Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 12/16/2025.
Claims 1-7, 9-17, 19, 20 and new claims 21-26 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: “AF, PDU ” should be spell out .
“ AF” should be replaced by – Application Function (AF) ----;
“ PDU ” should be replaced by – Packet Data Unit (PDU ) ----;
Clarification and Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: “ PDU ” should be spell out .
“ PDU ” should be replaced by – Packet Data Unit (PDU ) ----;
Clarification and Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 22, 24, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) in view of Liao ( US 20210075631, Provisional Application 62937407 ).
Regarding to the claim 21, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) teaches a multicast communication method, comprising:
sending, by an AF network element, first multicast service to a session management network element, wherein the first multicast service indicates a first multicast service, and the session management network element is a session management network element corresponding to a PDU session of a terminal device (sending, by an AF network element, first multicast service to a session management network element, wherein the first multicast service indicates a first multicast service, and the session management network element is a session management network element corresponding to a PDU session of a terminal device ) [see Figure 7A and Figure 7B and Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0091 & 0098 & 0126 & 0128 & 0134 & 0137 & 0138 & 0153 & 0158 & 0160 & 0161 & 0162 & 0163 & 0170 & 0175 & 0178 & 0183 & 0197 & 0203 & 232 & 0244 & 0252 & 0253 & 0262 & 0271 & 0273 & 0293 ] [ see Provisional Application No. 62975858, Figure 7 , Figure 8 ].
However, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) does not explicitly teach multicast service indication information.
( US 20210075631, Provisional Application 62937407 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches sending, by and AF network element, first multicast service indication information to a session management network element (SMF) ( sending, by and AF network element, first multicast service indication information to SMF ) [see Paragraphs 0110 – 0111 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230345310 in view of US 20210075631 because US 20210075631 suggests that when switching from individual delivery method to shared delivery method is coupled with handover, the same issues need to be addressed, such as 1) how to link the MBS PDU session for shared delivery method and PDU session for individual delivery method to make sure the QoS requirement is met; or 2) how to prevent the potential data loss during the handover/switch process.
Regarding to the claim 22, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) further teaches receiving, by the AF network element, user plane transmission information from the session management network element; and sending, by the AF network element, data of the first multicast service to a user plane network element based on the user plane transmission information (receiving, by the AF network element, user plane transmission information from the session management network element; and sending, by the AF network element, data of the first multicast service to a user plane network element based on the user plane transmission information) [see Figure 7A and Figure 7B and Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0091 & 0098 & 0126 & 0128 & 0134 & 0137 & 0138 & 0153 & 0158 & 0160 & 0161 & 0162 & 0163 & 0170 & 0175 & 0178 & 0183 & 0197 & 0203 & 232 & 0244 & 0252 & 0253 & 0262 & 0271 & 0273 & 0293 ] [ see Provisional Application No. 62975858, Figure 7 , Figure 8 ].
Regarding to the claim 24, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) teaches a communication apparatus, comprising at least one processor coupled to a memory configured to store instruction that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
send first multicast service to a session management network element, wherein the first multicast service indicates a first multicast service, and the session management network element is a session management network element corresponding to a PDU session of a terminal device (send first multicast service to a session management network element, wherein the first multicast service indicates a first multicast service, and the session management network element is a session management network element corresponding to a PDU session of a terminal device ) [see Figure 7A and Figure 7B and Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0091 & 0098 & 0126 & 0128 & 0134 & 0137 & 0138 & 0153 & 0158 & 0160 & 0161 & 0162 & 0163 & 0170 & 0175 & 0178 & 0183 & 0197 & 0203 & 232 & 0244 & 0252 & 0253 & 0262 & 0271 & 0273 & 0293 ] [ see Provisional Application No. 62975858, Figure 7 , Figure 8 ].
However, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) does not explicitly teach multicast service indication information.
( US 20210075631, Provisional Application 62937407 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches send first multicast service indication information to a session management network element (send first multicast service indication information to a session management network element) [see Paragraphs 0110 – 0111 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230345310 in view of US 20210075631 because US 20210075631 suggests that when switching from individual delivery method to shared delivery method is coupled with handover, the same issues need to be addressed, such as 1) how to link the MBS PDU session for shared delivery method and PDU session for individual delivery method to make sure the QoS requirement is met; or 2) how to prevent the potential data loss during the handover/switch process.
Regarding to the claim 25, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) further teaches receive user plane transmission information from the session management network element; and send data of the first multicast service to a user plane network element based on the user plane transmission information (receive user plane transmission information from the session management network element; and send data of the first multicast service to a user plane network element based on the user plane transmission information) [see Figure 7A and Figure 7B and Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0091 & 0098 & 0126 & 0128 & 0134 & 0137 & 0138 & 0153 & 0158 & 0160 & 0161 & 0162 & 0163 & 0170 & 0175 & 0178 & 0183 & 0197 & 0203 & 232 & 0244 & 0252 & 0253 & 0262 & 0271 & 0273 & 0293 ] [ see Provisional Application No. 62975858, Figure 7 , Figure 8 ].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the user plane transmission information comprises one or more of the following: address information of the PDU session, address information corresponding to the user plane network element, or second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used by the AF network element to determine target address information of the data of the first multicast service.
Claim 26 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the user plane transmission information comprises one or more of the following: address information of the PDU session, address information corresponding to the user plane network element, or second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used by the AF network element to determine target address information of the data of the first multicast service.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7, 9-17, 19, 20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 1 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “ the access network device being configured to establish an association relationship between the terminal device and the first multicast service corresponding to an association relationship between a protocol data unit (PDU) session of the terminal device and the first multicast service; and sending, by the session management network element, forwarding rule information of the first multicast service to a user plane network element ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 1.
Claim 2 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “sending, by the session management network element, forwarding rule information of the first multicast service to a user plane network element, wherein before the sending, by the session management network element, forwarding rule information of the first multicast service to a user plane network element, the method further comprises: receiving, by the session management network element, multicast service transmission tunnel information from the access network device, wherein the user plane network element is configured to use the multicast service transmission tunnel information for sending data of the first multicast service to the access network device ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 2.
Claim 11 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “storing, by the access network device, the context information of the first multicast service, wherein the stored context information of the first multicast service comprises the multicast service transmission tunnel information; and associating, by the access network device, the terminal device with the context information of the first multicast service ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 11.
Claim 13 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “ associating, by the access network device, the terminal device with context information of the first multicast service when the context information of the first multicast service exists on the access network device ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 13.
Claim 14 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “wherein an access network device is configured to use the multicast service information for establishing an association relationship between the terminal device and the first multicast service corresponding to an association relationship between a protocol data unit (PDU) session of the terminal device and the first multicast service; send forwarding rule information of the first multicast service to a user plane network element ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 14.
Claim 15 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “ wherein an access network device is configured to use the multicast service information for establishing an association relationship between the terminal device and the first multicast service; and receive multicast service transmission tunnel information from the access network device, wherein the user plane network element is configured to use the multicast service transmission tunnel information for sending data of the first multicast service to the access network device ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 15.
Claim 19 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “store the context information of the first multicast service, wherein the stored context information of the first multicast service comprises the multicast service transmission tunnel information; and associate the terminal device with the context information of the first multicast service ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 19.
Claim 20 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “ associate the terminal device with context information of the first multicast service when the context information of the first multicast service exists on the apparatus ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 20.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412