DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 6, 8 – 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bala et al. US20200396698A1 (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D1 in PCT search report), hereinafter Bala in view of Zhou et al. US 20230284279 A1, (Zhou: para. [0001] continuation of International Appln. No. PCT/US2021/032435, filed May 14, 2021), hereinafter Zhou and further in view of Liu et al. US 20220030607 A1, hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 1, Bala teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
(Bala: Summary, para. [0020] communications system 100 may include wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs), e.g., WTRUs, 102 a and Fig. 1b includes processor 118, and para. [0177] a computer program, software, and/or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer and/or processor)
randomly selecting a parameter value associated with a power level
(Bala: para. [0167 - 0173] WTRU may determine and/or adjust a transmit power (e.g., for a UL transmission or channel) based on one or more parameters. The one or more parameters may include a path loss (e.g., between a receiver such as a base station and the WTRU) and/or a power offset (corresponds to claim limitation “parameter value”). The WTRU may select the power offset randomly. Para. [0087] WTRU may allocate varying levels of power to two or more data streams)
of the multiple power target levels
(Bala: Para. [0169 - 0174 & 0003 & 0087] WTRU may select a random offset within a range that may be configured, for example, by a central controller (e.g., a base station). The range may be, for example, −3 to +3, and may be specified in various units such as dB – corresponds to claimed “multiple power target levels”); and
transmitting, to a network entity and using the power level, an uplink communication.
(Bala: para. [0173 & 0167 - 0173] A WTRU may transmit and/or indicate (e.g., to a network component such as a base station) the power offset value that the WTRU has selected (e.g., randomly) and/or applied. The WTRU may, for example, transmit the value of a selected power offset in an uplink control channel. The WTRU may indicate (e.g., implicitly indicate) the value of a selected power offset, for example, by one or more reference signals transmitted by the WTRU)
Zhou from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: receiving mapping data
(Zhou: para. [0191-0193] configuration message 1310 may be transmitted, for example, using one or more RRC messages. The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE)
that maps physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles to the multiple power target levels;
(Zhou: para. [0192] The one or more RACH parameters may indicate an association between (a) one or more preambles and (b) one or more reference signals. Para. [0193] The one or more RACH parameters provided in the configuration message 1310 may be used to determine an uplink transmit power of Msg 1 1311 and/or Msg 3 1313. For example, the one or more RACH parameters may indicate a reference power for a preamble transmission (e.g., a received target power and/or an initial power of the preamble transmission). There may be one or more power offsets indicated by the one or more RACH parameters (These one or more RACH parameters (corresponds to one or more preambles) are associated (or mapped) with one or more power offsets for uplink transmit power of msg1 or msg 3. - which corresponds to the claim limitation “maps physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles to the multiple power target levels”). For example, the one or more RACH parameters may indicate: a power ramping step; a power offset between SSB and CSI-RS; a power offset between transmissions of the Msg 1 1311 and the Msg 3 1313; and/or a power offset value between preamble groups)
wherein the parameter value is a PRACH preamble, (Zhou: para. [0192 & 0191-0193] The one or more RACH parameters may indicate an association between (a) one or more preambles and (b) one or more reference signals). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhou in the method of Bala. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for providing RRC connection establishment/connectivity mechanism, energy conservation, and reduction of signaling overhead (Zhou: para. [0123-0124 & 0189]), in which the network (e.g., a gNB and/or an ng-eNB of a network) and/or the UE may initiate a random access procedure (Zhou: para. [0189]). By incorporating one or more RACH parameters may indicate an association between (a) one or more preambles (Zhou: para. [0192]), and its respective one or more power offsets indicated by the one or more RACH parameters. The one or more RACH parameters may be used to determine an uplink transmit power of Msg 1 1311 and/or Msg 3 1313 (Zhou: para. [0193]), and as a result, provides RRC connection establishment/connectivity mechanism, energy conservation, and reduction of signaling overhead (Zhou: para. [0123-0124 & 0189]).
Bala and Zhou do not explicitly teach: wherein randomly selecting the parameter value comprising randomly selecting the PRACH preamble from a set of multiple PRACH preambles.
Liu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein randomly selecting the parameter value comprising randomly selecting the PRACH preamble from a set of multiple PRACH preambles.
(Liu: para. [0261 & 0267-0269 & 0336] terminal apparatus 1 may perform a contention based random access procedure in which one preamble is randomly selected out from a set of preambles that can be used by the terminal apparatus 1 and then transmitted. Para. [0344] MAC entity selects the value of DELTA_PREAMBLE and sets the state variable PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER to a predetermined value). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Liu in the method of Bala and Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for perform communication efficiently (Liu: para. [0012 & 0414]), and enable random access configuration (Liu: para. [0307-0328]), particularly for uplink power control/configuration (Liu: para. [0342-0346]).
Regarding claim 2, Bala, Zhou and Liu teach the method of claim 1, wherein the uplink communication includes a grant-free uplink communication.
(Bala: para. [0161] A WTRU may be configured to apply autonomous power control, e.g., for grant-less transmissions. Grant-less transmissions may refer to transmissions by a WTRU without a grant from a central controller such as a base station. Para. [0003] uplink transmission may be a grant-free transmission (e.g., the WTRU may perform the transmission without a grant from the network))
Regarding claim 3, Bala, Zhou and Liu teach the method of claim 1, wherein the parameter value is the power level selected from the multiple power target levels.
(Bala: para. [0167 - 0174] WTRU may determine and/or adjust a transmit power (e.g., for a UL transmission or channel) based on one or more parameters. The one or more parameters may include a path loss (e.g., between a receiver such as a base station and the WTRU) and/or a power offset. The WTRU may select the power offset randomly. Para. [0087] WTRU may allocate varying levels of power to two or more data streams)
Regarding claim 4, Bala, Zhou and Liu teach the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, from the network entity, a configuration that includes or indicates the multiple power target levels. (Bala: para. [0003] A WTRU may receive a configuration from a network that indicates a set of power offsets to be applied by the WTRU in its uplink operation. The set of power offsets may include a value range. The WTRU may randomly select a power offset, e.g., from the value range to use with an uplink transmission. Para. [0169] A WTRU may select a random offset within a range that may be configured, for example, by a central controller (e.g., a base station). The range may be, for example, −3 to +3, and may be specified in various units such as dB. Different ranges may be provided for different WTRUs. A WTRU may choose a random offset that may not violate a maximum transmit power constraint of the WTRU)
Regarding claim 5, Bala, Zhou and Liu teach the method of claim 4, Bala does not explicitly teaches: further comprising receiving, from the network entity, a system information block (SIB) or a radio resource control (RRC) that includes the configuration.
Zhou from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: further comprising receiving, from the network entity, a system information block (SIB) (Zhou: para. [0162 & 0098-0103] UE may use one or more parameters of the MIB to monitor PDCCH, which may be used to schedule PDSCH. The PDSCH may include the SIB1) or a radio resource control (RRC) that includes the configuration. (Zhou: para. [0191] and Fig. 13 configuration message 1310 may be transmitted, for example, using one or more RRC messages. The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE. Para. [0193] one or more RACH parameters provided in the configuration message 1310 may be used to determine an uplink transmit power of Msg 1 1311 and/or Msg 3 1313). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhou in the method of Bala. one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for providing RRC connection establishment/connectivity mechanism, energy conservation, and reduction of signaling overhead (Zhou: para. [0123-0124 & 0189]), in which the network (e.g., a gNB and/or an ng-eNB of a network) and/or the UE may initiate a random access procedure (Zhou: para. [0189]). By incorporating one or more RACH parameters may indicate an association between (a) one or more preambles (Zhou: para. [0192]), and its respective one or more power offsets indicated by the one or more RACH parameters. The one or more RACH parameters may be used to determine an uplink transmit power of Msg 1 1311 and/or Msg 3 1313 (Zhou: para. [0193]), and as a result, provides RRC connection establishment/connectivity mechanism, energy conservation, and reduction of signaling overhead (Zhou: para. [0123-0124 & 0189]).
Regarding claim 6, Bala, Zhou and Liu teach the method of claim 1, Bala does not explicitly teaches: wherein the uplink communication includes a first message (Msg-A) of a 2-step random access channel (RACH).
Zhou from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the uplink communication includes a first message (Msg-A) of a 2-step random access channel (RACH) (Zhou: para. [0202 & 0205-0209] and Fig. 13B and Fig. 13C FIG. 13B comprises transmission of two messages: a Msg 1 1321 and a Msg 2 1322. Para. [0208] UE may determine, based on two-step RACH parameters included in the configuration message 1330, a radio resource and/or an uplink transmit power for the preamble 1341 and/or the transport block 1342 included in the Msg A 1331. The RACH parameters may indicate a modulation and coding schemes (MCS), a time-frequency resource, and/or a power control for the preamble 1341 and/or the transport block 1342). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhou in the method of Bala. one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for providing RRC connection establishment/connectivity mechanism, energy conservation, and reduction of signaling overhead (Zhou: para. [0123-0124 & 0189]), in which the network (e.g., a gNB and/or an ng-eNB of a network) and/or the UE may initiate a random access procedure (Zhou: para. [0189]). By incorporating one or more RACH parameters may indicate an association between (a) one or more preambles (Zhou: para. [0192]), and its respective one or more power offsets indicated by the one or more RACH parameters. The one or more RACH parameters may be used to determine an uplink transmit power of Msg 1 1311 and/or Msg 3 1313 (Zhou: para. [0193]), and as a result, provides RRC connection establishment/connectivity mechanism, energy conservation, and reduction of signaling overhead (Zhou: para. [0123-0124 & 0189]).
Regarding claim 8, Bala, Zhou and Liu teach the method of claim 1, Bala does not explicitly teaches: further comprising: determining the power level based on the PRACH preamble and based on the mapping data.
Zhou from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: determining the power level based on the PRACH preamble and based on the mapping data
(Zhou: para. [0192] The one or more RACH parameters may indicate an association between (a) one or more preambles and (b) one or more reference signals. Para. [0193] The one or more RACH parameters provided in the configuration message 1310 may be used to determine an uplink transmit power of Msg 1 1311 and/or Msg 3 1313. For example, the one or more RACH parameters may indicate a reference power for a preamble transmission (e.g., a received target power and/or an initial power of the preamble transmission). There may be one or more power offsets indicated by the one or more RACH parameters. For example, the one or more RACH parameters may indicate: a power ramping step; a power offset between SSB and CSI-RS; a power offset between transmissions of the Msg 1 1311 and the Msg 3 1313; and/or a power offset value between preamble groups). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhou in the method of Bala. one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for providing RRC connection establishment/connectivity mechanism, energy conservation, and reduction of signaling overhead (Zhou: para. [0123-0124 & 0189]), in which the network (e.g., a gNB and/or an ng-eNB of a network) and/or the UE may initiate a random access procedure (Zhou: para. [0189]). By incorporating one or more RACH parameters may indicate an association between (a) one or more preambles (Zhou: para. [0192]), and its respective one or more power offsets indicated by the one or more RACH parameters. The one or more RACH parameters may be used to determine an uplink transmit power of Msg 1 1311 and/or Msg 3 1313 (Zhou: para. [0193]), and as a result, provides RRC connection establishment/connectivity mechanism, energy conservation, and reduction of signaling overhead (Zhou: para. [0123-0124 & 0189]).
Bala and Zhou do not explicitly teach: wherein the PRACH preamble corresponds to a PRACH sequence index value, and wherein the uplink communication includes or indicates the PRACH sequence index value.
Liu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the PRACH preamble corresponds to a PRACH sequence index value, and wherein the uplink communication includes or indicates the PRACH sequence index value. (Liu: para. [0267] and Fig. 8 S801, the terminal apparatus 1 transmits a random access preamble to the base station apparatus 3 through the PRACH. The transmitted random access preamble may also be referred to as a Message 1 (Msg1). The transmission of the random access preamble may also be referred to as PRACH transmission. The random access preamble is configured to notify the base station apparatus 3 of information by using one of a plurality of sequences. For example, 64 types of sequences (random access preamble indexes are numbered from 1st to 64th) are prepared. When 64 types of sequences are prepared, 6-bit information (which may be a ra-Preamble index or a preamble index) can be provided to the base station apparatus 3. This information may also be provided as a random access preamble identifier (RAPID, which corresponds to claim limitation “PRACH sequence index value”)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Liu in the method of Bala and Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for perform communication efficiently (Liu: para. [0012 & 0414]), and enable random access configuration (Liu: para. [0307-0328]), particularly for uplink power control/configuration (Liu: para. [0342-0346]).
Regarding claim 9, Bala, Zhou and Liu teach the method of claim 1, Bala does not explicitly teaches: wherein the multiple power target levels is associated with an enumerated list of the multiple power target levels that is included in or indicated by a msgA-preambleReceivedTargetPower parameter or a msgA-DeltaPreamble parameter.
Zhou from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the multiple power target levels is associated with an enumerated list of the multiple power target levels (Zhou: para. [0271] and FIG. 23, and para. [0275] and Fig. 26) that is included in or indicated by a msgA-preambleReceivedTargetPower parameter (Zhou: para. [0275] FIG. 26, a base station may transmit to a wireless device one or more RRC messages (e.g., RACH-ConfigGenericTwoStepRA IE) comprising generic configuration parameters of a RA procedure for 2-step RA type on a cell (or a BWP of the cell). The generic configuration parameters of the RA procedure for 2-step RA type may comprise: a PRACH configuration index (e.g., msgA-PRACH-ConfigurationIndex), a preamble target received power level (e.g., msgA-PreambleReceivedTargetPower))
or a msgA-DeltaPreamble parameter (Zhou: para. [0271] and FIG. 23 third configuration parameters may further comprise a power offset value (e.g., msgA-DeltaPreamble) of msgA PUSCH relative to a preamble received target power). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhou in the method of Bala. one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for providing RRC connection establishment/connectivity mechanism, energy conservation, and reduction of signaling overhead (Zhou: para. [0123-0124 & 0189]), in which the network (e.g., a gNB and/or an ng-eNB of a network) and/or the UE may initiate a random access procedure (Zhou: para. [0189]). By incorporating one or more RACH parameters may indicate an association between (a) one or more preambles (Zhou: para. [0192]), and its respective one or more power offsets indicated by the one or more RACH parameters. The one or more RACH parameters may be used to determine an uplink transmit power of Msg 1 1311 and/or Msg 3 1313 (Zhou: para. [0193]), and as a result, provides RRC connection establishment/connectivity mechanism, energy conservation, and reduction of signaling overhead (Zhou: para. [0123-0124 & 0189]).
Regarding claims 10-13 and 15, Bala, Zhou and Liu teach a user equipment (UE) comprising: a memory storing processor-readable code; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to: (Bala: Summary, para. [0020] communications system 100 may include wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs), e.g., WTRUs, 102 a and Fig. 1b includes processor 118, and para. [0177] a computer program, software, and/or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer and/or processor) all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 1 – 4, 6 and 8, and therefore apparatus claims 10 – 13 and 15 are rejected using the same rationales.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to applicant’s remark on claim 1 (pages 10-11), applicant submits:
“For example, additional cited portions describe that "the one or more RACH parameters may indicate an association between (a) one or more PRACH occasions and (b) one or more reference signals...for example, the one or more RACH parameters may indicate a number of SS/PBCH blocks mapped to a PRACH occasion and/or a number of preambles mapped to a SS/PBCH blocks." Id. at [0091]. Other cited portions describe that "the one or more RACH parameters may indicate a reference power for a preamble transmission (e.g., a received target power and/or an initial power of the preamble transmission). There may be one or more power offsets indicated by the one or more RACH parameters... [such as] power offset value between preamble groups." Id. at [0093]. That is, the RACH parameters in Zhou may indicate a reference power for preamble transmission and various power offsets, but these values apply globally or at most at a preamble-group granularity. Zhou does not disclose or suggest mapping individual PRACH preambles to multiple target power levels, as generally recited by amended claim 1. A single reference power and group-based offsets do not constitute a preamble mapping to particular power target level of multiple power target levels, nor do they provide multiple target levels associated with a corresponding set of individual preambles.
Thus, Zhou and Bala, alone or in combination, do not disclose "receiving mapping data that maps physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles to multiple power target levels...wherein the parameter value is a PRACH preamble, and wherein randomly selecting the parameter value comprises randomly selecting the PRACH preamble from a set of multiple PRACH preambles," as generally recited by amended claim 1. Liu does not obviate their deficiencies. Claim 10 has been amended similarly and is allowable for at least the reasons discussed with respect to claim 1. As such, Applicant requests withdrawal of the rejection of record.” (pages 10-11)
As applicant’s representative admitted on page 11 of Remarks, and as cited in the Rejection, Zhou in para.[0192] teaches “one or more RACH parameters may indicate an association between (a) one or more preambles”. And furthermore, Zhou in para. [0193] teaches “one or more RACH parameters provided in the configuration message 1310 may be used to determine an uplink transmit power of Msg 1 1311 and/or Msg 3 1313. For example, the one or more RACH parameters may indicate a reference power for a preamble transmission (e.g., a received target power and/or an initial power of the preamble transmission). There may be one or more power offsets indicated by the one or more RACH parameters”.
In other words, there are associations (or mappings) between one or more RACH parameters to one or more preambles. These one or more RACH parameters (corresponds to one or more preambles) are also associated (or mapped) with one or more power offsets for uplink transmit power of msg1 or msg 3.
Therefore, Zhou teaches the associations (or mappings) between one or more preambles (corresponds to one or more RACH parameters) to one or more power offsets for uplink transmit power, which corresponds to the claim limitation “maps physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles to the multiple power target levels” and thus rejection is maintained.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., mapping individual PRACH preambles to multiple target power levels) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant's arguments filed 12/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to applicant’s remark on claim 5, 6, 9 and 13 (pages 12), applicant submits:
“Claims 5, 6, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Bala in view of Zhou. To be found obvious under 35 U.S.C. § 103, each element of a claim must be shown to be known in or obvious from the prior art, see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1391 (2007). However, "a patent composed of several elements is not proved obvious merely by demonstrating that each of its elements was, independently, known in the prior art." Id. Rather, it is "important to identify a reason that would have prompted a person of ordinary skill in the relevant field to combine the elements in the way the claimed new invention does." Id. To that end, "[r]ejections based on obviousness cannot be sustained with mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness." In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (emphasis added); see also KSR, 550 U.S. at 418 (quoting Federal Circuit in In re Kahn with approval). Therefore, in order to prove obviousness of a claim, the Examiner must demonstrate that each claim element was known in the prior art, as well as articulate reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.” (page 12)
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, as cited in the 103 rejection, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for providing RRC connection establishment/connectivity mechanism, energy conservation, and reduction of signaling overhead (Zhou: para. [0123-0124 & 0189]), in which the network (e.g., a gNB and/or an ng-eNB of a network) and/or the UE may initiate a random access procedure (Zhou: para. [0189]). By incorporating one or more RACH parameters may indicate an association between (a) one or more preambles (Zhou: para. [0192]), and its respective one or more power offsets indicated by the one or more RACH parameters, which may be used to determine an uplink transmit power of Msg 1 1311 and/or Msg 3 1313. (Zhou: para. [0193]). Thereby providing RRC connection establishment/connectivity mechanism, energy conservation, and reduction of signaling overhead (Zhou: para. [0123-0124 & 0189]) according to the one or more RACH parameter (Zhou: para. [0192-0196]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUTCHUNG CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418