DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's amendments and remarks filed on March 10, 2026 are acknowledged. Claims 4-5, 7-8, and 14-29 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3, 6, 10, 11, 13, and 30 were amended.
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-13, and 30 are pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Withdrawn Objections
In view of Applicant’s amendments and response, the objections to the specification are withdrawn.
Withdrawn Rejections
In view of Applicant’s amendments and response, the 35 U.S.C 112(a) scope of enablement and 35 U.S.C 112(d) rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 9, 10, 12, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aznarez et al. (US 11,096,956; reference previously cited by the Examiner) in view of van Deutekom et al. (US 2022/0025368; reference previously cited by the Examiner). The following is a new rejection, necessitated by the amendment to the claims in the reply filed March 10, 2026.
Regarding claims 1-3, 6, 9, 10, 12, and 30, Aznarez et al. teaches compositions for increasing the expression of a protein [abstract]. Aznarez et al. discloses that in some embodiments the antisense oligomer comprises a nucleotide sequence selected from SEQ ID NOS: 12685-14026 [column 42-43]. SEQ ID NO: 13225 (designated as Db) is 18 nucleotides in length and matches to instant SEQ ID NO: 9 (designated as Qy) as shown in the alignment below.
Aznarez et al. also discloses that compositions comprising an antisense oligomer are described for use in a method of treating a list of recited conditions including a condition associated with STXBP1, the method comprising the step of increasing expression of STXBP1 [column 40, second paragraph]. Aznarez et al. teaches that any of the ASOs or any component of an ASO (e.g., a nucleobase, sugar moiety, backbone) may be modified in order to achieve desired properties or activities of the ASO or reduce undesired properties or activities of the ASO [column 119, first full paragraph]. Further, Aznarez et al. teaches that ASOs comprised of 2’-O-(2-methoxyethyl) (MOE) phosphorothioate-modified nucleotides have significantly enhanced resistance to nuclease degradation and increased bioavailability [column 119, second full paragraph]. Aznarez et al. also teaches that in some examples each monomer of the ASO is modified in the same way, for example each linkage of the backbone of the ASO comprises a phosphorothioate linkage or each ribose sugar moiety comprises a 2′O-methyl modification [column 118, last paragraph]. In some embodiments, the antisense oligomer comprises a phosphorodiamidate morpholino, a locked nucleic acid, a peptide nucleic acid, a 2′-O-methyl, a 2′-Fluoro, or a 2′-O-methoxyethyl moiety. Further, in some embodiments, each sugar moiety is a modified sugar moiety [column 6, first paragraph].
However, Aznarez et al. does not teach that at least 50% of instances of U and C are methylated at position 5. Aznarez et al. also does not explicitly teach that at least 50% of bases or all of the bases in the nucleic acid comprise 2’-O-methoxyethyl ribose sugars.
van Deutekom et al. teaches splice-switching compounds with improved characteristics that enhance clinical applicability preferably for treating, ameliorating, preventing, and/or delaying neuromuscular disorders [abstract]. van Deutekom et al. also teaches that the first and/or second antisense oligonucleotide preferably comprises a base modification that increases binding affinity to target strands, increases melting temperature of the resulting duplex of said oligonucleotide with its target, and/or decreases immunostimulatory effects, and/or increases biostability, and/or improves biodistribution and/or intra-tissue distribution, and/or cellular uptake and trafficking [0129]. Further, preferably at least one 5-methylcytosine and/or 5-methyluracil is comprised in the first oligonucleotide and more preferably that all cytosine bases are 5-methylcytosine and/or all uracil bases are 5-methyluracil [0131] and [0135].
Although Aznarez et al. does not explicitly teach that at least 50% of bases or all of the bases in the nucleic acid comprise 2’-O-methoxyethyl ribose sugars, Aznarez et al. taught uniform modification of the antisense oligonucleotide and taught that an antisense oligomer may comprise a 2′-O-methoxyethyl moiety. It would have been obvious to try because Aznarez et al. taught that ASOs comprised of 2’-O-(2-methoxyethyl) (MOE) phosphorothioate-modified nucleotides have significantly enhanced resistance to nuclease degradation and increased bioavailability.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified at least 50% of instances of C and U in the composition of Aznarez et al. because van Deutekom et al. taught antisense oligonucleotides comprising base modifications such that all cytosine bases are 5-methylcytosine and all uracil bases are 5-methyluracil. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to increase binding affinity to target strands.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 10, 2026 have been fully considered to the extent that they might apply to the new ground of rejection set forth above but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that claim 1 was amended to remove SEQ ID NO: 22 from the recited sequences; therefore, the sole claimed sequence identified by the Office action as overlapping with the Aznarez et al. reference is no longer within the scope of the claims. Applicant further asserts that the remaining sequences recited in amended claims 1 and 30 do not match any sequence disclosed in Aznarez et al.
The Examiner agrees with Applicant’s assertions that Aznarez et al. SEQ ID NO: 13457 is no longer within the scope of the claims because SEQ ID NO: 22 was removed from the claims. However, Aznarez et al. teaches SEQ ID NO: 13225 (designated as Db) which is 18 nucleotides in length and matches to instant SEQ ID NO: 9 (designated as Qy) as shown in the alignment below. Therefore, Aznarez et al. SEQ ID NO: 13225 is used in combination with the van Deutekom et al. reference to render obvious the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Applicant also asserts the following:
These arguments are not found persuasive. Aznarez et al. discloses compositions for increasing the expression of a protein [abstract]. Further, in some embodiments the target protein is STXBP1 [column 36]. Aznarez et al. also discloses that the ASOs described comprise nucleobases that are complementary to nucleobases present in a target portion of a RIC pre-mRNA. The term ASO embodies oligonucleotides and any other oligomeric molecule that comprises nucleobases capable of hybridizing to a complementary nucleobase on a target mRNA [column 116, first full paragraph].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/C.T./
Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Jennifer Dunston/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1637