DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed December 8, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 11, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 7-10 and 17-19 are cancelled as previously indicated.
Claims 1-6, 11-16, and 20-25 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 11, 13, 14, 20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRENNE et al. (hereinafter Frenne) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0421877 A1) in view of Medles et al. (hereinafter Medles) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0084714 A1), and further in view of Rahman et al. (hereinafter Rahman) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0370139 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Frenne teaches and discloses a method for a user equipment (UE, figures 3, 7, and 13) and a user equipment (UE) (UE, figures 3, 7, and 13) comprising: a processor (1302, figure 13); and a memory (1310, figure 13) storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, configure the UE to:
receive, from a network node (network node/TRP/gNB, figures 3, 7, and 14), a channel state information (CSI) report configuration (CSI-ReportConfig) (CSI report configuration/CSI-ReportConfig), wherein the CSI-ReportConfig comprises configuration details for both one or more Channel Measurement Resources (CMRs) (CSI-RS for channel measurement) and one or more Interference Measurement Resources (IMRs) (CSI-RS for interference measurement), wherein the CMRs are used to measure time domain channel properties (TDCP) based on a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) for tracking reference signal (TRS), configure, based on the CSI-ReportConfig, to perform measurements using the CMRs and the IMRs; measure the IMRs and the TDCP based on the CSI-RS for the TRS; and report, to the network node, the TDCP and the IMRs measurement ([0013]; “…A CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement…”; [0014]; “…An IMR resource set for interference measurement…”; [0069]; “…enabling a UE for measuring and reporting CSI information to the network (e.g. gNB), related to downlink time domain channel properties…”; [0080]; [0081]; [0082]; teaches receiving CSI report configuration including both channel measurement resources and interference measurement resources, where the channel measurement resources are used for TDCP, and then measuring and reporting to the network node the channel measurement based on TRS and interference measurement).
However, Frenne may not explicitly wherein the CSI-ReportConfig comprises a scheduling restriction for TDCP measurements and corresponding IMR measurements, and wherein the scheduling restriction causes the IMRs and CMRs to be configured in a same discontinuous reception (DRX) active time and in a defined number of slots within the same DRX active time.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Medles further teaches and suggests wherein the CSI-ReportConfig comprises a scheduling restriction for TDCP measurements and corresponding IMR measurements, and wherein the scheduling restriction causes the IMRs and CMRs to be configured in a same discontinuous reception (DRX) active time and in a defined number of slots within the same DRX active time ([0028]; “…CSI-RS reference resources for CSI reporting must be in the DRX active time in a downlink slot…there should be at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasion for interference measurement in DRX active time …”; [0034]; “…CSI reference resources may comprise CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources…the CSI-RS/CSI-IM resources that falls within CSI-measurement time configuration and/or within the DRX active time are considered to be valid CSI-RS/CSI-IM resources for BM/CSI reporting…”; [0038]; “…the UE may consider the CSI-RS/CSI-IM resources for BM/CSI reporting that are transmitted within the same slots…”; [0050]; teaches the CSI report configuration includes a restriction related to time for IMR and CMR measurements where the IMR and CMR are configured for the same DRX active time and defined slots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the CSI report configuration includes a restriction related to time for IMR and CMR measurements where the IMR and CMR are configured for the same DRX active time and defined slots as taught by Medles with the method for CSI report configuration including both channel measurement resources and interference measurement resources and measuring and reporting to the network node the channel measurement based on TRS and interference measurement as disclosed by Frenne for the purpose of configuring CSI reference resource and to provide proper CSI reference resource acquisition schemes in DRX for considering both power saving and CSI reporting, as suggested by Medles.
However, Frenne, as modified by Medles, may not explicitly disclose wherein the defined number of slots comprises two slots, three slots, or four slots within the same DRX active time, wherein the defined number of slots is a subset of the number of slots within the DRX active time during which the IMRs and CMRs are configured, wherein other slots within the DRX active time that are outside of the defined number of slots are restricted from being configured with the IMRs and CMRs (although Medles does teach that the DRX active (although Medles does suggest that the interval of the DRX active time where the resources are configured comprise one or more slots or a period of time).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Rahman teaches and suggests wherein the defined number of slots comprises two slots, three slots, or four slots within the same DRX active time, wherein the defined number of slots is a subset of the number of slots within the DRX active time during which the IMRs and CMRs are configured, wherein other slots within the DRX active time that are outside of the defined number of slots are restricted from being configured with the IMRs and CMRs (abstract; “…identifying the set of time slots and the CSI reference resource and determining, based on the CSI reference resource, the CSI report for the identified set of time slots…”; [0148]; [0424]; “…receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasion for interference measurement no later than CSI reference resource…”; [0425]; “…receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasion for interference measurement in DRX Active Time no later than CSI reference resource…receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasion for interference measurement during the time duration indicated by drx-onDurationTimer in DRX-Config outside DRX active time or in DRX Active Time_no later than CSI reference resource…”; teaches that the CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasions are configured in the same DRX active time comprised of a number of slots more than one and two, three, or four time slots within the same DRX active time and the other slots of the DRX active time do not comprise the IMRs and CMRs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasions are configured in the same DRX active time comprised of a number of slots more than one and two, three, or four time slots within the same DRX active time and the other slots of the DRX active time do not comprise the IMRs and CMRs as taught by Rahman with the method for CSI report configuration including both channel measurement resources and interference measurement resources and measuring and reporting to the network node the channel measurement based on TRS and interference measurement as disclosed by Frenne, as modified by Medles, for the purpose of communicating and providing resources for improving CSI reporting, as suggested by Rahman.
Regarding claims 3, 13, and 22, Frenne, as modified by Medles and Rahman, further teaches and discloses wherein the network node may configure the one or more IMRs to comprise a non-zero power IMR (NZP-IMR) or a ZP-IMR but not both ([0080]; [0082]; teaches configuring interference measurement to comprise NZP resources).
Regarding claims 4, 14, and 23, Frenne, as modified by Medles and Rahman, further teaches and discloses wherein the network node may configure the IMR to comprise one or both of a non-zero power IMR (NZP-IMR) and a ZP-IMR ([0080]; [0082]; teaches configuring interference measurement to comprise NZP resources).
Regarding claim 20, Frenne teaches and discloses a method for a network node (network node/TRP/gNB, figures 3, 7, and 14), the method comprising: encoding a channel state information (CSI) report configuration (CSI-ReportConfig), wherein the CSI-ReportConfig comprises configuration details for both one or more Channel Measurement Resources (CMRs) (CSI-RS for channel measurement) and one or more Interference Measurement Resources (IMRs) (CSI-RS for interference measurement), wherein the CMRs are used to measure time domain channel properties (TDCP) based on a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) for tracking reference signal (TRS), sending, to a user equipment (UE) (UE, figures 3, 7, and 13), the CSI-ReportConfig to configure the UE to measure the TDCP based on the CSI-RS for the TRS and the IMRs; and receiving a report from the UE comprising measurements of the TDCP and the IMRs ([0013]; “…A CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement…”; [0014]; “…An IMR resource set for interference measurement…”; [0069]; “…enabling a UE for measuring and reporting CSI information to the network (e.g. gNB), related to downlink time domain channel properties…”; [0080]; [0081]; [0082]; teaches receiving CSI report configuration including both channel measurement resources and interference measurement resources, where the channel measurement resources are used for TDCP, and then measuring and reporting to the network node the channel measurement based on TRS and interference measurement).
However, Frenne may not explicitly wherein the CSI-ReportConfig comprises a scheduling restriction for TDCP measurements and corresponding IMR measurements, and wherein the scheduling restriction causes the IMRs and CMRs to be configured in a same discontinuous reception (DRX) active time and in a defined number of slots within the same DRX active time.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Medles further teaches and suggests wherein the CSI-ReportConfig comprises a scheduling restriction for TDCP measurements and corresponding IMR measurements, and wherein the scheduling restriction causes the IMRs and CMRs to be configured in a same discontinuous reception (DRX) active time and in a defined number of slots within the same DRX active time ([0028]; “…CSI-RS reference resources for CSI reporting must be in the DRX active time in a downlink slot…there should be at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasion for interference measurement in DRX active time …”; [0034]; “…CSI reference resources may comprise CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources…the CSI-RS/CSI-IM resources that falls within CSI-measurement time configuration and/or within the DRX active time are considered to be valid CSI-RS/CSI-IM resources for BM/CSI reporting…”; [0038]; “…the UE may consider the CSI-RS/CSI-IM resources for BM/CSI reporting that are transmitted within the same slots…”; [0050]; teaches the CSI report configuration includes a restriction related to time for IMR and CMR measurements where the IMR and CMR are configured for the same DRX active time and defined slots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the CSI report configuration includes a restriction related to time for IMR and CMR measurements where the IMR and CMR are configured for the same DRX active time and defined slots as taught by Medles with the method for CSI report configuration including both channel measurement resources and interference measurement resources and measuring and reporting to the network node the channel measurement based on TRS and interference measurement as disclosed by Frenne for the purpose of configuring CSI reference resource and to provide proper CSI reference resource acquisition schemes in DRX for considering both power saving and CSI reporting, as suggested by Medles.
However, Frenne, as modified by Medles, may not explicitly disclose wherein the defined number of slots comprises two slots, three slots, or four slots within the same DRX active time, wherein the defined number of slots is a subset of the number of slots within the DRX active time during which the IMRs and CMRs are configured, wherein other slots within the DRX active time that are outside of the defined number of slots are restricted from being configured with the IMRs and CMRs (although Medles does teach that the DRX active (although Medles does suggest that the interval of the DRX active time where the resources are configured comprise one or more slots or a period of time).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Rahman teaches and suggests wherein the defined number of slots comprises two slots, three slots, or four slots within the same DRX active time, wherein the defined number of slots is a subset of the number of slots within the DRX active time during which the IMRs and CMRs are configured, wherein other slots within the DRX active time that are outside of the defined number of slots are restricted from being configured with the IMRs and CMRs (abstract; “…identifying the set of time slots and the CSI reference resource and determining, based on the CSI reference resource, the CSI report for the identified set of time slots…”; [0148]; [0424]; “…receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasion for interference measurement no later than CSI reference resource…”; [0425]; “…receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasion for interference measurement in DRX Active Time no later than CSI reference resource…receiving at least one CSI-RS transmission occasion for channel measurement and CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasion for interference measurement during the time duration indicated by drx-onDurationTimer in DRX-Config outside DRX active time or in DRX Active Time_no later than CSI reference resource…”; teaches that the CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasions are configured in the same DRX active time comprised of a number of slots more than one and two, three, or four time slots within the same DRX active time and the other slots of the DRX active time do not comprise the IMRs and CMRs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM occasions are configured in the same DRX active time comprised of a number of slots more than one and two, three, or four time slots within the same DRX active time and the other slots of the DRX active time do not comprise the IMRs and CMRs as taught by Rahman with the method for CSI report configuration including both channel measurement resources and interference measurement resources and measuring and reporting to the network node the channel measurement based on TRS and interference measurement as disclosed by Frenne, as modified by Medles, for the purpose of communicating and providing resources for improving CSI reporting, as suggested by Rahman.
Claims 2, 12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRENNE et al. (hereinafter Frenne) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0421877 A1) in view of Medles et al. (hereinafter Medles) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0084714 A1) and Rahman et al. (hereinafter Rahman) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0370139 A1), and further in view of Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0281487 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 12, and 21, Frenne discloses receiving CSI report configuration including both channel measurement resources and interference measurement resources and measuring and reporting to the network node the channel measurement based on TRS and interference measurement, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more IMRs is a zero power IMR (ZP-IMR).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches and suggests wherein the one or more IMRs is a zero power IMR (ZP-IMR) ([0202]; [0249]; teaches the interference measurement (IM) is a ZP resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the interference measurement (IM) is a ZP resource as taught by Liu with the method for CSI report configuration including both channel measurement resources and interference measurement resources and measuring and reporting to the network node the channel measurement based on TRS and interference measurement as disclosed by Frenne, as modified by Medles and Rahman, for the purpose of performing channel measurements for improving performance in interference limited networks, as suggested by Liu.
Claims 5, 6, 15, 16, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRENNE et al. (hereinafter Frenne) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0421877 A1) in view of Medles et al. (hereinafter Medles) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0084714 A1) and Rahman et al. (hereinafter Rahman) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0370139 A1), and further in view of LEE et al. (hereinafter Lee) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0400677 A1).
Regarding claims 5, 15, and 24, Frenne discloses receiving CSI report configuration including both channel measurement resources and interference measurement resources and measuring and reporting to the network node the channel measurement based on TRS and interference measurement, but may not explicitly disclose wherein each IMR is mapped to a single CMR.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches and suggests wherein each IMR is mapped to a single CMR ([0364]; [0365]; teaches mapping CSI-IM resources to a CSI-RS for channel measurement resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate mapping CSI-IM resources to a CSI-RS for channel measurement resource as taught by Lee with the method for CSI report configuration including both channel measurement resources and interference measurement resources and measuring and reporting to the network node the channel measurement based on TRS and interference measurement as disclosed by Frenne, as modified by Medles and Rahman, for the purpose of reducing signaling overhead when providing CMR and IMR configuration information to a terminal, as suggested by Lee.
Regarding claims 6, 16, and 25, Frenne discloses receiving CSI report configuration including both channel measurement resources and interference measurement resources and measuring and reporting to the network node the channel measurement based on TRS and interference measurement, but may not explicitly disclose wherein a single IMR is associated with multiple CMRs.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches and suggests wherein a single IMR is associated with multiple CMRs ([0364]; [0365]; teaches mapping single CSI-IM resources to more than one CSI-RS for channel measurement resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate mapping single CSI-IM resources to more than one CSI-RS for channel measurement resource as taught by Lee with the method for CSI report configuration including both channel measurement resources and interference measurement resources and measuring and reporting to the network node the channel measurement based on TRS and interference measurement as disclosed by Frenne, as modified by Medles and Rahman, for the purpose of reducing signaling overhead when providing CMR and IMR configuration information to a terminal, as suggested by Lee.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 11-16, and 20-25 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
February 7, 2026