DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a first embodiment of Wruck et al. US 20170283240 A1 in view of Rosine et al. US 20070045502 A1, a second embodiment of Wruck et al. US 20170283240 A1, Nohmi US 11975225 B2, and Caamano et al. US 7810751 B2.
Regarding independent claim 1, a first embodiment of Wruck et al. discloses [a liquid product delivery system supportable on a deck 1601 of a liquid product transport vehicle 1600 having a liquid product vessel 1610,] (Fig. 14; Paragraph 0069) [the liquid product delivery system comprising: a liquid product reel frame 1740 configured to rotatably support a liquid product delivery hose 1742 on a horizontal axis,] (Fig. 16; Paragraph 0070) [said liquid product reel frame having a fluid coupler 1712 configured to be in fluid communication with said liquid product delivery hose,] (Fig. 15; Paragraph 0070) [a swivel 1725, said swivel fluidly coupling said conduit assembly to said fluid coupler,] (Fig. 14-16; Paragraph 0071; As shown in Fig. 14-16; Wruck illustrates one side of the swivel 1725 being directly coupled to the meter 1710 which is further attached to the fluid coupler 1712. Another side of the swivel is coupled to conduits 1724 and 1726. Therefore, the swivel indirectly couples the conduit assembly to the fluid coupler.)
The first embodiment of Wruck et al. does not disclose said coupler being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit, said coupler conduit including a lateral portion disposed to a lateral side of said liquid product reel frame; a turntable supported on said deck, said turntable supporting said liquid product reel frame such that said liquid product reel frame is pivotable about a turntable axis, wherein said coupler conduit includes a lower portion extending away from said turntable axis and toward said lateral portion; a conduit assembly disposed at least partially below a surface of said deck, said conduit assembly being in fluid communication with the liquid product vessel; and wherein said swivel has a first portion coupled to said turntable, said swivel has a second portion coupled to said conduit assembly, wherein said first portion is pivotally coupled to said second portion such that said first portion is pivotable about a swivel axis, wherein said swivel axis is coaxial with said turntable axis.
Rosine et al. teaches [a turntable 204 supported on said deck, said turntable supporting said liquid product reel frame such that said liquid product reel frame is pivotable about a turntable axis.] (Fig. 3; Paragraph 0041)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the turntable of Rosine et al. with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for controlled and adjustable rotational movement of the reel frame about the turntable axis, thus improving the flexibility and maneuverability of the liquid product delivery hose during operation.
The first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, does not disclose said coupler being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit, said coupler conduit including a lateral portion disposed to a lateral side of said liquid product reel frame; wherein said coupler conduit includes a lower portion extending away from said turntable axis and toward said lateral portion; a conduit assembly disposed at least partially below a surface of said deck, said conduit assembly being in fluid communication with the liquid product vessel; and wherein said swivel has a first portion coupled to said turntable, said swivel has a second portion coupled to said conduit assembly, wherein said first portion is pivotally coupled to said second portion such that said first portion is pivotable about a swivel axis, wherein said swivel axis is coaxial with said turntable axis.
A second embodiment of Wruck et al. teaches [a conduit assembly 827 disposed at least partially below a surface of said deck, said conduit assembly being in fluid communication with the liquid product vessel.] (Fig. 8; Paragraph 0047; Wruck et al. discloses a conduit 827 assembly with an end positioned below a surface of the deck 901.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the conduit assembly of the second embodiment of Wruck et al. with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a logical arrangement for routing fluid conduits in a compact and protected manner within a liquid product transport vehicle, thus protecting the conduit from damage and reducing clutter on the surface of the deck.
The first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, does not disclose said coupler being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit, said coupler conduit including a lateral portion disposed to a lateral side of said liquid product reel frame; wherein said coupler conduit includes a lower portion extending away from said turntable axis and toward said lateral portion; and wherein said swivel has a first portion coupled to said turntable, said swivel has a second portion coupled to said conduit assembly, wherein said first portion is pivotally coupled to said second portion such that said first portion is pivotable about a swivel axis, wherein said swivel axis is coaxial with said turntable axis.
Nohmi teaches [wherein said swivel has a first portion 38 coupled to said turntable, said swivel has a second portion 65 coupled to said conduit assembly,] (Fig. 5; As shown in Fig. 5, Nohmi illustrates a first portion of a swivel 38 being coupled to the turntable 30 and a second portion of the swivel 65 coupled to the conduit assembly 10.) [wherein said first portion is pivotally coupled to said second portion such that said first portion is pivotable about a swivel axis, wherein said swivel axis is coaxial with said turntable axis.] (Fig. 5; Col. 8, lines 56-57; As shown in Fig. 5, Nohmi illustrates the first portion of the swivel 38 being connected to the discharge pipe 62 through coupling shafts 37. The discharge pipe is further coupled to an inlet pipe 60 which is connected to the second portion of the swivel. Therefore, forming in indirect connection between the first and second portions of the swivel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the swivel configuration of Nohmi with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a functional and reliable swivel mechanism that enables fluid communication between the rotating reel frame and a conduit assembly, while ensuring alignment between the swivel axis and turntable axis, thus improving fluid delivery performance and enhancing flexibility for hose deployment in a liquid product delivery system.
The first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, does not disclose a rotary fluid coupler being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit, said coupler conduit including a lateral portion fluidly coupled to said rotary fluid coupler and disposed to a first lateral side of said liquid product reel frame and laterally outside said reel frame wherein said rotary fluid coupler is disposed to said first lateral side of said liquid product reel frame; wherein said coupler conduit includes a lower portion disposed beneath said liquid product reel frame and extending away from said turntable axis to said lateral portion, whereby said conduit is clear of said reel frame such that said conduit does not interfere with rotation of the liquid product delivery hose about said horizontal axis.
Caamano et al. teaches [a rotary fluid coupler 266 being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit,] (Fig. 2; Col. 5, lines 30-43; As shown in Fig. 2, Caamano et al. illustrates a rotary fluid coupler 266 rotating around a second y-axis Y2 and being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit 262.) said [coupler conduit including a lateral portion fluidly coupled to said rotary fluid coupler and disposed to a first lateral side of said liquid product reel frame and laterally outside said reel frame wherein said rotary fluid coupler is disposed to said first lateral side of said liquid product reel frame;] (Fig. 2; Col. 5, lines 30-43; As shown in Fig. 2, Caamano et al. illustrates a conduit 262 being fluidly connected to the rotary fluid coupler 266 and extending laterally (before curving upward) from the coupler along the side of the reel frame. The conduit is positioned outside the lateral extent of the reel frame rather than passing through the reel frame.) [wherein said coupler conduit includes a lower portion disposed beneath said liquid product reel frame and extending away from said turntable axis to said lateral portion, whereby said conduit is clear of said reel frame such that said conduit does not interfere with rotation of the liquid product delivery hose about said horizontal axis.] (Fig. 2; Col. 5, lines 30-43; As shown in Fig. 2, Caamano et al. illustrates a rotary fluid coupler 266 disposed beneath the reel frame, wherein a conduit 262 is fluidly connected to a side of the rotary fluid coupler and routed laterally away from the reel frame. The conduit extends outward and upward from the rotary fluid coupler and is positioned clear of the reel frame and rotation path, thus avoiding interference with rotation of the hose reel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the coupler conduit and rotary fluid coupler arrangement of Caamano et al. with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the conduit to be routed laterally outside the reel frame and clear of the reel rotation path while maintaining fluid communication, thus improving packaging and operation of the reel assembly.
Regarding independent claim 6, a first embodiment of Wruck et al. discloses [a liquid product delivery vehicle 1600 comprising: a wheeled chassis; a liquid product vessel 1610 supported on said chassis; a deck 1601 supported on said chassis, said deck disposed at least partially rearward of said vessel] (Fig. 14; Paragraph 0069) [a liquid product reel frame 1740 configured to support a liquid product delivery hose 1742,] (Fig. 16; Paragraph 0070) [said liquid product reel frame having a fluid coupler 1712 configured to be in fluid communication with said liquid product delivery hose;] (Fig. 15; Paragraph 0070) [a swivel 1725, said swivel fluidly coupling said conduit assembly to said fluid coupler,] (Fig. 14-16; Paragraph 0071; As shown in Fig. 14-16; Wruck illustrates one side of the swivel 1725 being directly coupled to the meter 1710 which is further attached to the fluid coupler 1712. Another side of the swivel is coupled to conduits 1724 and 1726. Therefore, the swivel indirectly couples the conduit assembly to the fluid coupler.)
The first embodiment of Wruck et al. does not disclose said coupler being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit, said coupler conduit including a lateral portion disposed to a lateral side of said liquid product reel frame; a turntable supported on said deck, said turntable supporting said liquid product reel frame such that said liquid product reel frame is pivotable about a turntable axis, wherein said coupler conduit includes a lower portion extending away from said turntable axis and toward said lateral portion, a conduit assembly disposed at least partially below a surface of said deck, said conduit assembly being in fluid communication with the liquid product vessel; wherein said swivel has a first portion coupled to said turntable, said swivel has a second portion coupled to said conduit assembly, wherein said first portion is pivotally coupled to said second portion such that said first portion is pivotable about a swivel axis, wherein said swivel axis is coaxial with said turntable axis.
Rosine et al. teaches [a turntable 204 supported on said deck, said turntable supporting said liquid product reel frame such that said liquid product reel frame is pivotable about a turntable axis.] (Fig. 3; Paragraph 0041)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the turntable of Rosine et al. with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for controlled and adjustable rotational movement of the reel frame about the turntable axis, thus improving the flexibility and maneuverability of the liquid product delivery hose during operation.
The first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, does not disclose said coupler being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit, said coupler conduit including a lateral portion disposed to a lateral side of said liquid product reel frame; wherein said coupler conduit includes a lower portion extending away from said turntable axis and toward said lateral portion, a conduit assembly disposed at least partially below a surface of said deck, said conduit assembly being in fluid communication with the liquid product vessel; wherein said swivel has a first portion coupled to said turntable, said swivel has a second portion coupled to said conduit assembly, wherein said first portion is pivotally coupled to said second portion such that said first portion is pivotable about a swivel axis, wherein said swivel axis is coaxial with said turntable axis.
A second embodiment of Wruck et al. teaches [a conduit assembly 827 disposed at least partially below a surface of said deck, said conduit assembly being in fluid communication with the liquid product vessel.] (Fig. 8; Paragraph 0047; Wruck et al. discloses a conduit 827 assembly with an end positioned below a surface of the deck 901.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the conduit assembly of the second embodiment of Wruck et al. with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a logical arrangement for routing fluid conduits in a compact and protected manner within a liquid product transport vehicle, thus protecting the conduit from damage and reducing clutter on the surface of the deck.
The first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, does not disclose said coupler being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit, said coupler conduit including a lateral portion disposed to a lateral side of said liquid product reel frame; wherein said coupler conduit includes a lower portion extending away from said turntable axis and toward said lateral portion; wherein said swivel has a first portion coupled to said turntable, said swivel has a second portion coupled to said conduit assembly, wherein said first portion is pivotally coupled to said second portion such that said first portion is pivotable about a swivel axis, wherein said swivel axis is coaxial with said turntable axis.
Nohmi teaches [wherein said swivel has a first portion 38 coupled to said turntable, said swivel has a second portion 65 coupled to said conduit assembly,] (Fig. 5; As shown in Fig. 5, Nohmi illustrates a first portion of a swivel 38 being coupled to the turntable 30 and a second portion of the swivel 65 coupled to the conduit assembly 10.) [wherein said first portion is pivotally coupled to said second portion such that said first portion is pivotable about a swivel axis, wherein said swivel axis is coaxial with said turntable axis.] (Fig. 5; Col. 8, lines 56-57; As shown in Fig. 5, Nohmi illustrates the first portion of the swivel 38 being connected to the discharge pipe 62 through coupling shafts 37. The discharge pipe is further coupled to an inlet pipe 60 which is connected to the second portion of the swivel. Therefore, forming in indirect connection between the first and second portions of the swivel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the swivel configuration of Nohmi with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a functional and reliable swivel mechanism that enables fluid communication between the rotating reel frame and a conduit assembly, while ensuring alignment between the swivel axis and turntable axis, thus improving fluid delivery performance and enhancing flexibility for hose deployment in a liquid product delivery system.
The first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, does not disclose a rotary fluid coupler being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit, said coupler conduit including a lateral portion fluidly coupled to said rotary fluid coupler and disposed to a first lateral side of said liquid product reel frame and laterally outside said reel frame wherein said rotary fluid coupler is disposed to said first lateral side of said liquid product reel frame; wherein said coupler conduit includes a lower portion disposed beneath said liquid product reel frame and extending away from said turntable axis to said lateral portion, whereby said conduit is clear of said reel frame such that said conduit does not interfere with rotation of the liquid product delivery hose about said horizontal axis.
Caamano et al. teaches [a rotary fluid coupler 266 being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit,] (Fig. 2; Col. 5, lines 30-43; As shown in Fig. 2, Caamano et al. illustrates a rotary fluid coupler 266 rotating around a second y-axis Y2 and being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit 262.) said [coupler conduit including a lateral portion fluidly coupled to said rotary fluid coupler and disposed to a first lateral side of said liquid product reel frame and laterally outside said reel frame wherein said rotary fluid coupler is disposed to said first lateral side of said liquid product reel frame;] (Fig. 2; Col. 5, lines 30-43; As shown in Fig. 2, Caamano et al. illustrates a conduit 262 being fluidly connected to the rotary fluid coupler 266 and extending laterally (before curving upward) from the coupler along the side of the reel frame. The conduit is positioned outside the lateral extent of the reel frame rather than passing through the reel frame.) [wherein said coupler conduit includes a lower portion disposed beneath said liquid product reel frame and extending away from said turntable axis to said lateral portion, whereby said conduit is clear of said reel frame such that said conduit does not interfere with rotation of the liquid product delivery hose about said horizontal axis.] (Fig. 2; Col. 5, lines 30-43; As shown in Fig. 2, Caamano et al. illustrates a rotary fluid coupler 266 disposed beneath the reel frame, wherein a conduit 262 is fluidly connected to a side of the rotary fluid coupler and routed laterally away from the reel frame. The conduit extends outward and upward from the rotary fluid coupler and is positioned clear of the reel frame and rotation path, thus avoiding interference with rotation of the hose reel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the coupler conduit and rotary fluid coupler arrangement of Caamano et al. with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the conduit to be routed laterally outside the reel frame and clear of the reel rotation path while maintaining fluid communication, thus improving packaging and operation of the reel assembly.
Regarding independent claim 11, a first embodiment of Wruck et al. discloses [a liquid product delivery system supportable on a platform 1601 of a liquid product transport trailer 1600 having a liquid product vessel 1610,] (Fig. 14; Paragraph 0069) [the platform disposed beneath the liquid product vessel] (Fig. 14; As shown in Fig. 14, the platform 1601 is disposed beneath the fuel vessel 1610.) [the liquid product delivery system comprising: a liquid product reel frame 1740 configured to support a liquid product delivery hose 1742,] (Fig. 16; Paragraph 0070) [said liquid product reel frame having a fluid coupler 1712 configured to be in fluid communication with said liquid product delivery hose;] (Fig. 15; Paragraph 0070) [a swivel 1725, said swivel fluidly coupling said conduit assembly to said fluid coupler,] (Fig. 14-16; Paragraph 0071; As shown in Fig. 14-16; Wruck illustrates one side of the swivel 1725 being directly coupled to the meter 1710 which is further attached to the fluid coupler 1712. Another side of the swivel is coupled to conduits 1724 and 1726. Therefore, the swivel indirectly couples the conduit assembly to the fluid coupler.)
The first embodiment of Wruck et al. does not disclose said coupler being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit, said coupler conduit including a lateral portion disposed to a lateral side of said liquid product reel frame; a turntable supported on said platform, said turntable supporting said liquid product reel frame such that said liquid product reel frame is pivotable about a turntable axis, wherein said coupler conduit includes a lower portion extending away from said turntable axis and toward said lateral portion, a conduit assembly disposed at least partially below a surface of said platform, said conduit assembly being in fluid communication with the liquid product vessel; wherein said swivel has a first portion coupled to said turntable, said swivel has a second portion coupled to said conduit assembly, wherein said first portion is pivotally coupled to said second portion such that said first portion is pivotable about a swivel axis, wherein said swivel axis is coaxial with said turntable axis.
Rosine et al. teaches [a turntable 204 supported on said deck, said turntable supporting said liquid product reel frame such that said liquid product reel frame is pivotable about a turntable axis.] (Fig. 3; Paragraph 0041)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the turntable of Rosine et al. with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for controlled and adjustable rotational movement of the reel frame about the turntable axis, thus improving the flexibility and maneuverability of the liquid product delivery hose during operation.
The first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, does not disclose said coupler being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit, said coupler conduit including a lateral portion disposed to a lateral side of said liquid product reel frame; wherein said coupler conduit includes a lower portion extending away from said turntable axis and toward said lateral portion, a conduit assembly disposed at least partially below a surface of said deck, said conduit assembly being in fluid communication with the liquid product vessel; wherein said swivel has a first portion coupled to said turntable, said swivel has a second portion coupled to said conduit assembly, wherein said first portion is pivotally coupled to said second portion such that said first portion is pivotable about a swivel axis, wherein said swivel axis is coaxial with said turntable axis.
A second embodiment of Wruck et al. teaches [a conduit assembly 827 disposed at least partially below a surface of said deck, said conduit assembly being in fluid communication with the liquid product vessel.] (Fig. 8; Paragraph 0047; Wruck et al. discloses a conduit 827 assembly with an end positioned below a surface of the deck 901.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the conduit assembly of the second embodiment of Wruck et al. with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a logical arrangement for routing fluid conduits in a compact and protected manner within a liquid product transport vehicle, thus protecting the conduit from damage and reducing clutter on the surface of the deck.
The first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, does not disclose said coupler being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit, said coupler conduit including a lateral portion disposed to a lateral side of said liquid product reel frame; wherein said coupler conduit includes a lower portion extending away from said turntable axis and toward said lateral portion; wherein said swivel has a first portion coupled to said turntable, said swivel has a second portion coupled to said conduit assembly, wherein said first portion is pivotally coupled to said second portion such that said first portion is pivotable about a swivel axis, wherein said swivel axis is coaxial with said turntable axis.
Nohmi teaches [wherein said swivel has a first portion 38 coupled to said turntable, said swivel has a second portion 65 coupled to said conduit assembly,] (Fig. 5; As shown in Fig. 5, Nohmi illustrates a first portion of a swivel 38 being coupled to the turntable 30 and a second portion of the swivel 65 coupled to the conduit assembly 10.) [wherein said first portion is pivotally coupled to said second portion such that said first portion is pivotable about a swivel axis, wherein said swivel axis is coaxial with said turntable axis.] (Fig. 5; Col. 8, lines 56-57; As shown in Fig. 5, Nohmi illustrates the first portion of the swivel 38 being connected to the discharge pipe 62 through coupling shafts 37. The discharge pipe is further coupled to an inlet pipe 60 which is connected to the second portion of the swivel. Therefore, forming in indirect connection between the first and second portions of the swivel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the swivel configuration of Nohmi with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a functional and reliable swivel mechanism that enables fluid communication between the rotating reel frame and a conduit assembly, while ensuring alignment between the swivel axis and turntable axis, thus improving fluid delivery performance and enhancing flexibility for hose deployment in a liquid product delivery system.
The first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, does not disclose a rotary fluid coupler being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit, said coupler conduit including a lateral portion fluidly coupled to said rotary fluid coupler and disposed to a first lateral side of said liquid product reel frame and laterally outside said reel frame wherein said rotary fluid coupler is disposed to said first lateral side of said liquid product reel frame; wherein said coupler conduit includes a lower portion disposed beneath said liquid product reel frame and extending away from said turntable axis to said lateral portion, whereby said conduit is clear of said reel frame such that said conduit does not interfere with rotation of the liquid product delivery hose about said horizontal axis.
Caamano et al. teaches [a rotary fluid coupler 266 being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit,] (Fig. 2; Col. 5, lines 30-43; As shown in Fig. 2, Caamano et al. illustrates a rotary fluid coupler 266 rotating around a second y-axis Y2 and being in fluid communication with a coupler conduit 262.) said [coupler conduit including a lateral portion fluidly coupled to said rotary fluid coupler and disposed to a first lateral side of said liquid product reel frame and laterally outside said reel frame wherein said rotary fluid coupler is disposed to said first lateral side of said liquid product reel frame;] (Fig. 2; Col. 5, lines 30-43; As shown in Fig. 2, Caamano et al. illustrates a conduit 262 being fluidly connected to the rotary fluid coupler 266 and extending laterally (before curving upward) from the coupler along the side of the reel frame. The conduit is positioned outside the lateral extent of the reel frame rather than passing through the reel frame.) [wherein said coupler conduit includes a lower portion disposed beneath said liquid product reel frame and extending away from said turntable axis to said lateral portion, whereby said conduit is clear of said reel frame such that said conduit does not interfere with rotation of the liquid product delivery hose about said horizontal axis.] (Fig. 2; Col. 5, lines 30-43; As shown in Fig. 2, Caamano et al. illustrates a rotary fluid coupler 266 disposed beneath the reel frame, wherein a conduit 262 is fluidly connected to a side of the rotary fluid coupler and routed laterally away from the reel frame. The conduit extends outward and upward from the rotary fluid coupler and is positioned clear of the reel frame and rotation path, thus avoiding interference with rotation of the hose reel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the coupler conduit and rotary fluid coupler arrangement of Caamano et al. with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the conduit to be routed laterally outside the reel frame and clear of the reel rotation path while maintaining fluid communication, thus improving packaging and operation of the reel assembly.
Claims 2, 7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a first embodiment of Wruck et al. in view of Rosine et al., a second embodiment of Wruck et al., Nohmi, Caamano et al., and further in view of Suntup US 10626857 B1.
Regarding claim 2, 7, and 12, the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified above, further discloses [the reel frame pivoting around a turntable axis.] (Fig. 3 of Rosine et al.; Paragraph 0041 of Rosine et al.)
The first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified above, does not disclose a user interface comprising a graphical user interface, wherein said reel frame supports said user interface.
Suntup teaches [a user interface 40 comprising a graphical user interface, wherein said reel frame supports said user interface.] (Fig. 3; As shown in Fig. 3, Suntup illustrates a user interface 40 comprising a graphical user interface, wherein said reel frame 46 is supported by stanchions 52 that extend upward from the skid 60. The skid supports the meter 36 which is connected to the interface. Therefore, having the reel frame indirectly support the interface.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the user interface of Suntup with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a convenient and intuitive way for the operator to monitor and control liquid delivery parameters while using the reel system, thus enhancing usability and improving over safety and functionality of the reel system.
Claims 3, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a first embodiment of Wruck et al. in view of Rosine et al., a second embodiment of Wruck et al., Nohmi, Caamano et al., and further in view of Leach US 20020043593 A1
Regarding claims 3, 8, and 13, the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified does not disclose wherein said turntable comprises a plurality of stop features, the liquid product delivery system further comprising: an incremental pivot stopper mountable to said deck, said incremental pivot stopper being configured to selectively engage one of said plurality stop features provided on the turntable.
Leach teaches [wherein said turntable comprises a plurality of stop features 36,] (Fig. 4; Paragraph 0019) [the liquid product delivery system further comprising: an incremental pivot stopper 40 mountable to said deck, said incremental pivot stopper being configured to selectively engage one of said plurality stop features provided on the turntable in order to lock said reel frame into one of a plurality of rotational positions.] (Fig. 4; Paragraph 0020; Leach discloses a pivoting hose reel system that includes a post with an angular array of openings 36 and a sleeve 32 that can rotate about the post. A locking pin 40 is pivotally mounted to the sleeve and is insertable into the opening36 to lock the sleeve in place at various angular positions. This corresponds to the claimed limitation as the locking pin 40 functions as “the incremental pivot stopper” that engages the stop features to hold the reel frame at certain positions.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the plurality of stop features and incremental pivot stoppers of Leach with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the user to lock the reel frame in place at specific angular positions, thus improving control and safety during operation by preventing unwanted rotation of the reel frame.
Claims 4, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a first embodiment of Wruck et al. in view of Rosine et al., a second embodiment of Wruck et al., Nohmi, Caamano et al., and further in view of Gaillard et al. US 20200256139 A1.
Regarding claims 4, 9, and 14, the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, does not disclose wherein said swivel comprises a sealed ball bearing.
Gaillard et al. teaches [wherein said swivel comprises a sealed ball bearing 124.] (Paragraph 0026; Gaillard discloses swivel mount 124, which may be a ball bearing that allows rotational movement between the forward bogie and forward arm. This bearing supports the structure while permitting rotation and maintaining joint integrity.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the sealed ball bearing of Gaillard with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for protection from contaminants such as dust and liquids, thus improving durability and extending the service life of the system.
Claims 5, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a first embodiment of Wruck et al. in view of Rosine et al., a second embodiment of Wruck et al., Nohmi, Caamano et al., and further in view of Bauck et al. US 20150337895 A1.
Regarding claims 5, 10, and 15, the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, does not disclose wherein said swivel comprises a dynamic seal.
Bauck et al. teaches [wherein said swivel comprises a dynamic seal 76a, 76b.] (Fig. 3; Paragraph 0019; Bauck et al. discloses fluid seals 76a, 76b as being designed to prevent leakage from the fluid passages within the swivel 12, with seal 76a comprising an inner plastic sealing member and an outer elastomeric O-ring, and 76b comprising O-ring seals, but also noting that other off-the-shelf seal types, such as lip seals, may be used. The seals are designed to maintain a fluid-tight connection while the swivel parts move relative to each other, therefore allowing the swivel to rotate without leaking. This meets the limitation as it functions as a dynamic seal by maintain a fluid-tight connection between relatively moving parts.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the dynamic seal of Bauck et al. with the liquid product delivery system of the first embodiment of Wruck et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the maintenance of a fluid-tight connection within the swivel while accommodating relative movement between parts, thus ensuring smooth swivel operation without leakage and improving reliability and performance in liquid product delivery systems.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-9 on Remarks, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 6, and 11 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Caamano et al. US 7810751 B2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611