DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Response to Amendment
3. In response to the amendment received on 12/23/2025:
Claims 1-42 are pending in the current application. Claims 1-26 have been amended and Claims 27-42 stand withdrawn.
The previous objections to the specification and drawings have been overcome in light of the amendment.
The previous rejection under 35 USC 112 is overcome in light of the amendment.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been overcome in light of the amendment. All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Interpretation
4. All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
5. The claims recite “short secondary side”, which is defined in the written description (as follows: “A respective galvanic cell and/or a cell housing of a respective galvanic cell preferably comprise two primary sides and four secondary sides, in particular two short secondary sides and two long secondary sides. Preferably, the two primary sides and/or two secondary sides are arranged on opposing sides of a respective galvanic cell and/or of a cell housing of a respective galvanic cell. Preferably, the short secondary sides have the same width as the long secondary sides, in particular in a direction running parallel to the stacking direction of the battery module. The long secondary sides preferably have a greater length than the short secondary sides, in particular in a direction running parallel to the stacking direction of the battery module.” This definition provides clarity to the meaning of “short secondary side” in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-11, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Gutsch US PG Publication 2012/0288741.
Regarding Claim 1, 2, 4, and 11, Gutsch discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of galvanic cells (electrochemical cells) 2 being prismatic cells arranged along a stacking direction (para 0041), two or more connecting bodies 7/4 which connect the galvanic cells 2 to one another in the stacking direction (Fig. 3), one of the connecting bodies 7/4 being arranged on a side of the prismatic cells 2 of the battery module, another one of the connecting bodies 2 arranged on a second side of the prismatic cells of the battery module (Fig. 3), wherein at least one of the connecting bodies 7/4 comprises a one-piece (meeting Claim 2) connecting material body (fixing plate) 4 made of aluminum or magnesium (which is inherently a flowable and/or castable material, meeting Claim 4) and made of a connecting material (the material connects holding frame elements 7 to one another, and thermally connects to the cells) and a one-piece (meeting Claim 2) receiving body (holding frame element) 7 which is C-shaped since it has groove 8 into which 4 fits (para 0044, Fig. 3, meeting Claim 11), wherein the connecting material body 4 is received in the receiving body 7 of the connecting body (paras 0019, 0043-0044), wherein the connecting material body 4 is connected to the galvanic cells of the battery module (indirectly) and to the receiving body (directly) in a materially bonding manner (para 0019, claim 22) (see entire disclosure and especially Fig. 3 and paras 0039-0047).
Gutsch does not specifically call the sides of cells 2 on which the connecting bodies are arranged on “short" secondary sides. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the battery module such that the cells are arranged in an orientation that best suits the shape of the battery system housing and best suits the device in which the battery system is installed such that the cells are oriented with the terminals on the short secondary side and therefore the connecting bodies are arranged on first and second short secondary sides since the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 3, Gutsch discloses wherein cell housings and the connecting material of the connecting material body 4 and the receiving body 7 together form a composite component since they are all pressed, para 0043, and thereby attach together to form a single unit.
Regarding Claim 5, Gutsch discloses in paras 043-0045 that the connecting bodies comprises a temperature control channel structure (“coolant channels”) through which a temperature control medium can be conducted.
Regarding Claim 6, Gutsch discloses wherein a) the galvanic cells 2 are arranged spaced apart from one another in the stacking direction wherein the galvanic cells are substantially in parallel to one another and b) an intermediate space is arranged between at least two adjacent galvanic cells of the galvanic cells (there are spaces between all galvanic cells since spacers/elastic layers 9 and fixing plates 4 are positioned between the cells (Fig. 3, paras 0044-0045).
Regarding Claim 7, Gutsch discloses the claimed battery module as described in the rjrection of Claim 1, which is incorporated herein in its entirety. Gutsch discloses wherein the receiving body 7 has a plurality of spacer elements (elastic layers) 9 which have, parallel to the stacking direction of the battery module, a width (see at least Fig. 3, paras 0024-0025, 0042-0043) but fails to specifically disclose any size of the spacer elements. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to determine the proper width of the spacer elements of Gutsch such that the proper pressure can be provided and the most effective protection against vibration can be used, for example, such that the spacer elements could be selected to be approximately 1 to 5 mm wide because the size of an article is not a matter of invention. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 8, Gutsch discloses wherein the connecting material body is connected to the galvanic cells in a materially bonding manner (indirectly; see above) and in a form-fitting manner (directly, since the connecting material body 4 is adjoined to the surface of the cell 2, paras 0015, 0027).
Regarding Claim 9, Gutsch discloses wherein the galvanic cells 2 of the battery module connect at least two or more connecting bodies 7/4 to one another in a load-bearing manner, since there is at least a small amount of pressure applied to the cells 2 by the connecting bodies 4 (see para 0043, “fixing plates 4 bear with the surfaces 5 of the electrochemical cells 2 against one another with a certain surface pressure”).
Regarding Claim 10, it is clear from the figures that the connecting bodies 7/4 of modified Gutsch at least partially surround the short secondary sides of the prismatic cells since they extend over the tops and bottoms, which are the short secondary sides as explained in the rejection of Claim 1 (see e.g. Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 20, the connecting bodies of Gutsch are connected to each other since they are part of an assembly that has all parts connected to one another.
Regarding Claim 22, Gutsch discloses in paras 0040 that planar/flat cell connection elements (connector element) 13 are included in the battery module to connect battery cell current conductors 12 (Fig. 1).
7. Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutsch US PG Publication 2012/0288741, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Obasih US PG Publication 2015/0093613.
Regarding Claims 23-24, the skilled artisan would expect that the cell connection elements 13 of Gutsch, which connect cell poles 12 of two or more galvanic cells (para 0040, Fig. 1), would have a section that could dissipate heat therefrom such that this section would be reasonably considered a heat conduction section since a standard material used as an electrically conductive connector would have some measure of heat conduction. This is not explicitly disclosed by Gutsch and Gutsch also does not specifically disclose wherein the heat conduction section is thermally coupled in a thermally conductive manner to the connecting material body. However, in the same field of endeavor of battery design, Obisah discloses wherein a battery module comprises a plurality of cell connection elements (bus bar cell interconnects) 32 that are flat and planar (see at least Fig. 3, paras 0041-0042) by means of which cell poles (terminals) of adjacent galvanic cells are connected to one another and wherein the cell connection elements 32 comprise a heat conduction section (thermal management feature, para 0042) by means of which heat can be dissipated from the respective cell connection element to a connecting material body (cooling insert) 80 of the connecting body such that this element is thermally coupled in a thermally conductive manner to the connecting material body (see entire disclosure and especially Figs and paras 0041-0042, 0051-0054). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the battery module of Gutsch such that the heat conduction section is thermally coupled in a thermally conductive manner to the connecting material body and that cell connection elements would have a section that could dissipate heat therefrom such that this section would be reasonably considered a heat conduction section because Obisah discloses that these elements provide means by which heat can be dissipated from cell connection elements.
8. Claims 1, 3, 6, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneyama US PG Publication 2020/0411816 in view of Gutsch US PG Publication 2012/0288741.
Regarding Claim 1 and 11, Yoneyama discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of galvanic cells 13 being prismatic cells arranged along a stacking direction, two or more connecting bodies which connect the galvanic cells 13 to one another in the stacking direction, one of the connecting bodies being arranged on a first short secondary side of the prismatic cells 13 of the battery module, another one of the connecting bodies arranged on a second short secondary side of the prismatic cells of the battery module, wherein at least one of the connecting bodies comprises a connecting material body (pillar member) 60 made of a connecting material (60 is made of a material that physically connects elements to one another and therefore it is made of a connecting material) and a receiving body (side-frames) 30 having a C-shaped cross-section (meeting Claim 11), wherein the connecting material body 60 is received in the receiving body 30 of the connecting body, wherein the connecting material body 60 is connected to the galvanic cells of the battery module and to the receiving body in a physically bonding manner (see entire disclosure and especially all Figs and e.g. paras 0021-0022, 0028-0035, 0044-0045). Yoneyama discloses wherein the connecting material body 60 is connected to the galvanic cells 12 of the battery module and to the receiving body 30 (para 0045) but fails to specifically disclose wherein the connecting material body 60 is connected to the galvanic cells 12 of the battery module and to the receiving body 30 in a materially bonding manner. However, in the same field of endeavor of battery assembly design, Gutsch discloses wherein battery fixing plates can be fixed to frame elements using either releasably (using screws or clamping) or can be materially bonded (via welding or adhesion) or e.g. via fixing via retaining in a groove (see e.g. paras 0018-0021). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the connecting bodies of Yoneyama such that the connecting material body is connected to the galvanic cells and the receiving body in a materially bonding manner because Gutsch teaches that material bonding and releasable connecting can be used interchangeably depending on the need of the specific application.
Regarding Claim 3, Yoneyama discloses wherein the connecting material of the connecting material body 60 and the receiving body 30 together form a composite component (since they are all attached together to form a single unit).
Regarding Claim 10, it is clear from the figures that the connecting bodies of Yoneyama completely surround (cover the entire surfaces of) the short secondary sides of the prismatic cells (see e.g. Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Yoneyama discloses that the battery module comprises one or more connecting elements (bolts) for a detachable fixing of a cover element (lid) 24 to the battery module (Fig 1; para 0019).
Regarding Claim 19, Yoneyama discloses wherein at least one of the connecting bodies comprises one or more fastening elements (joint) 32 by means of which the battery module can be fixed to a housing (bottom plate of housing) 22 of a battery device and wherein one or more of the one or more fastening elements 32 is designed for the passage of a connecting element (e.g. screw 61) (see e.g. Fig. 8 and paras 0044-0045).
Regarding Claim 20, the connecting bodies of Yoneyama are connected to each other since they are part of an assembly that has all parts connected to one another.
Regarding Claim 21, Yoneyama discloses wherein a respective receiving body 30 of a connecting body comprises a fastening device (screw) 64 for fastening a cell contacting system (side-binding bar) 62 of the battery module (see e.g. Fig. 8 and paras 0044-0045). Although Yoneyama does not call 62 a cell contacting system, the skilled artisan would see that this device contacts the cell and braces it to the bottom housing 22 via the connecting body. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Regarding Claim 22, Yoneyama discloses in paras 0024-0025 that cell connection elements (bus bars) are included in the battery module to connect battery cell terminals 17/18 (Fig. 3) but does not describe their shape such that they are flat and/or planar. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design such elements of Yoneyama modified by Gutsch in a shape that takes up the least amount of space while connecting the battery cell terminals such that e.g. they are flat and/or planar since the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04). It is also known that bus bars are almost ubiquitously flat or planar in shape.
Regarding Claim 25, Yoneyama discloses wherein at least one of the connecting bodies of the battery module comprises one or more connecting sections 21a by means of which the connecting body is connectable to a connecting body of an adjacent battery module. The interposition of 21a is seen as a connection between connecting bodies including 30 of battery modules that face one another across 21a.
9. Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneyama US PG Publication 2020/0411816 in view of Gutsch US PG Publication 2012/0288741, as applied to Claim 12, and further in view of Yang CN209641711.
Regarding Claims 13 and 15, Yoneyama modified by Gutsch discloses claimed battery module as described in the rejection of Claim 12, above, which is incorporated herein in its entirety, including one or more connecting elements for the detachable and/or tool-free fixing of a cover element to the battery module. However, Yoneyama modified by Gutsch fails to specifically disclose wherein the battery module comprises one or more connecting elements for the detachable and/or tool-free fixing of a cover element to the battery module such that said elements are designed as hook-and-loop fastener strips. However, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle battery design, Yang teaches that a battery in a vehicle benefits from a detachable heat preservation cover structure attached by hook-and-loop fasteners with the advantage that in cold weather, this cover can help the battery stay warm and operational to provide power to the vehicle (see entire disclosure and especially e.g. abstract, paras 0009-0014, 0021-0023, Figs 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the battery module of Yoneyama such that the battery module comprises one or more connecting elements for the detachable and/or tool-free fixing of a cover element to the battery module such that the elements are designed as hook-and-loop fastener strips since Yang teaches that in cold weather, this structure can help the battery stay warm and operational to provide power to the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 15, although Yoneyama modified by Gutsch and Yang does not specifically recite wherein the one or more connecting elements are arranged on an upper side of the receiving body, facing the cell poles of the galvanic cells of the battery module, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the battery module of Yoneyama and Yang in such a way that would allow easiest wrapping of the battery and access to the connecting parts such that e.g. one or more connecting elements are arranged on an upper side of the receiving body, facing the cell poles of the galvanic cells of the battery module since this would require only a rearrangement of parts. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
10. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneyama US PG Publication 2020/0411816 in view of Gutsch US PG Publication 2012/0288741, as applied to Claim 12, and further in view of Miller US PG Publication 2017/0302098.
Regarding Claim 14, Yoneyama modified by Gutsch discloses claimed battery module as described in the rejection of Claim 12, above, which is incorporated herein in its entirety. Yoneyama modified by Gutsch fails to specifically disclose wherein the one or more connecting elements for the detachable and/or tool-free fixing of a cover element to the battery module are designed as magnetic strips. However, in the same field of endeavor of detachable cover design for electronic elements, Miller discloses that a cover can be attached to its base element using magnets or hook-and-loop pads as functionally equivalent attachment elements (para 0050, Fig 19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the battery module of Yoneyama modified by Gutsch such that the one or more connecting elements for the detachable and/or tool-free fixing of a cover element to the battery module are designed as magnetic strips because Miller teaches that magnetic strips (see strip shape of 19 in Fig 7) are functionally equivalent for detachable cover placement on an electronic element. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
11. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneyama US PG Publication 2020/0411816 in view of Gutsch US PG Publication 2012/0288741, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Swiegers US PG Publication 2016/0322649.
Regarding Claim 16, Yoneyama modified by Gutsch discloses claimed battery module as described in the rejection of Claim 1, above, which is incorporated herein in its entirety. Yoneyama modified by Gutsch fails to specifically disclose wherein a width of a connecting material body in a direction perpendicular to the stacking direction of the battery module and parallel to a long secondary side of the galvanic cells corresponds approximately to a total of a wall thickness of a cell housing wall of a cell housing of a galvanic cell, a distance of a cell winding of the galvanic cell from the cell housing wall of the cell housing, and width of a deflection region of a cell winding of the galvanic cell, largely because Yoneyama modified by Gutsch fails to disclose any cell winding of the galvanic cells. However, in the same field of endeavor of battery design, Swiegers teaches that a spiral-wound cell (and module) is advantageous over other types of arrangements because they provide the highest overall active/electrochemical surface area for a relatively small geometric footprint (para 0105). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the battery module of Yoneyama modified by Gutsch such that the galvanic cells are wound cells (such that they have winding regions) because Swiegers teaches that a spiral-wound cell (and module) is advantageous over other types of arrangements because they provide the highest overall active/electrochemical surface area for a relatively small geometric footprint.
Although Yoneyama modified by Gutsch and Swiegers does not specifically teach wherein a width of a connecting material body in a direction perpendicular to the stacking direction of the battery module and parallel to a long secondary side of the galvanic cells corresponds approximately to a total of a wall thickness of a cell housing wall of a cell housing of a galvanic cell, a distance of a cell winding of the galvanic cell from the cell housing wall of the cell housing, and width of a deflection region of a cell winding of the galvanic cell, the broad language of “a width of a connecting body material” does not claim any particular width of said material, and so in the modified Yoneyama invention, the connecting material body can have a portion designated as a width that meets the claimed parameters.
12. Claims 17-18, 23-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneyama US PG Publication 2020/0411816 in view of Gutsch US PG Publication 2012/0288741, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Obasih US PG Publication 2015/0093613.
Regarding Claim 17-18, Yoneyama modified by Gutsch discloses claimed battery module as described in the rejection of Claim 1, above, which is incorporated herein in its entirety. Yoneyama modified by Gutsch fails to specifically disclose wherein two galvanic cells adjacent in the stacking direction and/or two connecting bodies of the battery module each bound a ventilation duct in a direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the battery module and/or parallel to a short secondary side of the galvanic cell or wherein the battery module comprises a fan device arranged and designed in such a way that an air flow directed into ventilation ducts of the battery module can be generated by means of the fan device. However, in the same field of endeavor of battery module design, Obasih discloses a battery module 13 comprising a plurality of prismatic galvanic cells (electrochemical cells) 30 arranged along a stacking direction, one or more connecting bodies (sidewalls) 52 connecting the galvanic cells 30 to one another in the stacking direction, wherein the battery module 13 comprises two connecting bodies 52, wherein a connecting body is arranged on a respective short secondary side of the galvanic cells of the battery module (Figs 3 and 4 show that the sides of 30 held in connecting bodies 52 are the short secondary sides of the cells) (see entire disclosure and especially Figs 3-4 and paras 0040-0047). Obisah teaches that two connecting bodies (portions of sidewall 52 surrounding one-piece connecting material body (cooling insert) 80 each bound a ventilation duct 50 in a direction parallel to the short secondary side of the galvanic cells in a direction parallel to the direction of the force of gravity (see at least para 0044, 0049-0052, Figs 3-4, 8-10). Obisah further teaches that the battery module 13 comprises a fan device which is arranged and designed in such a way that an air flow directed into ventilation ducts (cooling channels) 50 of the battery module 13 can be generated by means of a fan device (see at least para 0044, 0049-0050, Figs 3-4, 8-10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the battery module of Yoneyama modified by Gutsch such that two galvanic cells adjacent in the stacking direction and/or two connecting bodies of the battery module each bound a ventilation duct in a direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the battery module and/or parallel to a short secondary side of the galvanic cell or wherein the battery module comprises a fan device arranged and designed in such a way that an air flow directed into ventilation ducts of the battery module can be generated by means of the fan device because Obisah teaches that this is an effective cooling design for a battery module.
Regarding Claims 23-24, Yoneyama discloses that one or more cellc connection elements (bus bars) connect cell poles (terminals) 17/18 of two galvanic cells (para 0024-0025)and the skilled artisan would expect these bus bars to have a section that could dissipate heat therefrom such that this section would be reasonably considered a heat conduction section since a standard material used as an electrically conductive connector would have some measure of heat conduction. This is not explicitly disclosed by Yoneyama, and Yoneyama does not specifically disclose wherein the heat conduction section is thermally coupled in a thermally conductive manner to the connecting material body. Obisah discloses wherein the battery module comprises a plurality of cell connection elements (bus bar cell interconnects) 32 that are flat and planar (see at least Fig. 3, paras 0041-0042) by means of which cell poles (terminals) of adjacent galvanic cells are connected to one another and wherein the cell connection element 32 comprises a heat conduction section (thermal management feature, para 0042) by means of which heat can be dissipated from the respective cell connection element to the connecting material body 80 of the connecting body (see description above of 80). isah discloses wherein a battery module comprises a plurality of cell connection elements (bus bar cell interconnects) 32 that are flat and planar (see at least Fig. 3, paras 0041-0042) by means of which cell poles (terminals) of adjacent galvanic cells are connected to one another and wherein the cell connection elements 32 comprise a heat conduction section (thermal management feature, para 0042) by means of which heat can be dissipated from the respective cell connection element to a connecting material body (cooling insert) 80 of the connecting body such that this element is thermally coupled in a thermally conductive manner to the connecting material body (see entire disclosure and especially Figs and paras 0041-0042, 0051-0054). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the battery module of Gutsch such that the heat conduction section is thermally coupled in a thermally conductive manner to the connecting material body and that cell connection elements would have a section that could dissipate heat therefrom such that this section would be reasonably considered a heat conduction section because Obisah discloses that these elements provide means by which heat can be dissipated from cell connection elements.
Regarding Claim 26, Yoneyama discloses wherein a resin insulation film 52 is arranged at least partially or only partially on a surface of the galvanic cells (Fig 6 and para 0040). Yoneyama does not specifically disclose wherein the insulation film is electrically insulative. However, Obisah discloses wherein an electrical insulation film is used to separate galvanic cell bottoms from metallic surrounding housing parts (Fig 22, paras 0051, 0061). Therefore, it would dhave been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the insulation film of Yoneyama from an electrically insulative material because Obisah teaches that this is a known element to place between housing structure formed of metal and galvanic cell surfaces.
Response to Arguments
13. Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims are based on the claims as amended. The amended claims have been addressed in the new rejection above.
Conclusion
14. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA S PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729