This office action is in response to the amendment filed 04/16/2026.
Claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19-26 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 9-17, and 19-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over LI et al. ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) in view of LEE et al. ( US 20210067958, Provisional Application No. 62891848 ) .
Regarding to the claim 21, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) teaches a multicast communication method, comprising:
sending, by an AF network element, first multicast service to a session management network element, wherein the first multicast service indicates a first multicast service, and the session management network element is a session management network element corresponding to a PDU session of a terminal device (sending, by an AF network element, first multicast service to a session management network element, wherein the first multicast service indicates a first multicast service, and the session management network element is a session management network element corresponding to a PDU session of a terminal device ) [see Figure 7A and Figure 7B and Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0091 & 0098 & 0126 & 0128 & 0134 & 0137 & 0138 & 0153 & 0158 & 0160 & 0161 & 0162 & 0163 & 0170 & 0175 & 0178 & 0183 & 0197 & 0203 & 232 & 0244 & 0252 & 0253 & 0262 & 0271 & 0273 & 0293 ] [ see Provisional Application No. 62975858, Figure 7 , Figure 8 ].
However, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) does not explicitly teach multicast service indication information.
( US 20210067958, hereinafter, LEE’s 958 )from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches sending, by and application function (AF 410 ) network element, first multicast service indication (indicating the broadcast multicast service ) information to a session management network element (SMF 194 ) ( the AF 410 sends the multicast service to the SMF 194 via a NEF / PCF 420 ) [see Figure 4 ] [see the Provisional Application No 62891848, Figure 4 ] ;
Wherein the first multicast service indication information indicates a first multicast service, and the session management network (SMF 194) element is a session management network element corresponding to a protocol data unit (PDU) session of a terminal device [see Figure 4 and Paragraph 0170] [see Paragraphs 0124 & 0127 & 0128 & 0170 & 0048 ]
( [0170] At block 1120, the method 1100 may include transmitting, from a UE, a data session establishment request to a SMF for a multicast or broadcast service. In an aspect, for example, the UE 104, the TX processor 368, and/or the controller/processor 359 may execute the multicast receiver component 140 and/or the session component 141 to transmit, from a UE 104, a data session establishment request (e.g., PDU session establishment request 602) to a SMF for a multicast or broadcast service. In an aspect, the UE 104 may be subscribed to the multicast or broadcast service. The PDU session establishment request may include an indication of a type of service or a domain name indicating a multicast or broadcast service. Accordingly, the UE 104, the TX processor 368, and/or the controller/processor 359 executing the multicast receiver component 140 and/or the capability component 145 may provide means for transmitting, from a UE, a data session establishment request to a SMF for a multicast or broadcast service to which the UE is subscribed )
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230345310 in view of US 20210067958 because US 20210067958 suggests that There exists a need for further improvements in 5G NR technology. These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 22, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) and ( US 20210067958, hereinafter, LEE’s 958 ) teach the limitations of the claim 21 above.
However, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) does not explicitly teach receiving, by the AF network element, user plane transmission information from the session management network element; and sending, by the AF network element, data of the first multicast service to a user plane network element based on the user plane transmission information.
( US 20210067958, hereinafter, LEE’s 958 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receiving, by the AF network element, user plane transmission information from the session management network element; and sending, by the AF network element, data of the first multicast service to a user plane network element based on the user plane transmission information (receiving, by the AF network element, user plane transmission information from the session management network element; and sending, by the AF network element, data of the first multicast service to a user plane network element based on the user plane transmission information) [see Paragraphs 0124 & 0127 & 0128 & 0170 & 0048 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230345310 in view of US 20210067958 because US 20210067958 suggests that There exists a need for further improvements in 5G NR technology. These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 23, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) and ( US 20210067958, hereinafter, LEE’s 958 ) teach the limitations of the claim 21 above.
However, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) does not explicitly teach wherein the user plane transmission information comprises one or more of the following: address information of the PDU session, address information corresponding to the user plane network element, or second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used by the AF network element to determine target address information of the data of the first multicast service.
( US 20210067958, hereinafter, LEE’s 958 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the user plane transmission information comprises one or more of the following: address information of the PDU session, address information corresponding to the user plane network element, or second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used by the AF network element to determine target address information of the data of the first multicast service [see Paragraphs 0124 & 0127 & 0128 & 0170 & 0048 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230345310 in view of US 20210067958 because US 20210067958 suggests that There exists a need for further improvements in 5G NR technology. These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 24, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) teaches a communication apparatus, comprising at least one processor coupled to a memory configured to store instruction that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
send first multicast service to a session management network element, wherein the first multicast service indicates a first multicast service, and the session management network element is a session management network element corresponding to a PDU session of a terminal device (send first multicast service to a session management network element, wherein the first multicast service indicates a first multicast service, and the session management network element is a session management network element corresponding to a PDU session of a terminal device ) [see Figure 7A and Figure 7B and Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0091 & 0098 & 0126 & 0128 & 0134 & 0137 & 0138 & 0153 & 0158 & 0160 & 0161 & 0162 & 0163 & 0170 & 0175 & 0178 & 0183 & 0197 & 0203 & 232 & 0244 & 0252 & 0253 & 0262 & 0271 & 0273 & 0293 ] [ see Provisional Application No. 62975858, Figure 7 , Figure 8 ].
However, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) does not explicitly teach multicast service indication information.
( US 20210067958, hereinafter, LEE’s 958 )from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches sending, by and application function (AF 410 ) network element, first multicast service indication (indicating the broadcast multicast service ) information to a session management network element (SMF 194 ) ( the AF 410 sends the multicast service to the SMF 194 via a NEF / PCF 420 ) [see Figure 4 ] [see the Provisional Application No 62891848, Figure 4 ] ;
Wherein the first multicast service indication information indicates a first multicast service, and the session management network (SMF 194) element is a session management network element corresponding to a protocol data unit (PDU) session of a terminal device [see Figure 4 and Paragraph 0170] [see Paragraphs 0124 & 0127 & 0128 & 0170 & 0048 ]
( [0170] At block 1120, the method 1100 may include transmitting, from a UE, a data session establishment request to a SMF for a multicast or broadcast service. In an aspect, for example, the UE 104, the TX processor 368, and/or the controller/processor 359 may execute the multicast receiver component 140 and/or the session component 141 to transmit, from a UE 104, a data session establishment request (e.g., PDU session establishment request 602) to a SMF for a multicast or broadcast service. In an aspect, the UE 104 may be subscribed to the multicast or broadcast service. The PDU session establishment request may include an indication of a type of service or a domain name indicating a multicast or broadcast service. Accordingly, the UE 104, the TX processor 368, and/or the controller/processor 359 executing the multicast receiver component 140 and/or the capability component 145 may provide means for transmitting, from a UE, a data session establishment request to a SMF for a multicast or broadcast service to which the UE is subscribed )
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230345310 in view of US 20210067958 because US 20210067958 suggests that There exists a need for further improvements in 5G NR technology. These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 25, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) and ( US 20210067958, hereinafter, LEE’s 958 ) teach the limitations of the claim 24 above.
However, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) does not explicitly teach receive user plane transmission information from the session management network element; and send data of the first multicast service to a user plane network element based on the user plane transmission information.
( US 20210067958, hereinafter, LEE’s 958 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receive user plane transmission information from the session management network element; and send data of the first multicast service to a user plane network element based on the user plane transmission information [see Paragraphs 0124 & 0127 & 0128 & 0170 & 0048 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230345310 in view of US 20210067958 because US 20210067958 suggests that There exists a need for further improvements in 5G NR technology. These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 26, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) and ( US 20210067958, hereinafter, LEE’s 958 ) teach the limitations of the claim 24 above.
However, ( US 20230345310, Provisional Application No. 62975858 ) does not explicitly teach wherein the user plane transmission information comprises one or more of the following: address information of the PDU session, address information corresponding to the user plane network element, or second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used by the AF network element to determine target address information of the data of the first multicast service.
( US 20210067958, hereinafter, LEE’s 958 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the user plane transmission information comprises one or more of the following: address information of the PDU session, address information corresponding to the user plane network element, or second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used by the AF network element to determine target address information of the data of the first multicast service [see Paragraphs 0124 & 0127 & 0128 & 0170 & 0048 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230345310 in view of US 20210067958 because US 20210067958 suggests that There exists a need for further improvements in 5G NR technology. These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2-3, 4-7, 9-10, 11-12, 13, 14, 15, 16-17, 19, 20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 1 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “ the access network device being configured to establish an association relationship between the terminal device and the first multicast service corresponding to an association relationship between a protocol data unit (PDU) session of the terminal device and the first multicast service; and sending, by the session management network element, forwarding rule information of the first multicast service to a user plane network element ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 1.
Claim 2 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “sending, by the session management network element, forwarding rule information of the first multicast service to a user plane network element, wherein before the sending, by the session management network element, forwarding rule information of the first multicast service to a user plane network element, the method further comprises: receiving, by the session management network element, multicast service transmission tunnel information from the access network device, wherein the user plane network element is configured to use the multicast service transmission tunnel information for sending data of the first multicast service to the access network device ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 2.
Claim 11 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “storing, by the access network device, the context information of the first multicast service, wherein the stored context information of the first multicast service comprises the multicast service transmission tunnel information; and associating, by the access network device, the terminal device with the context information of the first multicast service ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 11.
Claim 13 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “ associating, by the access network device, the terminal device with context information of the first multicast service when the context information of the first multicast service exists on the access network device ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 13.
Claim 14 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “wherein an access network device is configured to use the multicast service information for establishing an association relationship between the terminal device and the first multicast service corresponding to an association relationship between a protocol data unit (PDU) session of the terminal device and the first multicast service; send forwarding rule information of the first multicast service to a user plane network element ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 14.
Claim 15 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “ wherein an access network device is configured to use the multicast service information for establishing an association relationship between the terminal device and the first multicast service; and receive multicast service transmission tunnel information from the access network device, wherein the user plane network element is configured to use the multicast service transmission tunnel information for sending data of the first multicast service to the access network device ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 15.
Claim 19 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “store the context information of the first multicast service, wherein the stored context information of the first multicast service comprises the multicast service transmission tunnel information; and associate the terminal device with the context information of the first multicast service ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 19.
Claim 20 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “ associate the terminal device with context information of the first multicast service when the context information of the first multicast service exists on the apparatus ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 20.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412