Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection is based on the standard of obviousness as opposed to anticipation as previously applied. The Straubel et al. prior art specifically teaches the use of prismatic cells and the arrangements required by the claims are obvious variations of prismatic cells.
Applicant’s amendments have overcome some of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of the previous office action. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 25, 26, 28 and 29 pending claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “long side wall” or “short side wall” in claims 1, 2, 25, 26, 28 and 29 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long” or “short” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. While the term “long” or “short” have meaning in the instant specification as the terms are used in conjunction (i.e. the battery has long and short sides), the terms are used in the claims in a manner which renders them indefinite as it is unclear what a “long” or “short” side are relative to. There is not specific lengths described in the specification which could give the terms meaning on their own.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straubel et al. (US Pub 2007/0218353 of record) in view of Jennrich et al. (US Pub 2018/0301771 newly cited).
In regard to claim 1, 14 and 24-27, Straubel et al. teach a battery module, comprising: a plurality of galvanic cells 108, 110; at least one connecting body (thermally conductive potting material 116 alone or in combination with substrate 112), wherein the at least one connecting body connects the galvanic cells together in the stacking direction (left and right directions, figures 1A and 1B),
wherein the at least one connecting body is arranged on long and short secondary sides of the galvanic cells (while cylindrical cells are shown, prismatic cells such as 34x50x10mm may be used– see paragraph [0014], i.e. long 34mm wide or 50mm long and short 10mm thickness secondary sides within potting 116),
wherein the at least one connecting body comprises a connecting material body made of a connecting material, wherein the connecting material body is connected to the galvanic cells of the battery module in a materially bonding manner (such as a potting compound 116 cast around cells 108), wherein an immersion depth of the galvanic cells 108 in the connecting material 116 of the connecting material body is approximately 6 mm, which may be approximately 5% to 15% of a surface area of the short secondary sides of the galvanic cells (paragraphs [0014-0019]).
In regard to the amendment, Straubel et al. teach the at least one connecting body comprises a receptacle, wherein in the receptacle the first secondary side of one of the galvanic cells of the battery module is completely arranged (figure 1), but does not specifically show that the first secondary side of the galvanic cells is facing away from both the cell poles of the galvanic cell. However, Jennrich et al. teach a similar battery module including a plurality of galvanic cells (battery cells 1) connected to a connecting material body (potting material 40-42) wherein the short and long secondary sides of the galvanic cell which are completely arranged in the connecting material body and the sides facing away from the cell poles (terminals 2) of the galvanic cells (see figures 1-22, paragraphs [0142-0180]) because such aids in the thermal regulation of the cells.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention filed to use prismatic cells which have short and long secondary sides opposite the cell poles for in the battery module of Straubel et al. as such is an effective arrangement for thermal regulation of prismatic cells as taught by Jennrich et al. The Examiner notes that both ends of the prismatic batteries have both short and long sides as the thickness direction may be considered a short side and width or length considered a long side as shown above.
In regard to claim 2, Straubel et al. teach said battery module comprises only a single connecting body (single casting of material 116) arranged on the long secondary side of said galvanic cells (figures 1-3, paragraphs [0018]).
In regard to claim 3, Straubel et al. teach a receptacle (substrate 112 on top and bottom) of the receiving body of the single connecting body all long secondary sides of the galvanic cells of the battery module are completely arranged, which are facing away from the cell poles (terminals shown on top) of the galvanic cells (figures 1, paragraphs [0016]).
In regard to claim 4, Straubel et al. teach wherein the receiving body of the connecting body comprises a temperature control channel structure (cooling tubes 114) through which a temperature control medium can be conducted, wherein a cell base of the galvanic cells of the battery module, in particular, can be cooled with the temperature control channel structure (figure 1A, paragraphs [0017]).
In regard to claim 5, Straubel et al. teach the connecting material body 116 of a respective connecting body is received in the receiving body of the connecting body (figures 1, paragraphs [0018]).
In regard to claim 6, Straubel et al. teach wherein the galvanic cells 108 of the battery module, the connecting material 116 of the connecting material body, and the receiving body 112 together form a composite component (figure 1, paragraphs [0015-0019]).
In regard to claim 7, Straubel et al. teach the connecting material is a flowable and castable material (described in paragraph [0019]).
In regard to claim 8, Straubel et al. teach wherein the connecting body (which may include substrate 112) comprises a temperature control channel structure (114) through which a temperature control medium can be conducted (figures 1A, paragraphs [0017]).
In regard to claim 9, Straubel et al. teach the galvanic cells 108 are arranged spaced apart from one another in the stacking direction (figures 1, paragraphs [0015]).
In regard to claim 10, Straubel et al. teach a space is arranged between adjacent galvanic cells 108 in each case (space which is filled with material 116 - figure 1, paragraphs [0018]).
In regard to claim 11, Straubel et al. teach the battery module according to claim 1, wherein a receiving body of a respective connecting body 116 has a width of approximately 6mm (paragraph [0018], figure 1) which overlaps or is close enough to the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05). Further, the orientation of the connecting material and battery cells may be modified such that various directions may be considered the stacking direction.
In regard to claim 12, Straubel et al. teach wherein a respective connecting material body 116 of the one or more connecting bodies is connected to the galvanic cells 108 of the battery module in a materially bonding and form-fitting manner (figures 1, paragraphs [0018]).
In regard to claim 13, Straubel et al. teach wherein an electrical insulation film (material 116 cast as liquid – paragraph [0022]; bushing 156 - paragraph [0025]) is arranged at least partially or only partially on a surface of the galvanic cells, in particular on a surface of the cell housings of the galvanic cells (figures 1-3, paragraph [0022]).
In regard to claim 15, Straubel et al. teach the battery device comprises a temperature control device comprising one or more temperature control elements (cooling tubes 114 - figure 1, paragraph [0017]).
In regard to claims 28 and 29, Jennrich et al. teach both cell poles (terminals 2) of the one of the galvanic cells are arranged on a second long/short secondary side of the one of the galvanic cells (figures above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US Patent No. 6,586,132 teaches a similar cell housing the includes cooling structures.
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723