DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communications filed 7-24-26.
Claims 1-6, 23-31, 40, 61, 85, 86, 129 and 150 are pending in the instant application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Withdrawn Rejections
Any rejections not repeated in this Office action are hereby withdrawn.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 23-31, 40, 61, 85, 86, 129 and 150 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Cafferty et al (WO 2021/108647) in view of Daugharthy et al (US 2021/0381049).
The claims are drawn to methods of synthesizing a guide RNA (gRNA) comprising providing a first RNA fragment comprising a terminal region comprising a first terminal region comprising a 5' phosphate moiety and a second terminal region comprising a 3' hydroxyl moiety, and a second RNA fragment comprising a terminal region comprising a 5' phosphate moiety, wherein the first RNA fragment, the second RNA fragment, or both comprise a sequence capable of binding to an RNA-guided endonuclease, providing a first splint DNA oligonucleotide comprising a first portion complementary to the first RNA fragment at the second terminal region comprising the 3' hydroxyl moiety and a second portion complementary to the second RNA fragment at the terminal region comprising the 5' phosphate moiety; hybridizing the first RNA fragment, the second RNA fragment, and the first splint DNA oligonucleotide together to form a first complex; contacting the first and second RNA fragments with a ligase to form a gRNA at a ligation site present between the first and second RNA fragments in the first complex to form a first portion of a gRNA; digesting the first splint DNA oligonucleotide with DNAse, providing a third RNA fragment comprising a terminal region comprising a 3' hydroxyl moiety and a second splint DNA oligonucleotide comprising a first portion complementary to the third RNA fragment at the terminal region comprising the 3' hydroxyl moiety and a second portion complementary to the first RNA fragment at the first terminal region comprising the 5' phosphate moiety; hybridizing the first portion of the gRNA, the third RNA fragment, and the second splint DNA oligonucleotide together to form a second complex; contacting the first and third RNA fragments with the ligase at a ligation site present between the first and third RNA fragments in the second complex to form the gRNA; and digesting the second splint DNA oligonucleotide with DNAse to obtain the gRNA.
Cafferty et al (WO 2021/108647) teach methods of synthesizing a guide RNA (gRNA) comprising providing a first RNA fragment comprising a terminal region comprising a first terminal region comprising a 5' phosphate moiety and a second terminal region comprising a 3' hydroxyl moiety, and a second RNA fragment comprising a terminal region comprising a 5' phosphate moiety, wherein the first RNA fragment, the second RNA fragment, or both comprise a sequence capable of binding to an RNA-guided endonuclease, providing a first splint DNA oligonucleotide comprising a first portion complementary to the first RNA fragment at the second terminal region comprising the 5' phosphate 3' hydroxyl moiety and a second portion complementary to the second RNA fragment at the terminal region comprising the 5' phosphate moiety; hybridizing the first RNA fragment, the second RNA fragment, and the first splint DNA oligonucleotide together to form a first complex; contacting the first and second RNA fragments with a ligase to form a gRNA at a ligation site present between the first and second RNA fragments in the first complex to form a second complex a first portion of a gRNA; purifying the gRNA, providing a third RNA fragment comprising a terminal region comprising a 3' hydroxyl moiety and a second splint DNA oligonucleotide comprising a first portion complementary to the third RNA fragment at the terminal region comprising the 3' hydroxyl moiety and a second portion complementary to the first RNA fragment at the first terminal region comprising the 5' phosphate moiety; hybridizing the first portion of the gRNA, the third RNA fragment, and the second splint DNA oligonucleotide together to form a second complex; contacting the first and third RNA fragments with the ligase at a ligation site present between the first and third RNA fragments in the second complex to form the gRNA; and removing the second splint DNA oligonucleotide to obtain the gRNA (see entire document, esp. Fig. 1, Summary on pages 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, 15, 16, 25, 26, claims 1-108).
Cafferty et al (WO 2021/108647) does not teach the treatment of the splint oligonucleotides with DNAse.
Daugharthy et al (US 2021/0381049) teach the treatment of RNA with DNAse to remove DNA and purify the RNA molecules (see esp. para 0025, 0026).
It would have been obvious to synthesize RNA using the fragments and splints
instantly claimed because the prior art had taught all of the synthetic steps and
components for making medium sized RNA, as illustrated in the teachings of Application No. 17/776, 822. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the modifications instantly claimed to enhance target binding and stability of RNA fragments. One of skill in the art would have also been motivated to remove the DNA splints after ligation of the RNA fragments in order to obtain purified, synthesized RNA. Obvious ways to remove the splints and taught in the prior art include using gel isolation, attaching the RNA to a solid surface, or degrading the DNA splints using
DNAse, which DNAse treatment of RNA was routinely disclosed in the prior art, as
illustrated in the teachings of Daugharthy.
For these and the aforementioned reasons, the instant invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 23-31, 40, 61, 85, 86, 129 and 150 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 6, 13, 16, 24, 25, 29-31, 40, 43, 50, 76, 77, 95 of copending Application No. 17/776, 822 (reference application) in view of Daugharthy et al (US 2021/0381049). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to methods of synthesizing a guide RNA (gRNA) comprising providing a first RNA fragment comprising a terminal region comprising a first terminal region comprising a 5' phosphate moiety and a second terminal region comprising a 3' hydroxyl moiety, and a second RNA fragment comprising a terminal region comprising a 5' phosphate moiety, wherein the first RNA fragment, the second RNA fragment, or both comprise a sequence capable of binding to an RNA-guided endonuclease, providing a first splint DNA oligonucleotide comprising a first portion complementary to the first RNA fragment at the second terminal region comprising the 5' phosphate 3' hydroxyl moiety and a second portion complementary to the second RNA fragment at the terminal region comprising the 5' phosphate moiety; hybridizing the first RNA fragment, the second RNA fragment, and the first splint DNA oligonucleotide together to form a first complex; contacting the first and second RNA fragments with a ligase to form a gRNA at a ligation site present between the first and second RNA fragments in the first complex to form a second complex a first portion of a gRNA; purifying the gRNA, providing a third RNA fragment comprising a terminal region comprising a 3' hydroxyl moiety and a second splint DNA oligonucleotide comprising a first portion complementary to the third RNA fragment at the terminal region comprising the 3' hydroxyl moiety and a second portion complementary to the first RNA fragment at the first terminal region comprising the 5' phosphate moiety; hybridizing the first portion of the gRNA, the third RNA fragment, and the second splint DNA oligonucleotide together to form a second complex; contacting the first and third RNA fragments with the ligase at a ligation site present between the first and third RNA fragments in the second complex to form the gRNA; and removing the second splint DNA oligonucleotide to obtain the gRNA.
Application No. 17/776, 822 does not teach purification of the gRNA using DNAse.
Daugharthy et al (US 2021/0381049) teach the treatment of RNA with DNAse to
remove DNA and purify the RNA molecules (see esp .para 0025, 0026).
It would have been obvious to synthesize RNA using the fragments and splints
instantly claimed because the prior art had taught all of the synthetic steps and
components for making medium sized RNA, as illustrated in the teachings of Application No. 17/776, 822. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the modifications instantly claimed to enhance target binding and stability of RNA fragments. One of skill in the art would have also been motivated to remove the DNA splints after ligation of the RNA fragments in order to obtain purified, synthesized RNA. Obvious ways to remove the splints and taught in the prior art include using gel isolation, attaching the RNA to a solid surface, or degrading the DNA splints using
DNAse, which DNAse treatment of RNA was routinely disclosed in the prior art, as
illustrated in the teachings of Daugharthy. For these and the aforementioned reasons, the instant invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Certain papers related to this application may be submitted to Art Unit 1637 by facsimile transmission. The faxing of such papers must conform with the notices published in the Official Gazette, 1156 OG 61 (November 16, 1993) and 1157 OG 94 (December 28, 1993) (see 37 C.F.R. ' 1.6(d)). The official fax telephone number for the Group is 571-273-8300. NOTE: If Applicant does submit a paper by fax, the original signed copy should be retained by applicant or applicant's representative. NO DUPLICATE COPIES SHOULD BE SUBMITTED so as to avoid the processing of duplicate papers in the Office.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jane Zara whose telephone number is (571) 272-0765. The examiner’s office hours are generally Monday-Friday, 10:30am - 7pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jennifer Dunston, can be reached on (571)-272-2916. Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the Group receptionist whose telephone number is (703) 308-0196.
Jane Zara
10-22-26
/JANE J ZARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637