Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/18/2025 has been entered. Independent Claims 1, 6, 12, and 18 have been amended. No dependent claims have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims are new. Claims 1-25 are still pending in this application.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/18/2025 on pages 9 of applicant’s remark regarding Claim 1. The applicant argues that the combination of Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim fails to teach calculating a measurement for full-duplex communication and instead teaches the set of transmission and reception beam pair capability. However, the nature of full-duplex communication is both transmission and reception is happening simultaneously, so one measurement or capability variable would function for both transmission and reception. As for the argument that a measurement is different from a parameter, the function defines the form for software methods, and the power control parameter is adjusted by the self-interference cancelation capability, which suggests that the parameter can function as a method of measurement. Thus, the applicant here fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention of calculating a measurement for full-duplex communication and instead teaches the set of transmission and reception beam pair capability from the teachings of Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim. The applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/18/2025 on pages 10 of applicant’s remark regarding Claim 1. The applicant argues that the combination of Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim does not teach the amended claim for a PUCCH transmission that includes a HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information, as the independent claims have been amended to say that. However, Fig. 8, and further ¶0081 describes HARQ ACK/NACK signal through a PUCCH, with the SELF-SI to better improve communication, which the amended claim is similar to. Thus, the applicant here fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention for a PUCCH transmission that includes a HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information, from the teachings of Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim. The applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/18/2025 on page 11 of applicant’s remark regarding Claim 6. The applicant argues that the combination of Zhang in view of Duan, and even further in view of Löhr fails to teach a SIM report, not a PHR report. However, ¶0050 further describes the PHR transmission/calculation is being calculated by power control parameters used for full duplex mode, which is similar to the SIM report. Thus, the applicant here fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention of a SIM report, not a PHR report from the teachings of Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim. The applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/18/2025 on page 11 of applicant’s remark regarding Claim 18. The applicant argues that the combination of Zhang in view of Duan, and further in view of Yeh fails to teach a SIM report, as opposed to a CQI report. The applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Pub. No.: US 20200374807 A1, hereafter “Zhang”) in view of Duan (Pub. No.: US 20210143954 A1, hereafter “Duan”), further in view of Jung (Pub. No.: US 20190313437 A1, hereafter “Jung”), further in view of Kim (Pub. No.: US 20180013466 A1, hereafter “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 1
Zhang teaches
A first network entity (Zhang Fig. 5: 500) for wireless communication (Zhang Fig. 5: 501), comprising: memory (Zhang Fig. 6: 601, see ¶0149 showing Fig. 6 can apply to Fig. 5; Zhang teaches a UE with memory); and at least one processor (Zhang Fig. 6: 602) coupled to the memory (Zhang Fig. 6: 601), wherein the at least one processor is configured to (Zhang Fig. 6: 604; Zhang teaches the processor is coupled and configured from memory): Receive (Zhang Fig. 2: S201 towards UE), from a second network entity (Zhang Fig. 2: Network device), scheduling information (Zhang ¶0010: channel type) for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission (Zhang ¶0010: PUCCH; Zhang teaches the UE receiving, from a second network device, including at least a PUCCH and power control information for a channel type);
generate (Zhang Fig. 2: S204) self-interference measurement (SIM) information (Zhang ¶0011: self-interface cancelation) based on a set of full duplex transmission (Zhang ¶0011: based interference of the network device) and reception beam pairs (Zhang ¶0012: includes beam pair; Zhang teaches generating self-interference calculations through multiple of parameters; see), wherein the SIM information includes (Zhang ¶0011: self-inference cancelation) information indicative of at least one SIM metric (Zhang ¶0011: multiple power control parameters) for each respective full duplex transmission (Zhang ¶0011: adjusted based on self-interference cancelation) and reception beam pair (Zhang ¶0012: includes beam pair) of the set of full duplex transmission and reception beam pairs (Zhang ¶0011: in a full-duplex network scenario; Zhang teaches having an information measurement for transmission and reception for full-duplex transmission),
Zhang does not explicitly teach
wherein each respective full duplex transmission and reception beam pair includes a respective transmit beam associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a respective receive beam associated with a respective TCI state
transmit, to the second network entity in the PUCCH transmission, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback information corresponding to a transmission; and
transmit, to the second network entity in the PUCCH transmission that includes the HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information, a SIM report at a location in the PUCCH transmission after the HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information, wherein the SIM report includes information indicative of the SIM information measured for the set of full duplex transmission and reception beam pairs
However, Duan Teaches
wherein each respective full duplex transmission and reception beam pair (Duan ¶0052: full-duplex mode) includes a respective transmit beam associated (Duan ¶0052: associated with a BWP pair) with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (Duan ¶0054: TCI state) and a respective receive beam associated with a respective TCI state (Duan ¶0030: the TCI parameters can be used for beam forming; Duan teaches having a full duplex transmission with an associated TCI transmission);
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang with Duan to include wherein each respective full duplex transmission and reception beam pair includes a respective transmit beam associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a respective receive beam associated with a respective TCI state, as taught by Duan in ¶0030, ¶0052, and ¶0054, to support communication with multiple users by sharing resources such as time, frequency, or power.
Zhang in view of Duan does not explicitly teach
transmit, to the second network entity in the PUCCH transmission, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback information corresponding to a transmission; and
transmit, to the second network entity in the PUCCH transmission that includes the HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information, a SIM report at a location in the PUCCH transmission after the HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information, wherein the SIM report includes information indicative of the SIM information measured for the set of full duplex transmission and reception beam pairs
However, Jun teaches
transmit (Jung ¶0084: transmit), to the second network entity (Jung Fig. 3: 300) in the PUCCH transmission (Jung ¶0084: PUCCH configuration), hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (Jung ¶0084: HARQ-ACK) or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback information (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) corresponding to a transmission (Jung ¶0084: PUCCH resources; Jung teaches a UE transmitting a HARQ-ACK in a PUCCH);
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, to include an element that teaches a UE transmitting a HARQ-ACK in a PUCCH, as taught by Jung in ¶0084, to better improve communication systems between a UE and other devices by inherently setting a configuration with a HARQ-ACK to improve spatial efficiency and decrease downtime associated with multiple transmissions.
Zhang in view of Duan and further in view of Jung does not explicitly teach
transmit, to the second network entity in the PUCCH transmission that includes the HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information, a SIM report at a location in the PUCCH transmission after the HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information, wherein the SIM report includes information indicative of the SIM information measured for the set of full duplex transmission and reception beam pairs
However, Kim teaches
transmit (Kim Fig. 8: S810), to the second network entity (Kim Fig. 2: 105) in the PUCCH transmission (Kim ¶0081: PUCCH) that includes the HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information(Kim ¶0052: when HARQ is received), a SIM report (Kim ¶0052: self-interference cancellation, e.g. Self-IC) at a location in the PUCCH transmission after the HARQ ACK/NACK feedback information (Kim ¶0052: when HARQ is received), wherein the SIM report includes information indicative of the SIM information measured for the set of full duplex transmission (Kim ¶0052: full-duplex radio) and reception beam pairs (Kim ¶0041: one or more analog signals; Kim teaches a UE sending a self-interference cancellation when a HARQ is received containing information on full-duplex radio and multiple signals).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim, to include an element that teaches a UE sending a self-interference cancellation when a HARQ is received containing information on full-duplex radio and multiple signals, as taught by Kim in Fig. 2, Fig. 7, ¶0041, ¶0052, and ¶0081, to better improve communication systems between a UE and other devices by inherently setting a configuration with a HARQ-ACK to improve spatial efficiency and decrease downtime associated with multiple transmissions.
Regarding Claim 2
Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim teaches the network entity of Claim 1.
Jung further teaches
wherein the location is adjacent (Jung ¶0084: in response) to the HARQ ACK/NACK (Jung ¶0084: HARQ ACK) feedback information (Jung ¶0084: PUCCH resources; Jung teaches the HARQ ACK message happening right after the message for PUCCH resources).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, to include an element that teaches the HARQ ACK message happening right after the message for PUCCH resources as taught by Jung in ¶0084, to better improve communication systems between a UE and other devices by inherently setting a configuration with a HARQ-ACK to improve spatial efficiency and decrease downtime associated with multiple transmissions.
Regarding Claim 3
Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim teaches the network entity of Claim 1. Zhang further teaches
receive (Zhang ¶0020: interface may be a transceiver), from the second network entity (Zhang ¶0020: another network element), information indicative of the location (Zhang ¶0023: operates in full-duplex and correctly receives data during data sending; Zhang teaches receiving information on further data’s location and reading said data).
Regarding Claim 4
Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim teaches the network entity of Claim 1. Zhang further teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured (Zhang ¶0020: processor is configured) to: receive (Zhang ¶0020: interface may be a transceiver), from the second network entity (Zhang ¶0020: another network element), information indicative of a size of the SIM report (Zhang ¶0014: a first power flow parameter includes control parameter info for transmitting in full-duplex; Zhang teaches a different network entity information of the control parameter).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Pub. No.: US 20200374807 A1, hereafter “Zhang”) in view of Duan (Pub. No.: US 20210143954 A1, hereafter “Duan”), further in view of Jung (Pub. No.: US 20190313437 A1, hereafter “Jung”), further in view of Kim (Pub. No.: US 20180013466 A1, hereafter “Kim”), and even further in view of Abedini (Pub. No.: US 20210235301 A1, hereafter “Abedini”).
Regarding Claim 5
Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim teaches the network entity of Claim 1. Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim does not explicitly teach
wherein the at least one SIM metric includes at least one of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI)
However, Abedini Teaches
wherein the at least one SIM metric (Abedini ¶0141: self-measurement report) includes at least one of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) (Abedini ¶0141: may include one or more of RSRP) or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (Abedini ¶0141: RSSI; Abedini teaches a self-measurement during full-duplex communication, and includes RSRP and RSSI; see ¶0141).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim with Abedini to include an element that teaches a self-measurement during full-duplex communication, and includes RSRP and RSSI, as taught by Abedini in ¶0141, to double the spectrum efficiency in real world wireless cellular systems.
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Pub. No.: US 20200374807 A1, hereafter “Zhang”) in view of Duan (Pub. No.: US 20210143954 A1, hereafter “Duan”), and even further in view of Löhr (Pub. No.: US 20240188074 A1, hereafter “Löhr”).
Regarding Claim 6
Zhang teaches
A first network entity (Zhang Fig. 5: 500) for wireless communication(Zhang Fig. 5: 501), comprising: memory (Zhang Fig. 6: 601, see ¶0149 showing Fig. 6 can apply to Fig. 5; Zhang teaches a UE with memory); and at least one processor (Zhang Fig. 6: 602) coupled to the memory (Zhang Fig. 6: 601), wherein the at least one processor is configured to (Zhang Fig. 6: 604; Zhang teaches the processor is coupled and configured from memory): generate (Zhang Fig. 2: S204) self-interference measurement (SIM) information (Zhang ¶0011: self-interface cancelation) based on a set of full duplex transmission (Zhang ¶0011: based interference of the network device) and reception beam pairs (Zhang ¶0012: includes beam pair; Zhang teaches generating self-interference calculations through multiple of parameters), wherein the SIM information (Zhang ¶0011: self-inference cancelation) includes information indicative of at least one SIM metric (Zhang ¶0011: multiple power control parameters) measured for each respective full duplex transmission (Zhang ¶0011: adjusted based on self-interference cancelation) and reception beam pair (Zhang ¶0012: includes beam pair) of the set of full duplex transmission and reception beam pairs (Zhang ¶0011: in a full-duplex network scenario; Zhang teaches having an information measurement for transmission and reception for full-duplex transmission),
and transmit (Zhang ¶0011: uplink), to a second network entity (Zhang ¶0011: from UE), a SIM report including information indicative of the SIM information (Zhang ¶0011: includes power control parameter information), measured for the set of full duplex transmission and reception beam pairs (Zhang ¶0011: relating to full-duplex; Zhang teaches transmitting from the UE to a second entity information)
Zhang does not explicitly teach
wherein each respective full duplex transmission and reception beam pair includes a respective transmit beam associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a respective receive beam associated with a respective TCI state, and wherein the SIM information is associated with multiple component carriers (CCs);
However, Duan Teaches
wherein each respective full duplex transmission and reception beam pair (Duan ¶0052: full-duplex mode) includes a respective transmit beam associated (Duan ¶0052: associated with a BWP pair) with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (Duan ¶0054: TCI state) and a respective receive beam associated with a respective TCI state (Duan ¶0030: the TCI parameters can be used for beam forming; Duan teaches having a full duplex transmission with an associated TCI transmission);
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang with Duan to include wherein each respective full duplex transmission and reception beam pair includes a respective transmit beam associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a respective receive beam associated with a respective TCI state, as taught by Duan in ¶0030, ¶0052, and ¶0054, to support communication with multiple users by sharing resources such as time, frequency, or power.
Zhang in view of Duan does not explicitly teach
and wherein the SIM information is associated with multiple component carriers (CCs);
wherein the SIM report indicates the SIM information measured for each CC of the multiple CCs.
However, Löhr teaches
and wherein the SIM information (Löhr ¶0108: parameter/field) is associated with multiple component carriers (CCs) (Löhr ¶0109: carrier aggregation; Löhr teaches sending information relating to duplex mode through multiple carriers),
wherein the measured SIM report (Löhr ¶0114: PHR report) indicates the SIM information for each CC of the multiple CCs (Löhr ¶0114: PUSCH preparation; Löhr teaches generating and transmitting a PUSCH for a PHR report, the data of which includes multiple CCs).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim, with Löhr to include and wherein the SIM information is associated with multiple component carriers (CCs), as taught by Löhr in ¶0108 and ¶109, to facilitate UE in the uplink and downlink transmission with another group of UEs, and potentially coexisting in the same channel.
Regarding Claim 7
Zhang in view of Duan, and further by way of Löhr teaches the network entity of Claim 6. Löhr further teaches
wherein the multiple CCs (Löhr ¶0109: carrier aggregation) correspond to a set of medium access control (MAC) (Löhr ¶0109: MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Löhr ¶0109: MAC-CE) active CCs (Löhr ¶0109: during the case of carrier aggregation; Löhr teaches multiple CCs responding to MAC and MAC-CE).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan, in view of Jung, in view of Kim, and further in view of Löhr to include an element that teaches multiple CCs responding to MAC and MAC-CE, as taught by Löhr in ¶0109, to better improve communication systems between a UE and other devices by inherently setting a configuration with a HARQ-ACK to improve spatial efficiency and decrease downtime associated with multiple transmissions.
Regarding Claim 8
Zhang in view of Duan, and further by way of Löhr teaches the network entity of Claim 6. Löhr further teaches
wherein the multiple CCs (Löhr ¶0109: carrier aggregation) correspond to all CCs associated (Löhr ¶0109: the UE has multiple resource allocations) with the second network entity (Löhr ¶0109: for different serving cells; Löhr teaches multiple component carriers with at least one other network entity).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan, in view of Jung, in view of Kim, and further in view of Löhr to include an element that teaches multiple component carriers with at least one other network entity, as taught by Löhr in ¶0109, to better improve communication systems between a UE and other devices by inherently setting a configuration with a HARQ-ACK to improve spatial efficiency and decrease downtime associated with multiple transmissions.
Regarding Claim 9
Zhang in view of Duan, and further by way of Löhr teaches the network entity of Claim 6. Löhr further teaches
wherein the multiple CCs (Löhr ¶0109: carrier aggregation) correspond to a set of CCs (Löhr ¶0109: multiple resource allocations) indicated by the second network entity (Löhr ¶0109: on a PUSCH to UE from a serving cell; Löhr teaches having multiple CCs being set from a second network entity).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan, in view of Jung, in view of Kim, and further in view of Löhr to include an element that teaches having multiple CCs being set from a second network entity, as taught by Löhr in ¶0109, to better improve communication systems between a UE and other devices by inherently setting a configuration with a HARQ-ACK to improve spatial efficiency and decrease downtime associated with multiple transmissions.
Regarding Claim 10
Zhang in view of Duan, and further by way of Löhr teaches the network entity of Claim 6. Löhr further teaches
wherein the multiple CCs (Löhr ¶0109: carrier aggregation) correspond to a set of CCs (Löhr ¶0109: multiple resource allocations) recommended by the first network entity (Löhr ¶0109: UE multiplexes MAC CEs; Löhr teaches multiple CCs having recommended by the UE).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan, in view of Jung, in view of Kim, and further in view of Löhr to include an element that teaches multiple CCs having recommended by the UE, as taught by Löhr in ¶0109, to better improve communication systems between a UE and other devices by inherently setting a configuration with a HARQ-ACK to improve spatial efficiency and decrease downtime associated with multiple transmissions.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Pub. No.: US 20200374807 A1, hereafter “Zhang”) in view of Duan (Pub. No.: US 20210143954 A1, hereafter “Duan”), even further in view of Löhr (Pub. No.: US 20240188074 A1, hereafter “Löhr”). and even further in view of Abedini (Pub. No.: US 20210235301 A1, hereafter “Abedini”).
Regarding Claim 11
Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Löhr teaches the network entity of Claim 6. Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Löhr does not explicitly teach
wherein the at least one SIM metric includes at least one of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI)
However, Abedini Teaches
wherein the at least one SIM metric (Abedini ¶0141: self-measurement report) includes at least one of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) (Abedini ¶0141: may include one or more of RSRP) or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (Abedini ¶0141: RSSI; Abedini teaches a self-measurement during full-duplex communication, and includes RSRP and RSSI; see ¶0141).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Löhr with Abedini to include an element that teaches a self-measurement during full-duplex communication, and includes RSRP and RSSI, as taught by Abedini in ¶0141, to double the spectrum efficiency in real world wireless cellular systems.
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Pub. No.: US 20200374807 A1, hereafter “Zhang”) in view of Duan (Pub. No.: US 20210143954 A1, hereafter “Duan”).
Regarding Claim 12
Zhang teaches
A first network entity (Zhang Fig. 5: 500) for wireless communication(Zhang Fig. 5: 501), comprising: memory (Zhang Fig. 6: 601, see ¶0149 showing Fig. 6 can apply to Fig. 5; Zhang teaches a UE with memory); and at least one processor (Zhang Fig. 6: 602) coupled to the memory (Zhang Fig. 6: 601), wherein the at least one processor is configured to (Zhang Fig. 6: 604; Zhang teaches the processor is coupled and configured from memory): generate (Zhang Fig. 2: S204) self-interference measurement (SIM) information (Zhang ¶0011: self-interface cancelation) based on a set of full duplex transmission (Zhang ¶0011: based interference of the network device) and reception beam pairs (Zhang ¶0012: includes beam pair; Zhang teaches generating self-interference calculations through multiple of parameters), wherein the SIM information (Zhang ¶0011: self-inference cancelation) includes information indicative of at least one SIM metric (Zhang ¶0011: multiple power control parameters) measured for each respective full duplex transmission (Zhang ¶0011: adjusted based on self-interference cancelation) and reception beam pair (Zhang ¶0012: includes beam pair) of the set of full duplex transmission and reception beam pairs (Zhang ¶0011: in a full-duplex network scenario; Zhang teaches having an information measurement for transmission and reception for full-duplex transmission),
and transmit (Zhang ¶0011: uplink), to a second network entity (Zhang ¶0011: from UE), a SIM report including information indicative of the SIM information (Zhang ¶0011: includes power control parameter information), measured for the set of full duplex transmission and reception beam pairs (Zhang ¶0011: relating to full-duplex; Zhang teaches transmitting from the UE to a second entity information)
Zhang does not explicitly teach
wherein each respective full duplex transmission and reception beam pair includes a respective transmit beam associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a respective receive beam associated with a respective TCI state, wherein the SIM information is associated with at least one component carrier (CC), and wherein the SIM information is associated with multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs);
wherein the SIM report indicates the SIM information measured for each BWP of the multiple BWPs.
However, Duan teaches
wherein each respective full duplex transmission and reception beam pair (Duan ¶0052: full-duplex mode) includes a respective transmit beam associated (Duan ¶0052: associated with a BWP pair) with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (Duan ¶0054: TCI state) and a respective receive beam associated with a respective TCI state (Duan ¶0030: the TCI parameters can be used for beam forming; Duan teaches having a full duplex transmission with an associated TCI transmission);
wherein the SIM information (Duan ¶0053: report channel state or quality) is associated with at least one component carrier (CC) (Duan ¶0052: component carrier), and wherein the SIM information (Duan ¶0053: report channel state or quality) is associated with multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs) (Duan ¶0052: patrician the system into multiple BWPs; Duan teaches having one component carrier with a report relating to multiple BWPs);
wherein the SIM report (Duan ¶0053: reporting back network measurements and parameters through a PUSCH communication) indicates the SIM information measured for each BWP of the multiple BWPs (Duan ¶0051: multiple BWP pair for UL/DL communication; Duan teaches including the multiple BWPs in a report back).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang with Duan to include wherein the SIM information is associated with at least one component carrier (CC), and wherein the SIM information is associated with multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs), as taught by Duan in ¶0051-¶0053, to support communication with multiple users by sharing resources such as time, frequency, or power.
Regarding Claim 13
Zhang in view of Duan teaches the network entity of Claim 12. Duan further teaches
wherein the multiple BWPs (Duan ¶0052: base station may assign a pair of BWPs) correspond to a set of active BWPs (Duan ¶0052: one for uplink and one for downlink; Duan teaches having multiple BPWs that correspond to a set of BWPs).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang with Duan to include an element that teaches having multiple BPWs that correspond to a set of BWPs, as taught by Duan in ¶0052, to support communication with multiple users by sharing resources such as time, frequency, or power.
Regarding Claim 14
Zhang in view of Duan teaches the network entity of Claim 12. Duan further teaches
wherein the multiple BWPs (Duan ¶0052: multiple BWPs) correspond to all BWPs associated with the second network entity (Duan ¶0052: the base station dynamically assigns certain BPWs of the system BW; Duan teaches having multiple BWPs as taught by a second network entity).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang with Duan to include an element that teaches having multiple BWPs as taught by a second network entity, as taught by Duan in ¶0052, to support communication with multiple users by sharing resources such as time, frequency, or power.
Regarding Claim 15
Zhang in view of Duan teaches the network entity of Claim 12. Duan further teaches
wherein the multiple BWPs (Duan ¶0052: multiple BWPs) correspond to a set of BWPs indicated by the second network entity (Duan ¶0052: in some aspects, a base station may assign a pair of BWPs; Duan teaches having multiple BPWs where a different network entity sets a pair of BWPs for the UE).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang with Duan to include an element that teaches having multiple BPWs where a different network entity sets a pair of BWPs for the UE, as taught by Duan in ¶0052, to support communication with multiple users by sharing resources such as time, frequency, or power.
Regarding Claim 16
Zhang in view of Duan teaches the network entity of Claim 12. Duan further teaches
wherein the multiple BWPs (Duan ¶0052: multiple BWPs) correspond to a set of BWPs (Duan ¶0052: a pair of BWPs) recommended by the first network entity (Duan ¶0051: UE may transmit a UL communication according to a UL scheduling grant; Duan teaches having a set of BWPs as requested by the UE).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang with Duan to include an element that teaches having a set of BWPs as requested by the UE, as taught by Duan in ¶0051 and ¶0052, to support communication with multiple users by sharing resources such as time, frequency, or power.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Pub. No.: US 20200374807 A1, hereafter “Zhang”) in view of Duan (Pub. No.: US 20210143954 A1, hereafter “Duan”), and further in view of Abedini (Pub. No.: US 20210235301 A1, hereafter “Abedini”).
Regarding Claim 17
Zhang in view of Duan teaches the network entity of Claim 12.
Zhang in view of Duan does not explicitly teach
wherein the at least one SIM metric includes at least one of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI)
However, Abedini Teaches
wherein the at least one SIM metric (Abedini ¶0141: self-measurement report) includes at least one of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) (Abedini ¶0141: may include one or more of RSRP) or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (Abedini ¶0141: RSSI; Abedini teaches a self-measurement during full-duplex communication, and includes RSRP and RSSI; see ¶0141).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan with Abedini to include an element that teaches a self-measurement during full-duplex communication, and includes RSRP and RSSI, as taught by Abedini in ¶0141, to double the spectrum efficiency in real world wireless cellular systems.
Claim(s) 19-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Pub. No.: US 20200374807 A1, hereafter “Zhang”) in view of Duan (Pub. No.: US 20210143954 A1, hereafter “Duan”), and further in view of Yeh (Pub. No.: US 20200119890 A1, hereafter “Yeh”).
Regarding Claim 18
Zhang teaches
A first network entity (Zhang Fig. 5: 500) for wireless communication(Zhang Fig. 5: 501), comprising: memory (Zhang Fig. 6: 601, see ¶0149 showing Fig. 6 can apply to Fig. 5; Zhang teaches a UE with memory); and at least one processor (Zhang Fig. 6: 602) coupled to the memory (Zhang Fig. 6: 601), wherein the at least one processor is configured to (Zhang Fig. 6: 604; Zhang teaches the processor is coupled and configured from memory): generate (Zhang Fig. 2: S204) self-interference measurement (SIM) information (Zhang ¶0011: self-interface cancelation) based on a set of full duplex transmission (Zhang ¶0011: based interference of the network device) and reception beam pairs (Zhang ¶0012: includes beam pair; Zhang teaches generating self-interference calculations through multiple of parameters), wherein the SIM information (Zhang ¶0011: self-inference cancelation) includes information indicative of at least one SIM metric (Zhang ¶0011: multiple power control parameters) measured for each respective full duplex transmission (Zhang ¶0011: adjusted based on self-interference cancelation) and reception beam pair (Zhang ¶0012: includes beam pair) of the set of full duplex transmission and reception beam pairs (Zhang ¶0011: in a full-duplex network scenario; Zhang teaches having an information measurement for transmission and reception for full-duplex transmission),
and transmit (Zhang ¶0011: uplink), to a second network entity (Zhang ¶0011: from UE), a SIM report including information indicative of the SIM information (Zhang ¶0011: includes power control parameter information), measured for the set of full duplex transmission and reception beam pairs (Zhang ¶0011: relating to full-duplex; Zhang teaches transmitting from the UE to a second entity information)
Zhang does not explicitly teach
wherein each respective full duplex transmission and reception beam pair includes a respective transmit beam associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a respective receive beam associated with a respective TCI state, and wherein the SIM information is associated with multiple component carriers (CCs);
However, Duan Teaches
wherein each respective full duplex transmission and reception beam pair (Duan ¶0052: full-duplex mode) includes a respective transmit beam associated (Duan ¶0052: associated with a BWP pair) with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (Duan ¶0054: TCI state) and a respective receive beam associated with a respective TCI state (Duan ¶0030: the TCI parameters can be used for beam forming; Duan teaches having a full duplex transmission with an associated TCI transmission);
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang with Duan to include wherein each respective full duplex transmission and reception beam pair includes a respective transmit beam associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a respective receive beam associated with a respective TCI state, as taught by Duan in ¶0030, ¶0052, and ¶0054, to support communication with multiple users by sharing resources such as time, frequency, or power.
Zhang in view of Duan does not explicitly teach
wherein the SIM information is indicated for multiple resource blocks (RBs) or multiple subbands (SBs);
wherein the SIM report indicates the SIM information measured for each set of one or more RBs of the multiple RBs or each set of one or more SBs of the multiple subbands.
However, Yeh teaches
wherein the SIM information (Yeh ¶0064: CQI report) is associated with multiple resource blocks (RBs) (Yeh ¶0064: several consecutive physical resource blocks) or multiple subbands (SBs) (multiple subbands; Yeh teaches sending a quality report that includes RBs and SBs);
wherein the SIM report (Yeh ¶0063: CQI report transmitted on PUSCH) indicates the SIM information measured (Yeh ¶0064: configured subband report) for each set of one or more RBs of the multiple RBs (Yeh ¶0064: consecutive physical resource blocks) or each set of one or more SBs of the multiple subbands (Yeh ¶0064: multiple subbands of consecutive resource blocks; Yeh teaches a report containing resource blocks in a subband).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim, with Yeh to include wherein the SIM information is associated with multiple resource blocks (RBs) or multiple subbands (SBs), as taught by Yeh in ¶0064, to double the spectrum efficiency in real world wireless cellular systems.
Regarding Claim 19
Zhang in view of Duan, and even further in view of Yeh teaches the network entity of Claim 18. Yeh further teaches
wherein the multiple RBs (Yeh ¶0064: consecutive resource blocks) are a set of downlink RBs around one or more uplink RBs (Yeh ¶0063: a periodic CQI report by the PUCCH), or wherein the multiple SBs are a set of downlink SBs (Yeh ¶0064: UE divides the system into multiple subbands) around the one or more uplink RBs (Yeh ¶0064: provides one CQI value for the entire downlink system bandwidth; Yeh teaches having multiple RBs per DL with multiple UL RBs, or, multiple DL SBs and multiple UL RBs).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim, with Yeh to include an element that teaches having multiple RBs per DL with multiple UL RBs, or, multiple DL SBs and multiple UL RBs, as taught by Yeh in ¶0063 and ¶0064, to double the spectrum efficiency in real world wireless cellular systems.
Regarding Claim 20
Zhang in view of Duan, and even further in view of Yeh teaches the network entity of Claim 19. Yeh further teaches
wherein the set of downlink RBs (Yeh ¶0064: physical resource blocks) or the set of downlink SBs (Yeh ¶0064: UE selected bandwidth divides into multiple SBs) are adjacent to the one or more uplink RBs in a frequency domain (Yeh ¶0064: send the UL data in the same subframe) or fully or partially overlap with the one or more uplink RBs in a time window (Yeh ¶0067: for full duplex, CQI reporting feedback may include co-channel interference; Yeh teaches multiple DL RBs, or a section of UL SBs where the RBs interact during full-duplex).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim, with Yeh to include an element that teaches multiple DL RBs, or a section of UL SBs where the RBs interact during full-duplex, as taught by Yeh in ¶0064 and ¶0067, to double the spectrum efficiency in real world wireless cellular systems.
Regarding Claim 21
Zhang in view of Duan, and even further in view of Yeh teaches the network entity of Claim 19. Yeh further teaches
wherein the SIM information (Yeh ¶0064: CQI report) comprises a statistic associated with the at least one SIM metric (Yeh ¶0067: co-channel interference introduced by full duplex communications) and the set of downlink RBs (Yeh ¶0064: wideband report for entire downlink system) or the set of downlink SBs (Yeh ¶0064: reports one CQI with multiple values, one for each SB; Yeh teaches having a quality report based on the downlink sets of resource blocks or subbands).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim, with Yeh to include an element that teaches having a quality report based on the downlink sets of resource blocks or subbands, as taught by Yeh in ¶0064 and ¶0067, to double the spectrum efficiency in real world wireless cellular systems.
Regarding Claim 22
Zhang in view of Duan, and even further in view of Yeh teaches the network entity of Claim 21. Zhang further teaches
wherein the statistic (Zhang ¶0109: self-interference metric) comprises at least one of (Zhang ¶0109: based on at least one of) an average, a median, or a weighted average of multiple SIM metrics of the at least one SIM metric over a time window (Zhang ¶0109: average receive power value; Zhang teaches at least one average value relating to self-interference metric).
Regarding Claim 23
Zhang in view of Duan, and even further in view of Yeh teaches the network entity of Claim 18. Yeh further teaches
wherein a quantity of the multiple RBs or the multiple SBs (Yeh ¶0040: downlink configuration) is based on a configuration (Yeh ¶0040: configuring mobile device) from the second network entity (Yeh ¶0040: base station may identify UL-DL pairs; Yeh teaches a configuration for methods of downlink methods from a second network entity).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim, with Yeh to include an element that teaches a configuration for methods of downlink methods from a second network entity, as taught by Yeh in ¶0040, to double the spectrum efficiency in real world wireless cellular systems.
Regarding Claim 24
Zhang in view of Duan, and even further in view of Yeh teaches the network entity of Claim 18. Yeh further teaches
wherein the multiple RBs or the multiple SBs (Yeh ¶0043: the resource grid may contain resource blocks) are based on a frequency allocation configuration (Yeh ¶0043: resource grid may be a time-frequency grid) from the second network entity (Yeh ¶0044: the base station can optimize UL and DL traffic in a scheduler; Yeh teaches having multiple resource blocks based on frequency, as set by a base station).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan by way of Jung, and further in view of Kim, with Yeh to include an element that teaches having multiple resource blocks based on frequency, as set by a base station, as taught by Yeh in ¶0043 and ¶0044, to double the spectrum efficiency in real world wireless cellular systems.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Pub. No.: US 20200374807 A1, hereafter “Zhang”) in view of Duan (Pub. No.: US 20210143954 A1, hereafter “Duan”), further in view of Yeh (Pub. No.: US 20200119890 A1, hereafter “Yeh”), and in even further view of Abedini (Pub. No.: US 20210235301 A1, hereafter “Abedini”).
Regarding Claim 25
Zhang in view of Duan and further in view if Yeh teach the entity of Claim 1. Zhang in view of Duan and further in view if Yeh does not explicitly teach
wherein the at least one SIM metric includes at least one of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI)
However, Abedini Teaches
wherein the at least one SIM metric (Abedini ¶0141: self-measurement report) includes at least one of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) (Abedini ¶0141: may include one or more of RSRP) or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (Abedini ¶0141: RSSI; Abedini teaches a self-measurement during full-duplex communication, and includes RSRP and RSSI; see ¶0141).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Duan, and further in view if Yeh, and even further in view of Abedini to include an element that teaches a self-measurement during full-duplex communication, and includes RSRP and RSSI, as taught by Abedini in ¶0141, to double the spectrum efficiency in real world wireless cellular systems.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN MICHAEL WHITAKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415