DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
2. Claim 14 has been amended, claims 1, 2, 11-13 and 27 canceled and claims 29 and 30 added as requested in the amendment filed on August 26, 2026. Following the amendment, claims 14, 24-26, 29 and 30 are pending in the instant application.
3. Claims 14, 24-26, 29 and 30 are under examination in the instant office action.
4. Any objection or rejection of record, which is not expressly repeated in this action has been overcome by Applicant’s response and withdrawn.
5. Applicant’s arguments filed on August 26, 2026 have been fully considered but found to be not persuasive for reasons set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
7. Claim 29 is indefinite because it recites functional language. MPEP 2173.05(g) states: “the use of functional language in a claim may fail ‘to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim' and thus be indefinite.” It further states: “Examiners should consider the following factors when examining claims that contain functional language to determine whether the language is ambiguous: (1) whether there is a clear cut indication of the scope of the subject matter covered by the claim; (2) whether the language sets forth well-defined boundaries of the invention or only states a problem solved or a result obtained; and (3) whether one of ordinary skill in the art would know from the claim terms what structure or steps are encompassed by the claim.” In the instant case, claim 29, which limits the subject matter of independent claim 14 by reciting the result of the procedure—administration results in improvement in TMS—defines the subject matter by functional language. While a functional limitation can provide a patentable distinction (limit the claim scope) by imposing limits on the function of a structure, material or action, in the instant case it is unclear what material/structural or manipulative differences are encompassed by recitation of the results of the same procedure as in claim 14.
8. Claim 30 is rejected as being incomplete for being dependent from a cancelled claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n), V.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 14, 24-26, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 9,598,495 in view of Gluhm et al. for reasons of record in section 5 of Paper mailed on March 10, 2026 and section 10 of Paper mailed on June 01, 2026.
Applicant traverses the rejection at pp. 6-10 of the Response. Specifically, Applicant argues that, “[T]he pending claims define the subjects treated by the claimed method as subjects having HD or determined to have HD and having a MoCA score specifically in the range of 19-25 and/or a TFC score of 11. It is clear from a reading of the specification as a whole and the specific language of claim 14 that only that particular subset of HD subjects is selected and treated by the claimed method. It is that subset of subjects that exhibit the recited treatment outcomes. The term "if," as used in claim 14, is a conditional instruction that means perform the action, i.e., administer the antibody, only when a specific condition is met, i.e., the MoCA and/or TFC score meets the claim requirement. The term "if" sets the situation that must be true for the action to occur,” p. 6.
Applicant further explains the results of the working examples of the instant disclosure, pp. 7-8. At p. 9, Applicant submits that, “Nothing in the cited prior art suggests that HD subjects having a TFC score of 12 or 13 and/or a MoCA score ≥ 26 experience little or no therapeutic benefit from treatment with the recited antibodies, while subjects having a TFC score of 11 and/or a MoCA score in the range of 19-25 experience improved motor function and/or cognition when treated with the recited antibodies. The '495 patent discloses that anti-SEMA4D antibody treatment provides therapeutic benefit to subjects with neurodegenerative disorders in general, which includes subjects with HD but does not distinguish between HD subjects on the basis of the stage of the disease, such as by MoCA score or TFC score and therefore, does not disclose or suggest treatment of those HD subjects that are likely to benefit from treatment and those that will not benefit.” Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but found to be not persuasive for reasons that follow.
As fully explained earlier, the ‘495 patent teaches the active ingredient of the treatment protocol— an antibody to SEMA4D, wherein the antibody is identified by reference to the SEQ ID NOS: 6, 7, 8, 14, 15 and 16, identical product to the instant claims—and its use in treating neurodegenerative disorders and Huntington’s disease (HD) specifically. Thus, at the time of filing of the instant patent application, methods of treating of the same pathology, HD, by administration of the identical antibody and following the same treatment protocol have been fully disclosed. The only difference between the cited art and the instant claims is the requirement to submit the subjects with HD to well-known cognitive tests, MoCA and TFC. After the testing, the claimed method requires to proceed with the same known treatment and expect specific results, which Applicant has recently discovered. Examiner maintains that adding a test does not support novelty of the method of treatment, which remains fully disclosed at the time of filing of the instant patent application. Applicant’s reasoning that the later research allowed a discovery that some of the HD patients, those tested by known cognitive assessment tests, had better or specific clinical outcome than the rest of the treated population does not change anything in the protocol disclosed within ‘495 patent. The HD patients, including those who are, as claimed here, tested and selected, are treated by the same protocol by administering the same product as in ‘495 patent, although now with appreciation why some patients experience different outcome of the treatment.
MPEP 2141.02, I, The Claimed Invention as a Whole Must be Considered, states that, “In determining the differences between the prior art and the claims, the question under 35 U.S.C. 103 is not whether the differences themselves would have been obvious, but whether the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious. Stratoflex, Inc. v. Aeroquip Corp., 713 F.2d 1530, 218 USPQ 871 (Fed. Cir. 1983). Further, MPEP 2141.02, V, Disclosed Inherent properties are Part of “As a Whole” Inquiry”, “In determining whether the invention as a whole would have been obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103, we must first delineate the invention as a whole. In delineating the invention as a whole, we look not only to the subject matter which is literally recited in the claim in question... but also to those properties of the subject matter which are inherent in the subject matter and are disclosed in the specification. . . Just as we look to a chemical and its properties when we examine the obviousness of a composition of matter claim, it is this invention as a whole, and not some part of it, which must be obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103." In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 620, 195 USPQ 6,8 (CCPA 1977) (emphasis in original) (citations omitted). See also In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 391, 137 USPQ 43, 51 (CCPA 1963) ("From the standpoint of patent law, a compound and all its properties are inseparable.").
The cited references do not explicitly teach that a population of HD patients with a certain MoCA score and TFC score, when treated by the method disclosed within the ‘495 patent, produces the results recited within the instant claims. However, such a result would be an inherent property of practicing the method taught by the prior art. It is well settled that “the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
The Examiner maintains that the active method steps encompassed by the instant claims are indistinguishable from those of the prior art. Thus, an enhanced treatment outcome experienced by those having or determined to have Huntington’s disease treated by administration of the antibody to SEMA4D must be an inherent result of practicing the method taught by the ‘495. The Examiner maintains that in essence, the claims are drawn to the scientific explanation of the methods disclosed by the prior art.
For reasons of record fully explained earlier and reasons above, the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
10. Claims 14, 24-26, 29 and 30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 9,598,495 for reasons of record in section 6 of Paper mailed on March 09, 2026 and in section 11 of Paper mailed on June 01, 2026. Applicant argues that because the patented claims did not suggest testing, the inventions are patentably distinct, p. 10. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but found to be not persuasive for reasons that follow.
The patented claims describe a method of treatment, which recites administration of an identical substance to treat the identical pathology, and using an open language comprising. The Examiner maintains that the instant claims are drawn to the same invention for which patent protection has been already granted.
11. Claims 14, 24-26, 29 and 30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,800,853 for reasons of record in section 7 of Paper mailed on March 09, 2026 and section 12 of Paper mailed on June 01, 2026. At pp. 10-11, Applicant argues, similarly to above, that the patented claims do not disclose or suggest assessing an HD subject prior to treatment. Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but found to be not persuasive for reasons of record fully explained earlier and above. Furthermore, by broadest reasonable interpretation, the instant claims do not explicitly require or suggest not to treat those patients with the score that does not meet the limitations of the claims. The Examiner maintains that the instant claims encompass a method of treating the same pathology, Huntington’s disease, by administration of the same antibody for which patent protection has been already granted.
12. Claims 14, 24-26, 29 and 30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,385,136.
Claims 14, 24-26, 29 and 30 are directed to methods of treatment of the same pathology, HD specifically, by administration of the same antibody as in patented claims of the ‘136 document.
Conclusion
13. No claim is allowed.
/OLGA N CHERNYSHEV/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675
September 15, 2026