Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as anticipated by Go et al. (CN 114446991 A).
Regarding Claim 9, Go et al. discloses a semiconductor structure comprising:
A substrate (21, Fig. 1);
A plurality of gate structures (stack structure 68, gate electrode GE), located on the substrate and arranged at intervals along a first direction;
A plurality of supporters (support piece 49, dummy columns 81, insulating layer 48 used to provide structural support) penetrating a top of each of the plurality of gate structures and extending along the first direction, wherein, wherein the plurality of supporters are arranged along a second direction and shaped as crossbars parallel to each other at a same horizontal level, the first direction and the second direction are both parallel to the substrate (Fig. 12).
“A plurality of dummy columns 81 may be used to provide structural support for a plurality of horizontal conductive layers 61, 62N-2, 62N-1, 62N + 1, and 62 that are alternately stacked on the substrate 21. For example, virtual column 81 can prevent a plurality of horizontal conductive layer 61, 62N-2 62N-1, 62N, 62N + 1 and 62 when processing the semiconductor device collapse, and a plurality of horizontal conductive layer connection area EXT 61, 62N-2, 62N 62N-1 62N + 1 and 62 can be more firmly in place.”
Regarding Claim 10, Go et al. discloses a gate structure comprising:
A gate dielectric layer (element isolation layer 23) located on the substrate (FIG. 16);
A gate conductive layer (conductive layers 61) located on the gate dielectric layer;
An insulation cap layer (35) located on the gate conductive layer.
“It will be understood that when the element is referred to as "connected" or "bonded" to another element or "on" another element ", the element can be directly connected or directly bonded to the other element or directly on the other element, or may be present in the intermediate element. In contrast, when the element is referred to as "directly connected" or "directly combined" to another element, or is referred to as "contact" another element or with another element "contact", there is no intervening element at the contact.”
Regarding Claim 11, Go et al. discloses a gate conductive layer comprising:
A first conductive layer located on the gate dielectric layer (62);
A barrier layer located on the first conductive layer (moulding layers 51, 52);
And a second conductive layer located on the barrier layer (62).
Regarding Claim 12, Go et al. discloses a plurality of supporters (dummy posts 81) which penetrate a top of the insulation cap layer (FIG. 15).
Regarding Claim 13, Go et al. discloses a gate structure further comprising:
A supplementary layer located on the insulation cap layer (connection moulding layer 45M);
A supporter (support piece 49) which penetrates the supplementary layer;
And a top surface of the supplementary layer is flush with a top surface of the plurality of supporters.
Regarding Claim 15, Go et al. discloses a material of the plurality of supporters comprises silicon carbon nitride:
“a plurality of dummy columns 81 and a plurality of word line isolation pattern 82 in each may include silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, boron silicon nitride (SiBN), silicon carbon nitride (SiCN), low-k dielectric or high-k dielectric (e.g., metal oxide such as HfO or Al2O3; such as metal silicate of HfSiO and so on).
Regarding Claim 16, Go et al. discloses a plurality of gate structures (68) constitute one gate group (GE), with each gate group comprising two gate structures that form an annular structure.
Regarding Claim 17, Go et al. discloses a plurality of supporters (81) which penetrates a top of each of 2 to 6 gate groups (FIG. 15).
FIG. 15
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Go et al. (CN 114446991 A).
Regarding Claim 14, Go et al. discloses a second direction as being perpendicular to the first (81 being perpendicular to 47/48) but does not disclose the width dimension of the supporter as 2 nm to 10 nm in a second direction, however, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to size the supporter based on the available mechanical space available to provide appropriate compressive/tensile stress allowances and prevent device collapse.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendment with respect to claim 9 “plurality of supporters, penetrating a top of each of the plurality of gate structures and extending along the first direction, wherein the plurality of supporters are arranged along a second direction and shaped as crossbars parallel to each other at a same horizontal level, the first direction and the second direction are both parallel to the substrate." has been acknowledged.
With respect to the “plurality of supporters”, Applicants argue that “Further according to Fig. 9, it clearly shows that, the plurality of supporters 3 are shaped as crossbars parallel to each other at a same horizontal level, and the first direction (direction X) and the second direction (direction Y) are both parallel to the substrate 1. With respect of Go, the semiconductor device includes the support piece 49 and dummy columns 81, which are regarded as the supporters. However, the support piece 49 and dummy columns 81 are different members, the dummy columns 81 are shaped as pillars extending along a direction perpendicular to the substrate 21, while the support piece 49 is a film layer with multiple holes formed by the dummy columns 81 (the dummy columns 81 penetrating the support piece 49). Hence, the support piece 49 and dummy columns 81 are obviously different from the plurality of supporters of the amended claim 9. The independent claim 9 and dependent claims 10-13 and 15-17 with their dependencies from claim 1 are therefore believed to be novel over Go.”
However, Go et al. (CN 114446991 A) teaches a plurality of supporters (support piece 49, dummy columns 81, insulating layer 48 used to provide structural support) penetrating a top of each of the plurality of gate structures and extending along the first direction (“The upper surface and the sixth insulating layer 48 of the support piece 49 can be substantially coplanar with each other.”), wherein the plurality of supporters are arranged along a second direction and shaped as crossbars parallel to each other at a same horizontal level, the first direction and the second direction are both parallel to the substrate (Fig. 12).
“A plurality of dummy columns 81 may be used to provide structural support for a plurality of horizontal conductive layers 61, 62N-2, 62N-1, 62N + 1, and 62 that are alternately stacked on the substrate 21. For example, virtual column 81 can prevent a plurality of horizontal conductive layer 61, 62N-2 62N-1, 62N, 62N + 1 and 62 when processing the semiconductor device collapse, and a plurality of horizontal conductive layer connection area EXT 61, 62N-2, 62N 62N-1 62N + 1 and 62 can be more firmly in place.” Thus, while dummy columns 81P and support piece 49 are perpendicular to each other, dummy column 81S, insulating layer 48 as well as stacked structure 68 including a plurality of moulded layers 51 and 52 are parallel (Fig. 18).
Conclusion
Applicants' amendment did not necessitate a new grounds of rejection in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA SCOTT WYATT/Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/JAY C KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815