DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments file on 01/06/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-6, 8-24 and 27-33 remain pending in the application, with claims 1, 27 and 29 being currently amended. The amendments change the scope of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the objection to claims 1, 27 and 29 have been considered and they are persuasive, therefore, the examiner withdraws the objection of claims 1, 27 and 29.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim 1 filed 01/06/2026 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant contends that ABEDINI and WANG do not disclose "transmit[ting] a transmission beam recommendation indicating one or more suggested transmission beams to be used for transmitting beam discovery signals, wherein the one or more suggested transmission beams are based on one or more transmission beams being used to transmit signals to an active network node" and "receiv[ing] beam discovery configuration information associated with identifying a valid uplink beam associated with an uplink-only network node, wherein the beam discovery configuration information indicates: a beam discovery resource pool, a timing offset associated with a power ramping scheme, power control information indicating a power offset relative to a reference power, and a set of resources associated with a set of transmission beams corresponding to a plurality of beam discovery signals, the set of transmission beams including the one or more suggested transmission beams," as recited in amended claim 1.
However, examiner respectfully disagree. ABEDINI discloses “transmit[ting] a transmission beam recommendation indicating one or more suggested transmission beams to be used for transmitting beam discovery signals ([0107] As illustrated in FIG. 13... The UE may be configured to transmit the SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner. In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS. This information may indication SRS is considered quasi co-located (QCL'ed) with some measured SSBs/CSI-RS (hence recommendation). Thus, based on reported DL measurements, the gNB may identify some beam/repeaters candidate for further/finer measurements. In such cases, the gNB may ask/instruct the UE to send SRS using beams it used for reception of corresponding SSB/CSI-RS (hence the SRS transmission beam swept in Fig 13 is a transmission beam recommendation indicating one or more suggested transmission beams to be used for transmitting beam discovery signals))”, wherein the one or more suggested transmission beams are based on one or more transmission beams ([0107] the gNB may ask/instruct the UE to send SRS using beams it used for reception of corresponding SSB/CSI-RS) being used to transmit signals to an active network node (Fig 13. Sounding report; [0116] based on the reports, the gNB may determine best beam/repeater candidate(s) for serving the UE, configure UE and/or repeaters for further/finer measurements, change and indicate the UE's serving beam, and/or change and indicate the associated repeater(s) to the UE (and hence reconfigure one or multiple repeaters to stop/start forwarding signals between the UE and the gNB)).
Therefore, ABEDINI also discloses “a set of resources associated with a set of transmission beams corresponding to a plurality of beam discovery signals ([0107] The UE may be configured to transmit the SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner. In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS.”; Periodic, aperiodic, and event triggered SRS transmission indicates “resource pool” in the time domain; [0070] A UE may operate in various radio resource configurations, including a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a dedicated set of resources (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated state, etc.) or a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a common set of resources (e.g., an RRC common state, etc.)… pilot signals transmitted on dedicated sets of resources allocated to the UEs), the set of transmission beams including the one or more suggested transmission beams ([0107];)” as recited in the amended claim 1.
Therefore, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Independent claims 27 and 29 are amended and recite similar features to claim 1. Applicant submits the same arguments as presented above. Thus, examiner applies the same reasoning as presented above.
Claims 3, 4, 8, 10, 15, 19-24, 28, and 33 are dependent on the independent claims and therefore, are rejected with at least the reasons set forth above with respect to their parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-24 and 27-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “being used to transmit signals to an active network node” is indefinite because it is unclear whether “the one or more suggested transmission beams” or “one or more transmission beams” is the one being refers to as “being used to transmit signals to an active network node”. For the purpose of examination, “being used to transmit signals to an active network node” will be interpreted as “the one or more suggested transmission beams being used to transmit signals to an active network node”.
Claims 27 and 29 have the same indefiniteness as claim 1. Therefore, the examiner applied the same reasoning for the claim interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2, 5-6, 9, 11-14, 16-18, and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. (US 20210051679 A1, hereinafter, Abedini) in view of Wang (US 20210144756 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Abedini discloses a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 13, 1306) for wireless communication, comprising:
One or more memories ((Fig.3 Memory 282; [0126] The steps of a method or algorithm described in connection with the present disclosure may be embodied directly in hardware, in a software module executed by a processor, or in a combination of the two. A software module may reside in any form of storage medium that is known in the art. Some examples of storage media that may be used include random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), flash memory, EPROM memory, EEPROM memory, registers, a hard disk, a removable disk, a CD-ROM and so forth.; Fig. 3 Memory 382 is withing UE 120); and
one or more processors ([0059] “antennas 352, processors 366, 358, 364, and/or controller/processor 380 of the UE 120”; Fig. 3), coupled to one or more memories (Fig.3 Memory 282 is connected with Controller/Processor 380), configured to ([0029] “For instance, the methods described may be performed in an order different from that described, and various steps may be added, omitted, or combined. Also, features described with respect to some examples may be combined in some other examples.”):
transmit a transmission beam recommendation indicating one or more suggested transmission beams ([0107] As illustrated in FIG. 13... The UE may be configured to transmit the SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner. In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS. This information may indication SRS is considered quasi co-located (QCL'ed) with some measured SSBs/CSI-RS (hence recommendation). Thus, based on reported DL measurements, the gNB may identify some beam/repeaters candidate for further/finer measurements. In such cases, the gNB may ask/instruct the UE to send SRS using beams it used for reception of corresponding SSB/CSI-RS (hence the SRS transmission beam swept in Fig 13 is a transmission beam recommendation indicating one or more suggested transmission beams to be used for transmitting beam discovery signals)) to be used for transmitting beam discovery signals (Fig. 13 SRS Transmission Beam Swept), wherein the one or more suggested transmission beams are based on one or more transmission beams ([0107] the gNB may ask/instruct the UE to send SRS using beams it used for reception of corresponding SSB/CSI-RS) being used to transmit signals to an active network node (Fig 13. Sounding report; [0116] based on the reports, the gNB may determine best beam/repeater candidate(s) for serving the UE, configure UE and/or repeaters for further/finer measurements, change and indicate the UE's serving beam, and/or change and indicate the associated repeater(s) to the UE (and hence reconfigure one or multiple repeaters to stop/start forwarding signals between the UE and the gNB));
receive beam discovery configuration information ([0107] “As illustrated in FIG. 13, the UE may also be provided with an SRS configuration”) associated with identifying a valid uplink beam ([0107] “In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS.”) associated with an uplink-only network node (Fig. 13, Repeater 1304 is an uplink only network node for UE 1306 as the repeater performs the same functions as the uplink only network node described in the applicant’s specification (network node 506), as both are only uplink for a moment), wherein the beam discovery configuration information indicates:
a beam discovery resource pool ([0107] “The UE may be configured to transmit the SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner. In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS.”; Periodic, aperiodic, and event triggered SRS transmission indicates “resource pool” in the time domain; [0070] “A UE may operate in various radio resource configurations, including a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a dedicated set of resources (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated state, etc.) or a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a common set of resources (e.g., an RRC common state, etc.)… pilot signals transmitted on dedicated sets of resources allocated to the UEs”); and
a set of resources associated with a set of transmission beams corresponding to a plurality of beam discovery signals ([0107]; [0070];), the set of transmission beams including the one or more suggested transmission beams ([0116] based on the reports, the gNB may determine best beam/repeater candidate(s) for serving the UE, configure UE and/or repeaters for further/finer measurements, change and indicate the UE's serving beam, and/or change and indicate the associated repeater(s) to the UE (and hence reconfigure one or multiple repeaters to stop/start forwarding signals between the UE and the gNB));
and transmit, using a plurality of resources of the beam discovery resource pool, a plurality of beam discovery signals (Fig. 13 SRS Transmission Beam Swept) based on the beam discovery configuration information ([0107] “The UE may be configured to transmit the SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner. In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS.”; Periodic, aperiodic, and event triggered SRS transmission indicates “resource pool” in the time domain; [0116] based on the reports, the gNB may determine best beam/repeater candidate(s) for serving the UE, configure UE and/or repeaters for further/finer measurements;).
Abedini does not explicitly disclose receiving, wherein the beam discovery configuration information indicates: a timing offset associated with a power ramping scheme, and power control information indicating a power offset relative to a reference power; and
transmit, using the power ramping scheme, a plurality of beam discovery signals.
However, Wang discloses receiving, a configuration information indicates ([0006] a terminal device receives updated first configuration information from a base station of a target cell, the first configuration information including at least one of following information: configuration information of transmission power for a preamble and configuration information of UL TA (uplink timing advance); and the terminal device performs random access according to the updated first configuration information): a timing offset ([0156] The configuration information may include at least one of the following information… and/or configuration information of the UL TA) associated with a power ramping scheme ([0098] a terminal device may usually know UL TA only after receiving a RAR from a network device and then may transmit data according to the TA; [0096] the terminal device may perform power ramping… configured by the network device and send the preamble based on power obtained by ramping. The steps are repeated until the terminal device receives the RAR from the network device (the configuration information of the UL TA is received after the UE performs power ramping on the preamble transmission until the RAR (containing the TA command) is received from the BS)), and a power control information indicating a power offset to a reference power ([0163] The configuration information of the transmission power for the preamble may include the expected receiving power for the preamble, the transmission power offset for the preamble and an adjustment step of the transmission power for the preamble); and
transmit, using the power ramping scheme, a plurality of beam discovery signals ([0179] When the configuration information of the transmission power for the preamble includes an updated power ramping step size, the second terminal device may perform ramping based on the updated power ramping step size and perform random access based on the ramped power; [0096] After failing in sending the preamble for the first time, the terminal device may perform power ramping according to the power ramping step size configured by the network device and send the preamble based on power obtained by ramping. The steps are repeated until the terminal device receives the RAR from the network device (multiple preambles, hence a plurality of beam discovery signals, are sent based on the power ramping scheme until it is successful)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the beam discovery configuration information and the beam discovery signals of Abedini to include the configuration information and the beam discovery signals as taught by Wang in order to select repeaters based on a RO used by the UE to send a RACH preamble (Abedini [0110] “The selection of repeaters may also (additionally or alternatively) be based on a RO (RACH occasion) used by the UE to send a RACH preamble (MSG1)”) which makes power ramping become relevant in order to help the UE communicate successfully while improving data transmission reliability and managing power efficiency (Wang [0026] According to the technical solutions provided in the disclosure, a terminal device may report a power parameter for transmitting a preamble and a parameter related to a position and the like, as well as a UL TA and a parameter related to a position and the like in a random access process to a base station of a target cell to optimize the power parameter and the UL TA, so that a latency during the random access process may be reduced, and the data transmission reliability during the random access process may be improved).
Regarding claim 2, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Abedini further discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the plurality of beam discovery signals, are configured to transmit a first beam discovery signal using a first transmission beam and transmitting a second beam discovery signal using a second transmission beam (R1: Fig. 13 shows multiple Beam-Swept SRS transmissions from UE to the Repeater).
Regarding claim 5, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Abedini further discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein a beam discovery signal of the plurality of beam discovery signals comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS). (R1: Fig. 13 shows multiple Beam-Swept SRS transmissions from UE to Repeater as the beam discovery signals.)
Regarding claim 6, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Abedini further discloses a plurality of beam discovery signals (Fig. 13 Multiple SRS Transmission Beam Swept) as in claim 1 above.
Abedini does not disclose wherein a beam discovery signal of the plurality of beam discovery signals comprises a physical random access channel (PRACH) signal.
However, Wang discloses a beam discovery signal of the plurality of beam discovery signals ([0096] and send the preamble based on power obtained by ramping. The steps are repeated until the terminal device receives the RAR from the network device (multiple preambles, hence the plurality of beam discovery signals, are sent based on the power ramping scheme until it is successful)) comprises a physical random access channel (PRACH) signal ([0070] The terminal device, before sending the MSG1, may select the preamble to be sent and a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) resource for transmitting the preamble).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plurality of beam discovery signals of Abedini to comprise PRACH as taught by Wang, in order to select repeaters based on a RO used by the UE to send a RACH preamble (Abedini [0110] “The selection of repeaters may also (additionally or alternatively) be based on a RO (RACH occasion) used by the UE to send a RACH preamble (MSG1)”) which improves network access and enabling reliable communication for devices attempting to initially connect to the network.
Regarding claim 9, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Abedini does not disclose wherein the beam discovery configuration information indicates at least one of a power ramping step size, a quantity of power ramping steps, or a timing offset associated with the power ramping scheme.
However, Wang discloses a configuration information indicates a power ramping step size ([0179] When the configuration information of the transmission power for the preamble includes an updated power ramping step size, the second terminal device may perform ramping based on the updated power ramping step size and perform random access based on the ramped power).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the configuration information of beam discovery signals of Abedini and Wang to include the power ramping step size by Wang in order to select repeaters based on a RO used by the UE to send a RACH preamble (Abedini [0110] “The selection of repeaters may also (additionally or alternatively) be based on a RO (RACH occasion) used by the UE to send a RACH preamble (MSG1)”) which makes power ramping step size become relevant in order to help the UE communicate successfully while improving data transmission reliability and managing power efficiency (Wang [0026] According to the technical solutions provided in the disclosure, a terminal device may report a power parameter for transmitting a preamble and a parameter related to a position and the like… so that a latency during the random access process may be reduced, and the data transmission reliability during the random access process may be improved).
Regarding claim 11, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Abedini further discloses transmitting the plurality of beam discovery signals comprises transmitting at least one beam discovery signal using a transmission power (Fig. 13 Multiple SRS Transmission Beam Swept comprises transmitting at least one beam discovery signal using a transmission power).
Abedini does not disclose the beam discovery configuration information further indicates a transmission power, wherein transmitting the plurality of beam discovery signals comprises transmitting at least one beam discovery signal using the transmission power.
However, Wang discloses the configuration information further indicates a transmission power, wherein transmitting the plurality of beam discovery signals comprises transmitting at least one beam discovery signal using the transmission power ([0179] When the configuration information of the transmission power for the preamble includes an updated power ramping step size, the second terminal device may perform ramping based on the updated power ramping step size and perform random access based on the ramped power; [0096] the network device and send the preamble based on power obtained by ramping. The steps are repeated until the terminal device receives the RAR from the network device (multiple preambles, hence at least one beam discovery signals, are sent based on the power ramping scheme until it is successful)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plurality of beam discovery signals of Abedini to comprise PRACH as taught by Wang, in order to select repeaters based on a RO used by the UE to send a RACH preamble (Abedini [0110] “The selection of repeaters may also (additionally or alternatively) be based on a RO (RACH occasion) used by the UE to send a RACH preamble (MSG1)”) which improves network access and enabling reliable communication for devices attempting to initially connect to the network.
Regarding claim 12, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Abedini further discloses a beam discovery signal of the plurality of beam discovery signals (Fig. 13 Multiple SRS Transmission Beam Swept) is indicative of beam discovery information (it is implied that beam swept signals contains information corresponding to beam discovery information) wherein the beam discovery information indicates an identification of the UE and a transmission beam corresponding to the beam discovery signal ([0107] “Thus, based on reported DL measurements, the gNB may identify some beam/repeaters candidate for further/finer measurements. In such cases, the gNB may ask/instruct the UE to send SRS using beams it used for reception of corresponding SSB/CSI-RS.”; The reported measurements are based on the SRS transmissions, which have information that would allow the gNB to identify narrower beams for the UE to use, meaning the beam discovery signals contained information on the initial beams used for the SRS transmissions in order for the gNB to make that identification).
Regarding claim 13, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 12.
Abedini further discloses wherein the beam discovery signal (Fig. 13 Multiple SRS Transmission Beam Swept) explicitly indicates at least a portion of the beam discovery information ([0107] “Thus, based on reported DL measurements, the gNB may identify some beam/repeaters candidate for further/finer measurements. In such cases, the gNB may ask/instruct the UE to send SRS using beams it used for reception of corresponding SSB/CSI-RS.”; The reported measurements are based on the SRS transmissions, which have information that would allow the gNB to identify narrower beams for the UE to use, meaning the beam discovery signals contained information on the initial beams used for the SRS transmissions in order for the gNB to make that identification.).
Regarding claim 14, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 12.
Abedini further discloses wherein a location of the beam discovery signal implicitly indicates at least a portion of the beam discovery information, wherein the location of the beam discovery comprises at least one of a time resource associated with the beam discovery signal or a frequency resource associated with the beam discovery signal ([0107] "The UE may be configured to transmit the SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner. In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS."; Periodic, aperiodic, or event-triggered transmission is a time resource. And the time resource implicitly indicates the beam and UE identified at the corresponding time).
Regarding claim 16, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 12.
Abedini further discloses wherein the beam discovery configuration information indicates a set of resources associated with a set of transmission beams corresponding to the plurality of beam discovery signals. ([0107] “UE may also be provided with an SRS configuration and accordingly sends SRS. The UE may be configured to transmit the SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner. In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS.”; [0070] “A UE may operate in various radio resource configurations, including a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a dedicated set of resources (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated state, etc.) or a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a common set of resources (e.g., an RRC common state, etc.)… pilot signals transmitted on dedicated sets of resources allocated to the UEs”; the SRS configuration which provides the UE with which beams to transmit on should also contain information regarding the set of resources allocated to the UE for the transmission of the signals.).
Regarding claim 17, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 12.
Abedini further discloses wherein the beam discovery configuration information indicates the beam discovery resource pool. ([0107] “UE may also be provided with an SRS configuration and accordingly sends SRS. The UE may be configured to transmit the SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner. In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS.”; [0070] “A UE may operate in various radio resource configurations, including a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a dedicated set of resources (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated state, etc.) or a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a common set of resources (e.g., an RRC common state, etc.)… pilot signals transmitted on dedicated sets of resources allocated to the UEs”; the SRS configuration which provides the UE with which beams to transmit on should also contain information regarding the set of resources allocated to the UE for the transmission of the signals).
Regarding claim 18, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 12.
Abedini further discloses wherein the beam discovery configuration information indicates at least one transmission parameter for transmitting at least one beam discovery signal of the plurality of beam discovery signals. ([0107] “UE may also be provided with an SRS configuration and accordingly sends SRS. The UE may be configured to transmit the SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner. In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS.”; The indicated beam is a transmission parameter).
Regarding claim 29, Abedini discloses a method of wireless communication performed by an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 13, 1306), comprising:
transmitting a transmission beam recommendation indicating one or more suggested transmission beams ([0107] As illustrated in FIG. 13... The UE may be configured to transmit the SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner. In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS. This information may indication SRS is considered quasi co-located (QCL'ed) with some measured SSBs/CSI-RS (hence recommendation). Thus, based on reported DL measurements, the gNB may identify some beam/repeaters candidate for further/finer measurements. In such cases, the gNB may ask/instruct the UE to send SRS using beams it used for reception of corresponding SSB/CSI-RS (hence the SRS transmission beam swept in Fig 13 is a transmission beam recommendation indicating one or more suggested transmission beams to be used for transmitting beam discovery signals)) to be used for transmitting beam discovery signals (Fig. 13 SRS Transmission Beam Swept), wherein the one or more suggested transmission beams are based on one or more transmission beams ([0107] the gNB may ask/instruct the UE to send SRS using beams it used for reception of corresponding SSB/CSI-RS) being used to transmit signals to an active network node (Fig 13. Sounding report; [0116] based on the reports, the gNB may determine best beam/repeater candidate(s) for serving the UE, configure UE and/or repeaters for further/finer measurements, change and indicate the UE's serving beam, and/or change and indicate the associated repeater(s) to the UE (and hence reconfigure one or multiple repeaters to stop/start forwarding signals between the UE and the gNB));
receiving beam discovery configuration information ([0107] “As illustrated in FIG. 13, the UE may also be provided with an SRS configuration”) associated with identifying a valid uplink beam ([0107] In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS.) associated with an uplink-only network node (Fig. 13, Repeater 1304 is an uplink only network node for UE 1306 as the repeater performs the same functions as the uplink only network node described in the applicant’s specification (network node 506), as both are only uplink for a moment.), wherein the beam discovery configuration information indicates: a beam discovery resource pool ([107] “The UE may be configured to transmit the SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner. In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS.”; Periodic, aperiodic, and event triggered SRS transmission indicates “resource pool” in the time domain; [0070] “A UE may operate in various radio resource configurations, including a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a dedicated set of resources (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated state, etc.) or a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a common set of resources (e.g., an RRC common state, etc.)… pilot signals transmitted on dedicated sets of resources allocated to the UEs”); and
a set of resources associated with a set of transmission beams corresponding to a plurality of beam discovery signals ([0107]; [0070];), the set of transmission beams including the one or more suggested transmission beams ([0116] based on the reports, the gNB may determine best beam/repeater candidate(s) for serving the UE, configure UE and/or repeaters for further/finer measurements, change and indicate the UE's serving beam, and/or change and indicate the associated repeater(s) to the UE (and hence reconfigure one or multiple repeaters to stop/start forwarding signals between the UE and the gNB)); and
transmitting, using a plurality of resources of the beam discovery resource pool, a plurality of beam discovery signals (Fig. 13 SRS Transmission Beam Swept) based on the beam discovery configuration information ([107] “The UE may be configured to transmit the SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner. In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS.”; Periodic, aperiodic, and event triggered SRS transmission indicates “resource pool” in the time domain.).
Abedini does not explicitly disclose receiving, wherein the beam discovery configuration information indicates: a timing offset associated with a power ramping scheme, and power control information indicating a power offset relative to a reference power; and
transmitting, using the power ramping scheme, a plurality of beam discovery signals.
However, Wang discloses receiving, a configuration information indicates ([0006] a terminal device receives updated first configuration information from a base station of a target cell, the first configuration information including at least one of following information: configuration information of transmission power for a preamble and configuration information of UL TA (uplink timing advance); and the terminal device performs random access according to the updated first configuration information): a timing offset ([0156] The configuration information may include at least one of the following information… and/or configuration information of the UL TA) associated with a power ramping scheme ([0098] a terminal device may usually know UL TA only after receiving a RAR from a network device and then may transmit data according to the TA; [0096] the terminal device may perform power ramping… configured by the network device and send the preamble based on power obtained by ramping. The steps are repeated until the terminal device receives the RAR from the network device), and a power control information indicating a power offset to a reference power ([0163] The configuration information of the transmission power for the preamble may include the expected receiving power for the preamble, the transmission power offset for the preamble and an adjustment step of the transmission power for the preamble.); and
transmitting, using the power ramping scheme, a plurality of beam discovery signals ([0179] When the configuration information of the transmission power for the preamble includes an updated power ramping step size, the second terminal device may perform ramping based on the updated power ramping step size and perform random access based on the ramped power; [0096] After failing in sending the preamble for the first time, the terminal device may perform power ramping according to the power ramping step size configured by the network device and send the preamble based on power obtained by ramping. The steps are repeated until the terminal device receives the RAR from the network device (multiple preambles, hence the plurality of beam discovery signals, are sent based on the power ramping scheme until it is successful)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the beam discovery configuration information and the beam discovery signals of Abedini to include the configuration information and the beam discovery signals as taught by Wang in order to select repeaters based on a RO used by the UE to send a RACH preamble (Abedini [0110] “The selection of repeaters may also (additionally or alternatively) be based on a RO (RACH occasion) used by the UE to send a RACH preamble (MSG1)”) which makes power ramping become relevant in order to help the UE communicate successfully while improving data transmission reliability and managing power efficiency (Wang [0026] According to the technical solutions provided in the disclosure, a terminal device may report a power parameter for transmitting a preamble and a parameter related to a position and the like, as well as a UL TA and a parameter related to a position and the like in a random access process to a base station of a target cell to optimize the power parameter and the UL TA, so that a latency during the random access process may be reduced, and the data transmission reliability during the random access process may be improved).
Regarding claim 30, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 29.
Abedini further discloses wherein a beam discovery signal of the plurality of beam discovery signals (Fig. 13 Multiple SRS Transmission Beam Swept) is indicative of beam discovery information (it is implied that beam swept signals contains information corresponding to beam discovery information) wherein the beam discovery information indicates an identification of the UE and a transmission beam corresponding to the beam discovery signal ([0107] “Thus, based on reported DL measurements, the gNB may identify some beam/repeaters candidate for further/finer measurements. In such cases, the gNB may ask/instruct the UE to send SRS using beams it used for reception of corresponding SSB/CSI-RS.”; The reported measurements are based on the SRS transmissions, which have information that would allow the gNB to identify narrower beams for the UE to use, meaning the beam discovery signals contained information on the initial beams used for the SRS transmissions in order for the gNB to make that identification.).
Regarding claim 31, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 29.
Abedini further discloses wherein the plurality of beam discovery signals comprises at least one of: a sounding reference signal (R1: Fig. 13 shows multiple Beam-Swept SRS transmissions from UE to Repeater as the beam discovery signals.), or a physical random access channel signal.
Regarding claim 32, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 29.
Adedini further discloses wherein the beam discovery configuration information further indicates a set of transmission beams corresponding to the plurality of beam discovery signals ([0107] “UE may also be provided with an SRS configuration and accordingly sends SRS. The UE may be configured to transmit the SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner. In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS.”; [0070] “A UE may operate in various radio resource configurations, including a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a dedicated set of resources (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated state, etc.) or a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a common set of resources (e.g., an RRC common state, etc.)… pilot signals transmitted on dedicated sets of resources allocated to the UEs”; the SRS configuration which provides the UE with which beams to transmit on should also contain information regarding the set of resources allocated to the UE for the transmission of the signals.).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view Wang, and in further view of Qin et al. (US 20190199496 A1, hereafter Qin).
Regarding claim 3, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 2.
Abedini further discloses transmission resources associated with beam discovery signals ([0070] “A UE may operate in various radio resource configurations, including a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a dedicated set of resources (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated state, etc.) or a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a common set of resources (e.g., an RRC common state, etc.).”; Fig. 13 Multiple SRS Transmission Beam Swept).
Abedini and Wang do not disclose a first set of transmission resources associated with the first beam signal is quasi co-located with a second set of transmission resources associated with the second beam signal based on the second transmission beam being the first transmission beam.
However, Qin discloses a first set of transmission resources associated with the first beam signal is quasi co-located with a second set of transmission resources associated with the second beam signal based on the second transmission beam being the first transmission beam ([0512] “For example, a beam or a spatial filter for transmitting a target channel and/or signal at a previous time is used to transmit the target channel and/or signal at this time, or for example, a QCL relationship exists between the antenna port for the target channel and/or signal and an antenna port for transmitting a channel and/or signal at a previous time.”; The signals are transmitted at different times using the same beams, making their resources quasi co-located).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the transmission resources of Abedini and Wang to be quasi co-located as taught by Qin, in order to improve signal strength and load balancing.
Regarding claim 4, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 2.
Abedini further discloses transmission resources associated with beam discovery signals ([0070] “A UE may operate in various radio resource configurations, including a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a dedicated set of resources (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated state, etc.) or a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a common set of resources (e.g., an RRC common state, etc.).”; Fig. 13 Multiple SRS Transmission Beam Swept).
Abedini and Wang do not disclose a first set of transmission resources associated with the first beam signal is quasi co-located with a second set of transmission resources associated with the second beam signal based on the second transmission beam being the first transmission beam.
However, Qin discloses a first set of transmission resources associated with the first beam discovery signal is not quasi co-located with a second set of transmission resources associated with the second beam discovery signal based on the second transmission beam being different from the first transmission beam. ([0500] “UE needs to determine whether a transmit or receiving beam for the third channel and/or signal is the same as that for the target channel and/or signal, where the beam may be a spatial filter, or the UE needs to determine whether a QCL relationship exists between an antenna port for the third channel and/or signal and the antenna port for the target channel and/or signal.”; The UE determines whether a same beam is used or whether there is a QCL relationship, meaning the two transmitted signals’ resources may not be QCL and use different beams.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the transmission resources of Abedini and Wang to not be quasi co-located as taught by Qin, in order to prevent increased complexity in network management and potential interference if not properly configured.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Wang and further in view of Jeon (US 20210144742 A1, hereafter Jeon).
Regarding claim 8, Abedini and Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Abedini and Wang do not disclose wherein an initial transmission power associated with the power ramping scheme is based on a reference power and a backoff value.
However, Jeon discloses:
Wherein an initial transmission power associated with the power ramping scheme is based on a reference power and a backoff value. ([0182]: “For example, the one or more RACH parameters may indicate a reference power for a preamble transmission (e.g., a received target power and/or an initial power of the preamble transmission). There may be one or more power offsets indicated by the one or more RACH parameters. For example, the one or more RACH parameters may indicate: a power ramping step;”; [0314]: “if the random access procedure is not completed. The wireless device may delay the subsequent random access preamble transmission (e.g., or delay to perform a random access resource selection procedure) by the backoff time.”; the preamble transmission is the initial transmission and it is based on an indicated reference power and a backoff time).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Power ramping scheme used by the UE of Abedini and Wang to be based on a reference power and backoff time as taught by Jeon, in order to prevent collisions from multiple devices through the backoff time, and to optimize energy consumption by reducing unnecessary transmission power while also allowing the network to estimate channel quality and adjust transmission power accordingly through the use of a reference power.
Claims 10 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Wang, and Eleftheriadis et al. (US 20240098623 A1, hereafter Eleftheriadis).
Regarding claim 10, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Abedini further discloses:
the one or more processors, to transmit the plurality of beam discovery signals, are configured to transmit at least one beam discovery signal using a transmission power associated with a communication link between the UE and an active uplink network node (Fig. 13 Multiple SRS Transmission Beam Swept between a UE and Repeater using a transmission power).
Abedini and Wang do not disclose the transmission power is based on a link quality.
However, Eleftheriadis discloses transmit at least one beam signal using a transmission power that is based on a link quality. ([0084] “UEs 402 can measure the strength and/or quality of the reference signal at a particular measurement point, report those measurements back to the radio network node, and the radio network node can adjust the transmission power of the beam to that measurement point based on the received measurements. Once the transmission power of the beam has been adjusted by the radio network node, the UEs 402 measure the strength and/or quality of the reference signal transmitted in the power-adjusted beam at that measurement point.”; The power of the transmitted signal between the UE and the radio network node is adjusted based on quality measurements.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the transmission power of beam discovery signals of Abedini and Wang to be based on link quality as taught by Eleftheriadis, in order to achieve efficient and reliable communication.
Regarding claim 33, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 29.
Abedini further discloses wherein transmitting the plurality of beam discovery signals comprises transmitting at least one beam discovery signal using a transmission power that is associated with a communication link between the user equipment and an active uplink network node (Fig. 13 Multiple SRS Transmission Beam Swept between a UE and Repeater using a transmission power).
Abedini and Wang do not disclose the transmission power is based on a link quality.
However, Eleftheriadis discloses transmit at least one beam signal using a transmission power that is based on a link quality ([0084] “UEs 402 can measure the strength and/or quality of the reference signal at a particular measurement point, report those measurements back to the radio network node, and the radio network node can adjust the transmission power of the beam to that measurement point based on the received measurements. Once the transmission power of the beam has been adjusted by the radio network node, the UEs 402 measure the strength and/or quality of the reference signal transmitted in the power-adjusted beam at that measurement point.”; The power of the transmitted signal between the UE and the radio network node is adjusted based on quality measurements.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the transmission power of beam discovery signals of Abedini and Wang to be based on link quality as taught by Eleftheriadis, in order to achieve efficient and reliable communication.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Wang, and Kishiyama et al. (US 20190158164 A1, hereafter Kishiyama).
Regarding claim 15, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 12.
Specifically, Abedini discloses a beam discovery signals (Fig. 13 Multiple SRS Transmission Beam Swept) as in claim 1 above.
Abedini and Wang do not disclose the beam discovery signal includes a sequence that indicates the beam discovery information.
However, Kishiyama discloses a sequence that indicates the beam discovery information. ([082] “However, when using a PRACH, a preamble sequence of the PRACH is associated with identification information (beam ID and the like) of the discovery signal.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the beam discovery signal of Abedini and Wang to include a sequence the indicates beam discovery information as taught by Kishiyama, in order to improve beam alignment which improves overall network efficiency.
Claims 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Wang, and Abedini et al. (WO 2019160615 A1, hereafter Abedini 615).
Regarding claim 19, Abedini in view of Wang, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 12.
Abedini further discloses the one or more processors are further configured to receive a communication ([0107] “As illustrated in FIG. 13, the UE may also be provided with an SRS configuration”; Fig. 13 shows the UE receives an SRS Configuration from the gNB).
Abedini and Wang do not disclose receiving a polling communication indicative of a request for a beam discovery report associated with a detected beam discovery signal.
However, Abedini 615 discloses received communication is a polling communication (response signal) indicative of a request for a beam discovery report (Discovery Message) associated with a detected beam discovery signal (Discovery Preamble) ([0109] “the response signal 225 may be a query signal, an acknowledgment signal, or both.” Fig. 6; [0128] “At 620, first wireless device 605 may transmit the discovery preamble to second wireless device 610 using a transmit beam as part of a beam sweeping procedure. Second wireless device 610 may receive the discovery preamble, and, in some cases, at 625, second wireless device 610 may transmit a query signal to first wireless device 605. The query signal may be in response to the discovery preamble, and may be used as a request or trigger for the discovery message.” [0131] “And once the first wireless device 605 receives the query signal, first wireless device 605 may configure subsequent communications based on receiving the query signal.” [0132] “At 630, first wireless device 605 may then broadcast the discovery message to one or more UEs in a wireless communications system.” [0023] “discovery message includes one or more of information related to a random access channel (RACH) procedure to establish a communication link between two devices, an identifier of a transmitting device, or sensor information.”; The discovery message is a discovery report because it contains information related to the identification of the transmitting device (UE) like the discovery report.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Abedini and Wang to receive a polling communication indicative of a request for a beam discovery report as taught by Abedini 615, in order to prevent unnecessary reporting and allow the network to receive accurate updates which improves the overall network efficiency and quality.
Regarding claim 20, Abedini in view of Wang, and Abedini 615, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 19.
Abedini and Wang do not disclose a polling communication comprises at least one of downlink control information or a physical downlink shared channel communication.
However, Abedini 615 discloses the polling communication ([0107] “the response signal 225 may carry some information such as the identifier of the receiving UE 115-b, a beam index of the received discovery preamble 215, other information about the received discovery preamble 215, information related to a RACH procedure, or a combination thereof.”) comprises at least one of downlink control information ([0092] “UE 1 l5-a may transmit the discovery message 220 to be received by the receiving UE 115-b using communication resources and/or transmission beams indicated by the response signal 225.”; The response signal contains information (communication resources and beams) to control the downlink (discovery message 220).).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Abedini and Wang to receive a polling communication indicative of a request for a beam discovery report as taught by Abedini 615, in order to prevent unnecessary reporting and allow the network to receive accurate updates which improves the overall network efficiency and quality.
Regarding claim 21, Abedini in view of Wang, and Abedini 615, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 19.
Specifically, Abedini discloses a beam discovery signals (Fig. 13 Multiple SRS Transmission Beam Swept) as in claim 1 above.
Abedini and Wang do not disclose wherein the polling communication is indicative of signal information associated with the detected beam discovery signal.
However, Abedini 615 discloses wherein the polling communication is indicative of signal information associated with the detected beam discovery signal. ([0107] “the response signal 225 may carry some information such as the identifier of the receiving UE 115-b, a beam index of the received discovery preamble 215, other information about the received discovery preamble 215, information related to a RACH procedure, or a combination thereof.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Abedini and Wang to be associated with a polling communication for beam discovery as taught by Abedini 615, in order to prevent unnecessary reporting and allow the network to receive accurate updates which improves the overall network efficiency and quality.
Regarding claim 22, Abedini in view of Wang, and Abedini 615, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 19.
Specifically Abedini discloses beam discovery signals (Fig. 13 Multiple SRS Transmission Beam Swept) as in claim 1 above.
Abedini and Wang do not disclose wherein the polling communication is indicative of one or more reporting resources for transmitting the beam discovery report.
However, Abedini 615 discloses wherein the polling communication is indicative of one or more reporting resources for transmitting the beam discovery report ([0092] “UE 1 l5-a may transmit the discovery message 220 to be received by the receiving UE 115-b using communication resources and/or transmission beams indicated by the response signal 225.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Abedini and Wang to be associated with a polling communication for beam discovery as taught by Abedini 615, in order to prevent unnecessary reporting and allow the network to receive accurate updates which improves the overall network efficiency and quality.
Regarding claim 23, Abedini in view of Wang, and Abedini 615, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 19.
Abedini further discloses the one or more processors are further configured to transmit in data (Fig. 13 Multiple SRS Transmission Beam Swept).
Abedini and Wang do not disclose the transmitted data is the beam discovery report based on the polling communication.
However, Abedini 615 discloses the transmitted data is the beam discovery report based on the polling communication ([0091] “In some cases, receiving UE 115-b may then transmit a response signal 225 in response to the discovery preamble 215 (e.g., a query signal requesting or triggering the transmission of the discovery message 220-a).”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Abedini and Wang to be associated with a polling communication for beam discovery as taught by Abedini 615, in order to prevent unnecessary reporting and allow the network to receive accurate updates which improves the overall network efficiency and quality.
Regarding claim 24, Abedini in view of Wang, and Abedini 615, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 19.
Abedini further discloses wherein a report comprises a medium access control element ([0114] “In some cases, an event-triggered report could be sent in UCI, while periodic/aperiodic reports (when activated) may be sent in a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE).”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the beam discovery report of claim 19 to comprise a medium access control element as taught by Abedini, in order to provide reliable control signaling with a short delay.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Wang and Nilsson et al. (US 20180269952 A1, hereafter Nilsson).
Regarding claim 27, Abedini discloses a network node for wireless communication (Fig. 13 - gNB), comprising:
One or more memories; and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Fig. 3 controller/processor 340 connected to memory 342), configured to:
receive, from at least one user equipment (UE) (Fig. 13, 1306), a transmission beam recommendation indicating one or more suggested transmission beams ([0107] As illustrated in FIG. 13... The UE may be configured to transmit the SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner. In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS. This information may indication SRS is considered quasi co-located (QCL'ed) with some measured SSBs/CSI-RS (hence recommendation). Thus, based on reported DL measurements, the gNB may identify some beam/repeaters candidate for further/finer measurements. In such cases, the gNB may ask/instruct the UE to send SRS using beams it used for reception of corresponding SSB/CSI-RS (hence the SRS transmission beam swept in Fig 13 is a transmission beam recommendation indicating one or more suggested transmission beams to be used for transmitting beam discovery signals)) to be used for transmitting beam discovery signals (Fig. 13 SRS Transmission Beam Swept), wherein the one or more suggested transmission beams are based on one or more transmission beams ([0107] the gNB may ask/instruct the UE to send SRS using beams it used for reception of corresponding SSB/CSI-RS) being used to transmit signals to an active network node (Fig. Sounding report; [0116] based on the reports, the gNB may determine best beam/repeater candidate(s) for serving the UE, configure UE and/or repeaters for further/finer measurements, change and indicate the UE's serving beam, and/or change and indicate the associated repeater(s) to the UE (and hence reconfigure one or multiple repeaters to stop/start forwarding signals between the UE and the gNB));
transmit, to the at least one UE (Fig. 13, 1306), first beam discovery configuration information ([0107] “As illustrated in FIG. 13, the UE may also be provided with an SRS configuration”; Fig. 13 shows the gNB transmits SRS Configuration to the UE;) associated with a beam discovery process for identifying a valid uplink beam ([0107] “In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS.”) associated with an uplink-only network node (Fig. 13, Repeater 1304 is an uplink only network node for UE 1306 as the repeater performs the same functions as the uplink only network node described in the applicant’s specification (network node 506), as both are only uplink for a moment.), wherein the first beam discovery configuration information indicates:
a beam discovery resource pool ([107] “The UE may be configured to transmit the SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner. In some cases, the UE may be provided with spatial relationship information (e.g., indicating what beam(s) to use for transmitting SRS.”; [0070] “A UE may operate in various radio resource configurations, including a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a dedicated set of resources (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated state, etc.) or a configuration associated with transmitting pilots using a common set of resources (e.g., an RRC common state, etc.).”) and
a set of resources associated with a set of transmission beams corresponding to a plurality of beam discovery signals ([0107]; [0070];), the set of transmission beams including the one or more suggested transmission beams ([0116] based on the reports, the gNB may determine best beam/repeater candidate(s) for serving the UE, configure UE and/or repeaters for further/finer measurements, change and indicate the UE's serving beam, and/or change and indicate the associated repeater(s) to the UE (and hence reconfigure one or multiple repeaters to stop/start forwarding signals between the UE and the gNB)); and
transmit, to the uplink-only network node, second beam discovery configuration information associated with the beam discovery process (Fig. 13 shows gNB transmitting SRS Configuration (UL-centric) to the Repeater) ; and
receive a beam discovery report indicative of an association between at least one detected beam discovery signal and a UE (Fig. 13 shows Repeater transmitting sounding report to gNB; [0114] “The repeater may be configured to report SRS periodically, aperiodically, or in an event-triggered manner.”; [0115] “In some cases, the report may include additional information, such as an RX beam index, SRS resource index, and/or corresponding measured RSRP/RSSI.”; [0116] “based on the reports, the gNB may determine best beam/repeater candidate(s) for serving the UE, configure UE and/or repeaters for further/finer measurements, change and indicate the UE's serving beam, and/or change and indicate the associated repeater(s) to the UE (and hence reconfigure one or multiple repeaters to stop/start forwarding signals between the UE and the gNB)”; since the decisions made by the gNB are directed towards the UE, and are based on the report which is transmitted after the SRS beam swept signals are transmitted from the UE, it is implied that the report is indicative of the SRS beam swept signal being associated with the UE).
Abedini does not disclose wherein the first beam discovery configuration information indicates power control information indicating a power offset relative to a reference power.
However, Wang discloses a configuration information indicates power control information indicating a power offset relative to a reference power ([0096] the network device may broadcast configuration information of the transmission power for the preamble. The configuration information may include the expected receiving power, the power offset and the power ramping step size. The terminal device, when sending the preamble for the first time, may determine the transmission power according to the expected receiving power and the power offset.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the first beam discovery configuration information of Abedini to include the power control information as taught by Wang in order to reduce latency and improve data transmission reliability (Wang [0097] how a network device configures transmission power for a preamble for a terminal device to reduce latency of the terminal device in a random access process becomes a problem urgent to be solved; [0026] According to the technical solutions provided in the disclosure, a terminal device may report a power parameter for transmitting a preamble and a parameter related… to a base station of a target cell to optimize the power parameter and… so that a latency during the random access process may be reduced, and the data transmission reliability during the random access process may be improved).
Abedini and Wang do not disclose receiving, from a UE of the at least one UE, a beam discovery report.
However, Nilsson discloses receiving, from a UE of the at least one UE, a beam discovery report ([0003] “In a communications network where the transmission and reception point (TRP) of the network node at the network side uses narrow beams for transmission one of the narrow transmission beams is assumed to be discovered and monitored for each served wireless device at the user side. This process of discovering and monitoring is referred to as beam management. In order to perform beam management the network node uses measurements, as obtained and reported by the served wireless devices, on downlink reference signals such as channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS).”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the report of Abedini and Wang to come from a UE that is being served as taught by Nilsson, in order to simplify the network by not adding additional devices to perform measurements, therefore saving costs and resources.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Wang and Nilsson and Guan et al. (US 20200067674 A1, hereafter Guan).
Regarding claim 28, Abedini in view of Wang and Nilsson, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 27.
Abedini further discloses the second beam discovery configuration information (Fig. 13 shows gNB transmitting SRS Configuration (UL-centric) to the Repeater).
Abedini, Wang and Nilsson do not disclose the second beam discovery configuration information is indicative of a multiplexing scheme for multiplexing a plurality of UEs including the UE.
However, Guan discloses wherein a configuration information is indicative of a multiplexing scheme for multiplexing a plurality of UEs including the UE ([0063] “the reference signal configuration information includes at least one of the following information: a beam sweeping type and a reference signal beam indication, and the reference signal configuration information is used to indicate whether data is mapped onto another resource element that is located on a same orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol as a reference signal.”; [0042] “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a communications system according to an embodiment of this application”; Fig.1 shows that multiple UE’s are configured with the reference signal configuration.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second beam discovery configuration information of Abedini, Wang and Nilsson to be indicative of a multiplexing scheme as taught by Guan, in order to save costs, improve data transmission, and preserve signal quality.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418