DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the remarks entered on 04/15/2026. Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-21 are amended. Claims 1-16, 18-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of above claims have been fully considered.
In reference to Applicant’s arguments about:
35 USC 101 rejections.
Examiner’s response:
Rejections are withdrawn in view of claim amendments and Applicant’s arguments.
In reference to Applicant’s arguments about:
35 USC 103 rejections.
Examiner’s response:
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s main argument is directed to the combination of Xiao and Zhang, in particular, Applicant asserts that Examiner fails to indicate how the respective disclosures in Xiao and Zhang could be combined and fails to identify any reasonable expectation of success in such combination; however, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner understands that the references Xiao and Zhang are analogous in art, as they are both directed to training neural networks efficiently.
For instance, Xiao teaches, as it can be seen at its Introduction: “In this work, we observe that the attention model shares a similar distribution among layers in weighting different positions of the sequence. This experience lead us to study the issue in another line of research, in which we reduce redundant computation and re-use some of the hidden states in the attention network. We propose a method to share attention weights in adjacent layers (call it shared attention network, or SAN for short)”. Further, at Conclusion: “We have presented a shared attention network (SAN) for fast inference of Transformer. It shares attention weights among layers for both self-attention and encoder-decoder attention in a vertical manner”. Zhang teaches, as it can be seen at Abstract “The proposed joint dynamic sparsity prior promotes shared joint sparsity patterns among the multiple sparse representation vectors at class-level, while allowing distinct sparsity patterns at atom-level within each class to facilitate a flexible representation”). Further, Zhang recites at p. 1292 left column: “where xi= [xi 1,xi 2,...] is the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i. This naturally leads to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset of all the C classes”. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the transformer having a shared attention dictionary taught by Xiao, with the sparsity aspect training from Zhang as it naturally leads to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset of all the classes, thus improving the overall performance of a recognition system without required post-processing.
Examiner respectfully would like to remind applicant about the claim limitations which are deemed to contain allowable subject matter (claims 5-7, 12-14, 19-20). Examiner would like to suggest applicant to include these limitations into independent claims in order to withdraw the prior art rejections.
For these reasons above, rejections are still maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al (NPL: “Sharing Attention Weights for Fast Transformer”- hereinafter Xiao, as submitted in IDS dated 04/20/2023) in view of Zhang et al (NPL: “Joint dynamic sparse representation for multi-view face recognition”- hereinafter Zhang).
Referring to Claim 1, Xiao teaches a method comprising:
receiving one or more training corpora for training a machine learning model comprising a plurality of encoder blocks, each encoder block including an attention layer and a feedforward network (see Xiao at p. 5297 left column: “In training, we observe that systems tend to learn similar attention weights. Figure 6 plots the JS divergence between layer 4 and layers 5-6 at different training steps” and “For example, for each training epoch (Figure 4), one can train the model for a shorter time, as the JS divergence among layers converges quickly”. Therefore, this training of a machine learning using training epochs is interpreted as the training corpora for training a machine learning model. Furthermore, see p. 5292 section 2 at right column: “The Transformer system follows the popular encoder-decoder paradigm. On the encoder side, there are a number of identical stacked layers. Each of them is composed of a self-attention sub-layer and a feed-forward sub-layer”); and
using the one or more training corpora to train an attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks (see Xiao at p. 5292 right column: “This experience lead us to study the issue in another line of research, in which we reduce redundant computation and re-use some of the hidden states in the attention network. We propose a method to share attention weights in adjacent layers (call it shared attention network, or SAN for short). It leads to a model that shares attention computation in the stacked layers vertically. In addition to the new architecture, we develop a joint method to learn sharing policies and MT models simultaneously. As another “bonus”, SAN reduces the memory footprint because some hidden states are kept in the same piece of memory”. Further at p. 5295-left column- first paragraph: “For example, we can try to share weights on layer blocks consisting of two layers, or three layers, or all layers (π = 2, or 3 , ...), and use the tuned π on test data”. Therefore, this attention network or SAN corresponds to the claims attention dictionary being trained, as it is trained from shared attention weights across the blocks. This would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art in order to reduce redundant computation and re-use hidden states in the attention network, and also reducing memory footprint because some hidden states are kept in the same piece of memory);
wherein attention parameters for each encoder block among the plurality of encoder blocks are a weighted combination of values from the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks (see Xiao at section 3.1 left column: “Let S[i] be column i of weight matrix S. For position i , we first compute S[i] to weight all positions (as in Eq. (1)), and then compute the weighted sum of values by S[i] (as in Eq. (2)). In column vector S[i], element Si,j indicates the contribution that we fuse the value at position j to position I”. Therefore, this weighted sum is interpreted as the weighted combination of values).
However, Xiao fails to teach:
without sharing index matrices and coefficient matrices associated with each encoder block among the plurality of encoder blocks,
the attention parameters trained using a sparse coefficient matrix for each encoder block that is based on an index matrix and a coefficient matrix associated with the encoder block.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous system,
without sharing index matrices and coefficient matrices associated with each encoder block among the plurality of encoder blocks (see Zhang at p. 1293 left column: “Each dynamic active set gs contains only one index for each column of X, e.g., gs(m) is the row-index of the selected atom for the m-th column of X in the s-th dynamic active set, as shown in Fig. 2(c)”. Therefore, since there is only one index for each column, this is interpreted as not being shared across encoder blocks. Further, a p. 1292 left column: “the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i”. Therefore, each atom (training sample) has its own weights, and this is interpreted as not being shared across encoder blocks),
the attention parameters trained using a sparse coefficient matrix for each encoder block that is based on an index matrix and a coefficient matrix associated with the encoder block (see Zhang at p. 1292 left column: “the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i”, and “where xi= [xi 1,xi 2,...] is the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i. This naturally leads to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset of all the C classes”. Therefore, this coefficient vector is interpreted as the sparse coefficient matrix).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xiao with the above teachings of Zhang by having a weighted combination of columns from the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks, as taught by Xiao, and having a coefficient matrix with the weighted combination, as taught by Zhang. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to naturally lead to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset for image recognition tasks (as suggested by Zhang at p. 1292 left column: “where xi= [xi 1,xi 2,...] is the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i. This naturally leads to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset of all the C classes”. See also Abstract “The proposed joint dynamic sparsity prior promotes shared joint sparsity patterns among the multiple sparse representation vectors at class-level, while allowing distinct sparsity patterns at atom-level within each class to facilitate a flexible representation”).
Referring to Claim 2, the combination of Xiao and Zhang teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein training the attention dictionary comprises training attention parameters of the attention layer in each of the plurality of encoder blocks (see Xiao at p. 5295 left column: “For example, we can try to share weights on layer blocks consisting of two layers, or three layers, or all layers (π = 2, or 3 , ...), and use the tuned π on test data”. The attention weights are interpreted as the training attention parameters, as they are shared for training purposes).
Referring to Claim 3, the combination of Xiao and Zhang teaches the method of Claim 2, further comprising:
identifying columns from the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks for the weighted combination using the index matrix associated with a given encoder block among the plurality of encoder blocks (see Zhang at p. 1293 left column: “Each dynamic active set gs contains only one index for each column of X, e.g., gs(m) is the row-index of the selected atom for the m-th column of X in the s-th dynamic active set, as shown in Fig. 2(c). Therefore in our algorithm, we allow the sparse representation for each view to be different, but are forced to share the same class-level (group) structure”. Further, at p. 1294 left column: “
(12) which gives the index matrix
containing the top-L dynamic active sets for all the M views, as detailed in Algorithm 2”. Therefore, this index matrix which contains one index for each column corresponds to the claimed columns for the weighted combination using an index matrix. Xiao teaches the attention matrix, as explained in Claim 1);
identifying weights for the weighted combination using the coefficient matrix associated with the given encoder block (see p. 1292 left column:
“
”. Therefore, the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom (training sample as explained at p. 1292) is interpreted as the claimed weights for the weighted combination using a coefficient matrix).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xiao with the above teachings of Zhang by having a weighted combination of columns from the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks, as taught by Xiao, and having a coefficient matrix with the weighted combination, as taught by Zhang. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to naturally lead to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset (as suggested by Zhang at p. 1292 left column: “where xi= [xi 1,xi 2,...] is the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i. This naturally leads to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset of all the C classes”).
Referring to Claim 4, the combination of Xiao and Zhang teaches the method of Claim 3, wherein the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks reduces computations using at least one of the index matrix associated with the given encoder block and the coefficient matrix associated with the given encoder block (see Xiao at p. 5292 right column: “This experience lead us to study the issue in another line of research, in which we reduce redundant computation and re-use some of the hidden states in the attention network. We propose a method to share attention weights in adjacent layers (call it shared attention network, or SAN for short)”).
Referring to Claim 8, Xiao teaches an apparatus comprising:
at least one processing device (see p. 5295 right column “machines with 8 Nvidia 1080TiGPUs” )configured to:
receive one or more training corpora for training a machine learning model comprising a plurality of encoder blocks, each encoder block including an attention layer and a feedforward network (see Xiao at p. 5297 left column: “In training, we observe that systems tend to learn similar attention weights. Figure 6 plots the JS divergence between layer 4 and layers 5-6 at different training steps” and “For example, for each training epoch (Figure 4), one can train the model for a shorter time, as the JS divergence among layers converges quickly”. Therefore, this training of a machine leaning using training epochs is interpreted as the training corpora for training a machine learning model. Furthermore, see p. 5292 section 2 at right column: “The Transformer system follows the popular encoder-decoder paradigm. On the encoder side, there are a number of identical stacked layers. Each of them is composed of a self-attention sub-layer and a feed-forward sub-layer”); and
use the one or more training corpora to train an attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks (see Xiao at p. 5292 right column: “This experience lead us to study the issue in another line of research, in which we reduce redundant computation and re-use some of the hidden states in the attention network. We propose a method to share attention weights in adjacent layers (call it shared attention network, or SAN for short). It leads to a model that shares attention computation in the stacked layers vertically. In addition to the new architecture, we develop a joint method to learn sharing policies and MT models simultaneously. As another “bonus”, SAN reduces the memory footprint because some hidden states are kept in the same piece of memory”. Further at p. 5295-left column- first paragraph: “For example, we can try to share weights on layer blocks consisting of two layers, or three layers, or all layers (π = 2, or 3 , ...), and use the tuned π on test data”. Therefore, this attention network or SAN corresponds to the claims attention dictionary being trained, as it is trained from shared attention weights across the blocks. This would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art in order to reduce redundant computation and re-use hidden states in the attention network, and also reducing memory footprint because some hidden states are kept in the same piece of memory);
wherein attention parameters for each encoder block among the plurality of encoder blocks are a weighted combination of values from the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks (see Xiao at section 3.1 left column: “Let S[i] be column i of weight matrix S. For position i , we first compute S[i] to weight all positions (as in Eq. (1)), and then compute the weighted sum of values by S[i] (as in Eq. (2)). In column vector S[i], element Si,j indicates the contribution that we fuse the value at position j to position I”. Therefore, this weighted sum is interpreted as the weighted combination of values).
However, Xiao fails to teach:
without sharing index matrices and coefficient matrices associated with each encoder block among the plurality of encoder blocks,
the attention parameters trained using a sparse coefficient matrix for each encoder block that is based on an index matrix and a coefficient matrix associated with the encoder block.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous system,
without sharing index matrices and coefficient matrices associated with each encoder block among the plurality of encoder blocks (see Zhang at p. 1293 left column: “Each dynamic active set gs contains only one index for each column of X, e.g., gs(m) is the row-index of the selected atom for the m-th column of X in the s-th dynamic active set, as shown in Fig. 2(c)”. Therefore, since there is only one index for each column, this is interpreted as not being shared across encoder blocks. Further, a p. 1292 left column: “the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i”. Therefore, each atom (training sample) has its own weights, and this is interpreted as not being shared across encoder blocks),
the attention parameters trained using a sparse coefficient matrix for each encoder block that is based on an index matrix and a coefficient matrix associated with the encoder block (see Zhang at p. 1292 left column: “the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i”, and “where xi= [xi 1,xi 2,...] is the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i. This naturally leads to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset of all the C classes”. Therefore, this coefficient vector is interpreted as the sparse coefficient matrix).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xiao with the above teachings of Zhang by having a weighted combination of columns from the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks, as taught by Xiao, and having a coefficient matrix with the weighted combination, as taught by Zhang. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to naturally lead to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset for image recognition tasks (as suggested by Zhang at p. 1292 left column: “where xi= [xi 1,xi 2,...] is the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i. This naturally leads to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset of all the C classes”. See also Abstract “The proposed joint dynamic sparsity prior promotes shared joint sparsity patterns among the multiple sparse representation vectors at class-level, while allowing distinct sparsity patterns at atom-level within each class to facilitate a flexible representation”).
Referring to Claim 9, Xiao teaches the apparatus of Claim 8, wherein to train the shared attention dictionary, the at least one processing device is configured to train attention parameters of the attention layer in each of the plurality of encoder blocks (see Xiao at p. 5295 left column: “For example, we can try to share weights on layer blocks consisting of two layers, or three layers, or all layers (π = 2, or 3 , ...), and use the tuned π on test data”. The attention weights are interpreted as the attention parameters).
Referring to Claim 10, the combination of Xiao and Zhang teaches the apparatus of Claim 9, wherein the at least one processing device is further configured to:
identify columns from the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks for the weighted combination using the index matrix associated with a given encoder block among the plurality of encoder blocks (see Zhang at p. 1293 left column: “Each dynamic active set gs contains only one index for each column of X, e.g., gs(m) is the row-index of the selected atom for the m-th column of X in the s-th dynamic active set, as shown in Fig. 2(c). Therefore in our algorithm, we allow the sparse representation for each view to be different, but are forced to share the same class-level (group) structure”. Further, at p. 1294 left column: “
(12) which gives the index matrix
containing the top-L dynamic active sets for all the M views, as detailed in Algorithm 2”. Therefore, this index matrix which contains one index for each column corresponds to the claimed columns for the weighted combination using an index matrix. Xiao teaches the attention matrix, as explained in Claim 1);
identify weights for the weighted combination using the coefficient matrix associated with the given encoder block (see p. 1292 left column:
“
”. Therefore, the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom (training sample as explained at p. 1292) is interpreted as the claimed weights for the weighted combination using a coefficient matrix).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xiao with the above teachings of Zhang by having a weighted combination of columns from the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks, as taught by Xiao, and having a coefficient matrix with the weighted combination, as taught by Zhang. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to naturally lead to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset (as suggested by Zhang at p. 1292 left column: “where xi= [xi 1,xi 2,...] is the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i. This naturally leads to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset of all the C classes”).
Referring to Claim 11, the combination of Xiao and Zhang teaches the apparatus of Claim 10, wherein the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks reduces computations using at least one of the index matrix associated with the given encoder block and the coefficient matrix associated with the given encoder block (see Xiao at p. 5292 right column: “This experience lead us to study the issue in another line of research, in which we reduce redundant computation and re-use some of the hidden states in the attention network. We propose a method to share attention weights in adjacent layers (call it shared attention network, or SAN for short)”).
Referring to Claim 15, Xiao teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium containing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor (see p. 5295 right column “machines with 8 Nvidia 1080TiGPUs” ), cause the at least one processor to:
receive one or more training corpora for training a machine learning model comprising a plurality of encoder blocks, each encoder block including an attention layer and a feedforward network (see Xiao at p. 5297 left column: “In training, we observe that systems tend to learn similar attention weights. Figure 6 plots the JS divergence between layer 4 and layers 5-6 at different training steps” and “For example, for each training epoch (Figure 4), one can train the model for a shorter time, as the JS divergence among layers converges quickly”. Therefore, this training of a machine leaning using training epochs is interpreted as the training corpora for training a machine learning model. Furthermore, see p. 5292 section 2 at right column: “The Transformer system follows the popular encoder-decoder paradigm. On the encoder side, there are a number of identical stacked layers. Each of them is composed of a self-attention sub-layer and a feed-forward sub-layer”); and
use the one or more training corpora to train an attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks (see Xiao at p. 5292 right column: “This experience lead us to study the issue in another line of research, in which we reduce redundant computation and re-use some of the hidden states in the attention network. We propose a method to share attention weights in adjacent layers (call it shared attention network, or SAN for short). It leads to a model that shares attention computation in the stacked layers vertically. In addition to the new architecture, we develop a joint method to learn sharing policies and MT models simultaneously. As another “bonus”, SAN reduces the memory footprint because some hidden states are kept in the same piece of memory”. Further at p. 5295-left column- first paragraph: “For example, we can try to share weights on layer blocks consisting of two layers, or three layers, or all layers (π = 2, or 3 , ...), and use the tuned π on test data”. Therefore, this attention network or SAN corresponds to the claims attention dictionary being trained, as it is trained from shared attention weights across the blocks. This would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art in order to reduce redundant computation and re-use hidden states in the attention network, and also reducing memory footprint because some hidden states are kept in the same piece of memory),
wherein attention parameters for each encoder block among the plurality of encoder blocks are a weighted combination of values from the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks (see Xiao at section 3.1 left column: “Let S[i] be column i of weight matrix S. For position i , we first compute S[i] to weight all positions (as in Eq. (1)), and then compute the weighted sum of values by S[i] (as in Eq. (2)). In column vector S[i], element Si,j indicates the contribution that we fuse the value at position j to position I”. Therefore, this weighted sum is interpreted as the weighted combination of values).
However, Xiao fails to teach:
without sharing index matrices and coefficient matrices associated with each encoder block among the plurality of encoder blocks,
the attention parameters trained using a sparse coefficient matrix for each encoder block that is based on an index matrix and a coefficient matrix associated with the encoder block.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous system,
without sharing index matrices and coefficient matrices associated with each encoder block among the plurality of encoder blocks (see Zhang at p. 1293 left column: “Each dynamic active set gs contains only one index for each column of X, e.g., gs(m) is the row-index of the selected atom for the m-th column of X in the s-th dynamic active set, as shown in Fig. 2(c)”. Therefore, since there is only one index for each column, this is interpreted as not being shared across encoder blocks. Further, a p. 1292 left column: “the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i”. Therefore, each atom (training sample) has its own weights, and this is interpreted as not being shared across encoder blocks),
the attention parameters trained using a sparse coefficient matrix for each encoder block that is based on an index matrix and a coefficient matrix associated with the encoder block (see Zhang at p. 1292 left column: “the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i”, and “where xi= [xi 1,xi 2,...] is the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i. This naturally leads to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset of all the C classes”. Therefore, this coefficient vector is interpreted as the sparse coefficient matrix).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xiao with the above teachings of Zhang by having a weighted combination of columns from the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks, as taught by Xiao, and having a coefficient matrix with the weighted combination, as taught by Zhang. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to naturally lead to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset for image recognition tasks (as suggested by Zhang at p. 1292 left column: “where xi= [xi 1,xi 2,...] is the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i. This naturally leads to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset of all the C classes”. See also Abstract “The proposed joint dynamic sparsity prior promotes shared joint sparsity patterns among the multiple sparse representation vectors at class-level, while allowing distinct sparsity patterns at atom-level within each class to facilitate a flexible representation”).
Referring to Claim 16, the combination of Xiao and Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 15, wherein the instructions that when executed cause the at least one processor to train the shared attention dictionary comprise instructions that when executed cause the at least one processor to train attention parameters of the attention layer in each of the plurality of encoder blocks (see Xiao at p. 5295 left column: “For example, we can try to share weights on layer blocks consisting of two layers, or three layers, or all layers (π = 2, or 3 , ...), and use the tuned π on test data”. The attention weights are interpreted as the attention parameters).
Referring to Claim 17, the combination of Xiao and Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 16, further containing instructions that when executed cause the at least one processor to:
identify columns from the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks for the weighted combination using the index matrix associated with a given encoder block among the plurality of encoder blocks (see Zhang at p. 1293 left column: “Each dynamic active set gs contains only one index for each column of X, e.g., gs(m) is the row-index of the selected atom for the m-th column of X in the s-th dynamic active set, as shown in Fig. 2(c). Therefore in our algorithm, we allow the sparse representation for each view to be different, but are forced to share the same class-level (group) structure”. Further, at p. 1294 left column: “
(12) which gives the index matrix
containing the top-L dynamic active sets for all the M views, as detailed in Algorithm 2”. Therefore, this index matrix which contains one index for each column corresponds to the claimed columns for the weighted combination using an index matrix. Xiao teaches the attention matrix, as explained in Claim 1);
identify weights for the weighted combination using the coefficient matrix associated with the given encoder block (see p. 1292 left column:
“
”. Therefore, the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom (training sample as explained at p. 1292) is interpreted as the claimed weights for the weighted combination using a coefficient matrix).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xiao with the above teachings of Zhang by having a weighted combination of columns from the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks, as taught by Xiao, and having a coefficient matrix with the weighted combination, as taught by Zhang. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to naturally lead to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset (as suggested by Zhang at p. 1292 left column: “where xi= [xi 1,xi 2,...] is the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i. This naturally leads to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset of all the C classes”).
Referring to Claim 18, the combination of Xiao and Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 17, wherein the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks reduces computations using at least one of the index matrix associated with the given encoder block and the coefficient matrix associated with the given encoder block (see Xiao at p. 5292 right column: “This experience lead us to study the issue in another line of research, in which we reduce redundant computation and re-use some of the hidden states in the attention network. We propose a method to share attention weights in adjacent layers (call it shared attention network, or SAN for short)”).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Zhang and further in view of Boulis (US Pub. No. 2009/0019002- hereinafter Boulis).
Referring to Claim 21, Xiao teaches a method comprising:
receiving an input at a mobile device that stores a trained machine learning model, the trained machine learning model comprising a plurality of encoder blocks, an attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks (see Xiao at section 2 first paragraph: “The input of the attention sub-layer is a tuple of (Q,K, V)”. Further at p. 5297 left column: “In training, we observe that systems tend to learn similar attention weights. Figure 6 plots the JS divergence between layer 4 and layers 5-6 at different training steps” and “For example, for each training epoch (Figure 4), one can train the model for a shorter time, as the JS divergence among layers converges quickly”. Therefore, this machine learning using training epochs is interpreted as the machine learning model stored. Also at p. 5292 right column: “This experience lead us to study the issue in another line of research, in which we reduce redundant computation and re-use some of the hidden states in the attention network. We propose a method to share attention weights in adjacent layers (call it shared attention network, or SAN for short). It leads to a model that shares attention computation in the stacked layers vertically. In addition to the new architecture, we develop a joint method to learn sharing policies and MT models simultaneously. As another “bonus”, SAN reduces the memory footprint because some hidden states are kept in the same piece of memory”. Therefore, this attention network or SAN corresponds to the claimed attention dictionary being shared, as it is trained from shared attention weights),
wherein attention parameters for each encoder block among the plurality of encoder blocks are a weighted combination of values from the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks (see Xiao at section 3.1 left column: “Let S[i] be column i of weight matrix S. For position i , we first compute S[i] to weight all positions (as in Eq. (1)), and then compute the weighted sum of values by S[i] (as in Eq. (2)). In column vector S[i], element Si,j indicates the contribution that we fuse the value at position j to position I”. Therefore, this weighted sum is interpreted as the weighted combination of values).
However, Xiao fails to teach:
receiving an input at a mobile device that stores a trained machine learning model,
the trained machine learning model comprising an index matrix for each of the encoder blocks, and a coefficient matrix for each of the encoder blocks,
wherein the index matrix for each of the encoder blocks and the coefficient matrix for each of the encoder blocks are not shared across the plurality of encoeer blocks;
performing a linear projection of the input in each of the plurality of encoder blocks using the attention dictionary, the index matrix associated with the respective encoder block, and the coefficient matrix associated with the respective encoder block,
the attention parameters trained using a sparse coefficient matrix for each encoder block that is based on an index matrix and a coefficient matrix associated with the encoder block.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous system,
the trained machine learning model comprising an index matrix for each of the encoder blocks (see Zhang at p. 1293 left column: “Each dynamic active set gs contains only one index for each column of X, e.g., gs(m) is the row-index of the selected atom for the m-th column of X in the s-th dynamic active set, as shown in Fig. 2(c). Therefore in our algorithm, we allow the sparse representation for each view to be different, but are forced to share the same class-level (group) structure”. Further, at p. 1294 left column: “
(12) which gives the index matrix
containing the top-L dynamic active sets for all the M views, as detailed in Algorithm 2”. Therefore, this index matrix which contains one index for each column corresponds to the claimed index matrix), and a coefficient matrix for each of the encoder blocks (see p. 1292 left column:
“
”. Therefore, the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom (training sample as explained at p. 1292) is interpreted as coefficient matrix);
wherein the index matrix for each of the encoder blocks and the coefficient matrix for each of the encoder blocks are not shared across the plurality of encoder blocks (see Zhang at p. 1293 left column: “Each dynamic active set gs contains only one index for each column of X, e.g., gs(m) is the row-index of the selected atom for the m-th column of X in the s-th dynamic active set, as shown in Fig. 2(c)”. Therefore, since there is only one index for each column, this is interpreted as not being shared across encoder blocks. Further, a p. 1292 left column: “the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i”. Therefore, each atom (training sample) has its own weights, and this is interpreted as not being shared across encoder blocks);
performing a linear projection of the input in each of the plurality of encoder blocks using the attention dictionary, the index matrix associated with the respective encoder block, and the coefficient matrix associated with the respective encoder block (see p. 1292 left column:
“
”. Therefore, the linear combination of the samples is interpreted as the claimed linear projection of the input using the dictionary, index and coefficient matrices);
the attention parameters trained using a sparse coefficient matrix for each encoder block that is based on an index matrix and a coefficient matrix associated with the encoder block (see Zhang at p. 1292 left column: “the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i”, and “where xi= [xi 1,xi 2,...] is the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i. This naturally leads to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset of all the C classes”. Therefore, this coefficient vector is interpreted as the sparse coefficient matrix).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xiao with the above teachings of Zhang by having a weighted combination of columns from the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks, as taught by Xiao, and having a coefficient matrix with the weighted combination, as taught by Zhang. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to naturally lead to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset for image recognition tasks (as suggested by Zhang at p. 1292 left column: “where xi= [xi 1,xi 2,...] is the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i. This naturally leads to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset of all the C classes”. See also Abstract “The proposed joint dynamic sparsity prior promotes shared joint sparsity patterns among the multiple sparse representation vectors at class-level, while allowing distinct sparsity patterns at atom-level within each class to facilitate a flexible representation”).
Boulis teaches in an analogous system,
receiving an input at a mobile device that stores a trained machine learning model (see Boulis at [0009]: “Embodiments described herein support search query processing that includes receiving a search query input string from a user of a mobile device and comparing the search query input to a personalized dictionary and determining a suggested completion for each match in the comparison, and then providing the suggested completion to the user for selection”. Further at [0091]: “the personalized dictionary can be stored in memory of a mobile device so that it can be readily accessed by a search application without the necessity of communicating with a general-purpose dictionary that is stored at a remote network location”. Therefore, the input query received at the user’s mobile device is interpreted as the received input, and the personalized dictionary stored in the mobile device is interpreted as the machine learning model).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Xiao and Zhang with the above teachings of Boulis by having a trained machine learning model, the trained machine learning model comprising a plurality of encoder blocks, an attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks, an index matrix for each of the encoder blocks, and a coefficient matrix for each of the encoder blocks, as taught by Xiao and Zhang, and wherein the model is stored in a mobile device that receives inputs, as taught by Boulis. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to store the model in a mobile device so that it can be readily accessed by a search application without the necessity of communicating with a general-purpose dictionary that is stored at a remote network location, where speed of input and efficiency of operation are highly prized (as suggested by Boulis at p. [0091]: “Thus, the personalized dictionary can be stored in memory of a mobile device so that it can be readily accessed by a search application without the necessity of communicating with a general-purpose dictionary that is stored at a remote network location” and [0092]: “This is especially useful in the mobile device context, where speed of input and efficiency of operation are highly prized”).
Referring to Claim 22, the combination of Xiao, Zhang and Boulis teaches the method of Claim 21, wherein performing the linear projection comprises:
determining an intermediate output based on a product of the input and the attention dictionary (see Xiao at section 3.1 first paragraph “Self-attention is essentially a procedure that fuses the input values to form a new value at each position. Let S[i] be column i of weight matrix S. For position i , we first compute S[i] to weight all positions (as in Eq. (1)), and then compute the weighted sum of values by S[i] (as in Eq. (2))”. Therefore, these new values at each position before computing the weighted sum corresponds to the claimed intermediate output); and
for each of the encoder blocks, determining a product of the intermediate output and coefficients in the coefficient matrix associated with the respective encoder block for columns identified by the index matrix associated with the respective encoder block (see p. 1292 left column:
“
”. Therefore, the product between the
where the
is the coefficient matrix associated with the respective encoder block for columns identified by the index matrix and the
is the intermediate output).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xiao with the above teachings of Zhang by having a weighted combination of columns from the attention dictionary shared across the plurality of encoder blocks, as taught by Xiao, and determining a product of an intermediate output and coefficients in the coefficient matrix, as taught by Zhang. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to naturally lead to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset (as suggested by Zhang at p. 1292 left column: “where xi= [xi 1,xi 2,...] is the coefficient vector containing the appropriate weights for each atom in class i. This naturally leads to a sparse representation over the whole training dataset of all the C classes”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 12-14, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS A SITIRICHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2126