Claims 1-12 and 15-20 are pending.
Claims 13 and 14 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 and 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-6, and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Mach et
al, US 20130295951 A1, in view of Chun et al, US 20090239535 A1, in view of Muller et al, US 20060178158 A1, and in further view of Kazmi et al, US 20110045833 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Mach does disclose an idle mode processing method executable in a user equipment (UE), comprising: determining a UE mobility state of the UE([0032] FIG. 5 step 514, may then determine the mobility state.);
applying a speed scaling factor associated with a low mobility state of the UE to an idle mode processing parameter in response to the UE being in the low mobility state([0026] [0029] When UE is
in an mode and is not actively connected with the base station, the UE may calculate the current speed when 506.),
wherein the idle mode processing parameter is utilized for a criterion for triggering a specific idle mode operation in the idle mode([0029], [0035],[0037] The UE may also determine whether
network has transmitted the speed dependent scaling factors for cell handover parameters (e.g., trigger and measurement report event trigger threshold). When the UE is in an idle mode and is actively connected with the base station, the UE may calculate the current value of the average between cell reselections and determine the UE mobility state and the speed dependent scaling based on the current value.),
and the low mobility state is a state where a speed of the UE is lower than a first speed threshold threshold([0032] The UE may determine a low mobility state when Tbetween_reselection avg is than Thetween_reselections_avg_m The UE may determine a high mobility state when
Thetween_reselection_avy is much smaller than Thetween_reselections_avg_m and, thus, scale the
related mobility parameters (e.q., cell reselection timer, cell reselection hysteresis parameter, trigger,
measurement report event trigger threshold.);
and adjusting the criterion using the speed scaling factor to delay or skip execution of the specific idle mode operation([0033] [0035] The UE may apply the determined speed dependent scaling factors to the mobility parameters at step 516. Therefore, the mobility parameters may be adjusted based on the UE speed. When the UE is in an idle mode and is not actively connected with the base station.),
Mach does not disclose wherein the method further comprises: ignoring all cell reselection priorities assigned to a neighbor cell to perform cell reselection only based on cell ranking in response to the UE being in the low mobility state.
However, Chun does disclose wherein the method further comprises: ignoring all cell reselection priorities assigned to a neighbor cell to perform cell reselection only based on cell ranking in response to the UE being in the low mobility state([0035][0221] FIG. 4 a method of cell selection for
a user equipment (UE), the method comprising the steps of: if hierarchical cell structure (HCS) is used in a serving cell of the UE, when the UE has low mobility, a ranking procedure is performed for all measured cells that have a highest HCS priority among those cells that fulfill a criterion S and a criterion H.gtoreq.0).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach with wherein the method further comprises:
ignoring all cell reselection priorities assigned to a neighbor cell to perform cell reselection only based
on cell ranking in response to the UE being in the low mobility state as taught by Chun. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the cell selection (re-selection) procedures such that the occurrence of out-of-service situations is reduced. (Chun, [0017]),
Mach and Chun do not disclose wherein the idle mode processing parameter comprises a cell hysteresis value Qy,, for cell ranking criteria, the speed scaling factor comprises a speed dependent scaling factor for the cell hysteresis value Q,, the method further comprises: adjusting the cell hysteresis value Qs,, using the selected speed dependent scaling factor to generate adjusted cell hysteresis value Q, increasing a cell ranking criterion R. derived from the adjusted cell hysteresis value Qa,, in response to the UE being in the low mobility state.
However, Muller does disclose wherein the idle mode processing parameter comprises a cell hysteresis value Qy,, for cell ranking criteria, the speed scaling factor comprises a speed dependent scaling factor for the cell hysteresis value Q,([0026] The risk of changing cells back and forth a multitude of times is known in the art to be reduced by introduction of hysteresis and offset as illustrated in FIG. 2, by ranking levels <<Ra>>, <<Rn>>. The ranking level of the serving cell <<Ra>> is obtained by adding a fixed hysteresis level of the serving cell to the measured quality <<Qmeas,s>>. Correspondingly, ranking of the neighboring cell <<Rn>> is achieved by reducing the measured quality <<Qmeas,n>> by a time independent offset and an offset or penalty dependent on time elapsed since the latest cell (re-)selection. Comparing rankings, cell (re-)selection will take place at boundary <P2>> where ranking of serving cell <<Rs>> equals ranking of neighboring cell <<Rn>>.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach and Chun with wherein the idle mode processing parameter comprises a cell hysteresis value Qy,, for cell ranking criteria, the speed scaling factor comprises a speed dependent scaling factor for the cell hysteresis value Q,, as taught by Muller. The motivation for doing so would be to reducing the risk of excessive transmission power and time for call setup. (Muller, [0008]),
Mach Chun, and Muller do not disclose the method further comprises: adjusting the cell hysteresis value Qs,, using the selected speed dependent scaling factor to generate adjusted cell hysteresis value Q, increasing a cell ranking criterion R. derived from the adjusted cell hysteresis value Qa,, in response to the UE being in the low mobility state.
However, Kazmi does disclose the method further comprises: adjusting the cell hysteresis value Qs,, using the selected speed dependent scaling factor to generate adjusted cell hysteresis value Q([0037] The scaling is enforced by the network by signalling a parameter called “speed-dependent scaling factor”. The speed, in turn, is measured in terms of the number of cell reselection, i.e., cell change.),
increasing a cell ranking criterion R. derived from the adjusted cell hysteresis value Qa,, in response to the UE being in the low mobility state([0129] The method steps in the wireless terminal 110, for being configured by the base station 130 for performing a cell reselection or handover evaluation process “evaluation process”. The mobility parameters may e.g. be any one or more of time average window, Treselection, Qhyst, time hysteresis and/or signal hysteresis.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach Chun and Muller with the method further comprises: adjusting the cell hysteresis value Qs,, using the selected speed dependent scaling factor to generate adjusted cell hysteresis value Q, increasing a cell ranking criterion R. derived from the adjusted cell hysteresis value Qa,, in response to the UE being in the low mobility state as taught by Kazmi. The motivation for doing so would be too further improve the speed-dependent cell reselection procedure as described below. (Kazmi, [0038]),
Regarding claim 3, Mach does disclose the idle mode processing method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the speed dependent scaling factor for the inter/interRAT frequency measurement time interval comprises one value in a set of scaling factors([0029][0039] ([0029] [0039] The time-to-trigger parameter time period that the UE has to wait before sending a measurement report to the base station when neighboring cell is detected with better signal quality or strength. Different speed dependent factors may be used based on the determined speed of the UEs. The scaling factor for Treselection may be set to 0.5 when the UE speed is within a range of 60-130 km per hour.),
and the method further comprises: selecting a greater value in the set of the scaling factors in response to the speed of the UE being lower than a second speed threshold([0036] This process
increase the granularity of the speed dependent scaling factors resulting in a higher resolution.);
and selecting a smaller value in the set of the scaling factors in response to the speed of the UE being greater than a third speed threshold([0032] The UE may determine a high mobility state
Tbetween_reselection_avg is much smaller than Thetween_reselections_avg_m. and, thus, scale the
related mobility parameters (e.q., cell reselection timer, cell reselection hysteresis parameter, trigger,
measurement report event trigger threshold). An example of determining the speed dependent has to
with the speed is in may when scaling factors is described in connection with FIG. 7.).
Regarding claim 6, Mach does disclose the idle mode processing method wherein the speed dependent scaling factor for the cell measurement time interval comprises one value in a set of scaling factors([0029] [0039] The time-to-trigger parameter determines a time period that the UE has to wait before sending a measurement report to the base station when a neighboring cell is detected with better signal quality or strength. Different speed dependent scaling factors may be used based on the determined speed of the UEs. The scaling factor for Treselection may be set to 0.5 when the UE sped is within a range of60-130 km per hour.),
and the method further comprises: selecting a greater value in the set of the scaling factors in response to the speed of the UE being lower than a second speed threshold([0036] This process
increase the granularity of the speed dependent scaling factors resulting in a higher resolution.);
and selecting a smaller value in the set of the scaling factors in response to the speed of the UE being greater than a third speed threshold([0032] The UE may determine a high mobility state
Tbhetween_reselection_avg is much smaller than Thetween_reselections_avg_m and, thus, scale down time to the related mobility parameters (e.q., cell reselection timer, cell reselection hysteresis parameter, trigger, measurement report event trigger threshold). An example of determining the speed dependent speed scaling dependent scaling factors is described in connection with FIG. 7.).
Regarding claim 10, Mach does disclose the idle mode processing method wherein the speed dependent scaling factor for the cell reselection time interval comprises one value in a set of scaling factors([0029] The UE may also determine whether the network has transmitted the speed scaling
factors for cell handover parameters (e.g., time-to-trigger and measurement report event trigger in may when down "central determine threshold.),
and the method further comprises: selecting a greater value in the set of the scaling factors in response to the speed of the UE being lower than a second speed threshold([0036] This process
increase the granularity of the speed dependent scaling factors resulting in a higher resolution.);
and selecting a smaller value in the set of the scaling factors in response to the speed of the UE being greater than a third speed threshold([0032] The UE may determine a high mobility state
Tbetween_reselection_avg is much smaller than Tbetween_reselections_avg_m and, thus, scale the
related mobility parameters (e.qg., cell reselection timer, cell reselection hysteresis parameter, timetotrigger, measurement report event trigger threshold). An example of determining the speed dependent scaling factors is described in connection with FIG. 7.).
Regarding claim 19, Mach does disclose a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processor configured to execute operations([0026] the processing unit 402 can include one or more processing components (alternatively referred to as "processors" or processing units (CPUs)") configured to execute instructions),
wherein the operations comprise: determining a UE mobility state of the UE([0032] FIG. 5 step
514, the UE may then determine the mobility state.);
applying a speed scaling factor associated with a low mobility state of the UE to an idle mode processing parameter in response to the UE being in the low mobility state([0026] [0029] When the
and the state UE is in an idle mode and is not actively connected with the base station, the UE may
calculate the current value of the average time between cell reselections and determine the UE mobility state speed dependent scaling factors based on the current value. The UE may determine a low mobility when Thetween_reselection avg is greater than Thetween_reselections_avg_m. The UE may determine whether the network transmitted speed dependent scaling factors for mobility parameters at step 506.),
wherein the idle mode processing parameter is utilized for a criterion for triggering a specific idle mode operation in the idle mode([0029], [0035], [0037] The UE may also determine whether
network has transmitted the speed dependent scaling factors for cell handover parameters (e.g., trigger and measurement report event trigger threshold). When the UE is in an idle mode and is actively connected with the base station, the UE may calculate the current value of the average between cell reselections and determine the UE mobility state and the speed dependent scaling based on the current value. The time-to-trigger parameter determines a time period that the UE wait before sending a measurement report to the base station when a neighboring cell is detected better signal quality or strength.),
and the low mobility state is a state where a speed of the UE is lower than a first speed threshold([0032] The UE may determine a low mobility state when Thetween_reselection avg is than
Thetween_reselections_avg_m. The UE may determine a high mobility state when down Tbetween_reselection_avg is much smaller than Thbetween_reselections_avg_mand, thus, scale the
related mobility parameters (e.q., cell reselection timer, cell reselection hysteresis parameter, time to
specific factors on trigger, measurement report event trigger threshold.);
adjusting the criterion using the speed scaling factor to delay or skip execution of the specific idle mode operation([0033] [0035] The UE may apply the determined speed dependent scaling to the
mobility parameters at step 516. Therefore, the mobility parameters may be adjusted based the UE
speed. When the UE is in an idle mode and is not actively connected with the base station.);
Mach does not disclose and ignoring all cell reselection priorities assigned to a neighbor cell to perform cell reselection only based on cell ranking in response to the UE being in the low mobility states
However, Chun does disclose and ignoring all cell reselection priorities assigned to a neighbor cell to perform cell reselection only based on cell ranking in response to the UE being in the low mobility states([0035][0221] FIG. 4 a method of cell selection for a user equipment (UE), the method comprising the steps of: if hierarchical cell structure (HCS) is used in a serving cell of the UE, when the UE has low mobility, a ranking procedure is performed for all measured cells that have a highest HCS priority among those cells that fulfill a criterion S and a criterion H.gtoreq.0).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach with wherein the method further comprises:
ignoring all cell reselection priorities assigned to a neighbor cell to perform cell reselection only based
on cell ranking in response to the UE being in the low mobility state as taught by Chun. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the cell selection (re-selection) procedures such that the occurrence of out-of-service situations is reduced. (Chun, [0017]),
Mach and Chun do not disclose wherein the idle mode processing parameter comprises a cell hysteresis value Qy,, for cell ranking criteria, the speed scaling factor comprises a speed dependent scaling factor for the cell hysteresis value Q,, the operations further comprise:
adjusting the cell hysteresis value Qy,, using the selected speed dependent scaling factor to generate adjusted cell hysteresis value Qm
increasing a cell ranking criterion R. derived from the adjusted cell hysteresis value Qa,, in response to the UE being in the low mobility state.
However, Muller does disclose wherein the idle mode processing parameter comprises a cell hysteresis value Qy,, for cell ranking criteria, the speed scaling factor comprises a speed dependent scaling factor for the cell hysteresis value Q, ([0026] The risk of changing cells back and forth a multitude of times is known in the art to be reduced by introduction of hysteresis and offset as illustrated in FIG. 2, by ranking levels <<Ra>>, <<Rn>>. The ranking level of the serving cell <<Ra>> is obtained by adding a fixed hysteresis level of the serving cell to the measured quality <<Qmeas,s>>. Correspondingly, ranking of the neighboring cell <<Rn>> is achieved by reducing the measured quality <<Qmeas,n>> by a time independent offset and an offset or penalty dependent on time elapsed since the latest cell (re-)selection. Comparing rankings, cell (re-)selection will take place at boundary <P2>> where ranking of serving cell <<Rs>> equals ranking of neighboring cell <<Rn>>.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach and Chun with wherein the idle mode processing parameter comprises a cell hysteresis value Qy,, for cell ranking criteria, the speed scaling factor comprises a speed dependent scaling factor for the cell hysteresis value Q, as taught by Muller. The motivation for doing so would be to reducing the risk of excessive transmission power and time for call setup. (Muller, [0008]),
Mach Chun and Muller do not disclose the operations further comprise:adjusting the cell hysteresis value Qy,, using the selected speed dependent scaling factor to generate adjusted cell hysteresis value Qm increasing a cell ranking criterion R. derived from the adjusted cell hysteresis value Qa,, in response to the UE being in the low mobility state.
However, Kazmi does disclose the operations further comprise:adjusting the cell hysteresis value Qy,, using the selected speed dependent scaling factor to generate adjusted cell hysteresis value Qm ([0037] The scaling is enforced by the network by signalling a parameter called “speed-dependent scaling factor”. The speed, in turn, is measured in terms of the number of cell reselection, i.e., cell change.),
increasing a cell ranking criterion R. derived from the adjusted cell hysteresis value Qa,, in response to the UE being in the low mobility state ([0129] The method steps in the wireless terminal 110, for being configured by the base station 130 for performing a cell reselection or handover evaluation process “evaluation process”. The mobility parameters may e.g. be any one or more of time average window, Treselection, Qhyst, time hysteresis and/or signal hysteresis.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach Chun and Muller with the operations further comprise:adjusting the cell hysteresis value Qy,, using the selected speed dependent scaling factor to generate adjusted cell hysteresis value Qm increasing a cell ranking criterion R. derived from the adjusted cell hysteresis value Qa,, in response to the UE being in the low mobility state.as taught by Kazmi. The motivation for doing so would be too further improve the speed-dependent cell reselection procedure as described below. (Kazmi, [0038]),
Regarding claim 20, Mach does disclose a chip, comprising: a processor, configured to call and run a computer program stored in a memory, to cause a device in which the chip is installed to execute a method comprises([0026] The processing unit 402 may also include other auxiliary components, such as random access memory (RAM) and read only memory (ROM). The computer readable storage medium 404 can store an operating system (OS) of the device 400 and various other computer executable), and the method comprises:
applying a speed scaling factor associated with a low mobility state of a user equipment (UE) to an idle mode processing parameter in response to the UE is in the low mobility state ([0026] [0029] When the UE is in an idle and is not actively connected with the base station, the UE may calculate current value of the average time between cell reselections and determine the UE mobility state speed dependent scaling factors based on the current value. The UE may determine a low mobility when Tbetween_reselection avg is greater than Thetween_reselections_avg_ The UE may determine whether the network transmitted speed dependent scaling factors for mobility parameters at step 506.),,
wherein the idle mode processing parameter is utilized for a criterion for triggering a specific idle mode operation in the idle mode ([0029], [0035], [0037] The UE may also determine whether
network has transmitted the speed dependent scaling factors for cell handover parameters (e.g., to trigger and measurement report event trigger threshold). When the UE is in an idle mode and is actively connected with the base station, the UE may calculate the current value of the average between cell reselections and determine the UE mobility state and the speed dependent scaling based on the current value. The time-to-trigger parameter determines a time period that the UE wait before sending a measurement report to the base station when a neighboring cell is detected better signal quality or strength.),
and the low mobility state is a state where a speed of the UE is lower than a first speed threshold ([0029] [0037] Higher or ipwer resolutions for the scaling factors may be usedfor each mobility state as well. The UE may also determine whether the network has transmitted the speed dependent scaling factors for cell handover parameters (e.g., time-to-trigger and measurement report event trigger threshold.);
adjusting the criterion using the speed scaling factor to delay or skip execution of the specific idle mode operation ([0029], [0035], [0037] Different scaling factors or operations may be used for mobility state. The UE may also determine whether the network has transmitted the speed scaling
factors for cell handover parameters (e.g., time-to-trigger and measurement report event threshold.
When the UE is in an idle mode and is not actively connected with the base station.);
Mach does not disclose and ignoring all cell reselection priorities assigned to a neighbor cell to perform cell reselection only based on cell ranking in response to the UE being in the low mobility states
However, Chun does disclose and ignoring all cell reselection priorities assigned to a neighbor cell to perform cell reselection only based on cell ranking in response to the UE being in the low mobility state([0035][0221] FIG. 4 a method of cell selection for a user equipment (UE), the method comprising the steps of: if hierarchical cell structure (HCS) is used in a serving cell of the UE, when the UE has low mobility, a ranking procedure is performed for all measured cells that have a highest HCS priority among those cells that fulfill a criterion S and a criterion H.gtoreq.0).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach with wherein the method further comprises:
ignoring all cell reselection priorities assigned to a neighbor cell to perform cell reselection only based
on cell ranking in response to the UE being in the low mobility state as taught by Chun. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the cell selection (re-selection) procedures such that the occurrence of out-of-service situations is reduced. (Chun, [0017]),
Mach and Chun do not disclose wherein the idle mode processing parameter comprises a cell hysteresis value Qy,, for cell ranking criteria, the speed scaling factor comprises a speed dependent scaling factor for the cell hysteresis value Q,,
However, Muller does disclose wherein the idle mode processing parameter comprises a cell hysteresis value Qy,, for cell ranking criteria, the speed scaling factor comprises a speed dependent scaling factor for the cell hysteresis value Q, ([0026] The risk of changing cells back and forth a multitude of times is known in the art to be reduced by introduction of hysteresis and offset as illustrated in FIG. 2, by ranking levels <<Ra>>, <<Rn>>. The ranking level of the serving cell <<Ra>> is obtained by adding a fixed hysteresis level of the serving cell to the measured quality <<Qmeas,s>>. Correspondingly, ranking of the neighboring cell <<Rn>> is achieved by reducing the measured quality <<Qmeas,n>> by a time independent offset and an offset or penalty dependent on time elapsed since the latest cell (re-)selection. Comparing rankings, cell (re-)selection will take place at boundary <P2>> where ranking of serving cell <<Rs>> equals ranking of neighboring cell <<Rn>>.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach and Chun with wherein the idle mode processing parameter comprises a cell hysteresis value Qy,, for cell ranking criteria, the speed scaling factor comprises a speed dependent scaling factor for the cell hysteresis value Q, as taught by Muller. The motivation for doing so would be to reducing the risk of excessive transmission power and time for call setup. (Muller, [0008]),
Mach Chun and Muller do not disclose the method further comprises:adjusting the cell hysteresis value Qy,, using the selected speed dependent scaling factor to generate adjusted cell hysteresis value Qh-,mt; increasing a cell ranking criterion R. derived from the adjusted cell hysteresis value Qa,, in response to the UE being in the low mobility state.
However, Kazmi does disclose the method further comprises:adjusting the cell hysteresis value Qy,, using the selected speed dependent scaling factor to generate adjusted cell hysteresis value Qh-,mt([0037] The scaling is enforced by the network by signalling a parameter called “speed-dependent scaling factor”. The speed, in turn, is measured in terms of the number of cell reselection, i.e., cell change.),;
increasing a cell ranking criterion R. derived from the adjusted cell hysteresis value Qa,, in response to the UE being in the low mobility state([0129] The method steps in the wireless terminal 110, for being configured by the base station 130 for performing a cell reselection or handover evaluation process “evaluation process”. The mobility parameters may e.g. be any one or more of time average window, Treselection, Qhyst, time hysteresis and/or signal hysteresis.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach Chun and Muller with the method further comprises:adjusting the cell hysteresis value Qy,, using the selected speed dependent scaling factor to generate adjusted cell hysteresis value Qh-,mt; increasing a cell ranking criterion R. derived from the adjusted cell hysteresis value Qa,, in response to the UE being in the low mobility state as taught by Kazmi. The motivation for doing so would be too further improve the speed-dependent cell reselection procedure as described below. (Kazmi, [0038]),
Claims 2,4,5,8,9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Mach et
al, US 20130295951 A1, in view of Chun et al, US 20090239535 A1, in view of Muller et al, US 20060178158 A1, in view of Kazmi et al, US 20110045833 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Johansson et al, US 20180332532 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Mach does disclose the idle mode processing method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the idle mode processing parameter comprises an inter/interRAT frequency measurement time interval ([0035] [0039] When the UE is in an idle mode and is not actively connected with the base station, the UE UE factor for may calculate the current value of the average time between cell reselections and determine the mobility state and the speed dependent scaling factors based on the current value. Different speed dependent scaling factors may be used based on the determined speed of the UES. The scaling Treselection may be set to 0.5 when the UE speed is within a range of60-130 km per hour.),,
Mach, Chun, Muller and Kazmi do not disclose the speed scaling factor comprises a speed dependent scaling factor for the inter/interRAT frequency measurement time interval, the method further comprises: extending an inter/interRAT frequency measurement pace derived from the inter/interRAT frequency measurement time interval in response to the UE being in the low mobility state.
However, Johansson does disclose the speed scaling factor comprises a speed dependent scaling factor for the inter/interRAT frequency measurement time interval ([0024] [0029] The UE
fulfills no or very relaxed inter-frequency or inter-RAT requirements. The UE fulfills detection and
measurement requirements for mobility. UE can also perform neighbor cell measurement and cell
reselection. UE 401 performs serving cell measurements based on predefined periodicity, e.g., the DRX cycle. Typically, if the serving cell is below certain threshold, UE measures neighbor cell.),,
the method further comprises: extending an inter/interRAT frequency measurement pace derived from the inter/interRAT frequency measurement time interval in response to the UE being in the low mobility state ([0024] [0029] The UEfulfills no or very relaxed inter-frequency or inter-RAT
requirements. The UEfulfills detection and measurement requirements for mobility. UE can also
neighbor cell measurement and cell reselection. UE 401 performs serving cell measurements based
predefined periodicity, e.g., the DRX cycle. Typically, if the serving cell is below certain threshold,
measures neighbor cell. UE 401 detects that it is stationary or almost stationary and switches to
stationary mobility state.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the
claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach, Chun, Muller, and Kazmi with the speed scaling factor comprises
a speed dependent scaling factor for the inter/interRAT frequency measurement time interval, the
method further comprises: extending an inter/interRAT frequency measurement pace derived from
the inter/interRAT frequency measurement time interval in response to the UE being in the low
mobility state as taught by Johansson. The motivation for doing so would be to save power, by further
state fulfills keeping DRX in connected mode with short awake times and long sleep cycles. (Johansson,
[0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Mach, Chun, and Muller do not disclose the idle mode processing method further comprising: stopping idle inter/interRAT frequency measurement in response to the UE being in a stationary state.
However, Johansson does disclose the idle mode processing method further comprising: stopping idle inter/interRAT frequency measurement in response to the UE being in a stationary state ([0024] [0029] The UEfulfills no or very relaxed interfrequency or inter-RAT requirements. The UE fulfils detection and measurement requirements for mobility. UE can also perform neighbor cell measurement and cell reselection. UE 401 performs serving cell measurements based on predefined periodicity, e.g., UE the DRX cycle).. Typically, if the serving cell is below certain threshold, UE measures neighbor cell. UE 401 in power detects that it is stationary or almost stationary and switches to stationary mobility state. But for limited or stationary mobility state, UE may reduce or stop neighbor cell measurement to save power.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach, Chun, Muller, and Kazmi with the idle mode processing method further comprising: stopping idle inter/interRAT frequency measurement in response to the UE being in a stationary state as taught by Johansson. The motivation for doing so would be to save power, by keeping DRX in connected mode with short awake times and long sleep cycles. [0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Mach does disclose the idle mode processing method wherein the idle mode processing parameter comprises a cell measurement time interval([0035] [0039] When the UE is in an idle mode and is not actively connected with the base station, the UE may calculate the current value of the average time between cell reselections. The scaling factorfor Treselection may be set to 0.5 when the UE speed is within a range of60-130 km per hour.),,
the speed scaling factor comprises a speed dependent scaling factor for the cell measurement time interval ([0029] The UE may also determine whether the network has transmitted the speed
dependent scaling factors for cell handover parameters (e.g., time-to-trigger and measurement report event trigger threshold.),,
Mach, Chun, Muller, and Kazmi do not disclose the method further comprises: extending a cell measurement pace derived from the cell measurement time interval in response to the UE being in the low mobility state.
However, Johansson does disclose the method further comprises: extending a cell measurement pace derived from the cell measurement time interval in response to the UE being in the low mobility state ([0024] [0029] The UE fulfills no or very relaxed inter-frequency or inter-RAT
requirements. The UE fulfills detection and is measurement requirements for mobility. UE can also
perform neighbor cell measurement and cell reselection. UE 401 performs serving cell measurements
based on predefined periodicity, e.g., the DRX cycle. Typically, if the serving cell is below certain
threshold, UE measures neighbor cell. UE 401 detects that it is stationary or almost stationary and
switches to stationary mobility state.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach, Chun, Muller, and Kazmi with the method further comprises: extending a cell measurement pace derived from the cell measurement time interval in response to the UE being in the low mobility state as taught by Johansson. The motivation for doing so would be to save power, by keeping DRX in connected mode with short awake times and long sleep cycles.(Johansson, [0004]).
Regarding claim 8, Mach, Chun, Muller,and Kazmi do not disclose the idle mode processing method further comprising: stopping cell measurement in response to the UE being in a stationary state.
However, Johansson does disclose the idle mode processing method further comprising: stopping cell measurement in response to the UE being in a stationary state([0024] UE can also perform neighbor cell measurement and cell reselection. But for UE in limited or stationary state, UE may reduce or stop neighbor cell measurement to save power.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach, Chun, Muller, and Kazmi with the idle mode processing method, further comprising: stopping cell measurement in response to the UE being in a stationary state as taught by Johansson. The motivation for doing so would be to save power, by keeping DRX connected mode with short awake times and long sleep cycles. (Johansson, [0004]).
Regarding claim 9, Mach does disclose the idle mode processing method wherein the idle mode processing parameter comprises a cell reselection time interval ([0035] [0039] When the UE an
idle mode and is not actively connected with the base station, the UE may calculate the current of the
average time between cell reselections and determine the UE mobility state and the speed dependent
scaling factors based on the current value. The scaling factor for Treselection may be set to 0.5 when the UE speed is within a range of 60-130 km per hour.),
the speed scaling factor comprises a speed dependent scaling factor for the cell reselection time interval ([0029] [0033] The UE may also determine whether the network has transmitted the speed report between mobility dependent scaling factors for cell handover parameters (e.g., time-to-trigger and measurement event trigger threshold). The UE may periodically update the current value of the average time cell reselections based on the recent history of the UE cell reselections and re-determine the state and speed dependent scaling factors.),
Mach, Chun, Muller,and Kazmi do not disclose the method further comprises: extending a cell reselection pace derived from the cell reselection time interval in response to the UE being in the low mobility state.
However, Johansson does disclose the method further comprises: extending a cell reselection pace derived from the cell reselection time interval in response to the UE being in the low mobility state ([0024] [0029] In extended DRX (eDRX), the UE would limit pre-wakeup, only do cell reselection at a first pre-wakeup, potentially do cell reselection during Paging Time Window (PTW). The UE fulfills detection and measurement requirements for mobility. UE can also perform neighbor cell measurement and cell reselection. UE 401 performs serving cell measurements based on predefined periodicity, e.g., of response be the DRX cycle. Typically, if the serving cell is below certain threshold, UE measures neighbor cell.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach Chun Muller and Kazmi with the method further comprises: extending a cell reselection pace derived from the cell reselection time interval in to the UE being in the low mobility state as taught by Johansson. The motivation for doing so would to save power, by keeping DRX in connected mode with short awake times and long sleep cycles. (Johansson, [0004]).
Regarding claim 18, Mach, Chun, Muller and Kazmi do not disclose the idle mode processing method further comprising: skipping wake-up of the UE in response to the UE being scheduled to skip a paging occasion and needs not to perform inter/interRAT frequency measurement and cell measurement in a next wake-up.
However, Johansson does disclose the idle mode processing method further comprising: skipping wake-up of the UE in response to the UE being scheduled to skip a paging occasion and needs not to perform inter/interRAT frequency measurement and cell measurement in a next wake-up ([0008], [0024], [0029] In extended DRX (eDRX), the UE would limit pre-wakeup, only do cell reselection UE performs serving almost ofskip save (Johansson, at a first pre-wakeup, potentially do cell reselection during Paging Time Window (PTW). wakeup sequence (with less wakeup time) mainly affect paging performance via UE implementations. The UE would not wake up to do cell reselection or to account for system information (SI) re-check before paging. The UE fulfills no or very relaxed inter-frequency or inter-RAT requirements. UE 401 performs serving cell measurements based on predefined periodicity, e.g., the DRX cycle. Typically, if the serving cell is below certain threshold, UE measures neighbor cell. UE 401 detects that it is stationary or almost stationary and switches to stationary mobility state.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach, Chun, Muller and Kazmi with the idle mode processing method further comprising: skipping wake-up of the UE in response to the UE being scheduled to skip a paging occasion and needs not to perform inter/interRAT frequency measurement and cell measurement in a next wake-up as taught by Johansson. The motivation for doing so would be to power, by keeping DRX in connected mode with short awake times and long sleep cycles. [0004]).
Claim 7,11, and 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Mach et al,
20130295951 A1, in view of Chun et al, US 20090239535 A1, in view of Muller et al, US 20060178158 A1, in view of Kazmi et al, US 20110045833 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Ueda et al, US 20150208301 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Mach, Chun, Muller and Kazmi do not disclose the idle mode processing method the speed dependent scaling factor for the cell measurement time interval comprises one value in a set {2, 4, 8}.
However, Ueda does disclose the idle mode processing method the speed dependent scaling factor for the cell measurement time interval comprises one value in a set {2, 4, 8} ([0067] the values
of the speed dependent scaling factor t-ReselectionEUTRA-SF can be defined as values in increments of 0.25 within a range from a minimum of0.25 to a maximum of 100.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach, Chun, Muller and Kazmi with the idle mode processing method the speed dependent scaling factor for the cell measurement time interval comprises one value in a set {2, 4, 8} as taught by Ueda. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the capacity to handle mobile traffic rapidly increasing due to the popularization of mobile phones, particularly, smart phones. (Ueda, [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Mach, Chun, Muller and Kazmi do not disclose the idle mode processing method wherein the cell reselection pace is obtained from the cell reselection time interval multiplied by the speed dependent scaling factor.
However, Ueda does disclose the idle mode processing method wherein the cell reselection pace is obtained from the cell reselection time interval multiplied by the speed dependent scaling factor ([0016] The determination time at the time of high-speed movement can be varied by multiplying T_reselection, which is the determination time for cell reselection, by Speed dependent Scaling Factor for Treselection.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
would the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach, Chun, Muller and Kazmi with the idle mode processing wherein the cell reselection pace is obtained from the cell reselection time interval multiplied by the speed dependent scaling factor as taught by Ueda. The motivation for doing so be to increase the capacity to handle mobile traffic rapidly increasing due to the popularization of mobile phones, particularly, smart phones. (Ueda, [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, Mach, Chun, Muller and Kazmi do not disclose the idle mode processing method wherein the cell reselection time interval comprises Treselection NR or TreselectionEUTRA.
However, Ueda does disclose the idle mode processing method wherein the cell reselection
time interval comprises Treselection NR or TreselectionEUTRA ([0050] The mobility determination
control section 103 calculates a cell reselection timer (T_reselection) for the best cell by using a cell
scaling of traffic reselection timer (tReselectionEUTRA) corresponding to this best cell and one speeddependentfactor (tReselectionEUTRA-SF.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the
claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach, Chun, Muller and Kazmi with the idle mode processing method wherein the cell reselection time interval comprises Treselection NR or TreselectionEUTRA as taught by Ueda. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the capacity to handle mobile rapidly
increasing due to the popularization of mobile phones, particularly, smart phones. (Ueda, [0003]).
Claims 15-16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Mach et al, US
20130295951 A1, in view of Chun et al, US 20090239535 A1, in view of Muller et al, US 20060178158 A1, in view of Kazmi et al, US 20110045833 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Somasundaram et al, US 20080227453 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Mach does disclose the method further comprises: selecting a greater value in the set of the scaling factors in response to the speed of the UE being lower than a second speed threshold([0036] this process may increase the granularity of the speed dependent scaling
resulting in a higher resolution.);
and selecting a smaller value in the set of the scaling factors in response to the speed of the UE being greater than a third speed threshold([0032] The UE may determine a high mobility state when Tbetween_reselection_avg is much smaller than Tbetween_reselections_avg_m_and, thus, scale down the related mobility parameters (e.g., cell reselection timer, cell reselection hysteresis parameter, timeto-trigger, measurement report event trigger threshold). An example of determining the speed dependent scaling factors is described in connection with FIG. 7.)..
Mach, Chun, Muller and Kazmi do not disclose the idle mode processing method wherein the speed dependent scaling factor for the cell hysteresis value Qayst comprises one value in a set of scaling factors,
However, Somasundaram does disclose the idle mode processing method wherein the speed dependent scaling factor for the cell hysteresis value Qayst comprises one value in a set of scaling factors ([0117] scaling factors for a respective parameter and Q.sub.offset2 is an offset value based on RSCP, Q.sub.hyst is a factor used in ranking based on the hysteresis of the cell.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
one the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach, Chun, Muller and Kazmi with the idle mode processing method wherein the speed dependent scaling factor for the cell hysteresis value Qayst comprises value in a set of scaling factors as taught by Somasundaram. The motivation for doing so would be to of the reselection based on of ensure that the UE camps on/connects to the best cell in terms of radio condition, e.g., path loss, received reference signal power, or received reference symbol Es/lo. (Somasundaram, [0030]),
Regarding claim 16, Mach, Chun, Muller and Kazmi do not disclose the idle mode processing method wherein the cell ranking criterion Rs is obtained by: Rs=Qmeas +Qhyst; Qmeas represents RSRP measurement quantity used in cell reselection.
However, Somasundaram does disclose the idle mode processing method, wherein the cell
ranking criterion Rn is obtained by([0116] there may be different scaling factors (weights) to each ranking parameters and the equations for ranking become: Rank.sub.-s):
Rs=Qmeas +Qayst ([0117] There may be different scalingfactors (weights) to each of the
ranking parameters and the equations for ranking become: Rank.sub.s=RSRQ.sub.s+Q.sub.hyst.+
Q.sub.offMBMS Equation (11) for servicing cells);
Qmeas represents RSRP measurement quantity used in cell reselection ([0119] cell process
700 is shown in FIG. 7 where the network establishes priorities. Ranking is performed the results of the signal power and quality measurements.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
one the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach, Chun, Muller and Kazmi with the idle mode processing method wherein the speed dependent scaling factor for the cell hysteresis value Qayst comprises value in a set of scaling factors as taught by Somasundaram. The motivation for doing so would be to ensure of the reselection based on of ensure that the UE camps on/connects to the best cell in terms of radio condition, e.g., path loss, received reference signal power, or received reference symbol Es/lo. (Somasundaram, [0030]),
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Mach et al, US
20130295951 A1, in view of Chun et al, US 20090239535 A1, in view of Muller et al, US 20060178158 A1 ,in view of Kazmi et al, US 20110045833 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Deivasigamani et al, US 20130210420 A1.
Regarding claim 17, Mach, Chun, Muller and Kazmi do not does disclose the idle mode processing further comprising: skipping M of N paging occasions; or skipping M of N paging occasions randomly.
However, Deivasigamani does disclose the idle mode processing further comprising: skipping M
of N paging occasions; or skipping M of N paging occasions randomly ([0068] Low power mode is
characterized by skipping one or more DRX cycles. A mobile device only powers on for a subset ofall
paging occasions (PO).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the
claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mach, Chun, and Muller with the idle mode processing method further comprising: skipping M of N paging occasions; or skipping M of N paging occasions randomly as taught by Deivasigamani. The motivation for doing so would be to improve methods apparatus for reducing power consumption in all areas. (Deivasigamani, [0008]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419