DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks Pg. 10-11, filed 11/03/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-6, 11-13, 18-23, and 28-30 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Salah et al. (US 2025/0373368 A1), and Li et al. (English translation of WO 2022/151407 A1), which was previously cited in Non-Final Rejection mailed on 3/11/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 18, 29, and 30 recite limitations in which there is no clear connection between the subsequent steps. Specifically, the action of receiving a configuration message to switch carriers for a PUCCH is not connected to the transmitting of one or more PUCCH repetitions on a second carrier rather than a first carrier based on a final repetition being scheduled earlier in time on the second carrier. The actions and/or outcomes of these limitations are considered to be independent from one another as it is not clear how the configuration message for switching is involved with the limitation of transmitting the PUCCH repetitions on a second carrier rather than a first carrier based on which would comprise the earliest scheduled final repetition. Examiner recommends adding language to specify that the second limitation of transmitting the repetitions of a PUCCH signal is somehow “based on” the configuration message.
Claims 2-17, and 19-28 are rejected due to their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12, 18-21, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salah et al. (US 2025/0373368 A1), hereinafter referred to as Salah, and in view of Li et al. (WO 2022151407 A1, English translation is used in mapping), hereinafter referred to as Li.
Re. Claim 1, Salah teaches:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), (Fig. 3 Communication Apparatus 310 & ¶0011 An objective of the present disclosure is to propose solutions or schemes that address the aforementioned issues pertaining to PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetitions for latency reduction and UCI transmission enhancement with respect to user equipment and network apparatus in mobile communications.)
comprising: a memory; (¶0052 communication apparatus 310 may further include a memory 314)
and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, (¶0052 communication apparatus 310 may further include a memory 314 coupled to processor 312 and capable of being accessed by processor 312 and storing data therein.)
configured to: receive, from a network, a configuration message indicating to switch carriers for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); (¶0044 In some implementations, the PUCCH carrier switching time is defined. The UE may report the supported PUCCH carrier switching times to the cells with the cell group. The base station may configure the UE (e.g., via RRC signaling) with PUCCH carrier switching time. [i.e. configuration message indicating to switch carriers for PUCCH])
Yet, Salah does not teach: and transmit one or more repetitions of a PUCCH signal on a second carrier rather than a first carrier based on a final repetition, of the one or more repetitions, on the second carrier being scheduled earlier in time than a final repetition on the first carrier.
However, in the analogous art, Li teaches such a limitation:
and transmit one or more repetitions of a PUCCH signal on a second carrier rather than a first carrier based on a final repetition, of the one or more repetitions, on the second carrier being scheduled earlier in time than a final repetition on the first carrier. (¶0123 the terminal can determine the carrier with the earliest end position in the time unit carrying the terminals candidate Nth PUCCH transmission among multiple carriers indicated by the network device as the carrier for N repeated PUCCH transmission, so that the terminal can complete the N repeated PUCCH transmissions as soon as possible and reduce the delay of PUCCH transmission. [i.e. repetitions are retransmitted on the carrier (second carrier) with the earliest end position of a candidate Nth PUCCH (second carrier chosen based on a final repetition being scheduled earlier in time) among multiple carriers, wherein the other possible carrier(s) not chosen comprise the first carrier)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Li’s teaching of switching of transmitting repetitions of a PUCCH signal to a second carrier based on the final repetition being scheduled earlier in time on the corresponding second carrier, because it would allow the device to complete the number of PUCCH repetitions as soon as possible which would reduce the delay of transmissions. (see Li ¶0007-¶0008)
Re. Claim 2, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 1.
Salah further teaches:
wherein the configuration message comprises a radio resource control (RRC) message. (¶0044 The base station may configure the UE (e.g., via RRC signaling) with PUCCH carrier switching)
Re. Claim 3, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 1.
Salah further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive at least one of a control element or downlink control information (DCI) that activates carrier switching on the PUCCH. (¶0028 the UE may receive downlink control information (DCI) on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuring a carrier switching indication and a PUCCH repetition indication. The UE may further receive downlink data on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). The UE may perform a PUCCH carrier switching or a PUCCH cell switching according to the carrier switching indication [i.e. the indication activates carrier switching])
Re. Claim 4, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 1.
Salah further teaches:
wherein the PUCCH signal comprises one or more hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback signals. (¶0004 Multiple HARQ-ACK feedbacks corresponding to multiple physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions may be accumulated, multiplexed and transmitted to the network apparatus at once. One PUCCH resource may be used to carry multiple HARQ-ACK feedbacks to be transmitted in the same slot.)
Re. Claim 12, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 1.
Li further teaches:
wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier further based on a second or later repetition, of the one or more repetitions, on the second carrier being scheduled earlier in time than a corresponding repetition on the first carrier. (¶0123 the terminal can determine the carrier with the earliest end position in the time unit of the candidate Nth PUCCH transmission carried by the terminal from among multiple carriers indicated by the network device as the carrier for N PUCCH retransmission, so that the terminal can complete the Nth PUCCH retransmission as soon as possible and reduce the PUCCH transmission delay. [i.e. repetitions are retransmitted on the carrier (second carrier) with the earliest end position of a candidate Nth PUCCH (second carrier chosen based on a later repetition being scheduled earlier in time) among multiple carriers, wherein the other possible carrier(s) not chosen comprise the first carrier)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Li’s teaching of switching of transmitting repetitions of a PUCCH signal to a second carrier based on a further repetition being scheduled earlier in time on the corresponding second carrier, because it would allow the device to complete the number of PUCCH repetitions as soon as possible which would reduce the delay of transmissions. (see Li ¶0007-¶0008)
Re. Claim 18, Salah teaches:
An apparatus for wireless communication at one or more network cells, comprising: (Fig. 3 Network Apparatus 320 & ¶0011 An objective of the present disclosure is to propose solutions or schemes that address the aforementioned issues pertaining to PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetitions for latency reduction and UCI transmission enhancement with respect to user equipment and network apparatus in mobile communications.)
a memory; (Fig. 3 Memory 324 & ¶0052 network apparatus 320 may further include a memory 324)
and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: (Fig. 3 Processor 322 & ¶0052 network apparatus 320 may further include a memory 324 coupled to processor 322 and capable of being accessed by processor 322 and storing data therein.)
transmit a configuration message indicating to switch carriers for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); (¶0044 In some implementations, the PUCCH carrier switching time is defined. The UE may report the supported PUCCH carrier switching times to the cells with the cell group. The base station may configure the UE (e.g., via RRC signaling) with PUCCH carrier switching time. [i.e. configuration message indicating to switch carriers for PUCCH])
Yet, Salah does not teach: and monitor for one or more repetitions of a PUCCH signal on a second carrier rather than a first carrier based on a final repetition, of the one or more repetitions, on the second carrier being scheduled earlier in time than a final repetition on the first carrier.
However, in the analogous art, Li teaches such a limitation:
and monitor for one or more repetitions of a PUCCH signal on a second carrier rather than a first carrier based on a final repetition, of the one or more repetitions, on the second carrier being scheduled earlier in time than a final repetition on the first carrier. (¶0123 the terminal can determine the carrier with the earliest end position in the time unit carrying the terminals candidate Nth PUCCH transmission among multiple carriers indicated by the network device as the carrier for N repeated PUCCH transmission, so that the terminal can complete the N repeated PUCCH transmissions as soon as possible and reduce the delay of PUCCH transmission. [i.e. repetitions are retransmitted and therefore monitored on the carrier (second carrier) with the earliest end position of a candidate Nth PUCCH (second carrier chosen based on a final repetition being scheduled earlier in time) among multiple carriers, wherein the other possible carrier(s) not chosen comprise the first carrier)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Li’s teaching of switching of transmitting repetitions of a PUCCH signal to a second carrier based on the final repetition being scheduled earlier in time on the corresponding second carrier, because it would allow the device to complete the number of PUCCH repetitions as soon as possible which would reduce the delay of transmissions. (see Li ¶0007-¶0008)
Re. Claim 19, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 18.
Salah further teaches:
wherein the configuration message comprises a radio resource control (RRC) message. (¶0044 In some implementations, the PUCCH carrier switching time is defined. The UE may report the supported PUCCH carrier switching times to the cells with the cell group. The base station may configure the UE (e.g., via RRC signaling) with PUCCH carrier switching time. [i.e. configuration message sent via RRC signaling])
Re. Claim 20, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 18.
Salah further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit at least one of a control element or downlink control information (DCI) that activates carrier switching on the PUCCH. (¶0028 the UE may receive downlink control information (DCI) on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuring a carrier switching indication and a PUCCH repetition indication. The UE may further receive downlink data on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). The UE may perform a PUCCH carrier switching or a PUCCH cell switching according to the carrier switching indication [i.e. the indication activates carrier switching])
Re. Claim 21, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 18.
Salah further teaches:
wherein the PUCCH signal comprises one or more hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback signals. (¶0004 Multiple HARQ-ACK feedbacks corresponding to multiple physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions may be accumulated, multiplexed and transmitted to the network apparatus at once. One PUCCH resource may be used to carry multiple HARQ-ACK feedbacks to be transmitted in the same slot.)
Claims 29 and 30 recite similar limitations to those of claims 1 and 18. Therefore, the rejections for claims 29 and 30 are similar to those put forth in claims 1 and 18.
Claims 5 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salah combined with Li, and further in view of NEC - 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #106bis-e. e-meeting, Oct 11-19th, 2021. title: UE feedback enhancements for HARQ-ACK, R2-2109131 (cited in IDS, document filed 3/17/2025), hereinafter referred to as NEC.
Re. Claim 5, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 1.
Yet, the references do not teach: wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier further based on a first repetition, of the one or more repetitions, on the second carrier being scheduled earlier in time than a first repetition on the first carrier.
However, in the analogous art, NEC teaches such a limitation:
wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier further based on a first repetition, of the one or more repetitions, on the second carrier being scheduled earlier in time than a first repetition on the first carrier. (Pg. 6 Semi-static PUCCH carrier switching for PUCCH repetition: when UE is configured with N_rep slot repetitions for PUCCH, UE will determine the earliest N_rep available slots on the Pcell having enough UL symbols for PUCCH transmission start from slot determined by HARQ-ACK timing k1. It should determine one slot for the first repetition and determine a target cell with this slot, all following repetitions are also transmitted on this cell [i.e. the PUCCH repetitions are transmitted on the carrier (target cell) with the earliest N available slots, based on determining the slot and timing for the first repetition])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah and Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include NEC’s teaching of transmitting and monitoring PUCCH repetitions on a second carrier based on the first repetition being scheduled earlier in time, because it would enable the use of earlier PUCCH resources in order to reduce HARQ-ACK feedback delay. (see NEC Pg. 5 Section 4 Lines 1-5)
Re. Claim 22, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 18.
Yet, the combined references do not teach: wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are monitored for on the second carrier further based on a first repetition, of the one or more repetitions, on the second carrier being scheduled earlier in time than a first repetition on the first carrier.
However, in the analogous art, NEC teaches such a limitation:
wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are monitored for on the second carrier further based on a first repetition, of the one or more repetitions, on the second carrier being scheduled earlier in time than a first repetition on the first carrier. (Pg. 6 Semi-static PUCCH carrier switching for PUCCH repetition: when UE is configured with N_rep slot repetitions for PUCCH, UE will determine the earliest N_rep available slots on the Pcell having enough UL symbols for PUCCH transmission start from slot determined by HARQ-ACK timing k1. It should determine one slot for the first repetition and determine a target cell with this slot, all following repetitions are also transmitted on this cell [i.e. the PUCCH repetitions are transmitted on the carrier (target cell) with the earliest N available slots, based on determining the slot and timing for the first repetition])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah and Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include NEC’s teaching of transmitting and monitoring PUCCH repetitions on a second carrier based on the first repetition being scheduled earlier in time, because it would enable the use of earlier PUCCH resources in order to reduce HARQ-ACK feedback delay. (see NEC Pg. 5 Section 4 Lines 1-5)
Claims 6, 11, 13, 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salah combined with Li, and further in view of Kittitchokechai et al. (US 2024/0244624 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kittichokechai.
Re. Claim 6, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not teach: wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier further based on a quantity of PUCCH resources on the second carrier satisfying a threshold.
However, in the analogous art, Kittichokechai teaches such a limitation:
wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier further based on a quantity of PUCCH resources on the second carrier satisfying a threshold. (¶0132 If a PUCCH is signaled to be transmitted in a switching-supported slot on the reference cell, but the PUCCH transmission is not possible due to insufficient uplink symbol for the PUCCH, then the PUCCH transmission is switched to the next cell on the sequence of cell indices which does provide sufficient number of uplink symbols for the PUCCH in the same. The switching to next cell can be via cyclically testing the next cell on the list until a cell capable of supporting the PUCCH is found. [i.e. switches to next cell (second carrier) when number of uplink symbols for PUCCH is sufficient (describes a threshold)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah and Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Kittichokechai’s teaching of transmitting one or more PUCCH repetitions on a second carrier based on a quantity of PUCCH resources satisfying a threshold, because it would allow PUCCH transmission even in scenarios where there are insufficient resources on the uplink for the PUCCH. (see Kittichokechai ¶0132)
Re. Claim 11, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not teach: wherein the one or more repetitions on the second carrier are transmitted at an earliest available slot or sub-slot on the second carrier.
However, Kittichokechai teaches such a limitation:
wherein the one or more repetitions on the second carrier are transmitted at an earliest available slot or sub-slot on the second carrier. (¶0157 an earliest valid slot in the indicated cell which corresponds to the slot in the reference cell is used for PUCCH transmission. [i.e. UE switches to cell (carrier) where the earliest valid (available) slot is used])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah and Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Kittichokechai’s teaching of transmitting the repetitions on the second carrier at an earliest available slot, because it would get rid of the ambiguity on which slot in the indicated PUCCH carrier to use for PUCCH transmission. (see Kittichokechai ¶0156)
Re. Claim 13, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not teach: wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier further based on a repetition that satisfies a time threshold associated with a first repetition, of the one or more repetitions, on the second carrier being scheduled earlier in time than a corresponding repetition on the first carrier.
However, in the analogous art, Kittichokechai teaches such a limitation:
wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier further based on a repetition that satisfies a time threshold associated with a first repetition, of the one or more repetitions, on the second carrier being scheduled earlier in time than a corresponding repetition on the first carrier. (¶0132 If a PUCCH is signaled to be transmitted in a switching-supported slot on the reference cell, but the PUCCH transmission is not possible due to insufficient uplink symbol for the PUCCH, then the PUCCH transmission is switched to the next cell on the sequence of cell indices which does provide sufficient number of uplink symbols for the PUCCH in the same. The switching to next cell can be via cyclically testing the next cell on the list until a cell capable of supporting the PUCCH is found. [i.e. switches to next cell (second carrier) when number of uplink symbols for PUCCH is sufficient (describes a threshold)] & ¶0147 instead of using pair (‘cell_index’, ‘slot_offset’) to indicate PUCCH cell switching, we use only K1… if there are multiple scells with PUCCH availability, UE chooses the cell whose UL symbols available for PUCCH come earlier. & ¶0157 an earliest valid slot in the indicated cell which corresponds to the slot in the reference cell is used for PUCCH transmission. [i.e. the UE switches to the cell (carrier) with the earliest PUCCH slots available, wherein the language of “earlier” reads on a time threshold and “UL symbols available for PUCCH” reads on the repetitions that are associated with each of the carriers being compared)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah and Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Kittichokechai’s teaching of transmitting one or more PUCCH repetitions on a second carrier based on a quantity of PUCCH resources based on a threshold, because it would allow PUCCH transmission even in scenarios where there are insufficient resources on the uplink for the PUCCH. (see Kittichokechai ¶0132)
Re. Claim 23, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 18.
Yet, the combined references do not teach: wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are monitored for on the second carrier further based on a quantity of PUCCH resources on the second carrier satisfying a threshold.
However, in the analogous art, Kittichokechai teaches such a limitation:
wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are monitored for on the second carrier further based on a quantity of PUCCH resources on the second carrier satisfying a threshold. (¶0132 If a PUCCH is signaled to be transmitted in a switching-supported slot on the reference cell, but the PUCCH transmission is not possible due to insufficient uplink symbol for the PUCCH, then the PUCCH transmission is switched to the next cell on the sequence of cell indices which does provide sufficient number of uplink symbols for the PUCCH in the same. The switching to next cell can be via cyclically testing the next cell on the list until a cell capable of supporting the PUCCH is found. [i.e. switches to next cell (second carrier) when number of uplink symbols for PUCCH is sufficient (describes a threshold)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah and Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Kittichokechai’s teaching of transmitting one or more PUCCH repetitions on a second carrier based on a quantity of PUCCH resources satisfying a threshold, because it would allow PUCCH transmission even in scenarios where there are insufficient resources on the uplink for the PUCCH. (see Kittichokechai ¶0132)
Re. Claim 28, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 18
Yet, the combined references do not teach: wherein the one or more repetitions on the second carrier are monitored for at an earliest available slot or sub-slot on the second carrier.
However, in the analogous art, Kittichokechai teaches such a limitation:
wherein the one or more repetitions on the second carrier are monitored for at an earliest available slot or sub-slot on the second carrier. (¶0157 an earliest valid slot in the indicated cell which corresponds to the slot in the reference cell is used for PUCCH transmission. [i.e. UE switches to cell (carrier) where the earliest valid (available) slot is used])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah and Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Kittichokechai’s teaching of transmitting the repetitions on the second carrier at an earliest available slot, because it would get rid of the ambiguity on which slot in the indicated PUCCH carrier to use for PUCCH transmission. (see Kittichokechai ¶0156)
Claims 8-9 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salah combined with Li, and further in view of Papasakellariou et al. (US 2022/0295392 A1), hereinafter referred to as Papasakellariou.
Re. Claim 8, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not expressly disclose: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a quantity of the one or more repetitions on the second carrier based on a quantity of repetitions on the first carrier, a subcarrier spacing (SCS) associated with the second carrier, and an SCS associated with the first carrier.
However, in the analogous art, Papasakellariou teaches the following limitations:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a quantity of the one or more repetitions on the second carrier based on a quantity of repetitions on the first carrier, a subcarrier spacing (SCS) associated with the second carrier, and an SCS associated with the first carrier. (Fig. 11 & ¶0099 Embodiments of the present disclosure further take into consideration that there is a need to enable a first repetition of a PUCCH or PUSCH to be transmitted on a first cell/carrier and a second repetition of the PUCCH or PUSCH to be transmitted on a second cell/carrier. & ¶0100 Additionally, embodiments of the present disclosure take into consideration that there is a need to determine a counting for a number of repetitions of a PUCCH transmission [i.e. determine quantity of one or more repetitions] when the repetitions can be transmitted on cells using different SCS configurations. [i.e. SCS of first and second carrier associated with determination of number of repetitions] & ¶0112 If an SCell can have a different SCS configuration than the primary cell then, for a PUCCH resource with N.sub.PCell.sup.PUCCH symbols on the primary cell (PCell) with SCS configuration μ.sub.PCell, a number of symbols for the PUCCH resource on the SCell with SCS configuration μ.sub.SCell is described in Equation (1), [i.e. number of repetitions determined based on SCS of first and second carrier] & ¶0155 the UE determines a PUCCH resource on a first cell, such as the primary cell, based on an indication by a DCI format or based on a configuration by higher layers and determines a PUCCH resource on a second cell, such as an SCell, to be a first PUCCH resource, & ¶0165 In step 1110, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided by higher layers a set of cells, such as two cells, for repetitions of a PUCCH transmission and a bitmap providing a mapping for a number of slots to cells from the set of cells, wherein the mapping repeats with a period equal to the number of slots on the primary cell. [i.e. bitmap provides a mapping for number of slots on possible second cell based on number of slots on primary cell] In step 1120, the UE determines a number of repetitions for a PUCCH transmission, for example based on an indication by a DCI format associated with the PUCCH transmission or based on parameters provided by higher layers that configure the PUCCH transmission. Based on the bitmap, the UE in step 1130 determines a cell to transmit a repetition of the PUCCH in a slot [i.e. bitmap provides equal number of slots for repetition on second cell (carrier) based on the number of slots for repetition on the primary cell, therefore determining the quantity of repetitions on a second cell is based on the quantity of repetitions mapped on the first cell, as it would be determined to be equal to the number of slots as would be on the primary cell)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah and Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Papasakellariou’s teaching of using the first carrier repetition quantity along with the subcarrier spacing associated with the first and second carrier to determine a quantity of the repetitions for the second carrier, because it would allow for determination of PUCCH resources for repetition configuration. (see Papasakellariou ¶0097-¶0100)
Re. Claim 9, Salah combined with Li and Papasakellariou teaches claim 8.
Li further teaches:
wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier further based on the quantity of the one or more repetitions on the second carrier being fewer than the quantity of repetitions on the first carrier. (¶0098 It can be understood that although the number of repetitions of PUCCH on each of the multiple carriers is the same in the above description of Case 1, in a specific application, the number of repetitions of PUCCH on each of the multiple carriers may be different, [i.e. configuration of different quantity of repetitions for each carrier] or That is to say, among multiple carriers, the value of N corresponding to each carrier is different. In this case, the terminal may determine, among the multiple carriers, the carrier that completes the repeated transmission of all PUCCHs on the corresponding carrier at the earliest as the first carrier. [i.e. repetitions of PUCCH signal transmitted on first carrier (second carrier in this case), rather than a first carrier (an of multiple possible carriers)] & ¶0099 Exemplarily, taking the schematic diagram of the time units on carrier 1, carrier 2 and carrier 3 shown in FIG. 4A as an example, if the number of repetitions of PUCCH on carrier 1 is 4, the number of repetitions of PUCCH on carrier 2 is 3, and the number of repetitions of PUCCH on carrier 3 is 2. [i.e. quantity of repetitions on second carrier smaller than on first carrier] If the number of times is 2, the time unit of the candidate fourth PUCCH transmission on carrier 1 is time unit 9, the time unit of the candidate third PUCCH transmission on carrier 2 is time unit 8, and the candidate second PUCCH transmission on carrier 3 is time unit 6. Carrier 3 is among carrier 1, carrier 2, and carrier 3, and is the earliest carrier to complete the repeated transmission of all PUCCHs. Therefore, the first carrier is carrier 3.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah and Papasakellariou’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Li’s teaching of transmitting on second carrier due to there being fewer repetitions, because it would lower the latency of the communication. (see Li ¶0007-¶0011 & ¶0098-¶0099)
Re. Claim 25, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 18.
Yet, the combined references do not to expressly disclose: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a quantity of the one or more repetitions on the second carrier based on a quantity of repetitions on the first carrier, a subcarrier spacing (SCS) associated with the second carrier, and an SCS associated with the first carrier.
However, in the analogous art, Papasakellariou explicitly teaches the following limitation:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a quantity of the one or more repetitions on the second carrier based on a quantity of repetitions on the first carrier, a subcarrier spacing (SCS) associated with the second carrier, and an SCS associated with the first carrier. (¶0099 Embodiments of the present disclosure further take into consideration that there is a need to enable a first repetition of a PUCCH or PUSCH to be transmitted on a first cell/carrier and a second repetition of the PUCCH or PUSCH to be transmitted on a second cell/carrier. & ¶0100 Additionally, embodiments of the present disclosure take into consideration that there is a need to determine a counting for a number of repetitions of a PUCCH transmission [i.e. determine quantity of one or more repetitions] when the repetitions can be transmitted on cells using different SCS configurations. [i.e. SCS of first and second carrier associated with determination of number of repetitions] & ¶0112 If an SCell can have a different SCS configuration than the primary cell then, for a PUCCH resource with N.sub.PCell.sup.PUCCH symbols on the primary cell (PCel)l with SCS configuration μ.sub.PCell, a number of symbols for the PUCCH resource on the SCell with SCS configuration μ.sub.SCell is described in Equation (1), [i.e. number of repetitions determined based on SCS of first and second carrier] ¶0155 the UE determines a PUCCH resource on a first cell, such as the primary cell, based on an indication by a DCI format or based on a configuration by higher layers and determines a PUCCH resource on a second cell, such as an SCell, to be a first PUCCH resource, & ¶0165 In step 1110, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided by higher layers a set of cells, such as two cells, for repetitions of a PUCCH transmission and a bitmap providing a mapping for a number of slots to cells from the set of cells, wherein the mapping repeats with a period equal to the number of slots on the primary cell. [i.e. bitmap provides a mapping for number of slots on possible second cell based on number of slots on primary cell] In step 1120, the UE determines a number of repetitions for a PUCCH transmission, for example based on an indication by a DCI format associated with the PUCCH transmission or based on parameters provided by higher layers that configure the PUCCH transmission. Based on the bitmap, the UE in step 1130 determines a cell to transmit a repetition of the PUCCH in a slot [i.e. bitmap provides equal number of slots for repetition on second cell (carrier) based on the number of slots for repetition on the primary cell, therefore determining the quantity of repetitions on a second cell is based on the quantity of repetitions mapped on the first cell, as it would be determined to be equal to the number of slots as would be on the primary cell))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah and Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Papasakellariou’s teaching of using the first carrier repetition quantity along with the subcarrier spacing associated with the first and second carrier to determine a quantity of the repetitions for the second carrier, because it would allow for determination of PUCCH resources for repetition configuration. (see Papasakellariou ¶0097-¶0100)
Re. Claim 26, Salah combined with Li and Papasakellariou teaches claim 25.
Li further teaches:
wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are monitored for on the second carrier further based on the quantity of the one or more repetitions on the second carrier being fewer than the quantity of repetitions on the first carrier. (¶0098 It can be understood that although the number of repetitions of PUCCH on each of the multiple carriers is the same in the above description of Case 1, in a specific application, the number of repetitions of PUCCH on each of the multiple carriers may be different, [i.e. configuration of different quantity of repetitions for each carrier] or That is to say, among multiple carriers, the value of N corresponding to each carrier is different. In this case, the terminal may determine, among the multiple carriers, the carrier that completes the repeated transmission of all PUCCHs on the corresponding carrier at the earliest as the first carrier. [i.e. repetitions of PUCCH signal transmitted on first carrier (second carrier in this case), rather than a first carrier (an of multiple possible carriers)] & ¶0099 Exemplarily, taking the schematic diagram of the time units on carrier 1, carrier 2 and carrier 3 shown in FIG. 4A as an example, if the number of repetitions of PUCCH on carrier 1 is 4, the number of repetitions of PUCCH on carrier 2 is 3, and the number of repetitions of PUCCH on carrier 3 is 2. [i.e. quantity of repetitions on second carrier smaller than on first carrier] If the number of times is 2, the time unit of the candidate fourth PUCCH transmission on carrier 1 is time unit 9, the time unit of the candidate third PUCCH transmission on carrier 2 is time unit 8, and the candidate second PUCCH transmission on carrier 3 is time unit 6. Carrier 3 is among carrier 1, carrier 2, and carrier 3, and is the earliest carrier to complete the repeated transmission of all PUCCHs. Therefore, the first carrier is carrier 3.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah and Papasakellariou’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Li’s teaching of transmitting on second carrier due to there being fewer repetitions, because it would lower the latency of the communication. (see Li ¶0007-¶0011 & ¶0098-¶0099)
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salah combined with Li, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2020/0015222 A1), hereinafter referred to as Huang.
Re. Claim 14, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not expressly disclose: wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier further based on a repetition type associated with the first carrier matching a repetition type associated with the second carrier.
However, in the analogous art, Huang explicitly discloses the following limitation:
wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier (¶0029 if the earliest uplink slot is on CC2 which corresponds to PUCCH-sSCell, the base station may dynamically configure/indicate the PUCCH carrier switching. Therefore, the UE may perform the PUCCH carrier switching or the PUCCH cell switching by switching from the PCell to the PUCCH-sSCell according to the carrier switching indication.)
further based on a repetition type associated with the first carrier matching a repetition type associated with the second carrier. (¶0343 The wireless device may multiplex the UCI in the transport block transmitted in the first/starting/earliest uplink signal/channel transmission occasion, for example, based on the one or more configuration parameters indicating a second repetition type (e.g., pusch-RepTypeB, PUSCH repetition Type B). The wireless device may transmit the transport block (or the PUSCH transmission) with the second repetition type. & ¶0345 The wireless device may multiplex the UCI in the PUSCH transmission in a second/second starting/second earliest uplink signal/channel transmission occasion of the one or more uplink signal/channel transmission occasions. The second/second starting/second earliest uplink signal/channel transmission occasion may be associated with the second spatial domain transmission filter that is different from the first spatial domain transmission filter used in the first/starting/earliest uplink signal/channel transmission occasion. [i.e. one or more repetitions transmitted on a second spatial domain transmission filter (carrier) where the repetition types are indicated by the configuration parameters indicating the repetition type as the same for each carrier])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah and Li’s invention of method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Huang’s teaching of transmitting on second carrier based repetition types of both carriers being associated, because it would allow lower latency and higher reliability. (see Huang ¶0024-¶0025 & ¶0070)
Re. Claim 15, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 1.
Salah further teaches:
wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier (¶0029 if the earliest uplink slot is on CC2 which corresponds to PUCCH-sSCell, the base station may dynamically configure/indicate the PUCCH carrier switching. Therefore, the UE may perform the PUCCH carrier switching or the PUCCH cell switching by switching from the PCell to the PUCCH-sSCell according to the carrier switching indication.)
Yet, the combined references do not expressly disclose: further based on the first carrier being associated with repetition type A and the second carrier being associated with repetition type B.
However, in the analogous art, Huang explicitly discloses the following limitations:
further based on the first carrier being associated with repetition type A and the second carrier being associated with repetition type B. (¶0070 In some aspects, UE 120 may use different PUCCH formats to encode the plurality of repetitions. For example, UE 120 may transmit the first repetition as a first type of PUCCH (e.g., a short PUCCH or a PUCCH format type 0) [i.e. a first repetition type] to reduce latency relative to other types of PUCCH formats, and may transmit the second repetition as a second type of PUCCH (e.g., a long PUCCH or a PUCCH format type 1) [i.e. a second repetition type] to increase reliability relative to other types of PUCCH formats, thereby satisfying requirements associated with URLLC service relating to latency and/or reliability. [i.e. the use and definition of multiple repetition types implies the ability to use these repetition types, when combined with the other disclosed prior art, on multiple carriers/cells in combinations such as either both carriers being configured with the same type of repetition, or both carriers each being configured with different repetition types])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah and Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Huang’s teaching of transmitting on second carrier based on the repetitions of both carriers being associated with a different repetition type, because it would allow lower latency and higher reliability. (see Huang ¶0024-¶0025 & ¶0070)
Re. Claim 16, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 1.
Salah further teaches:
wherein the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier (¶0029 if the earliest uplink slot is on CC2 which corresponds to PUCCH-sSCell, the base station may dynamically configure/indicate the PUCCH carrier switching. Therefore, the UE may perform the PUCCH carrier switching or the PUCCH cell switching by switching from the PCell to the PUCCH-sSCell according to the carrier switching indication when transmitting UCI corresponding to the downlink data.)
Yet, the combined references do not expressly disclose: further based on the first carrier being associated with repetition type A per sub-slot and the second carrier being associated with repetition type A per slot.
However, in the analogous art, Huang explicitly discloses the following limitation:
further based on the first carrier being associated with repetition type A per sub-slot and the second carrier being associated with repetition type A per slot. (¶0070 In some aspects, UE 120 may use different PUCCH formats to encode the plurality of repetitions. For example, UE 120 may transmit the first repetition as a first type of PUCCH (e.g., a short PUCCH or a PUCCH format type 0) [i.e. a first repetition type] to reduce latency relative to other types of PUCCH formats, and may transmit the second repetition as a second type of PUCCH (e.g., a long PUCCH or a PUCCH format type 1) [i.e. a second repetition type] to increase reliability relative to other types of PUCCH formats, thereby satisfying requirements associated with URLLC service relating to latency and/or reliability.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah and Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Huang’s teaching of transmitting on second carrier based on the first carrier having a different repetition type configuration per sub-slot than the repetition type configuration per slot for the second carrier, because it would allow lower latency and higher reliability. (see Huang ¶0024-¶0025 & ¶0070)
Re. Claim 17, Salah combined with Li teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not expressly disclose: wherein a first portion of the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier using repetition type A and a second portion of the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier using repetition type B.
However, in the analogous art, Huang explicitly discloses the following limitation:
wherein a first portion of the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier using repetition type A and a second portion of the one or more repetitions of the PUCCH signal are transmitted on the second carrier using repetition type B. (¶0070 In some aspects, UE 120 may use different PUCCH formats to encode the plurality of repetitions. For example, UE 120 may transmit the first repetition [i.e. a first portion of repetitions] as a first type of PUCCH (e.g., a short PUCCH or a PUCCH format type 0) [i.e. a first repetition type] to reduce latency relative to other types of PUCCH formats, and may transmit the second repetition [i.e. a second portion of repetitions] as a second type of PUCCH (e.g., a long PUCCH or a PUCCH format type 1) [i.e. a second repetition type] to increase reliability relative to other types of PUCCH formats, thereby satisfying requirements associated with URLLC service relating to latency and/or reliability. [i.e. the use and definition of multiple repetition types implies the ability to use these repetition types, when combined with the other disclosed prior art, on multiple carriers/cells in scenarios where carrier switching happens after the first repetition and before the end of the subsequent number of configured repetitions in a way that both repetition types are used on each carrier for a portion of the number of total repetitions)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Salah and Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for PUCCH carrier switching and PUCCH repetition to include Huang’s teaching of transmitting portions of the total quantity of repetitions on both the first and second carrier using different repetition types on each carrier, because it would allow lower latency and higher reliability. (see Huang ¶0024-¶0025 & ¶0070)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10, 24, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417