
Sbjct 129 HSSILVPYHGWRISHRTHHQNHGNVEKDESWVPLTEKVYKSLDSMTKFVRFTVPLPMFAY 188
Query 187 PFYLWNRSPGKEGSHFNPYSKLFTPSERKDVLTSTFCWGIMFCGLVYLSLIKGPFFMLKI 246
P YLW RSPGK GSHF+P S LF+P+ERK+V ST CW +MF L+YLS P +LK+
Sbjct 189 PIYLWRRSPGKSGSHFHPDSNLFSPNERKEVTLSTVCWFLMFSFLLYLSFTTSPILILKL 248
Query 247 YGVPYWIFIMWLDFVTYMHHHGYSQKLPWYRGKEWDYLRGGLTTVDRDYGWVNNIHHDIG 306
YGVPYWIF+MWLDFVTY+HHHGY+QKLPWYRG+EW YLRGGLTTVDRDYGW+NNIHHDIG
Sbjct 249 YGVPYWIFVMWLDFVTYLHHHGYTQKLPWYRGQEWSYLRGGLTTVDRDYGWINNIHHDIG 308
Query 307 THVIHHLFPQIPHYHLIEATEAAKPVLGKYYREPEKSGAVPFHLFKYFLHSMNQDHFVSD 366
THV+HHLFPQIPHYHLIEAT+AAKPV GKYYREPEKS +PFHL KY SM DHFVSD
Sbjct 309 THVVHHLFPQIPHYHLIEATKAAKPVFGKYYREPEKSSPIPFHLIKYLAQSMKHDHFVSD 368
Query 367 SGDIVFYQTDPKLHNN 382
+G+I+FYQTDP+L+ N
Sbjct 369 TGEILFYQTDPELNKN 384
A0A072UYW9_MEDTR
ID A0A072UYW9_MEDTR Unreviewed; 385 AA.
AC A0A072UYW9;
DT 01-OCT-2014, integrated into UniProtKB/TrEMBL.
DT 01-OCT-2014, sequence version 1.
DT 08-OCT-2025, entry version 50.
DE SubName: Full=Microsomal omega-3 fatty acid desaturase {ECO:0000313|EMBL:KEH34298.1};
DE SubName: Full=Putative fatty acid desaturase domain-containing protein {ECO:0000313|EMBL:RHN67670.1};
GN Name=25490906 {ECO:0000313|EnsemblPlants:KEH34298};
GN OrderedLocusNames=MTR_3g464330 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:KEH34298.1};
GN ORFNames=MtrunA17_Chr3g0105171 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:RHN67670.1};
OS Medicago truncatula (Barrel medic) (Medicago tribuloides).
OC Eukaryota; Viridiplantae; Streptophyta; Embryophyta; Tracheophyta;
OC Spermatophyta; Magnoliopsida; eudicotyledons; Gunneridae; Pentapetalae;
OC rosids; fabids; Fabales; Fabaceae; Papilionoideae; 50 kb inversion clade;
OC NPAAA clade; Hologalegina; IRL clade; Trifolieae; Medicago.
OX NCBI_TaxID=3880 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:KEH34298.1, ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP000002051};
RN [1] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:KEH34298.1, ECO:0000313|EnsemblPlants:KEH34298}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE GENOMIC DNA].
RC STRAIN=A17 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:KEH34298.1}, and cv. Jemalong A17
RC {ECO:0000313|EnsemblPlants:KEH34298};
RX PubMed=22089132; DOI=10.1038/nature10625;
RA Young N.D., Debelle F., Oldroyd G.E., Geurts R., Cannon S.B., Udvardi M.K.,
RA Benedito V.A., Mayer K.F., Gouzy J., Schoof H., Van de Peer Y., Proost S.,
RA Cook D.R., Meyers B.C., Spannagl M., Cheung F., De Mita S.,
RA Krishnakumar V., Gundlach H., Zhou S., Mudge J., Bharti A.K., Murray J.D.,
RA Naoumkina M.A., Rosen B., Silverstein K.A., Tang H., Rombauts S.,
RA Zhao P.X., Zhou P., Barbe V., Bardou P., Bechner M., Bellec A., Berger A.,
RA Berges H., Bidwell S., Bisseling T., Choisne N., Couloux A., Denny R.,
RA Deshpande S., Dai X., Doyle J.J., Dudez A.M., Farmer A.D., Fouteau S.,
RA Franken C., Gibelin C., Gish J., Goldstein S., Gonzalez A.J., Green P.J.,
RA Hallab A., Hartog M., Hua A., Humphray S.J., Jeong D.H., Jing Y.,
RA Jocker A., Kenton S.M., Kim D.J., Klee K., Lai H., Lang C., Lin S.,
RA Macmil S.L., Magdelenat G., Matthews L., McCorrison J., Monaghan E.L.,
RA Mun J.H., Najar F.Z., Nicholson C., Noirot C., O'Bleness M., Paule C.R.,
RA Poulain J., Prion F., Qin B., Qu C., Retzel E.F., Riddle C., Sallet E.,
RA Samain S., Samson N., Sanders I., Saurat O., Scarpelli C., Schiex T.,
RA Segurens B., Severin A.J., Sherrier D.J., Shi R., Sims S., Singer S.R.,
RA Sinharoy S., Sterck L., Viollet A., Wang B.B., Wang K., Wang M., Wang X.,
RA Warfsmann J., Weissenbach J., White D.D., White J.D., Wiley G.B.,
RA Wincker P., Xing Y., Yang L., Yao Z., Ying F., Zhai J., Zhou L., Zuber A.,
RA Denarie J., Dixon R.A., May G.D., Schwartz D.C., Rogers J., Quetier F.,
RA Town C.D., Roe B.A.;
RT "The Medicago genome provides insight into the evolution of rhizobial
RT symbioses.";
RL Nature 480:520-524(2011).
RN [2] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:KEH34298.1, ECO:0000313|EnsemblPlants:KEH34298}
RP GENOME REANNOTATION.
RC STRAIN=A17 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:KEH34298.1}, and cv. Jemalong A17
RC {ECO:0000313|EnsemblPlants:KEH34298};
RX PubMed=24767513; DOI=10.1186/1471-2164-15-312;
RA Tang H., Krishnakumar V., Bidwell S., Rosen B., Chan A., Zhou S.,
RA Gentzbittel L., Childs K.L., Yandell M., Gundlach H., Mayer K.F.,
RA Schwartz D.C., Town C.D.;
RT "An improved genome release (version Mt4.0) for the model legume Medicago
RT truncatula.";
RL BMC Genomics 15:312-312(2014).
RN [3] {ECO:0000313|EnsemblPlants:KEH34298}
RP IDENTIFICATION.
RC STRAIN=cv. Jemalong A17 {ECO:0000313|EnsemblPlants:KEH34298};
RG EnsemblPlants;
RL Submitted (APR-2015) to UniProtKB.
RN [4] {ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP000265566}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE GENOMIC DNA].
RC STRAIN=cv. Jemalong A17 {ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP000265566};
RX PubMed=30397259; DOI=10.1038/s41477-018-0286-7;
RA Pecrix Y., Staton S.E., Sallet E., Lelandais-Briere C., Moreau S.,
RA Carrere S., Blein T., Jardinaud M.F., Latrasse D., Zouine M., Zahm M.,
RA Kreplak J., Mayjonade B., Satge C., Perez M., Cauet S., Marande W.,
RA Chantry-Darmon C., Lopez-Roques C., Bouchez O., Berard A., Debelle F.,
RA Munos S., Bendahmane A., Berges H., Niebel A., Buitink J., Frugier F.,
RA Benhamed M., Crespi M., Gouzy J., Gamas P.;
RT "Whole-genome landscape of Medicago truncatula symbiotic genes.";
RL Nat. Plants 4:1017-1025(2018).
RN [5] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:RHN67670.1}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE.
RC TISSUE=Leaves {ECO:0000313|EMBL:RHN67670.1};
RA Pecrix Y., Gamas P., Carrere S.;
RT "Whole-genome landscape of Medicago truncatula symbiotic genes.";
RL Nat. Plants 0:0-0(2018).
CC -!- PATHWAY: Lipid metabolism. {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00005189}.
CC -!- SUBCELLULAR LOCATION: Membrane {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00004370}.
CC -!- SIMILARITY: Belongs to the fatty acid desaturase type 1 family.
CC {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00009295}.
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR EMBL; CM001219; KEH34298.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR EMBL; PSQE01000003; RHN67670.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR AlphaFoldDB; A0A072UYW9; -.
DR STRING; 3880.A0A072UYW9; -.
DR EnsemblPlants; KEH34298; KEH34298; MTR_3g464330.
DR Gramene; rna15879; RHN67670.1; gene15879.
DR KEGG; mtr:25490906; -.
DR HOGENOM; CLU_033094_1_0_1; -.
DR OrthoDB; 1461976at2759; -.
DR Proteomes; UP000002051; Chromosome 3.
DR Proteomes; UP000265566; Chromosome 3.
DR ExpressionAtlas; A0A072UYW9; differential.
DR GO; GO:0016020; C:membrane; IEA:UniProtKB-SubCell.
DR GO; GO:0042389; F:omega-3 fatty acid desaturase activity; IBA:GO_Central.
DR GO; GO:0016717; F:oxidoreductase activity, acting on paired donors, with oxidation of a pair of donors resulting in the reduction of molecular oxygen to two molecules of water; IEA:InterPro.
DR GO; GO:0006636; P:unsaturated fatty acid biosynthetic process; IBA:GO_Central.
DR CDD; cd03507; Delta12-FADS-like; 1.
DR InterPro; IPR005804; FA_desaturase_dom.
DR InterPro; IPR021863; FAS_N.
DR InterPro; IPR012171; Fatty_acid_desaturase.
DR PANTHER; PTHR32100; OMEGA-6 FATTY ACID DESATURASE, CHLOROPLASTIC; 1.
DR Pfam; PF11960; DUF3474; 1.
DR Pfam; PF00487; FA_desaturase; 1.
PE 3: Inferred from homology;
KW Fatty acid biosynthesis {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00023160};
KW Fatty acid metabolism {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022832};
KW Lipid biosynthesis {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022516};
KW Lipid metabolism {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00023098};
KW Membrane {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00023136, ECO:0000256|SAM:Phobius};
KW Oxidoreductase {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00023002};
KW Reference proteome {ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP000002051};
KW Transmembrane {ECO:0000256|SAM:Phobius};
KW Transmembrane helix {ECO:0000256|SAM:Phobius}.
FT TRANSMEM 54..75
FT /note="Helical"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:Phobius"
FT TRANSMEM 81..100
FT /note="Helical"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:Phobius"
FT TRANSMEM 214..234
FT /note="Helical"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:Phobius"
FT TRANSMEM 246..263
FT /note="Helical"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:Phobius"
FT DOMAIN 18..72
FT /note="Fatty acid desaturase N-terminal"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000259|Pfam:PF11960"
FT DOMAIN 80..334
FT /note="Fatty acid desaturase"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000259|Pfam:PF00487"
SQ SEQUENCE 385 AA; 44918 MW; 07E8403BEA93C17B CRC64;
Query Match 90.0%; Score 1979.5; Length 385;
Best Local Similarity 89.9%;
Matches 349; Conservative 13; Mismatches 23; Indels 3; Gaps 2;
Qy 1 MVVQEPQNLLHVGNGDVLVDDEKKHHHTSFDPSAPPPFKIAEVRAAIPKHCWVKNPWISL 60
| |:||| | |||||||: | ||| :|||||||||||||:||||||||||||| |||
Db 1 MAVKEPQTLQHVGNGDVV--DAKKHQQ-NFDPSAPPPFKIAEIRAAIPKHCWVKNPLISL 57
Qy 61 SYLLRDIFIVTALVAAAIHFNNWIFWPIYWISQGTMFWALFVLGHDCGHGSFSNSVKLNS 120
|:|||:||| ||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 58 GYVLRDLFIVIALIAAAIHFNNWIFWPIYWISQGTMFWALFVLGHDCGHGSFSNSSLLNS 117
Qy 121 FVGHILHSSILVPYHGWRISHRTHHQNHGHVEKDESWVPLTEKMYKSLDNMTKTMRFTFP 180
||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 118 LVGHFLHSSILVPYHGWRISHRTHHQNHGHVEKDESWVPLTEKMYKSLDNMTKTMRFTFP 177
Qy 181 FPIFAYPFYLWNRSPGKEGSHFNPYSKLFTPSERKDVLTSTFCWGIMFCGLVYLSLIKGP 240
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||| || |||| | ||||||||
Db 178 FPIFAYPFYLWNRSPGKEGSHFNPYSKLFTPSERKDVITSTVCWSIMFCLLTYLSLIKGP 237
Qy 241 FFMLKIYGVPYWIFIMWLDFVTYMHHHGYSQKLPWYRGKEWDYLRGGLTTVDRDYGWVNN 300
|||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||
Db 238 IVMLKLYGVPYWIFIMWLDFVTYMHHHGYSQKLPWYRGQEWDYLRGGLTTVDRDYGWVNN 297
Qy 301 IHHDIGTHVIHHLFPQIPHYHLIEATEAAKPVLGKYYREPEKSGAVPFHLFKYFLHSMNQ 360
||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||:|
Db 298 IHHDIGTHVIHHLFPQIPHYHLVEATEAAKPVLGKYYREPEKSGPVPHHLFKYFLHSMSQ 357
Qy 361 DHFVSDSGDIVFYQTDPKLHNNSWTKSE 388
|||||||||||||| |||| ||:|||||
Db 358 DHFVSDSGDIVFYQADPKLQNNTWTKSE 385
Fatty acid desaturases (FAD) belong to a large genus of proteins. FAD genes are named according to orthology with Arabidopsis genes (Xiao et al (2022) Molecular Biology Reports. 49:9997–10011 (published 7/11/2022, hereafter Xiao); page 9998, left column, paragraph 3). Duplications of genes encoding FAD have diversified functions in plant species, allowing for different catalytic abilities and the synthesis of new fatty acids and derivatives and affecting qualities such as seed oil and abiotic and biotic stress resistance (Xiao page 9998, right column, paragraph 2 & table 1).
Because different numbers of FAD3 genes are present within plant species, some plant species have only a single FAD3 gene (Blume et al (2024) BMC Biotechnology. 24:107, published 12/18/2024 after the filing of the instant application. Hereafter, Blume. Table 4). In Camelina sativa, where FAD3 genes have high sequence conservancy, subfunctionalization of homologs is based on expressional differences, and FAD3 promoter regions have different cis-acting elements (Blume page 8, paragraphs 4-5).
Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes that identify members of the genus of FAD3 proteins with as little as 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 43, and because the genera are highly variant, SEQ ID NOs: 43 & 46 are insufficient to describe the claimed genera.
Given the diversity of FAD3 proteins, Applicant has not, in fact, described plants comprising a mutation in a gene encoding a FAD3 protein comprising decreased FAD activity over the full scope of the claims, and the specification fails to provide an adequate written description of the claimed invention. Therefore, given the lack of written description in the specification with regard to the structural and functional characteristics of the claimed compositions, Applicant does not appear to have been in possession of the full scope of the claimed genus at the time this application was filed.
Applicant urges that claim 94 as amended recites the FAD3C gene encoding a protein having at least 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43 and retaining FAD3 activity. Applicant urges that at this threshold, the claimed genus encompasses only proteins that are structurally near-identical to the disclosed pea reference sequences, which Applicant urges provides structural and functional features (Remarks, page 12, paragraph 4-page 13, paragraph 1).
This argument is unpersuasive, because claim 94 in the claim set filed 6/22/2026 requires an amino acid sequence having only at least 50% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43, which one of skill in the art would not consider near identical to the pea reference sequences or likely to be commensurate with the expected range of natural allelic variation within Pisum sativum cultivars.
Applicant urges that a genus claim satisfies written description when the specification discloses a representative number of species or discloses structural features common to the members of the genus. Applicant urges that full length pea sequences for FAD3C, exemplary mutation regions, and detection assays as well as a defined activity to introduce a third double bond into linoleic acid provides structural anchors and functional definitions that delineate the claimed protein families and demonstrate possession. (Remarks, page 13, paragraph 2).
This argument is unpersuasive, because full length pea sequences for FAD3C, mutations in FAD3C, and a defined activity do not serve to demonstrate possession of plants comprising genes encoding proteins comprising as much as 50% sequence divergence from SEQ ID NO: 43. As presented above, even the reference pea sequence for FAD3D falls within that broad genus of sequences. The two provided protein sequences of FAD3C and FAD3D and the described functional activity are not sufficient for one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that Applicant was in possession of plants comprising mutated FAD3 proteins over the full scope of the claims.
Applicant urges that it is well established in the art that pea cultivars carry allelic variants of housekeeping genes differing by small numbers of SNPs, so one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that FAD3C genes exhibit allelic variation among cultivars within the 95-100% identity range (Remarks, page 13, paragraph 3-page 14, paragraph 1).
This argument is unpersuasive, because sequences with 50% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43 are not within 95-100% identity which Applicant describes as allelic variation among cultivars. A small number of SNPs is not a definite standard, but one of skill in the art would likely not consider 194 non-silent substitutions “a small number” in a gene encoding just 388 amino acids.
C. Claims 1, 3, 10, 16, 25, 30, 36-37, 85-89, 91 & 93-94 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims all require a plant or plant part comprising mutated LOX-2 gene comprising a nucleic acid sequence having at least 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 10, or in claim 25, a mutated gene comprising one or more insertions, substitutions, or deletions upstream of exon 4 of the LOX-2 gene of SEQ ID NO: 10. Claim 30 further requires that the LOX-2 gene encodes for a protein comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 90% sequence identity to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 7.
Nucleic acid sequences with 95% identity to the 3541 nucleotide long SEQ ID NO:10 would have 177 nucleotide substitutions relative to SEQ ID NO: 10. These nucleic acids encompass those in which every substitution is in a different codon and in which every substitution results in codon that encodes a different amino acid. Thus, nucleic acids with 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 10 encompass nucleic acids encoding LOX-2 proteins with 177 amino acid substitutions relative to SEQ ID NO: 7. These proteins would have 79% identity to SEQ ID NO: 7.
The species of LOX-2 genes described in the specification are the pea LOX-2 gene (instant SEQ ID NO: 10) and 12 homologs in additional legume species identified by sequence homology (page 35, lines 1-13). The species of LOX-2 proteins described in the specification include the amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 7, 8, or 9 (page 34, lines 30-31). SEQ ID NOs: 8 & 9, at 358 and 359 amino acids respectively, comprise just 40 or 41% of SEQ ID NO: 1 and describe no substitutions relative to SEQ ID NO: 7. See alignment below between SEQ ID NO: 7 & 9. Thus, the specification does not describe species over the full scope of claimed genes.
Score
Expect
Method
Identities
Positives
Gaps
725 bits(1871)
0.0
Compositional matrix adjust.
351/354(99%)
351/354(99%)
0/354(0%)
Query 1 MFPNVTGLLNKGHKIRGTVVLMRKNVLDFNTIVSIGGGNVHGVIDSGINIIGSTLDGLTA 60
MFPNVTGLLNKGHKIRGTVVLMRKNVLDFNTIVSIGGGNVHGVIDSGINIIGSTLDGLTA
Sbjct 1 MFPNVTGLLNKGHKIRGTVVLMRKNVLDFNTIVSIGGGNVHGVIDSGINIIGSTLDGLTA 60
Query 61 FLGRSVSLQLISATKSDANGKGKVGKDTFLEGVLASLPTLGAGESAFNIHFEWDHEMGIP 120
FLGRSVSLQLISATKSDANGKGKVGKDTFLEGVLASLPTLGAGESAFNIHFEWDHEMGIP
Sbjct 61 FLGRSVSLQLISATKSDANGKGKVGKDTFLEGVLASLPTLGAGESAFNIHFEWDHEMGIP 120
Query 121 GAFYIKNYMQVEFFLKSLTLEDVPNHGTIRFVCNSWVYNSKLYKSPRIFFANKSYLPSET 180
GAFYIKNYMQVEFFLKSLTLEDVPNHGTIRFVCNSWVYNSKLYKSPRIFFANKSYLPSET
Sbjct 121 GAFYIKNYMQVEFFLKSLTLEDVPNHGTIRFVCNSWVYNSKLYKSPRIFFANKSYLPSET 180
Query 181 PSPLVKYREEELQTLRGDGTGERKLHERIYDYDVYNDLGNPDHGEHLARPILGGSSTHPY 240
PSPLVKYREEELQTLRGDGTGERKLHERIYDYDVYNDLGNPDHGEHLARPILGGSSTHPY
Sbjct 181 PSPLVKYREEELQTLRGDGTGERKLHERIYDYDVYNDLGNPDHGEHLARPILGGSSTHPY 240
Query 241 PRRGRTGRYPTRKDPNSEKPATETYVPRDENFGHLKSSDFLAYGIKSVSQCVVPAFESAF 300
PRRGRTGRYPTRKDPNSEKPATETYVPRDENFGHLKSSDFLAYGIKSVSQCVVPAFESAF
Sbjct 241 PRRGRTGRYPTRKDPNSEKPATETYVPRDENFGHLKSSDFLAYGIKSVSQCVVPAFESAF 300
Query 301 DLNFTPNEFDSFQDVRNLFEGGIKLPLDVISTISPLPVVKEIFRTDGEQVLKFT 354
DLNFTPNEFDSFQDVRNLFEGGIKLPLDVISTISPLPVVKEIFRTDGEQV T
Sbjct 301 DLNFTPNEFDSFQDVRNLFEGGIKLPLDVISTISPLPVVKEIFRTDGEQVYTTT 354
Lipoxygenases are known in the art. Lipoxygenases are classified as either 9-LOX or 13-LOX lipoxygenases based on positional specificity of linoleic acid oxygenation (Chen et al (2016) Plants. Front.
Genet. 7:176 (published 9/30/2016, hereafter Chen) page 2, left column, paragraph 2). The specificity of the LOX enzymes to generate 9- or 13- hydroperoxides affects subsequent metabolism into downstream products (Forster et al (1999) Plant Molecular Biology. 39:1209–1220: page 1209, right column, paragraph 1). The instant specification similarly teaches that 9-LOX and 13-LOX lipoxygenases lead to different biosynthetic pathways from linolenic acid (figure 1).
LOX genes with over 99% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 10 are known in the art in pea, for example GenBank Accession X78580.1 (available 11/14/2006, see first alignment below). However, the next most similar nucleic acid sequence, in Lathyrus linifolius, is only 83.9% similar and is not annotated as a LOX-2 gene (see second alignment below; GenBank accession OZ206515.1, available 12/1/2024 after the effective filing date of the instant application).
X78580
LOCUS X78580 5785 bp DNA linear PLN 14-NOV-2006
DEFINITION P.sativum (Birte) Lox1:Ps:2 gene.
ACCESSION X78580
VERSION X78580.1
KEYWORDS lipoxygenase; Lox1 gene.
SOURCE Pisum sativum (garden pea)
ORGANISM Pisum sativum
Eukaryota; Viridiplantae; Streptophyta; Embryophyta; Tracheophyta;
Spermatophyta; Magnoliopsida; eudicotyledons; Gunneridae;
Pentapetalae; rosids; fabids; Fabales; Fabaceae; Papilionoideae; 50
kb inversion clade; NPAAA clade; Hologalegina; IRL clade; Fabeae;
Pisum.
REFERENCE 1 (bases 1 to 5785)
AUTHORS Forster,C., Knox,M., Domoney,C. and Casey,R.
TITLE lox1:Ps:2, a Pisum sativum seed lipoxygenase gene
JOURNAL Plant Physiol. 106 (3), 1227-1228 (1994)
PUBMED 7824652
REFERENCE 2 (bases 1 to 5785)
AUTHORS Casey,R.
TITLE Direct Submission
JOURNAL Submitted (01-APR-1994) R. Casey, John Innes Institute, Colney
Lane, Norwich, NR4 7UH, UK
FEATURES Location/Qualifiers
source 1..5785
/organism="Pisum sativum"
/mol_type="genomic DNA"
/cultivar="Birte"
/db_xref="taxon:3888"
/chromosome="linkage group 4"
/clone="2"
/clone_lib="lambda GEM-12 CF"
gene 1241..5091
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
regulatory 1241..1245
/regulatory_class="CAAT_signal"
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
regulatory 1256..1260
/regulatory_class="CAAT_signal"
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
regulatory 1278..1281
/regulatory_class="TATA_box"
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
regulatory 1296..1299
/regulatory_class="TATA_box"
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
mRNA join(1340..1597,1912..2198,2285..2525,2604..2924,
3009..3094,3172..3273,3363..3667,3783..4046,4151..5091)
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/product="lipoxygenase"
exon 1340..1597
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=1
CDS join(1366..1597,1912..2198,2285..2525,2604..2924,
3009..3094,3172..3273,3363..3667,3783..4046,4151..4904)
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/codon_start=1
/product="lipoxygenase"
/protein_id="CAA55318.1"
/db_xref="GOA:P14856"
/db_xref="InterPro:IPR000907"
/db_xref="InterPro:IPR001024"
/db_xref="InterPro:IPR001246"
/db_xref="InterPro:IPR008976"
/db_xref="InterPro:IPR013819"
/db_xref="InterPro:IPR020833"
/db_xref="InterPro:IPR020834"
/db_xref="UniProtKB/Swiss-Prot:P14856"
/translation="MFPNVTGLLNKGHKIRGTVVLMRKNVLDFNTIVSIGGGNVHGVI
DSGINIIGSTLDGLTAFLGRSVSLQLISATKSDANGKGKVGKDTFLEGVLASLPTLGA
GESAFNIHFEWDHEMGIPGAFYIKNYMQVEFFLKSLTLEDVPNHGTIRFVCNSWVYNS
KLYKSPRIFFANKSYLPSETPSPLVKYREEELQTLRGDGTGERKLHERIYDYDVYNDL
GNPDHGEHLARPILGGSSTHPYPRRGRTGRYPTRKDPNSEKPATETYVPRDENFGHLK
SSDFLAYGIKSVSQCVVPAFESAFDLNFTPNEFDSFQDVRNLFEGGIKLPLDVISTIS
PLPVVKEIFRTDGEQVLKFTPPHVIRVSKSAWMTDEEFAREMLAGVNPCMIRGLQEFP
PKSNLDPAEYGDHTSKISVDVLNLDGCTIDEALASGRLFILDYHDTFIPFLRRINETS
AKAYATRTILFLKENGTLKPVAIELSLPHPDGDKSGFVSKVILPADEGVESTIWLLAK
AYVVVNDSCYHQLMSHWLNTHAVIEPFVIATNRQLSVVHPINKLLAPHYRDTMNINAL
ARDSLINANGIIERSFLPSKYAVEMSSAVYKYWVFTDQALPNDLIKRNMAVKDSSSPY
GLRLLIEDYPYAVDGLEIWTAIKTWVQDYVSLYYATDNDIKNDSELQHWWKEVVEKGH
GDLKDKPWWPKLQTFDELVEVCTIIIWTASALHAAVNFGQYPYGGLILNRPTLSRRLL
PEEGTAEYDEMVKSSQKAYLRTITPKFQTLIDLSVIEILSRHASDEVYLGQRENPHWT
SDSKALQAFQKFGNKLAEIEAKLTNKNNDPSLYHRVGPVQLPYTLLHPSSKEGLTFRG
IPNSISI"
intron 1598..1911
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=1
exon 1912..2198
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=2
intron 2199..2284
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=2
exon 2285..2525
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=3
intron 2526..2603
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=3
exon 2604..2924
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=4
intron 2925..3008
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=4
exon 3009..3094
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=5
intron 3095..3171
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=5
exon 3172..3273
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=6
intron 3274..3362
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=6
exon 3363..3667
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=7
intron 3668..3782
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=7
exon 3783..4046
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=8
intron 4047..4150
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=8
exon 4151..5091
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=
Query Match 99.3%; Score 3515.4; Length 5785;
Best Local Similarity 99.9%;
Matches 3538; Conservative 0; Mismatches 1; Indels 2; Gaps 2;
Qy 1 ATGTTTCCAAATGTGACAGGACTCCTAAACAAGGGCCACAAGATAAGAGGGACAGTGGTG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1366 ATGTTTCCAAATGTGACAGGACTCCTAAACAAGGGCCACAAGATAAGAGGGACAGTGGTG 1425
Qy 61 TTGATGCGTAAGAATGTGTTGGACTTCAACACAATTGTGAGTATTGGTGGTGGAAACGTC 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1426 TTGATGCGTAAGAATGTGTTGGACTTCAACACAATTGTGAGTATTGGTGGTGGAAACGTC 1485
Qy 121 CATGGTGTCATCGACTCCGGCATCAATATCATTGGTTCAACTCTTGATGGCCTTACTGCC 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1486 CATGGTGTCATCGACTCCGGCATCAATATCATTGGTTCAACTCTTGATGGCCTTACTGCC 1545
Qy 181 TTCTTAGGCCGCAGTGTCTCCCTCCAGCTGATCAGTGCTACCAAGTCTGATGGTTAGTTC 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1546 TTCTTAGGCCGCAGTGTCTCCCTCCAGCTGATCAGTGCTACCAAGTCTGATGGTTAGTTC 1605
Qy 241 ATTCATTTCTTCTTACTTTTATATATCTAGACATGTAGCACTTTTATATCTAGACATGTA 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1606 ATTCATTTCTTCTTACTTTTATATATCTAGACATGTAGCACTTTTATATCTAGACATGTA 1665
Qy 301 TCATCAGAATCATCTTAAGTTTTTGGAACTCCTGAATAGGAGTTTTTGGAACTCCTGTAT 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1666 TCATCAGAATCATCTTAAGTTTTTGGAACTCCTGAATAGGAGTTTTTGGAACTCCTGTAT 1725
Qy 361 AGGTTAGTTGCAGTTTAACTTCGACAGAATATAGAAGTTCTATTTAATCACGATTTATTT 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1726 AGGTTAGTTGCAGTTTAACTTCGACAGAATATAGAAGTTCTATTTAATCACGATTTATTT 1785
Qy 421 GTGATAAATATTTTATGAGACCCTACTTAACTGTGACAAATTTTGGACTTATGCGGTAGC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1786 GTGATAAATATTTTATGAGACCCTACTTAACTGTGACAAATTTTGGACTTATGCGGTAGC 1845
Qy 481 CTGCCTTGCACGGTCCTGATCAGGAGTATAGTCACTAAATGAATGAATTTAATGATATGT 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1846 CTGCCTTGCACGGTCCTGATCAGGAGTATAGTCACTAAATGAATGAATTTAATGATATGT 1905
Qy 541 ATGTAGCAAATGGAAAAGGAAAAGTTGGAAAGGATACATTTCTTGAAGGTGTTCTTGCTT 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1906 ATGTAGCAAATGGAAAAGGAAAAGTTGGAAAGGATACATTTCTTGAAGGTGTTCTTGCTT 1965
Qy 601 CATTACCAACCTTGGGAGCTGGTGAATCTGCATTCAATATTCATTTTGAATGGGATCATG 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1966 CATTACCAACCTTGGGAGCTGGTGAATCTGCATTCAATATTCATTTTGAATGGGATCATG 2025
Qy 661 AAATGGGAATTCCAGGTGCATTTTACATCAAAAACTATATGCAAGTTGAGTTTTTTCTCA 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2026 AAATGGGAATTCCAGGTGCATTTTACATCAAAAACTATATGCAAGTTGAGTTTTTTCTCA 2085
Qy 721 AGAGTTTAACTCTAGAAGATGTTCCAAATCATGGAACCATTCGCTTCGTATGCAACTCTT 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2086 AGAGTTTAACTCTAGAAGATGTTCCAAATCATGGAACCATTCGCTTCGTATGCAACTCTT 2145
Qy 781 GGGTTTACAACTCAAAACTCTACAAAAGTCCTCGCATTTTCTTCGCCAACAAGGTAATTT 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2146 GGGTTTACAACTCAAAACTCTACAAAAGTCCTCGCATTTTCTTCGCCAACAAGGTAATTT 2205
Qy 841 ATTTACATCTATATGTTAGTGCGTGGTTTGTTAGAATCACGATGAATCATTATGATTTTA 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2206 ATTTACATCTATATGTTAGTGCGTGGTTTGTTAGAATCACGATGAATCATTATGATTTTA 2265
Qy 901 CTTGATTGTTATCATGCAGTCATATCTTCCGAGTGAAACACCGTCTCCACTTGTCAAGTA 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2266 CTTGATTGTTATCATGCAGTCATATCTTCCGAGTGAAACACCGTCTCCACTTGTCAAGTA 2325
Qy 961 TAGAGAAGAAGAATTGCAAACTCTAAGAGGAGATGGAACAGGAGAGCGCAAGTTACATGA 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2326 TAGAGAAGAAGAATTGCAAACTCTAAGAGGAGATGGAACAGGAGAGCGCAAGTTACATGA 2385
Qy 1021 AAGAATCTACGATTATGATGTCTATAACGATTTAGGCAATCCAGATCACGGCGAACATCT 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2386 AAGAATCTACGATTATGATGTCTATAACGATTTAGGCAATCCAGATCACGGCGAACATCT 2445
Qy 1081 TGCTCGACCTATTCTCGGAGGGTCTAGCACACATCCCTATCCTCGTAGGGGTAGGACCGG 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2446 TGCTCGACCTATTCTCGGAGGGTCTAGCACACATCCCTATCCTCGTAGGGGTAGGACCGG 2505
Qy 1141 TCGATATCCAACGAGGAAAGGTTAGATACAAGAACATGGTACAAATAATGATAAAAATGA 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2506 TCGATATCCAACGAGGAAAGGTTAGATACAAGAACATGGTACAAATAATGATAAAAATGA 2565
Qy 1201 GATAAACTAACCTTAAGCTATTGTGTTCTTTTGAACAGATCCGAATAGCGAGAAACCAGC 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2566 GATAAACTAACCTTAAGCTATTGTGTTCTTTTGAACAGATCCGAATAGCGAGAAACCAGC 2625
Qy 1261 TACAGAAACATATGTTCCAAGAGATGAAAATTTTGGTCACTTGAAGTCCTCTGACTTTCT 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2626 TACAGAAACATATGTTCCAAGAGATGAAAATTTTGGTCACTTGAAGTCCTCTGACTTTCT 2685
Qy 1321 TGCATATGGAATAAAATCTGTATCTCAATGTGTAGTACCTGCATTTGAATCTGCATTTGA 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2686 TGCATATGGAATAAAATCTGTATCTCAATGTGTAGTACCTGCATTTGAATCTGCATTTGA 2745
Qy 1381 TTTGAATTTTACGCCTAACGAGTTTGATAGTTTTCAAGATGTGCGCAACCTCTTCGAAGG 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2746 TTTGAATTTTACGCCTAACGAGTTTGATAGTTTTCAAGATGTGCGCAACCTCTTCGAAGG 2805
Qy 1441 TGGAATTAAGCTTCCTCTAGATGTAATTAGCACAATTAGTCCTTTACCTGTGGTCAAAGA 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2806 TGGAATTAAGCTTCCTCTAGATGTAATTAGCACAATTAGTCCTTTACCTGTGGTCAAAGA 2865
Qy 1501 AATCTTTCGTACCGATGGTGAACAAGTCCTCAAGTTTACACCACCACATGTCATTCGAGG 1560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2866 AATCTTTCGTACCGATGGTGAACAAGTCCTCAAGTTTACACCACCACATGTCATTCGAGG 2925
Qy 1561 TCCGACAAAATACATATTATAACGTAAATTATACTACGCTTTGAGTAATTTCATTTTATT 1620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2926 TCCGACAAAATACATATTATAACGTAAATTATACTACGCTTTGAGTAATTTCATTTTATT 2985
Qy 1621 ATAAGTTTCTTTGTTTTTCGCAGTGAGTAAGTCTGCGTGGATGACCGATGAAGAATTTGC 1680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2986 ATAAGTTTCTTTGTTTTTCGCAGTGAGTAAGTCTGCGTGGATGACCGATGAAGAATTTGC 3045
Qy 1681 ACGAGAAATGCTCGCTGGCGTAAATCCATGCATGATCCGCGGTCTTCAAGTAAGTTCAAG 1740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3046 ACGAGAAATGCTCGCTGGCGTAAATCCATGCATGATCCGCGGTCTTCAAGTAAGTTCAAG 3105
Qy 1741 AATTTATTTTAATATTTCGGAGAAATTTTTGCTATTCACATTAAATAATTGCCTATCTAA 1800
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3106 AATTTATTTTAATATTTCGGAGAAATTTTTGCTATTCACATTAAATAATTGCCTATCTAA 3165
Qy 1801 TTGTAGGAGTTTCCTCCGAAAAGCAATCTAGATCCCGCAGAATACGGTGATCACACTAGT 1860
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3166 TTGTAGGAGTTTCCTCCGAAAAGCAATCTAGATCCCGCAGAATACGGTGATCACACTAGT 3225
Qy 1861 AAGATATCTGTAGATGTCTTGAACCTTGATGGTTGCACCATAGATGAGGTAAACACATAA 1920
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3226 AAGATATCTGTAGATGTCTTGAACCTTGATGGTTGCACCATAGATGAGGTAAACACATAA 3285
Qy 1921 TAATCATAATTAAAAAAATATGATTTTGGACTTAATTTGGTGACATAAAGTGATTAAGAT 1980
||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3286 TAATCATAATT-AAAAAATATGATTTTGGACTTAATTTGGTGACATAAAGTGATTAAGAT 3344
Qy 1981 TAATTTTACATGGAACAGGCACTTGCTAGTGGGAGATTATTTATACTAGATTATCATGAC 2040
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3345 TAATTTTACATGGAACAGGCACTTGCTAGTGGGAGATTATTTATACTAGATTATCATGAC 3404
Qy 2041 ACATTTATTCCATTTCTGAGAAGGATCAATGAGACTTCTGCAAAAGCTTATGCTACTAGA 2100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3405 ACATTTATTCCATTTCTGAGAAGGATCAATGAGACTTCTGCAAAAGCTTATGCTACTAGA 3464
Qy 2101 ACAATACTTTTTCTAAAAGAAAATGGAACTTTAAAGCCAGTGGCCATTGAATTAAGTTTG 2160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3465 ACAATACTTTTTCTAAAAGAAAATGGAACTTTAAAGCCAGTGGCCATTGAATTAAGTTTG 3524
Qy 2161 CCACATCCTGATGGTGACAAATCAGGTTTTGTTAGTAAAGTTATCTTACCTGCAGATGAA 2220
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3525 CCACATCCTGATGGTGACAAATCAGGTTTTGTTAGTAAAGTTATCTTACCTGCAGATGAA 3584
Qy 2221 GGTGTTGAGAGTACTATTTGGCTTCTAGCAAAAGCTTATGTGGTGGTTAACGATTCTTGC 2280
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3585 GGTGTTGAGAGTACTATTTGGCTTCTAGCAAAAGCTTATGTGGTGGTTAACGATTCTTGC 3644
Qy 2281 TATCATCAACTCATGAGCCATTGGTAAAATATAGTAATGTTTATATTTTCACGTATGTGC 2340
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |
Db 3645 TATCATCAACTCATGAGCCATTGGTAAAATATAGTAATGTTTATATTTTCACGTATGT-C 3703
Qy 2341 GCTCTAAAATATCAGGTAGGATTTGAACTCTGAATATATGTATTACTTATTGATGATTTT 2400
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3704 GCTCTAAAATATCAGGTAGGATTTGAACTCTGAATATATGTATTACTTATTGATGATTTT 3763
Qy 2401 TATATATTTATTGGAATAGGTTGAATACTCATGCGGTAATTGAGCCGTTTGTTATAGCAA 2460
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3764 TATATATTTATTGGAATAGGTTGAATACTCATGCGGTAATTGAGCCGTTTGTTATAGCAA 3823
Qy 2461 CAAATCGGCAGCTTAGTGTGGTTCATCCGATTAATAAACTTTTAGCTCCTCATTATCGCG 2520
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3824 CAAATCGGCAGCTTAGTGTGGTTCATCCGATTAATAAACTTTTAGCTCCTCATTATCGCG 3883
Qy 2521 ACACGATGAACATCAATGCACTTGCAAGAGATTCTCTAATTAATGCCAATGGCATAATAG 2580
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3884 ACACGATGAACATCAATGCACTTGCAAGAGATTCTCTAATTAATGCCAATGGCATAATAG 3943
Qy 2581 AGAGAAGTTTTTTGCCTTCGAAGTATGCTGTGGAAATGTCTTCAGCGGTTTACAAGTATT 2640
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3944 AGAGAAGTTTTTTGCCTTCGAAGTATGCTGTGGAAATGTCTTCAGCGGTTTACAAGTATT 4003
Qy 2641 GGGTTTTCACAGATCAAGCTCTGCCGAATGATCTTATCAAGAGGTAATAGAATGATCATA 2700
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4004 GGGTTTTCACAGATCAAGCTCTGCCGAATGATCTTATCAAGAGGTAATAGAATGATCATA 4063
Qy 2701 GGTTCGAAAAATGAACAATCTTTTTAAAGATGATTCTATATTTAAGGACTGAGATAGTAA 2760
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4064 GGTTCGAAAAATGAACAATCTTTTTAAAGATGATTCTATATTTAAGGACTGAGATAGTAA 4123
Qy 2761 CATGTATATGCATTTTGCTTGATTCAGAAACATGGCAGTTAAAGATTCGTCGTCTCCATA 2820
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4124 CATGTATATGCATTTTGCTTGATTCAGAAACATGGCAGTTAAAGATTCGTCGTCTCCATA 4183
Qy 2821 TGGACTCCGTCTTCTGATAGAGGACTACCCGTACGCTGTTGACGGATTAGAGATATGGAC 2880
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4184 TGGACTCCGTCTTCTGATAGAGGACTACCCGTACGCTGTTGACGGATTAGAGATATGGAC 4243
Qy 2881 GGCTATTAAAACATGGGTCCAAGATTATGTCTCGCTGTATTATGCAACGGACAATGATAT 2940
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4244 GGCTATTAAAACATGGGTCCAAGATTATGTCTCGCTGTATTATGCAACGGACAATGATAT 4303
Qy 2941 CAAAAATGATTCCGAGCTTCAACATTGGTGGAAAGAGGTTGTAGAGAAAGGTCATGGTGA 3000
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4304 CAAAAATGATTCCGAGCTTCAACATTGGTGGAAAGAGGTTGTAGAGAAAGGTCATGGTGA 4363
Qy 3001 CTTGAAAGATAAGCCATGGTGGCCTAAGTTGCAAACGTTTGACGAGCTCGTTGAAGTTTG 3060
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4364 CTTGAAAGATAAGCCATGGTGGCCTAAGTTGCAAACGTTTGACGAGCTCGTTGAAGTTTG 4423
Qy 3061 CACTATCATCATATGGACGGCTTCTGCTCTCCACGCAGCTGTTAATTTTGGACAATATCC 3120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4424 CACTATCATCATATGGACGGCTTCTGCTCTCCACGCAGCTGTTAATTTTGGACAATATCC 4483
Qy 3121 TTACGGCGGTTTAATTCTAAACCGTCCAACTCTGAGTAGAAGATTGCTTCCTGAGGAAGG 3180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4484 TTACGGCGGTTTAATTCTAAACCGTCCAACTCTGAGTAGAAGATTGCTTCCTGAGGAAGG 4543
Qy 3181 AACTGCGGAATACGATGAAATGGTGAAGAGTTCTCAAAAGGCTTACTTGAGGACAATCAC 3240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4544 AACTGCGGAATACGATGAAATGGTGAAGAGTTCTCAAAAGGCTTACTTGAGGACAATCAC 4603
Qy 3241 GCCGAAGTTTCAGACTCTTATTGATCTTTCAGTGATAGAAATATTGTCAAGACATGCTTC 3300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4604 GCCGAAGTTTCAGACTCTTATTGATCTTTCAGTGATAGAAATATTGTCAAGACATGCTTC 4663
Qy 3301 TGATGAAGTCTATCTCGGACAAAGGGAAAATCCACACTGGACATCTGATTCTAAAGCTTT 3360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4664 TGATGAAGTCTATCTCGGACAAAGGGAAAATCCACACTGGACATCTGATTCTAAAGCTTT 4723
Qy 3361 ACAAGCATTTCAAAAGTTTGGAAATAAATTGGCGGAAATTGAGGCCAAACTTACGAATAA 3420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4724 ACAAGCATTTCAAAAGTTTGGAAATAAATTGGCGGAAATTGAGGCCAAACTTACGAATAA 4783
Qy 3421 GAACAATGATCCGAGCCTGTACCATCGGGTCGGGCCGGTTCAATTGCCATACACTTTGCT 3480
||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4784 GAACAATGATCCGAGCCTGTACCATAGGGTCGGGCCGGTTCAATTGCCATACACTTTGCT 4843
Qy 3481 TCATCCCAGCAGCAAGGAAGGGTTAACCTTTAGAGGAATTCCTAATAGTATCTCTATTTA 3540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4844 TCATCCCAGCAGCAAGGAAGGGTTAACCTTTAGAGGAATTCCTAATAGTATCTCTATTTA 4903
Qy 3541 A 3541
|
Db 4904 A 4904
OZ206515s5
LOCUS OZ206515s5 12010020 bp DNA linear PLN 01-DEC-2024
COMMENT segment of length 12010020: from 48000001 to 60010020
DEFINITION Lathyrus linifolius genome assembly, chromosome: 1.
ACCESSION OZ206515
VERSION OZ206515.1
DBLINK BioProject: PRJEB82905
BioSample: SAMEA7522408
Sequence Read Archive: ERR13245272, ERR13245273, ERR13245274,
ERR13245275, ERR13245276, ERR13245277, ERR13245278, ERR13245279,
ERR13245280, ERR13248951
KEYWORDS .
SOURCE Lathyrus linifolius
ORGANISM Lathyrus linifolius
Eukaryota; Viridiplantae; Streptophyta; Embryophyta; Tracheophyta;
Spermatophyta; Magnoliopsida; eudicotyledons; Gunneridae;
Pentapetalae; rosids; fabids; Fabales; Fabaceae; Papilionoideae; 50
kb inversion clade; NPAAA clade; Hologalegina; IRL clade; Fabeae;
Lathyrus.
REFERENCE 1
CONSRTM Wellcome Sanger Tree of Life Programme
TITLE Direct Submission
JOURNAL Submitted (27-NOV-2024) WELLCOME SANGER INSTITUTE, Tree of Life,
Wellcome Genome Campus, Hinxton CB10 1SA, United Kingdom
COMMENT The assembly drLatLini1.hap1.1 is based on 25x PacBio data and
Arima2 Hi-C data generated by the Darwin Tree of Life Project
(https://www.darwintreeoflife.org/). The assembly process included
the following sequence of steps: initial PacBio assembly generation
with Hifiasm in Hi-C integrated assembly mode, and Hi-C based
scaffolding with YaHS. The mitochondrial and chloroplast genomes
were assembled using OATK. Finally, each haplotype assembly was
analysed and manually improved using TreeVal. Chromosome-scale
scaffolds confirmed by the Hi-C data have been named in order of
size.
FEATURES Location/Qualifiers
source 1..1034507165
/organism="Lathyrus linifolius"
/mol_type="genomic DNA"
/db_xref="taxon:313096"
/chromosome="1"
/geo_loc_name="United Kingdom:Surrey | RBG Kew | rock
garden. Origin, UNITED KINGDOM | within Mardale Mountain
Meadow sheep exclosure below Harter Fell | S of RSPB
Haweswater | 400 m"
/collection_date="2020-09-03"
assembly_gap 2024811..2025010
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 9988247..9988446
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 10665447..10665646
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 13523647..13523846
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 16600821..16601020
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 23274443..23274642
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 37963169..37963368
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 44009573..44009772
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 44868407..44868606
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 52705073..52705272
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 52985381..52985580
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 56138735..56138934
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 70781293..70781492
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 73261349..73261548
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 79999658..79999857
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 80578164..80578363
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 82136172..82136371
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 83734854..83735053
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 100759416..100759615
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 113326226..113326425
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 117501645..117501844
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 119976334..119976533
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 125478369..125478568
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 127094526..127094725
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 127191360..127191559
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 130576090..130576289
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 140679596..140679795
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 143263879..143264078
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 150349287..150349486
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 153116487..153116686
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 156393048..156393247
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 158344959..158345158
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 165714287..165714486
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 167396384..167396583
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 167474242..167474441
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 168586209..168586408
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 173056769..173056968
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 176515928..176516127
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
assembly_gap 180249173..180249372
/estimated_length=200
/gap_type="unknown"
/linkage_evidence="unspecified"
Query Match 83.9%; Score 2969.6; Length 12010020;
Best Local Similarity 91.9%;
Matches 3321; Conservative 0; Mismatches 174; Indels 117; Gaps 13;
Qy 1 ATGTTTCCAAATGTGACAGGACTCCTAAACAAGGGCCACAAGATAAGAGGGACAGTGGTG 60
||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 9385781 ATGTTTCCAAATGTGACAGGATTCCTAAACAAGGGCCACAAGATTAGAGGGACAGTGGTG 9385722
Qy 61 TTGATGCGTAAGAATGTGTTGGACTTCAACACAATTGTGAGTATTGGTGGTGGAAACGTC 120
|||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||
Db 9385721 TTGATGCGTAAGAATGTGTTAGACTTCAACACAATTGTGAGTATTGGTGGTGGAAACATC 9385662
Qy 121 CATGGTGTCATCGACTCCGGCATCAATATCATTGGTTCAACTCTTGATGGCCTTACTGCC 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9385661 CATGGTGTCATCGACTCCGGCATCAATATCATTGGTTCAACTCTTGATGGCCTTACTGCC 9385602
Qy 181 TTCTTAGGCCGCAGTGTCTCCCTCCAGCTGATCAGTGCTACCAAGTCTGATGGTTAGTTC 240
|||||||||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9385601 TTCTTAGGCCGCAGTGTCTCCCTCCAACTAATCAGTGCTACCAAGTCTGATGGTTAGTTC 9385542
Qy 241 ATTCATTTCTTCTTACTTTTATATATCTAGACATGTAGCACTTTTATATCTAGACATGTA 300
|||||||||||||||||||||||| | | | || | |
Db 9385541 ATTCATTTCTTCTTACTTTTATATCTAGACATATAT----------------------CA 9385504
Qy 301 TCATCAGAATCATCTTAAGTTTTTGGAACTCCTGAATAGGAGTTTTTGGAACTCCTGTAT 360
|| ||||| |||||| |||||||||| |||||| |
Db 9385503 TCTGCAGAACAATCTTA-----------------------AGTTTTTGGAGGTCCTGTGT 9385467
Qy 361 AGGTTAGTTGCAGTTTAACTTCGACAGAAT--ATAGAAGTTCTATTTAATCACGATTTAT 418
|| ||||||||||||||| ||| ||| ||||| ||||||||||| || ||||||
Db 9385466 AGATTAGTTGCAGTTTAATCATAACAAAATAGATAGAGATTCTATTTAATTACAATTTAT 9385407
Qy 419 TTGTGATAAATATTTTATGAGACCCTACTTAACT-----------GTGACAAATTTTGGA 467
|||||||||||| |||| |||||| ||||||||| ||||||||||||||
Db 9385406 TTGTGATAAATACTTTACGAGACCTTACTTAACTACGGTTTTAACGTGACAAATTTTGGG 9385347
Qy 468 CTT-----ATGCGGTAGCCTGCCTTGCACGGTCCTGATCAGGAGTATAGTCACTAAATGA 522
|| |||||||| |||||||| |||| ||| |||| ||||||| |||||||||||
Db 9385346 TTTGTGCGGTGCGGTAGTCTGCCTTGTACGGCCCTAATCATGAGTATACTCACTAAATGA 9385287
Qy 523 ATGAATTTAATGATATGTATGTAGCAAATGGAAAAGGAAAAGTTGGAAAGGATACATTTC 582
| || |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9385286 ACGAGTTTAATGATATGTATGTAGCAAATGGAAAAGGAAAAGTTGGAAAGGATACATTTC 9385227
Qy 583 TTGAAGGTGTTCTTGCTTCATTACCAACCTTGGGAGCTGGTGAATCTGCATTCAATATTC 642
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9385226 TTGAAGGTGTTCTTGCTTCATTACCAACCTTGGGAGCTGGTGAATCTGCATTCAATATTC 9385167
Qy 643 ATTTTGAATGGGATCATGAAATGGGAATTCCAGGTGCATTTTACATCAAAAACTATATGC 702
|||||||||||||| |||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9385166 ATTTTGAATGGGATGATGAGATGGGAATTCCAGGTGCATTTTACATCAAAAACTATATGC 9385107
Qy 703 AAGTTGAGTTTTTTCTCAAGAGTTTAACTCTAGAAGATGTTCCAAATCATGGAACCATTC 762
||||||| ||||| ||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9385106 AAGTTGAATTTTTCCTCAAGAGTCTAACTCTAGAAGATGTTCCAAATCATGGAACCATTC 9385047
Qy 763 GCTTCGTATGCAACTCTTGGGTTTACAACTCAAAACTCTACAAAAGTCCTCGCATTTTCT 822
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9385046 GATTCGTATGCAACTCTTGGGTTTACAACTCAAAACTCTACAAAAGTCCTCGCATTTTCT 9384987
Qy 823 TCGCCAACAAGGTAATTTATTTACATCTATATGTTAGTGCGTGGTT-------------- 868
|||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 9384986 TCGCCAACAAGGTACTTTATTTACATCTATATGTTAAGTGCATGTTTTGTATCACGGTAG 9384927
Qy 869 ---------TGTTAGAATCACGATGAATCATTATGA----------------------TT 897
||| |||||||||||||||| |||||| ||
Db 9384926 GTTTGTCAGTGTCAGAATCACGATGAATCGTTATGATTTTGCGAAGATTTAAACTAACTT 9384867
Qy 898 TTACTTGATTGTTATCATGCAGTCATATCTTCCGAGTGAAACACCGTCTCCACTTGTCAA 957
|||||||||| ||||||||||||| |||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9384866 TTACTTGATTTTTATCATGCAGTCGTATCTTCCGAGTCAAACACCGTCTCCACTTGTCAA 9384807
Qy 958 GTATAGAGAAGAAGAATTGCAAACTCTAAGAGGAGATGGAACAGGAGAGCGCAAGTTACA 1017
||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9384806 GTATAGAGAAGAAGAATTGCAAATTCTAAGAGGAGATGGAACAGGAGAGCGCAAGTTACA 9384747
Qy 1018 TGAAAGAATCTACGATTATGATGTCTATAACGATTTAGGCAATCCAGATCACGGCGAACA 1077
|||| | |||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9384746 TGAACGGATCTACGACTATGATGTCTATAACGATTTAGGCAATCCAGATCACGGCGAACA 9384687
Qy 1078 TCTTGCTCGACCTATTCTCGGAGGGTCTAGCACACATCCCTATCCTCGTAGGGGTAGGAC 1137
|||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9384686 TCTTGCTCGACCTATTCTTGGAGGGTCTAGCACGCATCCCTATCCTCGTAGGGGTAGGAC 9384627
Qy 1138 CGGTCGATATCCAACGAGGAAAGGTTAGATACAAGAACATGGTACAAATAATGATA-AAA 1196
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||| ||||||||| ||
Db 9384626 CGGTCGATATCCAACGAGGAAAGGTTAGATACAAGGTTATGGTACAGATAATGATAGAAG 9384567
Qy 1197 ATGAGATAAACTAACCTTAAGCTATTGTGTTCTTTTGAACAGATCCGAATAGCGAGAAAC 1256
||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 9384566 ATGGTATAAACTAACCTTAAGCTATTGTGTTATTTTGAACAGATTCGAATAGCGAGAAAC 9384507
Qy 1257 CAGCTACAGAAACATATGTTCCAAGAGATGAAAATTTTGGTCACTTGAAGTCCTCTGACT 1316
|||| ||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||
Db 9384506 CAGCAACAGAAATATATGTTCCAAGAGATGAAAATTTTGGTCACTTGAAGTCTTCTGACT 9384447
Qy 1317 TTCTTGCATATGGAATAAAATCTGTATCTCAATGTGTAGTACCTGCATTTGAATCTGCAT 1376
||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||
Db 9384446 TTCTTGCATATGGAATAAAATCTTTATCTCAATGTGTAGTACCCGCATTTGAATCTGCAT 9384387
Qy 1377 TTGATTTGAATTTTACGCCTAACGAGTTTGATAGTTTTCAAGATGTGCGCAACCTCTTCG 1436
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| | |||||||
Db 9384386 TTGATTTGAATTTTACGCCTAACGAGTTTGATAGTTTTCAAGATGTGCGTGATCTCTTCG 9384327
Qy 1437 AAGGTGGAATTAAGCTTCCTCTAGATGTAATTAGCACAATTAGTCCTTTACCTGTGGTCA 1496
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 9384326 AAGGTGGAATTAAGCTTCCTCTAGATGTAATTAGCACAATTAGTCCTTTACCTGTGATCA 9384267
Qy 1497 AAGAAATCTTTCGTACCGATGGTGAACAAGTCCTCAAGTTTACACCACCACATGTCATTC 1556
|||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||| |
Db 9384266 AAGAAATCTTCCGTACCGATGGTGAACAAGTCCTCAAGTTTATACCACCACATGTCATAC 9384207
Qy 1557 GAGGTCCGACAAAATACATATTATAACGTAAATTATACTACGCTTTGAGTAATTTCATTT 1616
|||||||||| ||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||
Db 9384206 GAGGTCCGAC-AAACACATATTATAACGTAAATTATACTACGCTTCGAGTAATTTCATTT 9384148
Qy 1617 TATTATAAGTTTCT---TTGTTTTTCGCAGTGAGTAAGTCTGCGTGGATGACCGATGAAG 1673
||||| | ||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||
Db 9384147 GATTATGATTTTCTTTCTTGTTTTTCGCAGTGAGTAAGTCTGCGTGGATGACTGATGAAG 9384088
Qy 1674 AATTTGCACGAGAAATGCTCGCTGGCGTAAATCCATGCATGATCCGCGGTCTTCAAGTAA 1733
||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9384087 AATTTGCACGAGAAATGCTCGCTGGTGTAAATCCTTGCATGATCCGCGGTCTTCAAGTAA 9384028
Qy 1734 GTTCAAGAATTTATTTTAATATTTCGGAGAAATTTTTGCTATTCACATTAAATAATTGCC 1793
||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 9384027 GTTCAAGAATTCTTTTTAATATTTCGGAGAAATTTTTGCTATTCGCATTAAATAATTGCC 9383968
Qy 1794 TATCTAATTGTAGGAGTTTCCTCCGAAAAGCAATCTAGATCCCGCAGAATACGGTGATCA 1853
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9383967 TATCTAATTGTAGGAGTTTCCTCCGAAAAGCAATCTAGATCCCGCAGAATACGGTGATCA 9383908
Qy 1854 CACTAGTAAGATATCTGTAGATGTCTTGAACCTTGATGGTTGCACCATAGATGAGGTAAA 1913
||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9383907 CACTAGTAAGATATCTGCAGATGTCTTGAACCTTGATGGTTGCACCATAGATGAGGTAAA 9383848
Qy 1914 CACATAATAATCATAATTAAAAAAATATGATTTTGGACTTAATTTGGTGACATAAAGTGA 1973
|||||| ||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||
Db 9383847 CACATATTAATCTTAATTAAAAAAATATGATTTTGGACTTAATTTGGTGACATAATGTGA 9383788
Qy 1974 TTAAGATTAA-TTTTACATGGAACAGGCACTTGCTAGTGGGAGATTATTTATACTAGATT 2032
|||||| ||| |||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 9383787 TTAAGACTAATTTTTTCATGGAACAGGCACTTGCTAGTGGGAGATTATTTATACTAAATT 9383728
Qy 2033 ATCATGACACATTTATTCCATTTCTGAGAAGGATCAATGAGACTTCTGCAAAAGCTTATG 2092
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9383727 ACCATGACACATTTATTCCATTTCTGAGAAGGATCAATGAGACTTCTGCAAAAGCTTATG 9383668
Qy 2093 CTACTAGAACAATACTTTTTCTAAAAGAAAATGGAACTTTAAAGCCAGTGGCCATTGAAT 2152
||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||
Db 9383667 CTACTAGAACAATCCTTTTTCTAAAAGAAAATGGAACTTTAAAACCAGTGGCCATTGAAT 9383608
Qy 2153 TAAGTTTGCCACATCCTGATGGTGACAAATCAGGTTTTGTTAGTAAAGTTATCTTACCTG 2212
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9383607 TAAGTTTGCCACATCCTGATGGTGACAAATCAGGTTTTGTTAGTAAAGTTATCTTACCTG 9383548
Qy 2213 CAGATGAAGGTGTTGAGAGTACTATTTGGCTTCTAGCAAAAGCTTATGTGGTGGTTAACG 2272
|||||||||||||||| |||||||||||| | |||||||||||||||||||||||||| |
Db 9383547 CAGATGAAGGTGTTGAAAGTACTATTTGGTTACTAGCAAAAGCTTATGTGGTGGTTAATG 9383488
Qy 2273 ATTCTTGCTATCATCAACTCATGAGCCATTGGTAAAATATAGTAATGTTTATATTTTCAC 2332
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 9383487 ATTCTTGCTATCATCAACTCATGAGCCATTGGTAAAATATCATAATGTTTATATTTTCAC 9383428
Qy 2333 GTATGTGCGCTCTAAAATATCAGGTAGGATTTGAACTCTGAATATATGTATTACTTATTG 2392
| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| | ||||||| ||||
Db 9383427 GCGTGTGCGCTCTAAAATATCAGGTAGGATTTGAACTTTGAATCTCGATATTACTGATTG 9383368
Qy 2393 ATGATTTTTATATA--TTTATTGGAATAGGTTGAATACTCATGCGGTAATTGAGCCGTTT 2450
||||||||| |||| |||||||| ||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 9383367 ATGATTTTTTTATACGTTTATTGGTATAGGTTGAATACTCATGCAGTAATTGAGCCGTTT 9383308
Qy 2451 GTTATAGCAACAAATCGGCAGCTTAGTGTGGTTCATCCGATTAATAAACTTTTAGCTCCT 2510
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9383307 GTTATAGCAACAAATCGGCAGCTTAGTGTGGTTCATCCGATTAATAAACTTTTAGCTCCT 9383248
Qy 2511 CATTATCGCGACACGATGAACATCAATGCACTTGCAAGAGATTCTCTAATTAATGCCAAT 2570
|| ||||| |||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||| ||
Db 9383247 CACTATCGTGACACGATGAACATAAATGCACTTGCAAGAGATTCTCTGATTAATGCTGAT 9383188
Qy 2571 GGCATAATAGAGAGAAGTTTTTTGCCTTCGAAGTATGCTGTGGAAATGTCTTCAGCGGTT 2630
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||
Db 9383187 GGCATAATAGAGAGAAGTTTTTTGCCTTCGAAGTATGCTGTGGAAATGTCTTCGGCGGTT 9383128
Qy 2631 TACAAGTATTGGGTTTTCACAGATCAAGCTCTGCCGAATGATCTTATCAAGAGGTAATAG 2690
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 9383127 TACAAGTATTGGGTTTTCACAGATCAAGCTCTGCCGAACGATCTCATCAAGAGGTAATAG 9383068
Qy 2691 AATGATCATAGGTTCGAAAAATGAACAATCTTTTTAAAGATGATTCTATATTTAAGGACT 2750
|||||||||| |||| ||||| | ||||| ||| |||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 9383067 AATGATCATACGTTCAAAAAACGGACAATTTTTGTAAAGAGGATTCTATATTTAAGGACG 9383008
Qy 2751 GAGATAG-TAACATGTATATGCATTTTGCTTGATTCAGAAACATGGCAGTTAAAGATTCG 2809
||||||| |||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||| |||||||||| ||||||
Db 9383007 GAGATAGTTAACATGTATATGCGTTTTGCTTGATTCAGAAATGTGGCAGTTAAGGATTCG 9382948
Qy 2810 TCGTCTCCATATGGACTCCGTCTTCTGATAGAGGACTACCCGTACGCTGTTGACGGATTA 2869
||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 9382947 TCGGCTCCATATGGACTCCGTCTTCTGATAGAGGACTACCCTTACGCTGTTGACGGATTA 9382888
Qy 2870 GAGATATGGACGGCTATTAAAACATGGGTCCAAGATTATGTCTCGCTGTATTATGCAACG 2929
||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||| ||||||
Db 9382887 GAGATATGGACGGCTATTAAATCATGGGTCCAAGATTATGTCTCGTTGTATTACGCAACG 9382828
Qy 2930 GACAATGATATCAAAAATGATTCCGAGCTTCAACATTGGTGGAAAGAGGTTGTAGAGAAA 2989
|| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9382827 GAAAATGATATCAAAAATGATTCCGAGCTTCAACATTGGTGGAAAGAGGTTGTAGAGAAA 9382768
Qy 2990 GGTCATGGTGACTTGAAAGATAAGCCATGGTGGCCTAAGTTGCAAACGTTTGACGAGCTC 3049
||||| || || ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||
Db 9382767 GGTCACGGCGATTTGAAAGATAAGCCATGGTGGCCTAAGTTGCAAACATTTGACGAGCTT 9382708
Qy 3050 GTTGAAGTTTGCACTATCATCATATGGACGGCTTCTGCTCTCCACGCAGCTGTTAATTTT 3109
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||
Db 9382707 GTTGAAGTTTGCACTATCATCATATGGACGGCTTCTGCTCTCCACGCGGCTGTTAATTTT 9382648
Qy 3110 GGACAATATCCTTACGGCGGTTTAATTCTAAACCGTCCAACTCTGAGTAGAAGATTGCTT 3169
|||||||||||||| || ||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9382647 GGACAATATCCTTATGGAGGTTTTATTCTAAACCGTCCAACTCTGAGTAGAAGATTGCTT 9382588
Qy 3170 CCTGAGGAAGGAACTGCGGAATACGATGAAATGGTGAAGAGTTCTCAAAAGGCTTACTTG 3229
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||
Db 9382587 CCTGAGGAAGGAACTGCGGAATACGATGAAATGGTGAAGAGTCCTCAAAAGGCTTACTTG 9382528
Qy 3230 AGGACAATCACGCCGAAGTTTCAGACTCTTATTGATCTTTCAGTGATAGAAATATTGTCA 3289
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 9382527 AGGACAATCACGCCGAAGTTTCAGACTCTTATTGATCTTTCGGTGATAGAAATATTGTCA 9382468
Qy 3290 AGACATGCTTCTGATGAAGTCTATCTCGGACAAAGGGAAAATCCACACTGGACATCTGAT 3349
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9382467 AGACATGCTTCTGATGAAGTCTATCTCGGACAAAGGGAAAATCCACACTGGACATCTGAT 9382408
Qy 3350 TCTAAAGCTTTACAAGCATTTCAAAAGTTTGGAAATAAATTGGCGGAAATTGAGGCCAAA 3409
|||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||
Db 9382407 GCTAAGGCTTTACAAGCATTTCAAAAGTTTGGAAATAAATTGGCGGAAATCGAGGCCAAA 9382348
Qy 3410 CTTACGAATAAGAACAATGATCCGAGCCTGTACCATCGGGTCGGGCCGGTTCAATTGCCA 3469
||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 9382347 CTTACAAATAAGAACAATGATCCGAGCCTGTACCATAGGGTCGGGCCGGTTCAATTGCCA 9382288
Qy 3470 TACACTTTGCTTCATCCCAGCAGCAAGGAAGGGTTAACCTTTAGAGGAATTCCTAATAGT 3529
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||
Db 9382287 TACACTTTGCTTCATCCCAGCAGCAAGGAAGGGTTAACCTTTAGAGGAATTCCCAATAGT 9382228
Qy 3530 ATCTCTATTTAA 3541
|||||||| |||
Db 9382227 ATCTCTATCTAA 9382216
Because the disclosure fails to describe nucleic acid sequences encoding LOX-2 genes over the full scope of nucleic acids sequences with 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 10, and because the art likewise does not describe LOX-2 genes with 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 10 over the full scope of the claimed nucleic acid sequences, the disclosure does not provide sufficient written description of the claimed genus.
Hence, Applicant has not, in fact, described LOX-2 nucleic acid sequences over the full scope of the claims, and the specification fails to provide an adequate written description of the claimed invention. Therefore, given the lack of written description in the specification with regard to the structural and functional characteristics of the claimed compositions, Applicant does not appear to have been in possession of the claimed genus at the time this application was filed.
New Matter
A. Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim 25 is drawn to a plant or plant part comprising decreased LOX activity wherein said plant comprises a mutated LOX-2 gene and wherein the LOX-2 gene comprises the nucleic acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 10 with one or more insertions, substitutions, or deletions in a nucleotide region corresponding to upstream of exon 4 of the LOX-2 gene and a deletion from (i)-(ix) or SEQ ID NO: 5, 6, 24, 31, 32, 41, 42, 51 or 52.
SEQ ID NOs: 5 & 6 describe exon 4 of Pea LOX-2 with deletions (table 10), but SEQ ID NO: 24 describes a mutation in Pea LOX-3, SEQ ID NOs: 31 & 32 describe exon 1 of Pea FAD2B with deletions, SEQ ID NOs: 41 & 42 describe exon 2 of Pea FAD3C with deletions, and SEQ ID NOs: 51 & 52 describe exon 3 of Pea FAD3D with deletions.
The mutated LOX-2 gene required by claim 25 encompasses any mutated LOX-2 gene with one or more insertions, substitutions, or deletions in a nucleotide region corresponding to upstream of exon 4 of the LOX-2 gene, as long as the plant or plant part comprises decreased LOX activity and a deletion listed in options (i) through (ix). Because claim 25 encompasses plants wherein a gene other than the LOX-2 gene is mutated, such as a non-functional LOX-3 gene, claim 25 broadly encompasses plants with fully functional LOX-2 genes with silent mutations upstream of exon 4, including in non-coding regions of the gene.
The originally filed specification describes embodiments wherein one or more insertions, substitutions, or deletions corresponds to a deletion in a region corresponding to exon 4, or a region upstream of exon 8, 7, 6, or 5 (SEQ ID NOs: 5 & 6, originally filed claims 15, 23, 24, 26, page 91 line 30-page 92 line 1). The originally filed specification also describes insertion of a promoter upstream of an open reading frame (page 120, lines 5-11) which reads on an insertion upstream of exon 4. However, insertion of a promoter does not describe the full genus of insertions, substitutions, or deletions upstream of exon 4 of a LOX-2 gene.
Thus, the genus of mutated LOX-2 genes comprising with one or more insertions, substitutions, or deletions in a nucleotide region corresponding to upstream of exon 4 of the LOX-2 gene constitutes New Matter.
In response to this rejection, Applicant is required to point specifically to support for the concept in the specification or to cancel the New Matter.
Applicant urges that claim 25 is rewritten in independent form (Remarks, page 8, paragraph 3).
This argument is unpersuasive, because the amended to claim 25 introduces limitations not previous present in the claim that claim 25 depended on.
B. Claims 10, 16, 86-87, 91, & 93-94 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 10, 16, 86-87, 91, & 93-94 require a gene encoding for a protein comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 50% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43 and retaining FAD3 activity (claim 94, lines 16-18). The instant specification describes a FAD3C and a FAD3D protein having FAD3 activity (SEQ ID NO: 43 and 53). SEQ ID NO: 53 has over 50% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43. See alignment above. The specification envisions embodiments wherein a FAD3C protein comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43 or a FAD3D protein comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 53 (page 6, lines 15-23). The originally filed claims are not drawn to plants comprising a gene encoding a protein having at least 50% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43 and having FAD3 activity, and support over the full scope of the encompassed material is not found in the specification.
A gene encoding for a protein comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 50% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43 and retaining FAD3 activity constitutes New Matter. In response to this rejection, Applicant is required to point specifically to support for the concept in the specification or to cancel the New Matter.
Applicant urges that support for the amendment to claim 94 can be found in original claim 30 and page 6, line 8-page 7, line 2; page 34, lines 24-32, page 35, line 30-page 36, line 18 and page 56, lines 12-21 (Remarks, page 8 paragraph 3-page 9, paragraph 1).
This argument is unpersuasive, because original claim 30 and pages 6-7 require or describe an amino acid sequence having at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 43, page 34 (lines 24-32) and page 35 (line 30) through page 36 (line 18) concern LOX genes, and page 56 describes amino acid sequences with at least 75% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43, which is a smaller genus of claimed material than sequences with at least 50% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43.
Scope of Enablement
Claims 1, 10, 16, 86-87, 91, & 93-94 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a plant comprising a mutated FAD3 gene of SEQ ID NO: 46 encoding SEQ ID NO: 43 does not reasonably provide enablement for any insertion, substitution, or deletion in any FAD3 gene encoding a sequence having at least 50% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43 leading to increased oleic acid, reduced linolenic acid or linolenic acid plus linoleic acid, or reduced polyunsaturated lipid. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Due to Applicant' s amendment of the claims, the rejection is modified from the rejection as set forth in the Office action mailed 3/19/2026, as applied to claims 1, 10, 16, 84, 86-87, 91, 93-95 (part A). Applicant' s arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The claims require a plant or plant part comprising decreased fatty acid desaturase activity and comprising a mutation in a genus of proteins that are functional FAD3 proteins or retain FAD3 functional activity. Thus, the claims encompass FAD3 genes broadly. Claim 16 further recites one or more insertions, substitutions, or deletions in one more genes selected from FAD3 located at least partially in the nucleotide region corresponding to exon 2 of a FAD3 gene having at least 95% sequence identity to the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 46. Claim 91 further requires a protein encoded by SEQ ID NO: 46 or a functional FAD3C protein with at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 46. Claim 94 further requires a gene encoding for a protein comprising SEQ ID NO: 43 or a sequence having 50% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43 and FAD3 activity.
Proteins comprising a sequence having 50% identity to the 388 amino-acid long SEQ ID NO: 43 encompass sequences that comprise 194 substitutions relative to SEQ ID NO: 43. Nucleic acids with 95% sequence identity to the 2904 nucleotide long SEQ ID NO: 46 would have 145 substitutions relative to SEQ ID NO: 46. These nucleic acids encompass those in which every substitution is in a different codon and in which every substitution results in codon that encodes a different amino acid. Thus, nucleic acids with 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 46 encompass nucleic acids encoding FAD3 proteins with 145 amino acid substitutions relative to SEQ ID NO: 43. These proteins would have 62.6% identity to SEQ ID NO: 43.
The specification teaches two examples of pea FAD3 genes, FAD3C (SEQ ID NO: 46, encoding SEQ ID NO: 43) and FAD3D (SEQ ID NO: 56, encoding SEQ ID NO: 53). The FAD3D sequence SEQ ID NO: 53 has 73% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 43, see alignment below. The instant specification teaches a method to mutate FAD3 by targeting a region in exon 2 of the FAD3C gene or exon 3 of the FAD3D gene (specification, page 129, lines 9-25) and teaches truncated FAD3C proteins of SEQ ID NOs: 44 or 45 that have reduced function (page 97, lines 7-22) and truncated pea FAD3D proteins of SEQ ID NO: 54 or 55 (page 97, line 23-page 98 line 10).
Alignment statistics for match #1
Score
Expect
Method
Identities
Positives
Gaps
592 bits(1525)
0.0
Compositional matrix adjust.
274/376(73%)
317/376(84%)
4/376(1%)
Query 7 QNLLHVGNGDVLVDDEKKHHHTSFDPSAPPPFKIAEVRAAIPKHCWVKNPWISLSYLLRD 66
QN +G + V + FDPSAPPPFKIA++RAAIPKHCWVK+ W SLSY++RD
Sbjct 13 QNQQTLGQETMAVSNGG----ADFDPSAPPPFKIADIRAAIPKHCWVKSTWRSLSYVVRD 68
Query 67 IFIVTALVAAAIHFNNWIFWPIYWISQGTMFWALFVLGHDCGHGSFSNSVKLNSFVGHIL 126
+ +V AL+ AAI F++W FWPIYW QGTMFWA+FVLGHDCGHGSFS+S +NS VGH+L
Sbjct 69 VLVVAALIVAAIRFDSWFFWPIYWPLQGTMFWAIFVLGHDCGHGSFSDSYFVNSLVGHVL 128
Query 127 HSSILVPYHGWRISHRTHHQNHGHVEKDESWVPLTEKMYKSLDNMTKTMRFTFPFPIFAY 186
HSSILVPYHGWRISHRTHHQNHG+VEKDESWVPLTEK+YKSLD+MTK +RFT P P+FAY
Sbjct 129 HSSILVPYHGWRISHRTHHQNHGNVEKDESWVPLTEKVYKSLDSMTKFVRFTVPLPMFAY 188
Query 187 PFYLWNRSPGKEGSHFNPYSKLFTPSERKDVLTSTFCWGIMFCGLVYLSLIKGPFFMLKI 246
P YLW RSPGK GSHF+P S LF+P+ERK+V ST CW +MF L+YLS P +LK+
Sbjct 189 PIYLWRRSPGKSGSHFHPDSNLFSPNERKEVTLSTVCWFLMFSFLLYLSFTTSPILILKL 248
Query 247 YGVPYWIFIMWLDFVTYMHHHGYSQKLPWYRGKEWDYLRGGLTTVDRDYGWVNNIHHDIG 306
YGVPYWIF+MWLDFVTY+HHHGY+QKLPWYRG+EW YLRGGLTTVDRDYGW+NNIHHDIG
Sbjct 249 YGVPYWIFVMWLDFVTYLHHHGYTQKLPWYRGQEWSYLRGGLTTVDRDYGWINNIHHDIG 308
Query 307 THVIHHLFPQIPHYHLIEATEAAKPVLGKYYREPEKSGAVPFHLFKYFLHSMNQDHFVSD 366
THV+HHLFPQIPHYHLIEAT+AAKPV GKYYREPEKS +PFHL KY SM DHFVSD
Sbjct 309 THVVHHLFPQIPHYHLIEATKAAKPVFGKYYREPEKSSPIPFHLIKYLAQSMKHDHFVSD 368
Query 367 SGDIVFYQTDPKLHNN 382
+G+I+FYQTDP+L+ N
Sbjct 369 TGEILFYQTDPELNKN 384
The ability of FAD3 (e.g., FAD3D) to introduce a third double bond into linoleic acid (18:2) to form linolenic acid (18:3) is taught to be a FAD3 function in the specification, while FAD function can refer to the role of FAD in modulating the levels of long chain polyunsaturated fatty acid in the fatty acid metabolism pathway (page 18, lines 13-24). However, no structure is provided for the activity of FAD3C proteins or FAD3D proteins. FAD3 genes in other species may follow different naming conventions (Blume table 4) or may have expressional differences based on cis-acting regulatory elements, leading to different functional effect from other FAD3 genes (Blume page 8, right column, paragraphs 4-5). Similarly, Wu et al (2024) Phyton-International Journal of Experimental Botany. 93(3): 627-640 (published 3/28/2024, after the filing of the instant application) teaches that in Brassica napus, the relative expression of six FAD3 homologs differs across genetic backgrounds and through time (figure 1).
The instant specification teaches that knockouts of fad3c result in different phenotypes than double knockouts of fad3c/fad3d (table 8). The specification does not teach whether knockouts of fad3d or any other fad3 gene would be equivalent to knockouts of fad3c.
The instant specification does not provide guidance for how to make and use a plant with decreased activity of a FAD3 protein that has as little as 50% amino acid identity, or even 62% identity, with SEQ ID NO: 43, which would be likely to comprise a biological activity or expression pattern different from the FAD3C protein provided in the instant specification. Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not immediately know what insertions, substitutions, or deletions would be sufficient to reduce activity in a protein with a different activity and function in a plant such that oleic acid is increased (claim 10), linolenic acid is reduced by at least 50% or the amount of linolenic acid plus linoleic acid is reduced by at least 4% (claim 86) or the amount of oleic acid is increased by at least 4% (claim 87). The exon where the mutation is located (claim 16) may not correspond to the same position in the resulting FAD3 protein. Undue trial and error experimentation would be required to screen insertions, substitutions, or deletions in FAD3 genes comprising as little as 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 43 to find a use for a plant comprising such genes if such a use is possible.
Given the claim breadth and lack of guidance in the specification, the instant invention is not enabled through the full scope of claims 1, 10, 16, 86-87, 91, & 93-94.
Applicant urges that claim 94 recites a plant or plant part comprising one or more insertions, substitutions, or deletions in a gene encoding a FAD3C protein having at least 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 43, which Applicant urges captures the natural allelic variation expected among cultivars of Pisum sativum. Applicant urges that the specification discloses plants with mutations having increased oleic acid, reduced linolenic acid or linolenic acid plus linoleic acid or reduced polyunsaturated lipid, so one skilled in the art can practice the claimed invention without undue burden (Remarks, page 15, paragraphs 3-5).
This argument is unpersuasive, because amended claim 94 recites a gene encoding a FAD3 protein having at least 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 43. The broader genus of at least 50% identity to SEQ ID NO: 43 encompasses more than natural allelic variation expected within Pisum sativum and is not sufficiently enabled by the examples Applicant provided without undue trial and error experimentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 16, 25, 30, 36-37, 85, 88-89, 91 & 93-94 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davies et al WO 0043529 A1 (published 7/27/2000, hereafter Davies) in view of Forster et al (1999) Plant Molecular Biology 39: 1209–1220, hereafter Forster, and Wang et al (2020) The Crop Journal. 8(3): 432-439 (available online 12/10/2019, hereafter Wang) and Hughes et al (2001) Eur. J. Biochem. 268: 1030-1040 (published 2001, hereafter Hughes) taken with the evidence of GenBank accession X78580.1 (available 11/14/2006) and GenBank accession X78581.1 (available 11/14/2006).
This is a new rejection. Applicant’s remarks filed 6/22/2026 have been considered below as they pertain to the rejection but are not persuasive.
Claims 1, 3, 16, 30, 36-37, 85, 88-89, 91 & 93-94 are drawn to a plant comprising decreased LOX activity comprising a mutated LOX-2 gene comprising insertions or deletions in exon 4 of a LOX-2 gene with at least 95% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 10 and encoding a protein comprising a sequence having at least 90% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 7, and a plant product from such a plant. Claims 91 & 93-94 further require a mutated LOX-3 gene comprising one or more insertions, substitutions, or deletions. Claim 25 requires a plant comprising a mutated LOX-2 gene comprising the nucleic acid sequence with one or more insertions substitutions, or deletions in a nucleotide region corresponding to upstream of exon 4 of the LOX-2 gene, wherein said plant comprises a specific deletion.
Davies teaches a method to increase antioxidant content in peas by decreasing activity of lipoxygenase type 2 (LOX 2). In the method of Davies, lox2 mutant peas lacking the LOX-2 isoenzyme were grown in greenhouse conditions, peas were collected, and seeds were homogenized (page 14, line 30-page 15, line 17). Davies teaches peas obtained by this method, including frozen peas (Davies claims 7 or 8). The variety used by Davies method was the “Birte” pea variety (page 7, lines 9-2).
Davies teaches a motivation to reduce activity of LOX-2 because lipoxygenases lead to flavor and aroma formation (page 2, lines 8-14) and that mutants lacking lox2 in soybean have improved flavor (page 3, lines 1-3). Lox-2 mutant peas have higher total lipoxygenase activity compared to standard indicating overexpression of lox-3 in a lox-2 mutant background (page 3, lines 26-32). However, mutant lox-2 pea plants have decreased lox-2 activity (page 6, lines 16-20).
Davies teaches that there are alternative methods for developing pea plants with a lox2- trait, including a mutagenesis program to generate mutations affecting the LOX-2 gene including site-directed mutagenesis (page 7, line 21-page 8 line 9).
Davies teaches that plants with mutant lox-2 would be suitable to combine with additional modifications to increase pea ascorbate content (page 11, lines 23-29) and envisions combination of the genetic modification reducing the activity of LOX-2 with a further genetic modification at any locus capable of reducing activity of an enzyme involved in the sucrose to starch biosynthetic pathway (Davies claim 4).
Davies does not teach the sequence of the pea lox-2 or lox-3 genes and does not teach insertion, substitution, or deletion in a coding region corresponding to exon 4 of the lox-2 gene.
GenBank accession X78580.1 teaches a sequence for the pea LOX-2 gene from the Birte variety that has 99.3% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 10. See alignment below. GenBank accession X78580.1 teaches that exon 2 is located between nucleotides 1912 and 2198 and exon 4 begins at nucleotide 2604 of the sequence.
LOCUS X78580 5785 bp DNA linear PLN 14-NOV-2006
DEFINITION P.sativum (Birte) Lox1:Ps:2 gene.
ACCESSION X78580
VERSION X78580.1
KEYWORDS lipoxygenase; Lox1 gene.
SOURCE Pisum sativum (garden pea)
ORGANISM Pisum sativum
Eukaryota; Viridiplantae; Streptophyta; Embryophyta; Tracheophyta;
Spermatophyta; Magnoliopsida; eudicotyledons; Gunneridae;
Pentapetalae; rosids; fabids; Fabales; Fabaceae; Papilionoideae; 50
kb inversion clade; NPAAA clade; Hologalegina; IRL clade; Fabeae;
Pisum.
REFERENCE 1 (bases 1 to 5785)
AUTHORS Forster,C., Knox,M., Domoney,C. and Casey,R.
TITLE lox1:Ps:2, a Pisum sativum seed lipoxygenase gene
JOURNAL Plant Physiol. 106 (3), 1227-1228 (1994)
PUBMED 7824652
REFERENCE 2 (bases 1 to 5785)
AUTHORS Casey,R.
TITLE Direct Submission
JOURNAL Submitted (01-APR-1994) R. Casey, John Innes Institute, Colney
Lane, Norwich, NR4 7UH, UK
FEATURES Location/Qualifiers
source 1..5785
/organism="Pisum sativum"
/mol_type="genomic DNA"
/cultivar="Birte"
/db_xref="taxon:3888"
/chromosome="linkage group 4"
/clone="2"
/clone_lib="lambda GEM-12 CF"
gene 1241..5091
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
regulatory 1241..1245
/regulatory_class="CAAT_signal"
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
regulatory 1256..1260
/regulatory_class="CAAT_signal"
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
regulatory 1278..1281
/regulatory_class="TATA_box"
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
regulatory 1296..1299
/regulatory_class="TATA_box"
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
mRNA join(1340..1597,1912..2198,2285..2525,2604..2924,
3009..3094,3172..3273,3363..3667,3783..4046,4151..5091)
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/product="lipoxygenase"
exon 1340..1597
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=1
CDS join(1366..1597,1912..2198,2285..2525,2604..2924,
3009..3094,3172..3273,3363..3667,3783..4046,4151..4904)
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/codon_start=1
/product="lipoxygenase"
/protein_id="CAA55318.1"
/db_xref="GOA:P14856"
/db_xref="InterPro:IPR000907"
/db_xref="InterPro:IPR001024"
/db_xref="InterPro:IPR001246"
/db_xref="InterPro:IPR008976"
/db_xref="InterPro:IPR013819"
/db_xref="InterPro:IPR020833"
/db_xref="InterPro:IPR020834"
/db_xref="UniProtKB/Swiss-Prot:P14856"
/translation="MFPNVTGLLNKGHKIRGTVVLMRKNVLDFNTIVSIGGGNVHGVI
DSGINIIGSTLDGLTAFLGRSVSLQLISATKSDANGKGKVGKDTFLEGVLASLPTLGA
GESAFNIHFEWDHEMGIPGAFYIKNYMQVEFFLKSLTLEDVPNHGTIRFVCNSWVYNS
KLYKSPRIFFANKSYLPSETPSPLVKYREEELQTLRGDGTGERKLHERIYDYDVYNDL
GNPDHGEHLARPILGGSSTHPYPRRGRTGRYPTRKDPNSEKPATETYVPRDENFGHLK
SSDFLAYGIKSVSQCVVPAFESAFDLNFTPNEFDSFQDVRNLFEGGIKLPLDVISTIS
PLPVVKEIFRTDGEQVLKFTPPHVIRVSKSAWMTDEEFAREMLAGVNPCMIRGLQEFP
PKSNLDPAEYGDHTSKISVDVLNLDGCTIDEALASGRLFILDYHDTFIPFLRRINETS
AKAYATRTILFLKENGTLKPVAIELSLPHPDGDKSGFVSKVILPADEGVESTIWLLAK
AYVVVNDSCYHQLMSHWLNTHAVIEPFVIATNRQLSVVHPINKLLAPHYRDTMNINAL
ARDSLINANGIIERSFLPSKYAVEMSSAVYKYWVFTDQALPNDLIKRNMAVKDSSSPY
GLRLLIEDYPYAVDGLEIWTAIKTWVQDYVSLYYATDNDIKNDSELQHWWKEVVEKGH
GDLKDKPWWPKLQTFDELVEVCTIIIWTASALHAAVNFGQYPYGGLILNRPTLSRRLL
PEEGTAEYDEMVKSSQKAYLRTITPKFQTLIDLSVIEILSRHASDEVYLGQRENPHWT
SDSKALQAFQKFGNKLAEIEAKLTNKNNDPSLYHRVGPVQLPYTLLHPSSKEGLTFRG
IPNSISI"
intron 1598..1911
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=1
exon 1912..2198
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=2
intron 2199..2284
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=2
exon 2285..2525
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=3
intron 2526..2603
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=3
exon 2604..2924
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=4
intron 2925..3008
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=4
exon 3009..3094
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=5
intron 3095..3171
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=5
exon 3172..3273
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=6
intron 3274..3362
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=6
exon 3363..3667
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=7
intron 3668..3782
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=7
exon 3783..4046
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=8
intron 4047..4150
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=8
exon 4151..5091
/gene="Lox1:Ps:2"
/number=
Query Match 99.3%; Score 3515.4; Length 5785;
Best Local Similarity 99.9%;
Matches 3538; Conservative 0; Mismatches 1; Indels 2; Gaps 2;
Qy 1 ATGTTTCCAAATGTGACAGGACTCCTAAACAAGGGCCACAAGATAAGAGGGACAGTGGTG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1366 ATGTTTCCAAATGTGACAGGACTCCTAAACAAGGGCCACAAGATAAGAGGGACAGTGGTG 1425
Qy 61 TTGATGCGTAAGAATGTGTTGGACTTCAACACAATTGTGAGTATTGGTGGTGGAAACGTC 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1426 TTGATGCGTAAGAATGTGTTGGACTTCAACACAATTGTGAGTATTGGTGGTGGAAACGTC 1485
Qy 121 CATGGTGTCATCGACTCCGGCATCAATATCATTGGTTCAACTCTTGATGGCCTTACTGCC 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1486 CATGGTGTCATCGACTCCGGCATCAATATCATTGGTTCAACTCTTGATGGCCTTACTGCC 1545
Qy 181 TTCTTAGGCCGCAGTGTCTCCCTCCAGCTGATCAGTGCTACCAAGTCTGATGGTTAGTTC 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1546 TTCTTAGGCCGCAGTGTCTCCCTCCAGCTGATCAGTGCTACCAAGTCTGATGGTTAGTTC 1605
Qy 241 ATTCATTTCTTCTTACTTTTATATATCTAGACATGTAGCACTTTTATATCTAGACATGTA 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1606 ATTCATTTCTTCTTACTTTTATATATCTAGACATGTAGCACTTTTATATCTAGACATGTA 1665
Qy 301 TCATCAGAATCATCTTAAGTTTTTGGAACTCCTGAATAGGAGTTTTTGGAACTCCTGTAT 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1666 TCATCAGAATCATCTTAAGTTTTTGGAACTCCTGAATAGGAGTTTTTGGAACTCCTGTAT 1725
Qy 361 AGGTTAGTTGCAGTTTAACTTCGACAGAATATAGAAGTTCTATTTAATCACGATTTATTT 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1726 AGGTTAGTTGCAGTTTAACTTCGACAGAATATAGAAGTTCTATTTAATCACGATTTATTT 1785
Qy 421 GTGATAAATATTTTATGAGACCCTACTTAACTGTGACAAATTTTGGACTTATGCGGTAGC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1786 GTGATAAATATTTTATGAGACCCTACTTAACTGTGACAAATTTTGGACTTATGCGGTAGC 1845
Qy 481 CTGCCTTGCACGGTCCTGATCAGGAGTATAGTCACTAAATGAATGAATTTAATGATATGT 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1846 CTGCCTTGCACGGTCCTGATCAGGAGTATAGTCACTAAATGAATGAATTTAATGATATGT 1905
Qy 541 ATGTAGCAAATGGAAAAGGAAAAGTTGGAAAGGATACATTTCTTGAAGGTGTTCTTGCTT 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1906 ATGTAGCAAATGGAAAAGGAAAAGTTGGAAAGGATACATTTCTTGAAGGTGTTCTTGCTT 1965
Qy 601 CATTACCAACCTTGGGAGCTGGTGAATCTGCATTCAATATTCATTTTGAATGGGATCATG 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1966 CATTACCAACCTTGGGAGCTGGTGAATCTGCATTCAATATTCATTTTGAATGGGATCATG 2025
Qy 661 AAATGGGAATTCCAGGTGCATTTTACATCAAAAACTATATGCAAGTTGAGTTTTTTCTCA 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2026 AAATGGGAATTCCAGGTGCATTTTACATCAAAAACTATATGCAAGTTGAGTTTTTTCTCA 2085
Qy 721 AGAGTTTAACTCTAGAAGATGTTCCAAATCATGGAACCATTCGCTTCGTATGCAACTCTT 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2086 AGAGTTTAACTCTAGAAGATGTTCCAAATCATGGAACCATTCGCTTCGTATGCAACTCTT 2145
Qy 781 GGGTTTACAACTCAAAACTCTACAAAAGTCCTCGCATTTTCTTCGCCAACAAGGTAATTT 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2146 GGGTTTACAACTCAAAACTCTACAAAAGTCCTCGCATTTTCTTCGCCAACAAGGTAATTT 2205
Qy 841 ATTTACATCTATATGTTAGTGCGTGGTTTGTTAGAATCACGATGAATCATTATGATTTTA 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2206 ATTTACATCTATATGTTAGTGCGTGGTTTGTTAGAATCACGATGAATCATTATGATTTTA 2265
Qy 901 CTTGATTGTTATCATGCAGTCATATCTTCCGAGTGAAACACCGTCTCCACTTGTCAAGTA 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2266 CTTGATTGTTATCATGCAGTCATATCTTCCGAGTGAAACACCGTCTCCACTTGTCAAGTA 2325
Qy 961 TAGAGAAGAAGAATTGCAAACTCTAAGAGGAGATGGAACAGGAGAGCGCAAGTTACATGA 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2326 TAGAGAAGAAGAATTGCAAACTCTAAGAGGAGATGGAACAGGAGAGCGCAAGTTACATGA 2385
Qy 1021 AAGAATCTACGATTATGATGTCTATAACGATTTAGGCAATCCAGATCACGGCGAACATCT 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2386 AAGAATCTACGATTATGATGTCTATAACGATTTAGGCAATCCAGATCACGGCGAACATCT 2445
Qy 1081 TGCTCGACCTATTCTCGGAGGGTCTAGCACACATCCCTATCCTCGTAGGGGTAGGACCGG 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2446 TGCTCGACCTATTCTCGGAGGGTCTAGCACACATCCCTATCCTCGTAGGGGTAGGACCGG 2505
Qy 1141 TCGATATCCAACGAGGAAAGGTTAGATACAAGAACATGGTACAAATAATGATAAAAATGA 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2506 TCGATATCCAACGAGGAAAGGTTAGATACAAGAACATGGTACAAATAATGATAAAAATGA 2565
Qy 1201 GATAAACTAACCTTAAGCTATTGTGTTCTTTTGAACAGATCCGAATAGCGAGAAACCAGC 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2566 GATAAACTAACCTTAAGCTATTGTGTTCTTTTGAACAGATCCGAATAGCGAGAAACCAGC 2625
Qy 1261 TACAGAAACATATGTTCCAAGAGATGAAAATTTTGGTCACTTGAAGTCCTCTGACTTTCT 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2626 TACAGAAACATATGTTCCAAGAGATGAAAATTTTGGTCACTTGAAGTCCTCTGACTTTCT 2685
Qy 1321 TGCATATGGAATAAAATCTGTATCTCAATGTGTAGTACCTGCATTTGAATCTGCATTTGA 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2686 TGCATATGGAATAAAATCTGTATCTCAATGTGTAGTACCTGCATTTGAATCTGCATTTGA 2745
Qy 1381 TTTGAATTTTACGCCTAACGAGTTTGATAGTTTTCAAGATGTGCGCAACCTCTTCGAAGG 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2746 TTTGAATTTTACGCCTAACGAGTTTGATAGTTTTCAAGATGTGCGCAACCTCTTCGAAGG 2805
Qy 1441 TGGAATTAAGCTTCCTCTAGATGTAATTAGCACAATTAGTCCTTTACCTGTGGTCAAAGA 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2806 TGGAATTAAGCTTCCTCTAGATGTAATTAGCACAATTAGTCCTTTACCTGTGGTCAAAGA 2865
Qy 1501 AATCTTTCGTACCGATGGTGAACAAGTCCTCAAGTTTACACCACCACATGTCATTCGAGG 1560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2866 AATCTTTCGTACCGATGGTGAACAAGTCCTCAAGTTTACACCACCACATGTCATTCGAGG 2925
Qy 1561 TCCGACAAAATACATATTATAACGTAAATTATACTACGCTTTGAGTAATTTCATTTTATT 1620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2926 TCCGACAAAATACATATTATAACGTAAATTATACTACGCTTTGAGTAATTTCATTTTATT 2985
Qy 1621 ATAAGTTTCTTTGTTTTTCGCAGTGAGTAAGTCTGCGTGGATGACCGATGAAGAATTTGC 1680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2986 ATAAGTTTCTTTGTTTTTCGCAGTGAGTAAGTCTGCGTGGATGACCGATGAAGAATTTGC 3045
Qy 1681 ACGAGAAATGCTCGCTGGCGTAAATCCATGCATGATCCGCGGTCTTCAAGTAAGTTCAAG 1740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3046 ACGAGAAATGCTCGCTGGCGTAAATCCATGCATGATCCGCGGTCTTCAAGTAAGTTCAAG 3105
Qy 1741 AATTTATTTTAATATTTCGGAGAAATTTTTGCTATTCACATTAAATAATTGCCTATCTAA 1800
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3106 AATTTATTTTAATATTTCGGAGAAATTTTTGCTATTCACATTAAATAATTGCCTATCTAA 3165
Qy 1801 TTGTAGGAGTTTCCTCCGAAAAGCAATCTAGATCCCGCAGAATACGGTGATCACACTAGT 1860
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3166 TTGTAGGAGTTTCCTCCGAAAAGCAATCTAGATCCCGCAGAATACGGTGATCACACTAGT 3225
Qy 1861 AAGATATCTGTAGATGTCTTGAACCTTGATGGTTGCACCATAGATGAGGTAAACACATAA 1920
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3226 AAGATATCTGTAGATGTCTTGAACCTTGATGGTTGCACCATAGATGAGGTAAACACATAA 3285
Qy 1921 TAATCATAATTAAAAAAATATGATTTTGGACTTAATTTGGTGACATAAAGTGATTAAGAT 1980
||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3286 TAATCATAATT-AAAAAATATGATTTTGGACTTAATTTGGTGACATAAAGTGATTAAGAT 3344
Qy 1981 TAATTTTACATGGAACAGGCACTTGCTAGTGGGAGATTATTTATACTAGATTATCATGAC 2040
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3345 TAATTTTACATGGAACAGGCACTTGCTAGTGGGAGATTATTTATACTAGATTATCATGAC 3404
Qy 2041 ACATTTATTCCATTTCTGAGAAGGATCAATGAGACTTCTGCAAAAGCTTATGCTACTAGA 2100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3405 ACATTTATTCCATTTCTGAGAAGGATCAATGAGACTTCTGCAAAAGCTTATGCTACTAGA 3464
Qy 2101 ACAATACTTTTTCTAAAAGAAAATGGAACTTTAAAGCCAGTGGCCATTGAATTAAGTTTG 2160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3465 ACAATACTTTTTCTAAAAGAAAATGGAACTTTAAAGCCAGTGGCCATTGAATTAAGTTTG 3524
Qy 2161 CCACATCCTGATGGTGACAAATCAGGTTTTGTTAGTAAAGTTATCTTACCTGCAGATGAA 2220
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3525 CCACATCCTGATGGTGACAAATCAGGTTTTGTTAGTAAAGTTATCTTACCTGCAGATGAA 3584
Qy 2221 GGTGTTGAGAGTACTATTTGGCTTCTAGCAAAAGCTTATGTGGTGGTTAACGATTCTTGC 2280
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3585 GGTGTTGAGAGTACTATTTGGCTTCTAGCAAAAGCTTATGTGGTGGTTAACGATTCTTGC 3644
Qy 2281 TATCATCAACTCATGAGCCATTGGTAAAATATAGTAATGTTTATATTTTCACGTATGTGC 2340
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |
Db 3645 TATCATCAACTCATGAGCCATTGGTAAAATATAGTAATGTTTATATTTTCACGTATGT-C 3703
Qy 2341 GCTCTAAAATATCAGGTAGGATTTGAACTCTGAATATATGTATTACTTATTGATGATTTT 2400
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3704 GCTCTAAAATATCAGGTAGGATTTGAACTCTGAATATATGTATTACTTATTGATGATTTT 3763
Qy 2401 TATATATTTATTGGAATAGGTTGAATACTCATGCGGTAATTGAGCCGTTTGTTATAGCAA 2460
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3764 TATATATTTATTGGAATAGGTTGAATACTCATGCGGTAATTGAGCCGTTTGTTATAGCAA 3823
Qy 2461 CAAATCGGCAGCTTAGTGTGGTTCATCCGATTAATAAACTTTTAGCTCCTCATTATCGCG 2520
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3824 CAAATCGGCAGCTTAGTGTGGTTCATCCGATTAATAAACTTTTAGCTCCTCATTATCGCG 3883
Qy 2521 ACACGATGAACATCAATGCACTTGCAAGAGATTCTCTAATTAATGCCAATGGCATAATAG 2580
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3884 ACACGATGAACATCAATGCACTTGCAAGAGATTCTCTAATTAATGCCAATGGCATAATAG 3943
Qy 2581 AGAGAAGTTTTTTGCCTTCGAAGTATGCTGTGGAAATGTCTTCAGCGGTTTACAAGTATT 2640
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3944 AGAGAAGTTTTTTGCCTTCGAAGTATGCTGTGGAAATGTCTTCAGCGGTTTACAAGTATT 4003
Qy 2641 GGGTTTTCACAGATCAAGCTCTGCCGAATGATCTTATCAAGAGGTAATAGAATGATCATA 2700
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4004 GGGTTTTCACAGATCAAGCTCTGCCGAATGATCTTATCAAGAGGTAATAGAATGATCATA 4063
Qy 2701 GGTTCGAAAAATGAACAATCTTTTTAAAGATGATTCTATATTTAAGGACTGAGATAGTAA 2760
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4064 GGTTCGAAAAATGAACAATCTTTTTAAAGATGATTCTATATTTAAGGACTGAGATAGTAA 4123
Qy 2761 CATGTATATGCATTTTGCTTGATTCAGAAACATGGCAGTTAAAGATTCGTCGTCTCCATA 2820
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4124 CATGTATATGCATTTTGCTTGATTCAGAAACATGGCAGTTAAAGATTCGTCGTCTCCATA 4183
Qy 2821 TGGACTCCGTCTTCTGATAGAGGACTACCCGTACGCTGTTGACGGATTAGAGATATGGAC 2880
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4184 TGGACTCCGTCTTCTGATAGAGGACTACCCGTACGCTGTTGACGGATTAGAGATATGGAC 4243
Qy 2881 GGCTATTAAAACATGGGTCCAAGATTATGTCTCGCTGTATTATGCAACGGACAATGATAT 2940
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4244 GGCTATTAAAACATGGGTCCAAGATTATGTCTCGCTGTATTATGCAACGGACAATGATAT 4303
Qy 2941 CAAAAATGATTCCGAGCTTCAACATTGGTGGAAAGAGGTTGTAGAGAAAGGTCATGGTGA 3000
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4304 CAAAAATGATTCCGAGCTTCAACATTGGTGGAAAGAGGTTGTAGAGAAAGGTCATGGTGA 4363
Qy 3001 CTTGAAAGATAAGCCATGGTGGCCTAAGTTGCAAACGTTTGACGAGCTCGTTGAAGTTTG 3060
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4364 CTTGAAAGATAAGCCATGGTGGCCTAAGTTGCAAACGTTTGACGAGCTCGTTGAAGTTTG 4423
Qy 3061 CACTATCATCATATGGACGGCTTCTGCTCTCCACGCAGCTGTTAATTTTGGACAATATCC 3120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4424 CACTATCATCATATGGACGGCTTCTGCTCTCCACGCAGCTGTTAATTTTGGACAATATCC 4483
Qy 3121 TTACGGCGGTTTAATTCTAAACCGTCCAACTCTGAGTAGAAGATTGCTTCCTGAGGAAGG 3180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4484 TTACGGCGGTTTAATTCTAAACCGTCCAACTCTGAGTAGAAGATTGCTTCCTGAGGAAGG 4543
Qy 3181 AACTGCGGAATACGATGAAATGGTGAAGAGTTCTCAAAAGGCTTACTTGAGGACAATCAC 3240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4544 AACTGCGGAATACGATGAAATGGTGAAGAGTTCTCAAAAGGCTTACTTGAGGACAATCAC 4603
Qy 3241 GCCGAAGTTTCAGACTCTTATTGATCTTTCAGTGATAGAAATATTGTCAAGACATGCTTC 3300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4604 GCCGAAGTTTCAGACTCTTATTGATCTTTCAGTGATAGAAATATTGTCAAGACATGCTTC 4663
Qy 3301 TGATGAAGTCTATCTCGGACAAAGGGAAAATCCACACTGGACATCTGATTCTAAAGCTTT 3360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4664 TGATGAAGTCTATCTCGGACAAAGGGAAAATCCACACTGGACATCTGATTCTAAAGCTTT 4723
Qy 3361 ACAAGCATTTCAAAAGTTTGGAAATAAATTGGCGGAAATTGAGGCCAAACTTACGAATAA 3420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4724 ACAAGCATTTCAAAAGTTTGGAAATAAATTGGCGGAAATTGAGGCCAAACTTACGAATAA 4783
Qy 3421 GAACAATGATCCGAGCCTGTACCATCGGGTCGGGCCGGTTCAATTGCCATACACTTTGCT 3480
||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4784 GAACAATGATCCGAGCCTGTACCATAGGGTCGGGCCGGTTCAATTGCCATACACTTTGCT 4843
Qy 3481 TCATCCCAGCAGCAAGGAAGGGTTAACCTTTAGAGGAATTCCTAATAGTATCTCTATTTA 3540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 4844 TCATCCCAGCAGCAAGGAAGGGTTAACCTTTAGAGGAATTCCTAATAGTATCTCTATTTA 4903
Qy 3541 A 3541
|
Db 4904 A 4904
The translated sequence of this gene, provided in the block immediately above, has 100% sequence similarity to instant SEQ ID NO: 7. See alignment below.
Score
Expect
Method
Identities
Positives
Gaps
1784 bits(4620)
0.0
Compositional matrix adjust.
863/863(100%)
863/863(100%)
0/863(0%)
Query 1 MFPNVTGLLNKGHKIRGTVVLMRKNVLDFNTIVSIGGGNVHGVIDSGINIIGSTLDGLTA 60
MFPNVTGLLNKGHKIRGTVVLMRKNVLDFNTIVSIGGGNVHGVIDSGINIIGSTLDGLTA
Sbjct 1 MFPNVTGLLNKGHKIRGTVVLMRKNVLDFNTIVSIGGGNVHGVIDSGINIIGSTLDGLTA 60
Query 61 FLGRSVSLQLISATKSDANGKGKVGKDTFLEGVLASLPTLGAGESAFNIHFEWDHEMGIP 120
FLGRSVSLQLISATKSDANGKGKVGKDTFLEGVLASLPTLGAGESAFNIHFEWDHEMGIP
Sbjct 61 FLGRSVSLQLISATKSDANGKGKVGKDTFLEGVLASLPTLGAGESAFNIHFEWDHEMGIP 120
Query 121 GAFYIKNYMQVEFFLKSLTLEDVPNHGTIRFVCNSWVYNSKLYKSPRIFFANKSYLPSET 180
GAFYIKNYMQVEFFLKSLTLEDVPNHGTIRFVCNSWVYNSKLYKSPRIFFANKSYLPSET
Sbjct 121 GAFYIKNYMQVEFFLKSLTLEDVPNHGTIRFVCNSWVYNSKLYKSPRIFFANKSYLPSET 180
Query 181 PSPLVKYREEELQTLRGDGTGERKLHERIYDYDVYNDLGNPDHGEHLARPILGGSSTHPY 240
PSPLVKYREEELQTLRGDGTGERKLHERIYDYDVYNDLGNPDHGEHLARPILGGSSTHPY
Sbjct 181 PSPLVKYREEELQTLRGDGTGERKLHERIYDYDVYNDLGNPDHGEHLARPILGGSSTHPY 240
Query 241 PRRGRTGRYPTRKDPNSEKPATETYVPRDENFGHLKSSDFLAYGIKSVSQCVVPAFESAF 300
PRRGRTGRYPTRKDPNSEKPATETYVPRDENFGHLKSSDFLAYGIKSVSQCVVPAFESAF
Sbjct 241 PRRGRTGRYPTRKDPNSEKPATETYVPRDENFGHLKSSDFLAYGIKSVSQCVVPAFESAF 300
Query 301 DLNFTPNEFDSFQDVRNLFEGGIKLPLDVISTISPLPVVKEIFRTDGEQVLKFTPPHVIR 360
DLNFTPNEFDSFQDVRNLFEGGIKLPLDVISTISPLPVVKEIFRTDGEQVLKFTPPHVIR
Sbjct 301 DLNFTPNEFDSFQDVRNLFEGGIKLPLDVISTISPLPVVKEIFRTDGEQVLKFTPPHVIR 360
Query 361 VSKSAWMTDEEFAREMLAGVNPCMIRGLQEFPPKSNLDPAEYGDHTSKISVDVLNLDGCT 420
VSKSAWMTDEEFAREMLAGVNPCMIRGLQEFPPKSNLDPAEYGDHTSKISVDVLNLDGCT
Sbjct 361 VSKSAWMTDEEFAREMLAGVNPCMIRGLQEFPPKSNLDPAEYGDHTSKISVDVLNLDGCT 420
Query 421 IDEALASGRLFILDYHDTFIPFLRRINETSAKAYATRTILFLKENGTLKPVAIELSLPHP 480
IDEALASGRLFILDYHDTFIPFLRRINETSAKAYATRTILFLKENGTLKPVAIELSLPHP
Sbjct 421 IDEALASGRLFILDYHDTFIPFLRRINETSAKAYATRTILFLKENGTLKPVAIELSLPHP 480
Query 481 DGDKSGFVSKVILPADEGVESTIWLLAKAYVVVNDSCYHQLMSHWLNTHAVIEPFVIATN 540
DGDKSGFVSKVILPADEGVESTIWLLAKAYVVVNDSCYHQLMSHWLNTHAVIEPFVIATN
Sbjct 481 DGDKSGFVSKVILPADEGVESTIWLLAKAYVVVNDSCYHQLMSHWLNTHAVIEPFVIATN 540
Query 541 RQLSVVHPINKLLAPHYRDTMNINALARDSLINANGIIERSFLPSKYAVEMSSAVYKYWV 600
RQLSVVHPINKLLAPHYRDTMNINALARDSLINANGIIERSFLPSKYAVEMSSAVYKYWV
Sbjct 541 RQLSVVHPINKLLAPHYRDTMNINALARDSLINANGIIERSFLPSKYAVEMSSAVYKYWV 600
Query 601 FTDQALPNDLIKRNMAVKDSSSPYGLRLLIEDYPYAVDGLEIWTAIKTWVQDYVSLYYAT 660
FTDQALPNDLIKRNMAVKDSSSPYGLRLLIEDYPYAVDGLEIWTAIKTWVQDYVSLYYAT
Sbjct 601 FTDQALPNDLIKRNMAVKDSSSPYGLRLLIEDYPYAVDGLEIWTAIKTWVQDYVSLYYAT 660
Query 661 DNDIKNDSELQHWWKEVVEKGHGDLKDKPWWPKLQTFDELVEVCTIIIWTASALHAAVNF 720
DNDIKNDSELQHWWKEVVEKGHGDLKDKPWWPKLQTFDELVEVCTIIIWTASALHAAVNF
Sbjct 661 DNDIKNDSELQHWWKEVVEKGHGDLKDKPWWPKLQTFDELVEVCTIIIWTASALHAAVNF 720
Query 721 GQYPYGGLILNRPTLSRRLLPEEGTAEYDEMVKSSQKAYLRTITPKFQTLIDLSVIEILS 780
GQYPYGGLILNRPTLSRRLLPEEGTAEYDEMVKSSQKAYLRTITPKFQTLIDLSVIEILS
Sbjct 721 GQYPYGGLILNRPTLSRRLLPEEGTAEYDEMVKSSQKAYLRTITPKFQTLIDLSVIEILS 780
Query 781 RHASDEVYLGQRENPHWTSDSKALQAFQKFGNKLAEIEAKLTNKNNDPSLYHRVGPVQLP 840
RHASDEVYLGQRENPHWTSDSKALQAFQKFGNKLAEIEAKLTNKNNDPSLYHRVGPVQLP
Sbjct 781 RHASDEVYLGQRENPHWTSDSKALQAFQKFGNKLAEIEAKLTNKNNDPSLYHRVGPVQLP 840
Query 841 YTLLHPSSKEGLTFRGIPNSISI 863
YTLLHPSSKEGLTFRGIPNSISI
Sbjct 841 YTLLHPSSKEGLTFRGIPNSISI 863
Forster teaches a pea LOX-2 null mutant (title; page 1210, left column, paragraph 3). Forster teaches that the null LOX-2 pea mutant produces less 13- than 9- hydroperoxides compared to a control plant (page 1215, right column, paragraph 4; figure 6). Forster teaches that LOX-2 removal in pea lines reduces hexanal production (page 1219, left column, paragraph 1). Forster teaches that seed LOX has no agronomic significance and that removal does not impair yield (page 1218, right column, paragraph 3). Finally, Forster teaches pea seed meal (page 1210, right column, paragraph 4) and proposes the introduction of the LOX-2 null mutation into freezer peas which would reduce n-hexanal production and reduction of off-flavor (page 1219, left column, paragraph 1).
Wang teaches a method of generating lipoxygenase-free soybean by generating knockouts of GmLox1, GmLox2, and GmLox3 via CRISPR-Cas9 targeting (page 433, right column, paragraph 2). The gene editing targeted sites in the second exon and third exon of the LOX2 and LOX3 genes respectively (figure 1, GGAAAGGATACGTTCTTGGAAGG for LOX-2 and CCTTTGGTTATCCTCGTAGGGGG for LOX-3) and caused deletion, insertion, and/or substitution mutations at these sites (figure 2). The target sequence for the soy LOX-2 gene aligns most closely with the pea LOX-2 sequence of GenBank accession X78580.1 at nucleotides 1932-1954. See MUSCLE alignment below. Triple mutants with mutations in all three lipoxygenase genes were recovered (page 437, left column, paragraph 1). The triple mutants lacked activity of both LOX2 and LOX3 (page 437, right column, paragraph 1).
Wang teaches a motivation to use the CRISPR-Cas9 method to knockout lox loci, because the knockouts can be done in elite cultivars with existing agriculture traits to rapidly and cost-effectively create LOX-free varieties (page 437, right column, paragraph 3). Wang teaches a motivation to mutate both LOX2 and LOX3 because all three lipoxygenase isozymes are involved in the formation of beany flavor (page 433, left column, paragraph 2).
Hughes teaches that deletion or mutation at the N-termini or C-termini of plant LOXs significantly affects catalysis (page 1030, right column, paragraph 2).
GenBank accession X78581.1 provides evidence of a Birte pea lipoxygenase gene lox1:Ps:3 with 99% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 27 (see alignment above) encoding a protein with 99.88% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 25. See alignment below.
Score
Expect
Method
Identities
Positives
Gaps
1782 bits(4616)
0.0
Compositional matrix adjust.
860/861(99%)
861/861(100%)
0/861(0%)
Query 1 MFSGVTGILNRGHKIKGTVVLMRKNVLDINSLTTVGGVIGQGFDILGSTVDNLTAFLGRS 60
MFSGVTGILNRGHKIKGTVVLMRKNVLDINSLTTVGGVIGQGFDILGSTVDNLTAFLGRS
Sbjct 1 MFSGVTGILNRGHKIKGTVVLMRKNVLDINSLTTVGGVIGQGFDILGSTVDNLTAFLGRS 60
Query 61 VSLQLISATKPDATGKGKLGKATFLEGIISSLPTLGAGQSAFKIHFEWDDDMGIPGAFYI 120
VSLQLISATKPDATGKGKLGKATFLEGIISSLPTLGAGQSAFKIHFEWDDDMGIPGAFYI
Sbjct 61 VSLQLISATKPDATGKGKLGKATFLEGIISSLPTLGAGQSAFKIHFEWDDDMGIPGAFYI 120
Query 121 KNFMQTEFFLVSLTLDDIPNHGSIYFVCNSWIYNAKHHKIDRIFFANQTYLPSETPAPLV 180
KNFMQTEFFLVSLTLDDIPNHGSIYFVCNSWIYNAKHHKIDRIFFANQTYLPSETPAPLV
Sbjct 121 KNFMQTEFFLVSLTLDDIPNHGSIYFVCNSWIYNAKHHKIDRIFFANQTYLPSETPAPLV 180
Query 181 HYREEELNNLRGDGTGERKEWERIYDYDVYNDLGNPDSGENHARPVLGGSETYPYPRRGR 240
HYREEELNNLRGDGTGERKEWERIYDYDVYNDLGNPDSGENHARPVLGGSETYPYPRRGR
Sbjct 181 HYREEELNNLRGDGTGERKEWERIYDYDVYNDLGNPDSGENHARPVLGGSETYPYPRRGR 240
Query 241 TGRKPTRKDPNSESRSDYVYLPRDEAFGHLKSSDFLTYGLKAVSQNVVPALESVFFDLNF 300
TGRKPTRKDPNSESRSDYVYLPRDEAFGHLKSSDFLTYGLKAVSQNVVPALESVFFDLNF
Sbjct 241 TGRKPTRKDPNSESRSDYVYLPRDEAFGHLKSSDFLTYGLKAVSQNVVPALESVFFDLNF 300
Query 301 TPNEFDSFDEVHGLYEGGIKLPTNILSQISPLPVLKEIFRTDGENTLKYPPPKVIQVSRS 360
TPNEFDSFDEVHGLYEGGIKLPTNILSQISPLPVLKEIFRTDGENTLKYPPPKVIQVSRS
Sbjct 301 TPNEFDSFDEVHGLYEGGIKLPTNILSQISPLPVLKEIFRTDGENTLKYPPPKVIQVSRS 360
Query 361 GWMTDEEFAREMLAGVNPNVICCLQEFPPRSKLDSQIYGDHTSKISKEHLEPNLEGLTVE 420
GWMTDEEFAREMLAGVNPNVICCLQEFPPRSKLDSQIYGDHTSKISKEHLEPNLEGLTVE
Sbjct 361 GWMTDEEFAREMLAGVNPNVICCLQEFPPRSKLDSQIYGDHTSKISKEHLEPNLEGLTVE 420
Query 421 EAIQNKKLFLLDHHDSIMPYLRRINSTSTKAYATRTILFLNNNQNLKPLAIELSLPHPQG 480
EAIQNKKLFLLDHHDSIMPYLRRINSTSTKAYATRTILFLNNNQNLKPLAIELSLPHPQG
Sbjct 421 EAIQNKKLFLLDHHDSIMPYLRRINSTSTKAYATRTILFLNNNQNLKPLAIELSLPHPQG 480
Query 481 DEHGAVSYVYQPALEGVESNIWLLAKAYVIVNDSCYHQLVSHWLNTHAVVEPFVIATNRH 540
DEHGAVSYVYQPALEGVES+IWLLAKAYVIVNDSCYHQLVSHWLNTHAVVEPFVIATNRH
Sbjct 481 DEHGAVSYVYQPALEGVESSIWLLAKAYVIVNDSCYHQLVSHWLNTHAVVEPFVIATNRH 540
Query 541 LSCLHPIYKLLYPHYRDTMNINSLARLSLVNDGGIIEKTFLWGRYSMEMSSKVYKNWVFT 600
LSCLHPIYKLLYPHYRDTMNINSLARLSLVNDGGIIEKTFLWGRYSMEMSSKVYKNWVFT
Sbjct 541 LSCLHPIYKLLYPHYRDTMNINSLARLSLVNDGGIIEKTFLWGRYSMEMSSKVYKNWVFT 600
Query 601 EQALPADLIKRGMAIEDPSSPCGVKLVVEDYPYAVDGLEIWAIIKTWVQDYVSLYYTSDE 660
EQALPADLIKRGMAIEDPSSPCGVKLVVEDYPYAVDGLEIWAIIKTWVQDYVSLYYTSDE
Sbjct 601 EQALPADLIKRGMAIEDPSSPCGVKLVVEDYPYAVDGLEIWAIIKTWVQDYVSLYYTSDE 660
Query 661 KLRQDSELQAWWKELVEVGHGDKKNEPWWPKMQTREDLIEVCSIVIWTASALHAAVNFGQ 720
KLRQDSELQAWWKELVEVGHGDKKNEPWWPKMQTREDLIEVCSIVIWTASALHAAVNFGQ
Sbjct 661 KLRQDSELQAWWKELVEVGHGDKKNEPWWPKMQTREDLIEVCSIVIWTASALHAAVNFGQ 720
Query 721 YSYGGLILNRPTLSRRFMPEKGSAEFEELVKSPQKAYLKTITPKFQTLIDLSVIEILSRH 780
YSYGGLILNRPTLSRRFMPEKGSAEFEELVKSPQKAYLKTITPKFQTLIDLSVIEILSRH
Sbjct 721 YSYGGLILNRPTLSRRFMPEKGSAEFEELVKSPQKAYLKTITPKFQTLIDLSVIEILSRH 780
Query 781 ASDELYLGERDNPNWTSDKRALEAFKKFGNKLAEIEKKLTQRNNDEKLRNRHGPVEMPYT 840
ASDELYLGERDNPNWTSDKRALEAFKKFGNKLAEIEKKLTQRNNDEKLRNRHGPVEMPYT
Sbjct 781 ASDELYLGERDNPNWTSDKRALEAFKKFGNKLAEIEKKLTQRNNDEKLRNRHGPVEMPYT 840
Query 841 LLYPSSKEGLTFRGIPNSISI 861
LLYPSSKEGLTFRGIPNSISI
Sbjct 841 LLYPSSKEGLTFRGIPNSISI 861
Before the time of filing of the instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Davies to generate a LOX-2 mutant pea plant with reduced LOX-2 lipoxygenase activity by breeding to incorporate site-directed mutagenesis as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Wang’s CRISPR-Cas editing to rapidly and cost-effectively create LOX-free varieties in elite backgrounds of pea. One of ordinary skill would have had reasonable expectation of success because site-directed mutagenesis had been suggested by Davies as a reasonable alternative for generating a LOX-2 mutant in pea.
It would have been obvious to expect that the sequence of the mutagenized LOX-2 pea gene would have had at least 95% sequence identity to the sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 10, because Davies used the Birte variety of pea and Birte LOX-2 has 99% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 10. See alignment above. Although the mutations taught by Wang are in a coding region corresponding to exon 2 in the pea gene, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to create an insertion, or deletion in a coding region such as exon 4 that would cause a frameshift mutation affecting the C-terminus, which was known to be important for catalysis. A deletion located in nucleotides 1521 through 1531 or 1523 through 1530 of SEQ ID NO: 10 (as required by claim 25) would result in such a frame shift mutation, which one of skill in the art would reasonably expect to have a major effect on, if not completely abolish, LOX function.
Thus, the pea plant of instant claims 1, 25, 30 & 36 would have been obvious.
Before the time of filing of the instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Davies to mutate both a LOX-2 and LOX-3 gene in pea. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to mutate both genes, because Wang teaches that LOX-2 and LOX-3 may both play a role in producing beany off flavors and Davies teaches that pea lox-2 null mutants have over expression of lox-3. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success because site-directed mutagenesis had been suggested by Davies as a reasonable alternative for generating a LOX mutant in pea. The lox1:Ps:2 and lox1:Ps:3 genes, which read on lox-2 and lox-3 in pea, share 99% identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 10 and SEQ ID NO: 27 respectively. Thus, the plant of instant claims 91 & 94 would have been obvious. As with LOX-2, a frameshift mutation in exon 4 of LOX-3 would have been expected to impact the C-terminus of the LOX-protein which is required for catalysis. Thus, it would have been obvious for one or more insertion or deletions to be located in the nucleotide region corresponding to exon 4 of the LOX-3 gene (claim 16).
The knockout LOX-2 plant would have improved flavor characteristics (instant claim 88), as suggested by Davies due to reduction of beany flavors in soybean or Forster due to reduction in hexanal. LOX-2 null alleles inherently confer a decreased hexanal phenotype (Forster page 1219, left column, paragraph 1; instant specification, page 131, lines 16-30, table 7). Thus, Forster’s LOX-2 null mutants make obvious a plant wherein the amount of hexanal is reduced relative to a control plant including by at least 70% (instant claims 3 & 85).
Forster’s teachings make it obvious that a lox-2 mutant would have similar yield to wildtype and therefore at least 80% as compared to a control plant or plant part. Frozen peas read on a plant produce and would comprise DNA comprising at least a fragment identical to a fragment of the mutated LOX-2 gene of the LOX-2 null plant. Thus, the pea plants, peas or frozen peas of Davies and Forster in view of Wang make obvious instant (claims 3, 37, 89, and 93).
Claims 1, 3, 16, 25, 30, 36-37, 85, 88, 89, 91, & 93-94 would have been obvious over Davies, Forster, Wang, Hughes and GenBank accession X78580.1 and X78581.1.
Applicant urges that prior art must disclose each and every claim feature (Remarks, page 18, paragraph 5). Applicant urges that claim 1 requires a mutated LOX-2 gene in a nucleotide region corresponding to exon 4 of LOX-2, but Davies, Forster, Wang, and the GenBank references do not disclose, suggest, or predict a plant comprising a LOX-2 exon 4 mutation. Applicant urges that the Specification demonstrates that introducing a mutation into the pea LOX-2 exon 4 can produce a truncated LOX-2 protein and significantly reduce LOX-2 activity, which Applicant urges is surprising in view of Davies, Forster, Wang and GenBank (Remarks, page 18, paragraph 6-page 20, paragraph 1).
This argument is unpersuasive, because a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 does not require that the art disclose every claim feature, only that every claim feature would have been obvious over the teachings of the prior art. The technical effect of the claimed mutation in exon 4 is described as reduced LOX activity, while the mutations taught the art likewise resulted in reduction or knockout of LOX activity. In order to show that the mutation in LOX-2 of the instant claims is non-obvious, Applicant may submit a declaration providing evidence that a plant or plant part comprising the claimed mutation provided surprising or unexpected results in comparison to the mutations in pea LOX genes in other exons or non-coding regions taught in the prior art. Silence in the prior art with respect to a mutation in exon 4 of LOX-2 does not make a mutation in exon 4 in order to reduce LOX-2 activity unexpected, given that the art teaches reduction in LOX-2 activity to have desirable effects.
Applicant urges that Claims 37 and 93 have been amended to require a fragment that comprises the mutation, which makes the claims not obvious over Davies, Forster, Wang and GenBank (Remarks, page 20, paragraph 2).
This argument is unpersuasive, because a mutation in exon 4 would have been obvious, as presented above. In order to show that the specific claimed mutation in LOX-2, LOX-3 or FAD3 is non-obvious, Applicant may submit a declaration providing data that a plant or plant part comprising the claimed mutation provided surprising or unexpected results in light of the prior art. Silence in the prior art with respect to a mutation in exon 4 of LOX-2 does not make a mutation in exon 4 in order to reduce LOX-2 activity unexpected, given that the art teaches reduction in LOX-2 activity to have desirable effects. Rather, Applicant would need to provide evidence that the result of the mutation in exon 4 is unexpected in comparison to the results expected by mutation in other exons taught by the art.
Claim(s) 10, 86 & 87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davies, Forster, and Wang as applied to claims 1, 3, 16, 25, 30, 36-37, 85, 88, 89, 91, & 93-94 above, and further in view of Bilyeu et al (2005) Crop Sci. 45:1830–1836 (published 8/1/2005, hereafter Bilyeu) and Glaser et al (2021) J. Agric. Food Chem. 69, 8768−8776 (published 7/29/2021, hereafter Glaser).
This is a new rejection. Applicant’s remarks filed 6/22/2026 have been considered below as they pertain to the rejection but are not persuasive.
Claims 10, 86 & 87 are drawn to a plant comprising reduced LOX-2 activity and decreased FAD activity and a mutated FAD3 gene comprising one or more insertions, substitutions, or deletions.
The teachings of Davies, Forster, Wang, and Hughes are presented above. They do not teach a mutated FAD3 gene.
Glaser teaches that linolenic acid is a key inducer to bitterness in pea protein extract (abstract), and bitterness is a significant limiting factor for the use of pea-protein isolates for the food processing industry (page 8767, left column, paragraph 1).
Bilyeu teaches that mutations at both FAD3A and FAD3C in soybean lead to a reduction in linolenic acid, and both mutations together result in 2/3 reduction in linolenic acid (page 1833, right column, paragraph 2; figure 3; table 1). Bilyeu teaches a FAD3C mutant allele in soybean with a single nucleotide polymorphism, which reads on a substitution, at base 383 of the coding sequence (page 1832, right column, paragraph 1; figure 2).
Before the time of filing of the instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Davies, Forster, Wang, and Hughes above to additionally mutate a FAD3 gene in pea. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to mutate a FAD3 gene to reduce bitterness flavor in pea. One of ordinary skill would have had reasonable expectation of success, because mutations to FAD3 genes in soybean had accomplished the desired effect.
A plant comprising reduced FAD3 activity and reduced LOX-2 and LOX-3 activity as taught by Bilyeu would have reduced amount of linolenic acid by at least 50% (claim 86). When knocked out in pea, the amount of oleic acid would inherently increase, including by at least by 4% (claims 10, 87).
Thus, claims 1, 3, 10, 16, 25, 30, 36-37, 85-89, 91, & 93-94 above obvious over Davies, Wang, Forster, Hughes, Glaser, and Bilyeu.
Applicant urges that Glaser and Bilyeu do not provide the missing element or rational to select exon 4 as the claimed mutation locus (Remarks, page 20, paragraph 3-page 21, paragraph 3).
This argument is unpersuasive, because the rationale to select exon 4 as a location for a deletion or insertion causing a frameshift mutation would be to alter the C-terminal region necessary for catalytic activity, as presented above. In order to demonstrate that a mutation specifically in exon 4 or the specific mutations listed in claim 25 are non-obvious over the art, Applicant may submit a declaration providing evidence that a plant or plant part comprising the claimed mutation provides surprising or unexpected results in comparison to the mutations in pea LOX genes in other exons or non-coding regions taught in the prior art. Silence in the prior art with respect to a mutation in exon 4 of LOX-2 does not make a mutation in exon 4 in order to reduce LOX-2 activity unexpected, given that the art teaches reduction in LOX-2 activity to have desirable effects.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/VICTORIA L DELEO/ Examiner, Art Unit 1662
/Anne Kubelik/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663