DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 03/10/2026. Claims 1-5, 7-15, and 17-30 are pending for evaluation.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 03/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 11, 18, and 26 have been amended. Claims 6 and 16 were previously canceled. Claims 1-5, 7-15, and 17-30 remain pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1, 11, 18, and 26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the dependent claims are substantively the same as those set forth for Claims 1, 11, 18, and 26 . Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for Claims 1, 11, 18, and 26 are equally applicable to the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-15, and 17-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2025/0038906, previously presented), Park hereinafter, in view of Li et al. (US 2023/0122910, previously presented), Li hereinafter, and further view of Xiong et al. (US 2025/0226899), Xiong hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Park teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising (Fig. 1B; Paras. [0028-0038]):
memory (Fig. 1B, elements 130 and 132; Paras. [0028, 0033]);
and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to (Fig. 1B, element 118; Paras. [0028, 0033-0037]):
measure a reference signal (RS) from a network node in a symbol or a slot (Fig. 5, steps 530 and 560; Para. [0148]; Fig. 4B; Para. [0143] - As illustrated in the example of FIG. 4B, in an embodiment, a UE may receive configuration of a first set of RBs (for performing CSI-RS measurement). The UE may receive an indication of a second set of RBs (e.g., as DL RBs applicable to XDD/SBFD symbols), where the second set of RBs may include a subset of the first set of RBs and might not include all the RBs in the first set of RBs. For example, the second set of RBs may at least indicate available DL RB(s) and/or subband(s) (or being not UL subband) of SBFD configuration, which may be indicated and/or configured in a BWP (pair) and/or in a CC/cell level (e.g., along with the CC/cell configuration) or in a system information block (SIB) and/or in a master information block (MIB). As illustrated in the example of FIG. 4B, the second set of RBs may comprise non-contiguous RBs, where the non-contiguous RBs may be based on an UL subband and/or RBs (of the SBFD configuration) being allocated and/or indicated within (e.g., in the middle of) the second set of RBs. In an example, the first set of RBs may be comprised or included within the second set of RBs (e.g., being non-contiguous), where the first set of RBs may be (also) non-contiguous. In an embodiment, the UE may be directly configured with the first set of RBs (e.g., for performing CSI-RS measurement) which may be non-contiguous RBs. In response to receiving (e.g., being configured with) the non-contiguous RBs for performing CSI-RS measurement, the UE may measure the CSI-RS over the non-contiguous RBs (e.g., based on the first set of RBs and/or the second set of RBs), derive a CSI, and report or transmit the CSI, e.g., based on at least one embodiment presented throughout the disclosure. This CSI-RS measurement and CSI reporting behavior based on the non-contiguous RBs may be configured and/or indicated to the UE, based on an independent behavior, or a condition that the CSI-RS measurement is performed on a set of XDD (or SBFD) symbols/slots, and/or a condition that the UE is allowed to combine CSI-RS measurements from XDD (or SBFD) and non-XDD (or non-SBFD) symbols/slot. The UE may receive an indication indicating a set of non-XDD (or non-SBFD) symbols/slots and a set of XDD (or SBFD) symbols/slots, and/or indicating a time offset or time domain pattern for when the indication of the non-XDD (or non-SBFD) and XDD (or SBFD) symbols/slots may apply; See also Para. [0151]),
wherein at least two downlink subbands in the plurality of downlink subbands are separated by an uplink subband in the symbol or the slot (Fig. 3B; Fig. 4A; Para. [0143] - As illustrated in the example of FIG. 4B, the second set of RBs may comprise non-contiguous RBs, where the non-contiguous RBs may be based on an UL subband and/or RBs (of the SBFD configuration) being allocated and/or indicated within (e.g., in the middle of) the second set of RBs),
and wherein the plurality of downlink subbands and the uplink subband are associated with a subband full duplex operation at the network node (Para. [0143] - The UE may receive an indication of a second set of RBs (e.g., as DL RBs applicable to XDD/SBFD symbols), where the second set of RBs may include a subset of the first set of RBs and might not include all the RBs in the first set of RBs. For example, the second set of RBs may at least indicate available DL RB(s) and/or subband(s) (or being not UL subband) of SBFD configuration, which may be indicated and/or configured in a BWP (pair) and/or in a CC/cell level (e.g., along with the CC/cell configuration) or in a system information block (SIB) and/or in a master information block (MIB). As illustrated in the example of FIG. 4B, the second set of RBs may comprise non-contiguous RBs, where the non-contiguous RBs may be based on an UL subband and/or RBs (of the SBFD configuration) being allocated and/or indicated within (e.g., in the middle of) the second set of RBs);
[[and]] generate at least one (CSI) metric based on the measurement of the RS (Fig. 5, steps 570 and 590; Para. [0151] - According to certain embodiments, on a condition that the WTRU is to combine CSI-RS measurements from the first set of symbols or slots that are not configured for the type of duplexing method and CSI-RS measurements from the second set of symbols or slots that are configured for the type of duplexing method, the method may include, at 560, measuring a second CSI-RS in a symbol or slot of the second set of symbols or slots in RBs that are overlapping or included in both the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs. At 570, the method may include determining a channel state information (CSI) based on the measurement of the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS and, at 580, reporting the CSI to a network or network node (e.g., base station or gNB). In an embodiment, the determining 570 of the CSI based on the first CSI-RS measurement and the second CSI-RS measurement may include averaging the measurement of the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS; See also Para. [0152]).
transmit a CSI report to the network node based on the at least one CSI metric (Fig. 5, step 580; Para. [0151] - According to certain embodiments, on a condition that the WTRU is to combine CSI-RS measurements from the first set of symbols or slots that are not configured for the type of duplexing method and CSI-RS measurements from the second set of symbols or slots that are configured for the type of duplexing method, the method may include, at 560, measuring a second CSI-RS in a symbol or slot of the second set of symbols or slots in RBs that are overlapping or included in both the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs. At 570, the method may include determining a channel state information (CSI) based on the measurement of the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS and, at 580, reporting the CSI to a network or network node (e.g., base station or gNB). In an embodiment, the determining 570 of the CSI based on the first CSI-RS measurement and the second CSI-RS measurement may include averaging the measurement of the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS; See also Paras. [0082, 0105, 0143, 0144, 0146, 0152]).
wherein the CSI report skips reporting the uplink subband associated with the subband full duplex operation at the network node (Para. [0078] - The UE may apply a skipping operation/behavior on one or more measurements (e.g., based on the DPA) on/for particular symbol/slot (for example indicated as an XDD-symbol/slot, e.g., by a mixed UL/DL slot/symbol format) when measuring a periodic/semi-persistent CSI-RS. In some examples, the UE may perform measurement averaging and/or may be configured to perform the measurement averaging across, for example only across, multiple measurements in the time domain for which the DPA indication is not given/obtained; See also Paras. [0125, 0201, 0230]).
Yet, Park does not expressly teach the RS corresponding to a single channel state information (CSI) RS (CSI-RS) resource that extends over a plurality of downlink subbands that have non-contiguous subcarriers in the symbol or the slot.
However, Li teaches
the RS corresponding to a single channel state information (CSI) RS (CSI-RS) resource that extends over a plurality of downlink subbands that have non-contiguous subcarriers in the symbol or the slot (Fig. 12, Para. [0103] - In an embodiment, as shown in FIG. 12, for each PRBs, there are 12 subcarriers in frequency domain and 14 OFDM symbols in time domain, one 32-port CSI-RS resource for channel measurements is configured, marked as blocks with one style of hatching or fill pattern, and one CSI-IM resource for interference measurements is configured, marked as blocks with another style of hatching or fill pattern. As one example, in the x0 subframe, transmission power p.sub.0 is transmitted on CSI-IM, in the subframe x1, . . . , xn, transmission power p.sub.1, . . . , p.sub.n are applied, respectively, where n is any integer number larger than 1. The pattern can be repetitive with a periodicity. As another example for Alternative 2, assume n=2, the power allocation pattern for CSI-IM could be p.sub.0, p.sub.1, p.sub.0, p.sub.1, . . . , p.sub.0, p.sub.1. As one example for Alternative 1, assume n=1, the power allocation pattern for CSI-IM could be p.sub.0, p.sub.0, . . . , p.sub.0; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0118]).
Examiner’s Note: Park teaches operation over at least two downlink subband that are non-contiguous and separated by an uplink subband with the symbol/slot (e.g., Fig. 4B; Para. [0080]; Para. [0143-0148]) and performing CSI-RS measurements across those subbands. Park, however, does not specify that a single CSI-RS resource spans those separated subbands. Lee provides this feature. Lee Figs. 12 and 14 show CSI-RS/CSI-IM resources occupying separated frequency regions within the same symbol/slot, forming a single CSI-RS resource with non-contiguous subcarriers. Combined, Park and Lee teach a CSI-RS resource extending over plural, non-contiguous downlink subbands separated by an uplink subband as required by the amended claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s invention of “methods, apparatus and systems for DL power adjustment and UE behaviors/procedures for subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) or XDD” (Park Para. [0002]) with Li’s invention of “a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device” (Li §Abstract) because Li’s invention provides methods to mitigate CQI (channel quality indication) saturation (Li Para. [0014]).
Yet, Park nor Li does not expressly teach wherein a guard band separates at least one of the at least two downlink subbands and the uplink subband.
However, Xiong teaches
wherein a guard band separates at least one of the at least two downlink subbands and the uplink subband (Fig. 5A, elements 502, 504, 506 and 514; Para. [0105-0107] - [0106] FIG. 5A depicts an embodiment of an aggressor UE 500 that transmits a sounding frame such as an SRS 512 or other frame for measurement by a victim UE 530 (shown in FIG. 5B) to mitigate cross-link interference (CLI), such as the UEs shown in FIGS. 1A, 1B, and 2. FIG. 5A depicts a SBFD symbols 510 on a graph of carrier bandwidth (frequency bandwidth) over time. The SBFD operation includes a DL subband 502, guard bands 504 about a UL subband 514, and a DL subband 506. The guard bands 504 may not have a substantial enough bandwidth to prevent inter-band CLI from the UL subband 512 on the DL subbands of a victim UE 530 on the same communication resources (including carrier frequency and timing) as the DL subbands 502 and 506. Note that the aggressor UE 500 may have sufficient shielding and/or filtering to avoid inter-subband interference on DL subbands 502 and 506; See Also: Fig. 4, Para. [0098-0104]; Figs. 5C-D, Para. [0110-0111]; Fig. 5E, Para. [0112]; Fig. 6, Para. [0113-0125]; Fig. 7, Para. [0126-0144])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a guard band separates at least one of the at least two downlink subbands and the uplink subband as taught by Xiong, in the combined system of Park/Li, so that it would provide methods for “measurements in SBFD operation for aggressor and victim base stations” (Xiong Para. [0105])) “to mitigate cross-link interference (CLI)” (Xiong Para. [0106]).
Regarding Claim 11, Park teaches a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: (Fig. 4B; Fig. 5):
measuring a reference signal (RS) from a network node in a symbol or a slot (Fig. 5, steps 530 and 560; Para. [0148]; Fig. 4B; Paras. [0143, 0151]),
wherein at least two downlink subbands in the plurality of downlink subbands are separated by an uplink subband in the symbol or the slot (Fig. 3B; Fig. 4A; Para. [0143]),
and wherein the plurality of downlink subbands and the uplink subband are associated with a subband full duplex operation at the network node (Para. [0143]);
[[and]] generating at least one (CSI) metric based on the measurement of the RS (Fig. 5, steps 570 and 590; Paras. [0151, 0152]).
transmitting, to the network node, a CSI report based on the at least one CSI metric (Fig. 5, step 580; Para. [0151]; See also Paras. [0082, 0105, 0143, 0144, 0146, 0152]).
wherein the CSI report skips reporting the uplink subband associated with the subband full duplex operation at the network node (Para. [0078]; See also Paras. [0125, 0201, 0230]).
Yet, Park does not expressly teach the RS corresponding to a single channel state information (CSI) RS (CSI-RS) resource that extends over a plurality of downlink subbands that have non-contiguous subcarriers in the symbol or the slot.
However, Li teaches
the RS corresponding to a single channel state information (CSI) RS (CSI-RS) resource that extends over a plurality of downlink subbands that have non-contiguous subcarriers in the symbol or the slot (Fig. 12, Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s invention of “methods, apparatus and systems for DL power adjustment and UE behaviors/procedures for subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) or XDD” (Park Para. [0002]) with Li’s invention of “a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device” (Li §Abstract) because Li’s invention provides methods to mitigate CQI (channel quality indication) saturation (Li Para. [0014]).
Yet, Park nor Li does not expressly teach wherein a guard band separates at least one of the at least two downlink subbands and the uplink subband.
However, Xiong teaches
wherein a guard band separates at least one of the at least two downlink subbands and the uplink subband (FIG. 5A, ELEMENTS 502, 504, 506 AND 514; PARA. [0105-0107]; SEE ALSO: FIG. 4, PARA. [0098-0104]; FIGS. 5C-D, PARA. [0110-0111]; FIG. 5E, PARA. [0112]; FIG. 6, PARA. [0113-0125]; FIG. 7, PARA. [0126-0144])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a guard band separates at least one of the at least two downlink subbands and the uplink subband as taught by Xiong, in the combined system of Park/Li, so that it would provide methods for “measurements in SBFD operation for aggressor and victim base stations” (Xiong Para. [0105])) “to mitigate cross-link interference (CLI)” (Xiong Para. [0106]).
Regarding Claim 18, Park teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: (Fig. 1A, element 114a; Paras. [0016-0018]):
[[a]] memory (Paras. [0233, 0251]);
and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to (Paras. [0233, 0249, 0251]):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a reference signal (RS) in a symbol or a slot, (Fig. 5, steps 530 and 560; Para. [0148]; Fig. 4B; Paras. [0143, 0151]),
wherein at least two downlink subbands in the plurality of downlink subbands are separated by an uplink subband in the symbol or the slot (Fig. 3B; Fig. 4A; Para. [0143]),
and wherein the plurality of downlink subbands and the uplink subband are associated with a subband full duplex operation at the network node (Para. [0143]);
receive a (CSI) report from the UE based on the RS and at least one CSI metric (Fig. 5, steps 570 and 590; Para. [0151, 0152]).
wherein the CSI report skips reporting the uplink subband associated with the subband full duplex operation at the network node (Para. [0078]; See also Paras. [0125, 0201, 0230]).
Yet, Park does not expressly teach the RS corresponding to a single channel state information (CSI) RS (CSI-RS) resource that extends over a plurality of downlink subbands that have non-contiguous subcarriers in the symbol or the slot.
However, Li teaches
the RS corresponding to a single channel state information (CSI) RS (CSI-RS) resource that extends over a plurality of downlink subbands that have non-contiguous subcarriers in the symbol or the slot (Fig. 12, Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s invention of “methods, apparatus and systems for DL power adjustment and UE behaviors/procedures for subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) or XDD” (Park Para. [0002]) with Li’s invention of “a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device” (Li §Abstract) because Li’s invention provides methods to mitigate CQI (channel quality indication) saturation (Li Para. [0014]).
Yet, Park nor Li does not expressly teach wherein a guard band separates at least one of the at least two downlink subbands and the uplink subband.
However, Xiong teaches
wherein a guard band separates at least one of the at least two downlink subbands and the uplink subband (FIG. 5A, ELEMENTS 502, 504, 506 AND 514; PARA. [0105-0107]; SEE ALSO: FIG. 4, PARA. [0098-0104]; FIGS. 5C-D, PARA. [0110-0111]; FIG. 5E, PARA. [0112]; FIG. 6, PARA. [0113-0125]; FIG. 7, PARA. [0126-0144])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a guard band separates at least one of the at least two downlink subbands and the uplink subband as taught by Xiong, in the combined system of Park/Li, so that it would provide methods for “measurements in SBFD operation for aggressor and victim base stations” (Xiong Para. [0105])) “to mitigate cross-link interference (CLI)” (Xiong Para. [0106]).
Regarding Claim 26, Park teaches a method of wireless communication at a network node, comprising: (Fig. 4B; Fig. 5):
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a reference signal (RS) in a symbol or a slot, (Fig. 5, steps 530 and 560; Para. [0148]; Fig. 4B; Paras. [0143, 0151]),
wherein at least two downlink subbands in the plurality of downlink subbands are separated by an uplink subband in the symbol or the slot (Fig. 3B; Fig. 4A; Para. [0143]),
and wherein the plurality of downlink subbands and the uplink subband are associated with a subband full duplex operation at the network node (Para. [0143]);
receiving a (CSI) report from the UE based on the RS and at least one CSI metric (Fig. 5, steps 570 and 590; Para. [0151, 0152]).
wherein the CSI report skips reporting the uplink subband associated with the subband full duplex operation at the network node (Para. [0078]; See also Paras. [0125, 0201, 0230]).
Yet, Park does not expressly teach the RS corresponding to a single channel state information (CSI) RS (CSI-RS) resource that extends over a plurality of downlink subbands that have non-contiguous subcarriers in the symbol or the slot.
However, Li teaches
the RS corresponding to a single channel state information (CSI) RS (CSI-RS) resource that extends over a plurality of downlink subbands that have non-contiguous subcarriers in the symbol or the slot (Fig. 12, Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s invention of “methods, apparatus and systems for DL power adjustment and UE behaviors/procedures for subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) or XDD” (Park Para. [0002]) with Li’s invention of “a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device” (Li §Abstract) because Li’s invention provides methods to mitigate CQI (channel quality indication) saturation (Li Para. [0014]).
Yet, Park nor Li does not expressly teach wherein a guard band separates at least one of the at least two downlink subbands and the uplink subband.
However, Xiong teaches
wherein a guard band separates at least one of the at least two downlink subbands and the uplink subband (FIG. 5A, ELEMENTS 502, 504, 506 AND 514; PARA. [0105-0107]; SEE ALSO: FIG. 4, PARA. [0098-0104]; FIGS. 5C-D, PARA. [0110-0111]; FIG. 5E, PARA. [0112]; FIG. 6, PARA. [0113-0125]; FIG. 7, PARA. [0126-0144])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a guard band separates at least one of the at least two downlink subbands and the uplink subband as taught by Xiong, in the combined system of Park/Li, so that it would provide methods for “measurements in SBFD operation for aggressor and victim base stations” (Xiong Para. [0105])) “to mitigate cross-link interference (CLI)” (Xiong Para. [0106]).
Regarding Claims 2, 12, 19, and 27, Park in view of Li and Xiong teaches Claims 1, 11, 18, 26.
Park also teaches
wherein the RS comprises a CSI-RS (Para. [0103] - The UE may receive a first (target) DL channel and/or signal according to the same spatial domain filter and/or one or more spatial reception parameters as a second (reference) DL channel and/or signal. For example, such an association may exist between a physical channel such as the PDCCH and/or the PDSCH and the DM-RS for the respective channel or channels. At least when the first and second signals are reference signals, such an association may exist when the UE is configured with a quasi-colocation (QCL) assumption type D between corresponding antenna ports. The association may be configured as a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state. A UE may indicate an association between a CSI-RS or a SSB and a DM-RS by an index to a set of TCI states configured by the RRC and/or signaled by a MAC CE. Such an indication may be referred to as a “beam indication”; See also Paras. [0076, 0148, 0220]).
Regarding Claims 3, 13, 20, 28, Park in view of Li and Xiong teaches Claims 1, 11, 18, 26.
Park also teaches
wherein the at least one CSI metric comprises at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal strength indicator (RSSI), a channel quality indicator (CQI), or a pathloss reference signal (RS) (Para. [0081] - A UE may measure a first CSI-RS in the first set of RBs in a symbol or slot in the first set of symbols/slots. On a condition that the UE is allowed to combine CSI-RS measurements from XDD and non-XDD symbols/slots, the UE may measure a second CSI-RS in a symbol or slot of the second set of symbols/slots in RBs that are in both the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs. The UE may determine a CSI (e.g., CQI, PMI, RI, L1-RSRP) based on the measurement of the first CSI-RS and the second CSI-RS (e.g., average) and report the CSI to the base station or gNB).
Regarding Claim 4, Park in view of Li and Xiong teaches Claim 1.
Park further teaches
wherein to generate the at least one CSI metric, the at least one processor is configured to generate the at least one CSI metric further based on a first transmit power associated with the RS in at least one downlink subband in the plurality of downlink subbands in the symbol or the slot (Para. [0125] - In various examples, the UE may determine (e.g., identify, calculate, and/or assume) that a transmitted first DL power level of a base station and/or gNB of the one or more XDD symbols/slots may be adjusted (e.g., changed, shifted, and/or varied), based on the indicated information, from (e.g., compared with) a second DL power level of one or more non-XDD symbols/slots. After or in response to the determination, the UE may identify (e.g., determine, calculate, and/or assume) a power ratio of the first DL power level (e.g., of the one or more XDD symbols/slots) to the second DL power level (of the one or more non-XDD symbols/slots). Based on (e.g., using) the power ratio and/or based on the information, the UE may perform (e.g., apply, and/or conduct) one or more DL reception behaviors/procedures on the one or more XDD symbols/slots including any of: (1) power-level compensation (e.g., to derive a CSI), (2) automatic measurement restriction (MR), e.g., MR=ON, for a symbol/slot (e.g., for a XDD symbol/slot), (3) a measurement skipping operation/behavior, e.g., for one or more XDD symbols/slots, and/or (4) a UE-triggered automatic gain control (AGC) adjustment, e.g., for one or more XDD symbols/slots),
wherein the first transmit power associated with the RS in the at least one downlink subband in the symbol or the slot is greater than a second transmit power associated with a second RS in a second symbol or a second slot (Para. [0125] - In various examples, the UE may determine (e.g., identify, calculate, and/or assume) that a transmitted first DL power level of a base station and/or gNB of the one or more XDD symbols/slots may be adjusted (e.g., changed, shifted, and/or varied), based on the indicated information, from (e.g., compared with) a second DL power level of one or more non-XDD symbols/slots. After or in response to the determination, the UE may identify (e.g., determine, calculate, and/or assume) a power ratio of the first DL power level (e.g., of the one or more XDD symbols/slots) to the second DL power level (of the one or more non-XDD symbols/slots). Based on (e.g., using) the power ratio and/or based on the information, the UE may perform (e.g., apply, and/or conduct) one or more DL reception behaviors/procedures on the one or more XDD symbols/slots including any of: (1) power-level compensation (e.g., to derive a CSI), (2) automatic measurement restriction (MR), e.g., MR=ON, for a symbol/slot (e.g., for a XDD symbol/slot), (3) a measurement skipping operation/behavior, e.g., for one or more XDD symbols/slots, and/or (4) a UE-triggered automatic gain control (AGC) adjustment, e.g., for one or more XDD symbols/slots),
wherein the second symbol or the second slot is associated with a half duplex operation at the network node (Para. [0125] - In various examples, the UE may determine (e.g., identify, calculate, and/or assume) that a transmitted first DL power level of a base station and/or gNB of the one or more XDD symbols/slots may be adjusted (e.g., changed, shifted, and/or varied), based on the indicated information, from (e.g., compared with) a second DL power level of one or more non-XDD symbols/slots. After or in response to the determination, the UE may identify (e.g., determine, calculate, and/or assume) a power ratio of the first DL power level (e.g., of the one or more XDD symbols/slots) to the second DL power level (of the one or more non-XDD symbols/slots). Based on (e.g., using) the power ratio and/or based on the information, the UE may perform (e.g., apply, and/or conduct) one or more DL reception behaviors/procedures on the one or more XDD symbols/slots including any of: (1) power-level compensation (e.g., to derive a CSI), (2) automatic measurement restriction (MR), e.g., MR=ON, for a symbol/slot (e.g., for a XDD symbol/slot), (3) a measurement skipping operation/behavior, e.g., for one or more XDD symbols/slots, and/or (4) a UE-triggered automatic gain control (AGC) adjustment, e.g., for one or more XDD symbols/slots),
and wherein the second symbol or the second slot comprises no uplink subbands (Fig. 4A; Para. [0125] - In various examples, the UE may determine (e.g., identify, calculate, and/or assume) that a transmitted first DL power level of a base station and/or gNB of the one or more XDD symbols/slots may be adjusted (e.g., changed, shifted, and/or varied), based on the indicated information, from (e.g., compared with) a second DL power level of one or more non-XDD symbols/slots. After or in response to the determination, the UE may identify (e.g., determine, calculate, and/or assume) a power ratio of the first DL power level (e.g., of the one or more XDD symbols/slots) to the second DL power level (of the one or more non-XDD symbols/slots). Based on (e.g., using) the power ratio and/or based on the information, the UE may perform (e.g., apply, and/or conduct) one or more DL reception behaviors/procedures on the one or more XDD symbols/slots including any of: (1) power-level compensation (e.g., to derive a CSI), (2) automatic measurement restriction (MR), e.g., MR=ON, for a symbol/slot (e.g., for a XDD symbol/slot), (3) a measurement skipping operation/behavior, e.g., for one or more XDD symbols/slots, and/or (4) a UE-triggered automatic gain control (AGC) adjustment, e.g., for one or more XDD symbols/slots).
Regarding Claim 14, Park in view of Li and Xiong teaches Claim 11.
Park further teaches
wherein the at least one CSI metric is generated further based on a first transmit power associated with the RS in at least one downlink subband in the plurality of downlink subbands in the symbol or the slot (Para. [0125]),
wherein the first transmit power associated with the RS in the at least one downlink subband in the symbol or the slot is greater than a second transmit power associated with a second RS in a second symbol or a second slot (Para. [0125]),
wherein the second symbol or the second slot is associated with a half duplex operation at the network node (Para. [0125]),
and wherein the second symbol or the second slot comprises no uplink subbands (Fig. 4A; Para. [0125]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Park in view of Li and Xiong teaches Claims 4 and 14.
Park further teaches
wherein the RS is received via a first preconfigured CSI-RS resource in the symbol or the slot (Fig. 4B; Para. [0145] - As described in examples based on FIG. 4B, a UE may receive or be configured to receive configuration information indicating a first set of RBs (e.g., for performing a CSI-RS measurement). The UE may receive an indication indicating a second set of RBs wherein the second set of RBs are indicated as DL RBs. In an embodiment, the second set of RBs may include a subset of the first set of RBs, e.g., it might not include all the RBs in the first set. The UE may receive an indication indicating that a first set of symbols or slots (symbols/slots) is not intended for XDD (i.e., non-XDD symbols/slots) and a second set of symbols/slots is intended for XDD (i.e., XDD symbols/slots); ),
the first preconfigured CSI-RS resource is associated with the subband full duplex operation at the network node (Fig. 4B; Para. [0145] - As described in examples based on FIG. 4B, a UE may receive or be configured to receive configuration information indicating a first set of RBs (e.g., for performing a CSI-RS measurement). The UE may receive an indication indicating a second set of RBs wherein the second set of RBs are indicated as DL RBs. In an embodiment, the second set of RBs may include a subset of the first set of RBs, e.g., it might not include all the RBs in the first set. The UE may receive an indication indicating that a first set of symbols or slots (symbols/slots) is not intended for XDD (i.e., non-XDD symbols/slots) and a second set of symbols/slots is intended for XDD (i.e., XDD symbols/slots)),
the second RS is received via a second preconfigured CSI-RS resource in the second symbol or the second slot, and the second preconfigured CSI-RS resource is associated with the half duplex operation at the network node (Fig. 4B; Para. [0145] - As described in examples based on FIG. 4B, a UE may receive or be configured to receive configuration information indicating a first set of RBs (e.g., for performing a CSI-RS measurement). The UE may receive an indication indicating a second set of RBs wherein the second set of RBs are indicated as DL RBs. In an embodiment, the second set of RBs may include a subset of the first set of RBs, e.g., it might not include all the RBs in the first set. The UE may receive an indication indicating that a first set of symbols or slots (symbols/slots) is not intended for XDD (i.e., non-XDD symbols/slots) and a second set of symbols/slots is intended for XDD (i.e., XDD symbols/slots)).
Figure 1: Fig. 4B from Park (US 2025/0038906). The highlighted elements teach the pre-configuring of the reference signals and the full-duplex and half-duplex slots/symbols for measuring CSI-RS.
Regarding Claims 7, 17, and 23, Park in view of Li and Xiong teaches Claims 1, 11, and 18.
Park further teaches
wherein the CSI report comprises a per-CSI subband CSI report (Para. [0204] - For example, if or on condition that a first sub-band is configured/indicated/associated with the XDD-related parameter, if the parameter is indicated for a sub-band-level (e.g., for a part of RBs in a BWP/CC, for example when the DPA indication (e.g., based on the measurement-skipping procedure/behavior) is given/obtained per group of RBs, the UE may skip reporting a first CSI (e.g., sub-band-CSI) corresponding to the first sub-band, when reporting the configured/indicated sub-band reporting (e.g., in addition to the wideband reporting); See also Paras. [0208, 0215]),
and the per-CSI subband CSI report is associated with skipping the uplink subband associated with the subband full duplex operation at the network node (Para. [0078] - The UE may apply a skipping operation/behavior on one or more measurements (e.g., based on the DPA) on/for particular symbol/slot (for example indicated as an XDD-symbol/slot, e.g., by a mixed UL/DL slot/symbol format) when measuring a periodic/semi-persistent CSI-RS. In some examples, the UE may perform measurement averaging and/or may be configured to perform the measurement averaging across, for example only across, multiple measurements in the time domain for which the DPA indication is not given/obtained; See also Paras. [0125, 0201, 0230]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 24, Park in view of Li and Xiong teaches Claims 1 and 18.
Park further teaches
wherein the CSI report comprises a wideband CSI report (Para. [0195] - A UE may receive an indication (and/or a configuration) of CSI/beam reporting (e.g., based on CSI-ReportConfig) which may indicate (e.g., include) at least one of: (1) wideband reporting, (2) sub-band reporting, (3) one or more measurement resources, e.g., one or more CSI-RS resources, one or more SSB indexes, and/or one or more CSI-Interference Management (IM) resources, etc.; See also Paras. [0196-0201]),
and the wideband CSI report is based on refraining from processing CSI on the uplink subband associated with the subband full duplex operation at the network node (Para. [0199] - In some examples, a UE may assume (e.g., identify and/or determine) a configured CSI-RS of the one or more measurement resources (e.g., at least for wideband reporting) may be truncated in the frequency-domain when a symbol/slot over which the one or more CSI-RSs are transmitted is indicated as being an XDD-symbol/slot (e.g., based on the slot/symbol-type indication for the XDD, the tdd-UL-DL-config parameter for the XDD, the DPA indication, and/or one or more FD-related parameters).The UE may measure the CSI-RSs of the truncated frequency region (e.g., only the truncated frequency region), e.g., for measurement averaging to derive CSI (e.g., wideband CSI); Para. [0201] - A UE may determine (e.g., identify and/or assume) transmission of a configured CSI-RS of one or more measurement resources (e.g., at least for wideband reporting) may be skipped for a symbol/slot indicated as being an XDD-symbol/slot (e.g., based on the slot/symbol-type indication for the XDD, the tdd-UL-DL-config parameter for the XDD, the DPA indication, and/or one or more FD-related parameters). In response to the determination or after the determination, the UE may not receive and/or measure the CSI-RS on the symbol/slot, e.g., for measurement averaging to derive the CSI (e.g., wideband CSI)).
Regarding Claim 9, Park in view of Li and Xiong teaches Claim 1.
Park further teaches
receive the RS from the network node (Para. [0178] - When a UE receives (e.g., from a base station/gNB) a DPA indication based on the information contents indicating a parameter and/or value representing an amount of DPA (e.g., being applied on one or more DL symbols/signals/channels), the UE may apply (e.g., automatically apply) the MR as ‘ON’, regardless of a value of the parameter for MR (configured/indicated/associated with the DL RSs); See also Paras. [0196, 0198]).
Yet, Park does not expressly teach wherein the RS is measured based on being received in the symbol or the slot.
However, Li teaches
wherein the RS is measured based on being received in the symbol or the slot (Para. [0126] - The second CSI Report Setting is associated with one aperiodic NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement and one aperiodic CSI-IM resource for interference measurement, where a second transmission power (which may typically be larger than zero) is injected on the aperiodic CSI-IM resource. The aperiodic CSI-RS resource is configured to occupy the same resource element within a slot as the periodic CSI-RS resource while the aperiodic CSI-IM resource do not occupy the same resource elements as the periodic CSI-IM resource. Since these resources are aperiodic, they are only present from a wireless device 22 perspective in the slot wherein the triggering DCI is transmitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s invention of “methods, apparatus and systems for DL power adjustment and UE behaviors/procedures for subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) or XDD” (Park Para. [0002]) with Li’s invention of “a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device” (Li §Abstract) because Li’s invention provides methods to mitigate CQI (channel quality indication) saturation (Li Para. [0014]).
Regarding Claim 10, Park in view of Li and Xiong teaches Claim 9.
Park further teaches
a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the RS via the transceiver (Fig. 1B, element 120; Para. [0028]; See also Paras. [0027, 0029-0032, 0233, 0249, 0251]).
Regarding, Claim 21, Park in view of Li and Xiong teaches Claim 18.
Park also teaches
wherein to transmit the RS, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the RS in at least one downlink subband in the plurality of downlink subbands in the symbol or the slot with a first transmit power (Para. [0125]),
wherein the first transmit power associated with the RS in the at least one downlink subband in the symbol or the slot is greater than a second transmit power associated with a second RS in a second symbol or a second slot (Para. [0125]),
wherein the second symbol or the second slot comprises no uplink subbands (Fig. 4A;Para. [0125]),
wherein the second symbol or the second slot is associated with a half duplex operation at the network node (Para. [0125]),
and wherein the at least one CSI metric is based on the RS and the first transmit power (Para. [0125]).
Regarding, Claim 29, Park in view of Li and Xiong teaches Claim 26.
Park also teaches
wherein the RS is transmitted in at least one downlink subband in the plurality of downlink subbands in the symbol or the slot with a first transmit power (Para. [0125]),
wherein the first transmit power associated with the RS in the at least one downlink subband in the symbol or the slot is greater than a second transmit power associated with a second RS in a second symbol or a second slot (Para. [0125]),
wherein the second symbol or the second slot comprises no uplink subbands (Fig. 4A;Para. [0125]),
wherein the second symbol or the second slot is associated with a half duplex operation at the network node (Para. [0125]),
and wherein the at least one CSI metric is based on the RS and the first transmit power (Para. [0125]).
Regarding, Claim 22, Park in view of Li and Xiong teaches Claim 21.
Park also teaches
configure/configuring a first CSI-RS resource and a second CSI-RS resource (Fig. 4B; Para. [0145] - As described in examples based on FIG. 4B, a UE may receive or be configured to receive configuration information indicating a first set of RBs (e.g., for performing a CSI-RS measurement). The UE may receive an indication indicating a second set of RBs wherein the second set of RBs are indicated as DL RBs. In an embodiment, the second set of RBs may include a subset of the first set of RBs, e.g., it might not include all the RBs in the first set. The UE may receive an indication indicating that a first set of symbols or slots (symbols/slots) is not intended for XDD (i.e., non-XDD symbols/slots) and a second set of symbols/slots is intended for XDD (i.e., XDD symbols/slots)),
wherein the first CSI-RS resource is associated with the subband full duplex operation at the network node, and the second CSI-RS resource is associated with the half duplex operation at the network node (Fig. 4B; Para. [0145] -As described in examples based on FIG. 4B, a UE may receive or be configured to receive configuration information indicating a first set of RBs (e.g., for performing a CSI-RS measurement). The UE may receive an indication indicating a second set of RBs wherein the second set of RBs are indicated as DL RBs. In an embodiment, the second set of RBs may include a subset of the first set of RBs, e.g., it might not include all the RBs in the first set. The UE may receive an indication indicating that a first set of symbols or slots (symbols/slots) is not intended for XDD (i.e., non-XDD symbols/slots) and a second set of symbols/slots is intended for XDD (i.e., XDD symbols/slots)),
and wherein to transmit the RS, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the RS via the first CSI-RS resource in the symbol or the slot (Fig. 5, step 540; Para. [0150] - As further illustrated in the example of FIG. 5, the method may include, at 540, measuring a first CSI-RS in the first set of RBs in a symbol or slot in the first set of symbols or slots),
and the second RS is transmitted via the second CSI-RS resource in the second symbol or the second slot (Fig. 5, step 560; Para. [0151] - According to certain embodiments, on a condition that the WTRU is to combine CSI-RS measurements from the first set of symbols or slots that are not configured for the type of duplexing method and CSI-RS measurements from the second set of symbols or slots that are configured for the type of duplexing method, the method may include, at 560, measuring a second CSI-RS in a symbol or slot of the second set of symbols or slots in RBs that are overlapping or included in both the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs).
Regarding, Claim 30, Park in view of Li and Xiong teaches Claim 29.
Park also teaches
configure/configuring a first CSI-RS resource and a second CSI-RS resource (Fig. 4B; Para. [0145]),
wherein the first CSI-RS resource is associated with the subband full duplex operation at the network node, and the second CSI-RS resource is associated with the half duplex operation at the network node (Fig. 4B; Para. [0145]),
and wherein the RS is transmitted via the first CSI-RS resource in the symbol or the slot (Fig. 5, step 540; Para. [0150]),
and the second RS is transmitted via the second CSI-RS resource in the second symbol or the second slot (Fig. 5, step 560; Para. [0151]).
Regarding, Claim 25, Park in view of Li and Xiong teaches Claim 18.
Park also teaches
a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit the RS via the transceiver (Paras. [0016, 0017, 0057, 0233, 0249, 0251]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468